View Full Version : Expansion GC17: Who even wants this team?

rjslcM
20 May 2008, 20:39
IMO, all of this is in my opinion.

The AFL are complete idiots for even trying to set up this team. They're better off creating a team in Tasmania or not at all. Who wants it to be made? Not me and no one else I know. I see no point in this team being created as it will do no good for the AFL. I think the people up there are quite happy going with Brissy anyway.

Do you want it to be made and if so what good will it do?

PumpyChowdown
20 May 2008, 20:57
Go to the optomitrist, your vision seems to be very short sighted. After there, head to Bay 13.

Paddy_Mac
20 May 2008, 22:07
I do.

Father Jack
20 May 2008, 22:18
People in Shepparton won't support a GC AFL team?

Silly AFL.

Fire
21 May 2008, 00:18
I do. I would rather it have been Southport, but I hope the GC does very well into the future.

Thankfully, the cultural cringe and an attitude of embarrassment shown by the OP is becoming somewhat dated in AFL circles. It was only a few years ago when it seemed the majority of AFL supporters on this forum were ridiculously conservative and ashamed of their code to the point where they had to openly critisize any event in which the AFL takes a tentative step forward, such as international footy and now the expansion into development territory.

It's refreshing.

numchuks
21 May 2008, 01:06
I agree with Fire.

Should have been Southport, a real club with real history.

GC17 is rot.

PumpyChowdown
21 May 2008, 01:36
I agree with Fire.

GC17 is rot.

Nah. Having grown up on the Coast, I reckon I've got a bit of an idea about the vibe of the place.

Southport is just a shitty northern suburb. It is in no way representative of the Coast, nor would it have gelled the whole of the Gold Coast into a team. True, in a romantic sense, it would have been good, but in a practical and financial sense, no chance. :o

Fire
21 May 2008, 10:35
Nah. Having grown up on the Coast, I reckon I've got a bit of an idea about the vibe of the place.

Southport is just a shitty northern suburb. It is in no way representative of the Coast, nor would it have gelled the whole of the Gold Coast into a team. True, in a romantic sense, it would have been good, but in a practical and financial sense, no chance. :o

Surely if Southport changed their name to, say, the Gold COast SHarks, then this wouldnt have been an issue?

I know that Port has some cons because of the strong SANFL divisions amoungst South Australians, but surley the QAFL isn't anywhere near as ingrained into people on the coast?

catters05
21 May 2008, 10:37
What will end up happening....

The Team will be called Gold Coast Sharks, the reserves will be Southport sharks.

This will be GC Team 17.

If not, the team will be a dud....University 2.

telsor
21 May 2008, 12:03
I agree with Fire.

GC17 is rot.

They learnt a lesson with Port.

Bringing in an existing team brings in the the supporters of that team, but supporters of all other teams from that league will carry over their hatred for them, meaning you only get a fraction of the market.

Fire
21 May 2008, 16:41
They learnt a lesson with Port.

Bringing in an existing team brings in the the supporters of that team, but supporters of all other teams from that league will carry over their hatred for them, meaning you only get a fraction of the market.

But you simply can't compare the relationship Queenslanders have with the QAFL with that of South Australians and the SANFL.

Anyway, how many QAFL teams are on the GC? You also cant compare a single city with many teams, to a single city with one.

littleduck
21 May 2008, 16:56
But you simply can't compare the relationship Queenslanders have with the QAFL with that of South Australians and the SANFL. True.

Anyway, how many QAFL teams are on the GC? Most of them.

Fire
21 May 2008, 17:01
True.

Anyway, how many QAFL teams are on the GC? Most of them.[/QUOTE]

I count 3 QSL teams on the coast. Its more than one, but its hardly most.

Gibbke
21 May 2008, 23:40
I'm neither here nor there on the idea. I like the idea of the AFL becoming very very rich, because if you actually can squeeze the money back out of them, more money can't be bad for footy - I remember the 80's and 90's all too well. The GC and Sydney are the key to them upping the tv rights, so if the AFL came clean and actually said "we're making two teams of our own to flog to the networks and boost the tv deal to an obscene amount even Bill Gates would label us Western Capitalist Pigs over", then no worries. Do what you gotta do...

What I am absolutely opposed to is the backstabbing of existing clubs that's accompanied it. The events of the last couple of years involving North have disgusted me as a fan. The lies from the AFL and clear manipulation have completely erased any belief I might have had that they are set up to run the game from the top right down to the kids and the punters thinking of its best possible interests. Only an idiot actually believes that the expansion is being done for the greater good of footy, and the idea and slogan that used to be the VFL's "the people's game" is dead...the suits run it...

I guess my biggest issue will be looking at the tv guide for the upcoming matches, and seeing these non-entities every single week because I live up here. West Sydney in front of under 10000 against a fellow struggler, and on the same day broadcast into every other state except this one and NSW, is Carlton v Collingwood, or the best game of the round between WA and SA clubs...I can't get enthusiastic about these two new sides, much the same as a Freo match is dead brain time even after 14 seasons...they'll be rubbish, bloated with concessions for years that can only harm the balance of other sides (everyone gets to be Carlton for a decade while we dumb down footy so these two cash cows don't look like even bigger jokes...yay...), and years later they still be filled with WA, SA and Vic recruits...

MickZu
23 May 2008, 14:00
IMO, all of this is in my opinion.

The AFL are complete idiots for even trying to set up this team. They're better off creating a team in Tasmania or not at all.

That's business economics 101 right? ;)

stmookeyj
24 May 2008, 00:38
Anyway, how many QAFL teams are on the GC? You also cant compare a single city with many teams, to a single city with one.

3 in Div 1 (Southport, Broadbeach, Labrador), half of Div 2.

Personally if it does nothing for the game in the regions North of Brisbane (as in game development) then I won't support it. As it is I'll remain passionate towards the Dogs.

Anthony_
27 May 2008, 00:40
I do

littleduck
27 May 2008, 08:05
I do

Are you wavering as a Bulldogs supporter are you?

Chops_a_must
27 May 2008, 08:20
I worry, especially with W Sydney, that the team will be pulled 5 years in or whatever because they can't pay their players or whatever. That's my biggest concern. Especially seeing as though Sydney still has trouble as far as I'm aware.

blue_n_wyte
27 May 2008, 08:59
I don't disagree but I can see it hurting the draft picks and other teams cronicly so im up an down on it...

trev106
27 May 2008, 10:12
The AFL wants a team there cuase the NRL has one and the A league are going there to pretty much. The GC is a huge growth area which is another reason for the AFL wanting a team based there, I think it will be good for the growth of the game. I just dont get why they'd want a 2nd team in Sydney i dont think i team there is a good idea, give Tassie a team its a real footy state and I'd better evryone in Tasie would get right behind it.

Anthony_
27 May 2008, 10:55
Are you wavering as a Bulldogs supporter are you?

Hardly, just will support it as a secondary team.

catters05
27 May 2008, 11:57
Go the Gold Coast Sharks!!! :thumbsu:

littleduck
27 May 2008, 12:18
Hardly, just will support it as a secondary team.The new team will be pleased if you buy tickets and perhaps season tickets, but the club should not be marketing itself to your type. A virgin club cannot find its own spirit and it soul with a large proportion of "second team supporters".

It'd be like trying to build a lasting relationship with the 3rd party in a threesome. It's a good fling for a little while but its not a long-term relationship.

Anthony_
27 May 2008, 12:28
The new team will be pleased if you buy tickets and perhaps season tickets, but the club should not be marketing itself to your type. A virgin club cannot find its own spirit and it soul with a large proportion of "second team supporters".

It'd be like trying to build a lasting relationship with the 3rd party in a threesome. It's a good fling for a little while but its not a long-term relationship.

Will be a casual partner :cool:

Not buying a membership or anything, will just go to a few games here and there.

Go the Doggies. :thumbsu:

magpie_militia
27 May 2008, 12:30
Little Duck - will you be supporting the new GC team or remain with the Lions?

IIRC, you changed to the Titans from the Broncos when they entered the NRL?

littleduck
27 May 2008, 12:59
Little Duck - will you be supporting the new GC team or remain with the Lions?

IIRC, you changed to the Titans from the Broncos when they entered the NRL?

I'm a Lions fan. I began following the Lions when Roger Merrett was captain and got us into 8th spot for the Finals for the very first time in the late 90's, so I came on-board pre-Premierships. The Premiership era was good and now is the list rebuilding phase which you must go through. The people have embraced the Lions as their own.

I am not about to defect to the Gold Coast club and go through all of that long-term struggle for acceptance again. The Lions are now accepted; the Gold Coast will have to wait 20 years for that. On the other hand, the Titans juggernaut came about because the people of SEQ had an underlying desire to be represented in the NRL and they just needed an outlet for their latent passion via their own team. The Broncos didn't do it for most RL supporters in SEQ and still don't. The Titans fanbase already existed.

I have supported the Broncos since 1988 too and follow them closely, but the Broncos were effectively a state-representative team from day dot with a star-studded line-up for every game so they never really had to build up from scratch like the Titans or the Lions so the Broncos Premiership successes were more of a welcome relief that they had played to their ability rather than an overcome the odds adrenalin high underdog-type success you might expect following a Titans Premiership or Lions Premiership.

Professor Knowall
27 May 2008, 19:14
I'm a Lions fan. ...
Of course you are! A true Lions fanatic!! We can all tell that. :rolleyes:

... On the other hand, the Titans juggernaut came about because the people of SEQ had an underlying desire to be represented in the NRL and they just needed an outlet for their latent passion via their own team. ...
If the Titans really came about because "... the people of SEQ had an underlying desire to be represented ...", than why didn't it become a tradional publicy owned membership club - with all profits thus returned to the club and/or code.

Instead, all the profits line the deept pockets of Searle and a couple of his cronies.

Beware - the Titans may yet live up to what happened the original Titans of Greek mythology - the elder gods who were banished to vaults at the bottom of the ocean by Kronos and the younger Olympiad gods.

Hey - maybe that could be the name for the new AFl club - the Olympiads, conquerers of the Titans! ;)

Sebastian Balboa
27 May 2008, 20:54
Of course you are! A true Lions fanatic!! We can all tell that. :rolleyes:

If the Titans really came about because "... the people of SEQ had an underlying desire to be represented ...", than why didn't it become a tradional publicy owned membership club - with all profits thus returned to the club and/or code.

Instead, all the profits line the deept pockets of Searle and a couple of his cronies.

Beware - the Titans may yet live up to what happened the original Titans of Greek mythology - the elder gods who were banished to vaults at the bottom of the ocean by Kronos and the younger Olympiad gods.

Hey - maybe that could be the name for the new AFl club - the Olympiads, conquerers of the Titans! ;)

The brief actually reads:
"A few people in SEQ had an underlying desire to line their pockets by fleecing gullible Gold Coasters who mistakenly think the Titans belongs to them."

littleduck
27 May 2008, 21:01
Of course you are! A true Lions fanatic!! We can all tell that. :rolleyes: Yes, yes I am.

If the Titans really came about because "... the people of SEQ had an underlying desire to be represented ...", than why didn't it become a tradional publicy owned membership club - with all profits thus returned to the club and/or code. Extensive research showed that private investment by Gold Coast locals a better model than the alternative which would have been a drain on the NRL and non-gold coast interests.

Instead, all the profits line the deept pockets of Searle and a couple of his cronies. Private owners around the world arent in it for the profit and generally expect to accrue losses but dont care because its not just another business.

Beware - the Titans may yet live up to what happened the original Titans of Greek mythology - the elder gods who were banished to vaults at the bottom of the ocean by Kronos and the younger Olympiad gods. would you like that to happen?

Hey - maybe that could be the name for the new AFl club - the Olympiads, conquerers of the Titans! ;)good idea!

littleduck
27 May 2008, 21:02
"A few people in SEQ had an underlying desire to line their pockets by fleecing gullible Gold Coasters who mistakenly think the Titans belongs to them."

Yeah, its been a failure.

mediumsizered
27 May 2008, 21:17

Unfortunately a handful of Titans' supporters at yesterday's Wests v Titans' game at Leichhardt, found out, after the game, just how little the club belongs to them when Scott Prince was ushered past them onto the team bus by 2 security guards, who made it abundantly clear he would not be stopping to talk to the fans or sign autographs. Apparently they were off to a private team dinner (I bet Searle & his cronies were present).

SEQ's other privately owned NRL team have also been very good at making it known that players are off limits to supporters. Keeping them nicely hidden away at the club's headquarters after games. This is where AFL clubs are so much better with their club supporters. Regularly allowing supporters the opportunity to get up close with their heroes. I suppose that is what happens when clubs are owned by the supporters, not a greedy few.

Sebastian Balboa
27 May 2008, 21:25
Yeah, its been a failure.

Obviously, and by the looks of things, the big fella's porkin' up with the proceeds:

http://images.newsphotos.com.au/images5/Lores/95020232.jpg

Sebastian Balboa
2 Jun 2008, 19:48
In answer to the OP, looks like a growing number of us do want this team; 7000 now registered as willing to support the new club. :thumbsu:

Anthony_
3 Jun 2008, 12:23
In answer to the OP, looks like a growing number of us do want this team; 7000 now registered as willing to support the new club. :thumbsu:

You got that newsletter email as well hey? ;)

Holding The Ball
3 Jun 2008, 16:34
The Gold Coast franchise will be a JOKE.