View Full Version : Kennelly's Knee

DeadlyAkkuret
18 May 2008, 19:32
Does a dislocated knee cap usually keep players out for a long time? Is there any chance that the scans will reveal that it's not as bad as first thought?

grimlock
18 May 2008, 19:36
I believe Cressa missed 0 when he bashed his back in. But for sane people, I'm not sure.

rancidpants13
18 May 2008, 19:44
I believe Cressa missed 0 when he bashed his back in. But for sane people, I'm not sure.

heh heh, good comment
i heard kennelly had tried to whack his back in today

i think kennelly's been carrying either a knee or shoulder injury, and when he went down today i thought ht was holding his shoulder when the trainer came on
look, we've had to endure a series of injuries in the past season or so, a couple of them to the irishman
we just have to adjust and move on, and with malch back it might work out okay
spose we'll know more in the next few days but he looked pretty shattered and in serious pain

grimlock
18 May 2008, 19:51
It's the Kenneski curse, both of them just can't play together.

Now we have to look forward to the Mattneski combo.

DeadlyAkkuret
18 May 2008, 20:03
It's the Kenneski curse, both of them just can't play together.

Now we have to look forward to the Mattneski combo.

Well, you've given them a combined name now, so they're doomed.

Thanks!:mad:

grimlock
18 May 2008, 20:14
Oh, is that how it works?

I can't wait for the combo of Bevthews next week.
Or how about that PlayRT, they're pretty good.

is2SWaNz
18 May 2008, 20:35
Yup, saw Kennelly bashing his knee cap back into place. It was a gross sight.

Didn't he also dislocate his shoulder earlier in the game, and one of the trainers just popped it right back in?

TheMase
18 May 2008, 20:39
Didn't he also dislocate his shoulder earlier in the game, and one of the trainers just popped it right back in?

Yep :(

bradmanstandguy
18 May 2008, 20:49
I remember the Cressa incident so well.Does anyone know if there is footage
of the incident on youtube or something. Just to show our younger posters?

TheMase
18 May 2008, 20:53

Cannot find it, but I remember it so vividly. Such determination. He played the following week too!

No1SwansFan
18 May 2008, 21:12
heh heh, good comment
i heard kennelly had tried to whack his back in today

i think kennelly's been carrying either a knee or shoulder injury, and when he went down today i thought ht was holding his shoulder when the trainer came on
look, we've had to endure a series of injuries in the past season or so, a couple of them to the irishman
we just have to adjust and move on, and with malch back it might work out okay
spose we'll know more in the next few days but he looked pretty shattered and in serious pain
He repeatedly whacked his knee with a fist to ry and get it back in but dont think he had any luck. He did dislocate a shoulder a some point to and the medicos just popped it in again. Then he did the knee

bradmanstandguy
18 May 2008, 21:33
Jeeze,the luck of the Irish,does not relate to our Tadgh. Maybe he should go
back to Ireland in his recovery and kiss the Blarney Stone.

ssfc0203
18 May 2008, 21:49
I wanted the three pronged defensive attacking unit. It was gonna be gun :mad:

As for time off, I think Tiges will have to take a max. of 2 weeks off to help the bruising go down, but this kind of injury seems to happen to him a lot, so I won't be surprised to not see him back for 3 matches this time if the medico's reckon it'll help him in the long run.

Tadhg isn't one to stay away from the game longer than he has to, though ..

bloods05
18 May 2008, 21:50
Jeeze,the luck of the Irish,does not relate to our Tadgh. Maybe he should go
back to Ireland in his recovery and kiss the Blarney Stone.

Think a long rest will do him good,keep's playing not fully fit and now seem's to getting hurt when he does play..

SOPH_CROSS
18 May 2008, 22:02
idd hate 2 be him
i hate to see our players get hurt

but i guess everyones just getting old (dont take that wrong)

dezzy94
18 May 2008, 22:02

i Still remember that day but Could only find this pic !

http://i31.tinypic.com/8xkkz6.jpg

SOPH_CROSS
18 May 2008, 22:08
ouch that isnt pretty

is2SWaNz
18 May 2008, 22:24
Oh my god, you can actually see it dislocated. :eek:

Jeffers1984
18 May 2008, 22:27
i Still remember that day but Could only find this pic !

http://i31.tinypic.com/8xkkz6.jpg

Amazing Cressa didn't miss any games after that.

The guy was a true warrior and my 2nd favourite Swans player of all time. (Behind Kelly of course)

magic.merkin
18 May 2008, 22:27
/looks at avatar :)

CAS79
18 May 2008, 23:05
Cressa. So brave and gutsy. Though being a total nutjob helps in this regard sometimes ;).

DeadlyAkkuret
18 May 2008, 23:09
By the look on his face, I think that probably hurt.

rancidpants13
18 May 2008, 23:14
By the look on his face, I think that probably hurt.

he probly just jarred his hand

MalceskiFan
18 May 2008, 23:56
Does a dislocated knee cap usually keep players out for a long time? Is there any chance that the scans will reveal that it's not as bad as first thought?

Dislocated knee caps can vary greatly in recovery time. I have dislocated mine 6 times now and I can't play footy again unless I get a full reco :(. Depending on the extent of damage to the ligaments he should be walking normally within a week and then able to do a bit of running in a couple of weeks however you have to put in a lot of work strengthening the muscles around the knee without putting too much stress on it that the ligaments repair and reattach themselves properly. During this period you can definately play footy but you run a very high risk of it reoccuring unless you allow enough time for it heal. When you do it badly there can also be damage to the actual bone which makes the kneecap slip out easier (which was the case with me) and in these circumstances can require a full reco.

Just by looking at Tadgh today it didn't look like the kneecap had slipped all the way around so I'm guessing it's not a severe dislocation but as I have said these injuries vary greatly in recovery time. At a guess he'll be out for 3-4 absolute minimum and could be as bad as 9-10 weeks.

Tuco
19 May 2008, 09:13
If the damage isn't too severe (ligaments intact etc) he could be back any time over the next month. But it will depend on how much swelling he has in the area. A big issue with this type of injury is pain management as well. It hurts a lot.

Lakeside Legacy
19 May 2008, 15:56
If the damage isn't too severe (ligaments intact etc) he could be back any time over the next month. But it will depend on how much swelling he has in the area. A big issue with this type of injury is pain management as well. It hurts a lot.

Tadhg Kennelly (AKA "Demolition Man") has and still continues to have an amazing pain threshold to play on regardless of injury. He has played all of the current season with a shoulder that was badly dislocated in one of his last practice hit outs, and has carried a tight hamstring for the past few weeks and now appears to have popped the injured shoulder out again yesterday prior to him dislocating his kneecap !!!

In my opinion a couple of weeks in cotton wool is now required to ensure we have him for the second half of the season.

MalceskiFan
19 May 2008, 16:11
It hurts a lot.

It's absolutely horrific pain while the kneecap is out of place. Once you smash it back in you are generally in shock for some time but the following days and weeks the pain isn't that bad unless you are putting a lot of pressure on the knee (which you shouldn't be).

rancidpants13
19 May 2008, 16:55
It's absolutely horrific pain while the kneecap is out of place. Once you smash it back in you are generally in shock for some time but the following days and weeks the pain isn't that bad unless you are putting a lot of pressure on the knee (which you shouldn't be).

report this afternoon from swans says kennelly will miss this week v port but at this stage the club is confident that's all he'll miss
which is pretty encouraging news

natlovestheswans
19 May 2008, 16:58
Just aslong as he isn't rushed back.

Syd
19 May 2008, 17:41
report this afternoon from swans says kennelly will miss this week v port but at this stage the club is confident that's all he'll miss
which is pretty encouraging news

My Irish eyes are now smiling. :)

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23722711-19742,00.html

ssfc0203
19 May 2008, 20:28
I thought he'd be out for a month-ish. Only one thing to do now;

*deep breath*

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

dezzy94
19 May 2008, 21:13
I thought he'd be out for a month-ish. Only one thing to do now;

*deep breath*

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

i was expecting the same but very good news its only a week

EatBig Australia
20 May 2008, 13:07
A big issue with this type of injury is pain management as well. It hurts a lot.

He looked to be in heaps of pain just after it happened. The commentators said that he was vomiting because it was so bad just after he came off.

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 13:21
He looked to be in heaps of pain just after it happened. The commentators said that he was vomiting because it was so bad just after he came off.

He was holding back tears i swear if there were no cameras he would have cried

great news though hes one fit irish man and so agile like the Tiger he is

No1SwansFan
20 May 2008, 19:17
I just heard on 10 news that after it happened he had considered running he to ireland and giving up AFL all together......im guessing he was in heaps of pain.

swansfan51
23 May 2008, 18:56
Trust me, it really isn't a lot of fun. I have a very similar body type to Tadgh - very flexible - and have dislocated both kneecaps in the past. Probably the most painful thing that has ever happened in my life and I've copped a few knocks.

Unfortunately there isn't a lot he can do to prevent it happening, you can strengthen the muscles around the knee but the joint is naturally loose in some people so it could well happen again. There is major surgery you can get but there is a very long recovery period and it would rule him out for the season. In terms of recovery the main issue is trauma to the area and confidence - it sometimes takes a while to regain confidence in your knee and run and turn at full pace. Because he's had the injury before that would have helped him return earlier.

Hope that helps a bit:)

Sanecow
23 May 2008, 19:28
He should just have the kneecaps cut off, Chick style.

snappy
23 May 2008, 20:30
man i hope we dont rush him back like last year, that sucked..
Honestly if we beat Port, our next 2 games we could probably get by without him if need be.

CAS79
23 May 2008, 20:42
Honestly if we beat Port, our next 2 games we could probably get by without him if need be.

I concur Snappy. Obviously we want him back playing as soon as he can but we don't him getting hurt and missing games or going in half baked. If it takes a few weeks to get it right than the club and we supporters should just have to learn to live with that.

ssfc0203
23 May 2008, 20:55
Yup. Richmond and Eagles after Port, and we should win them, but when we piss ourselves in front of goal, anything can happen.*

*I'll happily retract this statement if we're relative dead-eye dicks tomorrow.

is2SWaNz
23 May 2008, 21:00
Yup. Richmond and Eagles after Port, and we should win them, but when we piss ourselves in front of goal, anything can happen.*

*I'll happily retract this statement if we're relative dead-eye dicks tomorrow.

Chances of that happening... very low.

Can we ever recover from the yips?!