View Full Version : gdfl reserves

nacnud79
20th May 2008, 00:54
who will be in the reserves grand final this year?

ExtendTheDukes
20th May 2008, 09:41
Looking at the names in the Corio reserves team Id be amazed if they didnt make it but the other spot will probably come down to a few sides. The two I'd be leaning to would be Bannockburn or Bell Post Hill. As good as Corio's team looks, we all know anything can happen in the GF.

Berk
20th May 2008, 11:53
Looking at the names in the Corio reserves team Id be amazed if they didnt make it but the other spot will probably come down to a few sides. The two I'd be leaning to would be Bannockburn or Bell Post Hill. As good as Corio's team looks, we all know anything can happen in the GF.

What di you think will be the top 5??

nacnud79
20th May 2008, 12:24
the final top 5 could be as the top 5 on the ladder stands now... fifth spot will be interesting, would like geelong west to make that last spot. i dont bannockburn are as good as they were last year..but they do seem to step up when it comes to finals time..

DaddyCool
20th May 2008, 19:27
is james kitchen getting a kick in the 2s at winch
ive heard from one of his mates that he hasnt
can anyone from winch confirm this?

bestever
20th May 2008, 20:05

he has played 4 games this yr in the 1s nd dropped bak 2 pick up a few possies nd he has certainly dun that, prob due 2 go bak up in the 1s this week or the following he jst had a bad game on the w/e prob due 2 bad weather.

nacnud79
21st May 2008, 13:46
anyone got any 2's tips for this round?

heres mine

inverleigh
east geelong
bell post hill
bannockburn
geelong west
thomson

DEVILS
21st May 2008, 15:42
anyone got any 2's tips for this round?

heres mine

inverleigh
east geelong
bell post hill
bannockburn
geelong west
thomson

i guess your a bannockburn guy cause theres no way you would pick them over corio this week surely

nacnud79
21st May 2008, 15:46
its only because bannockburn are playing at home and what happened in last years grand final.

DEVILS
21st May 2008, 16:09
its only because bannockburn are playing at home and what happened in last years grand final.

Bannockburn were the best side last year, corio was probably the 3 or 4th best side last year but made the granny anyway and like the seniors, reserve sides do change have a look at belmont and east geelong where they finished last year, but i do think this will be the two sides that play off in the reserves granny this year.

NoRumoursAllFact
21st May 2008, 16:35
Bannockburn were the best side last year, corio was probably the 3 or 4th best side last year but made the granny anyway and like the seniors, reserve sides do change have a look at belmont and east geelong where they finished last year, but i do think this will be the two sides that play off in the reserves granny this year.

Don't know a lot about Belmont

nacnud79
21st May 2008, 20:42
true... well hopefully it will be a close match on sat. from what i hear bannockburn struggled the first half against inverleigh!! maybe i can change my tip to corio now.

hi_flyer
22nd May 2008, 21:28
true... well hopefully it will be a close match on sat. from what i hear bannockburn struggled the first half against inverleigh!! maybe i can change my tip to corio now.

I hear Ron 'Killa' Watt is playing this week after many weeks of work commitments. should be an interesting to see if corio are able to shut him down as not many teams are able to in the reserves competition. He's definately a class above anyone playing in that competition.

nacnud79
23rd May 2008, 19:54
I hear Ron 'Killa' Watt is playing this week after many weeks of work commitments. should be an interesting to see if corio are able to shut him down as not many teams are able to in the reserves competition. He's definately a class above anyone playing in that competition.
he is a great player... you almost underate him if you've never played on him before.. will be interested to see if he plays in the middle.

nacnud79
25th May 2008, 11:54
well done to bannockburn beating corio, it was a good contest all day.. bannockburn ended up running away in the last quarter.. im sure corio would be looking forward to meeting the tigers again if they meet in the finals this year

aujarra
27th May 2008, 08:40
North Geelong , had a good and well deserved win on the weekend against Inv. Although North only played a half of footy in the end like we have been in the past 3 weeks its finaly payed off, we need to play alot better than wat we did the week just gone if we think we will beat Corio @ Shell ovel.

BFC26
27th May 2008, 18:00
i guess your a bannockburn guy cause theres no way you would pick them over corio this week surely
I guess you were wrong

getting2oldtoplay
28th May 2008, 17:27
it might be a interesting game between geelong west and bannockburn this week.. wouldnt be surprised if geelong west stick with bannockburn for most of the game.

nacnud79
29th May 2008, 20:59
it might be a interesting game between geelong west and bannockburn this week.. wouldnt be surprised if geelong west stick with bannockburn for most of the game.
there is no way that geelong west will stick with bannockburn... bannockburn will blow them away for the word go.. geelong west have only played the bottom end of the ladder lately.

retirednowback
30th May 2008, 00:41
there is no way that geelong west will stick with bannockburn... bannockburn will blow them away for the word go.. geelong west have only played the bottom end of the ladder lately.

I suppose by lately you mean the last two weeks,and considering we are at round 9 this week and west have played all of the top 7 sides and are sitting 6 and 2 i think west will take it to banno, should make for an interesting game!!!

getting2oldtoplay
30th May 2008, 17:53
heres how i think this round will pan out in the 2's

werribee in a close one over inverleigh
east geelong to beat belmont
thomson over bell post hill
corio to good for nth geelong
bannockburn in a interesting game over geelong west
winchelsea to beat anakie

J_etto
3rd June 2008, 21:02
the whinch boys told me hes struggleshes a dud couldnt get a kick in 16's and no wonder hes gettin a snr game, look at whinch corio played 14 yr old showes how good whinch are.... i think every one would agree:p

nacnud79
5th June 2008, 09:38
I suppose by lately you mean the last two weeks,and considering we are at round 9 this week and west have played all of the top 7 sides and are sitting 6 and 2 i think west will take it to banno, should make for an interesting game!!!
getting done by 10 goals is really taking it to a team.

scott mills
5th June 2008, 21:46
the whinch boys told me hes struggleshes a dud couldnt get a kick in 16's and no wonder hes gettin a snr game, look at whinch corio played 14 yr old showes how good whinch are.... i think every one would agree:p
Just to fill you in mate james is a good young kid he won the u/14 b+f at winch he trained all pre season with the seniors never missed a night he played the first 4 games in the ones for a kid who weighs bugger all the way he goes in for the footy is fantastic always against bigger and stronger opponets as such i cant see the reason for baggin a young bloke havin a go.

Wiskers32
5th June 2008, 21:54
Just to fill you in mate james is a good young kid he won the u/14 b+f at winch he trained all pre season with the seniors never missed a night he played the first 4 games in the ones for a kid who weighs bugger all the way he goes in for the footy is fantastic always against bigger and stronger opponets as such i cant see the reason for baggin a young bloke havin a go.

Good on the kid for having a go. Its obvious he wants to go further in his career than just GDFL. Also great playing seniors at a young age and will learn lots from ex afl/vfl players.

steamy
5th June 2008, 22:13
just another thing to add to the list of "stupid comments by stupid people".

nacnud79
13th June 2008, 14:50
anyone got any 2's tips for this round.... anyway heres mine

belmont
bell post hill
corio
nth geelong
bannockburn
thomson

getting2oldtoplay
15th June 2008, 12:31
I went and had a look at Anakie v's Bannockburn yesterday, Anakie dont seem the bad as where they're sitting on the ladder. They would win alot more games if they hit the ball as hard as they hit opposition players from behind.

BAD TO THE BONE
15th June 2008, 18:50
Anakie are a bunch of thugs, Banno had some top players out and just destroyed them

getting2oldtoplay
16th June 2008, 01:07
bannockburn could have done alot better, they missed alot of easy shots at goal. their back line would have to be one of the best going around.

BAD TO THE BONE
16th June 2008, 17:13
banno have a great backline a mix of young and old they dont get beaten very often, i rate there full back highly along with the rest of them. Its a long way off but who do you think can beat them????

chuck20
16th June 2008, 22:05
Just to confirm Bannockburns backline:
Glenn Duncan, Colin Duncan, Tim Saunders,
Steven Gadd, Brent Rudderford, Ross Morlan,

Res. Jamie Cotton, Simon Moodie, Matt Worpal.

Giving credit where credit is due.

getting2oldtoplay
22nd June 2008, 16:42
The duncan brothers for bannockburn do make a strong defence when their fit. They should be right come finals time

jayaa01
25th June 2008, 21:30
corio. looking at blue west maybe there 2's should swap with there seniors they might actually have a go. ernie sheridan from west is the biggest drunk in geelong footy

getting2oldtoplay
30th June 2008, 17:16
can anyone tell me why judd gaylard is playing for bell post hill, im sure i seen him getting around for corio around the start of the year.

the_gun_08
1st July 2008, 14:35
can anyone tell me why judd gaylard is playing for bell post hill, im sure i seen him getting around for corio around the start of the year.
yeh judd played for corio against banno? i seen hes name in the paper and was wondering aswell:D

Dougy08
13th July 2008, 19:45
banno have a great backline a mix of young and old they dont get beaten very often, i rate there full back highly along with the rest of them. Its a long way off but who do you think can beat them????
obviously north geelong..!!

BAD TO THE BONE
13th July 2008, 20:08
ha ha fair enough your right. i was told bannockburn played shite.north are a fair pack of retards so bannockburn must have had a shocker.

nacnud79
13th July 2008, 23:00
bannockburn have always found it hard to win against nth away from home, look what happened last year. bannockburn need to pull their finger out of their arse and start playing a full game of football.

ha ha fair enough your right. i was told bannockburn played shite.north are a fair pack of retards so bannockburn must have had a shocker.

DEVILS
17th July 2008, 22:42
Nths win against bannoc in the reserves was the biggest upset so far this year, it took everyone by surprise, but it goes to show when you have injuries every side is beat-able

SuperStar08
20th July 2008, 18:56
I wouldn't write of the Thomson two off just yet if the make the finals the will be hard to beat will have the likes of Aussie Koshcell, who played seniors the last year and Armstrong back at the club playing well on the big Ground.
Watch out Guys

DEVILS
24th July 2008, 14:22
I wouldn't write of the Thomson two off just yet if the make the finals the will be hard to beat will have the likes of Aussie Koshcell, who played seniors the last year and Armstrong back at the club playing well on the big Ground.
Watch out Guys

It will be a great game in reserves and seniors then saturday it thomson 2s have been improving

SuperStar08
28th July 2008, 10:27
It will be a great game in reserves and seniors then saturday it thomson 2s have been improving

After Corio got of to a great start in the two's the thommy boys get back in to it but it was to late. We didn't come ready to play in the 1st quater. well done corio secounds

getting2oldtoplay
1st August 2008, 07:11
does anyone think that bannockburn can hold their spot in the top 5? Wouldnt be surprised if they fall out this weekend against bell post hill

BAD TO THE BONE
3rd August 2008, 22:19
does anyone think that bannockburn can hold their spot in the top 5? Wouldnt be surprised if they fall out this weekend against bell post hill
i hear banno have just started to warm up from the last few shockers and out played bph all over the ground ready for another finals march??? any thoughts?

getting2oldtoplay
5th August 2008, 02:02
i hear banno have just started to warm up from the last few shockers and out played bph all over the ground ready for another finals march??? any thoughts?
Bannockburn 2's aren't as good as they were at the start of the season, this week against east geelong will be their test to see where they are now. Good to see Wayne Tyquin playing good footy again!!:)

Scoobiesnack
6th August 2008, 19:10
Werribee seem to be a huge chance to get into finals.pressure on the other teams.Redbath of w'bee has kicked about 30 goals in 3 weeks good luck who gets him the next couple.

getting2oldtoplay
9th August 2008, 15:08
Werribee seem to be a huge chance to get into finals.pressure on the other teams.Redbath of w'bee has kicked about 30 goals in 3 weeks good luck who gets him the next couple.
looks like werribee might not make it in the finals after bannockburn's win today

nacnud79
12th August 2008, 22:41
bannockburn have done well to string a couple of wins together after four shockers in a row. it will be interesting to see how they go in the finals.

getting2oldtoplay
15th August 2008, 14:41
i heard that werribee 2's are going to be loaded with 1's players so they make the finals...any truth in that?

Berk
15th August 2008, 15:08
None what so ever. All the players that are playing on tomorrows game, have qualified to play finals footy this year....

getting2oldtoplay
17th August 2008, 16:33
well done to corio finishing on top of the ladder and getting a much deserved week off. I think this week east geelong will be to good for bell post hill and bannockburn will continue their winning form to beat belmont.

nacnud79
25th August 2008, 16:52
bannockburn were lucky to get away with a win over belmont on the weekend, they should be back to full strength this week with killer back in the team.

theknowledge
27th August 2008, 12:36
Got to say both games last weekend were underwhelming. Very scraggy and no one really impressed. Corio with two teams will have to decide where to play Gundry, 65 for the year in the two's but 2 goals last week in the Seniors and B O'toole did his ankle. I reckon the twos is anyones

favre
27th August 2008, 20:16
Got to say both games last weekend were underwhelming. Very scraggy and no one really impressed. Corio with two teams will have to decide where to play Gundry, 65 for the year in the two's but 2 goals last week in the Seniors and B O'toole did his ankle. I reckon the twos is anyones

barry otoole out for this week?

theknowledge
29th August 2008, 13:12
Saw the size of his ankle on Sunday when he was watching netball, if he plays he'll be in the forward pocket or on the bench