View Full Version : Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL) 2
BrownSugar
12th May 2008, 16:41
He would have to be in the best six defenders in the league. Was on Geelong's VFL list in 2006 and 2007 and played some pretty good VFL footy.
I noticed Hovey came out in today's paper and said he reckons he's the best defender in the league. Glowing complement really.
Best defender in the comp might be a bit over the top. Anyone care to give us a list of say the best defenders in the GFL. I will leave out D Lovick as I don't reckon of seen too much of him. At present, here is my list in no specific order:
L Purton, C Jones, J Larcombe, D Talbot, M Sleeman, M Flanders. Probbaly would have put A McLean and C Bauer in there but believe they are both playing forward now?
hawker6
12th May 2008, 19:37
a queen fan are we brown sugar
"ah brown sugar how come you taste so good ah brown sugar, just like a black girl should a-huh"
great song
hawksnest08
12th May 2008, 19:42
"ah brown sugar how come you taste so good ah brown sugar, just like a black girl should a-huh"
great song
great call hawker, i knew brown sugar knew alot about footy but didnt know he had a great taste in music
good boy brown sugar
BrownSugar
13th May 2008, 08:23
great song
That would be Rolling Stones...
hawker6
13th May 2008, 10:03
a mistake easily made
Up the ante
13th May 2008, 10:48
Best defender in the comp might be a bit over the top. Anyone care to give us a list of say the best defenders in the GFL. I will leave out D Lovick as I don't reckon of seen too much of him. At present, here is my list in no specific order:
L Purton, C Jones, J Larcombe, D Talbot, M Sleeman, M Flanders. Probbaly would have put A McLean and C Bauer in there but believe they are both playing forward now?
Chris Jones easily the best defender in the league for the all round whole package.
NoRumoursAllFact
13th May 2008, 11:33
These Inverleigh folk aren't the sharpest tools in the Farm Shed
G.F.C
13th May 2008, 13:48
Chris Jones easily the best defender in the league for the all round whole package.
Can't / won't argue with that. :D
BrownSugar
14th May 2008, 13:15
Can't / won't argue with that. :D
Yes, I would probably say Jones with Talbot not very far behind. Talbot has an outstanding CV; senior club b&f at WAFL & SANFL level and a VFL club captain.
toothlesstigher
15th May 2008, 09:41
Yes, I would probably say Jones with Talbot not very far behind. Talbot has an outstanding CV; senior club b&f at WAFL & SANFL level and a VFL club captain.
after watching c jones play alot of football in gellong,i can say he is above any1 in defending,also can play bery well around the ground,great par of hands an a huge leap,also very good disposle on foot
rizzo
16th May 2008, 18:34
Continue on going in here guys.
Also note that i've taken out GDFL from the thread title. Seems pointless having 2 GDFL topics so if all GDFL talk could head over to the othe thread, then it would be swell.
rizz
hbk_aus
17th May 2008, 19:04
ANy scores from today?
tommahawk_07
18th May 2008, 16:08
st marys got done by grovey bit of an upset...
G.F.C
19th May 2008, 14:42
st marys got done by grovey bit of an upset...
:thumbsd:
danrobzokbrad
19th May 2008, 19:28
:thumbsd:
Did anybody else see L.Buchanan in ammo's 2's best or goals in the addy? Is that Liam????
Flat Track Bully
20th May 2008, 08:22
Did anybody else see L.Buchanan in ammo's 2's best or goals in the addy? Is that Liam????
Yes. and has trimmed down...
From all reports it comes from the link between Geelong cricket coach Damian Shanahan, whose married/partner of Ammos captain Tim Clark
ExtendTheDukes
20th May 2008, 09:30
What's happening with Anglesea??? Losing to Barwon Heads last week was no disgrace but there consitency so far this year is terrible and I think they along with Drysdale would have to be the most dissapointing teams of the BFL this year. Do they have injuries?
G.F.C
20th May 2008, 09:39
Poor Timmy McLean, that has to be the worst suspension ever.
Flat Track Bully
20th May 2008, 11:42
Tim McLean... or Tim Clark?
G.F.C
20th May 2008, 13:29
Clark obviously, sorry, had the blinkers on.
fast eddy
20th May 2008, 21:03
yes i do belive that was Liam. Has been cleared from Apollo Bay
GDFL Guru
20th May 2008, 22:09
Tim McLean... or Tim Clark?
Wat a joke such a clean player can get suspended for abusing big mouth runner, once again clowns Geoff Stribley and senial Ray Gurrie think they are bigger than the game it is more like a circus than a tribunal all ya need is the balls to put in their mouth:eek:
Drago
20th May 2008, 22:52
Dont know the bloke (I think it was Clarke) but feel sorry for him, what crap getting a week for that. The tribunal need to have a look at themselves and something like this should have been thrown out.
The umpire should have turned a blind eye and allowed him one free crack that way all runners/waterboys would get the hint that they are not a part of the action.
wonkeyknees
22nd May 2008, 20:03
I see on the GFL transfer list Marc DRAGICEVIC was cleared from West Adelaide to St Albans today.Is he the ex Richmond,Geelong Falcons player?
G.F.C
23rd May 2008, 08:23
I see on the GFL transfer list Marc DRAGICEVIC was cleared from West Adelaide to St Albans today.Is he the ex Richmond,Geelong Falcons player?
Yeah, i would have thought he'd go back to North Geelong.
tommytiger
23rd May 2008, 17:22
He has his 2 best mates playing for St.Albans, thats why he's gone to that club.
rizzo
24th May 2008, 13:18
If anyone finds out the Lara result can they post it here. Interested to see how it turns out.
danrobzokbrad
24th May 2008, 17:57
If anyone finds out the Lara result can they post it here. Interested to see how it turns out.
Lara got up, by 3-4 goals i think
rizzo
24th May 2008, 18:08
Results up here:
http://www.footballgeelong.vcfl.com.au/drawresult.asp?comp=5906&OrgID=1137
Hornet12
24th May 2008, 19:12
At 3-3 are St Marys still the best side in it? I had my doubts when the odds came out and now with games against top sides still to come, the story is being told. Bell Park still the best team from my angle.
Hornet12
24th May 2008, 19:15
I think at 0-6 St Albans need his help. Supersaints would be disappointed after recruiting well in off-season.
rizzo
24th May 2008, 19:39
I think at 0-6 St Albans need his help. Supersaints would be disappointed after recruiting well in off-season.
They have been unlucky. Probably should have atleast one win on the board.
Lara were good over NC. Brings them back on level terms with some other clubs.
Garth was awesome again with another 7 goals. Surely has to be the best forward in the comp.
Hornet12
25th May 2008, 09:52
Garth was awesome again with another 7 goals. Surely has to be the best forward in the comp.
If Garth is the best forward, then Mark Flanders would be the best defender. Has kept Garth, McLean & Verco to a combined 4 goals and all of them had no influence in their games against GWSP.
Powerpunch
28th May 2008, 15:17
Well done to Craig 'Crackles' Morrison for his best on field performance for the Bfl in the interleague games last weekend. :thumbsu:
hilly21
30th May 2008, 17:56
anyone know about the interleague side?
Powerpunch
30th May 2008, 18:10
THE Bellarine Football League has been relegated to Pool D in the Victorian Country Football Championship after losing both its clashes at the weekend in the dying stages of play.
An 11-point loss to Western Border followed by a heartbreaking seven-point defeat in overtime to Wimmera yesterday completed a fruitless weekend in Stawell for Brad Nicholls' Sharks.
Quoted from the Geelong Advertiser.
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2008/05/26/14343_geelong_sports.html
Powerpunch
30th May 2008, 18:12
Geelong Amateur ruckman Lindsay Smith and Newcomb Power veteran Craig Morrison were joint-winners of the Bull-Bennett Medal for the BFL's best player after vintage performances in respective matches.
:eek: Veteran???
Also form the Geelong Addy
catattack
31st May 2008, 12:47
Does anyone know where you would be able to find match scores/best players, etc?
All i've found on the site has is this:
WorkSafe 2008 Country Championships- Pool B (31 May - 1June)
Mornington
West Gippsland Latrobe
Bendigo
Host League: West Gippsland Latrobe (Sale)
Edit: found link to results. Competition results (http://www.vcfl.com.au/competitions.asp)
Up the ante
2nd June 2008, 10:11
THE Bellarine Football League has been relegated to Pool D in the Victorian Country Football Championship after losing both its clashes at the weekend in the dying stages of play.
An 11-point loss to Western Border followed by a heartbreaking seven-point defeat in overtime to Wimmera yesterday completed a fruitless weekend in Stawell for Brad Nicholls' Sharks.
Quoted from the Geelong Advertiser.
http://www.geelongadvertiser.com.au/article/2008/05/26/14343_geelong_sports.html
Maybe Brad Nicholls shouldn't have allowed them all to get on the piss on Saturday night and it might not have been a "heartbreaking seven point defeat in overtime". The coach said everyone was welcome to have a few beers on Saturday night, just take it easy. That's an open invitation to a side full of youngsters keen to show off their drinking prowess. There were a few seedy blokes running around on Sunday. An alcohol ban on Saturday night would have seen a victory on Sunday and avoid relegation. The BFL would and should not be happy with the result, considering the money that is put into interleague. Bad call Brad :thumbsd:.
transferseason
2nd June 2008, 15:25
Maybe Brad Nicholls shouldn't have allowed them all to get on the piss on Saturday night and it might not have been a "heartbreaking seven point defeat in overtime". The coach said everyone was welcome to have a few beers on Saturday night, just take it easy. That's an open invitation to a side full of youngsters keen to show off their drinking prowess. There were a few seedy blokes running around on Sunday. An alcohol ban on Saturday night would have seen a victory on Sunday and avoid relegation. The BFL would and should not be happy with the result, considering the money that is put into interleague. Bad call Brad :thumbsd:.
Think the point your missing is a 'few' beers. If players aren't responsible enough and don't have pride in their performance and drink a gut-full before a game then it can't be his fault.
Look at the fact they also put their bodies in jeopardy by drinking then playing, the culprits should get looked at by their home clubs too!
boochy
3rd June 2008, 22:09
Think the point your missing is a 'few' beers. If players aren't responsible enough and don't have pride in their performance and drink a gut-full before a game then it can't be his fault.
Look at the fact they also put their bodies in jeopardy by drinking then playing, the culprits should get looked at by their home clubs too!
you cant expect a footy team full of young blokes away on a footy weekend to not have a few beers. if the coach said they cant have any then most probably they would hav gone out and got on the piss anyway. its not elite level so ya cant punnish them for something like that nor expect anyone to feel remorse if they did.
goldenoldie
3rd June 2008, 22:14
A bit harsh mate on the coach, shit they are adults and playing rep footy.
Thats drummed into every player, every week all their careers.
G.F.C
4th June 2008, 10:57
Just want to talk abit about Lara, and the recruiting they did in the off-season with the Ammos boys.
Can anybody in the know elaborate on how Sam Clark has been playing and how he has settled at the club?
He doesn't seem to kicking the big bags he did at Ammos,or being listed in the best players, is that due to higher level of comp, the way Lara play, or something else?
chappy_35
4th June 2008, 15:47
can anyone tell me how luke parker from the west roosters is going
Powersaur
4th June 2008, 17:42
Just want to talk abit about Lara, and the recruiting they did in the off-season with the Ammos boys.
Can anybody in the know elaborate on how Sam Clark has been playing and how he has settled at the club?
He doesn't seem to kicking the big bags he did at Ammos,or being listed in the best players, is that due to higher level of comp, the way Lara play, or something else?
I think Clark is playing up the ground a bit
BrownSugar
5th June 2008, 08:10
can anyone tell me how luke parker from the west roosters is going
Parker is going quite well. Has played every game in the seniors so far and has taken on a small forwards role. Kicks his couple of goals each week and has proved to be an accurate shot at the big sticks. Fellow GDFL recruit Rob Chamberlain has also fitted in well and is playing off half back with solid outings in his last two games.
Kowalski
6th June 2008, 09:22
Don't think anyone's mentioned it yet but congratulations to Linton Zavaglia who plays his 300th game for StAlbans this week against Joeys. Been a one club player since he was about 12 and still performing well each week. Hell of an acheivement to get to 300 nowadays and especially in staying loyal to one club. WELL DONE!!
Flat Track Bully
10th June 2008, 08:28
Lets go a bit deeper on the jumper clash issue that the Ablettiser glossed over...
1/ Grovedale should never have changed from the gold jumper with black yoke
eliminating clash with
eliminating clash with St.Joeys and Newtown
2/ Colac should have been made to change their jumper and logo... Seriously... a major football league shouldn't have two teams with the same colours and logo...
elminating clash with Grovedale and St.Joey's
3/ GWSP should have stayed with the red and white vertical stripes with blue number
eliminating clash with South Barwon
4/ Leopold should have stayed with the green jumper with gold yoke
eliminating clash with St.Mary's
5/ Lara should have stayed with the blue and white hoops
Thoughts?
Hornet12
10th June 2008, 10:01
Flat Track:
1/ Yes, Grovey should have stayed gold with black sash. Seems a cosmetic issue only.
2/ I thought Colac did change their jumper to their present strip as they were black with yellow sash. See where you are coming from with their logo and nickname but very hard to make a club change part of their history. They should definately have a clash strip..
3/GWSP changed their jumper to incorporate more blue to represent St Peters. The old red & white kit was basically all G West except for blue numbers. They don't clash with Sth Barwon as much as people think. Only the socks and that would be an easy fix.
4/Assume Leopold only changed to modernise their jumper a bit. It is a good jumper and maybe they could stick with it except for games against St Marys?
5/ For Lara see above.
Powerpunch
10th June 2008, 23:33
Flat Track:
2/ I thought Colac did change their jumper to their present strip as they were black with yellow sash. See where you are coming from with their logo and nickname but very hard to make a club change part of their history. They should definately have a clash strip..
Why not? Port Adelaide have a longer and more distinguished history and they changed their colors and name. That's what you do for the long term good of a club. My thoughts only.
BrownSugar
11th June 2008, 08:21
Why not? Port Adelaide have a longer and more distinguished history and they changed their colors and name. That's what you do for the long term good of a club. My thoughts only.
Hate to nit pick but Port Power is actually a new entity born out of Port Adelaide. Port Adelaide Magpies continue to wear their orginal guernsey. Colac changed their jumpers and perhaps both they and Grovedale need to alternative when playing each other.
Kowalski
11th June 2008, 13:19
Remember when I was a little bloke, Grovey were actually the reverse of their current strip and it looked bloody good. Can't see why Colac needed to change at all really except for playing against Grovedale.....
Powerpunch
12th June 2008, 16:57
VCFL Squad For Australian Country Championships
The WorkSafe VCFL Senior State Team Coach, Terry Daniher, has announced a squad of 39 players from which the team to represent country Victoria in Division One of the Landmark Australian Country Football Championships in July.
Daniher was pleased with the squad: "we have selected a balanced squad of players from the recent WorkSafe VCFL Country Championships held around the State and we will start to work with this group to select the final team to play in the Landmark Australian Country Football Championships in July. I am confident that this group will help us retain the Division One championship trophy," said Daniher.
The squad will train at Scotch College on June 22nd, July 13th and 20th after which the final team will be selected to represent country Victoria.
Jarrod Edwards Redan Ballarat FL
Shane Hutchinson East Point Ballarat FL
Tim Little Sunbury Ballarat FL
Craig Morrison Newcomb Power Bellarine FL
Matthew Fitzgerald Gisborne Bendigo FL
Brady Herdman Eaglehawk Bendigo FL
Kain Robins Eaglehawk Bendigo FL
Luke Buckland South Barwon Geelong FL
Jim Cail St. Mary's Geelong FL
Mark Corrigan South Barwon Geelong FL
Jarrod Garth Bell Park Geelong FL
Michael Macfarlane St. Albans Geelong FL
Elliott Bowen Rochester Goulburn Valley FL
Paul Newman Kyabram Goulburn Valley FL
Relton Roberts Euroa Goulburn Valley FL
Saad Saad Seymour Goulburn Valley FL
Paul Scanlon Seymour Goulburn Valley FL
Josh Vick Kyabram Goulburn Valley FL
Jarrod McCorkell Warrnambool Hampden FNL
Joe McLaren Koroit Hampden FNL
Matthew Burns Sorrento Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL
Ricky Clark Narre Warren Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL
Adam Hunter Dromana Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL
Luke Walker Pakenham Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL
Andrew Williams Beaconsfield Mornington Peninsula Nepean FL
Drew Barnes Nathalia Murray FL
Ben Cosgriff Wangaratta Ovens & Murray FL
Craig Ednie Yarrawonga Ovens & Murray FL
Dan Leslie North Albury Ovens & Murray FL
Lance Oswald Yarrawonga Ovens & Murray FL
Matthew Pendergast Lavington Ovens & Murray FL
Lee Schmidt Corowa Rutherglen Ovens & Murray FL
Matt Wollington Yarrawonga Ovens & Murray FL
Anthony Matthews Mildura Sunraysia FL
Hayden Burgiel Maffra West Gippsland Latrobe FL
Ryan Davey Warragul West Gippsland Latrobe FL
Matt Gray Warragul West Gippsland Latrobe FL
Troy Makepeace Moe West Gippsland Latrobe FL
Clinton Midgley Minyip Murtoa Wimmera FL
Powerpunch
12th June 2008, 17:00
Congratulations to all the Geelong boys that got selected in the squad.
Well done Crackles and also to Joe McLaren from Koroit.
Get on board Newcomb's rollacoaster for the future going up from here!!!:)
19th Man
15th June 2008, 10:16
I noticed a T Dewey was named on an extended bench for the Geelong VFL team. Is this the same player from Portarlington? If so, good effort.
godons26
15th June 2008, 22:41
I heard on channel 31 that ben kirk has put in a clearance to Ocean Grove. Didn't he play VFL recently. Would have thought that'd be a backward step footy wise to go from Joey's to BFL. Hasn't he been getting game time at Joey's?
Up the ante
16th June 2008, 19:24
Congratulations to all the Geelong boys that got selected in the squad.
Well done Crackles and also to Joe McLaren from Koroit.
Get on board Newcomb's rollacoaster for the future going up from here!!!:)
Does Crackles know how much you admire him punchy? ;)
Sorry to hear the hammy didn't hold up!:thumbsd:
Powerpunch
17th June 2008, 09:08
Does Crackles know how much you admire him punchy? ;)
Sorry to hear the hammy didn't hold up!:thumbsd:
No comment. :)
fair effort though.
Flat Track Bully
17th June 2008, 16:38
I heard on channel 31 that ben kirk has put in a clearance to Ocean Grove. Didn't he play VFL recently. Would have thought that'd be a backward step footy wise to go from Joey's to BFL. Hasn't he been getting game time at Joey's?
Heard same... not happy at being dropped to Joey's scoobies...
KING HIT
22nd June 2008, 12:28
went n watched anglesea ressies a few weeks ago. "sheepdoga" has to be 1 of the favourites to take out the league b&f. just a shame he doesnt go n get the hard ball
tommahawk_07
22nd June 2008, 16:28
went n watched anglesea ressies a few weeks ago. "sheepdoga" has to be 1 of the favourites to take out the league b&f. just a shame he doesnt go n get the hard ball
i dont think anyone cares mate, go start a bfl ressies thread if u want to post junk like that...
Bumbles
23rd June 2008, 15:34
got a mate playing at St Mary's this year by the name of Damian Cameron..
played reserves at the start of the year then into the ones, interested to know how he's been going if anyone knows?
disc
23rd June 2008, 17:36
i dont think anyone cares mate, go start a bfl ressies thread if u want to post junk like that...
come on tommahawk u wanted 2 play ressies last year. but i guess other people cant comment on the ressies :mad:
hbk_aus
23rd June 2008, 18:30
Bit harsh there mate. Maybe u should go and start a BFL/GFL Seniors only thread if u have a problem with posts about reserves?:thumbsu:
KING HIT
23rd June 2008, 18:43
tommahawk_07 u prob culdnt get a kick in bfl twos.
tommahawk_07
23rd June 2008, 20:32
why would i want to play ressies?! as for me not being able to get a kick inthe second worst standard of football in the geelong region well that is simply laughable...
cam_the_bruce
23rd June 2008, 20:37
why would i want to play ressies?! as for me not being able to get a kick inthe second worst standard of football in the geelong region well that is simply laughable...
when he says 2nd worst standard of footy in geelong...it is only second too the league that the kardinia cats play in
Powerpunch
23rd June 2008, 20:38
Can I get an autogragh?
Big fan.....Legend.
There are only three legues in the region, reject.
catattack
24th June 2008, 12:46
What does everyone make of the two text messages in today's Geelong Advertiser? I assume they're about Newtown & Chilwell...
"Answer to local person's question on sat at local footy! why are thy all laving the eagles? they are off to seek better leadership!"
"Please will someone coach our local eagles who knows how to coach!"
RAZZAMATAZZ
24th June 2008, 13:07
got a mate playing at St Mary's this year by the name of Damian Cameron..
played reserves at the start of the year then into the ones, interested to know how he's been going if anyone knows?
Watched the second half of the game on the weekend and he spent plenty of time on the pine and didn't have any impact! Not sure if he is getting much opportunity.
Bumbles
24th June 2008, 14:50
Watched the second half of the game on the weekend and he spent plenty of time on the pine and didn't have any impact! Not sure if he is getting much opportunity.
cheers mate.. had heard he wasnt getting much of a crack in the ones but had played some real good footy in the two's so that sounds about right.. up to the standard do u think?
RAZZAMATAZZ
24th June 2008, 15:24
cheers mate.. had heard he wasnt getting much of a crack in the ones but had played some real good footy in the two's so that sounds about right.. up to the standard do u think?
Coming from the Mininera League to the GFL is a Massive step up in class, lets be honest GFL is a Fantastic league. He defiantly has the potential to make it, Lets just hope he sticks at it and keeps working hard and gives it a decent crack!
Bumbles
24th June 2008, 16:53
Coming from the Mininera League to the GFL is a Massive step up in class, lets be honest GFL is a Fantastic league. He defiantly has the potential to make it, Lets just hope he sticks at it and keeps working hard and gives it a decent crack!
well said again mate!! appreciate ur info and opinion on the matter :thumbsu:
disc
25th June 2008, 17:22
why did u play in the ressies the last game of the year? my mate at bell park told me u wanted 2 play in the ressies because the 1s didnt have much of a chance 2 make it and when the 2s didnt make it and the 1s made it u were in the 1s finals team;););)
tommahawk_07
25th June 2008, 19:11
why did u play in the ressies the last game of the year? my mate at bell park told me u wanted 2 play in the ressies because the 1s didnt have much of a chance 2 make it and when the 2s didnt make it and the 1s made it u were in the 1s finals team;););)
your mate needs to get his facts straight! i chose to play inthe 1s in the last game on the slim chance they would make it as i didnt want to lose my spot, had i played in the 2s i would have qualified for their finals but i played 1s as there was still a chance (albeit slim) that they would make it and it payed off...
enough 2s talk does anyone have any real news?
BrownSugar
26th June 2008, 06:18
Unbelievable how tight and competitive the GFL is at present. GWSP in sixth spot with a 6-3 record but only one game from 1st! That win-loss ratio would see yopu on top in many leagues around the state. Great for grass roots footy. 'Game on' every weekend.
sheep_dogger
26th June 2008, 19:47
top 5 after the end of the year will be in the seniors & Ressies
BFL
SENIORS
1 Geelong Amateur - got guns everywhere
2 Torquay - if poon fires they will hav a good show
3 Ocean Grove - midfield play good week in week out
4 Drysdale - no more injuries and they are a show aswell
5 Anglesea - they beat ammos one week but they hav to kept doin that each week
RESSIES
1 Geelong Amateur - freaks
2 Anglesea - just kick it to there full forward in brody donald which he should be playin seniors any where he wanted but he cant be stuffed tryin
3 Torquay - got the experiene in the finals
4 Ocean Grove - if there seniors go well they do aswell
5 Drysdale - need to fix backline to hav a show
and can someone make a geelong cricket one for local leagues
cheers
& go anglesea;)
BrownSugar
27th June 2008, 06:05
and can someone make a geelong cricket one for local leagues
cheers
& go anglesea;)[/quote]
I agree; we are long overdue for a GCA forum.
theknowledge
28th June 2008, 21:38
did anyone go out to Grovedale - What is going on with Joeys as inconsistent a month as you could see!!!!
Newtown v Colac maust have been a cracker too
G.F.C
30th June 2008, 11:19
St Marys now showing why we recvd so much hype during the pre-season. Dominated Bell Park from start to finish.
I can't recall a better performance from them, just on fire.
Spot1
30th June 2008, 17:24
West lost to Bell Park in driving rain and wind in the early rounds by 4 goals, with their size and players of experience in finals from different regions they will be an even beater team in the dry conditions of September
catattack
30th June 2008, 21:42
Bell Park doesn't play small grounds well, but proved last year they can burn teams apart on the wider expanses on Skilled Stadium.
West play their best footy on in dry conditions on better grounds, so again, Skilled Stadium in September will play into their hands.
BrownSugar
1st July 2008, 05:56
Bell Park doesn't play small grounds well, but proved last year they can burn teams apart on the wider expanses on Skilled Stadium.
West play their best footy on in dry conditions on better grounds, so again, Skilled Stadium in September will play into their hands.
West have lost three games this season and two have been on the two worst Saturdays for the season weather-wise. If they can knock over Joeys this week and then Grovey the following; they will be 9-3 when they tackle Bell Park and chock full of confidence. Still have some injuries (like everyone) but managing them well and their young blokes led by Josh Sells and backline are on fire at present. Couple of good wins in the next few weeks will see them play a part in Sept I would think.
jayaa01
1st July 2008, 19:36
tickets at ticketech for the st albans v north shore game this week. lol :thumbsd:
catattack
2nd July 2008, 00:17
tickets at ticketech for the st albans v north shore game this week. lol :thumbsd:St Albans get back to back wins for the first time in years.
BrownSugar
2nd July 2008, 07:07
St Albans get back to back wins for the first time in years.
Probably not as bad as their record suggests I don't think. Had a horror run with injuries. I think they are on track for the future and should again substantially improve next season. When you think where they were a couple of years ago, they are doing well.
North Shore on the other hand.... No wins amongst three grades and probably a winless season for all three. Very hard times ahead.
jayaa01
2nd July 2008, 18:19
st albans havn't been going that bad your right just havn't been able to run out games, been in touch with most sides at 3QT just seem to get ran over most weeks and injuries dont help. ross panther has been a big loss up forward hasn't played a senior game this year i don't think. broke down again last thursday night. would of played he's first game against lara. sta will beat north shore by 15 goals if they play the way they did out at the snake pit lat week
Spot1
2nd July 2008, 20:40
Still hard to believe that proud North Shore are where they are at, that St Albans and Lara - strong tough clubs of the past are down, just goes to show that the wheel turns for every one and hopefully the likes of West, Gdale & Lpold will get a fairdinkum crack at some glory sooner rather than later.
danrobzokbrad
2nd July 2008, 22:18
Still hard to believe that proud North Shore are where they are at, that St Albans and Lara - strong tough clubs of the past are down, just goes to show that the wheel turns for every one and hopefully the likes of West, Gdale & Lpold will get a fairdinkum crack at some glory sooner rather than later.
Every club has there cycles, but the last time Nth Shore were in this predicament was in the early 70's (reading on the Nth Shore website history page, http://northshorefootballclub.com/history/history.htm) and look at the success they had after Gordan Hynes took over in 1973, having been on top or there abouts since then is a unreal record with 14 senior flags and 9 reserves flags and not to mention 10 under 18's flags as well.
Spot1
3rd July 2008, 09:02
Agreed, they have been unequalled, only blemish was 2003 when they finished equal bottom however rebounded to end up top of ladder in 04 & 05, maybe they "tanked" in 03!
jayaa01
5th July 2008, 22:22
I heard the north shore president say today vs st albans that this year will be the 1st time since the 1960's that they havn't had one of either the u/18's, reserves or seniors playing finals.
fair record!
danrobzokbrad
6th July 2008, 02:16
I heard the north shore president say today vs st albans that this year will be the 1st time since the 1960's that they havn't had one of either the u/18's, reserves or seniors playing finals.
fair record!
Yes, i heard him say that as well, lets be honest everyone has wanted Nth Shore to be like this, and it's only a matter of time until another side hit's rock bottom, and as i said it goes in cycles it will only be a matter of time and they'll be back on top and say.............Sth Barwon will be down, it's funny how $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ comes into it. NO LOYALTY IN FOOTBALL ANYMORE. And it's shit, when i was playing you were lucky to get a beer after the game let alone $.
rizzo
6th July 2008, 14:19
Yes, i heard him say that as well, lets be honest everyone has wanted Nth Shore to be like this, and it's only a matter of time until another side hit's rock bottom, and as i said it goes in cycles it will only be a matter of time and they'll be back on top and say.............Sth Barwon will be down, it's funny how $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ comes into it. NO LOYALTY IN FOOTBALL ANYMORE. And it's shit, when i was playing you were lucky to get a beer after the game let alone $.
Yep. North Shore will recruit in the off season and will bring in 4 -6 good players, who will then bring in a few more.
From what i have gathered, The N.S footy club are under no illusions that they to be competitive next year, or the spiral will get even worse.
jayaa01
6th July 2008, 16:48
Yep. North Shore will recruit in the off season and will bring in 4 -6 good players, who will then bring in a few more.
From what i have gathered, The N.S footy club are under no illusions that they to be competitive next year, or the spiral will get even worse.
North Shore will play finals next year, while them poker machines are ticking over and there paying out next to nothing this year there gunna load up over the summer and buy there way back on track.
Also i heard a few people looking for a local cricket forum, i found a GCA & BPCA one at .http://www.bigcricket.com/forum/showthread.php?t=55646
Hornet12
6th July 2008, 19:31
North Shore will play finals next year, while them poker machines are ticking over and there paying out next to nothing this year there gunna load up over the summer and buy there way back on track.
Also i heard a few people looking for a local cricket forum, i found a GCA & BPCA one at .http://www.bigcricket.com/forum/showthread.php?t=55646
Pokies have been there for sometime and didn't seem to help this year.
Spot1
6th July 2008, 19:45
On a seperate note, anyone care to comment on the knobjockeys that umpire reserve games for Joeys and Lpold? Got to be careful here as we appreciate them making the effort in the absence of registered umps but fairdinkum finals footy is up for grabs and although not senior grade the players are doing their best deserve fair impartial decsion making!!
jayaa01
6th July 2008, 20:39
Pokies have been there for sometime and didn't seem to help this year.
yeah thats true i guess but i don't think they expected the huge about of there top players to leave as they did. I'd be suprised if they have another year next year like this one
The Hulkster
7th July 2008, 12:02
it's funny how $$$$$$$$$$$$$$ comes into it. NO LOYALTY IN FOOTBALL ANYMORE. And it's shit, when i was playing you were lucky to get a beer after the game let alone $.
When i first started playing senior football around 93 i got 6 drink vouchers for a senior game. 6 pots, it was like Xmas.
The Hulkster
7th July 2008, 16:46
I hear from a usually reliable source that the powers that be at West Saints are not impressed with their teams performance this year. For all the money they have spent there is a feeling they should be doing better. From what i can gather nothing short of a finals appearence for them will save the coach Chris Gilham. Probably a fair call i would have thought there is a big gap between their best and worse when they feel their best is good enough to challenge for the flag.
jayaa01
7th July 2008, 17:15
I hear from a usually reliable source that the powers that be at West Saints are not impressed with their teams performance this year. For all the money they have spent there is a feeling they should be doing better. From what i can gather nothing short of a finals appearence for them will save the coach Chris Gilham. Probably a fair call i would have thought there is a big gap between their best and worse when they feel their best is good enough to challenge for the flag.
I also heard from a good source that the money they've payed out is in the range of $250,000 for this season alone, there wouldn't be a team in geelong close to that. they'd be wanting finals at the VERY least.