View Full Version : Kyabram District FL -Mark II
Eagleboy9
12th May 2008, 21:49
I hear young Willie Wheeler from Avenel played in the seniors and carved it up.Extremley talented and at only 15 has a big future.Thoughts anyone? Especially those who saw the game.
juddy wce
13th May 2008, 09:29
Still no Hoota Gray in ur sides boys I would think he would be a walk up start in anyones side.. And Burnett from lancy??
I picked my side on current form and i dont believe Gray is in the best 22 in the league at the moment. But yes he wood walk into any side.
qwerty
13th May 2008, 12:57
BACKS - T.Sidebottom, D.Freeman, C.Kilmartin
HB - J.Bodycoat, J.Williams, R.Frappell
C - J.Chapman, C.Sanders, P.Horsbrough
HF - C.Eddy, M.Trist, J.Palmer
FOR - T.Mitchell, A.James, A.Meka
FOLL - D.Young, R.Mitchell, M.Shiels
INTER - M.Pell, P.Arandt, D.Godsmark, A.McDonald
Is this Gus from Gig ??
Michael Tuck
13th May 2008, 15:09
Just checked out the Millewa League thread after seeing the footy show last week...young Luke, the League president, fantastic effort by him with the job he's doing. And good on the footy show for helping him out!
Any way... Amongst all the posts praising the young fella were 2 very ordinary ones...
From MILKY & SHARPSHOOTA. "Go Stanhope Lions! Premiers 2007" & "Get on board 2008" Something like that anyway.
Are you blokes serious??? Why would you possibly invade their thread with that crap?? Obviously not near as good a people as young Luke is...at least he's dong something productive!
runthelines
13th May 2008, 18:53
Just checked out the Millewa League thread after seeing the footy show last week...young Luke, the League president, fantastic effort by him with the job he's doing. And good on the footy show for helping him out!
Any way... Amongst all the posts praising the young fella were 2 very ordinary ones...
From MILKY & SHARPSHOOTA. "Go Stanhope Lions! Premiers 2007" & "Get on board 2008" Something like that anyway.
Are you blokes serious??? Why would you possibly invade their thread with that crap?? Obviously not near as good a people as young Luke is...at least he's dong something productive!
Well mate there obviously 2 smart cookies, they would have more than likely known that bigfooty members were going to check out the leagues forum after the publicity on the footy show, and have gone and promoted there team. hasnt got anything to do with the kinda ppl they are, and how do you no there not doing something productive with there lives?
jeuno
13th May 2008, 19:21
Well mate there obviously 2 smart cookies, they would have more than likely known that bigfooty members were going to check out the leagues forum after the publicity on the footy show, and have gone and promoted there team. hasnt got anything to do with the kinda ppl they are, and how do you no there not doing something productive with there lives?
what are they promoting dick head
Scoobie
13th May 2008, 22:10
what are they promoting dick head
There team by the sounds of it. Obviously want to let people know about Stanhope and possibly this league and how last year panned out for there ones. Don't blame them either, played them a couple of weeks back and all there football teams smashed us from pillar to post! Having said that though im not sure its the best way to promote the KDL or Stanhope
Scoobie
13th May 2008, 22:36
I hear young Willie Wheeler from Avenel played in the seniors and carved it up.Extremley talented and at only 15 has a big future.Thoughts anyone? Especially those who saw the game.
Played an excellent game for a kid of that age! Is turning 16 this year. good talent and will have a bright future just like you said. Did you see the match?
Michael Tuck
14th May 2008, 08:59
With that comment you must be equally as smart as they are! I'm talking about this thread mate...I'm not a life coach!!
I'm sure people will be rushing down to Stanhope now! :thumbsd:
deano
14th May 2008, 13:08
FB - T.Sidebottom T.Roberts J.Laporta
TAL LAN ARD
HB - D.Godsmark A.Clarke P.Burnett
UND RUSH LAN
C - C.Sanders B.Gray A.Molisak
STAN STAN TAL
HF - J.Palmer J.Rachele S.Lynch
TAL ARD RUSH
FF - T.Mitchell A.James S.Mulladad
LAN STAN GIG
FOLL - R.Osbourne M.Walker M.Shiels
TAL VT NAG
INT - A.Meka J.Mason S.Lambden R.Frappell
ARD STAN RUSH TAL
mainland
14th May 2008, 15:23
FB - T.Sidebottom T.Roberts J.Laporta
TAL LAN ARD
HB - D.Godsmark A.Clarke P.Burnett
UND RUSH LAN
C - C.Sanders B.Gray A.Molisak
STAN STAN TAL
HF - J.Palmer J.Rachele S.Lynch
TAL ARD RUSH
FF - T.Mitchell A.James S.Mulladad
LAN STAN GIG
FOLL - R.Osbourne M.Walker M.Shiels
TAL VT NAG
INT - A.Meka J.Mason S.Lambden R.Frappell
ARD STAN RUSH TAL
Maybe change a couple of positions, but all in all would hav to agree with that side deano:thumbsu:
juddy wce
14th May 2008, 18:54
Is this Gus from Gig ??
Yes it is.
Eagleboy9
14th May 2008, 19:30
Played an excellent game for a kid of that age! Is turning 16 this year. good talent and will have a bright future just like you said. Did you see the match?
No didn't see the match but have seen him play a few times and is a very composed and skilled player on both sides of the body. I wonder what avenel are planning to do with him either keep him in seniors or will he go back to the 18's?
deano
14th May 2008, 20:44
No didn't see the match but have seen him play a few times and is a very composed and skilled player on both sides of the body. I wonder what avenel are planning to do with him either keep him in seniors or will he go back to the 18's?
I seen this young bloke play on saturday and for a 15 year old he has a lot of potential, good skills on both sides and very quick off the wing. Played on another young tiger out of the thirds who is argueably there quickest and punished the young rushworth side everytime he got space. He took out the well deserved BOG medal from Kangaroo Daniel Harris.
VT#23
15th May 2008, 01:59
anyone be able to tell me how vt are traveling?ive seen the scores and stuff but wondering if anyone can shed any more light on how they have been playing, the best players, where other teams think vt are at and so on, havent heard much from the vt lads since ive been in the uk, just looking for any info really
hank1
15th May 2008, 14:48
Guys started up a new thread for the KDFL, the original thread has reached its quota. Cheers, Hank1
Tatsean
16th May 2008, 04:17
anyone be able to tell me how vt are traveling?ive seen the scores and stuff but wondering if anyone can shed any more light on how they have been playing, the best players, where other teams think vt are at and so on, havent heard much from the vt lads since ive been in the uk, just looking for any info really
I will be catching up with my cousins Patty and Gezza Ryan this weekend so I will get an update and let you know.......:D
qwerty
16th May 2008, 11:21
Yes it is.
Is Gus having that good of year?
I could not see him in the best 22 in the comp.
It is a good side that you have picked but I think Gray from Stanhope or J. Shields from Nagambie would be better on the pine than Gus.
juddy wce
16th May 2008, 11:25
Is Gus having that good of year?
I could not see him in the best 22 in the comp.
It is a good side that you have picked but I think Gray from Stanhope or J. Shields from Nagambie would be better on the pine than Gus.
His current form suggests he is in the best 22, whether or not he can maintain this is yet to be proven, but i think he is playing weel enough to get a mention. As for Gray i dont think he has put the runs on the board so far this year and yes i probably did over look Shiels.
Fists of Rage
16th May 2008, 13:09
His current form suggests he is in the best 22, whether or not he can maintain this is yet to be proven, but i think he is playing weel enough to get a mention. As for Gray i dont think he has put the runs on the board so far this year and yes i probably did over look Shiels.
Ryan Emmett to stanhope before clearances close watch this spot!
King_Of_Ling
16th May 2008, 13:13
7mm of rain with a max of 11, this weather will sort out the men from the boys! Also Long sleeves to make a massive come back this week.
King out!
fencesitter
16th May 2008, 13:49
Anyone have any thought's on the standard of umpire's this season?
cosby
16th May 2008, 14:03
7mm of rain with a max of 11, this weather will sort out the men from the boys! Also Long sleeves to make a massive come back this week.
King out!
Thanks for the heads up Lingy.
All of a sudden the hammy feels a little tight. :thumbsu:
Bonge69
16th May 2008, 20:12
I will be catching up with my cousins Patty and Gezza Ryan this weekend so I will get an update and let you know.......:D
Gezza and Patty R Legends
You Know It
16th May 2008, 22:06
Ryan Emmett to stanhope before clearances close watch this spot!
Haha, great news, very unlikely as I have settled nicely over here in good old London town, i'll stick to playing for the Wandsworth Demons BARFL
On another not, caught up with magget and bangers last night and magget was in career best form in regents street. helping us get the boot from a joint, harrassing people as well as not trying to hide the fact that he was stumbling all over the place. fantastic stuff:thumbsu:
QuietHawk
17th May 2008, 19:23
I hear Avenel got up against Lancy today? Can anyone give a rundown of how they managed this? Who stood up for the swans?
juddy wce
17th May 2008, 19:25
LAN - 32
AVE - 37
Good win by the Swannies to come from behind at three quarter time. This loss could hurt Lanky come August.
Mappo
17th May 2008, 20:28
LAN - 32
AVE - 37
Good win by the Swannies to come from behind at three quarter time. This loss could hurt Lanky come August.
Great last QTR from the boys. Jed Smith kicked a couple of great goals, including a nice torp.
Then big Subba "Dunstall" Arandt finished it off with a torp from the centre square that slid through. Which wasn't bad considering the conditions and the fact that the previous longest kick for the day was about 30 mtrs.
It was a great team effort (we were given a few free kicks in the last term that I'm not sure existed). but the best thing for me was with only a minute or so left. The oldest bloke in the side, Macca ran 150 meters to put pressure on one of the lanky blokes. He got there just in time to effect the kick, and caused a turn over. It was efforts like that in the last five minutes is why Avenel got over the line.
Doona2
17th May 2008, 20:58
Great last QTR from the boys. Jed Smith kicked a couple of great goals, including a nice torp.
Then big Subba "Dunstall" Arandt finished it off with a torp from the centre square that slid through. Which wasn't bad considering the conditions and the fact that the previous longest kick for the day was about 30 mtrs.
It was a great team effort (we were given a few free kicks in the last term that I'm not sure existed). but the best thing for me was with only a minute or so left. The oldest bloke in the side, Macca ran 150 meters to put pressure on one of the lanky blokes. He got there just in time to effect the kick, and caused a turn over. It was efforts like that in the last five minutes is why Avenel got over the line.
Go Swannies :thumbsu:
robertshaw
17th May 2008, 21:49
what happened with aarron james today heard he may of slapped a spectator is this true. if so that would have to be career over.
white line
17th May 2008, 23:05
Just a quick report from stanny and undera, Stanhope played very smart footy and it showed on the score board early. It took undera till half time to come out with some kind of show. Big talking point might be out of the game was big aaron james lowering his flag and after a scuffle turned on a member of the crowd and was enraged with the field umpire giving him a red card for his efforts. Might be the end for the big fella who was named to kick 250+ for the year.
fencesitter
18th May 2008, 11:55
what happened with aarron james today heard he may of slapped a spectator is this true. if so that would have to be career over.
A.J. slapped a spectator in last year's granny, and threw his hat and sunnies in the gutter, nothing ever came of that! I must say the spectator probably deserved it and did'nt take it to badly.
Sly Dog
18th May 2008, 13:16
went to the game also mappo and must say it was a good win by avenel. arant number 30 was briliant for avenel. marking the wet ball when no one else could. must comment on the umpiring and how bad it was. at one stage avenel kicked a goal after 3 free kicks in a row. it was an old guy who looked like the monopoly man, does anyone know who he is. i know a few of the lancy players were filthy on him.
on another note i reckon lancy sustained injuries as well. thomas, mitchell and i think there were others. anyone know anything, Cosby??
cunningham15
18th May 2008, 17:34
Just a quick report from stanny and undera, Stanhope played very smart footy and it showed on the score board early. It took undera till half time to come out with some kind of show. Big talking point might be out of the game was big aaron james lowering his flag and after a scuffle turned on a member of the crowd and was enraged with the field umpire giving him a red card for his efforts. Might be the end for the big fella who was named to kick 250+ for the year.
i wont be suprised if he gets off lightley as the league probably cant afford to loose a player of his status to not be playing. its these sort of blokes that they just slap on the wrist (merry pekka, or is it harley davidson boy perry mecka) and let off with a slight warning. and when a lesser known player does it, they throw the book at them to make a point.
But thats the KDL for you. anyway, i'll give him 2 to 4 weeks.
laceout
18th May 2008, 17:49
i wont be suprised if he gets off lightley as the league probably cant afford to loose a player of his status to not be playing. its these sort of blokes that they just slap on the wrist (merry pekka, or is it harley davidson boy perry mecka) and let off with a slight warning. and when a lesser known player does it, they throw the book at them to make a point.
But thats the KDL for you. anyway, i'll give him 2 to 4 weeks.
the league should throw the book at him. what a disgrace, the man cant control his anger. sure, hes a good player for the league, but his actions tarnish the leagues rep. should be out for the rest of the season. also heard he threatned to kill the umpire and was in a punch on with undera's full back. all this combined, plus previous offences in other leagues, he should be gone for the season. at least.
Mappo
18th May 2008, 19:59
went to the game also mappo and must say it was a good win by avenel. arant number 30 was briliant for avenel. marking the wet ball when no one else could. must comment on the umpiring and how bad it was. at one stage avenel kicked a goal after 3 free kicks in a row. it was an old guy who looked like the monopoly man, does anyone know who he is. i know a few of the lancy players were filthy on him.
on another note i reckon lancy sustained injuries as well. thomas, mitchell and i think there were others. anyone know anything, Cosby??
I made a mention of the umpires. To be honest, I think the last QTR went our way, however over the course of the game it would of been pretty even.
I have seen worse. (and I have been known to be a little critical in this topic).
LastLine14
18th May 2008, 20:46
the league should throw the book at him. what a disgrace, the man cant control his anger. sure, hes a good player for the league, but his actions tarnish the leagues rep. should be out for the rest of the season. also heard he threatned to kill the umpire and was in a punch on with undera's full back. all this combined, plus previous offences in other leagues, he should be gone for the season. at least.
good work mcMurtrie probably the only bloke with in 6 inches height wise and shoulder width from big A.J in the league. dont worry mainland boys will be on here offering excuses soon>>>>>>>>>>>:p
LastLine14
18th May 2008, 20:50
and by the way ...umpiring has been terrible.:mad:
cosby
18th May 2008, 21:23
Yeah, we had a couple out as it was, then after half time had no bench as Thomo broke his wrist, A.Portia twanged a hammy and Troy Mitchell hurt his knee. It was just a shit, shit day of footy for us.
Avenel also had no bench after 3/4 time.
Just on the umpiring, and I know both teams were out on the ground and had to deal with them, but alot of our players were asking what the hell was going on in that last quarter, with some shocking decisions going agaisnt us, and especially when we noticed that the one umpire, who had a penchant for finding Avenel frees in their forward line, found his way to the opposite end of the ground in the last quarter and started paying them against us up our end as well. :rolleyes:
Isn't it illegal for the umpires to swap ends in the middle of a quarter?
...And this fool paid one of the most ridiculous frees against us I've ever seen. Corey Carver has the ball 35 metres out from the Avenel goal, is ten metres clear of anyone, looks to switch the ball but just as he is about to dispose of the ball by foot he decides not to kick it, fumbles the ball as he does so and it hits the deck. he then scoops it up ready to pass it off to me....but the whistle goes, and this complete tossbag of an umpire pays a 'throw' against him, because he says he threw the ball to the ground.....A throw!! FFS.
Anyway, regardless of what we thought of the umpiring in that last quarter, you only sound like bad losers when you blame their decisions (and I'm a very bad loser, no doubt), and we lost a winnable game of football thru some pretty average play at times.
gamedayspecalist
18th May 2008, 21:44
If AJ gets a week, correct me if im wrong here, would he not be banned for life? as a player cannot be suspended for more than 16 weeks..
could anyone clarify that?
Doona2
18th May 2008, 22:15
If AJ gets a week, correct me if im wrong here, would he not be banned for life? as a player cannot be suspended for more than 16 weeks..
I could be wrong but I don't think weeks supsended in metro leagues go towards a VCFL tally, and any weeks suspended prior to this new system coming into play weren't carried over??? :confused:
bloke_2
18th May 2008, 22:29
Yeah couldnt tell ya mate, but in all honesty, my opinion, he will just get a slap on the wrists, and be sent on his way back to stanny to play the next week, i mean, look at his profile, that pretty much gets him out of it.
how the heck he couldnt take it from one specatator, in country footy, i'll never know.... :thumbsd::thumbsd:
how in the heck can he not take abuse from one or two country fellas?? also something that i'll never figure out is, when he used to have a gig in the big show.. how did he not lash out at spectators every game there..?? :confused::confused:
does he have something against country footy or something??
WOODLANDS
19th May 2008, 08:16
good work mcMurtrie probably the only bloke with in 6 inches height wise and shoulder width from big A.J in the league. dont worry mainland boys will be on here offering excuses soon>>>>>>>>>>>:p
Lastline, it was a great stoush between the two biggest guys in the comp, reminded me of a school yard fight, everyone circling around but no one willing to get in between them.
Tatsean
19th May 2008, 09:49
Patty Ryan just shock his head in disgust when I asked how the vt boys went on sat. Gezza Ryan told me that vt are going to struggle all year unless they have the full list on the park. A few injuries on the sidelines and they got done by Murchison by 33pts which is probably a worse loss for them than if they lost to Stanhope by 10-15goals.:mad: P.S. I told them if they really want to be on a regular losing team this year to come and play with their cous' over here at Tat.
blues12
19th May 2008, 13:51
Yeah couldnt tell ya mate, but in all honesty, my opinion, he will just get a slap on the wrists, and be sent on his way back to stanny to play the next week, i mean, look at his profile, that pretty much gets him out of it.
how the heck he couldnt take it from one specatator, in country footy, i'll never know.... :thumbsd::thumbsd:
how in the heck can he not take abuse from one or two country fellas?? also something that i'll never figure out is, when he used to have a gig in the big show.. how did he not lash out at spectators every game there..?? :confused::confused:
Do you think he would have heard 1 or 2 out of 50,000 people
He has copped abuse from spectators in every league since he left the AFL, some of the things i heard some say when he played in the RDFL, Gee if what i heard was said to most people they would be locked up for murder. I guess people see his frustration and play on it and attack it, instead of just admiring him for what he can do on the field.
Old Hopper
19th May 2008, 15:56
I very much doubt that he will only get a slap on the wrist. He apparently put a leg over the fence to slap the guy and it was caught on camera. Mind you the spectator didnt even spill his beer. Even so you just cant let that go by.
I feel sorry for AJ in regards to the abuse he cops, but he really should be able to ignore it. The more times you respond the more often peanuts will start yelling rubbish.
cellar dweller
19th May 2008, 16:00
I very much doubt that he will only get a slap on the wrist. He apparently put a leg over the fence to slap the guy and it was caught on camera. Mind you the spectator didnt even spill his beer. Even so you just cant let that go by.
I feel sorry for AJ in regards to the abuse he cops, but he really should be able to ignore it. The more times you respond the more often peanuts will start yelling rubbish.
What gives a person the right to carry on in this matter?
It should be the responsability of the home club to keep these "peanuts" out?
Oh my did A. James do it again?????:D
Speedy22
19th May 2008, 17:51
A.J. slapped a spectator in last year's granny, and threw his hat and sunnies in the gutter, nothing ever came of that! I must say the spectator probably deserved it and did'nt take it to badly.
i see on apr 4th on the other KDFL thread you put headline of the year : A James to get 25 weeks, not sure if he will get that many but it was almost spot on. :thumbsu:
Bonge69
19th May 2008, 19:49
Can you please pretend that you come from stanhope or somewhere else
bloke_2
19th May 2008, 21:45
Can you please pretend that you come from stanhope or somewhere else
wtf? shoosh fool.
why dont ya expand on that please....
can u please pretend that you actually show an interest in what were talking about! and one more thing, can ya please pretend that u actually wanna talk serious on here instead of sh!t! and that you have something interesting to say!
gud team bloke u r! (especailly picking on a team mate, on here, and also at the footy the other week (right after he burried his best mate) you had to be a typical twit, and again lip off to him, low low act!!)
any way big AJ if anything, would probably be the easiest target to pick on in our league, because of just who he is and has been over the past couple of decades. i agree with ya there old hopper.
but yeah silly actions from the big fella.
Tatsean
20th May 2008, 08:37
What gives a person the right to carry on in this matter?
It should be the responsability of the home club to keep these "peanuts" out?
Oh my did A. James do it again?????:D
Welcome back Cellar, I am sure Jamesy will get more weeks than you did on this website!:D:D
qwerty
20th May 2008, 12:20
I have had a look in the Shep News today and they seem to think that there could be a loop hole that could see the last 16 weeks big AJ got rubbed out for not count to him being deregistered.
The Riddle league is in a Metro comp so the he not been suspended under the VCFL, could anyone tell me if they have the same rule in the Metro comp that if you accumulate 16 or more games in suspensions you are deregistered for life?
No Clue
20th May 2008, 12:34
I have had a look in the Shep News today and they seem to think that there could be a loop hole that could see the last 16 weeks big AJ got rubbed out for not count to him being deregistered.
The Riddle league is in a Metro comp so the he not been suspended under the VCFL, could anyone tell me if they have the same rule in the Metro comp that if you accumulate 16 or more games in suspensions you are deregistered for life?
Hard to see why it wouldn't be recognised otherwise deregistered or suspended players could be encouraged to swap between the 2 organisations .
qwerty
20th May 2008, 12:55
Hard to see why it wouldn't be recognised otherwise deregistered or suspended players could be encouraged to swap between the 2 organisations .
I would think that the rule would cover Football Victoria not just Country or Metro.
Baldingeagle
20th May 2008, 13:02
I thought that it was a Football Victoria ruling which would apply equally to both VCFL and VMFL competitions as well as the VAFA.
If so, then he will need to find a new sport....
qwerty
20th May 2008, 13:11
I thought that it was a Football Victoria ruling which would apply equally to both VCFL and VMFL competitions as well as the VAFA.
If so, then he will need to find a new sport....
One would hope that he finds a sport without a stick or bat in it.
I was told once be a person from Stanhope, he is a good bloke but he is a time bomb that is waiting to go off.
qwerty
20th May 2008, 13:30
The boys from the RDFL have given me this info.
AFL Victoria (and therefore all affiliated clubs and associations) have brought in the 16 week rule (referred to as the deregistration policy - refer the AFL Victoria site for the policy http://www.aflvic.com.au/index.php?id=8 - this is to stop serial offenders. The new transfer rules also ensure that a player's history follows when he/she moves clubs and leagues.
As an affiliated association, the RDFL has this rule but with the override that the player's history commences from (I think) 2 years ago so everyone started with a clean slate.
Purplesaint29
21st May 2008, 14:08
I'm a new fella to BigFooty. I played for UFNC last year, was wondering if anyone could tell me who the spectator was that AJ love-tapped?
fencesitter
21st May 2008, 16:43
Yeah, we had a couple out as it was, then after half time had no bench as Thomo broke his wrist, A.Portia twanged a hammy and Troy Mitchell hurt his knee. It was just a shit, shit day of footy for us.
Avenel also had no bench after 3/4 time.
Just on the umpiring, and I know both teams were out on the ground and had to deal with them, but alot of our players were asking what the hell was going on in that last quarter, with some shocking decisions going agaisnt us, and especially when we noticed that the one umpire, who had a penchant for finding Avenel frees in their forward line, found his way to the opposite end of the ground in the last quarter and started paying them against us up our end as well. :rolleyes:
Isn't it illegal for the umpires to swap ends in the middle of a quarter?
...And this fool paid one of the most ridiculous frees against us I've ever seen. Corey Carver has the ball 35 metres out from the Avenel goal, is ten metres clear of anyone, looks to switch the ball but just as he is about to dispose of the ball by foot he decides not to kick it, fumbles the ball as he does so and it hits the deck. he then scoops it up ready to pass it off to me....but the whistle goes, and this complete tossbag of an umpire pays a 'throw' against him, because he says he threw the ball to the ground.....A throw!! FFS.
Anyway, regardless of what we thought of the umpiring in that last quarter, you only sound like bad losers when you blame their decisions (and I'm a very bad loser, no doubt), and we lost a winnable game of football thru some pretty average play at times.
Speaking of bad decisions!!!! Whilst waiting for the ball to be returned to the middle after a goal, Willy Sanders [playing on-ball] and Perry Meka standing at CHF were engaging in some friendly banter of the verbal kind, something about Willy leaving Ardy [Meka] and why he did so [Sanders] no-one else was involed, when the ball was finally returned Alan Muntz[umpire] tossed it to Willy and said have a free kick, when quizzed on the decision Muntzy said it was because Perry had SLEDGED him. Well blow me down.
cosby
21st May 2008, 17:26
I'm not sure if it was in fact the spectator who said it or an opponent before the scufffle, but if the rumour is true about what was said to James before he lost his cool then I don't blame him one bit.
Everyone knows that sledging is a part of football, but there's a line and from what I hear, and I say again, if it's true, it was crossed by a long, long way.
laceout
21st May 2008, 17:28
I'm a new fella to BigFooty. I played for UFNC last year, was wondering if anyone could tell me who the spectator was that AJ love-tapped?'
is this hicksy?. it was Tad mate.
fencesitter
21st May 2008, 18:08
That was meant to read that Perry had sledged Willy, not the umpire.
iwantanotherflag
22nd May 2008, 15:03
Today's News Article.
No escape if guilty
Nervous wait: Stanhope’s Aaron James’ future hinges on tomorrow night’s tribunal hearing.
May 22 2008
Shepparton News
Stanhope's Aaron James is facing deregistration if he is suspended for either charge he is contesting at the Kyabram District Football League tribunal tomorrow night.
Victorian Country Football League north east area manager John O'Donoghue yesterday confirmed the potential loophole in the system - where the 15-match suspension he received in the Riddell Football League would not carry over because the league is not affiliated with the VCFL - is over-ruled by AFL Victoria's deregistration policy.
James, who played at AFL level with Collingwood, Richmond and the Western Bulldogs, is facing one count of striking and one count of misconduct after last Saturday's victory against Undera.
Under the AFL Victoria guidelines, any player who accumulates 16 weeks' suspension during a senior career is automatically deregistered and not allowed to re-register in any affiliated league ever again.
"The policy is in place and the suspension from the Riddell Football League carries over," O'Donoghue said.
"There was a bit of a grey area over the specifics earlier in the week, but if he gets suspended for a week or more, then the policy will come into play."
AFL Victoria community football development manager Peter McDougall said the policy had been in place for the past four years.
"It was brought in place to eliminate repeat offenders from the game and 16 weeks was the level we thought was acceptable," McDougall said.
"We want all of our players to be comfortable out on the ground and if we have to remove a few people to get to that level, that's what we'll do."
Since the rule was introduced about 30 players have been deregistered, but they all have the right of appeal.
"We've had quite a few appeals, with two players granted re-registration this year, but if they reoffend, they have no right of appeal and are not allowed to play permanently," he said.
"If players behave themselves then we don't have a problem, but we won't be finding excuses for someone who has been suspended for 16 weeks or more."
James will front the tribunal at the Shepparton RSL at 8 pm tomorrow.
tuckylives
22nd May 2008, 15:09
'
is this hicksy?. it was Tad mate.
brett hicks.
Purplesaint29
22nd May 2008, 17:24
brett hicks.
This is Brett Hicks. I wonder if you could let me know your names please (tuckylives & my mate laceout)?
You_beauty
22nd May 2008, 21:14
I'm not sure if it was in fact the spectator who said it or an opponent before the scufffle, but if the rumour is true about what was said to James before he lost his cool then I don't blame him one bit.
Everyone knows that sledging is a part of football, but there's a line and from what I hear, and I say again, if it's true, it was crossed by a long, long way.
I second that, and if we are on about the same thing. the rumors are very tru indeed...
LastLine14
22nd May 2008, 21:19
I second that, and if we are on about the same thing. the rumors are very tru indeed...
If what was said was so bad, i reckon the big fella would have done more than that little fairy slap i saw on t.v, but come on boys keep the excuses coming;)
Bonge69
22nd May 2008, 21:38
wtf? shoosh fool.
why dont ya expand on that please....
can u please pretend that you actually show an interest in what were talking about! and one more thing, can ya please pretend that u actually wanna talk serious on here instead of sh!t! and that you have something interesting to say!
gud team bloke u r! (especailly picking on a team mate, on here, and also at the footy the other week (right after he burried his best mate) you had to be a typical twit, and again lip off to him, low low act!!).
You are a fool. How dont i show an interest and dont be a hypocrite you talk nonstop sh1it on here. Im tryin to stop u from sayin dumb things im not gunna pick on u. The other week i said a harmless joke that you took the wrong way. Not like i was tryin to stir you after u were at a funeral i was makin a joke about footy not about ur mate how is that low.
Mooroopna Man
22nd May 2008, 21:56
If what was said was so bad, i reckon the big fella would have done more than that little fairy slap i saw on t.v, but come on boys keep the excuses coming;)
Being in the coaches box I was a fair way away from the incident so i can't say if anything was said. What I can say is that in two training sessions since not one person has said anything about anything being said.
Also there were many stanhope people in the same shed as the Undera people where the off field incident ocurred. I would have expected something else to have ocurred if something so bad was said.
I also spoke to the umpires after the game. They were in close vicinity and didn't mention anything.
Also many Stanhope and Undera players and officials drank together that night in the rooms for the Paul Barbour cup. Again not one thing about something bad having been said was mentioned to myself, or our president or anyone.
As I said I can't say categorically what was said or wasn't but the evidence doesn't seem to add up at the moment.
sunkist
22nd May 2008, 23:08
just thought id share the info that girgarre is in the poo, they are spending big dollars on new recruits and its sending all the local players to other clubs, give it 2 years and gig will be struggling for numbers and wont have any money left to buy there team
Tradward
22nd May 2008, 23:37
tips in,
murch v nag
gig v ardy
tally v merri
stanny v vt
av v und
lanky v rushy
murch/naggers game the only one up in the air but have to side with the boys.
crocket17
22nd May 2008, 23:41
just thought id share the info that girgarre is in the poo, they are spending big dollars on new recruits and its sending all the local players to other clubs, give it 2 years and gig will be struggling for numbers and wont have any money left to buy there team
You're only a month or two late on that bandwagon cob.
blues12
23rd May 2008, 08:14
Being in the coaches box I was a fair way away from the incident so i can't say if anything was said. What I can say is that in two training sessions since not one person has said anything about anything being said.
Also there were many stanhope people in the same shed as the Undera people where the off field incident ocurred. I would have expected something else to have ocurred if something so bad was said.
I also spoke to the umpires after the game. They were in close vicinity and didn't mention anything.
Also many Stanhope and Undera players and officials drank together that night in the rooms for the Paul Barbour cup. Again not one thing about something bad having been said was mentioned to myself, or our president or anyone.
As I said I can't say categorically what was said or wasn't but the evidence doesn't seem to add up at the moment.
Do the spectators not say anything, surely if somebody is yelling out disgraceful calls or personally abusing one of your clubs players, somebody would tell them to shut up, what do they do sit in the corner with a hot cup of coco.
Also does anybody know why your tribunal is held on a friday night, surely not a good preperation for somebody thats up and gets off. Also what happens if the decision is to go to appeal, is that player allowed to play until the appeal is heard. I know our league looked at a friday tribunal but threw it out do to the possability of any appeal.
hank1
23rd May 2008, 08:29
Do the spectators not say anything, surely if somebody is yelling out disgraceful calls or personally abusing one of your clubs players, somebody would tell them to shut up, what do they do sit in the corner with a hot cup of coco.
Also does anybody know why your tribunal is held on a friday night, surely not a good preperation for somebody thats up and gets off. Also what happens if the decision is to go to appeal, is that player allowed to play until the appeal is heard. I know our league looked at a friday tribunal but threw it out do to the possability of any appeal.
Not a good reason not to have it on a friday, an appeal usually doesnt happen on the same week as the first hearing is held, doesn't matter if the tribunal sit on Tuesday or Friday. (Yes you can keep playing until your appeal is heard)
Agree Friday is not the best night for a sides preparation, tribunal hearings should be held before thursday night so clubs can pick their sides accordingly.
sparra
23rd May 2008, 08:30
I am pretty sure mooroopna man was alluding to the fact that there wasn't any personal abuse or disgraceful calls made, as no one has made mention of it after the game or at training since.
But then again you were probably 180 ks from the action so you probably know more than any of the supporters sitting in the corner with their cups of coco.
When should this league have the tribunal?
hank1
23rd May 2008, 08:35
The man in question has openly admitted to people that he was giving it to James, still no excuse for going at him. We will all just have to wait and see what unfolds tonight, I'm sure if he gets weeks it will probably go further, whether that is they go to appeal for the suspension, or go to appeal to lift his derigistration.
Expect him to get off the first charge.
WOODLANDS
23rd May 2008, 08:51
The man in question has openly admitted to people that he was giving it to James, still no excuse for going at him. We will all just have to wait and see what unfolds tonight, I'm sure if he gets weeks it will probably go further, whether that is they go to appeal for the suspension, or go to appeal to lift his derigistration.
Expect him to get off on both charges, just watch the kdl crumble, you can see it a mile off!!
Mooroopna Man
23rd May 2008, 09:14
Hi Hank,
Do you mean the player or the spectator has openly admitted. The spectator hasn't been around the club much this year. Can you PM me what was said. I still would find it hard to understand if something very bad was said that it wouldn't have developed into something much worse than what happened.
cosby
23rd May 2008, 09:16
Also does anybody know why your tribunal is held on a friday night, surely not a good preperation for somebody thats up and gets off.
I was told it stems from the fact that some players in the past travelled from Melbourne to play on weeknds and that it was deemed that friday night was the most suitable night for players to be available for the tribunal. As silly as it sounds, that's apparently one of the reasons.
It's not the best night for the tribunal to sit, that's for sure.
blues12
23rd May 2008, 10:26
I was told it stems from the fact that some players in the past travelled from Melbourne to play on weeknds and that it was deemed that friday night was the most suitable night for players to be available for the tribunal. As silly as it sounds, that's apparently one of the reasons.
It's not the best night for the tribunal to sit, that's for sure.
If that is the case and clubs do have players that travel from melbourne then that would make sense.
sparra
23rd May 2008, 10:46
Expect him to get off on both charges, just watch the kdl crumble, you can see it a mile off!!
He would have to be lucky to get off the spectator incident.
It's not everday you have video footage of a player leaning over the fence and tapping a spectator.
It might be for his own goodwill that he is deregistered, and I suppose the Tribunal members should prepare themselves for any chair throwing or other unsavoury incindent which may come out of tonight's result.
qwerty
23rd May 2008, 11:07
He would have to be lucky to get off the spectator incident.
It's not everday you have video footage of a player leaning over the fence and tapping a spectator.
It might be for his own goodwill that he is deregistered, and I suppose the Tribunal members should prepare themselves for any chair throwing or other unsavoury incindent which may come out of tonight's result.
I am not sure that they will take the video footage in tonight.
I think you will find that if it is not KDFL footage they can not take it.
I could be wrong but I have seen the same thing before. A player was hit, the club took in the footage but it could not be used.
Doona2
23rd May 2008, 11:15
Is the spectator in question even fronting tonight? If he doesn't front, then from a distance can one assume that he may have in fact said something untoward last Saturday that (1.) wasn't football related or (2.) had anything to do with the game he had paid his $6-$7 bucks to watch???
cellar dweller
23rd May 2008, 11:33
Is the spectator in question even fronting tonight? If he doesn't front, then from a distance can one assume that he may have in fact said something untoward last Saturday that (1.) wasn't football related or (2.) had anything to do with the game he had paid his $6-$7 bucks to watch???
If the spectator in question is not fronting it would seem the KDFL is doing all it can to not have to suspend the big fella.
Dont think it really matters in defence what the spectator said as it wouldnt be reasonable defence to smack someone who threw words!
Personally I think the 16 week rule is a crock of poo!
sparra
23rd May 2008, 12:00
If the spectator in question is not fronting it would seem the KDFL is doing all it can to not have to suspend the big fella.
Dont think it really matters in defence what the spectator said as it wouldnt be reasonable defence to smack someone who threw words!
Personally I think the 16 week rule is a crock of poo!
Why?
Mooroopna Man
23rd May 2008, 12:06
The spectator in question was at training on Tuesday night and was speaking to our club president and our club advocate, so I would expect that he will be appearing tonight along with the other reported player.
Again I find it amazing that with all this discussion of something bad being said, that no-one has been able to confirm what was said or if it was said.
cellar dweller
23rd May 2008, 12:09
Why?
If you do the crime you do the time. People change with time. Why cant a young player who does something stupid never play football again?
sparra
23rd May 2008, 12:23
If you do the crime you do the time. People change with time. Why cant a young player who does something stupid never play football again?
I presume you are talking across the board, if so maybe, but when it comes to a serial offender, there may need to be stronger measures taken.
What if he did happen to lose his cool completely, and seriously injure an opponent or spectator.
I believe this 16 week rule was introduced to stop serial offenders, and as of tonight the KDFL does have a duty of care to uphold if he is found guilty.
And if Not Guilty, then perhaps it will only be a matter of time!
cellar dweller
23rd May 2008, 12:48
I presume you are talking across the board, if so maybe, but when it comes to a serial offender, there may need to be stronger measures taken.
What if he did happen to lose his cool completely, and seriously injure an opponent or spectator.
I believe this 16 week rule was introduced to stop serial offenders, and as of tonight the KDFL does have a duty of care to uphold if he is found guilty.
And if Not Guilty, then perhaps it will only be a matter of time!
Get found guilty at the tribunal 1st time get punished.
Get found guilty again more on top.
Whats not fair about that?
The more times you get found guilty the more punishment you get.
I dont think pulling a number out of ones ass is a fair system across the board.
If a player does something ordinary give them a suspension that deters them and others for doing it.
I think its fair to give someone a years or more suspension if warented but with this system its life!
sparra
23rd May 2008, 13:18
Get found guilty at the tribunal 1st time get punished.
Get found guilty again more on top.
Whats not fair about that?
The more times you get found guilty the more punishment you get.
I dont think pulling a number out of ones ass is a fair system across the board.
If a player does something ordinary give them a suspension that deters them and others for doing it.
I think its fair to give someone a years or more suspension if warented but with this system its life!
Do you think one years suspension is going to stop others from doing it
But if I had clocked up 16 weeks and had life hanging over my head, I certainly would not be doing anything untoward.
But then everyone is different
blues12
23rd May 2008, 13:26
Is the club sending their own delegate or have they gone with one of the big guns. After he was ridicoulously suspended for 4 years, Iian Findlay was approached for the appeal, getting him down to 16 weeks, Gee the way he works is amazing, I'm sure Aaron would have suggested giving him a call. Apparently alot of local tribunals go to jelly when they see him walk through the door.
getakick
23rd May 2008, 13:48
But if I had clocked up 16 weeks and had life hanging over my head, I certainly would not be doing anything untoward.
But then everyone is different
Having the 16 weeks hanging over your head kinda makes you a target, doesn't it? If someone was belting into you, would you just stand there copping it, or would you fight back? I suggest you would fight back, then you get reported. Then your footy career is over. But i suppose, you have built the 16 weeks up yourself anyway.
cellar dweller
23rd May 2008, 15:46
Yes.
I know that if I smack another player in the mouth Im farly cetain to get reported and suspended. Also I know that if I push an umpire I will get a long suspension and after putting up with their crap decisions all day the only reason I dont give them a shove is because I know I will cop a very long spell.
Give harsh penalties but allow for mistakes just like our game does!
Old Hopper
23rd May 2008, 15:49
If that is the case and clubs do have players that travel from melbourne then that would make sense.
I can understand the travel theory, but when you take into account the Tribunal often starts at 7pm, it would make it hard to get to from Melbourne.
My one experience at the KDFL tribunal confirmed Friday night is the wrong night. It started at 7pm, I had to race to get to it after work as I was the first witness. I then had to sit there throughout the whole proceedings until 1am. No evening meal and not home in bed until after 2am was not the best preparation for a game.
cellar dweller
23rd May 2008, 15:52
I can understand the travel theory, but when you take into account the Tribunal often starts at 7pm, it would make it hard to get to from Melbourne.
My one experience at the KDFL tribunal confirmed Friday night is the wrong night. It started at 7pm, I had to race to get to it after work as I was the first witness. I then had to sit there throughout the whole proceedings until 1am. No evening meal and not home in bed until after 2am was not the best preparation for a game.
Friday night tribunal is ridiculous. I would sujest that they only have it because it suits them best. Looking after themselves rather than whats best for their clubs.
Have a good look at yourselves KDFL official people!!!!!!:thumbsd:
Tradward
23rd May 2008, 15:54
are these words of a reformed man..? :p
cellar dweller
23rd May 2008, 16:09
are these words of a reformed man..? :p
Nope.
Just words of a very intelligent one!
Bonge69
23rd May 2008, 17:07
Nope.
Just words of a very intelligent one!
Not to mention modest;):D
LastLine14
23rd May 2008, 17:59
Having the 16 weeks hanging over your head kinda makes you a target, doesn't it? If someone was belting into you, would you just stand there copping it, or would you fight back? I suggest you would fight back, then you get reported. Then your footy career is over. But i suppose, you have built the 16 weeks up yourself anyway.
getakick and cellar dwellar make good points on this subject, if you only get reported for throwing punches, then this 16 week rule would maybe..maybe be fair but you can get reported for anything, especially against players that take dives (TALLY),and if umpires see aggression even if its fair your football career is in their hands...and then theres the tribunal... expect weeks everytime your in there,they just sit in there waiting to degrade you and call you a bigger liar than the judge next to them:thumbsd:
sunkist
24th May 2008, 00:36
any news on the james hearing yet?
vBulletin® v3.7.1, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.