View Full Version : Any danger we can hit a target?
kane249
17 May 2008, 22:10
For ____ sake guys, don't your practice this at training?
I'm beginning to wonder if Nicoski and Graham have a future at AFL level with their poor decision making
I think we've been taking bribes to play like shit for a quarter every game. Certainly doing that so far this year.
we were soooo damn good in the 2nd in terms of kicking.
then we ____ed it.
lets hope for something better.
Eagle87
17 May 2008, 22:16
or kick an easy goal!
robbo75
17 May 2008, 22:18
mmm, hoping and praying they lift in the last and don't let north run away with it.
patsmith
17 May 2008, 22:47
We all know that Nico is a class act, but he's becoming too much of a liability. What happened to that sweet, raking left foot?
Crimson King
17 May 2008, 22:59
Nicoksi is possibly the most unintelligent footballer out there atm. I cringe everytime he and Rosa get the ball.:o
Have to agree with you there....His decision making is shocking at times..Pretty happy that Embley and Fletcher put in better efforts this week. Can anyone tell me why Staker was shifted into defence when he was probably close to best on ground up to half time?
We all know that Nico is a class act, but he's becoming too much of a liability. What happened to that sweet, raking left foot?
Goneski.
His ability that is and possibly his place in the best 22.
A shame but I felt he did a good lockdown jod on Campbell, burt was very costly in his turnovers, with poor disposal out of D50.
sydney eagle
17 May 2008, 23:18
Nah ! No danger of that at all. Since we got a kicking coach our kicking seems to have got steadily worse !:eek:
Eagles 4 Mine
17 May 2008, 23:23
This is a consistent problem with our squad and the way they just throw the ball on the boot without looking is starting to really get to me.:mad:
What the hell are the coaches doing at training...?:confused:
larrikin
17 May 2008, 23:31
Play nico on the wing and the problem is gone
Braunny might be a handy HBF
patsmith
17 May 2008, 23:38
This is a consistent problem with our squad and the way they just throw the ball on the boot without looking is starting to really get to me.:mad:
And yet you still get the idiots who yell out "kick the ball!" at home games. I'd rather they kept possession than just bombing it.
Total_Juddshanks
17 May 2008, 23:59
Given the final margin and the number of really bad clangers in our back half, those two pretty much cost us the game tonight.
Graham, IMO, has had a good chance at AFL level and established himself as a deadset Z grade spud defender. Constantly wrongfooted and well behind his man when the ball came in, if he can't use it well when he has it you really struggle to see a place for him in the side.
Nicoski had a very disappointing game and has about the worst disposal in our 22 at the moment. I reckon Houlihan should be in next week, and Nicoski should be back in the WAFL with his career absolutely on the line.
The whole point of this year is finding out who can and can't cut it- Its fairly obvious that Wilkes and Houlihan should get a crack at the expense of the above two.
Stenglein's a Champ!
18 May 2008, 00:04
On a more positive note: how good is JK's field-kicking?!
Kernel Sanders
18 May 2008, 00:05
Nicoski had a very disappointing game and has about the worst disposal in our 22 at the moment. I reckon Houlihan should be in next week, and Nicoski should be back in the WAFL with his career absolutely on the line.
The only thing keeping him in the team is to see if he can return to his former glory year.
Rosa, on the other hand... never had a glory year like Nico. Fair dinkum, what the bloody hell does this guy do? Gets 25 posessions a game with 0% effectiveness. Can't kick, can't handball, pathetic decision making that sells all his team-mates into trouble. Should be charged with imporsonating a footballer. An imposter and a fraud.
Fair dimkum, is this guy related to Shaun McManus? Because he's the older and worse model of McAnus version 1.
our kicking in the 2nd qtr was brilliant.
we couldnt keep that up, in fact we done the opposite. we kicked like shit in the 3rd!
bigburger
18 May 2008, 00:19
And yet you still get the idiots who yell out "kick the ball!" at home games. I'd rather they kept possession than just bombing it.
Wheres the benefit in that? May as well bomb it long to a 50/50 contest rather than bugger around with the ball. This stops the other team allowing to man up and flood back so when we do finally kick it has to be a long bomb anyway and it is more than likely a crowded contest which is always easier for the defensive team to win.
patsmith
18 May 2008, 00:38
Wheres the benefit in that? May as well bomb it long to a 50/50 contest rather than bugger around with the ball. This stops the other team allowing to man up and flood back so when we do finally kick it has to be a long bomb anyway and it is more than likely a crowded contest which is always easier for the defensive team to win.
I'd rather they held on to the ball rather than just bomb it over their shoulder without looking. We give it up sometimes, but that's a skills deficiency as opposed to a tactical one.
bigburger
18 May 2008, 00:53
I'd rather they held on to the ball rather than just bomb it over their shoulder without looking. We give it up sometimes, but that's a skills deficiency as opposed to a tactical one.
Mate there the tactics we we used against Sydney and Adelaide earlier this season and that did us well didn't it.
patsmith
18 May 2008, 01:11
Mate there the tactics we we used against Sydney and Adelaide earlier this season and that did us well didn't it.
The players just aren't good enough yet to pull it off. We should try to make them play the footy they should be playing, in the hope that they will get better. The young guys won't improve by kicking it without thinking.
beatlesmith
18 May 2008, 01:20
On a more positive note: how good is JK's field-kicking?!
agreed. Hit Mckinley and Lynch on the chest perfectly, exactly what you need from a lead up CHF. I see Kennedy as Riewoldt who can kick for goals.
wce0632
18 May 2008, 01:29
Bloody Broadbridge and his freo germs :p
Nah, seriously, it's frustrating the hell out of me, Woosha will find himself with bald patches soon (when he grows his hair back). Glad there's not a camera pointing at me when that kind of crap happens, I'd be the 'Tool of the Week' time and time again.
Hitting targets has been a blight we have struggled with as well, it is very annoying to think someone is getting paid as much as professional footballers are being paid and they struggle to hit someone 30m away.
Confidence is a very big factor, it can raise your skill live up significantly or lower it significantly. When you are confident you seem to always have plenty of time to dispose of the ball, even under pressure.
I don't think either club is soaring in the confidence department atm but in patches both showed the potential to play good footy, just struggling to be able to bring that to the table for four quarters.