View Full Version : Div 3 Who will it be ?

Stude289
14 May 2008, 17:03
Heidelberg West
Reservoir
Panton Hill
?
?
?

A Living God
14 May 2008, 17:28
The bottom 6 teams from division 2 + any new clubs which want to join the league.

Montmorency is looking at fielding a third senior team next year who may play in division 3

Fitzroy Stars
14 May 2008, 17:43
It will certainly be interesting to see who it will be. The ladder is pretty even from the 6th possition to 11th with only 1 game separating the ladder possitions at this point. Stars have Watsonia, Macloed and Whittlesea in our final 3 rounds which will be a test hopefully our players will be able to come up against with that being said, do Epping, Hurstbridge, Parkside, South Morang or Mernda have a though finish like we do? because im sure it will come down to who the 5 teams you play twice are. I believe we have the side to stay in Div 2 but thats just me.

And im not sure how it would work with a Div 1 side fielding another side in Div 3. Considering they will then have to field 4 side's if there is a Div 3 reserves coming in. And if they do happen to win it in Div 3 then they will have a Div 1 and Div 2 side which would be interesting to see. But you always have to be open to new things.

A Living God
14 May 2008, 18:10
And im not sure how it would work with a Div 1 side fielding another side in Div 3. Considering they will then have to field 4 side's if there is a Div 3 reserves coming in. And if they do happen to win it in Div 3 then they will have a Div 1 and Div 2 side which would be interesting to see. But you always have to be open to new things.
It could be made that clubs wouldn't have to field a reserves team in division 3, if clubs like Research or Yarrambat were interested in fielding senior teams but could only get 25-30 players you could have 8 division 3 clubs but only 6 teams competing in the reserves.

bong pocket
14 May 2008, 18:33
The nfl is fighting for credibility now , if they introduced a crap div 3 with only senior sides in it or extra sides from div one clubs then it deserves all the bs press it gets.
No club wants to go to div 3 becuase of the stigma attached already - so what will the nfl do - disrespect them even more by making them play clubs thirds ?
If the nfl is to do anything do it right for fricks sake and hopefully they are chasing credible clubs right now but from what you see of the nfl - its radio shows , its website , its uniforms fiasco , the under 19's fiasco there aint much hope .
Leave the comp alone until you can do something productive ?

A Living God
14 May 2008, 19:11
Having a third division is far superior than the current situation. It allows for a more competive 2nd division with an even draw.

Clubs like Panton Hill, heidelberg West, Reservior and even Mernda should welcome a third division because it would give them a realistic chance of playing finals or even winning a flag.

saj_21
15 May 2008, 09:06
It could be made that clubs wouldn't have to field a reserves team in division 3, if clubs like Research or Yarrambat were interested in fielding senior teams but could only get 25-30 players you could have 8 division 3 clubs but only 6 teams competing in the reserves.

Research is affliated with Lower Plenty and some yarrambat players come accross to lower. So i don't think you will see those clubs try to start seniors.

I rekon 3rd division would be good. i am sure if you asked people from heidleberg west if they would rather go down and play 3rd division be competitive and win games of footy or stay in divi 2 and lose by 150 points every second week. The NFL's main issue is getting another 2 (minimum) - 4 teams for a 3rd division.

DingDongBell
15 May 2008, 11:06
The nfl is fighting for credibility now , if they introduced a crap div 3 with only senior sides in it or extra sides from div one clubs then it deserves all the bs press it gets.
No club wants to go to div 3 becuase of the stigma attached already - so what will the nfl do - disrespect them even more by making them play clubs thirds ?
If the nfl is to do anything do it right for fricks sake and hopefully they are chasing credible clubs right now but from what you see of the nfl - its radio shows , its website , its uniforms fiasco , the under 19's fiasco there aint much hope .
Leave the comp alone until you can do something productive ?

fair call BP. yes the nfl admin has stuffed up on a number of fronts as you mention but i think they will be very careful with the introduction of a 3rd div as their creditability will definately be on the line.
can clubs overtune this decision anyhow?
in reality i cant see any current clubs putting in an extra senior team. it would be an admin and fixturing nightmare. where would they get the extra players from as now some are struggling to have full reserves sides once injuries start to hit.
it would be much better for the nfl admin to try and recruit some of the amateur clubs that exist in our area.
my thoughts of who would be in div.3 if it starts next season are heid west, pant hill, reserv, epping, hurst and parkside.

A Living God
15 May 2008, 11:21
in reality i cant see any current clubs putting in an extra senior team. it would be an admin and fixturing nightmare. where would they get the extra players from as now some are struggling to have full reserves sides
Monty already has the numbers and assuming numbers don't drop of next year they will be fielding a third senior team be it in the NFL, EFL, EDFL or VAFA

Brutal
18 May 2008, 11:14
Monty already has the numbers and assuming numbers don't drop of next year they will be fielding a third senior team be it in the NFL, EFL, EDFL or VAFA

Mont to field Div div 3 side! What a joke that would be, would probably have more home grown talent than their Div 1 side! Mont seem to take great pleasure in sprooking the amount of players they have on the track, fact is there home grown juniors are the first to be disenfranchised when they make senior level through there policy of recruitment by stealth in order to win that elusive Div 1 Premiership. Quite happy to clear out kids who have played their lives at the junior club in order to accommodate the new players. Will end up being a club with no soul, hell of alot of past players though.

DingDongBell
18 May 2008, 12:02
Mont to field Div div 3 side! What a joke that would be, would probably have more home grown talent than their Div 1 side! Mont seem to take great pleasure in sprooking the amount of players they have on the track, fact is there home grown juniors are the first to be disenfranchised when they make senior level through there policy of recruitment by stealth in order to win that elusive Div 1 Premiership. Quite happy to clear out kids who have played their lives at the junior club in order to accommodate the new players. Will end up being a club with no soul, hell of alot of past players though.

now Brutal, you are starting to put mont into the same class type as heid with your last sentence.
maybe div.3 wont get off the ground if rumours are true, more at a later stage when confirmed, and there arent enough clubs/teams to start the division.

tess
18 May 2008, 12:50
Maybe a few of the Clubs should bite the bullet and check out whats going on at Mutton Reserve this year. The Northern Saints are sitting third on the EDFL B grade ladder after Fawkner Park did not even field a team last year and North Coburg had for years been the whipping boys of B Grade EDFL. Could be a few close in location Clubs that should look into Merging, it's worked well for FPFC and NCFC as they played in different comps and had never been foes.

Maybe the weaker Clubs need to figure out a way to become stronger both in player numbers and $$$$, if this means joining forces then isn't it better to have a strong future than to struggle on year in year out.

jumpinpumpin
19 May 2008, 11:29

Lower Plenty would know all about having no soul. Paying players $500 in 2nd div and getting beat by clubs like Parkside who don't pay there whole side $500

Brutal
19 May 2008, 14:43
Lower Plenty would know all about having no soul. Paying players $500 in 2nd div and getting beat by clubs like Parkside who don't pay there whole side $500

Is that the most intelligent reply you could come up with champ?

Got any more inaccurate comments to make? Feel free! No one at Lower on 500, and I would think I would know.

jumpinpumpin
20 May 2008, 20:40
Is that the most intelligent reply you could come up with champ?

Got any more inaccurate comments to make? Feel free! No one at Lower on 500, and I would think I would know.

No worries knackers. I obviously hit a nerve, deny it all you want we all know your captain's on $500, he tells everyone himself

saj_21
21 May 2008, 08:33
No worries knackers. I obviously hit a nerve, deny it all you want we all know your captain's on $500, he tells everyone himself

I am backing on Brutal on this one, i assume your just trying to stir trouble and i dobut that a.knee would tell everyone otherwise. And so what if he is on 500 a game its not rediculous and he is quality player who earns every bit of it. It's not like 500 is un heard for clubs to pay a top player, and it is not much relative to what division 1 clubs are paying.

jaw_4
21 May 2008, 11:43
I am backing on Brutal on this one, i assume your just trying to stir trouble and i dobut that a.knee would tell everyone otherwise. And so what if he is on 500 a game its not rediculous and he is quality player who earns every bit of it. It's not like 500 is un heard for clubs to pay a top player, and it is not much relative to what division 1 clubs are paying.

actually for div 3 it is quite alot. harvey for heidelberg is on 500 a game and he is leading the league for the most goals by far. however ty zantuc for heidelberg is supposably on 1500 a match which is quite a joke i reckon.. so pretty ur skipper is on a good wage

dwyane WADE show
21 May 2008, 20:43
Just wondering does anyone have any ideas on which clubs might come in to get the extra teams to create the 3rd divvy? Or have any clubs approached the league to say they're interested?

CENTERMAN
22 May 2008, 17:25
Does the NFL make a fourth division in a couple of years when the bottom sides in 3rd divy are getting belted by 150 points ? "Ringa-ringa-rosy"

Expansion is purely for profits on affiliation fees. Otherwise, what's the point ?

looker
22 May 2008, 19:13
Does the NFL make a fourth division in a couple of years when the bottom sides in 3rd divy are getting belted by 150 points ? "Ringa-ringa-rosy"

Expansion is purely for profits on affiliation fees. Otherwise, what's the point ?

The answer to your question would be 'Yes'. If the league are able to attract enough new clubs to sustain a 4th Division.

There are many varying reason why the league shall introduce the 3rd Divsion. Too many to list here and now. However you point is quite limited.

KilmoreBlue
22 May 2008, 20:56
Having a third division is far superior than the current situation. It allows for a more competive 2nd division with an even draw.

Clubs like Panton Hill, heidelberg West, Reservior and even Mernda should welcome a third division because it would give them a realistic chance of playing finals or even winning a flag.

Same things would occur when div 2 premier gets promoted, the get flogged week in week out and get relegated next year.

saj_21
23 May 2008, 08:31
Same things would occur when div 2 premier gets promoted, the get flogged week in week out and get relegated next year.

Not so ture, Daimond Creek have been up since the start of 2006, Greensy in since the start of 07 both teams have held their own much like lalor is this year.

Divi 3 will be a good idea as long as they get the required number of teams in the league u need a minimum of 8 teams, where will these aditional clubs come from?

DingDongBell
24 May 2008, 11:27
Just wondering does anyone have any ideas on which clubs might come in to get the extra teams to create the 3rd divvy? Or have any clubs approached the league to say they're interested?

rumour has it that yarrambat are serious about getting a senior team together when they take over the new grounds at laurimer. they tried this season to start by getting an u19 team up and running but norf pinched their best player, volpe.
also have heard from a friend at ivanhoe that one or two local amateur clubs have been approached.

Stude289
25 May 2008, 09:28
[quote=DingDongBell;11119508]rumour has it that yarrambat are serious about getting a senior team together when they take over the new grounds at laurimer.

I might be wrong but isn't Yarrambat in the Nillumbik Council and the Laurimar grounds are in the Whittlesea Council ?
I think the Wittlesea council would be building them for Whittlesea rate payers, would'nt they?
I heared they were junior grounds as well.
I could be wrong.

DingDongBell
29 May 2008, 21:47
[quote=DingDongBell;11119508]rumour has it that yarrambat are serious about getting a senior team together when they take over the new grounds at laurimer.

I might be wrong but isn't Yarrambat in the Nillumbik Council and the Laurimar grounds are in the Whittlesea Council ?
I think the Wittlesea council would be building them for Whittlesea rate payers, would'nt they?
I heared they were junior grounds as well.
I could be wrong.

money speaks with councils as well as an AEC boundary redistribution likely !

at the all but halfway mark of the season Heid West, Pant Hill and Resv are certainities for Div.3 in 2009. and my guess is that s morang, mernda and parkside will join them, particularly as hursty has picked up some handy recruits in recent weeks.

bong pocket
12 Jun 2008, 10:29
Keep hearing rumors of approaches being made to amateur clubs namely
eltham turtles, banyule, old paradians and ivanhoe by the nfl.
I can't see any of this crew wanting to come ?
With only 6 months left maybe the nfl should make a statement regarding the formation of the comp going forward.
Surely any clubs that are coming would be on board by now.
If there are no new clubs then there will surely be no div 3.
a div with 6 sides give me a break - there is only harm to be done to the brand (nfl) if that shite goes on
c'mon jarrod carey you got on here last year and made a statement how about a follow up - let all the interested parties know whats going on

CENTERMAN
12 Jun 2008, 17:26
With only 6 months left maybe the nfl should make a statement regarding the formation of the comp going forward.
a div with 6 sides give me a break - there is only harm to be done to the brand (nfl) if that shite goes on
c'mon jarrod carey you got on here last year and made a statement how about a follow up - let all the interested parties know whats going onHear, hear.

DingDongBell
13 Jun 2008, 09:36
c'mon jarrod carey you got on here last year and made a statement how about a follow up - let all the interested parties know whats going on

teh sound is only faint but the beat that i hear from the jungle drums is that there might not be six nfl teams to make up the div.3 in 2009. will need to get further into the jungle to see if they are true.
as for the amateur clubs moving to the nfl, i think tradition and their vast network of old boys may put a stop to that, particulary ivanhoe and old paradians who have been in that competiton for ions.

Stude289
13 Jun 2008, 19:32
There is a Pres meeting next week, DIV 3 is on there list, so we should know more then.

jollsy
15 Jun 2008, 18:14
Check out this week's Leader for details on Division 3 (www.localfooty.com.au)

Fitzroy Stars
18 Jun 2008, 09:17
Read in the leader that it has been COMFIRMED. And said they have not been activly searching for more clubs to join. I believe a 6 team comp is pointless, and the 6 teams who do go down will be at a huge risk of losing their better players...Poor decision by the NFL. Will be interesting to see who it will be, the only teams safe at the moment are those in the Top 6.

bibi01
18 Jun 2008, 11:00
"have not been activly searching for more clubs to join"

very strange decision this.
6 team comp seems pointless, you would imagine the nfl would be doing everything in their power to make it a success.

they also had a comment in the article that the NFL had not recieved any negative feedback regarding the decision.

bong pocket
18 Jun 2008, 14:24

I AM STILL WAITING MR CAREY
Perhaps you could use some of the club funded media time on plenty valley fm for detailing your plans/thoughts on this subject rather than the pointless selections of some clowns who know little about the comp or the selected gigglings/flirtations of yourself and your media manager.
If this were to happen someone might actually listen.
Here's an idea put an online survey on your website regarding div 3 - you might even end up knowing what the people you supposedly represent want/think.

underbelly
23 Jun 2008, 10:04
Yarrambat, Craigieburn, Latrobe.........
just tossing some clubs up

Stude289
23 Jun 2008, 17:25
Yarrambat, Craigieburn, Latrobe.........
just tossing some clubs up

Yarrambat will have 19s next year and hope to build on that in years to come

Joe Mama
23 Jun 2008, 22:21
Possibly a side like Old Paradians or Old Eltham could be approached (I know it's a longshot, but with the cost of fuel, and the isolation of these clubs compared with the rest of the VAFA, it could happen) but apart from Ivanhoe, Banyule & La Trobe Uni., I can't think of anyone that's in the NFL's area that could be viable.

Stude289
24 Jun 2008, 23:23
I beleve the clubs have stoped Div three for next year.
Only 6 teams. ?????

nixon9
25 Jun 2008, 10:25
Possibly a side like Old Paradians or Old Eltham could be approached (I know it's a longshot, but with the cost of fuel, and the isolation of these clubs compared with the rest of the VAFA, it could happen) but apart from Ivanhoe, Banyule & La Trobe Uni., I can't think of anyone that's in the NFL's area that could be viable.

templestowe could be classed in the NFL's area? warrandyte? coburg?
and what about potential junior clubs, west lalor, lalor stars, mill park, keon park and research starting up under 19s from there 17s as yarrambat are doing and building on from there?
you could even go back 6-8 years ago and clubs like kingsbury were around... where have they gone??
fairfield football club is another who went into recess in the later 90's. be good to see these clubs running around

and to take it further, development areas such as doreen, kangaroo ground, arthurs creek.. start like parkside f.c with an under 9s and build on from there, they now have an two under 9's, one tens and one elevens. this will probably never happen as you need people to start these clubs up. but i know kangaroo ground and arthurs creek both have had clubs before.
also, in regards to clubs having to pay a certain amount of money each year to field there club in the NFL, surely they could make this cheaper for sides of div 2 and div 3, which could possibly attract clubs to start up or join from other leagues who may be financially in trouble. Not sure if this already occurs, but i doubt it does.

thrown alot of points out here, but wondering what peoples thoughts are.
cheers

saj_21
25 Jun 2008, 11:09
templestowe could be classed in the NFL's area? warrandyte? coburg?
and what about potential junior clubs, west lalor, lalor stars, mill park, keon park and research starting up under 19s from there 17s as yarrambat are doing and building on from there?
you could even go back 6-8 years ago and clubs like kingsbury were around... where have they gone??
fairfield football club is another who went into recess in the later 90's. be good to see these clubs running around

and to take it further, development areas such as doreen, kangaroo ground, arthurs creek.. start like parkside f.c with an under 9s and build on from there, they now have an two under 9's, one tens and one elevens. this will probably never happen as you need people to start these clubs up. but i know kangaroo ground and arthurs creek both have had clubs before.
also, in regards to clubs having to pay a certain amount of money each year to field there club in the NFL, surely they could make this cheaper for sides of div 2 and div 3, which could possibly attract clubs to start up or join from other leagues who may be financially in trouble. Not sure if this already occurs, but i doubt it does.

thrown alot of points out here, but wondering what peoples thoughts are.
cheers

Research are affliated with Lower Plenty, and all is happy there. I could not imagine research fielding an u19's team.

jollsy
25 Jun 2008, 15:06
I'm hearing some of the clubs are none too happy about the current proposal-- anyone heard anything about the meeting this week?

BJM63
25 Jun 2008, 15:30
I'm hearing some of the clubs are none too happy about the current proposal-- anyone heard anything about the meeting this week?
Apparently Resevoir & South Morang have voiced their disapproval with div 3.

saj_21
26 Jun 2008, 09:02
No doubt sides like Morang and possibly Mernda would be un happy with this, although these two sides will miss out on finals they have been competitive this year. Mernda knocked off watsonia last week and when lower played south morang they were more than competitive after half time.

DingDongBell
28 Jun 2008, 13:07
Quote:
Originally Posted by jollsy http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11501926#post11501926)
Apparently Resevoir & South Morang have voiced their disapproval with div 3.

there is no doubt that the clubs that are likely to finish in spots 9, 10 and 11 will be very unhappy with the drop to div.3, particularly if they have been competative, and maybe have beaten, clubs above them. so they will squeel the most to the nfl and other clubs not to implement the third division.
the stigma of dropping to div.3 will last, especially if any of the 'top' three falling down dont make it back to div.2 the following season. but on current form you would think that one of these clubs would make it back the folowing seaon.
being one match inside the drop zone south morang really have to lift their season if they want to survive. their match against stars in a couple of weeks could be critical as could their last two matches against potential finalists.

WALKERTOBETTS
2 Jul 2008, 13:01
Quote:
Originally Posted by jollsy http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11501926#post11501926)

there is no doubt that the clubs that are likely to finish in spots 9, 10 and 11 will be very unhappy with the drop to div.3, particularly if they have been competative, and maybe have beaten, clubs above them. so they will squeel the most to the nfl and other clubs not to implement the third division.
the stigma of dropping to div.3 will last, especially if any of the 'top' three falling down dont make it back to div.2 the following season. but on current form you would think that one of these clubs would make it back the folowing seaon.
being one match inside the drop zone south morang really have to lift their season if they want to survive. their match against stars in a couple of weeks could be critical as could their last two matches against potential finalists.I think for SM it would be a good thing given they have a young side with maybe 2 years to develop, playing in divvy 3 for a year, playing in a final can only give them confidence, I’m sure with another seasons they would very equipped to take it to the next level in divvy 2 then if they are good enough or have developed enough divvy 1, but that part is up to them. I know that the stars will only get stronger each year, but some of the players commitments are else where.

A Living God
2 Jul 2008, 13:33
I think for SM it would be a good thing given they have a young side with maybe 2 years to develop, playing in divvy 3 for a year, playing in a final can only give them confidence, I’m sure with another seasons they would very equipped to take it to the next level in divvy 2 then if they are good enough or have developed enough divvy 1, but that part is up to them. I know that the stars will only get stronger each year, but some of the players commitments are else where.
Middle of the road clubs in division 2 without a realistic chance of winning the premership any time soon should be should be happy to go down division 3.

In the last 28 years Eltham has won 6 division 2 premerships, Monty has lost 3 division 1 grand finals. Who has been the more succesful team?

spadfa
2 Jul 2008, 19:56
Middle of the road clubs in division 2 without a realistic chance of winning the premership any time soon should be should be happy to go down division 3.

In the last 28 years Eltham has won 6 division 2 premerships, Monty has lost 3 division 1 grand finals. Who has been the more succesful team?
put mont in divy 2 and see how many they would win!

looker
3 Jul 2008, 23:28

I agree. A premiership is a premiership! No matter what division, league, standard, age, location, team, or similar.

Supporters shall flock to the club during the season once it begins to succeed, and an un-forseen social atmosphere is also created.

This sets a club on a great path for the following year. This usually beings at presentation night, and continues during the pre-season.
Beyond this, results vary.

Clubs will learn how to win, and try to create a winning culture, success attitude.

As for the clubs who shall be down the bottom of the lesser division in the league, how is this different to where they are now ?

saj_21
4 Jul 2008, 08:44
Another point to be made is, with divi 2 only having 8 sides. A top 4 will replace a top 6, how do sides outside the top 6 at the moment feel about this. It makes it harder to make finals but none the less makes a more competitive season, with 18 rounds, everyone plays eachother twice and 4 sides 3 times (i think).

Wit a top 4 if sides play a bottom side 3 times it could make a bigger diference at the end of year as opposed to the current format.

Fitzroy Stars
4 Jul 2008, 10:14
Another point to be made is, with divi 2 only having 8 sides. A top 4 will replace a top 6, how do sides outside the top 6 at the moment feel about this. It makes it harder to make finals but none the less makes a more competitive season, with 18 rounds, everyone plays eachother twice and 4 sides 3 times (i think).

Wit a top 4 if sides play a bottom side 3 times it could make a bigger diference at the end of year as opposed to the current format.

Could there be a possibility of eliminating 2 rounds so that everybody plays each team twice? That makes it much fairer and teams cant really complain about the fixture.

macleodboy07
4 Jul 2008, 11:20
Could there be a possibility of eliminating 2 rounds so that everybody plays each team twice? That makes it much fairer and teams cant really complain about the fixture.

if u ask me the fixture is like injuries.
u cant control it and there nothing u can do to change it so its just part of the game that every club has to look at and except. if ur club gets drawn a short straw then look at it as a challenge and go out there and give it ur best.
even in the AFL the draw can be unfair and uneven (geelong dont play hawthorn till what round 20 or something like that. so why make ours 100% even if the top level dont even do that).
i hope div 3 does come in next season so it evens up the competition and lets those middle of the pack clubs have some success. it will also give clubs like west heidelberg a fighting chance to get some more sponsors if they can win a couple of games each year.
but i dont want the season shortened just leave it the way it is. and if div 3 does come in then there shouldnt really be any 200 point beltings week in week out.
with a more even competition a bottem team playing a top team 3 times wont be the advantage it is now.
mernda played macleod on the weekend and hit the front in the 3rd quarter and they are sitting 8th at the moment. (last in div 2 with 3 divs. although results would be different)

CENTERMAN
4 Jul 2008, 14:46

Wit a top 4 if sides play a bottom side 3 times it could make a bigger difference at the end of year as opposed to the current format.I would have thought the NFL would like a top 6- More finals, more cash.

Could there be a possibility of eliminating 2 rounds so that everybody plays each team twice? That makes it much fairer and teams cant really complain about the fixture.The problem with a shorter season is that you need to take into acount (for your clubs' sake) less gate money at seasons end and home game takings, a missed function oppertunity etc. And you will never get a discount on affiliation fees if a proposal to shorten the season was accepted. (i wouldn't think so anyway)

A Living God
4 Jul 2008, 15:08
I would have thought the NFL would like a top 6- More finals, more cash.

Instead of a top 6 they will be 2 top 4's. Top 6 = 6 games, Top 4 x 2 = 8 games

CENTERMAN
4 Jul 2008, 15:31
Instead of a top 6 they will be 2 top 4's. Top 6 = 6 games, Top 4 x 2 = 8 gamesAh ha.;)

bibi01
4 Jul 2008, 15:49
if u ask me the fixture is like injuries.
u cant control it and there nothing u can do to change it so its just part of the game that every club has to look at and except. if ur club gets drawn a short straw then look at it as a challenge and go out there and give it ur best.
even in the AFL the draw can be unfair and uneven (geelong dont play hawthorn till what round 20 or something like that. so why make ours 100% even if the top level dont even do that).
i hope div 3 does come in next season so it evens up the competition and lets those middle of the pack clubs have some success. it will also give clubs like west heidelberg a fighting chance to get some more sponsors if they can win a couple of games each year.
but i dont want the season shortened just leave it the way it is. and if div 3 does come in then there shouldnt really be any 200 point beltings week in week out.
with a more even competition a bottem team playing a top team 3 times wont be the advantage it is now.
mernda played macleod on the weekend and hit the front in the 3rd quarter and they are sitting 8th at the moment. (last in div 2 with 3 divs. although results would be different)

there will always be beltings regardless of the number of divisions

look at div 1 there are plenty of beltings each year in the top division.

CENTERMAN
5 Jul 2008, 11:38
If there are 2 groups of 4 in the 2nd divy finals, does that mean that the side who finishes on top of the ladder will play the side that finishes on the bottom in the first weekend of finals ?:confused: Can some one please explain ?http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon9.gifhttp://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/icons/icon5.gif If so, are there more thrashings on the cards at a time when our comp is on display? I'm desperate for the NFL to release some news on next year. any thoughts anyone?

bong pocket
17 Jul 2008, 07:51
4 weeks before the end of the season , clubs are facing potentially the biggest games of their histories and guess what - they don't know if they are important or not ?
Can the NFL please tell its customers what is going on ?
Surely this is urgent !

A Living God
11 Aug 2008, 10:21
http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/61/05/6105060_firstfileFILE.pdf

Introduction of Division 3 in 2009
During the strategic planning process in 2007, discussions with club presidents, both senior and junior,
made it clear that the challenge of providing structured football competitions that were more even
and competitive was one the league needed to address. Following the conclusion of the 2007 finals
series, all of the Division 2 clubs from 2007 and Epping, who had been relegated from Division 1,
were consulted on a range of options with respect to the introduction of a Third Division in 2009.
Commencement of a third division in 2008 was not considered a fair option due to the requirement
that clubs be given advance notice of the approaches under consideration.
It was during that process that clubs indicated their overall support of the concept on the basis that
the top 8 sides in 2008 would form a Division 2 in 2009 and the bottom 6 sides (as a minimum) form
a Division 3 competition. The Board’s view is that retaining the status quo is not an alternative. We
cannot continue to tolerate consistent thrashings at the bottom end of the current structure. Doing so
will very seriously challenge the already shaky viability and sustainability of a number of clubs and
certainly damage the prospects we have before us of introducing and developing new senior clubs
where warranted within our region.

Looks like a third division will be introduced for the 2009 season. The move to three division is well over due and should of happened back in 2003 when they had 16 teams.

Gleava
11 Aug 2008, 10:48
Diamond Creek

A Living God
11 Aug 2008, 10:56
Division 1
Monty
H'berg
North
Bund
Lalor
G'Boro
N'Cote
Eltham
West
Whittlesea

Division 2
Diamo
Thomo
Macleod
Epping
Watsy
Mernda
Stars
Lower

Division 3
Morang
Parkside
Hursty
Panton Hill
Reservoir
H West

spadfa
11 Aug 2008, 12:37
Division 1
Monty
H'berg
North
Bund
Lalor
G'Boro
N'Cote
Eltham
West
Whittlesea

Division 2
Diamo
Thomo
Macleod
Epping
Watsy
Mernda
Stars
Lower

Division 3
Morang
Parkside
Hursty
Panton Hill
Reservoir
H West
and hopefully another mont side in div 3 if everything goes to plan

Stude289
11 Aug 2008, 19:20
and hopefully another mont side in div 3 if everything goes to plan

For Monty or anyone coming into the NFL need to field magoos as well as seniors in Div 3.
Might be a problem.

bobo99
30 Sep 2008, 15:54
[quote=Stude289;11008651]Heidelberg West
Reservoir
Panton Hill
?south morang
?epping
?wastonia

Plastic Man
30 Sep 2008, 18:14
[quote=Stude289;11008651]Heidelberg West
Reservoir
Panton Hill
?south morang
?epping
?wastonia

wat ru on about , epping and watsonia made finals its bottom 6 sides that go down...get wit it buddy.

fishhooke
13 Oct 2008, 16:20
Watsonia and Heidelberg west are two big chances for the flag next year

King Carey #18
6 Nov 2008, 14:13
My money is on West to win it! I heard a rumour 10 Heidelberg 2nds players from div 1 preimership team have crossed over the road and Steve Brosnahan, Dean Brakema and Dave Hanvey will be fully fit this year.. I'll give you a hoti tip - times are changing for the blowflies! Or are they the river rats?

flash 06
6 Nov 2008, 20:26
what a croc of s##t times will never change down at west heiderburg
they r rubish and no 1 wants to play for them
the only good thing to come out of there is the ground they play on

King Carey #18
7 Nov 2008, 12:07
what a croc of s##t times will never change down at west heiderburg
they r rubish and no 1 wants to play for them
the only good thing to come out of there is the ground they play on

Fair go Flash! Kick a bloke when he's down hero! Why knock a bunch of blokes who do there best week in and week out, and play together cause they are mates not because they have money thrown at them!! They play cause they love the people around the club and the club itself.

Lets face it, most clubs (bar a few) are only at the top because they have the money to pay hundreds of dollars to attract players. Players who simply take their pay check and go home after games. They are not a bunch of mates the only thing they have in common is the jumper on their back every saturday..

The disturbing arrogance from you left me guessing that your probably a supporter from one of the top clubs (but loses games every final series) has no friends, you hang around the club each week but no one knows your name, have a massive beer gut and drinks cans to escape the reality of your own pathetic life..

flash 06
7 Nov 2008, 12:26
if only u no who i was and who i play for...
u havent got s33t on me, im just telling u how it is there no good and thats the bottom line the sooner u take that on board the better...
cmon mate use only won 1 game between both teams last year.. say no more

ROMPERMFC
7 Nov 2008, 13:36
u havent got s33t on me, im just telling u how it is there no good and thats the bottom line the sooner u take that on board the better...
isnt it ironic that a bloke from kinglake is hanging shit on other people... good blokes down at west, good luck to them this year.

ohh no
15 Nov 2008, 10:17
good one champ your a real toss.

YearOfTheLion
15 Nov 2008, 20:57
i reckon people should stop paying out on west heid.
they may not be the best team going around but at least they turn up week in week out to PLAY WITH THERE MATES
and that is a credit to them

youngy21
17 Nov 2008, 12:13
At least there's some blokes around here that will stand up for us. We might be the worst team in the comp, but who cares. If we can sneak a couple of wins this year, we'll be playing finals! Haha

flash 06
17 Nov 2008, 18:29
mate use wont be sneaking s##t, unless the other team dosent rock up use r evry chance

King Carey #18
19 Nov 2008, 06:59
mate use wont be sneaking s##t, unless the other team dosent rock up use r evry chance

What a nong! No doubt no-one likes this bloke at his footy club..

CoverGirl
20 Nov 2008, 14:37
Greensboroughs 2nd Reserves side will carve up division 3

Moving Pictures
21 Nov 2008, 21:27
Greensboroughs 2nd Reserves side will carve up division 3

You really love yourself, what a pity u fool. u need to give all a fair go? some people are just not taletnted enough to be as good as the elite.

Good on the talented it is a privelege to watch them , but give the not so fortunate ones a go. I know a lot of them give thier all.

Self centered people usually always fail because they are insecure to start with???? :eek::thumbsd:

Blacky18
23 Nov 2008, 20:50
You really love yourself, what a pity u fool. u need to give all a fair go? some people are just not taletnted enough to be as good as the elite.

Good on the talented it is a privelege to watch them , but give the not so fortunate ones a go. I know a lot of them give thier all.

Self centered people usually always fail because they are insecure to start with???? :eek::thumbsd:

so tru.

mustafish
24 Nov 2008, 10:46
my thoughts are watsonia dont get comfy in div 2. id say macleod.wsea,creek,epping,lplenty,mernda and stars are all better then them so imo its between morang and wats to join parkside,west,hurstbridge,panton hill and resa in div 3!!!!!

yeah people may argue they beat lower twice last yr and a couple of other good wins but i just dont rate them and remember its just my opinion...:thumbsu:

slasher25
26 Nov 2008, 19:47
my thoughts are watsonia dont get comfy in div 2. id say macleod.wsea,creek,epping,lplenty,mernda and stars are all better then them so imo its between morang and wats to join parkside,west,hurstbridge,panton hill and resa in div 3!!!!!

yeah people may argue they beat lower twice last yr and a couple of other good wins but i just dont rate them and remember its just my opinion...:thumbsu:

I think I have to agree with you:thumbsu:. Watsonia going to cop their right wack. Refused to negaotiate anything about divvy 3 a few years back and the league not making it easy for them with the intro of St Mary 19's followed by a senior side down the track. They will probably survive div three for the future years picking up "has been" and "struglling" players from other clubs (of course they will always pick up the odd gun or two but thats it)and just being a bits and pieces club never to go forward. Pity they could not have negoatiated with St Marys in earlier years and simply become the SAINTS. Now the league have let a new club in (St Marys) with Juniors and seniors to follow, just a drop kick away from AK Reserve Watsonia have no hope of growing:thumbsd:. BYE BYE WATSONIA:(. Was this a good decision by the NFL to let this happen? We will now have Lower, Monty, Burra, St Marys, Watsonia, Bundoora, Macleod, H/West and Heidleberg (9 fu$%#@#$% (fu$%#@#$%) Clubs) all within a 5 Kil radius and some of them within a drop kick away, STUPID:confused:. In my opinion I would think that someone has more interest in the growth of St Marys than the future of Watsonia :cool: