View Full Version : How many Big Footy members have actually played senior football?

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 10:15
Some of the intermittent dribble that comes out of some Big footy members is or should be very embarrassing yet they seem unaware that there apparent knowledge is based on being a couch coach. Just like the twits screaming over the fence at the footy "you scum smith" or "your a gutless mongrel Jones" it's plainly obvious the majority of these people have never been on the receiving end.

People seem very quick to offer advice on AFL blogs and at times begin to sprout on about there football knowledge and "how much they know" yet how many of these people have actually played senior level football???

Does this make a difference???

IMO If you haven't trained on a rainy Tuesday evening with a corky you received in the 2nd quarter from that dirty little mongrel from the back flank then you have no business rabbiting on about how damn much you know about football.

chelseacarlton
17 May 2008, 10:16
bollocks :thumbsd:

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 11:01
bollocks :thumbsd:

bollocks i see i see......hmmm yes I see your point, bollocks a fair argument.

Attention:

Bollocks is a valid and evidence based argument and makes all other arguments ineffective.

You play soccer dont you?

Mr Lizard
17 May 2008, 11:12
David Schwarz has played some senior footy, how highly do you rate his opinion?

Eel_storm
17 May 2008, 11:20
Senior footy doesn't have to be AFL does it? I played as a 10 year old . . . it's a hard game, i played against kids a year older than me, that made a big difference at that age.

chelseacarlton
17 May 2008, 11:24
bollocks i see i see......hmmm yes I see your point, bollocks a fair argument.

Attention:

Bollocks is a valid and evidence based argument and makes all other arguments ineffective.

You play soccer dont you?

i played football until the 19's actually thorgills
father and brother were pretty handy players as well
bro played at fitzroy 19's and a couple of games in the two's
until two knee recos ended elite football career very dissappointing for all the family
and yes love my epl
i just dont agree that you need to sit in the rain on a tuesday night
pissing rain training ya guts out to have a valid opinion, thats all.
caroline wilson? well thats another story
good thread though,thanks for the reply,i hope this answers some of your questions:thumbsu::)

Bigeasy
17 May 2008, 11:25
I don't know if its a valid arguement on whether you have played senior football give you the right to comment on the game or profer an opinion. I did play senior footy for about 5 years but only at Suburban level but i doubt whether this has helped me in gaining a better knowledge of the game. When professional footballers player at the elite level, they are subject to opinion and judgement plus the fact our attending the games, along with buying memberships at our clubs should entitle us to have any opinion regardless of how ridiculous it may seem. That's why forums like Bigfooty are great because everyone has a say and are also open to ridicule so it really evens itself out.

Braun_2_B_Wild
17 May 2008, 13:55
I'm currently a member of an AFL club. I won't mention which one except to tell you it isn't Fremantle, Geelong or the Kangawhos

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 14:25
David Schwarz has played some senior footy, how highly do you rate his opinion?

Graham Cornes does come to mind actually.

mantis
17 May 2008, 14:34
So a woman who has played senior footy in the Women's League, means their opinions are worth more than a guy who hasn't played senoir footy, rightio then. :thumbsu:

keefriffhard
17 May 2008, 14:35
I'm currently a member of an AFL club. I won't mention which one except to tell you it isn't Fremantle, Geelong or the Kangawhos

I'm a member of an AFL club too. Along with 40,000 odd of my closest friends.

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 14:38
i played football until the 19's actually thorgills
father and brother were pretty handy players as well
bro played at fitzroy 19's and a couple of games in the two's
until two knee recos ended elite football career very dissappointing for all the family
and yes love my epl
I just dont agree that you need to sit in the rain on a tuesday night
pissing rain training ya guts out to have a valid opinion, thats all.
caroline wilson? well thats another story
good thread though,thanks for the reply,i hope this answers some of your questions:thumbsu::)

If you read carefully mate you'd see I dont have any problems with people having a opinions everyone's got one and that's fair enough. What drives me nuts like I said before is people waffling on about how much they know. This same ________ sits on the sidelines on a Saturaday whingeing and screaming abuse at opposing players when in fact they couldnt get a game in the under 6's, typically the same person who goes to there son's game and screams obscentities at kids under the age of 10.

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 14:44
I don't know if its a valid arguement on whether you have played senior football give you the right to comment on the game or profer an opinion. I did play senior footy for about 5 years but only at Suburban level but i doubt whether this has helped me in gaining a better knowledge of the game. When professional footballers player at the elite level, they are subject to opinion and judgement plus the fact our attending the games, along with buying memberships at our clubs should entitle us to have any opinion regardless of how ridiculous it may seem. That's why forums like Bigfooty are great because everyone has a say and are also open to ridicule so it really evens itself out.

well done. READ MORE CAREFULLY. Who said anything about not being allowed an opinion?

Opinions yes :thumbsu: crapping on like you have won 3 premierships the brownlow medal and had a threesome with 2 current playboy bunnies :thumbsd:

Bender571
17 May 2008, 14:47
Does WAAFL count?

Its not really that tough except maybe the cheap shot punches to the head when you lay a shepard. In 3 years the worst injury I've had is shin splints which I seem to be able to ignore on game days, but suck balls at training. Anyway I won the coaches award last year so does that qualify me to call players weak pricks:p

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 14:47
So a woman who has played senior footy in the Women's League, means their opinions are worth more than a guy who hasn't played senoir footy, rightio then. :thumbsu:

Another person who lacks the ability to READ! Honestly mate you look like a twit when you cannot read words above one syllable. Opinions are fair enough everyone is entitled to that just dont wank on about how much you know when you have never been on the recieving end.

Is that simple enough for you?

Braun_2_B_Wild
17 May 2008, 14:53

I think it was assumed to most intelligent people that only males to start with have a worthy opinion about football. Hence why there was no need to mention male/female. Women don't know anything about football.

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 14:55
Does WAAFL count?

Its not really that tough except maybe the cheap shot punches to the head when you lay a shepard. In 3 years the worst injury I've had is shin splints which I seem to be able to ignore on game days, but suck balls at training. Anyway I won the coaches award last year so does that qualify me to call players weak pricks:p

I dont think anything does to be honest my absoulute hate is when a player comes off injured and people scream over the fence "weak scum" or "serves you right you filthy mongrel" ect jesus what sort of person loves to yell at a person who has tried his absoulute best, putting in so much work at training and conditioning themselves only to hurt themselves in the process. Honestly try being on the end of that and say it's okay to abuse players cause they get heaps of money wah wah wah public figure wah wah wah

Joey Bungle
17 May 2008, 15:07
unfortunately, after one year in the under 15's, medical reasons cut my "career" short.

The argument should be, how many journalists / ex players are allowed to talk so much crap?

yes, I agree there's alot of dribble & "sheep" who get on here, but if you didn't have the idiots, you wouldn't be writing mostly on here.

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 15:43
unfortunately, after one year in the under 15's, medical reasons cut my "career" short.

The argument should be, how many journalists / ex players are allowed to talk so much crap?

yes, I agree there's alot of dribble & "sheep" who get on here, but if you didn't have the idiots, you wouldn't be writing mostly on here.

True

Once again G. Cornes and J. Akermanis come to mind

Mr Magoo
17 May 2008, 18:42
Well i played full back for Jerusalem when Christ played at full forward. Does that count for anything?

gangsta deluxe
17 May 2008, 18:47
I voted no.

I played in the seniors in the amateurs though, for a few years(Brunswick Power)

I dont know if that counts

The Majestic
17 May 2008, 18:52
I played 75 games of Junior footy, broke my nose, broke a finger, played at Claremont in the rain, it started pissing down when the game started. I had the ball bounce back on the cricket pitch at New Norfolk and it broke my nose :D

I hurt my knee playing for my school, and hurt it another couple of times after that :( If I was in a decent shape I might get a senior game for one of the teams up around here :D I am pretty sure I'd get a reserves game at least. ;)

Kram81
17 May 2008, 19:01
I'll never forget my mate getting heckled by an old Eagles fart "bet you have never played footy son" to which he replied "I was playing today, that's why I was late to the game you f#$khead."

DockersMad
17 May 2008, 19:19
I think you've left a gaping hole in your argument Thorgy, by singling out those who have played senior footy.

This would indicate that if you've been around a football ground for twenty years or more, growing up playing kick-to-kick and trying to emulate your heros, then played midgets followed by D grade, C grade and reserves but never quite had the quality skills to play in the A team you have no right to talk as if you know footy.

I've trained hard in the rain with niggling injuries. I've been knocked out cold on the field throwing the body in only to wake up in hospital hours later with concussion and a nose so badly broken I wasn't released for three days. I have, however, never played in the seniors. I've also known plenty of people who have who couldn't construct an effective view point on any matter, let alone football.

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 19:22
I played 75 games of Junior footy, broke my nose, broke a finger, played at Claremont in the rain, it started pissing down when the game started. I had the ball bounce back on the cricket pitch at New Norfolk and it broke my nose :D

I hurt my knee playing for my school, and hurt it another couple of times after that :( If I was in a decent shape I might get a senior game for one of the teams up around here :D I am pretty sure I'd get a reserves game at least. ;)

Broken Nose, 2 broken thumbs, 3 broken fingers, 2 Arthroscopy's, Broken Ankle, Torn ligaments in both ankles, Knocked out and popped my ACL last weekend and concidently am about to retire my very unimpressive "career" not that it matters cause I'm crap anyway. Mr Magoo might be able to take my position at Fullback if he's interested.

Shallow
17 May 2008, 19:24
Im a Bigfooty member and has played Under 16 league....:p

Close enough? :D

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 20:00
I think you've left a gaping hole in your argument Thorgy, by singling out those who have played senior footy.

This would indicate that if you've been around a football ground for twenty years or more, growing up playing kick-to-kick and trying to emulate your heros, then played midgets followed by D grade, C grade and reserves but never quite had the quality skills to play in the A team you have no right to talk as if you know footy.

I've trained hard in the rain with niggling injuries. I've been knocked out cold on the field throwing the body in only to wake up in hospital hours later with concussion and a nose so badly broken I wasn't released for three days. I have, however, never played in the seniors. I've also known plenty of people who have who couldn't construct an effective view point on any matter, let alone football.

You make a fair point. In fact it sounds as though you spent more time playing football then most senior players. Perhaps senior football is not a true reflection of 'playing football'. The main point I was trying to get across is that people who have never given the sport a go should not sprout off like they have achieved everything possible in the sport. If you have an opinion then lets hear it but don't dribble on about it.

I think if you actually played the sport then it gives you a much different perspective then if you haven't. Not everyone understands the amount of effort involved to play any type of football especially when proceeding from u16 and up. Receiving regular abuse from strangers, getting a smack behind play, injuring yourself, re-injuring yourself, taking a big hit and getting up, taking a big hit and staying down, your Mrs telling you to give it away, You club telling you to keep on going, playing with or against other family. It all changes your viewpoint when you go and watch a game on TV or at your favourite spot at the local ground near the beer booth.

Don't get me wrong people have good viewpoints played or not the thing is playing DOES give you a different point of view. Does that make any difference? In some situation yeah I think it does unless you have done your ACL for the second time after having a full pre-season in Round 1 I wouldn't expect people to understand hell I wouldn't know the absolute disappointment and despair that would cause.

HolyWars
17 May 2008, 20:39
Have never been able to due to a heart condition (was always hard with my mates all playing but not actually having the passion for footy that I do) Always kicked the footy at school and was a more accurate kick of goal and had more body strenght then most of them....but a few years ago I got a donor valve, and am pretty much fine now and allowed to play physical sports if I want (so they said a couple of years ago), I am thinking about next season having a go if I get the all clear at the end of the year:thumbsu:

gangsta deluxe
17 May 2008, 20:42
Have never been able to due to a heart condition (was always hard with my mates all playing but not actually having the passion for footy that I do), but a few years ago I got a donor valve, and am pretty much fine now and allowed to play physical sports if I want (so they said a couple of years ago), I am thinking about next season having a go if I get the all clear at the end of the year:thumbsu:

Make sure you do it right mate.

A team mate of mine died during a game. He had a heart attack. He was in his early thirties.

Good luck though:)

HolyWars
17 May 2008, 20:45
Make sure you do it right mate.

A team mate of mine died during a game. He had a heart attack. He was in his early thirties.

Good luck though:)

:(

Sorry to hear....thats exactly why I am going to get the all clear first from the specialists before I consider it:thumbsu:

IzzaConda
17 May 2008, 21:16
Some of the intermittent dribble that comes out of some Big footy members is or should be very embarrassing yet they seem unaware that there apparent knowledge is based on being a couch coach. Just like the twits screaming over the fence at the footy "you scum smith" or "your a gutless mongrel Jones" it's plainly obvious the majority of these people have never been on the receiving end.

People seem very quick to offer advice on AFL blogs and at times begin to sprout on about there football knowledge and "how much they know" yet how many of these people have actually played senior level football???

Does this make a difference???

IMO If you haven't trained on a rainy Tuesday evening with a corky you received in the 2nd quarter from that dirty little mongrel from the back flank then you have no business rabbiting on about how damn much you know about football.

'drivel' perhaps?

Carn Hawkas
17 May 2008, 22:34
75% of people on this forum play or have played for an AFL club.

Thorgils
17 May 2008, 22:58
'drivel' perhaps?

Yep screwed that one up

huggy_b
18 May 2008, 00:10
75% of people on this forum play or have played for an AFL club.

And 87% of people on BF can make up stats.

HawkPatrol
18 May 2008, 00:30
I used to be in the West Perth development sqaud, and played 3 games in WP Colts. I am only 18, and I hope to crack it in the WAFL.