View Full Version : Heathcote DFL part 2
Pages :
[
10]
Joyce won it from Toy....
nesko_25
19 Aug 2008, 18:14
Elmore would have spent up a bit over the last 3 years, HFNC should be thankful it has the locals supporting the club and play for the jumper... very rare thing these days. If it works congrats, if it doesnt im sure majority of the playing group will stick around next year to give it another crack.
Dry day and good conditions = Colbo.
Wet day or blowing a gale = Heathcote
i reckon Colbo play a quicker running game but Heathcote are bigger and probably have better marking / forward options. Both clubs are travelling well and this will be a cracker of a game. Just hope for good weather
LBU would have to like their chances against Elmore with a couple more Elmore players out. Biggest challenge for Elmore in probably 3 years and huge test for LBU.
Dont you love finals time of year....................................................
i reckon colbo will probably knock off heathcote at locky.
is it just me or does it seem everyone is overlooking locky? they are hitting great form at the right time of the year and the buzz around the club is awesome. a good win over the bloods this weekend might get some teams worried...
Jumbo 2
19 Aug 2008, 21:02
Joyce won it from Toy....
Joyce from Wright
is it just me or does it seem everyone is overlooking locky? they are hitting great form at the right time of the year and the buzz around the club is awesome. a good win over the bloods this weekend might get some teams worried...
Locky played great footy in the first half on sundy, but looked soft in the second half when mounts went the man a bit more, I think elmore will beat them on norths small ground.
dropthesirenAcky
20 Aug 2008, 08:14
like to see it as much as anyone farva, if a club deserves success it is you blokes , after fighting your way back after rocketgate . The one game I was able to get to this year was against the bloods ( the oldish foe ) and you guys were no where near it . you will have to work really hard on ball . Also on that day you lacked a formidable target up forward , who's going to kick the goals ? :thumbsu:good luck
scotywok
20 Aug 2008, 11:53
Heard some news on the coaching position at Broadford over the weekend and it may have some merit too it, as I'm lead to believe that Doona hasn't had any contact about his thoughts on the job for next season.
Last year they were chasing him up in July and August last year trying to get him to sign on the line for this season, but still no contact for next season. Surely the committee couldn't judge him on onfield efforts alone this year. Particularly when 10 players left the club late in the pre-season and left everybody short. the man's had a tough gig this year being a water boy and property steward on training nights, having to try and lure sponsors around town because some people saw no prestige in chasing local sponsors. He also had to undertake all recruiting by himself after a recruitment committee failed to be formed, was the club's media liason and was the sole club official who stayed back at the opposition club rooms after every game this season and was also part time psychologist through the season.
Not bad when all he was employed for was to coach the Broadford Senior 18.
Would be a huge salp in the face if the latest gossip down this way is correct and he was overlooked.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
Listen, we're about sick of this crap. As the Phantom has stated, we aren't the first to spend a quid in the quest to try and win a flag. Even Tooborac were doing it in the 70's. If you don't spend the kanga, you don't win and then you get no one following your club. Just for your interest Bond, it looks like we'll operate at a tidy profit this year so we might have a crack at it again next year regardless of the result.:thumbsu:
To tell everybody the truth Heathcote have saved themself alot of Kanga in the later half of the year because they were paying thier former runner with beer and pies, it was costing them over $400 a week, since he has been drop the club is back in the black good move Al
old saint
20 Aug 2008, 12:28
Last year they were chasing him up in July and August last year trying to get him to sign on the line for this season, but still no contact for next season. Surely the committee couldn't judge him on onfield efforts alone this year. Particularly when 10 players left the club late in the pre-season and left everybody short. the man's had a tough gig this year being a water boy and property steward on training nights, having to try and lure sponsors around town because some people saw no prestige in chasing local sponsors. He also had to undertake all recruiting by himself after a recruitment committee failed to be formed, was the club's media liason and was the sole club official who stayed back at the opposition club rooms after every game this season and was also part time psychologist through the season.
if broadford are silly enough not to resign doona, then some of the other HDFL clubs should jump at the chance to get hold of him.
as you outlined above with doona you are certainly getting your moneys worth and the lad knows a thing or two about footy aswell.
cellar dweller
20 Aug 2008, 12:43
if broadford are silly enough not to resign doona, then some of the other HDFL clubs should jump at the chance to get hold of him.
as you outlined above with doona you are certainly getting your moneys worth and the lad knows a thing or two about footy aswell.
Is there a possibilty that Doona2 might be better suited as President and not Coach???
phantom 309
20 Aug 2008, 12:45
Heard some news on the coaching position at Broadford over the weekend and it may have some merit too it, as I'm lead to believe that Doona hasn't had any contact about his thoughts on the job for next season.
Would be a huge salp in the face if the latest gossip down this way is correct and he was overlooked.:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:
been sniffing around a bit myselfe SW and what i am told is the push to go back to the riddle will be successfull and the belief is that they will attract more local sponcers with that move, as you would know it does not take a lot of people to get this type of situation happening, as it would only take a few to stop it, its not up to me to say maybe the roo's would be best served in a new league with a new coach, as it sits right now this what is about to happen.
the red white and black
20 Aug 2008, 15:19
To tell everybody the truth Heathcote have saved themself alot of Kanga in the later half of the year because they were paying thier former runner with beer and pies, it was costing them over $400 a week, since he has been drop the club is back in the black good move Al
Good one d!ckwad. :p You just concentrate on trying to work out how to fix that calcium deficiency you seem to have, and try and do it in the next two weeks!:p
nesko_25
20 Aug 2008, 15:28
Liam Main needs a knee reco
you must have a good source nesko.. a very handsome one at that!:rolleyes:
yeah liam main has torn his acl and will need a reco. happened in the 3rd quarter on sunday. continues the great run of injuries the cats have had over the past 2years. thats 3 acl's now. cal randall,paul crockford,liam main.
dropthesirenAcky
21 Aug 2008, 08:06
you must have a good source nesko.. a very handsome one at that!:rolleyes:
yeah liam main has torn his acl and will need a reco. happened in the 3rd quarter on sunday. continues the great run of injuries the cats have had over the past 2years. thats 3 acl's now. cal randall,paul crockford,liam main.
good to see it hasn't stuck down anyone with talent ;) just kidding with you officer .....Farva .
fact is Locky still do have a very talented list , some who only started playing later in the season , there is a possibility that you lads are hitting your straps !
scotywok
21 Aug 2008, 14:13
been sniffing around a bit myselfe SW and what i am told is the push to go back to the riddle will be successfull and the belief is that they will attract more local sponcers with that move, as you would know it does not take a lot of people to get this type of situation happening, as it would only take a few to stop it, its not up to me to say maybe the roo's would be best served in a new league with a new coach, as it sits right now this what is about to happen.
You seem to know a lot there phanto, but pretty sure that there must be a special meeting before any decision can be reached as to the future of the BFNC.
Also just wondering about this comment. I've heard that many businesses around town don't know who the President is and are therefore unprepared to put forward cash sponsorship, when they don;t know who the hierachy of the club are. That's the reason that Doona went out of his way to chase up sponsors.
we'restreaking
22 Aug 2008, 08:59
STOP the presses... Before the BFNC even consider resigning NOLAN, I think the town should nominate him for an Order of Australia medal perhaps even a congressional medal of honour.. He clearly deserves it:thumbsu::D:D
PI$$ off and just kick a kick tomorrow old mate, no fumbling 30m out of Colbo's goal or it might be more costly than in last week's 3rd term ;)
I appreciate Wok's concerns as much like myself, he has had family involvement at our great club dating back generations. Nothing wrong with caring for the bigger picture, sometimes it aint about win/losses on a Saturday. Unfortunately we must rid ourselves of factions and get everyone pulling in the one direction as all this $hit doesn't benefit anyone.
Spoke with an executive member last night, assures me nothing sinister going on and once applications are opened, all candidates will get a chance to sell themselves and will be judged accordingly.
On the RDFL thing, there's bound to be discussion's but the big picture is securing the club a future, and that means 3rds footy. It dont matter what comp we play in, coz if we dont field a 3rds side we're dead in the water come 2010. As I said to the HDFL executive mid year, I wouldn't hesitate to encourage the BFNC to explore it's options if 18's aint on the horizon - which Im told isn't, so this one is all about survival.
:eek: Phew ..... now thats outa the way, back to business - Heathcote to advance to the big dance on September 6 by about 5pm tomorrow :thumbsu:
we'restreaking
22 Aug 2008, 11:44
PI$$ off and just kick a kick tomorrow old mate, no fumbling 30m out of Colbo's goal or it might be more costly than in last week's 3rd term ;)
I appreciate Wok's concerns as much like myself, he has had family involvement at our great club dating back generations. Nothing wrong with caring for the bigger picture, sometimes it aint about win/losses on a Saturday. Unfortunately we must rid ourselves of factions and get everyone pulling in the one direction as all this $hit doesn't benefit anyone.
Spoke with an executive member last night, assures me nothing sinister going on and once applications are opened, all candidates will get a chance to sell themselves and will be judged accordingly.
On the RDFL thing, there's bound to be discussion's but the big picture is securing the club a future, and that means 3rds footy. It dont matter what comp we play in, coz if we dont field a 3rds side we're dead in the water come 2010. As I said to the HDFL executive mid year, I wouldn't hesitate to encourage the BFNC to explore it's options if 18's aint on the horizon - which Im told isn't, so this one is all about survival.
:eek: Phew ..... now thats outa the way, back to business - Heathcote to advance to the big dance on September 6 by about 5pm tomorrow :thumbsu:
Arrrrr, I knew that one was coming. I knew you'd have a clear view of it sitting up their with your good mate bluey!!:D Oh and jumping back on now i see.. Get off again. It seemed to work last weekend:cool:
I think I explained myself on that one ;) never got off ya's for the flag I was just thrown off the scent momentarily like most with all the talk of injuries in last week's lead up.
Hey Big Ump, Trotty wants to know if you'll be up there tomorrow?
the red white and black
22 Aug 2008, 13:57
I think I explained myself on that one ;) never got off ya's for the flag I was just thrown off the scent momentarily like most with all the talk of injuries in last week's lead up.
Tell Trotty to ease up, the Ump hasn't been that far on his holidays.:D
My Tips Heathcote by 20 points I think they will be to big for Colbo and Elmore on Sunday
blackvelvert
22 Aug 2008, 18:38
I was passing through Heathcote today and my old cricket mate from the hardware said, 2 big name players from Heathcote will not pull the boots on 2morrow because of injury.He would not give me any names but his info is usually spot on.I gave my word i would not put this on Bigfooty but it just got the better of me.
the red white and black
22 Aug 2008, 18:45
I was passing through Heathcote today and my old cricket mate from the hardware said, 2 big name players from Heathcote will not pull the boots on 2morrow because of injury.He would not give me any names but his info is usually spot on.I gave my word i would not put this on Bigfooty but it just got the better of me.
Think your old cricket mate might be pulling your leg there Singy.:D:D
go kookas
22 Aug 2008, 19:03
are there any prospects of gaining some more players back from injury in the next coming weeks?
good to see it hasn't stuck down anyone with talent ;) just kidding with you officer .....Farva .
fact is Locky still do have a very talented list , some who only started playing later in the season , there is a possibility that you lads are hitting your straps !
hahaha, oh acky. my respect for you just went up a notch!!!... you are now at notch 1. haha.
hopefully we can get a win on the board in the 1s and the 2s and have a real crack. theres a lot of belief we can go the whole way. big task to get over the reigning premiers though.
i see n.kortum may be making a return from a premature retirement???
:eek: was it the spelling of velvet that made you suspicious?
Locky played great footy in the first half on sundy, but looked soft in the second half when mounts went the man a bit more, I think elmore will beat them on norths small ground.
Watched the Elmore V Locky game a few Sundays back and there were a lot of garden rakes being used by Locky. It was wet and needed hard, body over the footy type play. Stood out like dogs balls. Be hard for Locky to play an open running style at North with less than preferrable weather expected. Time will tell. Might of looked good against a poor Mounts effort last week but will need a massive improvement against the reigning premiers.
nesko_25
22 Aug 2008, 23:35
hahaha, oh acky. my respect for you just went up a notch!!!... you are now at notch 1. haha.
hopefully we can get a win on the board in the 1s and the 2s and have a real crack. theres a lot of belief we can go the whole way. big task to get over the reigning premiers though.
i see n.kortum may be making a return from a premature retirement???
Dont get to excited Farva, the retirement stands. I'll be there catching up with some people and enjoying the day off work
the red white and black
23 Aug 2008, 10:37
:eek: was it the spelling of velvet that made you suspicious?
The Hillbully nailed him some time ago, even accused him of talking to himself on Big Footy!:D
Here's hoping the Saints and Locky get up this week end and good luck to our Ressies and Thirds.:thumbsu:
Johnny Tapp
23 Aug 2008, 18:16
Team v Team Location Time
» Colbinabbin 5.4 7.8 10.10 14.13 (97) v » Heathcote 5.1 9.4 13.5 18.9 (117) Lockington Reserve 2.15pm
Goals
Heathcote: Matthew Waters 8, Joel Condon 2, Brydan Morgan 2, Josh Shaw 1, David Thompson 1, Tom Tobin 1, Damien King 1, Alistair Meldrum 1, Alex Chapman 1
Colbinabbin: Nick Knight 5, Samuel Hill 4, Roderick Doak 3, Brent Millar 1, Patrick O'brien 1
Best
Heathcote: Patrick Jess, Matthew Waters, David Thompson, Alistair Meldrum, Tom Tobin, Damien King
Colbinabbin: Ben Johnston, Timothy Hill, Nick Knight, Lucas Hill, Samieuela Fotu, Damien Ellis
biscuits44
23 Aug 2008, 22:20
think the players who played today should send white hills a letter of thanks for not hosting the final and letting them play on lockys oval :thumbsu: great job by all involved, especially the boys in the bbq, dont think the league has seen better chicken steaks!
Good spectacle yesterday, although funny game to watch. Hardly went goal for goal it was more like each side held sway in 15-20 minute lots, but in the end the Saints were too good and deservedly adavnced to the big one in a fortnight.
Meldrum in sensational touch, Knight the same for the Hoppers. Bit confused in the 3rd term, it appeared Brydan Morgan may have been booked for a head butt although he wasn't sent from the field, can anyone clarify yes or no please if Brydie got done or just copped a warning????
Dirk Diggler
24 Aug 2008, 10:24
Good spectacle yesterday, although funny game to watch. Hardly went goal for goal it was more like each side held sway in 15-20 minute lots, but in the end the Saints were too good and deservedly adavnced to the big one in a fortnight.
Meldrum in sensational touch, Knight the same for the Hoppers. Bit confused in the 3rd term, it appeared Brydan Morgan may have been booked for a head butt although he wasn't sent from the field, can anyone clarify yes or no please if Brydie got done or just copped a warning????
Did get reported for headbutting Linton Jacobs. Going to be a nervous week or two for Mr Morgan. Why would you put yourself in that situation?
Big Ump
24 Aug 2008, 11:15
Did get reported for headbutting Linton Jacobs. Going to be a nervous week or two for Mr Morgan. Why would you put yourself in that situation?
Like Doona said, what is the rule if you get reported,do you get sent off or can you stay on?????Has the umpire made a mistake????:confused:
the red white and black
24 Aug 2008, 11:21
Like Doona said, what is the rule if you get reported,do you get sent off or can you stay on?????Has the umpire made a mistake????:confused:
Don't tell me you went up there Blackvelvert, I mean, Bi Gump. Hey Old Saint, I think we have stitched up the sponsorship rights in front of Locky next year after the role up at the Cri last night!:D
randallbone
24 Aug 2008, 11:38
Yeah definitely put in the book. Colbo had a few passengers. Tom Tobin's fresh airy for a goal was interesting too. But, winners are grinners...
the red white and black
24 Aug 2008, 11:49
Yeah definitely put in the book. Colbo had a few passengers. Tom Tobin's fresh airy for a goal was interesting too. But, winners are grinners...
Randall, the Pink Panther said he got the little plastic thing on the end of his bootlace to that ball!!!:D:thumbsu:
old saint
24 Aug 2008, 13:19
Meldrum in sensational touch, Knight the same for the Hoppers. Bit confused in the 3rd term, it appeared Brydan Morgan may have been booked for a head butt although he wasn't sent from the field, can anyone clarify yes or no please if Brydie got done or just copped a warning????[/quote]
heard last night that morgan would most likely get off due to not being sent from the ground once reported, and from all reports the other 2 central umpires didnt see what happened.
was nothing in it, certainly wouldnt call it a head butt. morgan moved his head down to be face to face with jacobs who is only 4 foot tall.
would very stiff he missed the GF for that.
Johnny Tapp
24 Aug 2008, 15:55
heard last night that morgan would most likely get off due to not being sent from the ground once reported, and from all reports the other 2 central umpires didnt see what happened.
was nothing in it, certainly wouldnt call it a head butt. morgan moved his head down to be face to face with jacobs who is only 4 foot tall.
would very stiff he missed the GF for that.
You don't have to get sent off after getting reported - who was it central or boundary/goal ump to report him? He could only get sent off by a central ump.
If he got reported by the central on the spot, the ump must have thought there was something in it - heathcote don't wont to lose a guy like morgan for the granny.
Johnny Tapp
24 Aug 2008, 16:00
I heard that Knight kicked 5.5 - if so did he play permanent forward or midfield resting in forward line?
Can't believe it . . . . Elmore out in straight sets!!!
My man in the outer has been sending updates all afternoon, the Bloods were up by 20 points at the last change before Im told the Cats run rampant with ten final quarter goals to win by 21 points.
Congrats to the LBU boys, sets up an interesting prelim final next week against Colbo.
nesko_25
24 Aug 2008, 18:49
Can't believe it . . . . Elmore out in straight sets!!!
My man in the outer has been sending updates all afternoon, the Bloods were up by 20 points at the last change before Im told the Cats run rampant with ten final quarter goals to win by 21 points.
Congrats to the LBU boys, sets up an interesting prelim final next week against Colbo.
Hayden Collins to win the raising star, the kid is a freak. Great game to watch and Pritch's 3/4 time speech was inspirational. Great win by the cats who have had alot of injuries over the last few weeks
nesko_25
24 Aug 2008, 18:53
Elmore 4.5 8.7 12.14 14.19 (103) vLockington Bamawm United 3.3 9.5 9.9 19.12 (126) http://www.heathcotedfl.vcfl.com.au/_fuse/1/_/space.gif
Lockington Bamawm United: Matthew Jackson 5, Adam Shawcross 5, Blair Suffolk 2, Rick Pritchett 2, Hayden Collins 2, Anthony Baker 1, Bradley Mundie 1, Wade Pitson 1
Elmore Ryan Hayes 3, Leon Carter 3, Joseph Cavallo 2, Martin Cook 2, Ian Kay 1, Jarrod Wiese 1, Cameron Cail 1, Mathew Niven 1
Lockington Bamawm United Hayden Collins, Rick Pritchett, Matthew Jackson, Adam Shawcross, Wade Pitson, Carl Treacy
Elmore Ian Kay, Adam Williams, Jarrod Wiese, Hayden Nielsen, Joseph Cavallo, Tom Kuhne
Littlebitoleverage
24 Aug 2008, 20:53
Completely agree with you Doona. Meldrum was sensational. Led from the front. My information last week was obviously incorrect to a certain extent in that it was coach millar not his assistant coach knight who was sick and unlklikely to play. Knight was excellent, kicked some very important goals. Apparently millar had the week off work with tonsilitis and an ear infection. Looked very out of sorts yesterday. Listened to him at three quarter time and thought he spoke very well for a young coach. How old is he? Have colbo got enough to beat a very inform Lockington outfit?
randallbone
24 Aug 2008, 21:49
Completely agree with you Doona. Meldrum was sensational. Led from the front. My information last week was obviously incorrect to a certain extent in that it was coach millar not his assistant coach knight who was sick and unlklikely to play. Knight was excellent, kicked some very important goals. Apparently millar had the week off work with tonsilitis and an ear infection. Looked very out of sorts yesterday. Listened to him at three quarter time and thought he spoke very well for a young coach. How old is he? Have colbo got enough to beat a very inform Lockington outfit?
Sounds like Locky have come good at the right time of the year. Think they may struggle against Colbo, but finals footy, anything can happen. Millar was definitely down yesterday. I think he is around 28-29, so not that young for a coach.
ROOTA#6
24 Aug 2008, 21:58
Sounds like Locky have come good at the right time of the year. Think they may struggle against Colbo, but finals footy, anything can happen. Millar was definitely down yesterday. I think he is around 28-29, so not that young for a coach.
He has done a great job considering he was pretty much their last choice. Good on him i reckon. One of the best blokes i have come across since i have come to the league. Even if he has given me a couple of cheap ones in the guts :D
biscuits44
25 Aug 2008, 00:22
if H collins doesnt win the rising star... it should be me! nah but seriously..... the kids a freak
GG Rides Again
25 Aug 2008, 10:42
if H collins doesnt win the rising star... it should be me! nah but seriously..... the kids a freak
Always helps when running free and not manned up in the last quarter. Had about 15 touches in the last quarter alone and wasnt better than solid for 3 quarters. I think Elmore took too many injured players into the game and showed out in the last quarter. How was playing on Collins in the last? Lecek?
In regards to Heathcote, well done and as stated winners are grinners. Heard last night Morgan is definitely reported and will have to front the tribunal. Also heard Heathcotes defence is that the umpire didnt send him off but wont hold over the report. Would have been interesting last quarter with 17 V 18 if he had been but as stated all theory now.
I think Colbo match up better on LBU than Elmore as both sides are not overly tall and have runners. LBU winning Has made it very interesting this week.
[quote=GG Rides Again;12189575]
Heard last night Morgan is definitely reported and will have to front the tribunal. Also heard Heathcotes defence is that the umpire didnt send him off but wont hold over the report. Would have been interesting last quarter with 17 V 18 if he had been but as stated all theory now.
quote]
Great call by the umpire not to send him off. Report him and let the tribunal make the decision on penalty. Imagine the outcry by the Heathcote Football club if he was sent of, Colbo won the game and he was found not guilty by the tribunal. Only thing now is to see how much balls the tribunal has if the umpire goes to the tribunal ans says he saw him head but. Theres a bit a stake (grand final) and tribunals seem to go to water and do what they can to not suspend!!
old saint
25 Aug 2008, 11:27
You don't have to get sent off after getting reported - who was it central or boundary/goal ump to report him? He could only get sent off by a central ump.
If he got reported by the central on the spot, the ump must have thought there was something in it - heathcote don't wont to lose a guy like morgan for the granny.
it was a central umpire that made the report, i was of the opinion that if you were reported you were sent off, but not 100% sure.
www.centralvicfooty.com.au (http://www.centralvicfooty.com.au)
Lockington Bawawm United has eliminated reigning Premiers Elmore from the Premiership race in stunning fashion at Atkins St, North Bendigo yesterday.
The Cats season hung on a razors edge at three quarter as they trailed by 23 points and the title holders prepared to go in for the kill. What followed was a stunning performance from a side that threw caution to the wind with nothing to lose and led brilliantly by Coach Rick Pritchett attacked and contested every ball like inspired men.
A game that had been fiercely contested on the tight North Bendigo oval suddenly opened as the Cats running power led by super skilled youngsters Hayden Collins and Matthew Bongiovanni and prime mover Wade Pitson swung into top gear. Time and time again they were able to bring the ball down the scoreboard side of the ground as the Bloods lead quickly dissolved as LBU converted a number of opportunists goals including team lifters to leaders Pritchett and Anthony Baker early in the final stanza.
Blair Suffolk who had been rarely sighted earlier in the match became a focal point and added two goals while it was two late goals to super talent Hayden Collins from long range that Cats fans celebrated wildly to cement the Bloods fate. The 10 goal to two final term left the crowd shocked as most contemplated the remainder of the finals series without the Bloods who for much of the season seemed to be major player.
As the match started to take shape the Bloods often through agencies of Ian Kay, Andy Grant, Jarrod Weise, Zac Perez and Travis Fitzpatrick seemed have an edge in general play. The Cats were able to stay in the Bloods shadow with full forward Adam Shawcross making the most of his opportunities working in tandem with Matthew Jackson who is in explosive form for the Cats.
At quarter time it was Elmore 4.5.29 leading LBU 3.3.21
The Cats served notice in the second term that they would take shaking in this contest as the back half led by Grant Sims, Carl Treacy and Steve Mclntyre defender and repelled to great effect. In the midfield Pritchett and Pitson continued to shine and with half opportunities converted through a Brad Mundie snap and Shawcross guided left boot found the Cats in front at the main break by 2 points.
Half Time: LBU 9.5.59 led Elmore 8.7.55
The start of the second half would see a standoff as both sides often intercepted each other with a timely mark or tackle before the Bloods regained the lead through hard working midfielder Jarrod Weise. Before long goals to Marty Cook who wobbled through a set shot and Leon Carter who added his 2nd with a classic front and centre collect to snap truly had the Bloods a buzz and look at their dangerous best. Travis Fitzpatrick who often worked back into defence was particularly effective in this period while Zac Perez provided a dangerous target across half forward although wayward kicking at goal undone much of his good work. Powerful defender Daniel Lucas with smart ball use and determined ruckman Rob Baldock continued to battle hard for the Cats in this dangerous period where the match look likely to slip from their grasp.
Three quarter time: Elmore 12.14.86 led LBU 9.9.63
It became evident that the Cats were in this match for the long haul as they continually worked the ball forward into a crowded attack before the tug of war goals scored by Pritchett and Baker from packs opened the gateway to dominate. It really became party time quite quickly for the Cats as they controlled general play while Ryan Hayes who had gone into the ruck was one the few Bloods still contesting every issue. Come siren time it was Lockington Bawawm United that had become the talking point of the HDFL as people dared to imagine how far the Cats could go on the back of this 23 point victory.
1ST SEMI FINAL: ELMORE v. LOCKINGTON BAMAWM UNITED
Lockington Bamawm Uni 3.3, 9.5, 9.9,19.12 (126)
Elmore 4.5, 8.7,12.14,14.19 (103)
GOALS, LOCKINGTON BAMAWM UNITED :
Matthew Jackson 5, Adam Shawcross 5, Blair Suffolk 2, Rick Pritchett 2,
Hayden Collins 2, Anthony Baker 1, Bradley Mundie 1, Wade Pitson 1
ELMORE :
Ryan Hayes 3, Leon Carter 3, Joseph Cavallo 2, Martin Cook 2, Ian Kay 1,
Jarrod Wiese 1, Cameron Cail 1, Mathew Niven 1
BEST, LOCKINGTON BAMAWM UNITED :
Hayden Collins, Rick Pritchett, Matthew Jackson, Adam Shawcross, Wade
Pitson, Carl Treacy
ELMORE :
Ian Kay, Adam Williams, Jarrod Wiese, Hayden Nielsen, Joseph Cavallo, Tom
Kuhne
Best Players summary:
Hayden Collins- The youngster had been serviceable throughout the first three quarters and then exploded in the last with his run and carry and crisp disposal setting the Cats alight. His two last term goals will be etched in the memory of Cats fans for some time as he converted from the difficult scoreboard flank at Atkins St oval and again soon after as he wrong footed two Elmore opponents before kicking truly. Looks to have all the tricks to take his football a long way in the future a definite player to watch.
http://centralvicfooty.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/p1000019.JPG (http://centralvicfooty.com.au/?attachment_id=724)
Rick Pritchett- The Coach played a great leaders game providing a strong body over the contest time after time and composing his side with constructive play which often included kicking short until they found a more attractive option. His goal in the last quarter against the weight of numbers was significant in building the belief amongst his troops that they could seal the deal.
Adam Shawcross & Matthew Jackson- Both booted 5 goals each and ensured the Cats took their chances when pressing forward. Shawcross turned back the clock with some great body work to place himself in pole position while his kicking at goal was on song also. Jackson was electric attacking the ball on a lead with great purpose and his ability to lose an opponent with swift hip movement. His 5 goals provided a large part of the puzzle for the comitted Cats.
ELMORE
Ian Kay- The Bloods pint sized rover flashed in and out the game and when he was able to string possessions together throughout the day it often led to a positive period of play for the Elmore side. Slipped in for a goal and covered a large amount of ground throughout the day.
Jarrod Weise-The dual Harcourt Premiership player kept at the task all day through the midfield for the Bloods winning the football on a regular basis. Kicked a goal and was at his most prominent in the 3rd term when it look like the Bloods may establish a match winning lead.
Hayden Neilsen- Performed a great stopping role on Cats forward star Sam Newth. Neilsen was able to wear the LBU veteran like a glove every time the ball came their way and to keep Newth who has kicked 50 goals for the season without a major
nesko_25
25 Aug 2008, 12:45
Always helps when running free and not manned up in the last quarter. Had about 15 touches in the last quarter alone and wasnt better than solid for 3 quarters.
So its a 17 year old kids fault that he racked up 15 possies and the other team didnt man up on him? So he should avoid the ball unless there is someone there holding onto his jumper? He kicked and set up a few great goals in that last quarter and showed great poise when the game was in the balance. He would of played all year in the ones but he can still play 3rds.... back to back flags is tempting
it was a central umpire that made the report, i was of the opinion that if you were reported you were sent off, but not 100% sure.
Iim pretty certain we were informed at the meeting with the Bendigo Umpires prior to the season of the new rule concerning this situation.
Any player to be reported is supposed to be sent off and can't be replaced for 30 mins of actual playing - as was the case in our round 4 clash against Elmore when Tayls got reported.
Doubt not being sent off is grounds to mount a case, but it sure did help the Saints cause having Brydan out there in the all important final term. Think he mighta even kicked the sealer from long range.
Reckon there are a few young blokes with claims also like young Collins - Ash Craig (North); Josh Shaw (H'cote); Tom Kuhne (Elmore) to name a few. Anyone got the full list of nominations?
How about team's of the year, anyone want to have a stab? Meldrum captain/coach for me.
GG Rides Again
25 Aug 2008, 13:09
So its a 17 year old kids fault that he racked up 15 possies and the other team didnt man up on him? So he should avoid the ball unless there is someone there holding onto his jumper? He kicked and set up a few great goals in that last quarter and showed great poise when the game was in the balance. He would of played all year in the ones but he can still play 3rds.... back to back flags is tempting
Missing the point. The game isnt too hard when you are being played through and not being picked up. Of course he was damaging in the last quarter. I was stating not a hard game when no physical pressure implied to the contest. We'll see what happens this week. If can do it again and destroy Colbo with 1 sensational quarter I'll agree he may be better than I am giving him credit for
GG Rides Again
25 Aug 2008, 13:11
Have also heard today Bluey is finished with Elmore and they may be discussing coaching with Andy Grant. Probably a bit early but hey its only 3 and a bit months and pre season starts again
Did anyone happen to see the stiff left jab delivered to the jaw of McKern in the second quarter on the far wing? One of the best connects i've seen in a while. Macca did a great job taking it. LBU player had his back to the umpire and both he and McKern faced off chesting. Then "BANG". Need to chat to Macca but i reckon it rocked him good and proper.
oldmanemu
25 Aug 2008, 13:48
Reckon there are a few young blokes with claims also like young Collins - Ash Craig (North); Josh Shaw (H'cote); Tom Kuhne (Elmore) to name a few. Anyone got the full list of nominations?
How about team's of the year, anyone want to have a stab? Meldrum captain/coach for me.
Rising Star - Tim Kennedy (Huntly)
As far as I am aware, clubs had to nominate players and there were only 6 nominated. 2 from Huntly, 2 from Mounts and I think the other 2 were from either Broadford or Locky.
nesko_25
25 Aug 2008, 13:57
Missing the point. The game isnt too hard when you are being played through and not being picked up. Of course he was damaging in the last quarter. I was stating not a hard game when no physical pressure implied to the contest. We'll see what happens this week. If can do it again and destroy Colbo with 1 sensational quarter I'll agree he may be better than I am giving him credit for
I actually think your missing the point. Is it his fault that he wasnt manned up or bad footy by elmore. Read the article from www.centralvicfooty.com.au (http://www.centralvicfooty.com.au) (the one posted by farva) it reads "
Hayden Collins- The youngster had been serviceable throughout the first three quarters and then exploded in the last with his run and carry and crisp disposal setting the Cats alight. His two last term goals will be etched in the memory of Cats fans for some time as he converted from the difficult scoreboard flank at Atkins St oval and again soon after as he wrong footed two Elmore opponents before kicking truly (did you actually see that, it looked like pressure to me). Looks to have all the tricks to take his football a long way in the future a definite player to watch." Tom Kuhne was loose for most of that last quarter and while he did get a few kicks he wasnt as damaging.
old saint
25 Aug 2008, 14:09
Doubt not being sent off is grounds to mount a case, but it sure did help the Saints cause having Brydan out there in the all important final term. Think he mighta even kicked the sealer from long range.[/quote]
i was standing right in line when it all happened and didnt believe there was anything in it. wouldnt have called it a head butt certainly doesnt warrant a suspension.
doona, did you see it, if so what are your thoughts
i was standing right in line when it all happened and didnt believe there was anything in it. wouldnt have called it a head butt certainly doesnt warrant a suspension.
doona, did you see it, if so what are your thoughts
Didnt think I saw it initially but then was told what I had seen was it so yeah must agree bugger all in it - actually thought it was good to see some passion come into the contest during the 3rd, young Condon flying the flag, Linton Jacobs standing his ground, nothing wrong with that:thumbsu:
the red white and black
25 Aug 2008, 14:55
Rising Star - Tim Kennedy (Huntly)
As far as I am aware, clubs had to nominate players and there were only 6 nominated. 2 from Huntly, 2 from Mounts and I think the other 2 were from either Broadford or Locky.
I'll think you would find that Heathcote have nominated Josh Shaw and Damian King. What's the criteria with this thing because I can't work out how Smokey Millard wouldn't have been nominated by our club. Could only assume that he is ineligible.:confused:
GG Rides Again
25 Aug 2008, 15:06
[quote=nesko_25;12191676]I actually think your missing the point. Is it his fault that he wasnt manned up or bad footy by elmore.
I always read Chalky's wrap up and reckon it was near spot on. Just as the last point I raise, who would rather be manned up than run around by themselves for a quarter? Enough said as you are having a crack at Elmore and so am I, as he was allowed to do alot without any pressure. At least he has to contest the ball if someone is running with him. Didnt happen so can you now stop trying to defend the love child?
Johnny Tapp
25 Aug 2008, 15:24
Great call by the umpire not to send him off. Report him and let the tribunal make the decision on penalty. Imagine the outcry by the Heathcote Football club if he was sent of, Colbo won the game and he was found not guilty by the tribunal. Only thing now is to see how much balls the tribunal has if the umpire goes to the tribunal ans says he saw him head but. Theres a bit a stake (grand final) and tribunals seem to go to water and do what they can to not suspend!!
Obviously the Saints boys are going to play it down, but I don't know if the tribunal members contribute to bigfooty... When is the case to be heard?
[quote=nesko_25;12191676]I actually think your missing the point. Is it his fault that he wasnt manned up or bad footy by elmore.
I always read Chalky's wrap up and reckon it was near spot on. Just as the last point I raise, who would rather be manned up than run around by themselves for a quarter? Enough said as you are having a crack at Elmore and so am I, as he was allowed to do alot without any pressure. At least he has to contest the ball if someone is running with him. Didnt happen so can you now stop trying to defend the love child?
pretty sure he had an a oppenent in every game he played this year and he was named in the best each time....hmm...:rolleyes:
B]Doubt not being sent off is grounds to mount a case, but it sure did help the Saints cause having Brydan out there in the all important final term. Think he mighta even kicked the sealer from long range.
doona, did you see it, if so what are your thoughts[/quote][/B]
I saw the incident and it looked like a headbut and Jacobs was bleeding straight after it. Also the person with the best view was the umpire as he was only a metre away and watching the whole thing so he obviously thought there was something in it.
Im all for a bit of passion in the game but headbutting is taking it to far.
I saw the incident and it looked like a headbut and Jacobs was bleeding straight after it. Also the person with the best view was the umpire as he was only a metre away and watching the whole thing so he obviously thought there was something in it.
Im all for a bit of passion in the game but headbutting is taking it to far.
Seeing you've posted it twice and even whacked it up in blue I take it you're saying it was a full blooded head butt Flo Jo? Didn't realise the Wiz left the field under the blood rule?
If that's the case then perhaps I didn't see it afterall :confused:
Seeing you've posted it twice and even whacked it up in blue I take it you're saying it was a full blooded head butt Flo Jo? Didn't realise the Wiz left the field under the blood rule?
If that's the case then perhaps I didn't see it afterall :confused:
Hang on got a bit excited I will get rid of one post
Can someone from Barrack Reserve tell us how me old country week premiership winning team mate Hornet went yesterday?
If there's one bloke I'd love to see in the big one on September 6 it's the Horn. Will he get another run in the two's prelim final to stake his claim or was yesterday it?
millard and jacobs cant get it because they played senior footy in the bfl last yr!
andypipkin
25 Aug 2008, 18:32
anyone else heard cam carter is a big chance to take over at calival next year?
Big Ump
25 Aug 2008, 18:34
Can someone from Barrack Reserve tell us how me old country week premiership winning team mate Hornet went yesterday?
If there's one bloke I'd love to see in the big one on September 6 it's the Horn. Will he get another run in the two's prelim final to stake his claim or was yesterday it?
Plenty of touches,I would say he would have done enough to impress the coach,who was watching.:thumbsu:
Hey Doona, do you think Flo Jo had his classes on.No player came off for the blood rule. Going by Flo Jo's name I WOULD SAY HE WOULD HAVE TO HAVE A SQUAT TO HAVE A P#SS:mad:
the red white and black
25 Aug 2008, 18:43
Plenty of touches,I would say he would have done enough to impress the coach,who was watching.:thumbsu:
Hey Doona, do you think Flo Jo had his classes on.No player came off for the blood rule. Going by Flo Jo's name I WOULD SAY HE WOULD HAVE TO HAVE A SQUAT TO HAVE A P#SS:mad:
36 to be exact. Was that a yoga class or maybe a natal class?:p
Big Ump
25 Aug 2008, 19:48
36 to be exact. Was that a yoga class or maybe a natal class?:p
Got a bit hot under the collar:thumbsu:When you have to read sh#t like that:(
heard bluey had the job,gee gotta love the gossip:eek:
blackbeard
25 Aug 2008, 21:28
Did anyone happen to see the stiff left jab delivered to the jaw of McKern in the second quarter on the far wing? One of the best connects i've seen in a while. Macca did a great job taking it. LBU player had his back to the umpire and both he and McKern faced off chesting. Then "BANG". Need to chat to Macca but i reckon it rocked him good and proper.
I did happen to catch that one. What a pearler! Baker was the LBU fella responsible and I'd agree it certainly looked to rock McKern. Mckern followed it up ( although considerably delayed) but it didn't quite find its mark.
3 minutes later Macca was at it again and swifly landed one on Pritchett's chops. He then made the long trek to the bench and wasn't sighted until the start of the last.
Wayne "The King" Carey
25 Aug 2008, 21:48
this just in: Morgan free to play in big one :thumbsu:
Be f**ked it's (rumour mill) has started already :eek:
There was a player sent off for the blood rule. Straight after a Heathcote goal. The stupid umpire was about to bounce the ball before the player was replaced. Maybe you need to pay more attention at you "understand whats happening before me" classes.
Big Ump
26 Aug 2008, 09:33
There was a player sent off for the blood rule. Straight after a Heathcote goal. The stupid umpire was about to bounce the ball before the player was replaced. Maybe you need to pay more attention at you "understand whats happening before me" classes.
Fair delay then,turned out they were good umpire's Boof Head:D
Didnt say they were bad umpires.
When the ball was returned to the central umpire after the goal, the central umpire with the ball in his hands sent the Colbo player off with the blood rule. He then proceeded to turn around and begin taking steps in the act of bouncing the ball. Im fairly sure he was then pulled up by the Colbo players to wait untill the player was replaced. That would make the umpire "stupid" to me.
"turned out they were good umpires", whats you meaning behind this statement??
Trottyboya
26 Aug 2008, 09:53
this just in: Morgan free to play in big one :thumbsu:
heard a good one this morning doona told heathcote legendry trainer spud that morgan got 2 weeks spud replied with "lucky to get that" we let him sit for a while then told him the truth
he is a legend the old spudda :thumbsu:
old saint
26 Aug 2008, 10:54
i thought millard wasnt available again this year, but was told this morning that he and horn are both available to play the grand final
Big Ump
26 Aug 2008, 11:05
Didnt say they were bad umpires.
When the ball was returned to the central umpire after the goal, the central umpire with the ball in his hands sent the Colbo player off with the blood rule. He then proceeded to turn around and begin taking steps in the act of bouncing the ball. Im fairly sure he was then pulled up by the Colbo players to wait untill the player was replaced. That would make the umpire "stupid" to me.
"turned out they were good umpires", whats you meaning behind this statement??
I should have explained myself better, one umpire was good he did not go to the tribunal and tell PORKY'S like some:thumbsu:
Poor form by Heathcote. Starting to sing the song before they got into their rooms. Maybe they didnt think they were pushed enough by Colbo and wanted to give Colbo more incentive if they make the GF.
matt_nicholls
26 Aug 2008, 11:40
Poor form by Heathcote. Starting to sing the song before they got into their rooms. Maybe they didnt think they were pushed enough by Colbo and wanted to give Colbo more incentive if they make the GF.
You are a fool mate. Who thinks of these things after they have just won a massive match against quality opposition to book a week off and a trip to the grand final?
Footy is a passionate game and if you don't like it, don't watch.
Good on the Saints for winning, I know they have a fair few sore players so the week off will do them the world of good.
phantom 309
26 Aug 2008, 12:20
can not totaly agree with you on this, lets face it what is the first thing you here at the end of an afl game, but on the other hand there are junior leagues that do ban the singing of the song prior to the players getting to the change rooms, i beleive this is done so that adults dont take it the wrong way and cause an incident, hope you are not the type to feel like that on hearing the winning team sing.:)
Pretty sure the song didn't start until the final member of the 22 got inside, the lads were excited (and good on em) and all they did was kick things off with an almighty oooooooooooooooooooooh ooooooooooooooooooooooh ooooooooooooooooooooooh before following up with . . . . when the saints etc etc
1. matt_nicholls your a fool!
2. AFL teams dont sing the song until they are deep into their rooms.
3. dosent matter how you want to put it Doona2, they did start before the got inside thier rooms.
4. might be a different story from Doona2 if he was coach.
It was a Semi Final and not a Grand Final so one would think that the Heathcote Football club may have been smarter than giving another reason to a possible opponent in the G.F. reason to beat them. Im sure both teams have trained quite hard all year and an advantage in the mental side of things may give one an advantage. It was poor form and may come back to bite them on the arse.
If Colbo are good enough to make the G.F. I'll be reminding them!
Hope they do as it will be good to stick it up the $$ team.
blown budget
26 Aug 2008, 13:14
heard a rumour today that dave mccormack from south will be playing at north bendigo next year
Big Ump
26 Aug 2008, 13:59
Pretty sure the song didn't start until the final member of the 22 got inside, the lads were excited (and good on em) and all they did was kick things off with an almighty oooooooooooooooooooooh ooooooooooooooooooooooh ooooooooooooooooooooooh before following up with . . . . when the saints etc etc
Y do we keep replying to a bird brain like bond,Doona:D
3. dosent matter how you want to put it Doona2, they did start before the got inside thier rooms.
It was a Semi Final and not a Grand Final so one would think that the Heathcote Football club may have been smarter than giving another reason to a possible opponent in the G.F. reason to beat them. Im sure both teams have trained quite hard all year and an advantage in the mental side of things may give one an advantage. It was poor form and may come back to bite them on the arse.
You sound like a sore looser mate. Complaining about a song getting sung. Oh, shock horror!! What next, your upset becuase the sun was too bright? Next topic......
the red white and black
26 Aug 2008, 14:21
You sound like a sore looser mate. Complaining about a song getting sung. Oh, shock horror!! What next, your upset becuase the sun was too bright? Next topic......
Yeah, could have been that the grass was too green as well. :D I think everytime we have won a game this year the first boys into the rooms start off with the oooooooooooooooh until all 22 are present. Something they've done from the start of the year, also last year and more than likely the year before that. Bad form Bond trying to try and get everyone against Heathcote already.:thumbsd:
Got a couple of questions for you with regards to Elmore.
Elmore have spent over quarter of a million dollars in the last three years ($100,000 each year) In these three years they won one premiership (which is what it is all about). But in doing this they have lost the back bone of their club with a lot of their better twos who play for the club for nothing clearing out last year (allegedley because of what some players were being paid) they massively struggled for numbers in the twos all year.
Question 1. Was this all worth it for a premiership and will this have any hangover effect?
Question 2. Do all players that now go to elmore expect a sign on fee and good coin?
Bloodhound if you still read this forum would be interested to hear from you.
Bound 4 september
26 Aug 2008, 15:06
What a poor post. Heathcote have got a lot of respect for Colbinabbin as they are a quality football side. Dont know what your trying to pull hear but its bordering on ridiculous. As for singing the song before they got into the rooms as stated by a few on here might start the "ooooohhh" as they pass through the enterance (behind the doors) and wait for the entire 22 but thats as far as it went. Poor form Bond :thumbsd:
old saint
26 Aug 2008, 15:17
go and find something to do instead of posting crap like that on here
nesko_25
26 Aug 2008, 15:29
Got a couple of questions for you with regards to Elmore.
Elmore have spent over quarter of a million dollars in the last three years ($100,000 each year) In these three years they won one premiership (which is what it is all about). But in doing this they have lost the back bone of their club with a lot of their better twos who play for the club for nothing clearing out last year (allegedley because of what some players were being paid) they massively struggled for numbers in the twos all year.
Question 1. Was this all worth it for a premiership and will this have any hangover effect?
Question 2. Do all players that now go to elmore expect a sign on fee and good coin?
Bloodhound if you still read this forum would be interested to hear from you.
I think it will have an impact on the club as they may find it hard to find a coach (if Bluey has gone, why would you want to coach a club that offers a tiny budget and you dont have the local players to support you), the players to fill a reserve side and the ones that played this year, will they play on for a pay cut?
Big Ump
26 Aug 2008, 16:53
Well said boy's on !!! Bond!!!
Here's one for you RWB our old mate trotty was coming out of Gaffney's shaking his head on he's way up to Locky on Saturday i was told he paid $4.50 for a apple slice.He run into Segga at Locky and told him,Segga said christ trotty i would have gave you a Apple slice trotty walked away with tears going down his face knowing he was $4.50 down the drain:D
GG Rides Again
26 Aug 2008, 17:23
I think it will have an impact on the club as they may find it hard to find a coach (if Bluey has gone, why would you want to coach a club that offers a tiny budget and you dont have the local players to support you), the players to fill a reserve side and the ones that played this year, will they play on for a pay cut?
Agree with a few points about local players to support the club. You need to have a few players who can step up throughout the year and I dont think Elmore had that this year. The point about the budget wont be an issue as Elmore are a club that ALWAYS has coin. May be happy to be competitve for a few years and not have the pressure of finding as much money.