View Full Version : Day trips to Tassie

Neville Bartos
21 May 2008, 16:23
Let's face it. I'm all about Tassie at the moment, and considering how everyone is talking about our deal down there, everyone tries to get under our skin with Tassie Hawks insults, we're winning there and we have 4000 members in Tasmania, it got me thinking.

Would there be a way for hawks to strike a deal with Virgin Blue / Jetstar to arrange extra flights from Melbourne to Launceston on the day of the Hawks games? You effectively fly in to Launceston at 10am, hang out, have a few beers and lunch in town, get along to the game and fly home later that evening.

Surely one of the reasons we looked to play games in Tassie and not Sydney, Brisbane or Canberra is due to Tassie being so close to Melbourne. If the hawks could get one of the airlines to put on extra flights, arrange for cheap airfares for hawk members it would be great for Melbourne based fanatical supporters. We could get another 1000+ people into launceston who don't require accomodation, but will inject further money into the local economy and increase the attendance at our games.

Is this feasible? Is this a good idea?

Goldhawk
21 May 2008, 17:15
I think that would be a bloody good idea.This has always been the problem,not enough flights to accomodate all the Hawthorn supporters from mainland that want to go across.There needs to be more flexible timetables of flights across the Tasman for people to attend the AFL matches in Launceston, and it would also be a boost for the Tassie economy.

ricta
21 May 2008, 17:51
in a perfect world this would be great....
dont think an airline would fall for the trap, a plane full of rowdy and pissed supporters, masking for trouble. I also think the tassie thing is so our supporters do go and stay in tassie to spend some $$$

byronben
21 May 2008, 23:15
there was a serious thread recently where one of the hawk posters spoke of the club attempting to do a deal with Tiger air where the fares would be the equivelant of a bus fare or something like that......anyone else know about it?

hawks forever
22 May 2008, 10:12
does anyone know the cost and the time by boat was thinking might take the wife next year over for romantic week but also go to the footy and kill two birds with one stone, was going to do it this year but finances and time wont allow it. So I might plan it all for next year

Crankyhawk
22 May 2008, 11:11
Boat to Devonport takes about 12 hours, trips leave every day/ 2nd day depending on season. I think it's about an extra $60 to bring the car but don't known how much the cheap seats are (but all you get is seats to sleep upright in). Much better to fly - the prices are similar and much less time in transit.

HFC082
22 May 2008, 12:02
I wish they had more flights match day and more flights at a reasonable hour after the match finishes. It's too hard to miss a day of work on monday getting a late monday flight back.

mattie55
22 May 2008, 12:06
Let's face it. I'm all about Tassie at the moment, and considering how everyone is talking about our deal down there, everyone tries to get under our skin with Tassie Hawks insults, we're winning there and we have 4000 members in Tasmania, it got me thinking.

Would there be a way for hawks to strike a deal with Virgin Blue / Jetstar to arrange extra flights from Melbourne to Launceston on the day of the Hawks games? You effectively fly in to Launceston at 10am, hang out, have a few beers and lunch in town, get along to the game and fly home later that evening.

Surely one of the reasons we looked to play games in Tassie and not Sydney, Brisbane or Canberra is due to Tassie being so close to Melbourne. If the hawks could get one of the airlines to put on extra flights, arrange for cheap airfares for hawk members it would be great for Melbourne based fanatical supporters. We could get another 1000+ people into launceston who don't require accomodation, but will inject further money into the local economy and increase the attendance at our games.

Is this feasible? Is this a good idea?

Mate i think that you will have moved down here by next year, i see your love affair with our great state starting to grow!! haha

HFC082
22 May 2008, 12:12
our great state

You owe me a new monitor...i just spat my coffee over the screen ;)

mattie55
22 May 2008, 12:21
Ha you not a fan of our great state??? :)

arads
22 May 2008, 13:43
I've done the "hit and run" from Tassie a couple of times and it's pretty easy to negotiate. Catch a flight around 10am (which there should be plenty of, give or take an hour), arrive around 11, taxi to the ground or shuttle to the city and walk (not far from the CBD, if indeed you can call it that). Watch the game, if its a 1:10 start, go to the aftermatch, if it's 2:10, head straight back to the airport and catch a flight around 7:30. There might only be a flight or 2 after 7pm so you might have to get in early with bookings. Providing there are no hold-ups along the line (eg: plane delays), it runs like clockwork and is always a great, albiet it tiring, day out.

I suppose the point of posting this is that it can already be done quite easily, without needing any extra flights. I know of a couple of people that did this just last weekend. The only thing the club could try to do is work out a deal with Virgin Blue, whereby members get flights for say, $39, and the club pays for the rest. Would be expensive for the club, but a great way to look after its members and get more numbers down to Launcy.

HFC082
22 May 2008, 13:56
Ha you not a fan of our great state??? :)

I actually really like it. It's vastly different to every state...its cold and picturesque. I cannot wait to come again. I will be coming over for the Melbourne Victory practice match in July.

vaporjet
22 May 2008, 13:58
Looking at flights using the dates for our game against the Lions down there...

The earliest 'cheap' flight to Launceston gets in at 2:40pm ($55). Your other options are to get there at 9:25am or 12:25pm - both are $199 (one-way).

Getting home isn't a problem, there are flights at 7:35pm for $55.

arads
22 May 2008, 14:02
Looking at flights using the dates for our game against the Lions down there...

The earliest 'cheap' flight to Launceston gets in at 2:40pm ($55). Your other options are to get there at 9:25am or 12:25pm - both are $199 (one-way).

Getting home isn't a problem, there are flights at 7:35pm for $55.

There probably arent any cheap flights as there are no suggestions on. My tip - subscribe to all the airlines and get emails of when specials are released. That way, when something does comeout, u can jump straight on the net and hook yourself up with the latest specials. Trust me, you can get a heck of a lot better then $199 if your patient.

mattie55
22 May 2008, 15:47
I actually really like it. It's vastly different to every state...its cold and picturesque. I cannot wait to come again. I will be coming over for the Melbourne Victory practice match in July.

Thats good to hear then! you are right though it is different to any other state, the best thing about it is the whole city getting around the hawks!
City Promotions are running a competition at the moment for any shop or business to decorate their shops with hawthorn colours and displays and the best one wins, its a great idea and it has bought a big hawthorn feel to the town!