View Full Version : Bevan, and his tackle..

snappy
20 May 2008, 22:47
I wanted to talk about it, that tackle of his on 2 Bombers at the same time on the weekend, was the funniest thing ive seen in footy in ages. Absolute classic..
Also have to i have bagged him in the past and am happy to be proven wrong, that he should have been on his way out. I like him playing further up the ground he has excellent defensive pressure and is also kicking and making better decisions.
I hope he keeps getting better and look forward to more positive amusing antics from him.

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 22:50
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b301/SOPHROX/GALL_SWAN_SS6_gallery__470x318.jpg

YEAH Inspo us roomies girls are proud of him

MalceskiFan
20 May 2008, 22:51
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b301/SOPHROX/GALL_SWAN_SS6_gallery__470x318.jpg

YEAH Inspo us roomies girls are proud of him

That was the best tackle I've seen all season. Brutal :thumbsu:

SOPH_CROSS
20 May 2008, 22:53
his arms arnt just nice 2 look at they do some good tackling aswell :thumbsu:

Tedeski
20 May 2008, 23:37
He belongs in this team & must never be removed from it. I couldn't give a rats if he doesn't get a kick but the fear he must put into the opposition when he is around is deafening. Don't worry.............the experts will soon be standing up & taking notice of him as I'm sure the opposition coaches are.

Let him loose on the Hawks. We'll see how tough they really are.

Cheers!

rancidpants13
21 May 2008, 00:23
I wanted to talk about it, that tackle of his on 2 Bombers at the same time on the weekend, was the funniest thing ive seen in footy in ages. Absolute classic..
Also have to i have bagged him in the past and am happy to be proven wrong, that he should have been on his way out. I like him playing further up the ground he has excellent defensive pressure and is also kicking and making better decisions.
I hope he keeps getting better and look forward to more positive amusing antics from him.

i wanted to start a post on this meself
it was a ripper, has anyone seen a better one-on-one tackle recently?
whatever i've said about bevan and his skill deficiencies or decision-making doubts, there's no doubt he's a cracking tackler, he nailed someone else, a much bigegr bloke, some weeks back, can't remember who
and he's been better generally this year
fantastic stuff

Tuco
21 May 2008, 09:47
I'm pretty sure he's the hardest tackler we have right now. Although young Jack might be closing in on that title.

natlovestheswans
21 May 2008, 09:56
So Inspo.

Porkhead
21 May 2008, 10:36
I'm pretty sure he's the hardest tackler we have right now. Although young Jack might be closing in on that title.

Might have been said before but his Grandfather, Brian Bevan, was picked in the rugby league team of the century which was announced recently.

Brian apparently was a try scorer to rival Plugger in terms of average etc.

Perhaps thats where Paul gets his tackling skills from.

Kieran Jack the same I guess. Perhaps we have gained something from Rugby league!!

RUNVS
21 May 2008, 10:45
Might have been said before but his Grandfather, Brian Bevan, was picked in the rugby league team of the century which was announced recently.

Brian apparently was a try scorer to rival Plugger in terms of average etc.

Perhaps thats where Paul gets his tackling skills from.

Kieran Jack the same I guess. Perhaps we have gained something from Rugby league!!

Rumours are that the son of Chris Mortimer wants to follow in Kieren Jack's footsteps and become a Sydney Swan. It would be great to have a Mortimer play for the Swans as it is certainly a fomous name in Rugby League.

EatBig Australia
21 May 2008, 12:31
Bevo's tackles were awesome on the weekend. Them and Super Teds goal were the highlights for mine.

natlovestheswans
21 May 2008, 12:58
Bevo's tackles were awesome on the weekend. Them and Super Teds goal were the highlights for mine.

Leo's goal aswell. Oh and when Mark McVeigh knocked Henry Playfair down.. haha, I hate Henry.

legend166
21 May 2008, 13:49
I've long been a supporter of Bevo, even when everyone here has been bagging him. He's always been a hard nut, but his skills let him down. He's picked them up though, and now is a very useful player.

grimlock
21 May 2008, 14:16
I've long been a supporter of Bevo, even when everyone here has been bagging him. He's always been a hard nut, but his skills let him down. He's picked them up though, and now is a very useful player.
The bagging was not without justification. He's playing well now, he wasn't towards the tail end of last season. As long as he knows his limitations, I'd have him in the team.

ssfc0203
21 May 2008, 18:37
So Inspo.
:D inspo = inspo.

Banyo Bloods
21 May 2008, 19:26
I've always been a fan too because he is so hard at it.

The tackle pictured was great but yeah when he tackled two Essondon blokes because he wasn't sure which one had the ball was fantastic. They did make an intersting point that isn't then one player being tackled when not in posession but there is no way the umps could call it as it was up there with Peter Carey taking a mark over in the west ha ha ha

The thing that sticks in my mind about poor Bevo is Leigh Matthews comments when he was accepting the medal on Grand Final day basically suggesting he's lucky to be getting one over opinionated boob :thumbsd:

snappy
21 May 2008, 20:16
Rumours are that the son of Chris Mortimer wants to follow in Kieren Jack's footsteps and become a Sydney Swan. It would be great to have a Mortimer play for the Swans as it is certainly a fomous name in Rugby League.

That would be great to have a Mortimer, i bet Chris would be spewing and the Bulldogs. He was a legend for Canterbury, surely his son must be a talented athlete.

chrismcgrath
21 May 2008, 21:12
He belongs in this team & must never be removed from it. I couldn't give a rats if he doesn't get a kick but the fear he must put into the opposition when he is around is deafening. Don't worry.............the experts will soon be standing up & taking notice of him as I'm sure the opposition coaches are.

Let him loose on the Hawks. We'll see how tough they really are.

Cheers!
i remember when he first started dermie said he is a hard nut and to watch out for him

.Shotties.
21 May 2008, 21:55
He was a terror in juniors. Put the fear of God in anyone in the St George comp. I still remember the time he flattened another player so hard we could hear the flesh smack on the opposite side of the wing.

ssfc0203
21 May 2008, 22:08
He was a terror in juniors. Put the fear of God in anyone in the St George comp. I still remember the time he flattened another player so hard we could hear the flesh smack on the opposite side of the wing.
Oh shit :eek:

Did you play in the same comp. as him ?

SouthSwans
21 May 2008, 22:56
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/Flanas89/benmathews23.jpg http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/Flanas89/Danial_Cross_2007_246.jpg http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/Flanas89/benmathews22.jpg

Crunch, crunch and crunch.

Superior. But good on ya Bevan.

.Shotties.
21 May 2008, 23:05
Oh shit :eek:

Did you play in the same comp. as him ?

Me and my brother played on the same team as him, Wests Juniors.

Tuco
21 May 2008, 23:30
http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/Flanas89/benmathews23.jpg http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/Flanas89/Danial_Cross_2007_246.jpg http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n274/Flanas89/benmathews22.jpg

Crunch, crunch and crunch.

Superior. But good on ya Bevan.

Nice. Benny does tackle well.

But I reckon this tacklee below has clearly been owned the most.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b301/SOPHROX/GALL_SWAN_SS6_gallery__470x318.jpg <----"help me mummy!" :D

ssfc0203
21 May 2008, 23:58
"Hold me and don't you ever let me go!"

*Shotties: Cool! My brother's going to be joining Pennant Hills (the McVeighs' junior club). Must've known each other since you were pretty young!

.Shotties.
22 May 2008, 00:13
"Hold me and don't you ever let me go!"

*Shotties: Cool! My brother's going to be joining Pennant Hills (the McVeighs' junior club). Must've known each other since you were pretty young!

Lol Penno. If he makes their top squads at least he'll have a taste of success.

ssfc0203
22 May 2008, 00:26
Lol Penno. If he makes their top squads at least he'll have a taste of success.
Yeah I'm hoping. Otherwise he gets claimed by cricket, they said he might be a chance for regional + further. I love cricket but somehow him playing footy seems much more awesome.

rancidpants13
22 May 2008, 13:59

yeah, that's right, i'd forgotten about the double tackle, and both bombers looked shite-scared he was gonna dump em, neither wanted the ball