View Full Version : Geelong and District Football League 2
DEVILS
15th May 2008, 15:25
wat do ppl think bout the addys lift out on local footy
Crap! why does gfl and bfl get all the write ups we get shit were all still from geelong and play in geelong it should be the same.
We can all see all the talk has been bannocburn vs inverlie i hope bannoc win so when we play them next week it will be for top spot , so the bannoc boys have got a couple of tuff weeks ahead of them. Its good to see mark (sharky) otoole has made a great return to footy playing 2 games and kicking 4 in each and setting up 3 or 4 aswell, come end of season when his fit there will be know backmen that will beat him. I must admitt with the devils getting players back each week there back on track.
InverHawks
15th May 2008, 21:42
Crap! why does gfl and bfl get all the write ups we get shit were all still from geelong and play in geelong it should be the same.
We can all see all the talk has been bannocburn vs inverlie i hope bannoc win so when we play them next week it will be for top spot , so the bannoc boys have got a couple of tuff weeks ahead of them. Its good to see mark (sharky) otoole has made a great return to footy playing 2 games and kicking 4 in each and setting up 3 or 4 aswell, come end of season when his fit there will be know backmen that will beat him. I must admitt with the devils getting players back each week there back on track.
I think mate if u had a glance at the ladder if banno win its impossible 4 corio to take top spot. I think the reason people want 2 c the hawks crash and burn is cause most of u r thomson players or supporters and r still crying over the round 2 loss to the mighty hawks. and just 4 the record jaychawks first game 4 the year was against west. maybe if people on here knew wot they were talkin about this forum would be alot better. GO HAWKS LETS STICK IT UP EM ALL
favre
15th May 2008, 21:56
I think mate if u had a glance at the ladder if banno win its impossible 4 corio to take top spot. I think the reason people want 2 c the hawks crash and burn is cause most of u r thomson players or supporters and r still crying over the round 2 loss to the mighty hawks. and just 4 the record jaychawks first game 4 the year was against west. maybe if people on here knew wot they were talkin about this forum would be alot better. GO HAWKS LETS STICK IT UP EM ALL
i think the reason everyone wants the hawks to lose to banno is that 3/4 of the people on this forum shutup about how goood this team supposdly is
Ritta
15th May 2008, 21:58
clayton(give it 2 me)trotter.Has given alot 2 football &taken alot(ask anakie)Not the best player because it is no longer a 1 man show @ inverleigh
Clayton (give it to me) trotter is probably one of the best players at bringing the kids playing seniors into the game, and even though he has not been the best player this season has still been invaluable with his leadership on the field.
Juddster
15th May 2008, 23:36
Thomson players would be the first to admit Inverleigh deserved to beat them, so I think you are mistaking some posts as Thomson people. The reason you Inverleigh guys are copping it is because there is the right way to win and lose and thats with dignity, something you havent grasped yet. Thats why Thomson have continually played finals for more than 10 years and won flags. Good luck for the rest of the season hopefully you will show some class along the way.
Leigh Boy
16th May 2008, 10:36
I saw in the Addy last Sat that they were holding a phone txt pole about merging the three leagues (GDFL/GFL/BFL) and have it a so teams could get relegated and promoted etc.. any veiws on this or has anyone seen the results?
faceinthecrowd
16th May 2008, 10:46
I saw in the Addy last Sat that they were holding a phone txt pole about merging the three leagues (GDFL/GFL/BFL) and have it a so teams could get relegated and promoted etc.. any veiws on this or has anyone seen the results?
For 45%
Against 55%
WA creep
16th May 2008, 11:04
Ok mate.. Ok
DEVILS
16th May 2008, 11:06
no worries. i couldnt care a less if inverlie win or lose against bannoc i just dont think they will be a threat come finals time if they make it. they are saying alot about beating corio and thomson but second time around unfortunately for inverlie they will see 2 different sides and get a reality check and you better hope you dont get injuries there is no depth at the club at all.
lloyd christmas
16th May 2008, 11:49
Couldn't agree with you more Devils. No depth whatsoever. I've had the chore of watching their horrific two's side. I felt ill watching them butcher our great game.
Wiskers32
16th May 2008, 12:35
Couldn't agree with you more Devils. No depth whatsoever. I've had the chore of watching their horrific two's side. I felt ill watching them butcher our great game.
What about that big number 4 from last year?? bald head, more hair on his back than bigfoot. Surely he would be pushing 1's ahahaha
theknowledge
16th May 2008, 13:35
Update on post from a couple of weeks back. A source says Nathan Lewis has been deregistered and will need to appeal to AFL Victoria to play again.:eek:
rizzo
16th May 2008, 18:30
Continue on here guys :thumbsu:
retirednowback
16th May 2008, 20:46
I heard on the grapevine that ricky is giving five or so of the u/16 a crack at senior footy this weekend for corio against winch, this is probably the best round to initiate them in to senior football , but i wouldnt of thought you would go in with that many when you have such a big chance of increasing your percentage ,which could come down to the wire come finals time.can any one add any comment to this post
theknowledge
16th May 2008, 21:20
I heard on the grapevine that ricky is giving five or so of the u/16 a crack at senior footy this weekend for corio against winch, this is probably the best round to initiate them in to senior football , but i wouldnt of thought you would go in with that many when you have such a big chance of increasing your percentage ,which could come down to the wire come finals time.can any one add any comment to this post
Well he'd want to have some confidence in them. Percentage is one thing but what if Winch pulled one out of the hat (Not likely though:p) 5 is a lot, perhaps 2 or 3 might be the go. What the injury status of the "stars" at the Dev's
InverHawks
16th May 2008, 22:39
What about that big number 4 from last year?? bald head, more hair on his back than bigfoot. Surely he would be pushing 1's ahahaha
once again u all think u know wot u r talkin about but u all really hav no idea. the seniors havent yet had a full strength side on the park yet this season, theres a lot of depth at inverleigh but u all just hav no idea the 2's hav alot of good players that hav played senoirs b4 its just a matter of getting 2 know everyone. under 18's hav been playing seniors aswell. the number 4 u speak of is no longer playing 4 inverleigh.
As for lloyd im sorry the two's team in the gdfl arent up 2 your high standards, gee some people just hav no idea and they r a discrace 2 footy.
DEVILS
16th May 2008, 23:19
Well he'd want to have some confidence in them. Percentage is one thing but what if Winch pulled one out of the hat (Not likely though:p) 5 is a lot, perhaps 2 or 3 might be the go. What the injury status of the "stars" at the Dev's
i think weve had a run-in with the kiss of death this season we cant keep anyone on the track we get 5 or 6 back last week and lose 5 or 6 this week its unbeliveable. Yeah your right about the percentage booster but its probably more important for the clubs future to play kids when we get the chance, i would think we would have the oldest list by far in gdfl and the kids playing this weekend will be great footballers for our club in the near future. with the 5 or 6 out this week we would have about 8 out all up at the moment, but last weeks side was the best weve had all year.
favre
16th May 2008, 23:41
can anyone confirm if ferguson from corio has been told to stay away after a 'off field' incident involving a highly respected player, havent got a chance to look at the sides in the addy today just a thing i heard through the week
GDFL Guru
17th May 2008, 00:05
rumour true:thumbsu: spoke to ricky at tab tonite told me he is playing 2 juniors one from under 14s i actually got told it is his younger brother? Apparentyly the kid can play? and one from under 16s i think its a big call but great to see young kids giving a chance
GDFL Guru
17th May 2008, 00:06
can anyone confirm if ferguson from corio has been told to stay away after a 'off field' incident involving a highly respected player, havent got a chance to look at the sides in the addy today just a thing i heard through the week
Definately playing was with o'Toole and manning last nite will be starting on the wing so the rumour false!
Wiskers32
17th May 2008, 00:10
rumour true:thumbsu: spoke to ricky at tab tonite told me he is playing 2 juniors one from under 14s i actually got told it is his younger brother? Apparentyly the kid can play? and one from under 16s i think its a big call but great to see young kids giving a chance
Deffintly a great decision but is it to early to bring them in??
faceinthecrowd
17th May 2008, 00:12
i think weve had a run-in with the kiss of death this season we cant keep anyone on the track we get 5 or 6 back last week and lose 5 or 6 this week its unbeliveable. Yeah your right about the percentage booster but its probably more important for the clubs future to play kids when we get the chance, i would think we would have the oldest list by far in gdfl and the kids playing this weekend will be great footballers for our club in the near future. with the 5 or 6 out this week we would have about 8 out all up at the moment, but last weeks side was the best weve had all year.
I wouldnt think many teams at all would run out at full strenght every week. This is the case with all levels of football, the clubs that manage these situations are the ones who succeed. No one ever remembers the team that "couldve" or "wouldve" or "only if" or "what if" , only the team that prevails come September. Its frustrating but we only remember the premiers of that year and have many years to reflect forever on that team.
Perfect example are Belmont Lions, they have gone down in history as the 2007 premiers, they won it fair and square, no one will ever take that away.
Nothing more annoying than a team or club full of excuses for watsed opportunities!
norfolk and chance
17th May 2008, 09:16
the addys sport write ups are a disgrace especially the gdlf and div 2 cricket. they were alot better 5 years ago.
and they get more names wrong then toothlesstigher or is it meant to be toothlesstiger ??????? i think thomson2008 has a name change
cats_back2back
17th May 2008, 18:06
GO HAWKS LETS STICK IT UP EM ALL[/quote]
Was at the bannock vs Inverleigh game today. The hawks tried hard all day and nearly stole the win in the end of a game they were completely outclassed in and were only kept in it by some terrible umpiring decisions.
So look forward to a week of inverleigh fans sooking and moaning about not winning and also a list of excuses to why they didnt win.
theknowledge
17th May 2008, 18:52
West beats Anakie by 11 points for the breakthrough win. Forget all the crap you read here true or not.
Well done to Cravo, Sheeds and the people who work so hard to keep a club on the ground
Bourky23
17th May 2008, 19:08
thomson get their fifth straight win, puttin away belmont in the wet at godfrey street.. belmont copped some serious injuries.. nath williams probably done his hamstring, toohey broke his ribs and o'brien done his AC.. one of them left in an ambulance.. not sure which one though.. anybody else at the game?
any other scores out there
nacnud79
17th May 2008, 20:10
well done to geelong west today... maybe they can make it 2 in a row next next week.
Bourky23
17th May 2008, 20:44
any other scores out there
check out www.geelongdfl.vcfl.com.au:thumbsu: that'll give you all the scores
PALMERS PUNCHLINES
17th May 2008, 21:24
I think I speak on behalf of most of the posters and readers of bigfooty here....Well done banno, suck it in Inverleigh! Should have been a far greater margin but for some suspect decisions and poor goal kicking.
Hats off to the hawks for the season thus far but hopefully this loss win deflate a few egos and this forum can get back to what it should be about rather than Hawks players/followers organising the premiership photo!!
Also congrats to Geelong West, well deserved win boys!
goldenoldie
17th May 2008, 22:20
I think I speak on behalf of most of the posters and readers of bigfooty here....Well done banno, suck it in Inverleigh! Should have been a far greater margin but for some suspect decisions and poor goal kicking.
Hats off to the hawks for the season thus far but hopefully this loss win deflate a few egos and this forum can get back to what it should be about rather than Hawks players/followers organising the premiership photo!!
Also congrats to Geelong West, well deserved win boys!
I agree, look forward to hearing all the whinging from leigh supporters, if their true to their form.If it was better conditions bannock would have smashed them.
They look good.Next week looks like being a beauty i hope.
norfolk and chance
18th May 2008, 01:09
I agree, look forward to hearing all the whinging from leigh supporters, if their true to their form.If it was better conditions bannock would have smashed them.
They look good.Next week looks like being a beauty i hope.
suffer in your jocks hawks. and all you tool suporters
InverHawks
18th May 2008, 12:56
suffer in your jocks hawks. and all you tool suporters
yer i agree with u all. i guess the season is over now 4 the hawks after losing by 3 points to the form team of the competion c u all in 2009. god u r a bunch of fools, u all look at the score board and see that banno had a lot of scoring shots, but it wasnt like they were missing easy shots or anything there were 2 many indiviuals in the banno side trying 2 be the hero trying 2 kick goals from everywhere. the game was every even and a hard and tough 1 2. and if it was a dry day it still would hav been a close 1 inverleigh would hav been able 2 use there run alot better. both sides deserved 2 win. it was a great game at the end of the day.
expect the hawks 2 bounch back in a big way next week
Seen in todays paper Dean Muir in the best 4 the falcons, good on ya Dean doin the town proud.
goldenoldie
18th May 2008, 13:25
yer i agree with u all. i guess the season is over now 4 the hawks after losing by 3 points to the form team of the competion c u all in 2009. god u r a bunch of fools, u all look at the score board and see that banno had a lot of scoring shots, but it wasnt like they were missing easy shots or anything there were 2 many indiviuals in the banno side trying 2 be the hero trying 2 kick goals from everywhere. the game was every even and a hard and tough 1 2. and if it was a dry day it still would hav been a close 1 inverleigh would hav been able 2 use there run alot better. both sides deserved 2 win. it was a great game at the end of the day.
Seen in todays paper Dean Muir in the best 4 the falcons, good on ya Dean doin the town proud.
yeh yeh, you will struggle to make the finals.
how did tmg go,heard he was to smart for ling and umps gave tmg nothing
Watchful
18th May 2008, 13:33
how did tmg go,heard he was to smart for ling and umps gave tmg nothing
Banno had the umpires on there side all day.. You would probably say tmg had the upper hand on lingy but you could almost blame tmg for kicking banno out of the game if they happened to of lost. poor kicking from inverliegh's grat backline pressure
jetski
18th May 2008, 13:50
Are you people serious.Bannockburn out played inverleigh all over the ground.Umpireing was a disgrace but on Inverleighs side.Tmg had ling on toast and only his bad kicking from SET shots kept inverleigh in the game.As an impartial spectator Bannockburn were to big and physical for inverleigh to handle, Inverleigh have big hearts and never give up.A little bit of advice to inverleigh people, DON'T clap your side off when they LOSE as that is the mentality your club is trying to get rid of. If you want respect honourable loses must be a thing of the past.:cool:
favre
18th May 2008, 14:25
Definately playing was with o'Toole and manning last nite will be starting on the wing so the rumour false!
thanks mate :thumbsu:
InverHawks
18th May 2008, 17:37
Are you people serious.Bannockburn out played inverleigh all over the ground.Umpireing was a disgrace but on Inverleighs side.Tmg had ling on toast and only his bad kicking from SET shots kept inverleigh in the game.As an impartial spectator Bannockburn were to big and physical for inverleigh to handle, Inverleigh have big hearts and never give up.A little bit of advice to inverleigh people, DON'T clap your side off when they LOSE as that is the mentality your club is trying to get rid of. If you want respect honourable loses must be a thing of the past.:cool:
the umpires made poor decisions all day towards both sides, if u go 4 banno u would say the umps were on invers side and vise versa, u could argue that point until your blue in the face. i dont think banno were 2 strong and 2 big 4 inver 2 handle at all wot kept inver in the game was there tackling pressure all day. as 4 the clapping thing mate i think u should just stick 2 jet skiing cause u dont know much about country football, both teams should be applauded 4 goin in as hard as wot they did and showing alot of passion 4 there clubs in such poor conditions. i think the reason the hawk supporters clapped the players off was because they didnt give up all day when they could have so easily.
this weeks banno corio match will probably be a ripper, i would tip banno cause corio seem 2 roll over wen they r challenged
thommyboy
18th May 2008, 17:47
once again u all think u know wot u r talkin about but u all really hav no idea. the seniors havent yet had a full strength side on the park yet this season, theres a lot of depth at inverleigh but u all just hav no idea the 2's hav alot of good players that hav played senoirs b4 its just a matter of getting 2 know everyone. under 18's hav been playing seniors aswell. the number 4 u speak of is no longer playing 4 inverleigh.
As for lloyd im sorry the two's team in the gdfl arent up 2 your high standards, gee some people just hav no idea and they r a discrace 2 footy.
i forgot inverhawk, all the other teams in the gdfl are all full strength. inverleigh must be the unluckies side in the comp.
thommyboy
18th May 2008, 17:51
West beats Anakie by 11 points for the breakthrough win. Forget all the crap you read here true or not.
Well done to Cravo, Sheeds and the people who work so hard to keep a club on the ground
does that meen the werent a disgrace this week and acted like a footy club??????
r u serious there is no depth at the hawks. a couple of injurys and they will b up shit creek. there 2s have won 1 game and could not bet winch the rossiters boys will not b 2 far away from making there debut in 1s
InverHawks
18th May 2008, 18:46
r u serious there is no depth at the hawks. a couple of injurys and they will b up shit creek. there 2s have won 1 game and could not bet winch the rossiters boys will not b 2 far away from making there debut in 1s
did u acctually read wot i said. the two's r better than wot people think, its virtually a new side everyone is just starting 2 get 2 know everyboby, there is a couple of players that have played 1's this year and there are a few others that could play senoirs if they keep being consistent, sick of people talkin bout stuff they hav no idea about. and the rossiters boys hav left the club 2 go play a try there luck at north shore. i would tip the two 2 win this week. some very good signs on saturday.
jetski
18th May 2008, 18:54
the umpires made poor decisions all day towards both sides, if u go 4 banno u would say the umps were on invers side and vise versa, u could argue that point until your blue in the face. i dont think banno were 2 strong and 2 big 4 inver 2 handle at all wot kept inver in the game was there tackling pressure all day. as 4 the clapping thing mate i think u should just stick 2 jet skiing cause u dont know much about country football, both teams should be applauded 4 goin in as hard as wot they did and showing alot of passion 4 there clubs in such poor conditions. i think the reason the hawk supporters clapped the players off was because they didnt give up all day when they could have so easily.
this weeks banno corio match will probably be a ripper, i would tip banno cause corio seem 2 roll over wen they r challenged
You complete ignoramus, do you think sth. barwon, ocean grove or nth.shore in there day , sides that have had continued success would be happy to clap there players off just for effort.this is what you must strive to. TO GET IT , YOU'VE GOT TO GIVE IT, TO GIVE IT, YOU'VE GOT TO HAVE IT , AND IF YOU HAVE IT YOU'VE GOT TO SHOW IT. when you figure out what IT is get back to me.
thommyboy
18th May 2008, 18:58
did u acctually read wot i said. the two's r better than wot people think, its virtually a new side everyone is just starting 2 get 2 know everyboby, there is a couple of players that have played 1's this year and there are a few others that could play senoirs if they keep being consistent, sick of people talkin bout stuff they hav no idea about. and the rossiters boys hav left the club 2 go play a try there luck at north shore. i would tip the two 2 win this week. some very good signs on saturday.
i was told from a very good source from inverleigh that u were told not 2 write on hear again.... is this true???????
InverHawks
18th May 2008, 20:15
i was told from a very good source from inverleigh that u were told not 2 write on hear again.... is this true???????
not at all. the person who told u that was either miss informed or forgot 2 tell me wot they were thinkin, i havent offended anyone since i have been posting again just sticking 4 the club i love with a passion. if someone at the club doesnt like wot i have said i would like them 2 say something 2 me. in my opinion i havent done anything wrong this time
i read what u wrote the 2s r shit and u have no depth they cant b better than what everybody thinks cause they have won just 1 game against anakie which r bottom and have not won a game.
You complete ignoramus, do you think sth. barwon, ocean grove or nth.shore in there day , sides that have had continued success would be happy to clap there players off just for effort.this is what you must strive to. TO GET IT , YOU'VE GOT TO GIVE IT, TO GIVE IT, YOU'VE GOT TO HAVE IT , AND IF YOU HAVE IT YOU'VE GOT TO SHOW IT. when you figure out what IT is get back to me.
sounds like u no alot about footy jetski u make a good point
InverHawks
18th May 2008, 20:39
i read what u wrote the 2s r shit and u have no depth they cant b better than what everybody thinks cause they have won just 1 game against anakie which r bottom and have not won a game.
wen did i write the 2's r shit and wen did i write the club has no depth, although people will laugh at me 4 sayin it we have only been beaten by more than 70 points twice and that was round 2 and 3 we knew we would struggle 4 the first 4 rounds cause alot of players werent available. compared 2 last year its a massive improvement
nacnud79
18th May 2008, 21:11
bannockburn v's corio this week could be a grand final preview for the seniors as well as the 2's.. does anyone agree?
norfolk and chance
18th May 2008, 22:24
bannockburn v's corio this week could be a grand final preview for the seniors as well as the 2's.. does anyone agree?
def not. thommy beat both easily and only getting stronger. rumour has it christian hyland and subali armstrong trained thursday night. can anyone confirm that.
Bourky23
19th May 2008, 01:58
thomson just keep on keeping on.. definetely my pick so far
Kooley
19th May 2008, 10:16
:rolleyes:
transferseason
19th May 2008, 10:17
Great to see some good old-fashioned wet-weather footy with an upset or two.
Thomson look the goods this year. They knocked off Belmont with relative ease. Interesting to note though, Belmont were well on top at half time. Was this a true reflection of the game or were the conditions difficult. Thomson head the table.
Inva and Bannock was match of the round but i think the 19 scoring shots to 11 tell the story here. The big bodies of bannock would've done more damage on a dry day but in effect it was there big-bodies that eventually got them through in the tough wet conditions. Banno sit with Thomson at the head as Inva, Corio BPH and East snap at their heels.
Corio Winch played out as expected. But Corio will be dirty that they only added 4 points to the 3 quarter-time margin. % is all-important but good to see winch didnt drop their heads. A good sign from a young team.
BPH had a nice win over Werribee. solid throughout the match and some early poor kicking stopped it being a blow-out. I notice that after halftime the centrals outscored BPH 6.2 to 4.4. Another good sign from a young team and something to take into next week.
How many days? over 600 but finally west breakthrough and they've been knocking on the door all year. apparently Anakie kicked the 1st 3 of the match and didnt kick another for the game. Great win and they'll make it 2 in a row next week and they will find themselves in 9th spot most likely. Anakie will be livid with the loss. They are right under the pump with Thomson next week.
East and North played out the round with an expected result. East were terrible last week and turned it around quickly. North after being dominated in the 1st were very competetitve as they've been all year but after getting reasonably close in the last, conceded the last 3 goals to be defeated comfortably. East followed BPH with the poorest conversion of the round slotting 12.18.
It's a logjam in the middle of the ladder and effectively i think 8 teams can still make it. By round 18 8 teams will need to be crunched to 5.. Very exciting year ahead.
Any thoughts about this or any of the matches
Watchful
19th May 2008, 10:28
Great to see some good old-fashioned wet-weather footy with an upset or two.
Thomson look the goods this year. They knocked off Belmont with relative ease. Interesting to note though, Belmont were well on top at half time. Was this a true reflection of the game or were the conditions difficult. Thomson head the table.
Inva and Bannock was match of the round but i think the 19 scoring shots to 11 tell the story here. The big bodies of bannock would've done more damage on a dry day but in effect it was there big-bodies that eventually got them through in the tough wet conditions. Banno sit with Thomson at the head as Inva, Corio BPH and East snap at their heels.
Corio Winch played out as expected. But Corio will be dirty that they only added 4 points to the 3 quarter-time margin. % is all-important but good to see winch didnt drop their heads. A good sign from a young team.
BPH had a nice win over Werribee. solid throughout the match and some early poor kicking stopped it being a blow-out. I notice that after halftime the centrals outscored BPH 6.2 to 4.4. Another good sign from a young team and something to take into next week.
How many days? over 600 but finally west breakthrough and they've been knocking on the door all year. apparently Anakie kicked the 1st 3 of the match and didnt kick another for the game. Great win and they'll make it 2 in a row next week and they will find themselves in 9th spot most likely. Anakie will be livid with the loss. They are right under the pump with Thomson next week.
East and North played out the round with an expected result. East were terrible last week and turned it around quickly. North after being dominated in the 1st were very competetitve as they've been all year but after getting reasonably close in the last, conceded the last 3 goals to be defeated comfortably. East followed BPH with the poorest conversion of the round slotting 12.18.
It's a logjam in the middle of the ladder and effectively i think 8 teams can still make it. By round 18 8 teams will need to be crunched to 5.. Very exciting year ahead.
Any thoughts about this or any of the matches
I dont see how you can give accurate rundowns on all the games when its impossible to be in more then one place at once.
transferseason
19th May 2008, 10:37
I dont see how you can give accurate rundowns on all the games when its impossible to be in more then one place at once.
I'm looking to get recruited by the Geelong Advertiser. Is this a back-handed compliment?
Kooley
19th May 2008, 12:19
I'm looking to get recruited by the Geelong Advertiser. Is this a back-handed compliment?Good effort mate. You are a doing a hell alot better than the peannut covering the games for the addy at the moment.
Watchful
19th May 2008, 12:35
Good effort mate. You are a doing a hell alot better than the peannut covering the games for the addy at the moment.
Extremely dissapointed with the geelong addy's write up with the match of the round in todays paper. I expected pictures and the main article about inverleigh and banno but instead they druel on about blue west and annakie.:thumbsd:
sevenup
19th May 2008, 12:41
Pat Nolan is the biggest tool since Jason Doherty .
theknowledge
19th May 2008, 12:41
Thomson definately the form side now. Morel likely a Thomson Bannockburn playoff for the GF if I was going to call now. Corio still have to prove themselves.
East got a win against North but weren't that flash. Was wet weather footy though.
Habib is so crapped off he wants to resign
faceinthecrowd
19th May 2008, 12:42
Extremely dissapointed with the geelong addy's write up with the match of the round in todays paper. I expected pictures and the main article about inverleigh and banno but instead they druel on about blue west and annakie.:thumbsd:
I think a team winning its first game in 2 years deserves some exposure, Blue West are also on the improve and deserve credit. Unlike Bigfooty I am sure the addy wont be pumping up Inverleigh week in week out.
theknowledge
19th May 2008, 12:49
I think a team winning its first game in 2 years deserves some exposure, Blue West are also on the improve and deserve credit. Unlike Bigfooty I am sure the addy wont be pumping up Inverleigh week in week out.
Well said
Drago
19th May 2008, 13:35
Dont worry champ I am always dissapointed by their coverage regardless of which game they cover.
What was match of the round on the Pulse as when I turned it on they had shut up shop due to "technical issues". I assumed that they had mobile phone coverage out at Inverleigh but maybe I was wrong.
Drago
19th May 2008, 13:41
Thomson definately the form side now. Morel likely a Thomson Bannockburn playoff for the GF if I was going to call now. Corio still have to prove themselves.
East got a win against North but weren't that flash. Was wet weather footy though.
Habib is so crapped off he wants to resign
East (missing a some quality players) had North covered early in the game but to Norths credit they fought back well but never really threatened.
North have a good group of young blokes but do have a couple of knobs that sneak around sniping blokes which sets a poor example.
Bourky23
19th May 2008, 13:55
yes it was a true relfection of the game.. belmont had thomson covered early on which i guess was to be expected in the conditions seeing as belmont have a lot of seasoned bodies in their side.. but the class of thomson just shone through at the end and belmont fell away (injuries really didn't help their cause).. wallace picked up the ball and moved like it was a sunny 25 degree day at times.. it was phenomenal!! never seen someone pick the ball up with one hand in the wet and mud and then sidestep a few fella's and kick a perfect 45 metre drop punt into the foward line
favre
19th May 2008, 17:54
in my opinion bannockburn thomson corio inverliegh bph and east geelong will be the only ones participating in finals and it just all depends which one is going to miss out, weribee belmont north geelong are not good enough on a consistent basis
cats_back2back
19th May 2008, 18:02
in my opinion bannockburn thomson corio inverliegh bph and east geelong will be the only ones participating in finals and it just all depends which one is going to miss out, weribee belmont north geelong are not good enough on a consistent basis
Yes I agree completely. Having seen the majority of these teams play these would be the best 6, of this 6 I think it is only really down to Thomson, Corio, Bannockburn and BPH. With East and Inverleigh fighting it out for the last spot.
hawksnest08
19th May 2008, 19:22
its good to see him making an effort to get the juniors up in the senior ranks but no offence to corio U/16s but i really dont think they would have players up to senior standard even if the opposition is winch.
im sure a couple of the kids would be up to it but not 5 of them
hawksnest08
19th May 2008, 19:24
Dont worry champ I am always dissapointed by their coverage regardless of which game they cover.
What was match of the round on the Pulse as when I turned it on they had shut up shop due to "technical issues". I assumed that they had phone coverage out at Inverleigh but maybe I was wrong.
good one drago
hawker6
19th May 2008, 20:02
I agree completely there favre, from what i have seen the competition seems alot closer this year than past years and many teams have proven some critics wrong.
Although corio have lost early games they still have the list to win a premiership
so my final 5 is Corio,Banno,Thomson,Bph and Inverleigh
faceinthecrowd
19th May 2008, 20:34
I agree completely there favre, from what i have seen the competition seems alot closer this year than past years and many teams have proven some critics wrong.
Although corio have lost early games they still have the list to win a premiership
I wouldnt say the comp is closer at all, the current top 7 teams are miles ahead of the rest of the comp, the current 5 have taken it up a notch while the lower half of the ladder are slowly dropping off. When teams are getting punished by over 100 points by top 5 teams you can hardly say they have improved at all.
norfolk and chance
20th May 2008, 15:56
howd me pal with the dodgy strings go sat. did he use his ears as a springboard again.
Drago
20th May 2008, 17:32
Your mob have but the rest are around the mark of where most thought they would be.
East losing to Anakie and BPH drawing with the Cheetahs might be critical come the end of the year.
GDFL Guru
20th May 2008, 22:02
Just heard the players chosen to represent Victoria district rep team to play VAFA on June 7th. Martin Curtis(Thomson), Brent Grgic, Rob May(Bph), T.Mullane-Grant, A.Woods(Bannockburn).
Who picks the team no disrespect to the above but not one of those players would be in the best 5 players in the league
no R.O'Toole, G.Wallace, M.Stewart, C.Trotter, B.Nicholls, J.Fastuca named in squad did these guys make themselves unavailable surely???
Rob May and Woods would probably not even start in the GDFL side and Curtis is not in O'Toole, Trotter and fastucas league..
What is others opinions???
goldenoldie
20th May 2008, 22:57
Just heard the players chosen to represent Victoria district rep team to play VAFA on June 7th. Martin Curtis(Thomson), Brent Grgic, Rob May(Bph), T.Mullane-Grant, A.Woods(Bannockburn).
Who picks the team no disrespect to the above but not one of those players would be in the best 5 players in the league
no R.O'Toole, G.Wallace, M.Stewart, C.Trotter, B.Nicholls, J.Fastuca named in squad did these guys make themselves unavailable surely???
Rob May and Woods would probably not even start in the GDFL side and Curtis is not in O'Toole, Trotter and fastucas league..
Obviously someone part of the GDFL brains trust might have named these
guys to the vic selection panel.Someone doesnt watch to many games.Also no disrespect to the 4 chosen.
retirednowback
20th May 2008, 23:03
I wouldnt say the comp is closer at all, the current top 7 teams are miles ahead of the rest of the comp, the current 5 have taken it up a notch while the lower half of the ladder are slowly dropping off. When teams are getting punished by over 100 points by top 5 teams you can hardly say they have improved at all.
I would have to disagree with you on that faceinthecrowd,without counting the two games that they were beaten by big margins being east (who were brilliant at capitolizing on bluewests failure to hit targets on a down night for them)and thomson (who had the umpires on their side all day ,which probably added 12 of their 29 goals - i am not saying that as an excuse for bluewest and they were undiciplened in a couple of occasions,thomson are still a class side and will possibly be there in the granny, but the umpires were very one sided and lost control of the game at times) all the other games have been very close:belmont by28,draw with bell post,inverleigh by 10,corio by 22 and a win against anakie.six of those sides are in the top seven, so compared to the last couple of years you would have to say bluewest have improved
that is a joke sorry 2 the chosen 1s BUT look around there is a lot of talent out there :mad:
thommyboy
21st May 2008, 00:02
and thomson (who had the umpires on their side all day ,which probably added 12 of their 29 goals - i am not saying that as an excuse for bluewest and they were undiciplened in a couple of occasions,
a couple of occasions????? i think all of the occasions. stop kidding urself, blue west were a joke
sevenup
21st May 2008, 08:10
Good on corio for playing those kids but didnt winch play a 15yr old early in the season regardless of the oppostition ?
theknowledge
21st May 2008, 09:44
Obviously someone part of the GDFL brains trust might have named these
guys to the vic selection panel.Someone doesnt watch to many games.Also no disrespect to the 4 chosen.
Agree partially, is Grigic really playing he doesn't appear to have had much influence. Have seen a couple of rob may's outings though and he looked pretty good.
Betterthenbencoon
21st May 2008, 10:35
Marty Curtis deserves his selection in the squad. If u look back, he's been in Thomson's best most weeks, and the games i've seen him play he gets a lot of the pill and uses it well. He's only a young bloke, maybe the selectors are looking for a bit of youth, if so, they've made a good choice in Curto.
rizzo
21st May 2008, 11:24
Billy is a walking hospital ward. The bloke is always injured. Which is sad because he is a freak. Obviously they must have ruled themselves out because those 6 you named should all get a gig.
faceinthecrowd
21st May 2008, 12:31
Billy is a walking hospital ward. The bloke is always injured. Which is sad because he is a freak. Obviously they must have ruled themselves out because those 6 you named should all get a gig.
Lets not forget, this is the Vic Country team, not GDFL interleague team, most of the 6 you named are 30 plus! Yes we have many great players in the GDFL so lets leave it at that.
rizzo
21st May 2008, 13:02
Lets not forget, this is the Vic Country team, not GDFL interleague team, most of the 6 you named are 30 plus! Yes we have many great players in the GDFL so lets leave it at that.
Thats true, but what I am saying is that those players all should arguably have gotten in before those selected (From the GDFL, not the entire rep team). Not saying that any or all of them should, but surely they would be front runners in terms of reps from the GDFL.
DEVILS
21st May 2008, 15:53
you forgot to mention the guy who would be leading the league b&F at the moment (Jed Potter) he is absolutely killing it, no one can get near him and the thing is with jed you can play him anywhere and he would dominate. The selectors have got shit in there eyes
lloyd christmas
21st May 2008, 18:37
Read in today's paper that Grgic is a chance to Captain the Vic Country side. Are they serious? What has he done this year? They putting him for his name and not his performances.
favre
21st May 2008, 18:44
Agree partially, is Grigic really playing he doesn't appear to have had much influence. Have seen a couple of rob may's outings though and he looked pretty good.
grgic is playing and rarely has he been beaten this year, rob may has the best skills at the club and his attack at the ball is unquestioned. other than that there is alot of players who could have been chosen for this side. do they play any games or anything?
lloyd christmas
21st May 2008, 18:47
Rob May and Woods would probably not even start in the GDFL side
Name your best GDFL side then Guru.
lloyd christmas
21st May 2008, 18:52
do they play any games or anything?
They are playing the Vic Amateurs Association next month.
favre
21st May 2008, 18:56
do they play any games or anything?
They are playing the Vic Amateurs Association next month.
where is that being played mate do u know
faceinthecrowd
21st May 2008, 21:15
Read in today's paper that Grgic is a chance to Captain the Vic Country side. Are they serious? What has he done this year? They putting him for his name and not his performances.
Ex AFL/VFL/GFL player, has a fair CV, along with Martin and Dickson leading the strongest defence in the GDFL.
Wallace would have to be stiff to miss out, although his body could use a rest. You would also think Haami would also be stiff to miss out.
Also heard that Lewis has been officially de-registered by vcfl.
Strong stance they have taken on him, I wonder why Skrobolak has not been investigated, but havent seen them play this year so not sure what the real problem is with him coaching.
Drago
21st May 2008, 21:39
Ex AFL/VFL/GFL player, has a fair CV, along with Martin and Dickson leading the strongest defence in the GDFL.
Wallace would have to be stiff to miss out, although his body could use a rest. You would also think Haami would also be stiff to miss out.
Strong stance they have taken on him, I wonder why Skrobolak has not been investigated, but havent seen them play this year so not sure what the real problem is with him coaching.
Why would there be a need to investigate Skrobba? Lewis was deregistered because he has accumulated more than 16 weeks suspension over his career whereas Skrob had his coaching accreditation taken from him based on an off field and non football related incident. The two items are completely unrelated and at no time was Skrobba a chance of being deregistered.
In regard to the Lewis item I think it is unfair that they bring the rule in and then look at your history as there would have to be a heap of older blokes that might be in trouble (me included if I wanted to play again).
You should have got a clean sheet or at a minimum it should have only taken into account the past 3 years like the points system did in the AFL when it came in.
Aaron James (ex Richmond, Carlton and Bulldogs) is in the same boat as Lewis. He got suspended a couple of years ago and had accumulated 16 weeks in total has been reported for minor item and I think he got a week meaning he is now likely to be deregistered. Stabhope would be spewing as he has kicked 60 odd goals in 6 games
ExtendTheDukes
21st May 2008, 21:59
Mate its a big call to say theyre the strongest defence in the GDFL when teams havent played each other once. Wait another 4 weeks when the Hill have played Belmont, Thomson, East Geelong and Inverleigh, see what the stats say and then make the statement.
In regards to de-registering of players I think it would be interesting to see who is also in danger of falling into this category. Should the VCFL inform each team or league of who is in danger so clubs can talk to those players? Will it have an effect on recruiting next pre season onwards? Clubs wouldnt want to pay a sign on fee for a gun player to find out a week or two into the season a suspension means he's gone for the year and theyve done their $ and their season.
rizzo
21st May 2008, 23:23
Absolute rubbish the 16 game rule. All it takes is a few stupid mistakes and they deregister you.
The leagues need to grow some balls and tell them to jump.
GDFL Guru
22nd May 2008, 01:49
Good on corio for playing those kids but didnt winch play a 15yr old early in the season regardless of the oppostition ?
i think its great the clubs are playing kids the two Corio boys have both only just turned 14 they play in the under 14 side :thumbsu:
GDFL Guru
22nd May 2008, 01:52
And Rob May is older than the 6 i named :eek: wat a joke
GDFL Guru
22nd May 2008, 02:07
Rob May and Woods would probably not even start in the GDFL side
Name your best GDFL side then Guru.
B: D.Gibbs, B.Ling, B.Dowie
HB: M.Worland, B.Grgic, H.Williams
C: A.Fergusson R.O'Toole, C.Moreland
HF: L.Clifford, T.Mullane-Grant, G.Wallace
F: J.Fastuca, A.Scrobalak, N.Lewis
RUCKS: M.Stewart, C.Trotter, B.Nicholls
Int: P.Hoey, M.Curtis, A.Woods, Z.Hickelton, A.Spengler, R.May
Now you tell me am I not right????????;)
macromantic
22nd May 2008, 06:36
B: D.Gibbs, B.Ling, B.Dowie
HB: M.Worland, B.Grgic, H.Williams
C: A.Fergusson R.O'Toole, C.Moreland
HF: L.Clifford, T.Mullane-Grant, G.Wallace
F: J.Fastuca, A.Scrobalak, N.Lewis
RUCKS: M.Stewart, C.Trotter, B.Nicholls
Int: P.Hoey, M.Curtis, A.Woods, Z.Hickelton, A.Spengler, R.May
Now you tell me am I not right????????;)
were is luke mahoney he is better than alot of the players in that side
chappy_35
22nd May 2008, 07:56
all you people out there bagging brent grgic do you even know the man? how many times have you seen him play? sure his first two games for the club were not flash but the man has played 90 thats right 90 afl games. it took him a while to get used to the standard!! since then have not seen him lose one single contest not one. he is our most valuble and best player by far and in top 3 in league. has not missed a training session for the year and has improved a lot of players immensely by the extra work he does with them at training. so give the guy a break
lloyd christmas
22nd May 2008, 08:50
The game is being played in Elwood. Not sure of the ground though