View Full Version : Mark Williams 'choke' signal

Puddy
17 May 2008, 17:46
we will see how Hawthorn goes these finals before Hawthorn players start doing that

sunnyTEE
17 May 2008, 17:50
I think he was demonstrating how he treats his wife/mistress/husband.

relapse
17 May 2008, 17:51
we will see how Hawthorn goes these finals before Hawthorn players start doing that

Lets be honest Port have choked on 2 leads so far this year and almost lost against the Eagles after having a large lead. Hawthorn will be finishing much higher than Port this year and the Hawks look set to take over from Geelong in the next couple of years as the elite side of the comp

Hawthorn were all class today, it took them a quarter or so to get going, but its pretty obvious why they are undefeated so far, they were way too good for Port IMO.

Shane_Mag
17 May 2008, 17:51
only kicked one goal. Arrogant prick

Hawthorn1971
17 May 2008, 17:52
That was a bad move.

Took the gloss of a brilliant victory.

Vince Van Mackay
17 May 2008, 17:54
Its funny because his name is Mark Williams and its funny because it symbolises what Port did today.

Actually, they didn't choke, Hawks just over ran them.

reCOGnise
17 May 2008, 17:55
Its funny because his name is Mark Williams and its funny because it symbolises what Port did today.

Actually, they didn't choke, Hawks just over ran them.

what did you dicks lose to them by again?

yeah. thought so. STFU you 10 yr old loser

Bigeasy
17 May 2008, 17:55

Don't like it when it happens to you hey? May I cast your memory back to last years prelim with the Tredrea bow? Suck it up princess.

crazyman27
17 May 2008, 17:56
Lets be honest Port have choked on 2 leads so far this year and almost lost against the Eagles after having a large lead. Hawthorn will be finishing much higher than Port this year and the Hawks look set to take over from Geelong in the next couple of years as the elite side of the comp

Hawthorn were all class today, it took them a quarter or so to get going, but its pretty obvious why they are undefeated so far, they were way too good for Port IMO.

As they were for your mob.

Puddy
17 May 2008, 17:57
Lets be honest Port have choked on 2 leads so far this year and almost lost against the Eagles after having a large lead. Hawthorn will be finishing much higher than Port this year and the Hawks look set to take over from Geelong in the next couple of years as the elite side of the comp.

Forgetting 2005,2006 where you guys choked in the finals and 2007, where you just scrapped in. Williams will be a marked man when hawthorn comes to Footy Park.

Gilbert_Hodge
17 May 2008, 17:57

Get over it. Is it any different to last years final against the Kangas?

Braun_2_B_Wild
17 May 2008, 17:58
Williams was just telling everyone what we all know. Port Chokelaide are back choking and better than ever :D

Shane_Mag
17 May 2008, 17:58
Don't like it when it happens to you hey? May I cast your memory back to last years prelim with the Tredrea bow? Suck it up princess.

That had no significance to The Kangaroos. Mark Williams choke and Tredreas bow are two different scenarios.

Nick85
17 May 2008, 17:59

As our 17 men were for your mob.

Kamikaze Krowz
17 May 2008, 18:00
Teams are sick of ports arrogant ways and gestures etc, they all see how port carry on so they give a bit back..

What short memories some people have

Dippers_Mullet
Which Williams are we talking about here?

purremiers
not the stuff you want to be doing round 8

Hawkk
17 May 2008, 18:01
Will Port play finals?

I guess the AFL won't have to worry about empty seats at AAMI in the finals ;)

Gilbert_Hodge
That had no significance to The Kangaroos. Mark Williams choke and Tredreas bow are two different scenarios.

Pfft you take it so you can recieve it. Have a cry.

Kamikaze Krowz
Forgetting 2005,2006 where you guys choked in the finals and 2007, where you just scrapped in. Williams will be a marked man when hawthorn comes to Footy Park.

I just seen williams talking to rioli in the rooms.. I think he was telling him how scared he is to go play at footy park now :rolleyes:

Marked man? Give it a rest

When your own team pulls its heads in, then talk

Dippers_Mullet
17 May 2008, 18:03
not the stuff you want to be doing round 8

They choked today.

Hence Williams actions.

Hence the thread.

Pawtucket Patriot
17 May 2008, 18:04
Why was Motlop penalised for intercepting the ball at the ball up in Port's forward 50? Is there a specific rule that relates to this misdemeanor?

Bigeasy

Both instances showed disrespect to the opposition. Port have got the reputation of doing such things like Cornes' efforts on a few occassion and not to mention Motlop efforts either. Your lucky Williams didn't bring out the bow and arrow.

Shane_Mag
Pfft you take it so you can recieve it. Have a cry.

why would i need to cry?

relapse
17 May 2008, 18:05

Yeah, but you dont see me on here having a sook about it.

It was good to do the bow and the goose step last year and now you lot are carrying on like A grade sooks when the shoe is on the other foot.

Carn Hawkas
17 May 2008, 18:06
It wasn't a choke, he was just signifying that we hung you out to dry.

crazyman27
They choked today.

Hence Williams actions.

Hence the thread.

I would've accepted it if Williams had actually done something all day. I expect it from Buddy after he kicks 8 goals, but for a guy who didn't contribute anything to the win to be as cocky as that is just disgraceful.

Port Adelaide
Williams was just telling everyone what we all know. Port Chokelaide are back choking and better than ever :D

If he says that about Port I cant think what he would do for West Coast.

stevedarui
17 May 2008, 18:07
I think Clarko will be more worried about why Birchall, Dew, Guerra and YOUNG refused to put their head over the ball early which allowed Port to skip away to the big break than the Williams choke.

Bigeasy
I would've accepted it if Williams had actually done something all day. I expect it from Buddy after he kicks 8 goals, but for a guy who didn't contribute anything to the win to be as cocky as that is just disgraceful.

Lucky he didn't contribute then, it really could've been ugly.

Shane_Mag
Both instances showed disrespect to the opposition. Port have got the reputation of doing such things like Cornes' efforts on a few occassion and not to mention Motlop efforts either. Your lucky Williams didn't bring out the bow and arrow.

Maybe so but how many times has this whole "port choked" been used? way too many times. Its not like Port are the only team in the AFL to lose a game by being in front before.

topjars
Why was Motlop penalised for intercepting the ball at the ball up in Port's forward 50? Is there a specific rule that relates to this misdemeanor?

That was an interesting one - Ive never seen that before. No doubt Choker Williams will be all over it in the presser.

How far were Pork in front -5 - 6 goals.
CHOKED AGAIN

Anti Gold Coast
17 May 2008, 18:08

Both showed disrespect to the opposition. That's the similarity.

Bigeasy
17 May 2008, 18:10
Maybe so but how many times has this whole "port choked" been used? way too many times. Its not like Port are the only team in the AFL to lose a game by being in front before.

No they haren't but the fact that port do it more than any other team may have inspired Williams to throw something back at your team, if that was his actual intention. I don't agree with it but since last years prelim when I was at AAMI and I saw Tredrea do that well I am not to fussed when your teams gets it back.

Vince Van Mackay
17 May 2008, 18:11

hahaha.

Boo hoo mate, how bout you go beat your wife/girlfriend/sister.

jazz
17 May 2008, 18:12

If it was legal to do that, the bounce would be a farce.

The umpire paid the free for interfering with the bounce - it must be a rule.

Pawtucket Patriot
17 May 2008, 18:13

Yes, but what constitutes a bounce? Must the ball get to the top of its trajectory before it is counted as a legitimate bounce?

relapse
17 May 2008, 18:14

Lets not forget who wrote the book on choking, Adelaide are rebuilding at the moment while Port are in the middle of their premiership tilt so I am happy with our form at the moment. Yeah we were outclassed against Hawthorn, but Adelaide arent a flag threat this year.

As for Williams hahahahaha I bet his is really shitting his jocks right about now about coming to footy park :D

Shane_Mag
No they haren't but the fact that port do it more than any other team may have inspired Williams to throw something back at your team, if that was his actual intention. I don't agree with it but since last years prelim when I was at AAMI and I saw Tredrea do that well I am not to fussed when your teams gets it back.

Thats fair enough. I was at the prelim too and saw that and i admit i thought it was a bit out there.

Geoffa32

WE lost by 44 IIRC we never lead the game.

Port had a 37 point lead and lost by 15. A 52 point turn around...

Similar outcome. A loss is a loss.

Gilbert_Hodge
17 May 2008, 18:15
I think Clarko will be more worried about why Birchall, Dew, Guerra and YOUNG refused to put their head over the ball early which allowed Port to skip away to the big break than the Williams choke.

Yeah because Guerra can do a lot from the bench.

Elite Crow
I think he's a mate of Alan Scotts and finally a Mark Williams we can like.

relapse

of course it is a rule, the ball isnt deemed legal until it has started it's downward arc.

Yes, but what constitutes a bounce? Must the ball get to the top of its trajectory before it is counted as a legitimate bounce?

Thats right from what I am aware is that the rules for the bounce is that the ball isnt deemed "in play" until the ball is in the downward motion otherwise players could just run and grab the ball like Motlop tried to do totally making the ruck contest irrelevant.

Geoffa32
17 May 2008, 18:16
I find it hypocritical for Port People to throw stones.

Chad and Tredders antics. Plus the coach doing a similar thing, towards a major sponsor on GF day....

Good thing they dont live in glass houses????

Not that I am against any of the above. Shows they are human with emotion. No real harm done.

Hawkk
17 May 2008, 18:18
Williams will be a marked man when hawthorn comes to Footy Park.

What's there to worry about, Port cant draw a crowd at the best of times.

Buddy vs. the Crows on the otherhand...now that will be interesting :)

stevedarui
17 May 2008, 18:19
Yeah because Guerra can do a lot from the bench.

So Guerra wasn't on the ground in the first half.

Geoffa32
17 May 2008, 18:19
What's there to worry about, Port cant draw a crowd at the best of times.

Buddy vs. the Crows on the otherhand...now that will be interesting :)
Nah we love him...At least I do. Gotta respect a great footballer.

Even if he beats us.

topjars
17 May 2008, 18:20
As for Williams hahahahaha I bet his is really shitting his jocks right about now about coming to footy park :D

Yep, Im sure he'll be afraid of the scum supporters:D all 30 of 'em if they turn up.

Pawtucket Patriot
17 May 2008, 18:26
of course it is a rule, the ball isnt deemed legal until it has started it's downward arc.

Thats right from what I am aware is that the rules for the bounce is that the ball isnt deemed "in play" until the ball is in the downward motion otherwise players could just run and grab the ball like Motlop tried to do totally making the ruck contest irrelevant.

That makes sense. Still it was pretty funny to watch.

Sekaj
17 May 2008, 18:27
There was plenty of banter going back and forth between the two sides all day. Although, I'm not really sure why Port would engage in sledging being as soft as they are.

Williams' gesture I think was just a culmination in a day that was overflowing with verbal exchanges between the Hawks and the Power.

Sekaj
17 May 2008, 18:28
hahaha.

Boo hoo mate, how bout you go beat your wife/girlfriend/sister.

Better yet, go racially abuse Danyle Pearce.

topjars
17 May 2008, 18:41
http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb143/topjars/Coke.jpg

The Revolution Continues:D

Mr Magoo
17 May 2008, 18:46

The only difference was that Wazza's bow was to the crowd where as Williams was directed at... when the game was in the bag.

To me though it's no big deal as i would rather see players play with some passion than run around acting like robots.

Nick85
17 May 2008, 18:46
http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb143/topjars/Coke.jpg

The Revolution Continues:D

Nice, though perhaps Chocco should switch to Diet Choke or perhaps Choke Zero.....

gangsta deluxe
17 May 2008, 18:50
Alistair lynch did that to my team in the finals.

I was furious.

However, they(Lynch and Williams) were both right.

Braun_2_B_Wild
17 May 2008, 19:25
I thought this deserved another run... quite possibly the lowest point in Port Adelaide history.. a choke against Collingwood in the finals :D :D :D

http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/3932/chokepa5.jpg

Hodge2Franklin
17 May 2008, 19:27
I thought this deserved another run... quite possibly the lowest point in Port Adelaide history.. a choke against Collingwood in the finals :D :D :D

http://img211.imageshack.us/img211/3932/chokepa5.jpg

Mark Williams showed them the respect they deserved. Their current batch of pea hearts are a disgrace to our game.

Satchmo
17 May 2008, 19:29
Why is it that when Tredrea does the bow...and Cornes does the goose...and your coach sticks it up your MAJOR sponsor that you stay silent, and as soon as someone takes the #iss...you cry like babies.

Grow UP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hodge2Franklin
17 May 2008, 19:31
Why is it that when Tredrea does the bow...and Cornes does the goose...and your coach sticks it up your MAJOR sponsor that you stay silent, and as soon as someone takes the #iss...you cry like babies.

Inbreeding ...

Power King
17 May 2008, 19:32
I think he was demonstrating how he treats his wife/mistress/husband.

^LOL

end thread

Braun_2_B_Wild
17 May 2008, 19:32

Why is it Freo supporters are so bitter against the world after every loss? It's called Little Brother Syndrome. The good news are both Port and Freo will never be more successful than their bigger brothers :D

Power King
17 May 2008, 19:34
pfft camry crows have a history of choking at least equal to port's in finals

Nick85
17 May 2008, 19:39

Oh didn't you know? When Port do it it shows passion for their club and is funny because they are causing a team other than themselves some embarrassment. It is always full of class.

When other teams do it to Port, it is disgraceful, disrespectful and absolutely not funny.

Vince Van Mackay
17 May 2008, 19:41

Nah, Crows haven't lost a Grandfinal.

hawks_time
17 May 2008, 19:45
^LOL

end thread
But that was the 2nd post of the thread...it's now 5 pages long.

Nick85
17 May 2008, 19:48
But that was the 2nd post of the thread...it's now 4 pages long.

Port win threads if they end it after the first quarter..oops I mean page.

Kamikaze Krowz
17 May 2008, 19:51
Nah, Crows haven't lost a Grandfinal.

They didnt lose a grand final, they forfeited..

At least i never saw them there on the day :)

relapse
17 May 2008, 20:21

Keep in mind though that Port Power have a better record when it comes to getting spanked in grand finals whereas we only know how to win them :D

King_Tredrea
17 May 2008, 20:23
so apparently genuinly celebrating a goal is comparable to going out of your way to berate the opposition?

____ you mark williams

dyertribe
17 May 2008, 20:25
Why is it that when Tredrea does the bow...and Cornes does the goose...

They were celebrating with the crowd. How hard is that to understand. They weren't disrespecting the opposition.

Maybe if Tredders had've bowed in front of Shannon Watt, or Chad Cornes had goosestepped with a placard saying "this way to Auschwitz" I could understand the laughable reaction from the likes of Robert Walls and the Geelong Advertiser.

I find it more interesting that when Fev boots his first and Carlton goes 2 goals up in the first quarter at Subi and makes the 'shoosh' sign to the crowd noone bats an eyelid.

When Mark Williams clearly disrespects his opposition despite barely getting a kick all day it's some sort of comeuppance or justified.

Laughable double-standard.

PoidaCat
17 May 2008, 20:51
Williams = Top Bloke after that effort :thumbsu:

"It was only 119..." :D