View Full Version : Round 9 v Port: Pre-Match Discussion
grimlock
19 May 2008, 11:25
Kennelly almost certain to miss, who is to come in?
Of the 3 emergencies, only Brennan played in the reserves and had a pretty ordinary game IMHO. Barlow would most likely come in but I'm not sure why he missed yesterday.
For Port, reports are that the Chad will return this week.
Hooley McBoob
19 May 2008, 12:25
Brennan sucks, if he comes back in I will be filthy. Barlow for sure (I hope!)
Has it been a month yet, when is Davis back? :p
Sanecow
19 May 2008, 12:55
Leo Barry to start on Tredrea. Tredrea will kick 7 but Roos will maintain full confidence in Leo's ability to shut him down.
Bolton has to go on Tredrea and LRT has to mark Westhoff.
grimlock
19 May 2008, 13:00
Yeah, so Ebert or Motlop to kick 7 on Leo.
Forzaport
19 May 2008, 13:10
With Hall and Kenelly out, we might actually have a chance against you guys...
As for our side, Chad, Wilson and Matt Thomas, are all a chance of returning this week. As it stands, all are probably a 50% chance. We may be fielding our strongest side of the year.
EDIT: At least Kane won't be trying to tag kennelly out of the game this time. It had sweet FA impact last time.
:confused:
Leo kept Ebert almost kickless when we played Port a few weeks back. Admittedly Ebert's form hasn't been great since so it might not have been entirely Leo's efforts but he (Leo) was close to BOG that game.
And Ted played on Tredrea for most of the last game.
ssfc0203
19 May 2008, 15:22
With Hall and Kenelly out, we might actually have a chance against you guys...
As for our side, Chad, Wilson and Matt Thomas, are all a chance of returning this week. As it stands, all are probably a 50% chance. We may be fielding our strongest side of the year.
EDIT: At least Kane won't be trying to tag kennelly out of the game this time. It had sweet FA impact last time.
Kane did tag him out of it last time.
IN (from): Barlow, Smith or White (I really want to see more of both), but Fosdike may come into contention .. didn't really focus on him at the reserves game except for the fact that he's gotten a huge tatt. Do we go for height or not ?
OUT: Kennelly (injured)
IN (from): Barlow, Smith or White (I really want to see more of both), but Fosdike may come into contention .. didn't really focus on him at the reserves game except for the fact that he's gotten a huge tatt. Do we go for height or not ?
OUT: Kennelly (injured)
Id like to see Barlow come in for Kennelly but if Fosdike is fit then i expect Paul Roos will put him in the team.
Forzaport
19 May 2008, 15:33
And what impact did it have on the game? Sweet FA. You still pumped us by 10 goals.
ssfc0203
19 May 2008, 15:35
Id like to see Barlow come in for Kennelly but if Fosdike is fit then i expect Paul Roos will put him in the team.
He looked pretty fit, ran around pretty much all day.
Strategically, we need to curb Port's best assets, but I can't put my finger on one. The Cornes ?
And what impact did it have on the game? Sweet FA. You still pumped us by 10 goals.
The thing is the Swans are weaker than we were in Round 2 and Port Adelaide are stronger. I think it will be close as we have to remember that
- The Swans have some injuries to key players
- Port Adelaide have key players coming back into the team
- The Swans will be playing at AAMI Stadium and not the SCG
Make no mistake. It will be alot closer than it was in Round 2.
4TH GEN SWAN
19 May 2008, 15:53
He looked pretty fit, ran around pretty much all day.
Strategically, we need to curb Port's best assets, but I can't put my finger on one. The Cornes ?
Burgoynes X2. Stop them or limit their impact and we go along way to winning the game.....
See if they are prepared to go one on one the Goodes Train.....:eek:
Forzaport
19 May 2008, 15:54
The thing is the Swans are weaker than we were in Round 2 and Port Adelaide are stronger. I think it will be close as we have to remember that
- The Swans have some injuries to key players
- Port Adelaide have key players coming back into the team
- The Swans will be playing at AAMI Stadium and not the SCG
The swans certainley are weaker. And hopefully this time round, choco can find a better match up for kane than kenelly.
AAMI stadium should help us a lot and our players should be bloody desperate for a win.
I am hoping for a much closer game.
Sanecow
19 May 2008, 18:34
Round 2 and round 9 ... WTF is up with that?!?
smasher
19 May 2008, 18:35
I think this game will be won in the midfield and I am concerned over the quantity of quality players PA have there.We will have to compete with the Burguone bros,possibly the Cornes',Selapek who IMO is very underrated,Roden and the list goes on.These guys are extremely quick and we will need to think very carefully at the selection table this week.
rancidpants13
19 May 2008, 18:37
Burgoynes X2. Stop them or limit their impact and we go along way to winning the game.....
See if they are prepared to go one on one the Goodes Train.....:eek:
s burgoyne been given a three-game suspension for an incident against hawthorn that ended in sam mitchell unconscious
maybe the chad will be back but losing s burgoyne is a big result for us
also, i'll guarantee daniel motlop will do almost nothing, he'll be tagged by someone like bevan or jack, and will hardly be sighted
enormous talent, but one of the biggest pea-hearts in the game, just does not like a physical match-up or anything remotely resembling pressure
i'd be far more worried about ebert or someone like d pearce finding form
TheMase
19 May 2008, 18:51
I am quietly confident about this game.
We match up well on Port, with or without Hall / Kennelly.
(Playfair has filled a much needed hole in our attack)
Power King
19 May 2008, 19:08
s burgoyne - 3 match suspension
____ the afl
ssfc0203
19 May 2008, 20:16
s burgoyne - 3 match suspension
____ the afl
Ow - huge hit for you guys. But we have Kennelly and Hall down with Malch just back from rehab.
Still have Helicopter, though. I shudder to think what we would've had to put up with without him.
logic would suggest Barlow for Kennelly but as has ben pointed out we don't know why he missed the seconds match.
If that fails It looks like the options will be Fosdike, for a smaller running role, Brennan to go for the height he offers or Smith, they tried to use him a bit with run off half back against the Cats, possibly time to try again with a team that does not put as much pressure on at that point of the ground.
is2SWaNz
20 May 2008, 11:48
Anyone feeling confident? I'm not - which is a good sign.
SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 11:50
i was nervous last game against them and more nervous now
we need this one
MalceskiFan
20 May 2008, 11:54
I reckon we might just pay for that flogging we gave them earlier in the season. They will be fired up this time around and based on the weekends games they are in better form than we are.
i haven't been living in oz for the past few years. What has happened to the fixture that sees us play a side twice before we've played other sides once. We did play port at the scg in round 2, didn't we? or did i imagine the belting we gave them? :confused:
This is bloody stupid. Means teams will play melbourne twice before we get to play them once. Have i got this right? seriously cannot believe this, someone tell me to stop smoking weed. :D
i haven't been living in oz for the past few years. What has happened to the fixture that sees us play a side twice before we've played other sides once. We did play port at the scg in round 2, didn't we? or did i imagine the belting we gave them? :confused:
This is bloody stupid. Means teams will play melbourne twice before we get to play them once. Have i got this right? seriously cannot believe this, someone tell me to stop smoking weed. :D
No you havent taken leave of your senses. The Swans play both Port Adelaide and West Coast twice in the first 11 Rounds.
seems silly, i don't know why they have changed it to this.
Skystyler
20 May 2008, 17:00
Port will start favourites, and deservedly so. They led Hawthorn for most of the game on the weekend. Motlop is in outstanding form. Tredrea is playing well. Both Burgoynes can rip you to shreds if you give them too much leeway.
The swans will have to kick straight if they are to win this game. Our goalkicking at Football Park is usually poor. Come to think of it, its usually poor everywhere.
Dunkley
20 May 2008, 18:50
Not overly confidant. Would like to see a parasite like Motlop play on C Bolton but dont think it will happen. Dont think Port can talk to much about Hawthorns Mark Williams, Treadre and Chad Cornes carry on like gooses when they kick a goal
themightybloods
20 May 2008, 19:24
logic would suggest Barlow for Kennelly but as has ben pointed out we don't know why he missed the seconds match.
If that fails It looks like the options will be Fosdike, for a smaller running role, Brennan to go for the height he offers or Smith, they tried to use him a bit with run off half back against the Cats, possibly time to try again with a team that does not put as much pressure on at that point of the ground.
looks like he was injured
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23730195-23211,00.html
looks like he was injured
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23730195-23211,00.html
SYDNEY
Heath Grundy (foot) - test
Ed Barlow (hamstring) - test
Tadhg Kennelly (knee) - 1-2 weeks
Pat Veszpremi (groin) - 1-2 weeks
Matthew Laidlaw (hamstring) - 2 weeks
Brett Meredith (shoulder) - 2-3 weeks
Barry Hall (wrist) - 3 weeks
Daniel O'Keefe (groin) - indefinite
Kristin Thornton (knee) - season
That doesnt look good.
SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 20:01
Daniel O'Keefe (groin) - indefinite
What does indefinite mean does that mean dont know when a return would be
Awww i really wanted 2 see more of DOK reminds me so much of snides would have been great in our mid
Probably means he has OP - or looks like developing it. Means that he just needs to rest it and they can't tell how long it might take.
News not so good on Vez either. His groin was listed as "1 week" this time last week.
So far the outs from round two are:
Sydney Out: Grundy, Tiger, Hall, Barlow
Sydney In: Mal, Everitt, Playfair with at least 1 more to be added
Those seem to be pretty fair additions to me. Also Goodes, Amon and LRT are playing much better footy than they were in the early rounds. So I'm confident about our chances for this game.
Something which might make a difference for us is the Jolly Spida. Last time we played Port we were making do with LRT in the centre. And in the first 6 rounds with this makeshift ruck we averaged 32.5 centre clearances a game.
In the last 2 rounds with Jolly Spida in the middle we've averaged 42.5 centre clearances. And I believe having 2 ruckman is part of that improvement.
It all got lost in the wash, but our duo absolutely spanked Hille and Laycock. And Hille was probably the form ruckman of the comp in the first month this year. Not only is Jolly in career best form, but Spida came out of his shell after a scratchy first game for us and ended up with 26 HO and really gave us something around the ground. This will all be handy against Lade and Brogan.
rancidpants13
20 May 2008, 21:45
Those seem to be pretty fair additions to me. Also Goodes, Amon and LRT are playing much better footy than they were in the early rounds. So I'm confident about our chances for this game.
Something which might make a difference for us is the Jolly Spida. Last time we played Port we were making do with LRT in the centre. And in the first 6 rounds with this makeshift ruck we averaged 32.5 centre clearances a game.
In the last 2 rounds with Jolly Spida in the middle we've averaged 42.5 centre clearances. And I believe having 2 ruckman is part of that improvement.
It all got lost in the wash, but our duo absolutely spanked Hille and Laycock. And Hille was probably the form ruckman of the comp in the first month this year. Not only is Jolly in career best form, but Spida came out of his shell after a scratchy first game for us and ended up with 26 HO and really gave us something around the ground. This will all be handy against Lade and Brogan.
the ruck is a crucial improvement on the earlier game
jolly's at a career peak and spida is getting fitter
and the trio of moore, jack and bird are all playing better, and have learned and toughened up heaps
i reckon barlow will come back for kennelly, not sure if there'll be any others, can't think who
MalceskiFan
20 May 2008, 22:53
In-definite means that he's "definitely in" this week :thumbsu:
Good news eh Soph?
SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 22:57
Good news eh Soph?
Im confused :confused:
Thats not right lol
MalceskiFan
20 May 2008, 23:01
Im confused :confused:
Thats not right lol
I'm just bein a jerk. lol
It just means as you said, that it's not certain which generally means at least a month or two.
SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 23:05
I'm just bein a jerk. lol
It just means as you said, that it's not certain which generally means at least a month or two.
meanie lol
i knew i was right
ssfc0203
20 May 2008, 23:35
Good news eh Soph?
lolol.
as lame as that was, i still laughed.
grimlock
20 May 2008, 23:47
Vesz has the Stephen Doyle syndrome. His weeks on the injury list go up, not down :(
western swan
21 May 2008, 00:01
btw thought id add, the game v port = RYAN OKEEFES 150 :thumbsu:
YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY
LOVE LOTS :D
btw thought id add, the game v port = RYAN OKEEFES 150 :thumbsu:
YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY
LOVE LOTS :D
It is also Goodes' 200th consecutive game.
adelaidepower
21 May 2008, 15:16
i think port will win by 80 points
ssfc0203
21 May 2008, 16:16
It is also Goodes' 200th consecutive game.
What?
I thought his 200th would be the Richmond game @ the SCG.
EDIT: Damn =/
Hmm. It seems like every game we get a troll who has no idea how hard we make it to score. you should be happy if you even score 80pts against us, mate. :rolleyes:
EatBig Australia
21 May 2008, 16:58
Would mean a 140 point turnaround from round 2... I don't think you guys have improved that much.
Sanecow
21 May 2008, 17:39
Highly unlikely. Thanks for you input though.
Adelaidepower. Bigfooty Newbie. Port to win by 80 points. I smell a Crows troll.
ssfc0203
21 May 2008, 18:27
Adelaidepower. Bigfooty Newbie. Port to win by 80 points. I smell a Crows troll.
Lol, probably.
Big milestone game for us this week, so I won't be too surprised to see Kirkie pumping the boys up like he did for MickyO last year .. well, more than normally, at least :)
DeadlyAkkuret
21 May 2008, 18:45
Care to put a hundred on that? I need some easy money.
TripleB
21 May 2008, 18:59
:D:D @ Tuco
As Tuco said, you'll be doing well to score 80 points, let alone win by 80.
And that's not a slur on Port, it's just a fact, in case you hadn't noticed, teams don't score heavily against Sydney.
Theprofessional
21 May 2008, 19:22
I don't think LRT is very good, and he hasn't been good all year. Hasn't got any better in my eyes.
Sanecow
21 May 2008, 19:31
teams don't score heavily against Sydney.
1999 was the last time we lost by 80 or more.
Maybe we're due for a belting. :p
ssfc0203
21 May 2008, 19:38
I don't think LRT is very good, and he hasn't been good all year. Hasn't got any better in my eyes.
He hasn't gotten a full 8 rounds like others to work on his game and settle in. LRT is a star, he just takes a while to settle in and get into the game.
Here you go - and by the way, you are being ridiculous...:p
is2SWaNz
21 May 2008, 20:46
So far, I agree. But I'm willing to give him more time and see how he goes.
is2SWaNz
21 May 2008, 20:46
Here you go - and by the way, you are being ridiculous...:p
The only ridiculous one here is adelaidepower.
Hope you belt them..........:thumbsu:
Our lacklustre season last year had a lot to do with LRT's absence. And I'm not sure many have paid that enough credence. Our structure is much better with him in it.
He's doing his job. And he is playing in the defence where he should be which is an improvement in itself. We don't have many players on our list that can do the sort of jobs he does for us week in week out. And he's tough as a coffin nail as that return from the bench after being knocked out last week showed. Personally I'm very happy to see him back in the side as a regular. And the longer he's there the better he'll get.
MalceskiFan
21 May 2008, 21:24
Our lacklustre season last year had a lot to do with LRT's absence. And I'm not sure many have paid that enough credence. Our structure is much better with him in it.
He's doing his job. And he is playing in the defence where he should be which is an improvement in itself. We don't have many players on our list that can do the sort of jobs he does for us week in week out. And he's tough as a coffin nail as that return from the bench after being knocked out last week showed. Personally I'm very happy to see him back in the side as a regular. And the longer he's there the better he'll get.
Exactly right Tuco.
In fact I think we can attribute Leo's resurgence this season to LRT's inclusion in the backline. Let's also not forget that LRT missed a lot of footy last season at a stage where he is still not only developing his skills and physical attributes but also still learning the game of Aussie rules, being a late starter.
He'll only get better from here on in as he gains both fitness and confidence. I still have a lot of faith in him.
rancidpants13
22 May 2008, 18:32
LRT is doing exactly what we need him to do, and still has so much improvement
he is not going to rack up stats or be a jarrod waite-type CHB, and who'd want him to be a flashy athlete type who goes missing against the more physical forwards?
but the best gauge, as far as i'm concerned, is the form of leo, ted and bolton, c since LRT has been back in the side
teddy is surely in career-best form, there's something quite imposing about the way he's playing at the moment, he's taken a step up
and as i said in votes on last week's game, leo's playing better this season than he has since 05, and is running the ball with so much more confidence
i reckon this has heaps to do with the having LRT at the heart of the defence
rancidpants13
22 May 2008, 18:34
Brennan sucks, if he comes back in I will be filthy. Barlow for sure (I hope!)
Has it been a month yet, when is Davis back? :p
i wouldn't be sweating on davo being rushed back
with playfair improving, micky o finding some form, and the likes of moore, buchanan, mcveigh et al, and with baz back in 3 weeks, how would we squeeze davis back in?
ssfc0203
22 May 2008, 19:02
i wouldn't be sweating on davo being rushed back
with playfair improving, micky o finding some form, and the likes of moore, buchanan, mcveigh et al, and with baz back in 3 weeks, how would we squeeze davis back in?
If he plays well enough, there'll be a spot for him in the team.
Mr Magoo
22 May 2008, 19:09
Hmm. It seems like every game we get a troll who has no idea how hard we make it to score. you should be happy if you even score 80pts against us, mate. :rolleyes:
If Port can break the 100 point barrier then we'll win if you go by previous games. Saying that though we have only ever kicked 100 points or more against you guys around about 5 times in 16 games :eek: so it's not looking good. But in the games we kicked over 100 points we won all but one of them
Care to put a hundred on that? I need some easy money.
Nah the TAb usually gets my money :D
Sanecow
23 May 2008, 12:06
The current TAB prices are:
Port Adelaide 1.50
Sydney 2.50
(http://www.tab.com.au/Sports/Betting/PlaceFixedOddsBet.aspx?State=1&ContestDate=2008-05-24T00:00:00&Competition=102&BetOption=FAFR9PTSYHH&ContestCode=57286&LocationCode=0&MeetingType=1)
:confused: I would rate it a much closer game than that? Am I being one eyed? It's not like we haven't beaten Port in Adelaide or haven't won without Hall.
grimlock
23 May 2008, 12:26
More to do with Port's form than ours. Won 3 of their 4 and gave the unbeaten Hawks a run for their money.
xxscubaxx
23 May 2008, 12:31
i dont see why swans fans on here make so many excuses for LRT. hes learning the game.. hes been injured.. he contributes alot more than people realise blah blah blah.
hes played 82 senior games and has been playing since 14yro, enough time to learn the game.
hes constantly injured which makes me think he may not be physically rugged enough for AFL footy and he hasnt played a good game in over 2 years. face it he is only in the team because of his height. and height alone does not make a good KPP.
Forzaport
23 May 2008, 12:42
The current TAB prices are:
Port Adelaide 1.50
Sydney 2.50
(http://www.tab.com.au/Sports/Betting/PlaceFixedOddsBet.aspx?State=1&ContestDate=2008-05-24T00:00:00&Competition=102&BetOption=FAFR9PTSYHH&ContestCode=57286&LocationCode=0&MeetingType=1)
:confused: I would rate it a much closer game than that? Am I being one eyed? It's not like we haven't beaten Port in Adelaide or haven't won without Hall.
Yeah, i'd have to agree. I'm expecting a very close game.
natlovestheswans
23 May 2008, 12:43
i dont see why swans fans on here make so many excuses for LRT. hes learning the game.. hes been injured.. he contributes alot more than people realise blah blah blah.
hes played 82 senior games and has been playing since 14yro, enough time to learn the game.
hes constantly injured which makes me think he may not be physically rugged enough for AFL footy and he hasnt played a good game in over 2 years. face it he is only in the team because of his height. and height alone does not make a good KPP.
So, we drop him and send him back to the ressies.. then who does the job? LRT adds alot to our structure.. yes, because he is tall. If someone better comes along then yeah, drop LRT.. but right now we don't have that option. LRT is better then having no one..
The thing about he is always injured though? Since when.. he had 1 injury? It lasted from round 20 of 2006 till about mid 2007. I can't remember him getting injured before that much?
EatBig Australia
23 May 2008, 12:54
Constantly injured? Care to back that up? He had one long term injury but that's it as far as I can remember.
What do you expect of LRT? He is not a dashing, run off half back type so he is not going to get much recognition from people who don't fully undertsand the game. LRT is given a role each week and for mine is doing a good job and I believe by the end of the year will be doing a very good job.
He is not having bags of goals kicked on him and has been spoiling well when required.
LRT is a vital link. Watch him CLOSELY over the next few weeks. Rate him on the role that he does - not on stats and run and I think you will see that he is more valuable than alot of people realise
Sanecow
23 May 2008, 14:48
OK, McInerney is umpiring. :( Probably explains the odds. :rolleyes:
Hasn't played a good game in two years? He's only played 10 games since the Grand final in 2006. And in 2006 before he was injured in the last third of the season (and he played on with those injuries without missing a game BTW) he was racking up pb's and career best totals all over the shop. In one patch there he beat Brown and Richardson in consecutive weeks.
You're right that height alone doesn't make a good KPP. But he also has strength, an effective spoil, and can take a mark. Plus I'm yet to see a heavy hit take him out of a game, and he's copped plenty of them.
rancidpants13
23 May 2008, 17:35
Hasn't played a good game in two years? He's only played 10 games since the Grand final in 2006. And in 2006 before he was injured in the last third of the season (and he played on with those injuries without missing a game BTW) he was racking up pb's and career best totals all over the shop. In one patch there he beat Brown and Richardson in consecutive weeks.
You're right that height alone doesn't make a good KPP. But he also has strength, an effective spoil, and can take a mark. Plus I'm yet to see a heavy hit take him out of a game, and he's copped plenty of them.
and LRT was also one of our best 3-4 (okay, that's not saying much) against c'wood in the finals loss, after having fck-all preparation and coming off a season-long injury
natlovestheswans
23 May 2008, 17:44
Also, out of those 10 games since the 06 GF he has had to play out of position in alteast half of them, so that itself is a great effort.
and LRT was also one of our best 3-4 (okay, that's not saying much) against c'wood in the finals loss, after having fck-all preparation and coming off a season-long injury
Wasn't Goodes our best 4 players in that game? :D
placed $50 on us to win 1-19 at 4.50 and $50 for 20-39 at 6.00. I must say i'm suprised by the odd discrepancy on our game.
Sanecow
23 May 2008, 18:39
Here's hoping we don't smash them by 40+ then :)
rancidpants13
23 May 2008, 18:47
Wasn't Goodes our best 4 players in that game? :D
he was three of them, LRT was the other one
samwise
23 May 2008, 18:54
really dono who to tip in this game.
can any swans supporters gimme reasons why i should tip them?
thrashed em last time but:
kennely out
hall out
chornes under the radar
port's home game
must win game for them
goodesy37
23 May 2008, 18:59
i reckon shaun burgoyne being out is a big out for port. im fairly confident that we should get the win if we play like last week however kicking was still inaccurate as we had 17 behinds! the same number of scoring shots that the bombers had. btw why does someone always have to be injured, i just wanna see the run out of our backline with malceski, kenelly, leo and mattner all playing. i reckon with all our players in form we are maybe even the best backline in the comp. anyone agree?
swansfan51
23 May 2008, 19:01
i reckon with all our players in form we are maybe even the best backline in the comp. anyone agree?
I think we have the best counter-attacking backline in the competition but it needs more key position grunt to actually snuff out opposition forwards.
really dono who to tip in this game.
can any swans supporters gimme reasons why i should tip them?
thrashed em last time but:
kennely out
hall out
chornes under the radar
port's home game
must win game for them
- Everitt in
- Malceski in
- Our young players (Jack, Bird, Moore) are all playing alot better
- O'Loughlin is in great form
- Goodes is playing alot better than he was in Round 2
rancidpants13
23 May 2008, 19:05
something to keep an eye on ... on the port board, there's some concern that chad cornes was going to struggle to get through their training session at midday today, and posters are asking questions about him
on top of burgoyne's suspension and the general sense of port being under pressure, and even coach williams copping some flak from within, losing the chad would be a real blow
rancidpants13
23 May 2008, 19:06
I think we have the best counter-attacking backline in the competition but it needs more key position grunt to actually snuff out opposition forwards.
so did you rethink your post and take out the shot at LRT???
or are you preparing a more detailed slag?
swansfan51
23 May 2008, 19:08
so did you rethink your post and take out the shot at LRT???
Yes:)
goodesy37
23 May 2008, 19:11
LRT is actually not too bad, makes a few mistakes here and there but plays solidly most of the time. my problem in the backline is leo. he has improved a bit in recent weeks but hes usually always 5 metres behind his opponent. eg nathan thompson earlier this year.
rancidpants13
23 May 2008, 19:25
Yes:)
fair enough
he's my adopted swan
i have a massive opinion of him, and am always prepared to look beyond the raw stats
i'm very sensitive about him (but not in a "fairy godfather" way)
is2SWaNz
23 May 2008, 19:28
I think the Crows would have a say in that (re McLeod). I think their backline is pretty solid; sitting on 128%.
However, our backline is good enough to hold the opposition. Richards has improved heaps, loved his work on Reiwoldt earlier in the season, and our hardworking C.Bolton keeping the big names quiet. Inclusions of Mattner and Malceski, sounds pretty good to me. Thankgod for that decision to trade our trade pick for Mattner.
is2SWaNz
23 May 2008, 21:02
Grabbed these stats off from RWO;
1997 Round 11 against Port 10.16
2003 Round 13 against Port 8.13
2004 Round 12 against Port 8.12
2005 Round 18 against Adelaide 6.11
2006 Round 17 against Port 10.17
2007 Round 4 against Adelaide 5.14 :mad: :mad: <-- Memories of that game just made me mad. :mad:
Our goal kicking has been woeful. If we lose the game due to our poor accuracy for goal, I'm going to kill something!!!
Costanza_
24 May 2008, 09:39
If we lose the game due to our poor accuracy for goal, I'm going to kill something!!!
I'll PM you Jude's address. Make it quick and clean though.
Gearing up. Provided we continue with the midfield pressure we applied last time and kick relatively accurately and our backs do the job they have been doing I think we will overcome Port again. What we do have to be wary of them is their string of possessions together through the midfield, and were our taggers must come into the game to break to Power chain. Kennelly is a huge miss but Mattner and hopefully Malceski can generate our counter attacking game which done well is a weakness were we can exploit the power.
is2SWaNz
24 May 2008, 13:29
I'll PM you Jude's address. Make it quick and clean though.
:D:thumbsu:
ssfc0203
24 May 2008, 13:55
If it was me, I wouldn't be promising anything Margaret. You know how we can get carried away :cool:
Sanecow
24 May 2008, 18:05
Two to go.
grimlock
24 May 2008, 18:13
I hate being right :(
Sanecow
24 May 2008, 18:17
you can think it but you shouldn't say it :p
grimlock
24 May 2008, 18:59
you can think it but you shouldn't say it :p
That's good, I won't say what I thought of Leo today. Or the coaches for leaving him on Ebert.