H.Shaw v Steve Johnson
O'Brien v Chapman
Stokes v Clarke
Maxwell wherever needed.
Rhyce v Ablett
Pendles v Bartel
Swan v Ling
Burns/Obree v Corey
Wood/Fraser v Blake/Mumford (must take advantage if possible)
Thommo v Harley
Mackie v Didak (should push up to midefeild to expose him)
Leon v Wojinski
Rocca v Scarlett
Cloke v Taylor (must destroy him)
Medders v Hunt (must take advantage here too)
is this how you guys reckon theyl line up
Itsblackandwhite
20 May 2008, 18:14
Id like to see daisy on wojinski
And Harry on Hawkins..to match body stregnth
Paddywackers
20 May 2008, 18:52
I am a little concerned about Harley on Thomas. Other than that great match ups.
We do match up alright on them, I'll say that. Cloke is the key IMO, we need him to stand up, and take Taylor (who the f*** is Taylor?) to the cleaners. I think we are a chance, no where near favourites, but a realistic chance. Should be an absolute ripper of a game that's for sure. Tip- Collingwood end Geelong's run, with an 8 point victory. Cloke kicks 4 and is impressive, Davis and Didak good again. Shaw brothers great, thoughPendles and Thomas struggle a bit against the harder bodies. Collingwood runs to 5-4 with a couple of easy games to come... Collingw08d is back!!! Optimistic tip I know :D:p
Optimax
20 May 2008, 20:13
Wakelin v Mooney
Brown v Hawkins
O'Brien v Steve Johnson
H.Shaw v Chapman
Stokes v Clarke
Maxwell wherever needed.
Rhyce v Ablett
Pendles v Bartel
Swan v Ling
Burns/Obree v Corey
Thommo v Hunt(push him up field and play him hard defensively hates to eb hurt so gruind him into teh ground a few times)
Leon v Wojinski
Rocca v Scarlett(make him accountable play through rocca when Scarlett goes walkeys
Cloke v Taylor (must run him stupid)
Medders v Harley (must keep him accountable cant eb allowed to play inf ront of rocca nd scarlett all night
Bolded changes are mine theories
The entire side must play hard, uncompromising, aggressive football> Tackle every oppurtunity hit them hard every oppurtunity. See how they handle physical pressure.
And play our own game style while richmond played their style they werre leading dont fall into their game play ours.
yeah...ummm.....we're screwed
CENTERMAN
20 May 2008, 20:44
Although they're 8-0, they have been a bit scratchy. The last thing we need to do is go out there and tag everybody. Our midfield has nothing to lose by going out there and trying to get as many touches each as they can and play attacking footy. We will lose otherwise. If the Tigers can give em a bit of lip, so can we. Blake is their ruck, Mooney and Hawkins are their forwards, that ain't much. We need to take on their mids offensively, if only to find out if it works.
the_fresh
20 May 2008, 20:52
N.Brown v Mooney
Wakelin v Hawkins
H.Shaw v Steve Johnson
O'Brien v Chapman
Stokes v Clarke
Maxwell wherever needed.
Rhyce v Ablett
Pendles v Bartel
Swan v Ling
Burns/Obree v Corey
Thommo v Harley
Leon v Wojinski
Rocca v Scarlett
Clarke killed Geelong last time, really broke the game open and I don't think Geelong will allow him to get too much run.
Shaw has the tank, he must hurt Geelong going our way, get forward and kick goals
I don't see Bartel on Pendles,.
Ling got the better on Swan first time around, Swan beat him the second time by going forward, I think you'll see who ever gets Ling will push deep to the goals.
Scarlett will kill us, Rocca must start deep and lead, Scarlett will rebound and run off every chance he gets.
Last year we started with Davis, Pendles, Burns & Richards, Shaw & Lockyer on the wings. I think you'll find we may start with a set up like that.
____ matchups just beat them.
Bonuspoints
20 May 2008, 21:04
Scarlett tears us a part running off Rocca every time we play them. I'm hoping we don't go with Rocca as he ain't got the tank to deal with it. Maybe some younger legs or Fraser in the square? Dunno but if we go with Rocca we'll get to watch Scarlett set up play from the backline again and again.
Forwards don't play on backmen it's the other way around. No matter what we'll do we wont get the favorable matchup anyway.
Bay Pie
20 May 2008, 21:09
Wakelin v Mooney
N Brown v Hawkins
H.Shaw v Steve Johnson
O'Brien v Chapman
Stokes v Clarke
Maxwell wherever needed.
Rhyce v Ablett
Pendles v Bartel
Swan v Ling
Burns/Obree v Corey
Thommo v ?
Leon v Wojinski
Rocca v Scarlett
Medders v Harley (must take advantage here too)
Josh Hunt doesn't seem to have a match up for mine. If he goes to Thomas, Daisy would be licking his lips. Way to agile.
Harley will go to the forward they are least worried about so he can assist double team Rocca and Cloke. Makes Medders are more interesting match up if that's the case.
Mid field match ups rarely come to fruition due to rotations, but I'd like to see Daisy or Didak play on Ablett on occasions. Make him accountable the other way. At the moment he doesn't have to worry about playing defensive as his opponents just follow him everywhere.
magpies42
20 May 2008, 22:00
I think we should put our best player on their best player.
H.shaw vs G. Ablett!
SOme may call me crazy but i think heath could do a good job and win ball himself. He is tagged on the HBF so has not been as influential, should relish the challenge. give him a go i reckon
year of the cat
20 May 2008, 22:11
Josh Hunt doesn't seem to have a match up for mine. If he goes to Thomas, Daisy would be licking his lips. Way to agile.
Harley will go to the forward they are least worried about so he can assist double team Rocca and Cloke. Makes Medders are more interesting match up if that's the case.
Mid field match ups rarely come to fruition due to rotations, but I'd like to see Daisy or Didak play on Ablett on occasions. Make him accountable the other way. At the moment he doesn't have to worry about playing defensive as his opponents just follow him everywhere.
Sorry to intrude, but you have forgotton Enright, who imo will probably take Didak. The way I see it is pretty similar to the matchups from the PF:
Rocca - Scarlett - played and beaten him on numerous occasions
Cloke - Taylor - will have to get help from Milburn
Didak - Enright - matched up on in PF and were about even though Didak got away a couple of times
Davis - Wojcinski - good matchup though Davis in great form
Medhurst - Hunt - Hunt played on Rusling in the PF, but may get Medhurst here
Thomas - Harley - Harley beat him in the earlier 2007 H&A game but played on Medhurst in the PF
That leaves both Mackie and Milburn to take whoever may play forward not listed above. Milburn will need to be the "2nd man in" to help Taylor out against Cloke who otherwise could have a night out. Mackie tends to be a playmaker from the HB line.
LeisureSuitLori
20 May 2008, 22:23
H.shaw vs G. Ablett!
SOme may call me crazy but i think heath could do a good job and win ball himself. He is tagged on the HBF so has not been as influential, should relish the challenge. give him a go i reckon
Thumbs up from me. :thumbsu:
hellfire
20 May 2008, 22:25
H.shaw vs G. Ablett!
I think Didak is our best player, but that's an interesting idea.
CENTERMAN
20 May 2008, 22:25
H.shaw vs G. Ablett!
Agree, let's fight fire with fire, no saving games.
Being tagged can be a blessing for guys like Ablett, Judd, Hird etc. They never have to search for or be accountable for their man. (eg judd sat night, would not run unless carl had ball). Players like Heath could destroy opposition sides, for all we know. We need him down back unfortunately but there's also Daisy, Dids, Leon, Rhyse, Tarks, Medders etc that could all be given an open licence this week to kick chase and be as daring as they can when they have the pill. And please up the middle.
LeisureSuitLori
20 May 2008, 22:28
The match-up that concerns me the most is by far Rocca and Scarlett.
On both occasions last year, Scarlett roamed around without a worry in the world setting up play after play.
Rocca MUST kick goals, not just for the benefit of the team, but most of all.... to keep Scarlett honest!!
magpies42
21 May 2008, 01:40
I think Didak is our best player, but that's an interesting idea.
Heath v ablett is match up made in heaven if you ask me! Given that ablett plays forward of center and that heath plays in the back half it will work out. Heath has the never say die tenacity needed as well as being a big game/job player. provided that we spot up targets and dont turn it over on the half forward line, we should get hurt with heath rebounding either
So most importantly how do we stop Scarlett from running off Rocca and deciding the outcome of the game if it's close.
Try to get Cloke closer to goal and Rocca up the ground (which is a struggle due to Rocca's fitness)?
If we let Scarlett play his normal run off Rocca role, we will not have a chance of a win.
It would be nice if big Anthony can get on the scoreboard early and kick a couple in the 1st to at least get Scarlett a little accountable to him on the rebound.
Parallel Andy
21 May 2008, 02:14
H.shaw vs G. Ablett!
Some may call me crazy but i think heath could do a good job and win ball himself. He is tagged on the HBF so has not been as influential, should relish the challenge. give him a go i reckon
I doubt Malthouse would ever do something like that. I agree it would be an interesting move, but Malthouse is no Kevin Sheedy, rather, he's a predictable coach.
Coin_Toss
21 May 2008, 09:53
Josh Fraser v Brad Ottens - Stand up, Josh!
Scott Pendlebury/Dane Swan v Cameron Ling
Dale Thomas v Gary Ablett - Thomas played on Dal last week. Could he run with Ablett?
ksardog
21 May 2008, 10:13
cloke is the key if he can dominate taylor [ as he should ] we are well on our way .whoever is getting tagged by ling drag him to the forward line and exploit him on the lead .play didak in the midfield and rest him in the forward line not on the bench , he only needs a sniff at goal and he will deliver.big game this friday we havent played well this year but growing more confidant as the game gets closer.
hellfire
21 May 2008, 11:10
Dale Thomas v Gary Ablett - Thomas played on Dal last week. Could he run with Ablett?
Ottens is still out if I'm not mistaken. GREAT for us if that's correct.
And re: Shaw on Ablett. I'm convinced. Heath has a massive tank, in fact he usually plays 100% of the game doesn't he? If he were to go head-to-head in the midfield with Ablett, he'd need to get benched more often, but he could definately do it. He'd rough Ablett up, and hurt him on the rebound. I'm sure Ablett would win the contest, because I can't see anyone beating him at his best, but Heath will give a great account of himself. Do it Mick.
daics cousin
22 May 2008, 13:43
i just love it when the pies go into these big games as underdogs,because that's when we are at our best.pRefect way to run us into a bit of form.
This will be the game that will do that for us i reckon.
The cats will be without Ottens,ling is suss,so is mackie,and Bartel and Ablett are carrying injuries.
Bring on the pain.Watch didaK,Davis,Medhurst cut the pussie cats to pieces.
Pies by 15-20 points in a tough encounter.
Hopefully this game will be the confidence boost we need heading into the second half of the year.
Watch out for cloke nad even Rocca do assist in a few goals.
I'm with you, I'm very optimistic about this game, and I think they will set themselves to have a real crack after the Hawthorn embarrassment.
Time to win the respect of the footy world back and really take it to the best.
If things are working well and we have a little bit (maybe a lot) of luck we may just slip over the line. The cats a due, they've lost something like 1 in 30 odd games and haven't lost since around round 18-20 last year. Hopefully we're the team that can nail them on a big stage.
I just reckon the cats get a little bit unnerved when they play us, and I'd rather play them right now when they have a perfect record than a little later when they've dropped a game or 2.
Snag Breac
22 May 2008, 14:04
Ottens is still out if I'm not mistaken. GREAT for us if that's correct.
And re: Shaw on Ablett. I'm convinced. Heath has a massive tank, in fact he usually plays 100% of the game doesn't he? If he were to go head-to-head in the midfield with Ablett, he'd need to get benched more often, but he could definately do it. He'd rough Ablett up, and hurt him on the rebound. I'm sure Ablett would win the contest, because I can't see anyone beating him at his best, but Heath will give a great account of himself. Do it Mick.
But Ablett won't be at his best - he's "pulled up sore". So set Heath on him. Or maybe Thomas, who plays his 50th game this round. Good luck lads.
And hopefully Ling wont play either
frantelle
22 May 2008, 18:22
N.Brown v Mooney
Wakelin v Hawkins
H.Shaw v Steve Johnson
O'Brien v Chapman
Stokes v Clarke
Maxwell wherever needed.
Rhyce v Ablett
Pendles v Bartel
Swan v Ling
Burns/Obree v Corey
Thommo v Harley
Leon v Wojinski
Rocca v Scarlett
i rekon our backline should go something like:
wakelin v mooney (done the job on him in the past)
brown v hawkins (could develop into a jakovich/carey rivalry)
goldsack v stokes (i no stokes gave him a bit of a hiding early on last year in the prelim, but i do like this match up)
o'brien v chapman (obrien is the perfect match up for chapman in terms of strength and speed, not to mention the additional reach)
daisey v johnson (see if we cant teach this kid some responsobility, obviously rebounding with heath will have its benefits, just need to inform him not to ball watch and only fly when johnson does)
i think ling v pendlebury (as swan gave him a bit of a toweling last time, in saying that isnt ling injured?)
shaw v ablett (has the motor, just cant let him get pass him, even if ablett gets 10 disposals and shaw gets 0 it will be a win)
id like to see clarke v bartel (both have very similar physical attributes in terms of height speed etc)
if ling doesnt play i would like to see penders go head to head with corey, while corey is a ball magnet penders is a classier user and can really hurt the opposition going forward, if ling does play then o'bree is quite a good match up
wood (with the assistance of fraser) v west and blake, we dont lose anything here, but we do gain either a more mobile ruckmen (fraser) or a much better hitout ruckmen(wood)...the thing with wood i would like to see more is that he spikes it forward every now and then to mix it up and create the odd run on effect
*obviously with the midfield we will see didak neon leon and co rotate through, i think the key with this is, they derive some sort of complex way to indicate to eachother when to swap one forward and when to swap one in the midfield, can take a team 1/2 minutes to realise the changes and having neon or dids open for 1 minute will obviously result in a forward 50 mark
its hard to predict how their backline will line up on us
medhurst v hunt (medhurst is much better in the air, if this match up happens i think the obvious thing would be to leave 20m in front of medders, somewat lob it up and let him run onto it and jump into it, obviously he wont get 20m in our forward 50 so between the wing and chf should be plenty of room, while the cats lose hunts long kick out of defense 50 as well)
i cant see taylor playing basically because of our lack of talls, if fraser plays i reckon we play him forward (and let wood ruck a majority of the time), that way we have one of cloke rocca or fraser on taylor (more then likely, unless mackie matches up onto one of them, but he isnt very good one on one) taylor does not have the strength for rocca or cloke and doesnt have the leap to reach fraser in the air, i think we need to make full use of whoever taylor goes to), obviously the remaining 2 would be picked up by harley and scarlett
i also wouldnt mind seeing a small forward run with scarlett and whoever he matches up on, basically as the crumbing forward and to help deter scarletts rebound, which has been unbelivable thus far