View Full Version : Father/Son picks - Will the Swans be getting any in the next 10 years

RUNVS
20 May 2008, 16:51
Can anyone tell me what ex players have sons that could be draftable within the next 10 years?

The Swans have been so unlucky in the past 15 years in regards to Father/Son picks so it would be great to get some within the next few years.

I heard Paul Kelly has a couple of kids but i dont know for certain. It would be great to have a Kelly or 2 in the team in afew years.

What is the parental status of other 1990's players like Daryn Cresswell, Stuart Maxfield and Greg Stafford?

legend166
20 May 2008, 18:55
You want someone with Stafford's genes running around for us?

You are a braver man than I.

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 21:18
mine and jarred moores kid will be around soon...OK i joke

would be interesting to see some former players kids have a go at it
would have 2 have the media pressure about it though

J-swan
20 May 2008, 21:29
mine and jarred moores kid will be around soon...OK i joke

would be interesting to see some former players kids have a go at it
would have 2 have the media pressure about it though

Hahaha, my 21yo daughter said the same thing at the game on Sunday.

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 21:37
About Jarred Moore or that her child with a swans player would be playing in a few years time

J-swan
20 May 2008, 21:40
About Jarred Moore or that her child with a swans player would be playing in a few years time

Jarred Moore. She's been a fan since first sighting him in the ressies 3 maybe 4 years ago so you got a fight on your hands Soph!

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 21:42
Jarred Moore. She's been a fan since first sighting him in the ressies 3 maybe 4 years ago so you got a fight on your hands Soph!

ha ha shes probs way better looking than me
and i dont fight may the best gal win ha ha
Im still chasing snides 2 and if all else fails ive got Aaron "THE SEX GOD" Bruce lol

rancidpants13
20 May 2008, 21:42
You want someone with Stafford's genes running around for us?

You are a braver man than I.

stafford???? geez

roosy's kids are how old now? gotta be close to early teens ... would they qualify? how many games did roos actually play for us, and does coaching qualify too?

J-swan
20 May 2008, 21:53
stafford???? geez

roosy's kids are how old now? gotta be close to early teens ... would they qualify? how many games did roos actually play for us, and does coaching qualify too?

I think the oldest is about 13 but I recall Roos saying in an article that his kids would not qualify for Sydney as coaching doesn't count. That was a few years ago so maybe the rules have changed.

snappy
20 May 2008, 22:08
I think the oldest is about 13 but I recall Roos saying in an article that his kids would not qualify for Sydney as coaching doesn't count. That was a few years ago so maybe the rules have changed.

so if they were to to go into the draft, would that that mean Brisbane can get them under father son?

Lakeside Legacy
20 May 2008, 22:22

Unfortunately, elite sportsmen despite what code they play, tend to produce daughters. Roosy's boys would be a good coup, if we could get them, but missing Darcy Daniher (Anthony Daniher's son) recently basically got down to family living in Melbourne verses son playing and living in Sydney.

Plugga has a couple of daughters, which is no good to us, but apparently they can kick a footy very straight !!!

Hopefully Paul Kelly's boys will be kept under wraps by the swans. I couldn't bear the thought of Kell's prodigy playing anywhere else but the Bloods.

Mick Oxlong
20 May 2008, 22:37
Say no more...Indianna Capper:o

TripleB
20 May 2008, 23:01
roosy's kids are how old now? gotta be close to early teens ... would they qualify?

They may lack the hunger and desire.

After all, they have already climbed the pinnacle and stood in the middle of the MCG on the podium on the last Saturday in September.

its game on
20 May 2008, 23:12
Interesting one this.

Wingman of the Century David Murphy has a son Kane who is in the NSW U16's squad at the moment, and from all reports is going great guns.

Adelaide and St Kilda were looking for some likely propects to scholarship, and after all reports, they both had a look at Kane.

He had a great carnival for NSW in the VLine U15's carnival in Melbourne last year, but the Swans thought he was a bit on the small side (but who fully developed at 15 anyway?) and bloody St Kilda said thank you very much and now have first rights after scholarshipping him.

Chip off the old block this kid, Murphy beat a winger called Roy Cazaly to make Team of the Century. If there was ever a F/S prospect for the Swans, it's now gone.

TheMase
20 May 2008, 23:14

Won't matter if we list them as scholarship players.

CAS79
20 May 2008, 23:15
We missed our chance with David Murphy's son.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,21756320-2722,00.html

Damn those saints.

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 23:17
Damn those saints.

Saints get EVERYONE

CAS79
20 May 2008, 23:18
Saints get EVERYONE

But the good news is so few want to stay :D

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 23:18
But the good news is so few want to stay :D

ill believe it when snides comes home

western swan
20 May 2008, 23:38
Saints get EVERYONE
ahahaa yer and ther still shit so it doesnt count
:p

ummm btw whoever started this thread...you were forgetting Sean DEMPSTER!!!
he was an AWESOME father/son pick thankyou very much!!!! ahahah

but seriously...i miss him lots
tear

Costanza_
21 May 2008, 18:35
http://img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/031798bbc5.jpg

The Great One no doubt has dozens of illegitimate kiddies around town. Get drafting Roosy!

Shangalang
22 May 2008, 14:50
What about the Wiz !!!! Warwick Capper has a young lad plying his trade for Southport in the QAFL juniors.... Imagine another Capper in tinsel town.......

adelaidepower
22 May 2008, 16:19
you guys this is your last year to do anything u have some old players retiring expect some wooden spoon years in the next few years like the mid 90s

J-swan
22 May 2008, 16:23
you guys this is your last year to do anything u have some old players retiring expect some wooden spoon years in the next few years like the mid 90s

Whatever you reckon buddy. Many thought that would happen this year and didn't, maybe you should just wait and see.

RUNVS
22 May 2008, 16:25

You dont have a clue. Out of all our older players none of them will be retiring until the end of 2009 (except for Everitt) and we have replacements for most of them. The only replacements we need which we currently dont have is replacements for Hall and O'Loughlin. The Swans will not bottom out in coming years and certainly wont be getting any wooden spoons.

rancidpants13
22 May 2008, 16:28

just another clown completely ignorant of the kids being brought into senior football
have you not seen any of our games this season? i mean, we've even played your blokes already
why bother posting on our board if all you're doing is rahashing the same rubbish the victorian media has peddled the past 18 months or so

any one of us could name names, but why bother, you just stay in the dark with all the other mushrooms

adelaidepower
22 May 2008, 16:36
one thing im not victorian and dont get emotional mate face reality

rancidpants13
22 May 2008, 16:41
one thing im not victorian and dont get emotional mate face reality

emotion doesn't come into it
the REALITY is we're quite happy with the young talent we have on our list

Costanza_
22 May 2008, 16:49
Don't feed the troll :thumbsd:

Benevolent Ert
22 May 2008, 23:36

I would've given you a red card for that had you not already managed to get yourself permanently banned from the entire site in less than 30 posts.
Nice going! :thumbsu:

CAS79
22 May 2008, 23:41

You should learn your history before quoting it. The mid 90s were a pretty reasonable time for the swans. the bad times were the early 90s.

TripleB
23 May 2008, 08:18
Don't feed the troll :thumbsd:

Precisely.

These clowns just post for a reaction. If you don't give them one, they will sulk and go elsewhere. It's superfluous now, it appears he is banned, but just carry on the thread as if their post doesn't exist, it drives the trolls crazy if nobody bites.

Wise up guys.

opng
23 May 2008, 17:28
What about the Wiz !!!! Warwick Capper has a young lad plying his trade for Southport in the QAFL juniors.... Imagine another Capper in tinsel town.......

Didnt play enough games, i think about 90 odd from memory, unless they change the rule again like has been talked about.

Banyo Bloods
23 May 2008, 20:22
I know people roll their eyes at the Wiz but he was absolutely my footy hero as a kid and I tried hard to emulate him on the footy ground even wearing white footy boots back in the mid to late 80's which was bad news.

Wayne Henwood and Warwick Capper were the two greatest swans in my eyes as a youngster. Shame if we can't snaffle his son if he indeed is any good.

Boys those marks were something back in the 80's I was devastated the day I saw he joined the Bears. They had to train on our footy ground at Mayne as they didn't have a training facility and one of our players went in to one of the demountables to steal Cappers Guernsey but got busted.

CAS79
23 May 2008, 20:47
I know people roll their eyes at the Wiz but he was absolutely my footy hero as a kid and I tried hard to emulate him on the footy ground even wearing white footy boots back in the mid to late 80's which was bad news.

Wayne Henwood and Warwick Capper were the two greatest swans in my eyes as a youngster. Shame if we can't snaffle his son if he indeed is any good.

Boys those marks were something back in the 80's I was devastated the day I saw he joined the Bears. They had to train on our footy ground at Mayne as they didn't have a training facility and one of our players went in to one of the demountables to steal Cappers Guernsey but got busted.

Cappers marks were the talk of the football across the country. He may be a clown but spot on Banyo, as a full forward you don't kick 100 goals as a talentless hack. The man could play the full forward role. Pity he lost his way.

Banyo Bloods
24 May 2008, 04:04
That mark against Chris Langford in the losing final left me gobsmacked I studied it over and over and laughed after he laid all over his back he actually slaps Langford in the back of his leg on the way down.

Also fantastic to see Langford shake Cappers hand after he had just kicked 100 goals for the season but no run on crowd for Capper.

A mark over a Fitzroy player and sitting on a Norths players shoulders both at the SCG were the ones to watch over and over for me.

Bojangles17
26 May 2008, 22:58
Unfortunately, elite sportsmen despite what code they play, tend to produce daughters. .

hey Ive been using that line for years, get your own:p

snappy
1 Aug 2008, 19:27
Interesting one this.

Wingman of the Century David Murphy has a son Kane who is in the NSW U16's squad at the moment, and from all reports is going great guns.

Adelaide and St Kilda were looking for some likely propects to scholarship, and after all reports, they both had a look at Kane.

He had a great carnival for NSW in the VLine U15's carnival in Melbourne last year, but the Swans thought he was a bit on the small side (but who fully developed at 15 anyway?) and bloody St Kilda said thank you very much and now have first rights after scholarshipping him.

Chip off the old block this kid, Murphy beat a winger called Roy Cazaly to make Team of the Century. If there was ever a F/S prospect for the Swans, it's now gone.

Good pick up this IGO, i read this in the Hearld Sun today.

Kane Murphy, son of former Sydney winger David, was New South Wales' best player on Wednesday.

It is good news for St Kilda fans as the Saints nabbed Murphy as a scholarship player earlier this year, killing off the Swans' hopes of taking the winger under the father-son rule.

I was spewing when i read this and spewed even more when i read your post. You wouldnt believe what happened when i researched it more..:D

Folks we continue to go for medium size players, and here our very own team of the century player has a son, and we let St Kilda have him...

grub29
1 Aug 2008, 21:25
Good pick up this IGO, i read this in the Hearld Sun today.

Kane Murphy, son of former Sydney winger David, was New South Wales' best player on Wednesday.

It is good news for St Kilda fans as the Saints nabbed Murphy as a scholarship player earlier this year, killing off the Swans' hopes of taking the winger under the father-son rule.

I was spewing when i read this and spewed even more when i read your post. You wouldnt believe what happened when i researched it more..:D

Folks we continue to go for medium size players, and here our very own team of the century player has a son, and we let St Kilda have him...Kane isn't a medium sized player and is listed as 168cm 59kg at the moment. I would think his size would have been the big negative in why the Swans didn't put him on a scholarship.

moore
2 Aug 2008, 00:34
Kane isn't a medium sized player and is listed as 168cm 59kg at the moment. I would think his size would have been the big negative in why the Swans didn't put him on a scholarship.
That would hurt to see him in a Saints jumper,his dad was a star for us.

grimlock
2 Aug 2008, 00:54
I was looking at Dennis Carroll's wikipedia page and it claims his son Ben is under a Geelong scholarship but I couldn't confirm this anywhere else.

moore
2 Aug 2008, 01:07
I was looking at Dennis Carroll's wikipedia page and it claims his son Ben is under a Geelong scholarship but I couldn't confirm this anywhere else.
Its getting worse if thats true,gee the FS rule has worked for the Cats why carnt we

RUNVS
2 Aug 2008, 01:18

If its true then the AFl should do something about it as currently the Swans are getting royally screwed.

moore
2 Aug 2008, 01:23
No we are not its our own fault

cowfever
2 Aug 2008, 13:24
i believe it should be a club rule:

if a player is play to the eligible requirement so that their kid can be picked up by the club by father-son selection, then that player should be pimped out ;)

whiteandred
5 Aug 2008, 22:52

I think this is wrong ... like Dennis, who will admit to never reaching rep level as a junior, Ben will be a late developer ... lovely kid, who has reached zone representative level, and played in the State u/15 school championships this year, but i do not believe he is on the scholarship radar at this point ... which could be a bonus for the Swans! ... he has an 11 y.o. brother too ... it would be great to see them both with the Swans one day, there is no greater gentleman in the game than their dad!:thumbsu:

Dudley
5 Aug 2008, 22:55
I think this is wrong ... like Dennis, who will admit to never reaching rep level as a junior, Ben will be a late developer ... lovely kid, who has reached zone representative level, and played in the State u/15 school championships this year, but i do not believe he is on the scholarship radar at this point ... which could be a bonus for the Swans! ... he has an 11 y.o. brother too ... it would be great to see them both with the Swans one day, there is no greater gentleman in the game than their dad!:thumbsu:

Agreed, sock issues though, hope it is not genetic !