View Full Version : NevilleBartos's Tasmanian Adventure [Top Thread - RH]

Neville Bartos
20 May 2008, 23:52
When I say adventure, it sounds like I actually did something like climb mountains, fight tassie devils or have something to show from my 3 days in Tasmania...

I've posted these photos in this mustard pot forum so my true identity can be somewhat concealed as I am not the most handsome man in the world and don't want it used against me in the pits of Bay13...

Pretty much me and 2 mates went to Tassie to watch the hawks play, but it ended up being a bender of biblical proportions where no hour passed without heavy beer consumption.
We flew into Hobart at 9am on Friday morning after a pub crawl in St. Kilda on thursday night and got on the beers again by 11am after purchasing some boags and cascade. From there we went straight to the Cascade Brewery where we took a tour of the site. The tour was probably the longest we went without beer over the whole weekend. After the tour we hung out in the picturesque Cascade gardens and drank several jugs of the Cascade Limited Edition First Harvest beer which I can say with authority, is the best beer I've ever tasted (I've lived in Belgium, so I think I know a bit about the stuff). We took such a liking to the place, we stayed until they told us that they had closed for the 5th time.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLHd3a7qbI/AAAAAAAAA7M/zY_8diqNlRA/DSC01577.JPG?imgmax=640

So many bottles of beeeeeeeeer

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLHiHa7qcI/AAAAAAAAA7U/Jj_d344Cu3c/DSC01583.JPG?imgmax=640

My mate trying to get a free sample before the end of the tour

http://lh5.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLEz3a7qQI/AAAAAAAAA50/AOwci24HPpg/DSC01589.JPG?imgmax=512

I'm the douchebag on the right

http://lh5.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLE43a7qRI/AAAAAAAAA58/PdWbno4TWJA/DSC01594.JPG?imgmax=640

Cascade First Harvest

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFCHa7qSI/AAAAAAAAA6E/2EMzM37TrqM/DSC01595.JPG?imgmax=640

We drank so much they gave us jobs behind the bar

Neville Bartos
20 May 2008, 23:59
After almost spewing on the bus back to Hobart, we finished off our slab and hit the town where we made complete fools of ourselves with the opposite sex.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFG3a7qTI/AAAAAAAAA6M/Jxrh9mHCPkg/DSC01619.JPG?imgmax=640

All that beer was really starting to sink in...(Me on left)

http://lh3.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLKeXa7qdI/AAAAAAAAA7c/JngfNusK26k/DSC01611.JPG?imgmax=640

We met Corey Worthington and Nick Riewoldt's illegitimate love child

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFNHa7qUI/AAAAAAAAA6U/mv6YAEfT3s0/DSC01624.JPG?imgmax=640

I had no idea what I was doing

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFSHa7qVI/AAAAAAAAA6c/30viF7D1lEI/DSC01675.JPG?imgmax=640

My mate had a better idea of what he was doing

http://lh4.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLKjna7qeI/AAAAAAAAA7k/CMB_tWVkkcc/DSC01660.JPG?imgmax=640

But in the end it all worked out well for us

Neville Bartos
21 May 2008, 00:10
Somehow we had to return our hire car to Launceston by 10am the next morning, so we forced ourselves out of our beer, pizza and souvlaki covered hotel room and drove (luckily there were no breathaliser men) up to Launceston to see the mighty Hawks.

We arrived in Inceston to the welcome of hundreds of people wandering the streets in hawk scarves and jumpers and enjoyed all the posters, banners and balloons in shop fronts and in the street. Launceston is a hawk town and it's a great feeling to march into a bar, wearing your colours and have everyone cheer.

We went to the game and sat on the Southern wing in general admin and sat through the horrible first quarter. Unfortunately our hangovers had gotten to their worst by qtr time and we were staring down the barrel at a ruined weekend that had promised so much. Luckily the hawks turned it around and with it, our health.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLB23a7p4I/AAAAAAAAA2Y/o7nCcayVUSQ/DSC01684.JPG?imgmax=640

Kings of Launceston

http://lh4.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLCWna7p9I/AAAAAAAAA3E/ItArPgsqfiQ/DSC01691.JPG?imgmax=640

X warming up

http://lh3.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLCvXa7qCI/AAAAAAAAA3s/r1V_fdG9dHY/DSC01696.JPG?imgmax=640

This maniac had a half hawks, half power beanie...

http://lh4.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLC3na7qEI/AAAAAAAAA38/LPwbSdBwkIw/DSC01698.JPG?imgmax=640

The rain is a coming

http://lh3.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLDIXa7qHI/AAAAAAAAA4U/4IUfkc3AFbs/DSC01702.JPG?imgmax=640

FERALS!

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLDSHa7qJI/AAAAAAAAA4k/qfjliJRdlpQ/DSC01707.JPG?imgmax=640

We're a happy team with a win and no bad hangovers

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLDtHa7qOI/AAAAAAAAA5M/xUvAydqcPHM/DSC01714.JPG?imgmax=640

Re-enacting Sam Mitchell vs Shaun Burgoyne on the ground after the game

P.S. Aurora is massive and has the best grass you will EVER see

Neville Bartos
21 May 2008, 00:19
After a great win, we had to go celebrate, so we piled into Lloyd's for some good ol' hashion pub fun and some more drinks. I was so smashed by this stage that I fell asleep standing up on the dancefloor and had no idea what city I was in when I woke up. I have no idea how I have any photos from this night at all... We ended up at Lonnie's apparently, which is the only club in town (other than the mighty hawks) and we partied long and hard i'm told. The next morning we went to KFC, at alot of chicken and went to the casino to kick the footy for 3 hours before we flew home.

All in all, this was one of the greatest benders / short trips I've even been on, and couldn't wipe the smile off my face at work today. I strongly recommend organising a similar trip as you'll meet some really friendly people, drink Australia's best beer and get to watch the mighty hawks in our own hostile environment. Thanks to everyone in Tassie for making us feel welcome, and we're planning to make it an annual trip after this year's success.

http://lh5.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFW3a7qWI/AAAAAAAAA6k/fxBRXDtvv-8/DSC01742.JPG?imgmax=640

Hawks on the dancefloor

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFaHa7qXI/AAAAAAAAA6s/40zRXOCXQUw/DSC01749.JPG?imgmax=512

He takes any opportunity to get his jumper out

http://lh5.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFg3a7qYI/AAAAAAAAA60/T5fWFp-hyGA/DSC01750.JPG?imgmax=640

Why the hell were we drinking pulse and what the hell is with her hair?

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFnHa7qZI/AAAAAAAAA68/T8a3O7PHNfs/DSC01759.JPG?imgmax=640

Strawpedos get you drunk quick. Interesting outfit she's wearing

http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFuHa7qaI/AAAAAAAAA7E/HKnJ3ow5XSI/DSC01783.JPG?imgmax=512

Kickin the footy at the casino

Thanks for reading

-NevilleBartos

sniper77
21 May 2008, 00:19
A fantastic summary of the weekends event Nev. Sounds like a very simliar pattern to when I go down to Launny. Replace Hobart & Cascade with Launceston Country Club and you will end up with the same result.

We are looking forward to the second chapter, what happened with those 3 birds on Friday night :cool:

Neville Bartos
21 May 2008, 00:21
A fantastic summary of the weekends event Nev. Sounds like a very simliar pattern to when I go down to Launny. Replace Hobart & Cascade with Launceston Country Club and you will end up with the same result.

We are looking forward to the second chapter, what happened with those 3 birds on Friday night :cool:

They thought we were so drunk and so loose that they wanna catch up again this Friday. I LOVE BEER!

sniper77
21 May 2008, 00:22
Pure Gold!!!

Well done son!!!

Roughie
21 May 2008, 01:32
Hahah very nice thread, sounds like an adventure and a half mate.

mattie55
21 May 2008, 09:54
Ha thats a brilliant bender weekend! im surprised i didnt notice or see you in lloyds or lonnies on saturday night! i would have got around anyone wearing hawks gear!
Great photos though and i bet in couple weeks against bullldogs many more people will be coming over and doing the same!
If you do, Bring some mainland women with you !!! haha

Mojo
21 May 2008, 10:33
Ha thats a brilliant bender weekend! im surprised i didnt notice or see you in lloyds or lonnies on saturday night! i would have got around anyone wearing hawks gear!
Great photos though and i bet in couple weeks against bullldogs many more people will be coming over and doing the same!
If you do, Bring some mainland women with you !!! haha

Ino, the home-grown variety looks disgusting.. :p

kenrosewall
21 May 2008, 11:15
Great stuff NevilleBartos!

Glad to see the Boy's footy trip works both ways across the Bass Strait. We've got ours coming up on the Queen's bday long weekend (Hawks vs Dons) and I'm sure we will follow your blueprint for success.

Neville Bartos
21 May 2008, 11:48
Great stuff NevilleBartos!

Glad to see the Boy's footy trip works both ways across the Bass Strait. We've got ours coming up on the Queen's bday long weekend (Hawks vs Dons) and I'm sure we will follow your blueprint for success.

The only blueprint you need is the vital ingredient....

http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5744445,00.jpg

BEER!

Rowie09
21 May 2008, 14:22
After almost spewing on the bus back to Hobart, we finished off our slab and hit the town where we made complete fools of ourselves with the opposite sex.

All that beer was really starting to sink in...(Me on left)

http://lh3.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLKeXa7qdI/AAAAAAAAA7c/JngfNusK26k/DSC01611.JPG?imgmax=640

We met Corey Worthington and Nick Riewoldt's illegitimate love child

I had no idea what I was doing

But in the end it all worked out well for us

Holy s_it, I know who that Riewoldt dude is haha

Neville Bartos
21 May 2008, 14:24
Holy s_it, I know who that Riewoldt dude is haha

Tell him we're sorry we attacked him and called him the love child of 2 men. I think he was a good bloke, but i honestly can't remember

MinerBoy
21 May 2008, 14:28
We had our team's cricket trip to Hobart last year and I swear we saw that guy too at Irish Murphys. Called him Reiwoldt all night.

Good write up and great photos Nev.

noosa hawk mad
21 May 2008, 14:56
Mate you had a ball great pics might have to hit the wife up for another flight down great read mate!:thumbsu:

Gilbert_Hodge
21 May 2008, 19:37
http://lh6.ggpht.com/colin.eddison/SDLFSHa7qVI/AAAAAAAAA6c/30viF7D1lEI/DSC01675.JPG?imgmax=640

I'd tap that bitch.

RustyHawk
21 May 2008, 20:41
Well done Neville.

Great read :thumbsu: and some brilliant photos :D

This thread deserves to be recognised. Will sticky the thread.

Again, well done

Woodside Hawk
21 May 2008, 23:28
Fantastic stuff Nev, hope you're recovering well!

Next time give the Boags tour a go while you're in Launceston. I dragged my wife through the place when we were there nearly 10 years ago and it was great fun - some old bloke took just the two of us around and told all sorts of stories about how they used to get free beer at lunch time but OH&S issues have put paid to that, so they only get light now...

I think it might be a bit more like the Cascade tour nowadays though, a bit more formal, shall we say.

Great post mate, well done.

RustyHawk
28 May 2008, 22:41
Just added the RH "Top Thread" award to this thread. Well done Nev. :thumbsu:

Kebab
29 May 2008, 17:33
Absolutely ripper account of the weekend. Heading down for this weekends game, hoping it can be half as good as yours, and I will be happy!:thumbsu:

browneyyy30
29 May 2008, 18:02
was a wicked weekend nev
and yeah i should have tapped that chic in the purple dress if i had any idea what i was doing lol
next yrs trip can only get bigger from here
we should start interviewing hawks boys now to get the best group possible involved in RAMPAGE #2

Mcchawk
29 May 2008, 19:02
Well done Nev. Have done a hit and run of sorts in Tassie. Launnie punters is best to be blind every minute!

#6 Mark Williams
1 Jun 2008, 18:12
Nice work Nev, lucky you didn't choose the WB match for your Tazzy trip!

Gilbert_Hodge
7 Aug 2008, 22:23
Doing the same thing this time round Neville?