View Full Version : Hawk McGlynn suspended for four matches
noosa hawk mad
20 May 2008, 20:53
http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=59936
Sucks!:thumbsd:
Once he heard Burgoyne got his appeal dismissed, he should have gone in and said
"actually, I just wanted to check it was for 3 weeks...." and left quickly....
never going to be overturned based on the Burgoynes result....
mighty_fighting
20 May 2008, 20:57
Shoooot......and Shaun Burgoyne gets 3????
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsid=59934
Hawkamania!
20 May 2008, 21:02
Shoooot......and Shaun Burgoyne gets 3????
http://www.portadelaidefc.com.au/tabid/6038/Default.aspx?newsid=59934
No surprise there. If you wear the Brown and Gold, expect a harsher penalty.
noosa hawk mad
20 May 2008, 21:04
Once he heard Burgoyne got his appeal dismissed, he should have gone in and said
"actually, I just wanted to check it was for 3 weeks...." and left quickly....
never going to be overturned based on the Burgoynes result....4 weeks in comparison to B Hall KO & gets only 3 more wheres the consistency shit the game is getting bloody soft!
Satchmo
20 May 2008, 21:11
No surprise there. If you wear the Brown and Gold, expect a harsher penalty.
They were actually the same, but Ben had carry over points left from that striking charge.
Mitchell Madness
20 May 2008, 21:12
Its because of all those bloody lawyers the clubs use! FFS! dont use lawyers! use your own damn knowledge! if McGlynn went in and showed the tape and said "see, here you see I have already commited to making a CONTEST (you say that word to AFL and they instantly believe you did something good). And Here you see the VICTIM (acknowledges he hurt the opponent) turn his head toward me, which, byt that time meant i could not pull out of the CONTEST"
would be dismissed instantly in my opinion.
Mervyn Beasley
20 May 2008, 21:12
I'm angry. There was no intention at all. Cornes dropped to the ground after McG was committed at hi speed.
Purely political relative to head high stuff.
Time for Clarko to change his "Ï dont mind players playing close to the edge if it means a week or 2 here and there"
It sounds like we dont care and thus they rub our noses in it.
Henry Jr
20 May 2008, 21:16
Sorry, did I miss something.
I thought they said on Sports 927 this morning that he may as well appeal the charge as he couldn't get anymore than 3 weeks?
wolvesjr34
20 May 2008, 21:16
The AFL has proved how f***ing stupid they are, he HARDLY touche dhis head, and was attacking side on... I'm sick and tired of the inconsistent bulldust.
AT least Burgoyne got done tho - I mean he actually did damge - Cornes got up after his supposed FRONT on contact.
Goldhawk
20 May 2008, 21:28
Dumb move by the Hawks to appeal and get an extra week.I wonder why they even bothered.
That's deliberate
20 May 2008, 21:37
Should have got 5 weeks, a further week bcos the club is that stupid to try to defend McGlynns sorry ass attempt.
WTF were they thinking.
I support the club but FFS, whoevers decision it was to contest needs to be removed asap, utter stupidity in the highest order.
macdaddio
20 May 2008, 21:37
burgoyne ko,s mitch and gets 3 weeks, mighty mouse falls over the top of him and no damage done, cornes gets a free kick and thats all it was...
cant believe the inconsistancy and the media say we are undisciplined,well if the tribunial had any brains then lewis wouldnt had missed a match mighty mouse wouldnt be missing 4 matches and we would not be known as the undisciplined bunch...........
:thumbsd::thumbsd:
philhawk
20 May 2008, 21:54
Don't see why he appealed in the first place.
It was essentially a one week bye when you think of it.
We play Essendon and Melbourne over the next three weeks.
Now he also misses the tough Crows match. :thumbsd:
Hodgepodge
20 May 2008, 21:57
This is actually kinda funny, when you think about it. Oh well, Tim Clarke is an instant replacement.
RustyHawk
20 May 2008, 22:13
This is actually kinda funny, when you think about it. Oh well, Tim Clarke is an instant replacement.
I fail to see the funny side.
Thought both players where stiff.
Hawks tried a different tack to Port - pleading guilty to a lesser charge.
Very sad for Benny.
Very sad for footy.
Time Machine
20 May 2008, 22:24
I think it was right to appeal, they were attempting to have the incident downgraded which would have reduced the points McG has against him, and the final decision would have been left with McG to agree to proceed as the risk was 4 games and not 3, a weeks pay, so the club would have weighed up the fors and against and went for it, but got done. McG has a poor record, he can only blame himself.
OxDomain
20 May 2008, 22:26
Tribunal is a joke! We have had the rough end of the stick all year! As previously posted we are starting to pay for being so open about our attack at all costs attitude!
Line in the Sand
20 May 2008, 22:38
four weeks to work on his disposal...should be enough.
Best news i have heard all day.
15hodge
21 May 2008, 00:03
So, 7 weeks for Barry Hall and his deliberate "brain explosion" and 4 weeks for McGlynn cos he couldnt pull out of a contest in time to prevent accidental high contact.
Consistent? :thumbsd:
I think it is a bad decision but at the end of the day I am not fussed as Clarke is just as good, if not better then Mighty anyway.
Roughie
21 May 2008, 00:41
I thought three was fine, actually expected him to get 4 originally. He shouldnt have challenged, his one was alot worst then Burgoynes. Burgoyne shouldnt have even had a case to answer too.
Hawka_de_Haven
21 May 2008, 00:54
Pretty rough if you ask me. Mighty Mouse was committed and had nowhere to go but straight. I guess running around with a bandada for the rest of the game as Cornes did, did not help MM chances. But I see where the Hawks though they had a case, if only he had used his arms and not his hip and shoulder it may have been a different outcome. ANyway, I hope Mglynn learns his lesson. I love the way he goes about it, classic example of a man with small stature but bucket loads of courage. With a little guidance and persistents he can turn out to be one of the gun smalls of the competition. He is a beauty. ANd no I am not his mum.
LoneStar
21 May 2008, 05:10
4 weeks in comparison to B Hall KO & gets only 3 more wheres the consistency shit the game is getting bloody soft!The game has not gotten soft as much as the Match Review donkeys & Tribunal idiots have gotten too full of themselves. I understand that players are bigger/faster/stronger than they were 30 years ago & there have to be sanctions in place today which will discourage & hopefully prevent serious injury. But 4 weeks for an incident that did not seem extremely reckless & was almost certainly not intentional is ridiculous. By the standards being employed by the MRP, McGlynn's offense was 67% of an intentional Jeff Farmer eye-gouge & 57% of a premeditated Barry Hall left hook. By the scale being employed today, a knife-stabbing in a forward pocket would be worth about 10 weeks & a murder in the goal square would net the offender 12 weeks (with an early plea & no applicable bad record.)
Its because of all those bloody lawyers the clubs use! FFS! dont use lawyers! use your own damn knowledge! if McGlynn went in and showed the tape and said "see, here you see I have already commited to making a CONTEST (you say that word to AFL and they instantly believe you did something good). And Here you see the VICTIM (acknowledges he hurt the opponent) turn his head toward me, which, byt that time meant i could not pull out of the CONTEST"
would be dismissed instantly in my opinion.
That was pretty much what they argued in trying to get it downgraded (well they argued he left his feet at the last second instead of turning, and that when he did that McGlynn did everything he could to minimise contact by rolling over him) the tribunal didn't care and only took 10 minutes to reach a decision.
FriarTuck
21 May 2008, 09:32
Benny was reckless - to say the least. Considering his priors, three was about right - four is harsh.
Marklar_33
21 May 2008, 10:04
4 weeks in comparison to B Hall KO & gets only 3 more wheres the consistency shit the game is getting bloody soft!
Myth.
Barry Hall got 10 weeks, reduced by guilty plea
MinerBoy
21 May 2008, 10:06
4 weeks in comparison to B Hall KO & gets only 3 more wheres the consistency shit the game is getting bloody soft!
Agree.
Very stiff IMO. He actually came running in fairly carelessly but at the same time, it was from the back/side rather than front on and should have been nothing more than a free kick due to the high contact.
Burgoyne also dudded.
Myth.
Barry Hall got 10 weeks, reduced by guilty plea
Myth.
Only the match review panel can give a sentence deduction for a guilty plea. Hall's case went directly to the tribunal.
richoatthedisco
21 May 2008, 12:45
The dirty squib got what he deserved. Lined up and ran through Kel Moore, who only had eyes for the ball, against the Tiges, then put out one very short arm when it was his turn to go a bit later in the match. A real tough guy who makes easy hits on vulnerable blokes then won't take his lick. Kinda like Clarko running away from all those Carlton blokes at the Oval after he gutlessly broke Ian Aitken's jaw...:thumbsd:
FWIW, Barry Hall should have got 12 weeks for his.
Mitchell Madness
21 May 2008, 12:52
The dirty squib got what he deserved. Lined up and ran through Kel Moore, who only had eyes for the ball, against the Tiges, then put out one very short arm when it was his turn to go a bit later in the match. A real tough guy who makes easy hits on vulnerable blokes then won't take his lick. Kinda like Clarko running away from all those Carlton blokes at the Oval after he gutlessly broke Ian Aitken's jaw...:thumbsd:
you are a nob if you believe he went straight at any player. HE did that in his first season when he was a rookie, as simple as that... wait...... we are big bullies:)
richoatthedisco
21 May 2008, 13:17
you are a nob if you believe he went straight at any player. HE did that in his first season when he was a rookie, as simple as that... wait...... we are big bullies:)
I don't believe it, I know it. It was right in front of me. The whole crowd saw it, which was why he was booed for the rest of the game, and probably a factor in why he squibbed it when it was his turn.
noosa hawk mad
21 May 2008, 13:58
Agree.
Very stiff IMO. He actually came running in fairly carelessly but at the same time, it was from the back/side rather than front on and should have been nothing more than a free kick due to the high contact.
Burgoyne also dudded.we teach our players to attack the footy careless but not worth 4 weeks!
Burgoyne IMHO taking my Brown & Gold classes of was accidental & thats how i saw it guys!
noosa hawk mad
21 May 2008, 14:03
FWIW, Barry Hall should have got 12 weeks for his.Listen up you little tool i should bitch slap you mate! don't come on our ____en board & call Our players dirty squibs!:thumbsd:
Roughie
21 May 2008, 14:10
Mate McGlynn hands it out in all aspects of the game, you wont find anyone harder at Hawthorn when it comes to putting his head over the football. He is like Jake King, but just with talent.
Hodgepodge
21 May 2008, 14:13
In: Fiora, Tambling
Out: Pavlich, Franklin
noosa hawk mad
21 May 2008, 14:16
Out: Pavlich, Franklin:D:thumbsu:
richoatthedisco
21 May 2008, 14:59
Listen up you little tool i should bitch slap you mate! don't come on our ____en board & call Our players dirty squibs!:thumbsd:
191cm, 96kg and a rapid right cross say let's go hero. Tell you what, you keep all the Hawk trolls off our board and I'll stay away from yours. Or we could meet up for that bitch-slapping. Mightn't go the way you hoped though...
Mate McGlynn hands it out in all aspects of the game, you wont find anyone harder at Hawthorn when it comes to putting his head over the football. He is like Jake King, but just with talent.
Mate I was there. He took his eyes off the ball twice - once to run at a man camped under a high ball and once to avoid getting hit himself. It's a fact - 40,000+ saw it.
noosa hawk mad
21 May 2008, 15:16
[quote=richoatthedisco;11085419]191cm, 96kg and a rapid right cross say let's go hero. Tell you what, you keep all the Hawk trolls off our board and I'll stay away from yours. Or we could meet up for that bitch-slapping. Mightn't go the way you hoped though...
I think it might mate tell you what the meet up sounds great mate !
Roughie
21 May 2008, 16:37
Mate I was there. He took his eyes off the ball twice - once to run at a man camped under a high ball and once to avoid getting hit himself. It's a fact - 40,000+ saw it.
I dont believe you, you need more people!!
If we want to talk soft we can bring up a very high draft pick of yours? You know the one, some may call him pea-heart? Wait untill we play you in round 20 and we will see who squibs the contests ;)
Roughie
21 May 2008, 16:40
191cm, 96kg and a rapid right cross say let's go hero. Tell you what, you keep all the Hawk trolls off our board and I'll stay away from yours. Or we could meet up for that bitch-slapping. Mightn't go the way you hoped though...
Oh can I please be a tough man like you! Can you teach me to be tough on the computer and lie about my height and weight oh please! Maybe you can play for Richmond? And be their only decent key position forward after Richo? Thats if you dont get rubbed out for bitch slapping guys first :rolleyes:
Now quickly get off the computer before mum gets home
Collins-Langford-Ayres
21 May 2008, 23:18
Out: Pavlich, Franklin
Love it.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
lethalselbow
22 May 2008, 09:35
3 weeks was about right. They shouldn't have challenged it.
Stupid act that deserved what it got.
bowlrig
22 May 2008, 14:26
Ran through him:eek:.Moore is 6 inches taller and 10 kgs heavier than Benny.
Was poor Kel OK.
At least the little fella has a fair dinkum go.
And to call him a squib, you tool, is not to know him.
croady_fan24
22 May 2008, 18:32
Starting off with 3 weeks is shocking. It wasn't a bad hit. Cornes reacted like it was the end of the world. Mitch got K.O and Burgyone got 1 week. Pathetic.
What a joke in all honesty.
Why they appealed is beyond me..
you can't win against the AFL.