View Full Version : We won't be down long with this crop!
spEKTre
18 May 2008, 07:37
This is the season we had to have ( all be it a few years early than expected ) after last years off field debacles and loss of players. I am more excited now than I was back in 02-03 with the current crop of young guys coming through and last night showed once they get some games under their belts, reduce their error count and kick away instead of trying to hold we will be another chance at a flag in 2-3 years.
Keep the faith boy's we will overtakin Freo in a year or 2 with this bunch of kids and lookout flag :D
larrikin
18 May 2008, 10:01
Who cares about Freo
jorel6669
18 May 2008, 11:32
This is the season we had to have ( all be it a few years early than expected ) after last years off field debacles and loss of players. I am more excited now than I was back in 02-03 with the current crop of young guys coming through and last night showed once they get some games under their belts, reduce their error count and kick away instead of trying to hold we will be another chance at a flag in 2-3 years.
Keep the faith boy's we will overtakin Freo in a year or 2 with this bunch of kids and lookout flag :D
What is there to overtake? :confused:
nobbyiscool
18 May 2008, 12:10
i feel exactly the same way about future prospects.
in an area where everyone is talking about the 'hawthorn model' of rebuilding, we're fortunate enough that we're not going to have to rebuild. in fact, after cleaning up at the draft last year (i think), with some good picks to come this year, and with the knowledge that we couldn't possibly have such bad luck with injuries again next year, i think we'll be right back up there again.
i'm not unhappy, or worried at all this season. sure, i'd rather us be winning - but i still think it's exciting as hell watching our young guys learn how to play AFL footy.
jimbeam06
18 May 2008, 12:50
yes we will
This is the season we had to have ( all be it a few years early than expected )I agree, and it's only earlier than expected because of the internal matters. There's definitely a good crop of youngsters over there and when you add Cox and Kerr (if he remains at West Coast) then there's still the nucleus of a top 4 side. I think it's just a lack of form and coming to terms with a few players no longer at the club. Once the dust settles I think West Coast will be thereabouts again. Whether you harbour any ill feeling towards Judd or not, he was obviously a pretty strong leader around the place and you don't replace those types, especially with the ability that comes with it, overnight. But I think down the track the Eagles will benefit from that deal.
George_A_Romero
18 May 2008, 13:07
Can we aim higher than 14th please?
The_Eagles
18 May 2008, 14:01
It still might be 10 years + until we actually win a flag. 94-06 was 12 years. Although I reckon probably 5-7. Should have won in 05.
We had a coach that seemed determined to run us into the ground and another who was like "WTF".
We now have a coach that isn`t interested in buggering off any time soon and knows how to get us into grand finals.
That`s the difference this time around.
materamagic
18 May 2008, 15:30
To match the Roos in intensity after some lacklustre quarters of footy over the last 2 months is a sign that pleases me and no doubt Woosha and the Coaching staff. Given the players due to return over the next month and the continued development of these new guys in the team I only can see upside as the season forges on.
the midfeild needs two guns...they dont have to be as good as Cuz and Judd just really good quick players
the backs and fwds are ok....coz is what 26...good future ahead for us..Lecca Mckinley Kennedy will be a great fwd line
Arcadion
18 May 2008, 17:52
the midfeild needs two guns...they dont have to be as good as Cuz and Judd just really good quick players
Well we have Pridda, Kerr and Masten. They're our midfield guns. But when was the last time all three played in one game?
Then we have Butler to come back.
And don't forget Hurn.. or Priddis.
As a certain bird would say.. Great times ahead :)
XFactor1979
18 May 2008, 22:23
this season wouldnt be much fun to watch though :(
not only do we have masten and mckinley and all that to look forward to...but we got mitch brown, who from what i saw last season could add to the forward line or do a bones/waters kind of job along half back, and then we got a new selwood who looks promising, and i still think J mac has potential. so i think midfield has potential, back line is solid, and we get a decent crumber like lecca back into the forward line and keep staker up there it can b dangerous
beatlesmith
18 May 2008, 23:07
rich, swift, gartlett and yarran will pretty much complete the lineup. then adapt mitch brown to FF, spangher at CHB, and we have a pretty damn good young team
Bigeasy
19 May 2008, 10:17
You blokes will be okay as soon as next year and not the 5-7 years you are talking about. You got to hand it to Woosha, in the space of 12 months WCE have lost Judd and Cousins (two of the greatest midfielders ever) and have invested in youth. From the Judd deal, i wonder who will be seen as the winner on that one, what i've seen of Kennedy you guys have picked up a KPP who will be a ten year player of high quality.
sydney eagle
19 May 2008, 12:19
rich, swift, gartlett and yarran will pretty much complete the lineup. then adapt mitch brown to FF, spangher at CHB, and we have a pretty damn good young team Well maybe they would but I can't see the Eagles getting ALL of those players. One, or maybe two depending on where we finish.
Marlin01
19 May 2008, 13:32
You blokes will be okay as soon as next year and not the 5-7 years you are talking about.
It depends on your definition of OK. Eagles fans (myself included) have been spoilt and really don't consider anything less than a premiership to be a successful season. When you consider how long some clubs and their supporters have had to wait for a flag, we really shouldn't complain if we have to wait another 20 years. I suspect the 5-7 years is more an indication of when we'll be a legitimate premiership threat. I personally think it will be 2-3 years. In 5-7 years, hardly any of the players on our current senior list will still be playing.
Bigeasy
19 May 2008, 14:15
It depends on your definition of OK. Eagles fans (myself included) have been spoilt and really don't consider anything less than a premiership to be a successful season. When you consider how long some clubs and their supporters have had to wait for a flag, we really shouldn't complain if we have to wait another 20 years. I suspect the 5-7 years is more an indication of when we'll be a legitimate premiership threat. I personally think it will be 2-3 years. In 5-7 years, hardly any of the players on our current senior list will still be playing.
Yes i understand that and i am referring to finals and whilst that may not satisfy a lot of Eagles supporters it will be a spiral upwards. It is always exciting to watch your team full of youngsters and promise and considering the year you had last year, you guys can look forward to some exciting times. Mastin, McKinley, Kennedy,Butler, Priddis, Davis and others that I have missed is pretty healthy.
Always admired the Weagles from the days of Kemp, Matera, Mainwaring, Woosha, McKenna, Jakovich and Monkey Brennan. Fair team that one.
eaglechick79
19 May 2008, 14:39
To match the Roos in intensity after some lacklustre quarters of footy over the last 2 months is a sign that pleases me and no doubt Woosha and the Coaching staff. Given the players due to return over the next month and the continued development of these new guys in the team I only can see upside as the season forges on.
My thoughts exactly!! 6pt lost and we faught it out to the end, promising signs!!! i think we need some confidents too, i think once we win a game mite help a bit!!! u look at melbourne, even Essendon, on the weekend, that had been us the past few weeks, the team that played on the weekend was a team who shouldnt be down the bottom of the ladder.. so lets hope they can pick themselves up and cont this promising run!! :)
just have to persist with the ones that show promise and weed out the others.
at the moment ive been super impressed with masten, for a dude so early in his career to be having such an impact on games shows something about his character. the type of player we can rely on for the future.
mckinley keeps doing his thing, he's always in and around the play when the ball goes forward. only going to get better.
kennedy, enough said.
ebert is a tough player, with more time into him he can be a really solid contributer.
sselwood plays like a selwood, he'll be a good player at least.
will schofield is a promising player, give him heaps more big defensive jobs this year and he'll learn a lot.
spangher, get him in the team.
and so on...
grab rich and/or yarran and we'll go alright.
McKinley is a GUN. Watching the game he leads very very well inside 50 and always proveds a contest. He's only 184cm but he looks alot taller/or plays taller than he is and he sorta has that big bodied Pavlich build but is just 8cm shorter. If he hung onto a couple more marks he could have had another 2-3 goals. I cant wait for Lecras to get back into the team, i want to see how well the forward line functions.
juddy_Like
19 May 2008, 15:25
But we really should hope that McKinley is our Mark Williams at the Hawks.
Outstanding player but we really shouldn't be pinning our hopes on him being our FF. Thats where Browny comes in to play.
cheros eagles
19 May 2008, 20:25
young guys showing a lot of great signs cant wait for 3-4 years time :thumbsu::)
I can actually see Mckinley being half fwd slash midfeilder pitch hitter eventaully who floats between the midfeild and fwd line
Lecca could be a puter midfeilder
Mckinley is our future embley!
beatlesmith
19 May 2008, 22:41
i'd rather see mckinley as a full time forward with lecras rotating between HFF/FP and midfield.
Next year:
FF: Mckinley--Brown--Gartlett
HF: Yarran--Kennedy--Lecras
Then with delivery from hurn, masten and rich in the midfield, we will finally have a functioning forward line (yay, about time)
i'd rather see mckinley as a full time forward with lecras rotating between HFF/FP and midfield.
Next year:
FF: Mckinley--Brown--Gartlett
HF: Yarran--Kennedy--Lecras
Then with delivery from hurn, masten and rich in the midfield, we will finally have a functioning forward line (yay, about time)
that ____en looks impressive. embley will be in the backline. lynch can either play wing or continue to miss goals on the suburban track.
beatlesmith
19 May 2008, 22:45
Well maybe they would but I can't see the Eagles getting ALL of those players. One, or maybe two depending on where we finish.
well if we make a move to get another pick in the first round (which i suspect we will as its the last proper draft for a while and there is some tradeable players in our ranks), then it is very possible. Rich at 2, Yarran later in the 1st round (he will slide a bit), swift with our probable PP at 18 (teams may be reluctant because of his injury history so he may slip) and gartlett in the 2nd or 3rd rounds and we are set as it probably finishes off our midfield and forward line for the next 10 years (short of a dominant FF).
beatlesmith
19 May 2008, 22:47
that ____en looks impressive. embley will be in the backline. lynch can either play wing or continue to miss goals on the suburban track.
hmm, just gotta get mitch brown working on his contested marking ability and goalkicking, as he has the physical traits of a gorilla FF. Either that or trade for mitch clark.
Obeanie1
19 May 2008, 22:52
Everyone talks up Mitch Brown as a forward but can he kick straight?
I haven't seen that yet.
He may play forward but really since Sumabro and Cummings we have never had a sole FF. Always a group of forwards to share the load, and thats not a bad thing IMO.
beatlesmith
19 May 2008, 22:57
^^played more as a CHF so far. But with Kennedy now holding CHF down, he has 2 options
a) move to CHB (has played there before) but we already have spangher, mackenzie, wilkes, schofield etc.
b) develop goalkicking and marking skills and become gorilla FF.
I'd personally like to see the FF option, as he has the stength and athletic ability needed for successful FF's.
sydney eagle
20 May 2008, 12:27
well if we make a move to get another pick in the first round (which i suspect we will as its the last proper draft for a while and there is some tradeable players in our ranks), then it is very possible. Rich at 2, Yarran later in the 1st round (he will slide a bit), swift with our probable PP at 18 (teams may be reluctant because of his injury history so he may slip) and gartlett in the 2nd or 3rd rounds and we are set as it probably finishes off our midfield and forward line for the next 10 years (short of a dominant FF). Who do you think we can trade to get a pick high enough to get both Rich and Yarran in the first round ? I think that any team wanting to trade for higher picks in this draft will end up having to pay through the nose for them !
Obeanie1
22 May 2008, 14:39
Who do you think we can trade to get a pick high enough to get both Rich and Yarran in the first round ? I think that any team wanting to trade for higher picks in this draft will end up having to pay through the nose for them !
Yep, your probably right. I think a player plus an early second round pick may be needed.
EG Rosa / Staker or Hansen + Priority Pick 18 for pick 7.
We will need to give up alot to get another first round pick this draft for sure.
Cerpin Taxt
22 May 2008, 15:00
Two of those guys have never played AFL. Mitch Brown has played a small handful of games, likewise McKinley. It's sad when something looks impressive because its never proven not to be.