View Full Version : Players told not to read Bigfooty & other fan websites - Herald Sun

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

w00dy
21 May 2008, 01:58
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23732964-19742,00.html

AFL players have been banned from scouring fan websites, for fear the vicious player appraisals could lead to depression.

At one club, support staff also have been threatened with the sack if they are caught blogging or leaking valuable information to the websites.

Labelled "cyber bullying" and "big brother" blogging by the AFL Players' Association, clubs have taken the drastic step of encouraging a boycott of the popular fan sites.

"I wouldn't encourage any players to use them. I think it's for bloggers, and I think it's mostly for titillation rather any decent feedback," AFLPA general manager of psychology, people and culture, Pippa Grange said yesterday.

"It's more your big brother-type trivia.

"I would agree with coaches telling players not to look, but I would also encourage the players not to think of it in any way as criticism - it's just a random sample of people with not much better to do."

Most football clubs have independent supporter websites, including Saintsational, TalkingCarlton, Demonology, Punt Road End, Nick's Collingwood Page and and Bomberblitz.

One of the most popular is BigFooty.

On them, anonymous bloggers ritually attack players for their performances, and the criticisms sometimes carry racial and sexual overtones.

One coach, who did not want to draw attention to his players, yesterday said: "They get real nasty."

The coach said he was aware of one player receiving "particularly scathing" criticism and he had approached the player and asked if he was aware of it.

"Thankfully, he said it didn't matter because he didn't read it, but bloody oath, it could affect the player," the coach said. "It's a serious issue, a major issue.

"Even if one player gets depression, or his form falls away, it could end his career."

One club official last night confirmed the coach had directed some of his players to stop reading sites.

"Yes, we have suggested to some players they avoid online fan sites," the official said.

A football manager from another club said he had addressed the issue with the players.

He also revealed he had warned support staff that if they leaked information to websites, or people knowingly connected to the websites, they would be sacked.

"We have said, 'Whatever you know is not to be passed on to people outside the club'," he said.

He said players had to avoid any scathing critiques.

"It's like critical fan mail, it could do your head in, and it's the same thing with websites.

"You should read some of it, it's rubbish.

"You've got to understand the ego of players and fragility comes with that as well."

Grange yesterday said AFL footballers were in the "culture of celebrities".

"And there's a lot of nasty stuff out there," she said.

She likens it to cyber bullying at schools, where there are alarming cases of bullying bringing on forms of depression and even attempted suicide.

"There's no restriction of what people are able to do with the internet," Grange said.

"Blogging on websites about players is a form of bullying, it's public bullying of people in celebrity positions.

"And the footy players, unless they personally take some course of investigation, have got absolutely no comeback."

Grange said public criticism of players had been addressed, although cyber criticism hadn't specifically been on the agenda.

"We talk to the players about building resilience about feedback and what they need to let through to the keeper, and what's actually value for them and how they make a choice about each," she said.

"We don't specifically focus on websites, but that's going to happen with our digital lifestyle at the minute."

More serious, she said, were players' identities being taken by bloggers.

"The biggest thing I've encountered in my role where it's been a problem is where people take the identity of the player and claim to be making comments on behalf of the player," she said.

"They get obviously quite upset about that."

ANYONE with personal problems can call Lifelineon 131 114; Victorian Statewide Suicide Helpline on 1300 651 251; or Mensline Australia on 1300 789 978.

i wouldn't have thought the players would even think about reading the dribble people post on these sites... they ignore getting sledged over the fence, why do they care what we write on the internet?

delirious1
21 May 2008, 02:02
good move, if the likes of Anthony Rocca/Zac Dawson ever stumbled upon bigfooty...

w00dy
21 May 2008, 02:05
One coach, who did not want to draw attention to his players, yesterday said: "They get real nasty."

The coach said he was aware of one player receiving "particularly scathing" criticism and he had approached the player and asked if he was aware of it.

any thoughts on which player? maybe we could start a poll?

pinkus maximus
21 May 2008, 02:06
good move, if the likes of Anthony Rocca/Zac Dawson ever stumbled upon bigfooty...
or mcmanus :eek:

it is true that criticism of players on this site can go too far at times. i do cringe at some of the personal attacks

still, i would imagine they have other things to do than read messageboards

w00dy
21 May 2008, 02:09
i wonder how many draftees have grown up on bigfooty, and if they've kept an interest in the site once they're drafted...

unstable punt
21 May 2008, 02:09
or mcmanus :eek:

it is true that criticism of players on this site can go too far at times. i do cringe at some of the personal attacks

still, i would imagine they have other things to do than read messageboards
its easy for the gutless to slag players off from behind their keyboards, the reality is they are cowards. lf l was a player l wouldn't want to read the drivel some write on these sites, and it is only some who do it.

The_Eagles
21 May 2008, 02:10
hopefully rowan jones never read bigfooty

WA ROO
21 May 2008, 02:11
What about the players that post?

SweetLeftFoot
21 May 2008, 02:12
That piece clearly refers to the rest of you, not me.

Campbell's Chunky
21 May 2008, 02:15
Well its obviously not the Crows, as our media manager posts on here occasionally.

Forrest Gimp
21 May 2008, 02:20
That was harsh on BF. There is just as much healthy, intelligent discussion on the main club boards as there is on Bay13. If you were a shit player, you would want to avoid it, as some of the stuff on here would be brutal to read if you were the recipient, however, I don't think they should just dismiss a massive forum full of thousands of football mad internet users because of this.

estibador
21 May 2008, 02:22

What do you think gave him that bald spot?

Southerntakeover
21 May 2008, 02:25
Gotta love the traditional media forms attacking their competition, whilst claiming to be protecting the players from horrible fans.

Meanwhile: In tomorrows newspaper: Which AFL player tested positive for what... we've bought the results.

TheBrownDog
Well its obviously not the Crows, as our media manager posts on here occasionally.

Yeah, doubt its Brisbane either. We have a good relationship with the club...

They even let us interview players. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=412375)

Forrest Gimp
What do you think gave him that bald spot?

Rojo carrying us these last few years?

estibador
21 May 2008, 02:26
That was harsh on BF. There is just as much healthy, intelligent discussion on the main club boards as there is on Bay13. If you were a shit player, you would want to avoid it, as some of the stuff on here would be brutal to read if you were the recipient, however, I don't think they should just dismiss a massive forum full of thousands of football mad internet users because of this.

I'd be very disappointed if someone in the footy departments didn't monitor these sites (the club boards anyway). It's a perfect source of free 'customer' feedback that very few industries are lucky enough to have access to.

But players should avoid this place like the plague. It's full of kneejerk bullshit, particularly after a loss. And it's very, very rarely constructive when it comes to opinions on players.

Kram81
21 May 2008, 02:39
Dear lord, imagine if Ritchie Tambling read some of the stuff on here?

Common sense for players to not even read the paper really.

TheBrownDog
21 May 2008, 02:44
Dear lord, imagine if Ritchie Tambling read some of the stuff on here?

Imagine if Franklin did. His head would inflate to the size of a hot-air balloon.

sauce_head
21 May 2008, 02:47
I hope Ross Llyon reads it, some good ideas on our board.

And_ROOS
21 May 2008, 02:52
I think if Buddy ever has his form drop, they should save all the current millions of threads made about him.

If reading them wont get his confidence back, nothing will.

estibador
21 May 2008, 02:52
Rojo carrying us these last few years?

That would explain Juddy's chrome dome too I guess.

TheGeneral
21 May 2008, 02:54
Gibbs.

Benno_900
21 May 2008, 02:55
Heh, some of the stuff we say about Browny could very well get him depressed ...

footyfreak
21 May 2008, 03:04
I'd be very disappointed if someone in the footy departments didn't monitor these sites (the club boards anyway). It's a perfect source of free 'customer' feedback that very few industries are lucky enough to have access to.

But players should avoid this place like the plague. It's full of kneejerk bullshit, particularly after a loss. And it's very, very rarely constructive when it comes to opinions on players.

Agree with the first comment. Companies would pay ten of thousands of dollars for the information that clubs can get here for free. If they were smart they would have people posting as ordinary supporters who build up some cred or become "known" to some degree and then asks questions every now and then like "do you think it would be good if our club..........." etc.

BF is a clubs target market to a large degree coz lets face it, if you post here you clearly have more than a passing interest in the game.

Re players reading this, I have a mate who plays AFL and i would often tell him of the positive feedback he received on here when he got it.

I must admit i was vague about what the site was/where the info could be found as i wanted to give him the feedback without him then wanting to come here and look at it himself as he was a player that is/was much maligned and cops a fair bit on here. I knew he wasn't tech savvy so i always thought it was pretty safe until the day he rang me and asked for specifics as his dad wanted to look it up :eek: LOL:)

favourites
21 May 2008, 03:10
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23732964-19742,00.html

AFL players have been banned from scouring fan websites, for fear the vicious player appraisals could lead to depression.

At one club, support staff also have been threatened with the sack if they are caught blogging or leaking valuable information to the websites.
Labelled "cyber bullying" and "big brother" blogging by the AFL Players' Association, clubs have taken the drastic step of encouraging a boycott of the popular fan sites.
"I wouldn't encourage any players to use them. I think it's for bloggers, and I think it's mostly for titillation rather any decent feedback," AFLPA general manager of psychology, people and culture, Pippa Grange said yesterday.
"It's more your big brother-type trivia.
"I would agree with coaches telling players not to look, but I would also encourage the players not to think of it in any way as criticism - it's just a random sample of people with not much better to do."
Most football clubs have independent supporter websites, including Saintsational, TalkingCarlton, Demonology, Punt Road End, Nick's Collingwood Page and and Bomberblitz.
One of the most popular is BigFooty.
On them, anonymous bloggers ritually attack players for their performances, and the criticisms sometimes carry racial and sexual overtones.

Godfrey Jones
21 May 2008, 03:13
ok - i guess its bye from me guys. its been fun while it lasted.

-presti #35

bigburger
21 May 2008, 03:20
I reckon the player everyone canes is Bryce Gibbs.

flight23
21 May 2008, 03:24
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=444728

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 03:25
"Racial and sexual overtones"?

News to me.

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 03:26
This is a ridiculous beat-up.

Do people really think that a professional sportsman's performance would be affected by the rants of some anonymous BigFooty blogger?

Is this a joke?

Godfrey Jones
21 May 2008, 03:26
"Racial and sexual overtones"?

News to me.

has caro been banned from the site?

....the things i would do to her;)

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 03:28
Gotta love the traditional media forms attacking their competition, whilst claiming to be protecting the players from horrible fans.

Meanwhile: In tomorrows newspaper: Which AFL player tested positive for what... we've bought the results.Nicely put.

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 03:29
"On them, anonymous bloggers ritually attack players for their performances, and the criticisms sometimes carry racial and sexual overtones."

I can't think of many examples of this.

Jumpin' Jimmy
21 May 2008, 03:31
AFLPA general manager of psychology, people and culture, Pippa Grange

What a wank of a job title! :o

estibador
21 May 2008, 03:44
The sexual overtones must be referring about the constant sexist comments about Caro. I can't see any way anything on here relating to players could be construed as sexist. Either that or Robbie Walls has an account and they've noticed him posting about Croad's massive thighs.

But there's definitely racial undertones on here occasionally. Not very often thankfully and maybe not overt, but it's definitely there beneath the surface sometimes. But unfortunately that's to be expected considering the broad cross section of people who post here.

And we all know what the mainstream media is like - it would only take one post from a redneck before they start branding the site as having racist overtones.

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 03:48
But there's definitely occasional racial undertones on here occasionally. Not very often thankfully and maybe not overt, but it's definitely there beneath the surface sometimes.Like what?

Forrest Gimp
21 May 2008, 03:53
Like WallyMatera's effort on the Richmond board

Black JuJu
21 May 2008, 03:54
It's pretty rich really, especially coming from a 'moral compass' like the Hun..

The newspapers (and TV media) often drive the agenda under which sites like this post and heavily influence peoples opinions.

As far this coach being quoted goes, I can think of one inparticular that would say something like that these days, typical over the top protection of 'his boys'...

"It's a serious issue, a major issue" :rolleyes:

They are breeding a generation of 'Mike Moores' obviously, only allowed to read the 'good letters' for fear that hearing negative critique on their performance in a sport (shock horror) might bring down their fragile worlds.

Black JuJu
21 May 2008, 03:57
The sexual overtones must be referring about the constant sexist comments about Caro. I can't see any way anything on here relating to players could be construed as sexist.

Nah they could easily find 'sexual' stuff on here and put it under that umbrella.

"So and So is gay", "So and So shags his team mates wives", "So and so cheated on his wife with Lara Bingle" and so on.

estibador
21 May 2008, 04:00
Like what?

Like the outcry every time an Aboriginal all stars team is mentioned...

Or the difference in the way an undisciplined act on the field by say... Jeff Farmer is treated on here compared someone like say... Aaron Hamill. One is treated as an out of control [blackfella] while another is praised as a hardman who occasionally oversteps the line.

But that last one extends to the mainstream media too. I'll never forget the day when Hamill shaped up with his fist to an ump who had pinged him for a push in the back after he took a mark. Dermie and the rest of the commentary box laughed it off (literally) as 'Gee, big Aaron nearly did something he'd regret then'. I can only imagine the crucifixion the Wiz would have faced if he'd done something like that. They probably would have engraved it on his tombstone.

GO EAGLES
21 May 2008, 04:00
There is no such thing as a weak individual playing AFL, by the way.

PEOPLE SHOULD NEVER forget that before they write here and everything they write would have more balance.

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 04:09
Like the outcry every time an Aboriginal all stars team is mentioned....Outcry?

I don't know what you're talking about.

Or the difference in the way an undisciplined act on the field by say... Jeff Farmer is treated on here compared someone like say... Aaron Hamill. One is treated as an out of control [blackfella] while another is praised as a hardman who occasionally oversteps the line.
That's a stretch.

Farmer has a pretty bad track record. That's why people give him no sympathy.

It's got nothing to do with his race.

Not much in the way of examples. Very light on.

estibador
21 May 2008, 04:12
what a load of crap. That whole post is shithouse. Oh poor little jeff. IIRC Hamil shook his fist at the umpire, hardly shaped up :rolleyes:

It was a little more than a quaint fist shake. And if Jeff shook his fist at an ump how do you think the commentators would have viewed it? I've seen guys like Commetti lay into Farmer for much less.

And you don't think people doth protest too much when it comes to things like the Aboriginal all stars? For something that doesn't hurt anybody there seems to be an awful lot of vehement posts about it on here.

Asgardian
21 May 2008, 04:13
"AFLPA general manager of psychology, people and culture, Pippa Grange"

Talk about someone creating a news release with the express purpose of trying to justify one's own job within the industry.

Oh all these poor down-trodden footballers, see how persecuted they are, the AFL better pay me more because all these poor players need me so badly... :rolleyes:

Yeah right, maybe Sammy does have a point?

Somebody
21 May 2008, 04:14
Yeah, doubt its Brisbane either. We have a good relationship with the club...

They even let us interview players. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=412375)
I'd be pretty sure Matthew's tough guy attitude rubs off on all the players. He wouldn't give a ff what people thought of him and probably neither do the players. I hope mighty Mick has a similar effect at the Woods.

Black JuJu
21 May 2008, 04:17
I hope mighty Mick has a similar effect at the Woods.

He'd be prime suspect for this mate!

He's got form too after going off the deep end when Capuano got sacked..

He's very protective of his players, you'd have to admit that...

estibador
21 May 2008, 04:20
but you see mate, when you set out to LOOK for racial overtones, like estibador does with Jeff Farmer related stuff, you can find it.

Farmer was probably a bad example given the Freo connection.

I'm not on a moral crusade here. It really doesn't bother me. Just saying that the examples are there if you aren't blinding yourself to them. The amount of venom in any thread about whether there should be an Aboriginal all stars is a perfect example.

Overtones are often just a matter of perception..

Which was sorta my point.

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 04:21
And you don't think people doth protest too much when it comes to things like the Aboriginal all stars? For something that doesn't hurt anybody there seems to be an awful lot of vehement posts about it on here.Bollocks.

And your erroneous use of a line from Hamlet makes my eyes water.

In the line you're mangling, "protesting too much" is about betraying one's guilt by gushing too strenuously. It's meaningless in the context you've used it.

Keep it simple, champ. That's what works for you.

Black JuJu
21 May 2008, 04:22
Which was sorta my point.

..and my point too. ;)

no point saying 'overtones' aren't there, you can find overtones anywhere you like if you want to find them and need them for a juicy line in your piece of shit article..

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 04:22
The amount of venom in any thread about whether there should be an Aboriginal all stars is a perfect example.Provide an example.

I have never seen this "venom".

Somebody
21 May 2008, 04:23
What a wank of a job title! :oWould that be Sir Les Patterson's successor?

estibador
21 May 2008, 04:31
And your erroneous use of a line from Hamlet makes my eyes water.

In the line you're mangling, "protesting too much" is about betraying one's guilt by defending oneself too strenuously. It's meaningless in the context you've used it.

Meh... it was just a piece of flowery language meant to make an otherwise boring post slightly more interesting to read.

Go find another savage to educate. I'm neither in need nor interested.

Provide an example.

I have never seen this "venom".

Go find one and read it. There's a pretty clear redneck theme running through them. Especially if you were a journo looking for it.

Somebody
21 May 2008, 04:33
He'd be prime suspect for this mate!

He's got form too after going off the deep end when Capuano got sacked..

He's very protective of his players, you'd have to admit that...
If so I hope he's not turning them into a bunch of sooks.
If you do anything that gives you public attention, whether arts, politics, sports or whatever, you have to be able to handle abuse and ruthless attacks. That goes with the territory, and if a player can't handle it they better learn or they belong in a lower league.
the main problem is with new players who are just teenage kids, and sometimes are abused terribly on these boards. IF they can't tough it out for the first couple of years until they are mentally tougher, I suppose it could and maybe has ended a few AFL careers by destroying their confidence. they could also get very disillusioned when they see the revolting attitudes of a lot of their supposed "supporters" and maybe feel like "why bother", but again you just have to deal with it if you want to make it.

Don't play for those abusive pigs, play for the club and/or the money/fame/women.

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 04:38
Go find another savage to educate. I'm neither in need nor interested..Definitely in need.

Go find one and read it.It's your argument.

I'm just asking you to back it up.

Gunnar Longshanks
21 May 2008, 04:41
IF they can't tough it out for the first couple of years until they are mentally tougher, I suppose it could and maybe has ended a few AFL careers by destroying their confidence.What a joke.

Any kid playing AFL is going to come up against much tougher barriers than some tripe online.

Do you actually think that these guys' confidence is so fragile that some negative feedback could end their career?

That is an absolute flight of fancy. I can't believe people are actually considering it as a half-serious proposition.

mookieb
21 May 2008, 04:47
Some of the critiscm on here is quite disgusting. Unfortunately much of it is directed at players from the club the poster supports. Vicious, mocking comments from supporters who have no idea what is going on (ie players carrying injuries) and who no doubt haven't got a kick themselves over the years.

You wouldn't want some of these players reading some of the crap that gets posted...

Imagine Mcmanus after 10 years of service and a couple of knee reco's logging on and reading about himself.

wal
21 May 2008, 04:47

Often subconsciously propagated to the masses ala the Selwood / Headland incident.

Somebody
21 May 2008, 04:48
What a joke.

Any kid playing AFL is going to come up against much tougher barriers than some tripe online.

Do you actually think that these guys' confidence is so fragile that some negative feedback could end their career?

That is an absolute flight of fancy. I can't believe people are actually considering it as a half-serious proposition.
Depends on the kid obviously. I know when I was 18 I was pretty mentally fragile and maybe wouldn't have coped well with the sort of abuse you see on these forums. Most of the kids who make it that far are probably pretty strong-minded but I really wouldn't know. Apparently you do know better than the club insiders who were quoted.

estibador
21 May 2008, 04:49
Definitely in need.

You're obviously a paint by numbers sort of guy.

I'll stick to formulaic use of language in future so as not to upset you.

It's your argument.

I'm just asking you to back it up.

You know as well as I do what I'm talking about. Anyone who's been here long enough to read those threads does.

estibador
21 May 2008, 04:56
Imagine Mcmanus after 10 years of service and a couple of knee reco's logging on and reading about himself.

Yeah he'd probably be devastated if he read what we've been saying about him on the Freo board. But the facts are that supporters are always going to put the the club ahead of individual players.

All the more reason for players to avoid this site. Supporters can be pretty brutal when assessing what they think is best for their team. Better for someone like Macca to retire without realising what a pariah he's become.

footyfreak
21 May 2008, 05:20
where is the article ensuring the players don't watch any football related tv shows?

Surely hearing Robert walls say you should have been given a gold watch 2 years ago would hurt more than a bunch of comments by randoms on an internet forum. Then again, maybe not :p

Big Nasty
21 May 2008, 05:49
It must be bad in the Tassie backline when you start bagging the crap out of your Full Back. :eek:

JeffDunne
21 May 2008, 06:21

After reading this thread I've gotta say he wasn't wrong. :D

"Thankfully, he said it didn't matter because he didn't read it, . . "
I bet he has now. :D

"Even if one player gets depression, or his form falls away, it could end his career."

How does one "get" depression?

Has this coach learnt nothing for all the publicity depression has received?

Typical B/S HeraldScum article. No names to the quotes, simply "one coach", "one club official", "a football manager" . . . it actually reads like something you'd read on Bigfooty.

The one person he does quote: "AFLPA general manager of psychology, people and culture, Pippa Grange"

WTF? "General Manager of psychology, people and culture"????

They can't be serious? :rolleyes:

jozeph
21 May 2008, 06:55
Quite often bigfooty provides solutions to a players form slump, but do we get thanks for that?, no. Can't wait for the day when Laidley holds up the cup and says we couldn't have done it without bigfooty.:thumbsu:

dmc333
21 May 2008, 07:04
The one person he does quote: "AFLPA general manager of psychology, people and culture, Pippa Grange"

WTF? "General Manager of psychology, people and culture"????

No doubt Pippi Longstocking was excited to get her name, and overly pretentious title, in the paper. I guess that justifies the position for another year- awareness of a non issue.

NT.Thunder
21 May 2008, 07:06

Thankfully Hackland can't read

AngelEyes
21 May 2008, 07:15
Aren't many of the clubs against the players reading newspapers too? Nice balanced reporting from the Herald Sun.

I have no problem with the comments about players getting attacked. But, hey, if you are willing to take the benefits of AFL football i.e. hundreds of thousands of dollars surely you must be prepared to think that people will say bad things about you if you play like a SPUD.

As for the sexual and racist comments, I find that particularly wrong and sensationalised. The only time I can think of sexual comments relating to players are like "Fev had a affair"? FACT, that "Hawthorn supporters are blowing their load again over Buddy" and stuff similar that is true or not derogatory to the player.

I suspect there are two possible clubs that have become known for whinging: Collingwood or Richmond, that are likely at the source of this.

JeffDunne
21 May 2008, 07:26
I suspect there are two possible clubs that have become known for whinging: Collingwood or Richmond, that are likely at the source of this.
I thought Ed had been supportive of some Magpie sites?

TBH, if clubs had any brains they'd run their own forums and moderate them themselves. They could blow away any other forums simply due to the content they could supply and could offer "members only" areas with access to players and coaches.

Rather than whinging about new technology they should be embracing it.

krisholio14
21 May 2008, 07:38
Talk about precious. Pretty soon they'll have all players walking around blindfolded with industrial strength ear plugs just in case they come across something thats too much for them to handle.

tigertiger
21 May 2008, 07:44
"it's just a random sample of people with not much better to do"

I have much better things to do like pick the lint out of my belly button or watch the test pattern.

Must be a slow news week to be running this story

The Cranium
21 May 2008, 07:53
What a wank of a job title! :o

Obviously not dissimilar to yours

krisholio14
21 May 2008, 08:08
Aren't many of the clubs against the players reading newspapers too? Nice balanced reporting from the Herald Sun.

I have no problem with the comments about players getting attacked. But, hey, if you are willing to take the benefits of AFL football i.e. hundreds of thousands of dollars surely you must be prepared to think that people will say bad things about you if you play like a SPUD.

As for the sexual and racist comments, I find that particularly wrong and sensationalised. The only time I can think of sexual comments relating to players are like "Fev had a affair"? FACT, that "Hawthorn supporters are blowing their load again over Buddy" and stuff similar that is true or not derogatory to the player.

The thing is, the Herald Sun have a cheek putting that sort of shit in the paper seeing as several of their hack journos have been busted lifting some of their 'ideas' off this very site.

Pessimistic
21 May 2008, 08:17
Its a good job tens of thousands of people pay to go to the footy because "theyve nothing better to do"

Resonates with Sheedy's Nuff Nuff remark.

Nice to know they have such disdain for their customers

BIGBEZ
21 May 2008, 08:23
Seeing that its only players that read BF, and not umpires, Im gonna have a crack at all you people from every 'other' team that hate and attack umpires relentlessly! Why cant you be like us Swan supporters and show some class? We have nothing but praise for these great men of our game, they do a fantastic job, and no one gives them any credit! All you supporters from 'all' the other teams, should hang your heads in shame! Umpires do a great job, and we here at the Swans, would like to distance ourselves from you mean and cruel supporters, from other clubs! Go the Umps!..:thumbsu:

strategy
21 May 2008, 08:23
Coaches , Players , and officials read Bigfooty .

Its a free country .It was supposed to be anyway .If the player/s and officials dont like the truths and or banter that goes on here ...too bad .:D

always right
21 May 2008, 08:26

Try going to the Richmond board and check out the posts relating to Jordan McMahon. Some of the posts are actually quoted above Mark Robinson's article.

To me it's a legitimate story. Yes the newspapers also criticize players but they also put their name to the article and in the end it's one person's point of view. Big Footy on the other hand has a heap of anonymous posters and it becomes a bit of a feeding frenzy on occasions when a player is singled out. I can imagine young players going to the Big Footy site and being quite overwhelmed at the negativity posted about them. It's not water of a duck's back to everyone particularly when the comments go down the racial path.

bernie lomax
21 May 2008, 08:28
Just had a read. What do players cop on here compared to what they cop in public or from the other side of the fence???

I would doubt many, or any would take much notice of what is said on here if they read it.

Syd
21 May 2008, 08:29
Seeing that its only players that read BF, and not umpires, Im gonna have a crack at all you people from every 'other' team that hate and attack umpires relentlessly! Why cant you be like us Swan supporters and show some class? We have nothing but praise for these great men of our game, they do a fantastic job, and no one gives them any credit! All you supporters from 'all' the other teams, should hang your heads in shame! Umpires do a great job, and we here at the Swans, would like to distance ourselves from you mean and cruel supporters, from other clubs! Go the Umps!..:thumbsu:

Except for the umpire (alleged) formerly known as Darren Goldpsink & Dopey ____ing McLaren you mean?? ;)

Daytripper
21 May 2008, 08:31
Hmmm - last week Mark Robinson has thread on Big Footy dedicated to his inaccuracies over a column he wrote.

This week, Mark Robinson writes article implying criticism of Big Footy.

Borgsta
21 May 2008, 08:33
but you see mate, when you set out to LOOK for racial overtones, like estibador does with Jeff Farmer related stuff, you can find it.

Have a look on the Richmond board at a thread on Jordan McMahon.

No need to "look" for racial overtones, it slaps you in the face. And to the credit of the Richmond board 95% of them slammed the posters involved.

chelseacarlton
21 May 2008, 08:35
that article is totally justified and correct.
its discraceful some of the things ive read and contributed to on BF
im only going to read the positive,insightful,shakespearean wordsmithery
of the herald-sun,known world-wide as the greatest daily paper.
thankyou herald-sun for you have finally opened my eyes.
see ya guys,im off to the "get" depression clinic:rolleyes:

strategy
21 May 2008, 08:40
The players , coaches and officials will keep reading bigfooty , no matter what .Include the media in that as well .

markr
21 May 2008, 08:43
As for the sexual and racist comments, I find that particularly wrong and sensationalised.
Um, I might have suggested that Dale Thomas had a vagina. Sorry Dale, no hard feelings eh mate?

hotdog_hotdog
21 May 2008, 08:45
That piece clearly refers to the rest of you, not me.

"Just leave him alone... ALL OF YOU!"

rodogs
21 May 2008, 09:08
Hmmm - last week Mark Robinson has thread on Big Footy dedicated to his inaccuracies over a column he wrote.

This week, Mark Robinson writes article implying criticism of Big Footy.

:thumbsu:. good call.

Could have at least waited two weeks Robbo.

Bollox
21 May 2008, 09:10
yes i think they should also be protected from sledging by other players, a bollocking from the coach and heckling from the crowd.

Heaven forbid someone thinks they've had a shocker or get abused. They might run off and neck themselves.

Perhaps we can station hall monitors every 10m around the fence to stop the crowd abusing the umps as well...those poor guys might get depressed and neck themselves too.

BigFooty is the only place you will get a cross section of public opinion and that is why so much of the media and game administrators sneak around in here.

Perhaps the clubs and afl should be held responsible for the potential for supporter depression when our clubs are on a bad roll. But hey...if we dont like it we just dont watch...we're expected to have brains of our own.....we dont need some moron to say we should be banned from watching just in case we get depressed and top oursleves.

Players should be ENCOURAGED to check out as many websites as they want. BigFooty isnt a fan website ...its a necessary adjunct to the media and an information and entertanment source that is far superior to anything else going around about the game. There is no need to read the newspapers...no need to view any afl websites with junk written by contracted toe the line twits with half a brain.

Dons and Dees fans should be banned from checking out BigFooty this week...just in case. Wouldnt want them to get depressed. " if it saves just one fan it'll be worth it"

DoubleA
21 May 2008, 09:20
I just love it how they call posters 'bloggers'.

JUBJUB
21 May 2008, 09:25
i wonder how many draftees have grown up on bigfooty, and if they've kept an interest in the site once they're drafted...

yze_magic (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=142485&highlight=yze_magic) :D

da_ilks
21 May 2008, 09:25

Meanwhile: In tomorrows newspaper: Which AFL player tested positive for what... we've bought the results.

Spot on.

I also heard Clubs were telling their players to stay away from the fence on matchday, you know, cause they might here something hurtful from the crowd :rolleyes: If AFL players read here, all they'd be thinking is "lol @ these jerkoffs, at least I play in the AFL"

Should be water off a ducks back.

Hoffy95
21 May 2008, 09:26
What a farce. Scathing criticism of players!?

By gosh, I've only seen nothing but positives regarding gents such as the likes of...lets just draw one from the hat here...*drum roll*...Richard Tambling.

I can honestly say I have never made a negative comment towards an AFL footballer. :cool:

morgoth
21 May 2008, 09:27
Look at who wrote this piece of drivel. Robbo, the same man that goes on radio and reguarly bags players. He is paid for his views, and his views sell papers. What benefit do we get from it???? He and his crew are just hypocrits, nothing more, nothing less. I am sure putting Dids on the front page over an argument with his girl freind was really helpful. The list goes on and on.

AFL is becoming one of the softest sports in the world. By most peoples standards these guys are paid a fortune yet they are being treated like little babies. Harden the F up.

Ingall
21 May 2008, 09:30
Maybe when the poor emotionally stressed player reads some less than complimentary comments on the nasty internets he can get in touch with all the nasty posters. A group hug and a shared tear will go a long way to help heal the hurt.

Also, the AFL will have to immediately stop the Dreamteam fantasy competition on its website. Imagine the emotional damage that could result from a player seeing that they've dropped $160,000 because of their poor performances.

morgoth
21 May 2008, 09:34
And if we really wanted to get personal imagine what we could do with this? Might be worth a bay 13 thread?

http://blogs.news.com.au/images/member_photos/photo_312.jpg

Bollox
21 May 2008, 09:34
We definitely need to pander to the more sensitive types and get some more womens influence in our game.

Hard to believe a few weeks ago a high profile player got hauled for simply sledging a guy in a minor blue. Nothing racist, nothing demeening or sexist but STILL out of order apparantly. Just a good fast funny line in the heat of the game and the new age twits even wants THAT outlawed.

Robinson is just another toe the line media hypocrite that wont risk being left out of the circle of trust and access.

Dixie Flatline
21 May 2008, 09:37
I'm a member of one forum that has interviewed Hawthorn's President. Another forum has been a player sponsor over the last few years. Indeed, the Hawthorn board is a player sponsor.

So let's forget about the extra revenue that internet forums dedicated to AFL clubs can raise for their operations and other positives and focus on the negatives. :rolleyes:

Sucked me in, Robbo. Here I am writing about your rubbish.

Binxy
21 May 2008, 09:39
Sexual overtones?

Well that'll teach them for reading the Hawthorn board.Oh snap!

MarkT
21 May 2008, 09:44
What an amazing piece. Fair dinkum, Mark Robinson is a hack of the highest order! Radio and print media are critical of these sites because they get criticised on them yet they use them for and in articles. They are also a source of competition. A story breaks and it is all over here before you can hear it first on MMM or read it first in the Age. Individual journo’s get called on lies, lack of research or just plain error and they don’t like it.

Good grief, fancy throwing the racial and sexual overtones emotive trick. I reckon that is policed here better than any newspaper tea room, the Footy Show, Palmers Punchlines or the outer at the G.

These types of forums are here to stay. Journo’s will just have to live them and so will footballers and clubs. Hell some clubs actually use them. Eddie uses the Collingwood forums for feedback and to put his view forward whether pro actively or to address criticism. He has people from fan sites work on the official site. Eddie discovered Joffa due to Nicks.

Why shield players anyway? If anything, players are shielded too much as it is but if a player is going to suffer depression from reading a fan site then he is going to suffer depression from talk back radio negativity, losing games, being criticised in the “official” media, receiving negative votes on MMM or copping a bake from a coach or a sledge from an opposition player. Depression is a serious issue. Shielding players from the net is hardly going to make any inroads into prevention. It was just an emotive grab for a rubbish piece.

There is more chance a player will suffer depression from having journo’s scrutinise their lives to the extend of putting a small tiff with your misses in a bar that lead to nothing at all on the front page of a newspaper, wrongly naming a rape suspect, broadcasting medical records on national news, etc, etc, etc. One problem with the net is a lack of accountability. That is the same problem with the media in general. Lack of qualifications, lack of integrity, lack of ability… its all here and it’s all there.

SuperDude
21 May 2008, 09:45
And if we really wanted to get personal imagine what we could do with this? Might be worth a bay 13 thread?

http://blogs.news.com.au/images/member_photos/photo_312.jpg

Why should we listen and belive what he writes.

Could be just a shot at us who are smarter to him:)

Cousin Jed
21 May 2008, 09:46
Its happening all over the world.

That is the "traditional media" trying their best to discredit blogs and forums etc

hellfire
21 May 2008, 09:46

Agreed. Given that all football news, and quite often match/player feedback, is taken from bigfooty and other forums, I think our collective opinions are worth a fair bit. We are as much experts as the football journalists, we just have a different medium to convey our opinions. Nonetheless, I do agree that it is probably best for most players to avoid reading this site, because there are shocking posters around - parrot, I'm looking at you. But I think every club should at least browse the forums, because like I said earlier, we are basically the vocal representation of our respective clubs' supporter bases.

Oh, and in regards to "the players have no comeback" - they could just come out and play some good footy, that always silences the critics, whether it be over the fence or on the Internet.