View Full Version : Collingwood is the greatest team in the world.

Godfrey Jones
20 May 2008, 17:35
That's all I have to say about it.

Optimax
20 May 2008, 17:38
I concur 100%

Smoky
20 May 2008, 17:39
And we're good looken too!

Brahma Bull
20 May 2008, 17:40
tell us something we don't know

But i still like this thread :thumbsu:

zorbadunde
20 May 2008, 17:57
top thread.. cant wait for the trolls though

DWil6
20 May 2008, 19:41
Point well made.... subtle yet vociferous! (Snag... is that word spelt right and used in context??)

bluesforever
20 May 2008, 19:50
Not even.

Optimax
20 May 2008, 19:58
top thread.. cant wait for the trolls though

Not even.
Only took seven posts.

why am i not surprised

thatday
20 May 2008, 20:04
Greatest Club in the world, too. :)

thatday
20 May 2008, 20:04
Not even.

:)
Whats the point?

swiftdog
20 May 2008, 20:30
I am a shit bloke:thumbsu:

well said:thumbsu:

Godfrey Jones
20 May 2008, 21:44
lol this thread is going nowhere.

nothing is up for dispute anyways

DWil6
20 May 2008, 21:52
My team is a laughing stock..
No need to be like that!

jerry springer
20 May 2008, 21:54
amen

Snag Breac
21 May 2008, 12:07
Point well made.... subtle yet vociferous! (Snag... is that word spelt right and used in context??)

Beautifully done, DW, and surely evidence of a highly literate fan base for the world's greatest club.:thumbsu:

Collingwood - We Articulate.

PieLebo87
21 May 2008, 13:55
We're scum

We know :)

adelaidepower
21 May 2008, 15:27
lol are u for real wat one flag in 50 years at least with man united they win things u guys won ____ all so u not the greatest port are this decade because we have the highest winning percentage this decade

thatday
21 May 2008, 15:30
We lost the Grand final by 119 points, thats the biggest losing margin in grand final history. Our supporters that actually turn up to games are nothing but inbred ferals, we think we have the right to wear black and white stripes, even though deep down we know we are not worthy. I apologise for intruding on your board, I'll leave now.

No need for an apology.:):thumbsu:

thatday
21 May 2008, 15:31
lol are u for real wat one flag in 50 years at least with man united they win things u guys won ____ all so u not the greatest port are this decade because we have the highest winning percentage this decade

As an actual reply to your post. Take a look at that.:thumbsu:

http://afl.allthestats.com/statistics/alltime.php

goalpie
21 May 2008, 15:35
God we suck even with Judd. Please help us.

we get smashed to buggery in grand finals and we suck. Why cant we be the magpies, not that we deserve to be, because we have little self respect

Now! Now! fellas... just look at it as one of lifes little jokes.

kirbatron
21 May 2008, 16:13
Beat Geelong this week and you can be the greatest in my world up until Sunday 2:10pm

thatday
21 May 2008, 16:18
Beat Geelong this week and you can be the greatest in my world up until Sunday 2:10pm

I love how much you want us to beat Geelong. You remind me of one of my best mates, he was wearing a Pies scarf last week at the Saints game going nuts. Obviously you want us to win so that your number 1, still good though.:)

KingGilardino
21 May 2008, 16:24
pffffffffft come on. this is a joke, i can think of 5 gaelic football teams that are greater than your team.
you guys are as bad as st.kilda and richmond when it comes to success, clearly success is not an objective. you guys are more worried about a homeless bum wearing a gold jacket during the closing stage of a game. that joffa is a joke to your club, does anyone know where his from ? i'd say his from wallan or wagga wagga. he makes your club look 2nd rate, and makes your cheer squad look more like the salvation army. There is a soccer club in peanutdance which is located in denmark called Froffy FC, they have been around for 107 years, the town has a population of about 2000. however they have managed to be successful in the major leagues unlike collingwood

thatday
21 May 2008, 16:27
pffffffffft come on. this is a joke, i can think of 5 gaelic football teams that are greater than your team.
you guys are as bad as st.kilda and richmond when it comes to success, clearly success is not an objective. you guys are more worried about a homeless bum wearing a gold jacket during the closing stage of a game. that joffa is a joke to your club, does anyone know where his from ? i'd say his from wallan or wagga wagga. he makes your club look 2nd rate, and makes your cheer squad look more like the salvation army. There is a soccer club in peanutdance which is located in denmark called Froffy FC, they have been around for 107 years, the town has a population of about 2000. however they have managed to be successful in the major leagues unlike collingwood

You tell us we aren't successful, yet. 14 > 9:thumbsu:

Opposition supporters, don't take this thread seriously, its a bit of fun.

KingGilardino
21 May 2008, 16:38
You tell us we aren't successful, yet. 14 > 9:thumbsu:

modern day footy is not quite like the tough competition back in the 1900 where there were only a hand full of teams.

mind you collingwood won 5 GF before we even entered the league

Godfrey Jones
21 May 2008, 16:45
modern day footy is not quite like the tough competition back in the 1900 where there were only a hand full of teams.

pffft newbies.

Marklar_33
21 May 2008, 16:53
Opposition supporters, don't take this thread seriously, its a bit of fun.

But please post here to continue giving us posts to edit :p

thewhitelama
Joffa, we love it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgxzmoih-XY&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ctDWVcVrGJU&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRbDJOVpU6w&feature=related

sirlothie

Tissue?

thatday
21 May 2008, 17:03

Ok, how bout the fact we have played finals 50 more times than you. We have also won 9 less wooden spoons. Add to that our overall winning percentage which is 14 percent better, its also the highest in the league.

Optimax
21 May 2008, 17:17
We enjoy buggery you see that GF last year against the cats
yeah i did glad you like er that buggery stuff

adelaidepower
21 May 2008, 17:26
yea lol u played all your finals in the 20s 30s and 40s great stuff i dont take any noticeof you because you arent successful stop living in the past

thatday
21 May 2008, 17:30
yea lol u played all your finals in the 20s 30s and 40s great stuff i dont take any noticeof you because you arent successful stop living in the past

If we played all of our finals in the 20s, 30s and 40s, then who was it that beat you in the 2002 and 2003 finals series'?

Frederlick
21 May 2008, 18:38
If we played all of our finals in the 20s, 30s and 40s, then who was it that beat you in the 2002 and 2003 finals series'?
Touch`e. :thumbsu:

Maybenextyear
21 May 2008, 19:21
1 flag in 50 years and a record of grand final defeats. You must all be so proud.....of your losing culture.:thumbsu:

thatday
21 May 2008, 19:26
1 flag in 50 years and a record of grand final defeats. You must all be so proud.....of your losing culture.:thumbsu:

Speaking of losing culture, how many times have you made finals in the last 25 years? And how many spoons?

Maybenextyear
21 May 2008, 19:29
Richmonds past 25 years has been pathetic but I don't dance around screaming what a champion side we have been.

thatday
21 May 2008, 19:32
Richmonds past 25 years has been pathetic but I don't dance around screaming what a champion side we have been.

Nah, I guess you guys prefer the 'eat our own tactic', rather than the support our club way of thinking.

goalpie
21 May 2008, 19:57
Can you help our players to become men and learn how to play real football. I would love to be a Collingwood supporter.:thumbsu:

Why dont you just bite the bullett and come over to our happy camp. ;)

Godfrey Jones
21 May 2008, 20:05

because your team hasnt earnt that right.

Lets be serious though, does anyone ever occasioannly look at the other teams, and thank heavens that we follow the pies. Imagine following freo or the bulldogs lol

I feel so blessed sometimes, we have the greatest and most passionate supporters, we are a powerhouse of the league, even when not winning, our team has a colourful and rich culture and history - and a history that im proud of that is littered with champion players. We arent cheats or dirty scums with no tradition to be proud of like the blues or the saints. we may not win all the time, but we always strive to win all the time and really what more can you ask for. there are only very few occasions where we have lost and i have not felt proud of the boys. & even when we lose we are so enjoyable to watch lol.

And for people who say, we are no Manchester United, stop kidding yourselves. If the AFL was run the same way the Premier League was run, we would be the Man U of Australia. buy any player we want and win premiership after premiership. But nah, the AFL promotes evenness so despite our riches and resources we have to wait in line while other teams scoop up the best talent in the land. fair enough, we still stay competitive.

so anyways thats how i felt when i made this thread. Simply put, blessed to support the greatest team/club in the world.

Opposition supporters: don't even bother, you wouldnt understand. Cheers

PieLebo87
21 May 2008, 22:24
We wish we were as big as Collingwood FC. Why? Because if it wasn't for the 80s, the whole AFL would see us for the gutter trash that we are. I guess you guys are the greatest side in the world because you've won the most AFL games ever and have participated in the most finals, Grand Finals and have the biggest and most famous brand in all of Australia. Ow Hawthorn FC, why couldnt you give your fans this much to brag about.

Ow how I wish the Hawks were as good as your Magpies...

I know :thumbsu::)

scottyD
21 May 2008, 22:36
Yer i must admit. We try but we never are and never will be as good as you.
Yer thought so.

GO PIES! FOREVER AND EVER!

Theo_Walcott
21 May 2008, 22:48
Didn't know Collingwood supporters could type. Congratulations.:thumbsu:

scottyD
21 May 2008, 22:53
Didn't know i am a newbie!Congratulations.:thumbsu:
er?....

Theo_Walcott
21 May 2008, 22:55
er?....
Haha. 1 point to you.

thatday
21 May 2008, 22:58
I remember back when I was a newbie, back in the days when I only had 24 posts. Now i have a couple thousand more than that.:o

Theo_Walcott
21 May 2008, 22:59
how many posts do you have to do to move up from newbie?

thatday
21 May 2008, 23:00
Well, it says your a member now sooo.......

Theo_Walcott
21 May 2008, 23:01
don't worry I'm a member now.

scottyD
21 May 2008, 23:16
don't worry I'm a member now.
Do you get a medal like the rest of us?

I remember i was a newbie! Supporting the pies back than also:thumbsu:
Now im on veteran staus and on 4.5k posts.

Godfrey Jones
22 May 2008, 00:05
I remember back when I was a newbie, back in the days when I only had 24 posts. Now i have a couple thousand more than that.:o

nothing to show off about kiddo

thatday
22 May 2008, 10:26

:o:(:o:(

Tarks
23 May 2008, 16:32
Well i am a Newbie and proud of it! this is my first post and thank you for having me. GO PIES!! :D

thatday
23 May 2008, 16:58
Well i am a Newbie and proud of it! this is my first post and thank you for having me. GO PIES!! :D

Hello, welcome to here. We are all nice people, well, most of us..... :)

Optimax
23 May 2008, 17:26
welcome aboard mate, feel free to join in any discussion.

oh and hows hobart be freezing yeah?

Optimax
23 May 2008, 17:27
have quite a few thousnd more than him too:o

Tarks
23 May 2008, 18:01
welcome aboard mate, feel free to join in any discussion.

oh and hows hobart be freezing yeah?
Hollywood Hobart was fine until about 2 days ago now bring on the snow and ice!

Godfrey Jones
17 Jul 2008, 05:49
I found this while browsing the net, whoever wrote it, kudos to you Sir.

beautifully said and all undisputable facts.

The best sporting team that is, has been, or ever will be. A team that plays with more spirit, fairness and magic than any other team. A team that prides itself on playing together as one, not as a team of individuals. A team that is hated by other AFL/VFL clubs for no good reason. They are hated because unlike some other teams, the club and its supporters don't buckle under or try to conform to peer group pressure to be popular, they follow their hearts and sense of what is right and just. People hate them for it because secretly thats what they want for themselves. This is why Collingwood is the best AFL/VFL team ever:

A greater all time win/loss ratio than any team in its history. Number 1 on the all time ladder for the AFL/VFL.

More grand final appearances than any other team by a factor of two. Probably another reason why we are so hated, since chances are you will play us if you get to the big one.

If Collingwood is matched up to any individual team in the AFL/VFL except Carlton you will find that Collingwood has won more games than it has lost against that individual team. Carlton has won slightly more games when it has played Collingwood, than Collingwood has against it. However Collingwood has won more games in general against all teams than Carlton and lost less in its history(Collingwood has a greater all time win/loss ratio).

Many of the grand finals we lost were by small margins, unlike other teams that don't deserve to be there to begin with.

Has won 4 premierships in a row which is an all time record for any team.

Has 14 premierships in total only two off the best.

The richest club in the AFL.

Holds more records than any other team.

Has the highest attendances of any club and as an average over its entire history more supporters.

The supporters are the most loyal group perhaps of any sporting team in the world and the most hated by other AFL/VFL teams as a result. A victim of prejudice like their club, Collingwood supporters are commonly labelled as idiots and dole bludgers despite most of them being just as intelligent and wealthy as other supporters if not more so.

If all these stats are objectively weighted in value and added together we have evidence for calling Collingwood by far the best team in AFL football ever.
"Good old Collingwood forever, side by side we stick together"

Snag Breac
17 Jul 2008, 09:06
We're the greatest Godfrey, because when the Footy Gods came down to earth and buried the distilled essence of the game, they buried it in Collingwood - a small scrap in each of our black and white hearts. And it's still there.