View Full Version : Do Your/Will Your children barrack for Richmond?
scarecrow2k1
20 May 2008, 00:18
I often wonder that whether I have kids, will I try to convince them to barrack for Richmond.
On one hand, I couldn't stand it if they barracked for anyone else. On the other hand, the amount of suffering being a Richmond supporter has caused me makes me think I should be less selfish and not try so hard to have them barrack for Richmond.
However, I guess the thing that tips the scales is that no matter how much pain and suffering I've had being a Richmond supporter, I wouldn't trade it for the world. Its been a Rollercoaster and seeing the first flag in my life time will be amazing.
Thoughts?
Top4_Tiger
20 May 2008, 00:21
You stupid?
Of course they've gotta support Richmond!
We've been poor for the past 25 years, and things will even out over time just as Essendon has played finals like 95% of the time since 1980 and now they've taken our torch.
scarecrow2k1
20 May 2008, 00:42
You stupid?
Of course they've gotta support Richmond!
We've been poor for the past 25 years, and things will even out over time just as Essendon has played finals like 95% of the time since 1980 and now they've taken our torch.
Haha I think the bombers have a while to go before they've taken our torch
Brooksy88
20 May 2008, 00:42
It depends really - Do they want to live in my house?
sprockets
20 May 2008, 00:43
I don't have kids and won't be having any but I always do my best to get other people's kids to barrack for the Tigers. I've had pretty good success over the years.
As with everything else, money talks, even to kids.:thumbsu:
tucker777
20 May 2008, 00:51
I'm only fresh out of high school and ive only seen the tigers stumble from one low to another. I get a massive buzz when i hear the older tiger supporters talking about the glory days and the great players. For me I see myself in the best position as a tigers supporter cos its all uphill, ive lived through and only seen rock bottom and now i get to see the tiger revival.
All children of tigers fans should be tigers fans. I mean maybe we should have a "succession" like pies fans do instead of this "choosing" richmond ie. your born a pies fan COS WHO WOULD ACTUALLY CHOOSE TO BECOME ONE??
Any kids i have will have the "rock bottom era" i lived through instilled in them cos when i have these kids (god forbid it be in the forseeable future) they will only live through TIGER SUCCESS.
scarecrow2k1
20 May 2008, 00:57
Yeah I think we do have a sucession thing, all the passionate sides do. Why else are there sitll heaps of young tiger fans. If you ask most my age, early 20s, they barrack for richmond cos their dad did
Richmond FC
20 May 2008, 00:57
I have a little brother and he teases that he wouldnt go for Richmond so i bought him a richmond footy and he is convinced thats the way its gotta be. He calls himself Richo and tells others they are Foley etc..
Will be playing AFL i will make it happen.
On a similar note how many of you have partners who barrack for the Tiges? Only asking cause it just occured to me I have a fairly good success rate amongst Essendon fans.
Brooksy88
20 May 2008, 02:08
On a similar note how many of you have partners who barrack for the Tiges? Only asking cause it just occured to me I have a fairly good success rate amongst Essendon fans.
Bought my bulldog barrracking girlfriend a membership this year and she has attended most games thus far, even coming to sydney with me next week! she's starting to get right into it. :thumbsu::D
YellowandBlackBlood
20 May 2008, 08:18
With the colour of my blood they have no choice!
Tazzytiger
20 May 2008, 10:10
My youngest boy has always gone for the tigers. Recently he has looked at other teams and asked if he could go for them, so I went out and bought him a tigers pencil case and all seems o.k. at the moment. The kids definately pick up on the winning and losing bit and tease each other. I have fibbed to my boy a bit and told him the tiges win a lot more than they do. I am hoping the team will start to keep him interested and I can see that on the horizon but the kids change their mind quickly. Oh well, Go The Tigers! p.s. I think it's only Richo keeping him in atm.
lookkg386
20 May 2008, 10:35
I just hope I don't put my 2 year old son through the 32 years my father has done to me.
Mr Relax
20 May 2008, 10:38
My wife and her family are Carlscum and they asked what if my kids become blues supporters, I say I'll try my best to make them tigers but if they choose another team they'll only ever see them play once or twice a year, against the tigers. They'll soon change.
bigpapagman
20 May 2008, 10:39
they would ****ing want to.
Top4_Tiger
20 May 2008, 10:42
My wife and her family are Carlscum and they asked what if my kids become blues supporters, I say I'll try my best to make them tigers but if they choose another team they'll only ever see them play once or twice a year, against the tigers. They'll soon change.
Of course it's assumed that they only get their bread and water whenever they put their hands through the bars you put up and say "go tiges.." ?
I'd hold back on the water a day before Richmond games as well, give it to them as soon as the siren goes to condition them into needing to support Richmond :thumbsu:
Bifrost
20 May 2008, 10:45
I'm two ways about it.
On the one hand, I'd love them to barrack for Richmond, but I don't want to be the one who dictates who they barrack for - I want them to make their own decision. My father (an Essendon supporter) tried to get each of his kids to barrack for a different team - he didn't care which one (though he was desperately hoping it wouldn't be Collingwood) and each one of us has a different team (and no skunks).
My guess is that no matter what I do, they'll start barracking for the local club (the Swans or even the new West Sydney Bogans when they get going)...but I'm still going to take them along to as many Tigers games as I can and I ALWAYS watch the Tigers matches on the tube.
Oh and I do already have one kid who attended his first match last weekend (Sydney/Essendon) at the ripe-old age of 8 months.
Bojangles17
20 May 2008, 11:02
Oh and I do already have one kid who attended his first match last weekend (Sydney/Essendon) at the ripe-old age of 8 months.
he's a veteran now Bil, make him the mascot for the tiges game in a fortnight
:thumbsu:
Haggard H
20 May 2008, 11:15
My wife's an Essendon supporter, but not super keen. I told her when the kids (two daughters) were born that she could name them, pick their clothes, what school they went to, etc - basically have total control of their lives as long as they were Richmond supporters.
It's going to give us something in common, to talk about, games to go to, time to spend together, for the rest of our lives.
It's an investment in your relationship and emotional health.
And the pain? It's character building. Have you ever met a Hawthorn supporter with any personality?
I follow the Tigers becasue my dad did. I am 23 with a little 9 month old who WILL be following the tigers if all goes well. He already has a little Richmond football that we take with us for him to play with. (He loves it but im not sure if that is taking it to far)
Big problem for me is i live in Brisbane, and my mum (his nanna, who he sees alot) is a Brisbane fan. :thumbsd:
Hopefully it all turns out ok, and with the success of the tigers coming it wont be so hard to follow the tigers in the Brisbane Heartland:thumbsu:
GO THE TIGERS!!!!!
Cleishy
20 May 2008, 11:30
I have 2 kids who are both Richmond members. Daughter doesn't have like footy a lot as I turn her cartoons off to watch the footy.
My 2 year old son is a thrid year member who teases me with Go Bombers all the time. He has stopped this recently after teaching him the Richoman song.
My Dad barracks for Collingwood but luckily my Uncles and Pa got stuck into me and got me to barrack for the Tigers.
The way I see it, I have suffered the hard times so that now my kids will get to enjoy the glory years.
Punt Road Feral
20 May 2008, 11:42
My kids wont have a choice :cool:
Haggard H
20 May 2008, 12:10
I follow the Tigers becasue my dad did. I am 23 with a little 9 month old who WILL be following the tigers if all goes well. He already has a little Richmond football that we take with us for him to play with. (He loves it but im not sure if that is taking it to far)
Big problem for me is i live in Brisbane, and my mum (his nanna, who he sees alot) is a Brisbane fan. :thumbsd:
Hopefully it all turns out ok, and with the success of the tigers coming it wont be so hard to follow the tigers in the Brisbane Heartland:thumbsu:
GO THE TIGERS!!!!!
My mother-in-law is a Melbourne supporter who used to buy my eldest (9) a Dee's m/ship every year. One day, while dropping my next kid off for a 'Gran-day', I took in the mail from the letterbox and saw an MFC letter addressesd to my eldest.
It was a m/ship renewal form, with her m/ship number, so I went online and changed all her details so that all MFC mail/emails/phone calls would go somewhere else. Never been bothered by the Demons, or my mother in law, again.
My mother-in-law is a Melbourne supporter who used to buy my eldest (9) a Dee's m/ship every year. One day, while dropping my next kid off for a 'Gran-day', I took in the mail from the letterbox and saw an MFC letter addressesd to my eldest.
It was a m/ship renewal form, with her m/ship number, so I went back to the car and got my AK47 and blew the living crap out of her. Never been bothered by the Demons, or my mother in law, again.
What really happened. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
I have no kids, but if I did, and they tried to support another team, I'd think it's would be time for the 'Austrian option' ( without the incest ).
If Richmond lose, they get bread and water, if Richmond win, they get steak..they'll see the light soon enough.
I had a niece who supported Carlton ( her mother's fault )..I use 'had' because I've told her she's no longer my niece.
Haggard H
20 May 2008, 13:16
What really happened. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
In an ideal world.
Yes.
Dept of Social Services has been in touch several times.
CoggaRules
20 May 2008, 13:55
yep..both do, both wouldnt let me go to the footy without taking them and now both have better things to do, even though they are members. Its costing me a packet, they arent juniors anymore...dont know how long i can hold the fort for tigers....ffs get cracking..;)
diligaf
20 May 2008, 13:55
2 out of 3 ain't bad (especially in a two team town like Adelaide)! They get the crap stirred out of them at school, but haven't converted yet........fingers crossed!!!
emperor
20 May 2008, 14:04
yep..both do, both wouldnt let me go to the footy without taking them and now both have better things to do, even though they are members. Its costing me a packet, they arent juniors anymore...dont know how long i can hold the fort for tigers....ffs get cracking..;)
late teens i'm guessing cogga, i lost interest (somewhat) in footy around that age too despite still playing...they'll return to the fold:thumbsu:
incentives such as buying beer don't hurt either:D
if/when i have kids they life will be unbearable if they don't support the tiges, luckily there is no competition from relatives because most don't give two stuffs about football:o
CoggaRules
20 May 2008, 14:15
late teens i'm guessing cogga, i lost interest (somewhat) in footy around that age too despite still playing...they'll return to the fold:thumbsu:
incentives such as buying beer don't hurt either:D
if/when i have kids they life will be unbearable if they don't support the tiges, luckily there is no competition from relatives because most don't give two stuffs about football:o
give ya the tip, they are well passed late teens. And it started when they were mid teens. They havent dropped off them though, they still keep an eye on their fortunes. But they need a show, not a no show as the last decade has been. i.e. they are smart, not like us muppets that have put our livers to the biggest test for the last decade...
This is why i say that they need to get their act together or we will lose a geneartion. We were sucked in by the 70s and 80s going every week, so it becomes the norm. And we are in that groove, we want it back, they are not like us...they havent been sucked in because 1. we sucked and 2. they dont get sucked in to teams that suck. So they pick and choose their entertainment, because they want entertainment...and the longer we suck, the more they become bandwagoneres, because thats the nature of the beast when you dont know any better. ;)
Coughlan
20 May 2008, 14:46
If I have kids and they try to barrack for another team, they would be advised to look for a new father and house to live in.
They won't be getting any say in the matter
I don't have kids and won't be having any but I always do my best to get other people's kids to barrack for the Tigers. I've had pretty good success over the years.
As with everything else, money talks, even to kids.:thumbsu:
Its so easy to get young kids to barrack for the Tigers, because our mascot is a big tough animal. My mate is a mad Eagle fan (I live in WA), bought his 5 yo son an Eagles guernsey, which he threw into the corner. 'I go for the Tigers'. Excellent.
Brother lives in Vic, lifelong Cats fan, Premiers last year, and his 7yo daughter chooses the Tigers. Fantastic. Birthday presents are gonna be easy for those two. A bit of success & they might even stay on board :)
as soon as i have a kid they will signed up for richmond membership and they will never barrik for a diferent teem, the thing is you have to get the missis a suporter aswel
If i have kids,they can barrack for whoever the ____ they like.
Whatever makes them happy.
emperor
20 May 2008, 16:38
give ya the tip, they are well passed late teens. And it started when they were mid teens. They havent dropped off them though, they still keep an eye on their fortunes. But they need a show, not a no show as the last decade has been. i.e. they are smart, not like us muppets that have put our livers to the biggest test for the last decade...
This is why i say that they need to get their act together or we will lose a geneartion. We were sucked in by the 70s and 80s going every week, so it becomes the norm. And we are in that groove, we want it back, they are not like us...they havent been sucked in because 1. we sucked and 2. they dont get sucked in to teams that suck. So they pick and choose their entertainment, because they want entertainment...and the longer we suck, the more they become bandwagoneres, because thats the nature of the beast when you dont know any better. ;)
and you're still paying their membership!!:eek:
Re: the rest of the post, I agree with you Cogga, the younger generation do have a shorter attention span and decreasing loyalty (I know, I'm one of them! but still on the tiges lol)...nothing like a few good years and even a flag or two to build up some hardcore loyalty amongst the doubting Thomas's:thumbsu:
emperor
20 May 2008, 16:38
If i have kids,they can barrack for whoever the ____ they like.
Whatever makes them happy.
you just gotta try and convince them that supporting Richmond will make them happy:o:o
CoggaRules
20 May 2008, 16:44
and you're still paying their membership!!:eek:
Re: the rest of the post, I agree with you Cogga, the younger generation do have a shorter attention span and decreasing loyalty (I know, I'm one of them! but still on the tiges lol)...nothing like a few good years and even a flag or two to build up some hardcore loyalty amongst the doubting Thomas's:thumbsu:
well how would you sell it to them to part with the cash dude?
Yeah and i agree with the short attention span stuff....but the longer it goes, the shorter the attention span..until you end up with a fitzroy, with us being at the games, with our thermoses, saying in 2015....aahhhh, i remember back a million years ago when we were this that and the other...and those listening to us thinking you poor old buggers..and then we jump on board the Auckland Tigers or some kind of shit like that. If you know what i mean;)
Spielvogel
20 May 2008, 17:01
i'll disown em otherwise:o
capnblood
20 May 2008, 17:22
My first is on the way, just got back from 20 week ultrasound, we asked the sex, but to no avail (the little tacker wants it to be a surprise)
I got these little tiger booties from my sister in law a coupla weeks ago and they are just so damn cute....
Anyway because i haven't go the sex yet I figure i'll just have to get master/miss memberships for '08.
But i did tell the misses that if junior/ess comes home and tells us that they're a Magpie supprter or an umpire my names coming off the birth certificate.
Go Tig's:):thumbsu::D
Tiger67
20 May 2008, 18:21
My kids certainly do.
The option was to live in the gutter and eat snails.
They chose wisely and now have a bed to sleep in and food on the table:thumbsu:
dgtigers72
20 May 2008, 19:57
My 10 year old daughter took a long time to convince as she was born in QLD (she wanted to go for the Lions )
I bought her a Richmond Teddy bear a few years ago and now watches Tigers games with me. She is a barracker now and her favourite player is Richo and who can blame her.:thumbsu:
Also - She hates Collingwood,Carlton,Essendon and Hawthorn....... No influence from me of course;)
richoatthedisco
20 May 2008, 20:03
Only if they want to eat and have a roof over their heads.
tigers_of_old_08
20 May 2008, 20:07
It's in the blood. They'll have no choice, will they?
THE MAGNET
20 May 2008, 20:43
It depends really - Do they want to live in my house?
never a truer word spoken!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bojangles17
20 May 2008, 21:13
follow footy, barrack for RICHMOND, simple, anything less would be treason of the highest order, a thought I cannot fathom of my own flesh and blood, FFS, would be akin to aid and abetting a terrorist under my own roof...Get with the program :eek:
waiting since 80
20 May 2008, 22:22
There is no question to answer here! it's Richmond or leave home:).
20 May 2008, 22:56
We have 2 daughters they are 2 and a half and 4 and together can belt out a serious rendition of the Tigers song. Well trained Tiger girls who even scream out " Go Richmond" at any form of footy that is on the tv!!
Can't wait to take them to a game when they are a little older.....might have to put back the timing of their first live game after coming down to the Dome and watching my 7 year old cousin in tears after the Saints match.
for sure my wife (an essendon supporter) and i have a clear understanding the kids will support richmond and no one else
scarecrow2k1
20 May 2008, 23:47
Next question, with the wife (or husband in some cases I suppose). If they are not a Richmond supporter, do you try to convert them? Personally I couldnt, because if you succeeded you would know its not true support as they used to barrack for another team.
Only acceptable case is if they lived in Brisbane or Sydney or something and said they barracked for their home team but never really cared
[quote=scarecrow2k1;11080629]Next question, with the wife (or husband in some cases I suppose). If they are not a Richmond supporter, do you try to convert them? Personally I couldnt, because if you succeeded you would know its not true support as they used to barrack for another team.
Only acceptable case is if they lived in Brisbane or Sydney or something and said they barracked for their home team but never really cared
at first i tried to convert her but its fun stirring her up to be honest but its all fun
isn't oit more fun poaching the kids of your Collingwood friends:thumbsu:
Happened just the other day.
Kid (5) told his Dad that he liked the Tigers and not the maggies.
The old man ran me straight away asking what i had done to his kid.
LMAO.
Drunken Wookie
21 May 2008, 07:57
http://content.ytmnd.com/content/d/e/4/de49adfbd82cf3544b3e7c89a2550f86.jpg
Not barracking for Richmond, that's a paddlin'.
CQTiger
21 May 2008, 09:28
I grew up in the glory years with back to back premierships so it was easy to follow my dad barracking for tigers. Bit harder over past 10 years convincing my kids to follow a team that has many more losses than wins but I think I have converted the youngest daughter even if she sits on laptop on MSN during the Tigers games on TV :rolleyes:. Wife had no allegiances before we met and they are easy to convert. Might have to start working on the Grandkids
No Choice, First jumper at two months, first family day at 3 months my Duaghter bleeds Yellow and black , next one is supposed to be a magpie though as Fiance barracks for the skunks.
Khan
Bojangles17
21 May 2008, 14:06
No Choice, First jumper at two months, first family day at 3 months my Duaghter bleeds Yellow and black , next one is supposed to be a magpie though as Fiance barracks for the skunks.Khan
hmm could be an interesting method of birth control, maybe someone should explain that to the Chinese:p
W. Smithers
21 May 2008, 15:10
My 5 week old girl doesn't have a say in the matter.
Accepted 04
21 May 2008, 16:00
My dad forced me to become a Richmond supporter because I am 15 and have been a member for 14 years
CQTiger
21 May 2008, 16:27
My dad forced me to become a Richmond supporter because I am 15 and have been a member for 14 years
count yourself lucky you have such a wise dad.:D
Coughlan
21 May 2008, 17:00
count yourself lucky you have such a wise dad.:D
Or is he cruel?
I don't even know why I barrack for Richmond most of my family barracks for Hawthorn or Essendon and a few pie fans.
My best friend when I was much younger was a tiger fan and I followed him.
My brother has suggested I go find him and beat the shit out of him for it, lol
I wouldn't have it any other way though
As the father of a 6 day old boy, I'd like to open up by saying how much I enjoyed reading this thread.
As I grew up in a Tiger recruiting zone and saw them enjoy success early on, it was always going to be Tigers for me.
I was still young in the 80's and 90's when we were crap, just loved the footy and loved the tigers so never an option to change - despite the frustration.
My family are all different and indifferent when it comes to footy, my mum barracks for Richmond because my moods were so linked to our performance when I was a kid.
My wife was apparently a magpie but became a Tiger on about the second date.
And the newbie?
Have a lazy guess.
My Fiance message to your wife 'Traiter ......'
Khan
My Fiance message to your wife 'Traiter ......'
Khan
Ha Ha, she says that I make it worth her while......
3 do 1 barracks for essendon:)
tucker777
22 May 2008, 11:16
I managed to convert the generation up from my own to the Tiger cause
mum and dad not into Richmond or footy for that matter but when I said i was a Richmond supporter they got on board as well
the fact that they could now give it to the collingwood and carlton fans in their making up their families im guessing may have had something to do with it
from a family of carlton supporters and a collingwood family to a tiger family
hmmm
is that what we call evolution? :rolleyes: