View Full Version : Heathcote DFL part 2

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

oldmanemu
2 Jun 2008, 18:39
MtMen, no-one at Huntly are happy to lose. I think that is a serious misconception out there. Sure we haven't won for 2 years, but hell, it isn't from lack of trying, especially in 2008.

We are busting our a---s on and off field to get things right, and I would suggest that we have definitely improved, and most teams would agree to that. The Heathcote game was a shocker, but I reckon on a nice, sunny day in September, they will be tough to beat with their speed and super talls.

countryfooty may have been a bit brash in his/her statement but I kind of see what they were saying, and it did come across as doona saying Broadford were average, and that's the reason we got close. Doona has come out and said that's not what he meant, and that's good enough for me.

There are 10 rounds to go, and I am sure teams won't be taking Huntly lightly. If you do, that's your choice. We have enough talent in this 2008 side to win games of football.

Bound 4 september
2 Jun 2008, 19:06
Not going to make excuses because Locky are a good young running side who have also topped up well this year. But on the injury front we have had up to 9 regular senior players missing from some games recently although most of those were back for Saturday, however they might have been a little underdone.

Just out of curiosity who are the players that have been missing ??
Will carter miss games if so how many ??

ROOTA#6
2 Jun 2008, 22:23
Mtmen, what went wrong on Saturday? Didn't see the game only the result. Are Mounts seriously in danger of dropping out of the five and losing touch or is that over dramatic.
Speaking to one of the white hills boys and they are very confident after Saturdays game, believe they can outscore Mts with there two key forwards as mounts have no match ups for them. When was the last time they missed finals?

I would have thought that our backline is one of our strengths and has been good over the last 3 weeks as well

Big Ump
2 Jun 2008, 22:31
I would have thought that our backline is one of our strengths and has been good over the last 3 weeks as well
Been very quite Roota,been sick have we or just down in the dumps.If you get beaten this weekend It's been a long time since Mounts have lost 3 on the trot:p

ROOTA#6
2 Jun 2008, 22:35
Been very quite Roota,been sick have we or just down in the dumps.If you get beaten this weekend It's been a long time since Mounts have lost 3 on the trot:p

Just trying to keep a low profile Ump. I'm not sure but i reckon we may have lost the last 3

deledio_gun
2 Jun 2008, 23:25
how's young Shaun O'Grady going for mounts? Coming in from central murray, is he pushing for senior selection with so many injuries?

The Big Arab
3 Jun 2008, 00:01
I see you point in leaving your best 22 on the park until they are stuffed, but i think you will find that the top 3-4 clubs in the HDLF who implement the three way swap with onballers coming off the ground would find this more effective than running there top onballer into the ground for the first half then he is stuffed for the last half.[/quote]

I think that was the point. You dont need to take onballers off the ground if you are losing in the centre. They become HBF, Forwards or taggers. You can move others players into the middle. By taking your best players off you are disadvantaging the team.
Are you trying to say Knight, Obrien, Chatterdon and Johnson should all be sitting on the bench for rotations? Obrien and Knight have played GV footy and are not finding the standard over taxing as they are the best 2 players each week as i look back through the yabbas. Johnson is a whippet and could probably run in the Chinese Marathon. I think you could give a 5 minute rest before half time and another if required at the end of the game but I reckon opposition coaches would be happy to see these blokes sitting on the bench as they then dont have to worry about them for 5-10 minutes.

When Colbo needed to win the game guess what, they didnt do anything or move anyone. S Hill was sitting at FF getting cold and frustrated as ball was not being delivered in and could have been moved.
The issue of dishing off first option was a mirror image via Heathcote as they continually shared the ball and ran. They made Colbo look silly and had numbers run for each contest. On alot of occassion they were 3-5 players against 1 and they feed the ball backwards to the space EVERYTIME. Predictable and well drilled as stated earlier. Plenty of space out the back when you run hard to the contest.
First game i had seen Matty Waters play after reading all about him. He looks like he would scare young children but was very good and smart with the ball when he got it. set up a few goals and kicked a few and missed a few

Just one last point. Featherstone dived in the last quarter after Ellis missed him with an elbow by 2 ft. He went to ground for at least 10-15 seconds and it was embarassing to watch. He is only young but needs to be told when the real hits come you keep getting up and dont lay on the ground when your not hurt.
Unlike Ellis to miss but he did.........

AC Rocket
3 Jun 2008, 09:02
What do you mean by saying that Country Footy is out of line and out of context Rocket?

Out of line by labelling Doona's comments the way he did and out of context because if you read the article, Doona is not have a crack at Huntly - he is merely explaining his thoughts.

PINNACLE HEALTH
3 Jun 2008, 12:45
Gee Pinnacle, either you're losing your marbles like me or am I not hearing something that might have occurred on Saturday night. We played Colbo!:confused:

Yes RWB i stand corrected, you did play Colbo and quite well going by the result.
The word is Carter had his jaw broken v Locky.

Big game this week W.Hills v Mounts, almost a mini final even though its only mid season.
The loser will have their work cut out to make the finals but there still is a long way to go.

If Hills can play 4 quarters like they played 70% of the game against Elmore they will be big chance v Mounts at home this week.

powerforward
3 Jun 2008, 14:08
Yes RWB i stand corrected, you did play Colbo and quite well going by the result.
The word is Carter had his jaw broken v Locky.

Big game this week W.Hills v Mounts, almost a mini final even though its only mid season.
The loser will have their work cut out to make the finals but there still is a long way to go.

If Hills can play 4 quarters like they played 70% of the game against Elmore they will be big chance v Mounts at home this week.
mounts should start to travel ok in the next couple of weeks i know they have signed a.dalton and three or four others. look out here we go again:):):):):):):)

PINNACLE HEALTH
3 Jun 2008, 15:12
mounts should start to travel ok in the next couple of weeks i know they have signed a.dalton and three or four others. look out here we go again:):):):):):):)

Just got word Coach Carter broke is checkbone not his jaw as i first stated, can anyone from mounts confirm?

nohoper
3 Jun 2008, 16:12
Matt you dill. You are kidding aren't you??

Saying an opponent doesn't know how to win and that Broadford weren't great, but hey, Huntly tried???

I doubt you were at the game, but Huntly were the better side for 95 of the 100 minutes. Unfortunately, Taylor got a couple of iffy's late in the game to put the Roos in front.

My point is, the Broadford coach should have a look at his list before saying another can't win. Broadford aren't that good and I look forward to travelling down there after our guys have played a few more games together.

doona comes across a good bloke, and perhaps he was mis-quoted. I just think it was a time to say, "both teams played really well. It was great game of footy and we got across the line." Not say Huntly played really well, but his team was average. That is a total load of crap. It took everything Broadford had to beat Huntly on Saturday. They were lucky to get the points.

You're a clown m8. Broadford played 10 minutes of footy for the day. if they played all match like they should you blokes woulda copped ya seocnd hiding this season and be where ya should.

betterinthewet
3 Jun 2008, 16:27
the big arab.u would not be a colbo back pocket legend by any chance:confused:

the red white and black
3 Jun 2008, 16:32
Just got word Coach Carter broke is checkbone not his jaw as i first stated, can anyone from mounts confirm?
Don't reckon that they will let on if it's broken PH, especially when you blokes play them this week!:D

Taz069
3 Jun 2008, 21:02

3 or 4 others any names?

Big Ump
4 Jun 2008, 09:32
3 or 4 others any names?

Hill Bully,RWB,Hagansbull and myself we are all coming out of retirement to earn some of Mounts money or should i say steal their money:D:D

The Talking Goat
4 Jun 2008, 10:24
great effort from the Hawks on Saturday. hopefully they get a big sniff of how close they were and continue the fight.

doona, I hope you weren't quoted correctly in the Bendigo Addy today. don't think this was too appropriate.

"We weren't great, but that's taking nothing away from Huntly"
"at the end of the day they probably just didn't know how to win"

As I said though, there is plenty of improvement in the Hawks, so hopefully they kick on.

I can tell you that Doona was quoted correctly in the paper as I was the one who wrote it.
And to say what Doona said was inappropriate is a joke country footy.
I believe he was nothing but respectful to huntly in the way he spoke and by all accounts, he was right, in the end, huntly didn't know how to win.

R U SERIOUS
4 Jun 2008, 10:27
You're a clown m8. Broadford played 10 minutes of footy for the day. if they played all match like they should you blokes woulda copped ya seocnd hiding this season and be where ya should.

99.99% of Huntly people dont believe that Doona had anything to apologise for or that he needs to explain himself, what he said in the media was fine by us:thumbsu: The game was played in good spirit, both sides played some exciting football at times, it was very well umpired and when the siren went Broadford were 2 points up...........end of story.

matt_nicholls
4 Jun 2008, 10:37
There's nothing wrong with not knowing how to win either. My football side (Fremantle) certainly don't know how to at the minute. It was like that from 99-01 for us too. But when you eventually get across the line, it is the sweetest feeling of all time.

PINNACLE HEALTH
4 Jun 2008, 16:14
Don't reckon that they will let on if it's broken PH, especially when you blokes play them this week!:D

Yeah your probably right but i know for a fact that he has so it does'nt matter if Roota and co have a media ban on them.

ROOTA#6
4 Jun 2008, 17:49
Yeah your probably right but i know for a fact that he has so it does'nt matter if Roota and co have a media ban on them.

No media ban Pinnacle. I am just trying to concentrate on getting a kick at the moment

bigdog08
4 Jun 2008, 18:05
No media ban Pinnacle. I am just trying to concentrate on getting a kick at the moment

Wait a minute didnt you say that mounts backline was its strong point? Dont you play in the backline? I'm no maths wizz but i always thought 1+1=2???:thumbsu:

Benjii
4 Jun 2008, 18:56
has luke bennett been squealing much lately??

the red white and black
4 Jun 2008, 20:57
has luke bennett been squealing much lately??
No.

Broadford to beat North.
Colbo by a street over Huntly.
Heathcote just over LBU.
White Hills to inflict a fourth loss in a row to Mounts.
Rathsallagh to win the Derby.
Casino Prince to win the Stradbroke.
Bi Gump to get a new cocky.:D

Big Ump
4 Jun 2008, 21:21
No.

Broadford to beat North.
Colbo by a street over Huntly.
Heathcote just over LBU.
White Hills to inflict a fourth loss in a row to Mounts.
Rathsallagh to win the Derby.
Casino Prince to win the Stradbroke.
Bi Gump to get a new cocky.:D

I would be hope the Gilmore clan would be looking out for a cocky for me.And by the way i see last Saturday it was once again the TIGERS OF OLD DOWN BY 80 POINTS:p

Doona2
5 Jun 2008, 10:40
Just looking at the Addy online and it mention's that Andy Grant got the nod again to captain the VCFL district side against the Ammo's this weekend :thumbsu: Bloods team mate Ryan Hayes is the other HDFL player in the line-up.

Full side on the VCFL site

http://www.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=40228&orgID=2&Oname=WorkSafe+VCFL&O1c=7&O10c=6

the red white and black
5 Jun 2008, 11:24
I would be hope the Gilmore clan would be looking out for a cocky for me.And by the way i see last Saturday it was once again the TIGERS OF OLD DOWN BY 80 POINTS:p
Gump, we played Sunday and it's only a couple of weeks until we see you at our centenary match at the G. The battle for twelfth and thirteenth!:D
Great picture of our little Irish/Italian friend in the local. he reckons black and blue it wasn't a free for in the back but I think the proof's all over the back page! Probably a lesson for the young blokes on how not to tackle an opponent.;)

PINNACLE HEALTH
5 Jun 2008, 12:43

Just wait another week if you dont mind!

Conrad
5 Jun 2008, 16:58
5/6/2008n/aDALTON, Adam From EXT.: Northern Football League (Diamond Valley FL) > North HeidelbergMount PleasantIn Progress

its official, looks like we will see the man mountain again!

the red white and black
5 Jun 2008, 20:25
5/6/2008n/aDALTON, Adam From EXT.: Northern Football League (Diamond Valley FL) > North HeidelbergMount PleasantIn Progress

Did he actually do any celebrating with Mounts after they won against Elmore and has any Mounts people seen him since??? The bloke was just about finished when he played here last time. Why?:confused:

Fantom Maggot
5 Jun 2008, 21:13
Did he actually do any celebrating with Mounts after they won against Elmore and has any Mounts people seen him since??? The bloke was just about finished when he played here last time. Why?:confused:

Bring him back for a laugh I say. Heard the big pie eater ate the last footy he touched back in 07 doin that footy pie footy pie footy pie thing. As far as not celebrating with his "team" mates after that game, I believe he had to rush off because his pet cocky "Piepig" wasn't feeling well. :D:D

Fantom:thumbsu:

"I think I'm in trouble"

hagansbull
5 Jun 2008, 23:13
Galah maybe, damn fool Ump.Haha Ump, takes one to know one :p. Springfield's looking mighty dusty today.

Junky Bish
5 Jun 2008, 23:23
You blokes would be kidding Dalton will make big difference like he did last time.

betterinthewet
5 Jun 2008, 23:32
Doona2;11261339]Just looking at the Addy online and it mention's [quote=that Andy Grant got the nod again to captain the VCFL district side against the Ammo's this weekend :thumbsu: Bloods team mate Ryan Hayes is the other HDFL player in the line-up.

Full side on the VCFL site

http://www.vcfl.com.au/newsitem.asp?id=40228&orgID=2&Oname=WorkSafe+VCFL&O1c=7&O10c=6[/quote]
grants got the runs on the board but is cail a better onballer:confused:

betterinthewet
5 Jun 2008, 23:37

last time i saw mounts against broadford they need some pace:cool::cool:

Dont Moosz
6 Jun 2008, 00:27

Ump, you might be better off asking Hornets old man, I heard he was seen chasing a bird down the main street of Hooterville :D

spiderweb
6 Jun 2008, 09:31

You blokes shitting yourself already and the clearance has'nt even gone through???? You all know what a difference he made to Mounts last time. You could even say he won Mounts a flag. So crap on about him all you like. Bet you would love him in your side!!!

Big Ump
6 Jun 2008, 10:28
You blokes shitting yourself already and the clearance has'nt even gone through???? You all know what a difference he made to Mounts last time. You could even say he won Mounts a flag. So crap on about him all you like. Bet you would love him in your side!!!
Don't worry spiderweb the only reason RWB is carrying on about Dalton returning, RWB is scared he will lose the title of the best pie eater in the HDFL:D. Spiderweb could you tell Dalton when you see him Big Ump thinks he is a great bloke;):rolleyes::D

the red white and black
6 Jun 2008, 10:57
Yeah, that's what I'm doing...shitting myself. As if it's going to concern me Spider. Just asked the question and I'll ask it again. Why?:confused:

the red white and black
6 Jun 2008, 11:00
Don't worry spiderweb the only reason RWB is carrying on about Dalton returning, RWB is scared he will lose the title of the best pie eater in the HDFL:D. Spiderweb could you tell Dalton when you see him Big Ump thinks he is a great bloke;):rolleyes::D
Just knocked down one of Sega's curry pies, the best in the business. Seriously Gump, get out in the bush and do some work. The downtime at the moment is killing us honest, hard working people who pay your wages.:D
De Mars to win the Swan Hill Cup.:thumbsu:

Big Ump
6 Jun 2008, 11:10
Just knocked down one of Sega's curry pies, the best in the business. Seriously Gump, get out in the bush and do some work. The downtime at the moment is killing us honest, hard working people who pay your wages.:D
Hill Bully has told me Dalton knows were you live:D
Brace yourself Burnsborough to win the Heathcote cup:p

Big Ump
6 Jun 2008, 11:35
Donna how's our old mate Trottaboya travelling, is he back to his old self again

Doona2
6 Jun 2008, 11:56

I'm hearing that RWB, Sega's over the other mob any day of the week :thumbsu:

PINNACLE HEALTH
6 Jun 2008, 13:33
I'm hearing that RWB, Sega's over the other mob any day of the week :thumbsu:

Doona, i think i know how Bonnie Doon got its funds to poach half your team, Tony Mokbel left them a basket full of cash for hiding him!

Tiger1212
6 Jun 2008, 13:50
Heathcotes side not in the addy anyone know the in's and outs

matt_nicholls
6 Jun 2008, 13:54
Heathcotes side not in the addy anyone know the in's and outs

15 BELL, Luke
4 CARROLL, Daniel
25 CHAPMAN, Alex
45 COX, Steven
18 FEATHERSTONE, Lech
13 HARMAN, Jacob
1 JESS, Jonathan
28 KING, Damien
5 MELDRUM, Alistair
24 MIDDLETON, Sonny
38 MILLARD, Marc
11 MORGAN, Brydan
48 PAISLEY, Jack
10 RING, Michael
29 RING, Patrick
23 SALADINO, Andrew
3 SANDERS, Wayne
19 SHAW, Josh
31 THOMPSON, David
17 TOBIN, Tom
6 TRAVAGLIA, Stephen
8 WATERS, Matthew

nesko_25
6 Jun 2008, 14:10
Tips:

LBU v Heathcote: LBU by 15 points, play the spaces at locky well with heaps of runners in Bongy, H collins, Jacko etc. Should be a great contest.

Colbo v Huntly: After last week I dont think Funkys boys will make it 2 in a row, strong side (any key injuries) and while Huntly will make a good fist of in the the first half I think they'll run out of puff. Colbo by 67points

WH v Mounts: I think most people would expect mounts to bounce back but they havnt been playing their best footy and will Carter play? even if he did he would get targeted. WH have been playing good footy and have the fire power up forward. WH by 23 points

Broady v North: Doona said his boys are not playing at their best but they always lift at Broady and while this will be a scrappy afair I think the roos will get up but Thorsen will kick a bag. Broady 39 points

Tiger1212
6 Jun 2008, 14:37
Tips:

LBU v Heathcote: LBU by 15 points, play the spaces at locky well with heaps of runners in Bongy, H collins, Jacko etc. Should be a great contest.

Colbo v Huntly: After last week I dont think Funkys boys will make it 2 in a row, strong side (any key injuries) and while Huntly will make a good fist of in the the first half I think they'll run out of puff. Colbo by 67points

WH v Mounts: I think most people would expect mounts to bounce back but they havnt been playing their best footy and will Carter play? even if he did he would get targeted. WH have been playing good footy and have the fire power up forward. WH by 23 points

Broady v North: Doona said his boys are not playing at their best but they always lift at Broady and while this will be a scrappy afair I think the roos will get up but Thorsen will kick a bag. Broady 39 points

Heathcote have plenty of runners two just ask the colbo boys running is there game too

nesko_25
6 Jun 2008, 14:46
Heathcote have plenty of runners two just ask the colbo boys running is there game too

Its hard to comment on heathcote as we havnt played them yet. What I was saying is LBU have good runners that are suited to their home ground, just like north and broady are suited to their ground

sims
6 Jun 2008, 15:50
WHills by 25 points. Unless this bloke Dalton plays. He sounds like the mach winner that Mts have been looking for. If he plays WHills to win by 1 point. Surely he gets one warm up game!!!
LBU by 3 points
Colbo by 45 points
Broady by 38 points.
Whats the story with Carter and Pritchet do they both have broken bones in their faces?

allballs
6 Jun 2008, 19:37
15 BELL, Luke
4 CARROLL, Daniel
25 CHAPMAN, Alex
45 COX, Steven
18 FEATHERSTONE, Lech
13 HARMAN, Jacob
1 JESS, Jonathan
28 KING, Damien
5 MELDRUM, Alistair
24 MIDDLETON, Sonny
38 MILLARD, Marc
11 MORGAN, Brydan
48 PAISLEY, Jack
10 RING, Michael
29 RING, Patrick
23 SALADINO, Andrew
3 SANDERS, Wayne
19 SHAW, Josh
31 THOMPSON, David
17 TOBIN, Tom
6 TRAVAGLIA, Stephen
8 WATERS, Matthew
coach of heathcote must not get to see many twos games how he could put a 40 year old man in ahead of some young blood beats me he must want his son that much he puts the future of heathcotes young blood in the bin. if luke ring misses out on game and for that matter a few other at the expense of an old man it beats me. show some balls coach and think of the future of the club not just this year and get to the ground early and watch the seconds play your not above it.

hagansbull
6 Jun 2008, 21:41
coach of heathcote must not get to see many twos games how he could put a 40 year old man in ahead of some young blood beats me he must want his son that much he puts the future of heathcotes young blood in the bin. if luke ring misses out on game and for that matter a few other at the expense of an old man it beats me. show some balls coach and think of the future of the club not just this year and get to the ground early and watch the seconds play your not above it.
majority of those are junior players at h'cote, how many juniors are still playing with your club?:confused:

dropthesirenAcky
7 Jun 2008, 09:18

hey hey .you've heard of the apprentiship haven't you ? and the mature age apprentiship . It doesn't really matter if they run Dad's Army out on the park as long as they get the footy . And if they are clearly not ,then give ringy a run . After all Carlton won a flag in 95 with a aged list , look at em now;)

Wayne "The King" Carey
7 Jun 2008, 09:50
pretty hard to leave coxy out when he knocks up getting 40 kicks a week. Ruke Ling would be next in if someone pulled out

Big Ump
7 Jun 2008, 10:43
pretty hard to leave coxy out when he knocks up getting 40 kicks a week. Ruke Ling would be next in if someone pulled out
Look out Wayne The "Mistake" Carey.Hagansbull and RWB will get you for your spelling.Take notice from someone who is reformed :D

hagansbull
7 Jun 2008, 11:26
Look out Wayne The "Mistake" Carey.Hagansbull and RWB will get you for your spelling.Take notice from someone who is reformed :D
deformed that should read, btw Gump could have a Cocky for you if your interested, ring me:thumbsu:

nesko_25
7 Jun 2008, 18:28
:: Round Name: Round 9 Starting Date: 7/6/2008

Broadford 14.7 (91) v North Bendigo 12.14 (86)
Colbinabbin 14.19 (103) v Huntly 10.5 (65)
LBU 13.4 (82) v Heathcote 17.8 (110)
White Hills 13.8 (86) v Mount Pleasant 8.10 (58)
Elmore 0.0 (0) v Bye 0.0 (0)

nesko_25
7 Jun 2008, 18:52
WH seem to keep getting stronger, Mounts need more than Dalts. With no Carter or Clears the depth is exposed.

Didnt expect the LBU v Hcote match to turn out like that. Left at half time and LBU played all over the Cote (bar last last 2mins of the first half). Waters came off with a leg complaint but came back on.

Big Ump
7 Jun 2008, 19:35
WH seem to keep getting stronger, Mounts need more than Dalts. With no Carter or Clears the depth is exposed.

Didnt expect the LBU v Hcote match to turn out like that. Left at half time and LBU played all over the Cote (bar last last 2mins of the first half). Waters came off with a leg complaint but came back on.

Now you have seen H/cote play,what are your thoughts can they go all the way

nesko_25
7 Jun 2008, 23:12

As I said I left at half time so I only really seen 1 quarter (shower, changed etc after 2s) and they got out played so from what I seen, they need to improve. But they did get on with it so well done to them and they have proven them self and are 2nd or thirds fav and rightly so. Elmore are still the team to beat

Doona2
8 Jun 2008, 10:53

F**king oath Ump :thumbsu:

pace to freeze
8 Jun 2008, 19:30
As I said I left at half time so I only really seen 1 quarter (shower, changed etc after 2s) and they got out played so from what I seen, they need to improve. But they did get on with it so well done to them and they have proven them self and are 2nd or thirds fav and rightly so. Elmore are still the team to beat

Same here and as a non biased by-stander, LBU had all the answers in the 1st half, to F$#ing cold to stay after that. Heathcote appeared to lack leg speed and LBU had rotated there players well and felt they would have ran away with it quite easy. ???

Wayne "The King" Carey
8 Jun 2008, 20:45
Heathcote pegged it back to a 3 point deficit at 3/4 time and with LBU's 1st and 2nd ruck options off with injury early in the last Heathcote gained ascendancy in the midfield. Coach Meldrums last quarter display would be best described as clinical kicking 4 majors from contested marks.

the red white and black
8 Jun 2008, 22:27

Nesko, the game turned half way through the second quarter. We started to get on top in the ruck and Sammy was shut down by the little Munchkin after creating havoc for a quarter and a half. 19 to 6 inside 50's in the last quarter and the King is right, Meldrum was the key in the last quarter. Pretty versatile though the Saints because the side was thrown around a bit to try and get things up and going. No doubting we were smashed early (7 goals to 2 or 3 midway through the second quarter)

BAR FRIDGE
9 Jun 2008, 11:40
Nesko, the game turned half way through the second quarter. We started to get on top in the ruck and Sammy was shut down by the little Munchkin after creating havoc for a quarter and a half. 19 to 6 inside 50's in the last quarter and the King is right, Meldrum was the key in the last quarter. Pretty versatile though the Saints because the side was thrown around a bit to try and get things up and going. No doubting we were smashed early (7 goals to 2 or 3 midway through the second quarter)

Not sure what's going on at the cattery at the moment. We've been up at half time against Colbo, Elmore and now Heathcote only to lose quite convincingly! Don't no if it's lack of fitness or more a mental thing, but it's annoying the crap out of me!:confused: Heathcote did have there runner play a loose man in defence in the second half which did make it hard to score goals!:D How'd you boys go in Echuca Saturday night, did yas make it to OPT? Hopefully at least one of yas got locked up!!!:thumbsu:

shmooze
9 Jun 2008, 11:43
I have just heard all weekend that COLBO have already recruited heavily for season 09. Word is that Nick Knight (assistant coach) has some old mates wanting to play footy all together and next season it's going to happen.

At least 5 players have just about committed with some more likely to sign.

Long way off but scary for the opposition!!!

the red white and black
9 Jun 2008, 13:42
Not sure what's going on at the cattery at the moment. We've been up at half time against Colbo, Elmore and now Heathcote only to lose quite convincingly! Don't no if it's lack of fitness or more a mental thing, but it's annoying the crap out of me!:confused: Heathcote did have there runner play a loose man in defence in the second half which did make it hard to score goals!:D How'd you boys go in Echuca Saturday night, did yas make it to OPT? Hopefully at least one of yas got locked up!!!:thumbsu:
Just couldn't get off the ground Fridge. Wind was against me, legs were gone, nothing intentional although the bald headed Ump told me to get the flock outta there! In defense of you blokes, you were down on the bench with injuries and we had all fit players available.

Johnny Tapp
9 Jun 2008, 16:42
i Have Just Heard All Weekend That Colbo Have Already Recruited Heavily For Season 09. Word Is That Nick Knight (assistant Coach) Has Some Old Mates Wanting To Play Footy All Together And Next Season It's Going To Happen.

At Least 5 Players Have Just About Committed With Some More Likely To Sign.

Long Way Off But Scary For The Opposition!!!

I find this extremely hard to believe - most players can't commit in October/November let alone a year in advance

shmooze
9 Jun 2008, 17:07
I find this extremely hard to believe - most players can't commit in October/November let alone a year in advance

Fair point Johnny, but word has it that these players have been playing interstate and have squared off jobs in Vic to start in December. Like I said before all are best mates with Knight and want to have at least one year of playing footy together.

Johnny Tapp
9 Jun 2008, 18:06
Fair point Johnny, but word has it that these players have been playing interstate and have squared off jobs in Vic to start in December. Like I said before all are best mates with Knight and want to have at least one year of playing footy together.

Got any names Shmooze?

shmooze
9 Jun 2008, 18:35
Got any names Shmooze?

Not yet Johnny, but trying to find out from the man himself. I know 2 are from the Echuca area and played GVFL, and one is playing at Leitchy @ the moment and one from interstate.

Watch this space...

Hill Bully
9 Jun 2008, 20:26
Just couldn't get off the ground Fridge. Wind was against me, legs were gone, nothing intentional although the bald headed Ump told me to get the flock outta there! In defense of you blokes, you were down on the bench with injuries and we had all fit players available.

Not to mention the four pies you scoffed at half time!:p Maybe the fridge was a bit upset as he was getting a quilting from a little munchkin RWB??

Big Ump
9 Jun 2008, 21:48
Not to mention the four pies you scoffed at half time!:p Maybe the fridge was a bit upset as he was getting a quilting from a little munchkin RWB??
Hill Bully it should be a great contest next week H/cote vs White Hills,and all so the reunion for RWB, it will be 10 years on Saturday that RWB had 19 steamed dim sims before he played in the maggo's:D

johnny rotten
9 Jun 2008, 23:21
Not yet Johnny, but trying to find out from the man himself. I know 2 are from the Echuca area and played GVFL, and one is playing at Leitchy @ the moment and one from interstate.

Watch this space...

Shmooze who's ya source?

the red white and black
10 Jun 2008, 02:22
Hill Bully it should be a great contest next week H/cote vs White Hills,and all so the reunion for RWB, it will be 10 years on Saturday that RWB had 19 steamed dim sims before he played in the maggo's:D
That'd be the same anniversary of your frontal labotomy wouldn't it? What happened to you on Saturday, Lockington too far for you?:thumbsd:

Big Ump
10 Jun 2008, 08:16
That'd be the same anniversary of your frontal labotomy wouldn't it? What happened to you on Saturday, Lockington too far for you?:thumbsd:

I spread myself around,don't only have intrest in H/Cote you know.And by the way they tell me you are having a operation soon.

randallbone
10 Jun 2008, 13:24
Shmooze who's ya source?

I can probably guess who the two are... Brendan Jennings and Ben Wilson. Willo currently in Perth and Jenno is playing in the centre for Leitchville. Whether any of them line up at the Grasshoppers next season is a question in itself.

shmooze
10 Jun 2008, 13:47
I can probably guess who the two are... Brendan Jennings and Ben Wilson. Willo currently in Perth and Jenno is playing in the centre for Leitchville. Whether any of them line up at the Grasshoppers next season is a question in itself.

Can't reveal source sorry Johhny...I have been told they all went to school together and have been trying to play footy at the same club in years. It is a long way off but if it happens it would be great for the hoppers. Jennings might be hard to get as he is assistant coach isn't he?

real taste-zero sugar
10 Jun 2008, 14:18

allballs looking through your previous posts it is obvious that you see a fair few Heathcote games (1's & 2's) - if you would like to discuss team selection then make yourself known - until then you shall be known as noballs.....

old saint
10 Jun 2008, 15:32
rumour floating around that big al morris may make a return to elmore this year.

Doona2
10 Jun 2008, 15:38
allballs looking through your previous posts it is obvious that you see a fair few Heathcote games (1's & 2's) - if you would like to discuss team selection then make yourself known - until then you shall be known as noballs.....

yeah c'mon allballs :D

Tiger1212
10 Jun 2008, 15:54
You must have some experence in the side to much youth can be determental, blokes that have been around the block a few times will be Heathcotes best asset comes finals time. Looking at the team Heathcote named on Saturday How many would be Premiership players

catters078
10 Jun 2008, 17:11

bit hard to critisise a coach who has his seniors equal 2nd with a 6-2 record and the reserves 5-3 and 1 game of the top...dont doubt the effort he puts into the whole club. Not just the seniors

we'restreaking
10 Jun 2008, 18:04
yeah c'mon allballs :D

Your silence is deafening no balls.. Come on fire back..:D I think his decision has been vindicated.. And i think i've got you pegged!!

The Old Sow Pig
10 Jun 2008, 22:14
Your silence is deafening no balls.. Come on fire back..:D I think his decision has been vindicated.. And i think i've got you pegged!!

Don't be offended small balls, he's pegged plenty before you!:D:D:D

the red white and black
10 Jun 2008, 22:26
Don't be offended small balls, he's pegged plenty before you!:D:D:D
He's pretty handy with the old pork sword!:eek:

Teddy
11 Jun 2008, 09:37
If you spent more time in our hills of Tooborac and less time eating Sega's pies,you would keep up instead of running up and down on the same spot:p

MtMen
12 Jun 2008, 15:44
its through. hopefully he will help turn things around this weekend.

12/6/2008n/aDALTON, Adam From EXT.: Northern Football League (Diamond Valley FL) > North HeidelbergMount PleasantApproved

Bound 4 september
12 Jun 2008, 16:06

12/6/2008n/aDALTON, Adam From EXT.: Northern Football League (Diamond Valley FL) > North HeidelbergMount PleasantApproved

Would hope so for mounts sake or otherwise could be a fair few games behind the pace. Doesnt get any easier when Mounts have got Elmore and Heathcote in the next 2 games....

Santoz
12 Jun 2008, 16:29
Would hope so for mounts sake or otherwise could be a fair few games behind the pace. Doesnt get any easier when Mounts have got Elmore and Heathcote in the next 2 games....

Absolutely.

Going on history, sides need at least 8 wins and a handy % to scrape into the finals. If they drop the two, that will leave them with 6 games to go, and needing to win at least 5 of those to have a chance of making it.

Their last 3 games are against Colbinabbin, LBU and White Hills, with LBU & White Hills potentially fighting for 4th and 5th spot at this stage.

I reckon this is season on the line stuff for Mounts over the next 3 weeks ...

Big Ump
12 Jun 2008, 16:30

Re: Northern Football League Division 1 - Part II
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Ump http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11295409#post11295409)
Thanks for that Tiger,you don't know the reason why he is leaving so soon.Was it because he was to slow for the NFL and now he is chasing big money with Mont Pleasant,just wondering,:thumbsu:

Tiger rocket where do you get your info from reading your posts you have no idea about nth. Dalton has been around nth for about six years only plays two s and has had a few senior games. he returned to nth after a couple of years in EDFL and played one game three weeks ago. He told me Mt pleasant offered him good money to go there and with a young family decided to go still going to train with nth and always turns up at functions.

Tell me this MtMen, is Dalton only playing for the money because he has a young family or is he going to take pride in wearing the Mounts jumper every Saturday.But i think he will get his money and go straight back to North Heidelberg and spend it at their functions:confused:

MtMen
12 Jun 2008, 16:43
Tell this MtMen, is Dalton only playing for the money because he has a young family or is he going to take pride in wearing the Mounts jumper every Saturday.But i think he will get his money and go straight back to North Heidelberg and spend it at their functions:confused:[/quote]

I presume Dalts would be on similiar money to what he was on in 2006 and maybe he has the same motivation as in 2006, whatever that motivation is. But going on his form in that year do you reckon he had any pride in his performance. I would have thought so. He wouldn't have kicked 28 goals in 7 games otherwise. He also turned the Prelim Final v LBU in Mounts favour with those 3 long range thrid qtr goals. Someone who didn't care about the end result wouldn't have bothered, would they? Greg Byrne would have done a better job on someone who didn't care about the result.

Tiger1212
12 Jun 2008, 17:12
Absolutely.

Going on history, sides need at least 8 wins and a handy % to scrape into the finals. If they drop the two, that will leave them with 6 games to go, and needing to win at least 5 of those to have a chance of making it.

Their last 3 games are against Colbinabbin, LBU and White Hills, with LBU & White Hills potentially fighting for 4th and 5th spot at this stage.

I reckon this is season on the line stuff for Mounts over the next 3 weeks ...
Going on Heathcotes record verse mounts i would say that mounts would be favorite at home if they win that they would be sure to make the finals this game will be the biggest game for the year for the mountain men

Bound 4 september
12 Jun 2008, 17:45
Going on Heathcotes record verse mounts i would say that mounts would be favorite at home if they win that they would be sure to make the finals this game will be the biggest game for the year for the mountain men

Doubt record will count for much when the seasons on the line:thumbsu:

henryd
12 Jun 2008, 19:39
Greg Byrne kicked 2 goals in that game playing virtually full back versus Dallton 4 goals playing virtually full forward.IMO Greg has finished way in front.

the red white and black
12 Jun 2008, 20:21

What's the amount of weeks suspended you can rack up before being deregistered?!?!:D Two arms, two legs. There just a bit bigger than everybody else's!:D

Fantom Maggot
12 Jun 2008, 20:53
What's the amount of weeks suspended you can rack up before being deregistered?!?!:D Two arms, two legs. There just a bit bigger than everybody else's!:D

Fair chance Billy gets reported this weekend. Seven counts of head butting Dalton's fists. Four to the right and three to the left and then take a dive playing for the free:D:D:D. Fee Fi Fo Fum.

betterinthewet
12 Jun 2008, 22:28

cant believe mts think dalton is their saviour.after sat effort u would think that they need to start again and maybe invest in their youth.coach carters performance at 3/4 time tells me that his not theright person to rebuild the senior side.crumbled under pressure.

6from7
12 Jun 2008, 22:34
Greg Byrne kicked 2 goals in that game playing virtually full back versus Dallton 4 goals playing virtually full forward.IMO Greg has finished way in front.

Greg Byrne's man.....that would have been A Dalton, turned the game for Mounts in that third quarter and then the game. Mounts and Dalton went on to win the grand final. I would say Mr Dalton finished waaaaaaaaaaaay in front. Don't you? I think Greg would have preferred the win than being able to say he kicked 2 goals from fullback on the bloke that won the game for the opposition.

Buttons
13 Jun 2008, 08:53
cant believe mts think dalton is their saviour.after sat effort u would think that they need to start again and maybe invest in their youth.coach carters performance at 3/4 time tells me that his not theright person to rebuild the senior side.crumbled under pressure.

I think Carters done pretty well. Hasn't come out and blamed injuries or anything like some coaches/clubs do when thing don't go right. Has given 4 or 5 kids a go with some of them going well and has the respect of his players and supporters. As for crumbling under pressure, don't think he would have coached them to 2 premierships and a third if he couldn't handle pressure. Looked like frustration to me as he couldn't actually play himself. I think Mts are hoping to have 5 or 6 players back for the h/cote game that didn't play against White Hills, hopefully makes a big difference.