View Full Version : Votes against Bombers

Jaymeee
18 May 2008, 18:04
5 - Moore
4 - MOL
3 - Playfair
2 - Barry
1 - Jolly

Goodes, Kirk, and Bevan unlucky to miss out on the votes.
Jolly would have been higher had he made the most of his opportunities in front of goals.

is2SWaNz
18 May 2008, 18:50
5. Moore - He's getting better and better
4. Playfair - Worked well in the forward line; strong marker.
3. Jolly - 3 goals, not bad.
2. MOL - A better forward that 2 weeks ago.
1. Ablett - Did the little things right today

Honorable mentions to everyone. Don't think anyone played that badly. Kudos to Jarrad McVeigh as well.

Theprofessional
18 May 2008, 18:57
Tough.

5. Mol
4.Kirk
3. Moore
2. Bucannan
1. Jolly

bleeding red and white
18 May 2008, 19:10
5. Moore
4. MOL.
3. Buchanan
2. Kirk
1. Jolly

MalceskiFan
18 May 2008, 19:20
5. MOL
4. Jolly
3. Kirk
2. Goodes
1. Moore

snappy
18 May 2008, 19:30
5. Moore
4. MOL
3. Jolly
2. Barry
1. Kirk

bigswan
18 May 2008, 19:36
MOL
Barry
Moore
Kirk
Jolly

SOPH_CROSS
18 May 2008, 19:49
5.JARRED MOORE :D:D:D soooo proud of him hes taken my heart i love the way he plays reminds me very much of Snides so im proud to say that Moore is my new fave player and i was so excited when i got to stand up and hold my "I WANT MOORE" poster
4.MOL
3.Playfair finally kicking right his marking was fantastic
2.Jolly
1.Luke Ablett

was a great game to be at and the Reserves played well to (GO BEANIE!)

grimlock
18 May 2008, 19:57
5 - Kirk. The captain at his best, in and under, Essendon didn't have an equal.
4 - Micky O. 6 straight, I can't believe my eyes. Keep it up!
3 - Jolly. Great game from the big man. Bonus points for hitting the roof.
2 - Mattner. Held Jetta to zilch, was worried about that matchup and penetrating from the back once Kennelly went of.
1 - ROK. Gave Slattery a thrashing. Just kick straighter next time!

Jeffers1984
18 May 2008, 19:58
5.JARRED MOORE :D:D:D soooo proud of him hes taken my heart i love the way he plays reminds me very much of Snides so im proud to say that Moore is my new fave player and i was so excited when i got to stand up and hold my "I WANT MOORE" poster
4.MOL
2.Jolly
1.Luke Ablett

Soph was that you that held the "we love beanie" sign during the reserves? A bunch of girls were cheering very loud for Jake Orreal in the ressies.

Anyways my votes

5. Moorey (Bloody gun)
4. Magic
3. Kirky
2. Jolls
1.Leaping

No1SwansFan
18 May 2008, 20:00
5 Magic
4 Moore
3 Jolly
2 Mattner
1 Leo

SOPH_CROSS
18 May 2008, 20:05
Soph was that you that held the "we love beanie" sign during the reserves? A bunch of girls were cheering very loud for Jake Orreal in the ressies.

Anyways my votes

5. Moorey (Bloody gun)
4. Magic
3. Kirky
2. Jolls
1.Leaping

Yes that was my sign i proudly made for Jake and that was me and the roomies girls :D

CAS79
18 May 2008, 20:07
5 O'Loughlan
4 Jolly
3 Kirk
2 Moore
1 C.Bolton

Apologies to O'Keefe, Playfair, Bird, Buchanan, Goodes and Ablett. Could have been so many.

ssfc0203
18 May 2008, 20:18
5 S'Moore.
4 Jolly
3 Kirk
2 MickyO
1 RyanO

LOL, yeah Jeffers that was us. They were compensating for my loss of voice, but I cheered a little.
Did anyone else see/hear us ?

is2SWaNz
18 May 2008, 20:41
Yes!! Jeffers, that was us! HAHA!!!

Costanza_
18 May 2008, 21:01
5. Moore - Was blown away by his game today, fantastic to see a kid spring a game like that.
4. O'Loughlin
3. Mattner
2. Goodes
1. Jolly

Special mention to Playfair who led very well all day and put a couple of important ones through (horrid miss in the 1stQ notwithstanding).

bradmanstandguy
18 May 2008, 21:22
1 MOL
2 Moore
3 Leo
4 Jolly
5 Playfair

For me today,Mickey o, and Leapin,really turned back the clock,shit even
Leapin got a goal. Moore just gets better and better. Jolly has improved
since he shaved his head? And Playfair seems to have come come to grips
with his role in the team,apart from his kicking.Although his teammates have
nothing to crow about in that area. Kirky did his usual in and under toughness
and constantly showed leadership. I have serious worries about Jude Bolton,
is it just me or his he in a form slump?

bedford
18 May 2008, 21:30
4.MOL
2.Jolly
1.Luke Ablett

WELL SOPH ITS TIME TO REPLACE YOUR FAV. TEAM WITH THE MOORES AND GET RID OF THE LITTLE CHUBBY NO.13 FROM ST.SCUM.

SouthSwans
18 May 2008, 21:31
5. Moore
4. Kirk
3. MOL
2. Playfair
1. Jolly

natlovestheswans
18 May 2008, 21:38

Lol, yes that was us. Who else would be cheering for "Beanie"? Haha.

Anyways, my votes

5. Moore - Awesomeee. Lol Soph, we saw you jumping up with your Moore sign when he kicked that goal.
4. MOL - Awesomeee.
3. Leo - Solid all day in defence and his goal was so cute. I love Leo goals!
2. Mattner - Aw, helicopter was everywhereee.
1. Ablett - Very good game from Lukey.

Hon mention to Playfair.

SOPH_CROSS
18 May 2008, 21:45
WELL SOPH ITS TIME TO REPLACE YOUR FAV. TEAM WITH THE MOORES AND GET RID OF THE LITTLE CHUBBY NO.13 FROM ST.SCUM.

I will always be proud of Schneider
this dude on the train had a chat with me and said he was very impressed that i still showed me support for him and that we should have never gotten rid of him LOVE U SNIDES but i am falling in love with Jarred i wanna meet him so bad lol

5. Moore - Awesomeee. Lol Soph, we saw you jumping up with your Moore

HA HA i was so proud to hold my poster up for him

bloods05
18 May 2008, 21:46
5. Moore
4. Kirk
3. MOL
2. Playfair
1. Jolly

Thought Spider played a solid game.

TripleB
18 May 2008, 22:02
Lol, yes that was us. Who else would be cheering for "Beanie"? Haha.

Where were u sitting???

natlovestheswans
18 May 2008, 22:05
Where were u sitting???

Um.. dunno how to explain our location.. You know the end that we kicked to in the last quarter? We were in the left pocket of those goals, standing against the rails in the first row.

ssfc0203
18 May 2008, 22:10
Where were u sitting???
Couple of bays away from the Dons cheersquad, and two or three away from the Premium seating on the wings opposite from where the players come out.

You know .. where the padding started.

TripleB
18 May 2008, 22:12
Um.. dunno how to explain our location.. You know the end that we kicked to in the last quarter? We were in the left pocket of those goals, standing against the rails in the first row.

In that case, you weren't the only ones cheering for him.

I strongly suspect a group of around 15 in Aisle 125 were from his family. At least one of the group, an attractive girl who looked in her early 20's had #44 on the back of her Swans jumper. A male in his 50's was calling him son and they were beside themselves when he made that great smother in the first quarter which led to a goal after being on the field less than 2 minutes.

They looked very proud, rightly so. :thumbsu:

natlovestheswans
18 May 2008, 22:15
In that case, you weren't the only ones cheering for him.

I strongly suspect a group of around 15 in Aisle 125 were from his family. At least one of the group, an attractive girl who looked in her early 20's had #44 on the back of her Swans jumper. A male in his 50's was calling him son and they were beside themselves when he made that great smother in the first quarter which led to a goal after being on the field less than 2 minutes.

They looked very proud, rightly so. :thumbsu:

Yeah, that would have been his family/friends. He told us that they were coming to watch him aswell.

Haha, but after the game he waved to us, not them.. lmao.

SOPH_CROSS
18 May 2008, 22:18
Yeah that would have been his family he told me they were coming out
and the girl with 44 would be Julia his girlfriend thats so sweet that she has his number

WELL DONE JAKE!

bedford
18 May 2008, 22:26
5.mol
4 Rok
3 Ablett
2 Moore
1 Goodes

Tippaz
19 May 2008, 01:07
i gave:

3. O'Loughlin
2. Kirk
1. Jolly
unlucky: Moore

we (essendon) are in tank mode :D

Hooley McBoob
19 May 2008, 02:47
5. Moore, ripper of a game
4. MOL
3. Playfair, he's repaying my faith...slowly
2. Barry! A goal, woo!
1. Mattner

Apologies to Buchanan.

I didn't see much of Craig today, v. sad :(

Tuco
19 May 2008, 10:57
5. Kirk - by a mile for mind. His best game of the year. Had a hand in about 10 goals with 3 direct assists; 29 possessions, 12 contested, and none of them cheap. Phenomenal effort.
4. MOL - Worked so hard. And his 6 goals was his best ever return against the bombers.
3. Goodes. 27 touches with 6 contested possesions. Coming along very nicely now.
2. ROK - kicked as many goals as points? Season on baby!
1. Leo. Had to give someone up back a nod. And 21 possies and goal has to be worth a point.

Mentions: Playfair and Spida showed us something after slow debuts this year, and Moore and Amon were all over them like a bad rash.

Skystyler
19 May 2008, 12:43
5. Moore
4. Kirk
3. Barry
2. O'loughlin
1. Playfair

J-swan
19 May 2008, 16:08
5. Moore
4. Kirk
3. MOL
2. Mattner
1. Playfair

MalceskiFan
19 May 2008, 16:18
A lot of people seem to be giving Moore the 5 points? Just curious as to whether you all rated his output better than that of Kirk or MOL? Or are you grading by his own standards (eg. giving him extra points for improvement)?

J-swan
19 May 2008, 16:25
A lot of people seem to be giving Moore the 5 points? Just curious as to whether you all rated his output better than that of Kirk or MOL? Or are you grading by his own standards (eg. giving him extra points for improvement)?

I found it very hard to split Moore & Kirk. I thought they were both fantastic but in the end I gave my 5 pts to Moore because I thought his work up forward contributed a touch more to the final result.

rancidpants13
19 May 2008, 18:29

i would definitely rate moore over micky o
yes, o'loughlin kicked six goals and did work up the ground a bit, but moore showed remarkable composure all over the ground, i thought he was outstanding
but i can't believe jolly's been pushed down or even out of the points
i thought he was our best, although i agree kirk was terrific, but when he is he not?

5) jolly
4) moore
3) kirk
2) barry (i reckon probly his best game in 2-3 years)
1) micky o

i've had to put o'loughlin in for the six goals, but craig bird was close, i know his kicking is still a bit iffy but he slipped away some quality handballs yesterday, and like moore and jack is just so strong on his feet, and a super tackler
and what about bevan's front-on tackle of monfries, there's no doubt bevan's one of the best one-on-one tacklers in the league
also, ROK, ted and ablett were very good
bedford, i am starting to agree more and more on ablett, he does a lot of work in and under, and mattner is making less mistakes and getting more sure of himself every game

Tuco
19 May 2008, 22:49

After watching the game again on replay, I'd say the landslide in favour of Moore this week is a little generous. Amon actually outshone him in the second half, and I couldn't find a point for him either. Don't get me wrong, Moore was very good. But who wasn't against that rabble?

Ed_Gein
20 May 2008, 00:58
I'm with Tuco.

Kirk stood out like a sore thumb. Was at it all day and was at his best.

I'm rubbish with giving votes, but i'll give it a go;

5 - Kirk
4 - Jolly
3 - MO'L
2 - Goodes
1 - Barry

the middle 3 could have went either way, i gave Goodes 2 cause he played as we expect him to, but i thought Jolly was pretty damaging up forward and played well and what can you say about Magic? 6.0. Great day out up forward.

Moore was great, but i'm not sure why many of you gave him best afield. Each to their own though. :) And in saying that i was almost tempted to give Bevan 1 vote due to his tackling and pressure skills. Was terrific too. O'Keefe and Playfair unlucky to miss out.

SouthSwans
20 May 2008, 05:37
1 MOL
2 Moore
3 Leo
4 Jolly
5 Playfair

For me today,Mickey o, and Leapin,really turned back the clock,shit even
Leapin got a goal. Moore just gets better and better. Jolly has improved
since he shaved his head? And Playfair seems to have come come to grips
with his role in the team,apart from his kicking.Although his teammates have
nothing to crow about in that area. Kirky did his usual in and under toughness
and constantly showed leadership. I have serious worries about Jude Bolton,
is it just me or his he in a form slump?
Bradmanstandguy, read the rules. I'm not including your votes.

And bigswan, please put in the numbers.

EatBig Australia
20 May 2008, 09:12
5. Micky O - Can't ask for more than 6 straight.
4. Kirk - Kirkish as usual.
3. Moore - Awesome.
2. Jolly - 3 Goals and 25 hitouts.
1. Goodes - Worked hard all day.

Other mentions to Bird who had 8 hard ball gets, Leo and O'Keefe.

Costanza_
20 May 2008, 09:22
Moore was great, but i'm not sure why many of you gave him best afield. Each to their own though. :) And in saying that i was almost tempted to give Bevan 1 vote due to his tackling and pressure skills. Was terrific too. O'Keefe and Playfair unlucky to miss out.

When I've seen games live I like to vote without looking at the stats, and go on gut feeling and who grabbed my attention. Because Moore is new and doesn't have the same expectation of continuous quality (like Kirk or Goodes), when he bobbed up I noticed it more than some of the established stars. You're right though, probably not best on ground, but impressed me the most on the day.

Nice name btw mate, can I come over and look at your human-skin lampshade? :)

mitch820
20 May 2008, 10:47
5. Jolly
4. O'Loughlin
3. Moore
2. Playfair
1. Kirk

mitch820
20 May 2008, 10:51
my "I WANT MOORE" poster

I saw that poster on TV, good one.

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 10:58
I saw that poster on TV, good one.

Really? U sure it wasnt the "GIMME MOORE" one

mitch820
20 May 2008, 17:20
Really? U sure it wasnt the "GIMME MOORE" one

Sorry, I think it was.
Now I feel like an Idiot.

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 17:45
Sorry, I think it was.
Now I feel like an Idiot.

ha ha thats ok i thought it would have been that one

Dunkley
20 May 2008, 18:37
Mickey O was good, but if he would do that against a slightly better opposition i would rate him even more.

grimlock
20 May 2008, 23:51
Just finished watching the replay, Moore was more prominent than I thought while watching the game live.

SouthSwans
22 May 2008, 10:29
Round 8 vs. Essendon

119 Moore
70 O'Loughlin
56 Kirk
50 Jolly
22 Barry
19 Playfair
12 Mattner
11 Goodes
8 O'Keefe
6 Ablett
5 Buchanan
1 Bolton, C

MalceskiFan
22 May 2008, 13:56
Round 8 vs. Essendon

119 Moore
70 O'Loughlin
56 Kirk
50 Jolly
22 Barry
19 Playfair
12 Mattner
11 Goodes
8 O'Keefe
6 Ablett
5 Buchanan
1 Bolton, C

After watching the replay of the match I think Goodes is very unlucky to only tally 11 votes.

ssfc0203
22 May 2008, 14:41
After watching the replay of the match I think Goodes is very unlucky to only tally 11 votes.
Yeah, he is, but once again a victim of his own standards .. see what's happening to Jimmy Bartel down at the Cats already.

MalceskiFan
22 May 2008, 15:40
Yeah, he is, but once again a victim of his own standards

He is indeed. The $26 listed for him in the brownlow odds is tempting. I suspect he's probably on around 9 votes already and always seems to poll well.

J-swan
22 May 2008, 16:00
He is indeed. The $26 listed for him in the brownlow odds is tempting. I suspect he's probably on around 9 votes already and always seems to poll well.

I was only thinking about this yesterday when I watched the replay and was wondering if he'll make the charge like he did last year. I thought he would only have about 4 vote at the moment though.