View Full Version : Tasmanian Footy!!
Jerome
4th February 2000, 16:57
G'day,
Any Tasmanian's out there? I can only follow the TSFL through the net and the Mercury here in Adelaide. I would have liked to see them get the AFL side and stadium.
From what I am reading Tasmanian Football needs a BIG restructure. The statewide league is hanging on for dear life and people are trying to get the point through to the men in suits that regional footy is the way to go. I think there is room for both. My idea would be to merge the TFL, NTFL and STFL. Create one league (run by Football Tasmania), but split it into 2 divisions, North and South. have the two branches would simply run as the NTFL & STFL run now (with perhaps one or 2 mergers - no more than 12 teams per division), with Grand Finalists in each divison. The two divisional premiers then play off for a ste league trophy. There you have it - a statewide league, with a focus on regional footy! You could have North V South games mid year - and the best players would then be eligable for the State side. So what do you reckon?
Jerome
BTW I'm from Burnie!
Pessimistic
5th February 2000, 02:22
I thought the AFL missed out by not having a couple of Tassie Teams (North and South) in the new VFL. They could have also allowed ACT and country NSW teams and had regional conferences to minimise travelling during the season. It would have allowed Tassie (and ACT) to build up and mrove that they may be able to sustain AFL sides (the South East Australia Football League -SEAFL) might have been so good anyway that it would be enoug for those sides)
It might have weakened the local leagues but there would have been some competitive foort to compensate
I'm from victoria by the way.
Tim
22nd February 2000, 11:04
I think your idea is a good one. I'm temporarily based in the USA and permanently live in Sydney but still try to keep up with footy in Tassie. As a long-time Sandy Bay supporter I was naturally saddened by their merger then death. It seems to me the main problem has been the loss of support in Hobart. Big crowds still seem to go to the footy in Launceston and Devonport/Burnie yet not in Hobart and I don't know why. The STFL certainly draws pretty well from all accounts and the best matches frequently outdraw the TFL match of the day.
The current setup with only 6 teams seems doomed to failure. Adding some or all of those teams to the VFL might be the long-term solution. I suspect Clarence, Glenorchy and North Launceston would be competitive in that competition. Let's hope something positive comes along!
sue
22nd February 2000, 11:33
I live in Melbourne.I think in the AFL's near future plans are that North will relocate to be the second team in Sydney. They are financing North an extra 1 million this year for marketing in New South Wales. They are not going to spend that money for no reason. Also North made a profit this year for the first time on about 5 years, so their cumulative loss must be rather large.
Also I think melbourne are having talks in Melbourne, so in the next few years maybe they will relocate to Tassi. From what I have heard from friends who live on the Gold Coast, the AFL has told Southport not to build new stands, they want them to play out of the Gabba. SO this sounds like their will be a second team in Queensland. A merger maybe, because Southport already have a huge membership base in the local league, so they must be cashed up. Which would make the AFL happy.
To be honest financially I think a few clubs will dissapear from Melbourne.Maybe I am wrong, but I think not.
Maybe it would be good if their was 2 teams in QLD, NSW , SA ans WA and one in Tassi, it would be a truly national competition then.Its a bit lobsided now, with 10 out of 16 in Melbourne. The AFL wont be able to continue to prop up teams financially as they are now, that includes Brisbane.
Jerome
22nd February 2000, 14:43
Thanks guys!
Yeah a Tassie team in either the VFL or the SANFL would be the only way they are going to get a state side in a "national" comp. If they can run the Tassie Mariners...
However that will still require a huge over haul of the state's football structure. Melbourne is looking at playing games there. There is a $23 million upgrade of Bellerieve Oval happening, but there is opposition from the Hobart people to ligts being errected. The Northern people object to it saying a state team should be in Launceston - York Park is also getting an upgrade. this is the kind of infighting that holds back the TFL from restructuring, or getting a new state of the art stadium or a AFL licence.
Ive seen a few articles about the STFL doing better than the Hobart TFL clubs. The fact that the STFL clubs dont have to pay a ground levy and travel costs (their supporters dont have to travel as far) has made it a very strong comp.
Norwood Redlegs
23rd February 2000, 17:24
Good Luck to Garry McIntosh who is now coaching the Bombers in the TSFL. He was an all time champion footballer in the SANFL and one of the most respected players at the Norwood Football Club!
Norwood Redlegs
24th February 2000, 07:42
Hi! I hope that Garry McIntosh does well as the new senior coach of the Bombers in the TSFL. He was a champion footballer in SA who earned the respect of opposition players and officials and all that were associated with him during his time as a player with Norwood!
Go Macca and the Bombers
Jerome
11th June 2000, 04:50
To the Redlegs fans,
In case you didnt know, Garry has started playing again for thr Bombers. He pulled his hammy a few weeks ago, but I think he has resumed playing. You can check out www.come.to/tsfl (http://www.come.to/tsfl) for results, or go to the newsagency in the Myer centre in the mall. They stock the Mercury and you can follow the teams, results and news there.
cheers
Jerome
Port Adelaide 1870
26th July 2000, 18:12
Originally posted by Norwood Redlegs:
Hi! I hope that Garry McIntosh does well as the new senior coach of the Bombers in the TSFL. He was a champion footballer in SA who earned the respect of opposition players and officials and all that were associated with him during his time as a player with Norwood!
Go Macca and the Bombers
As a Port Adelaide Supporter I must agree, one of Australias strongest and most rugged midfielders was defineteley Garry Macintosh of the Norwood Football club In the SANFL.
He has Proved Himself against S.A.'s Best club The Port Adelaide Football CLUB before they left for the AFL and also did well against the PORT ADELAIDE MAGPIES FOOTBALL CLUB in its short existence....
Go for it Garry YOU are a true CHAMPION !!!!
Local lad
31st August 2000, 11:45
Our Southport Sharks side won the premiership up here in Bananaland (read-Qld)last Sunday for the 4th year in a row (turds!), and are still keen to gain admittance into the SANFL, although they really want to join the AFL as Qld's second side.