View Full Version : Players worth up/down

Roy boys
21 May 2008, 16:58
I've picked 5 players who wouldn't of been rated in hawthorn top 10 at the start of the year but have been in the side for the majority of the season i'd like to know from a hawthorn fans POV which ones have really improved & which ones are maybe being slightly dragged along by the success of teammates.

M.Osbourne- Being honest i thought this bloke had a dip but was abit of a spud at the start of the year but from what i've seen of Hawthorn this bloke would would be top 8 in the B+F & has now firmly entrenched himself in the best side. His kicking at goal is extreamly good & his skill level has really surprised me, has this been coming or have you been as surprised?
Worth-Up

C.Young- I remember watching the game at Freo & thinking this bloke has really kicked on as a footballer but then i've seen afew recent games & i've thought maybe not, i know he gets mixed reviews by hawthorn fans but i believe the way his playing he might not be getting a game once Hodge, Crawf, Mcglynn, Tuck, Stokes etc get back to fittness or from suspension.
Worth- Down

S.Gilham- The forgotten man when people talk about the hawthorn backline, he has been terrific this year & i believe had a better year then campbell Brown. His poise coming out of the backline is also very good & obviously the backline has had it easier then others but i still believe his proving that his in the top echelon of defenders after that top bracket.
Worth-up

X.Ellis- Alot of people say its easier playing in a good side & sometimes thats true but in Ellis's case i dont believe so because i think his not playing much footy in the position where he'll eventually play. His doing a good job which won't get him any plaudits & many ppl say why didn't you get pendlebury etc but Ellis is simply not getting the same oppurtunity because of hawthorn's surperior midfield so be patient with him because his a gem.
Worth- up

B.Mcglynn- He has improved & another reason why hawhtorn has improved so much. Its not because his getting better stats or anything its because his gone from being a starting 18 player to now being off the bench or just missing out & when you can get good players who are improving to be in those sought of positions you know you will be very succsessful.

I'd like to know other ppl's opinions. I could of put alot of other players in but for now i'd like to know thoughts on those 5.

Neville Bartos
21 May 2008, 17:11
McGlynn hasn't improved that much. He seems to turn the footy over more often than not and looks like he's playing his own game out there outside the team plan. Hopefully after his MASSIVE lay off, he'll get back into some good form and be useful at the business end of the season.

Other than that, you're pretty much spot on

Clinic
21 May 2008, 17:13
M. osbourne - completely agree. Had given up on him and was penciling him in for delisting at the end of the year (and I don't think I was the only one...). Even preseason he was his old undisciplined and not-that-great-a-footballer self. However come round one he was a very useful cog in our mid-to-forward line and had done well ever since. A happy surprise and another reminder to give people time (*cough* ellis, thorp, dowler etc. *cough*).

C. young - agree. He is supposed to be in because of his kicking, and while it is long it is not all that accurate. He is better than lonie I suppose, but is that all we want? I reckon with time he will improve, but at the moment he will shy away from the odd challenge, and i can't remember him holding a tackle.

S. Gilham - agree. I can't remember him clangering a kick. I feel very safe with the ball in his hands. He has also done fairly well in the match ups against some rather good forwards. He's not dominating or anything, just doing very well.

X. Ellis - agree, although not completely. He has improved from last year and is getting better, but not at a markedly quick rate. He's a long term prospect though and you can see the intelligence in his play already. He just has to stop getting caught with the ball in the middle!!!

B. Mcglynn - disagree. I don't think he's gotten any worse, but I don't think he's gotten any better either. Still burns a bit of the ball with his kicking, but you can't question his hardness (if only we could combine him and clinton young!). Overall would probably rather tuck or someone playing, but he is a good squad/depth player.

The other ones that have really stepped up, in my opinion, are bateman and roughhead. Bateman has always looked just off being a really good midfielder and it's finally clicked for him. Roughhead has dominated in the forward line and has finally put those "put him in the backline" calls to rest.

Mojo
21 May 2008, 17:13
Michael Osborne - Definately something coming, although no one really expected. Since arriving at the club he's always carried injuries during the season or prior. I think he's always had the tools, and this pre-season was one of few if not his first full pre-season. He's reaping the benefits now.

Clinton Young - His postive attributes are another dimension to Hawthorn's game, which makes us look potent. He, although has some minor deficencies that he's working on, but really unlikely he'll drop his spot in the side soon. A definate positve acquisition.

Stephen Gilham - I think he's really professional and has taking leaps and bounds since his arrival. Has obviously bulked up a lot and reads the ball well. I think further games will increase his confidence. Probably needs to work on his pace to take the next step also.

Xav Ellis - Will be a star within the year. Has great decision making and skills, just needs more confidence. His game against Port was a sign where he really stamped him self as an AFL footballer - comfortable in any role, midfield of half-back flank. Watch him!

Ben McGlynn - So underated even by Hawthorn supporters. Will always have an affect on a game, despite having an off day. He will run, tackle, shepard and do the necessary acts every week he plays. I think he's a really great reader of the ball and gives 100% at everything he does. Definately in our best 22 when fit.

CAPTAINCRAWF
21 May 2008, 17:15
What about our 2 Ruckmen?:thumbsu:
I think there improvement has been alot better and a hell of alot more important to the team than Gilham, Young and Ellis has been.

Roy boys
21 May 2008, 17:19
There are many players who you could say but the reason why hawthorn is so good in not becuase of high draft picks as people say. Everyone new Buddy, Roughy, Hodge etc would be stars but who at the start of 05 would of said Sewell would be leading a newspapers major award after 8 rounds, who would of said the most consistent ruck combo would be Taylor & Campbell. Most people thought Ladson, Bateman, Osbourne were no better then average at best. These blokes plus many more is why hawthorn are now so good.

flukeyluke
21 May 2008, 17:26
M. osbourne - completely agree. Had given up on him and was penciling him in for delisting at the end of the year (and I don't think I was the only one...). Even preseason he was his old undisciplined and not-that-great-a-footballer self. However come round one he was a very useful cog in our mid-to-forward line and had done well ever since. A happy surprise and another reminder to give people time (*cough* ellis, thorp, dowler etc. *cough*).

C. young - agree. He is supposed to be in because of his kicking, and while it is long it is not all that accurate. He is better than lonie I suppose, but is that all we want? I reckon with time he will improve, but at the moment he will shy away from the odd challenge, and i can't remember him holding a tackle.

S. Gilham - agree. I can't remember him clangering a kick. I feel very safe with the ball in his hands. He has also done fairly well in the match ups against some rather good forwards. He's not dominating or anything, just doing very well.

X. Ellis - agree, although not completely. He has improved from last year and is getting better, but not at a markedly quick rate. He's a long term prospect though and you can see the intelligence in his play already. He just has to stop getting caught with the ball in the middle!!!

B. Mcglynn - disagree. I don't think he's gotten any worse, but I don't think he's gotten any better either. Still burns a bit of the ball with his kicking, but you can't question his hardness (if only we could combine him and clinton young!). Overall would probably rather tuck or someone playing, but he is a good squad/depth player.

The other ones that have really stepped up, in my opinion, are bateman and roughhead. Bateman has always looked just off being a really good midfielder and it's finally clicked for him. Roughhead has dominated in the forward line and has finally put those "put him in the backline" calls to rest.

That is pretty much spot on.

magpies10
21 May 2008, 17:31
I've picked 5 players who wouldn't of been rated in hawthorn top 10 at the start of the year but have been in the side for the majority of the season i'd like to know from a hawthorn fans POV which ones have really improved & which ones are maybe being slightly dragged along by the success of teammates.

M.Osbourne- Being honest i thought this bloke had a dip but was abit of a spud at the start of the year but from what i've seen of Hawthorn this bloke would would be top 8 in the B+F & has now firmly entrenched himself in the best side. His kicking at goal is extreamly good & his skill level has really surprised me, has this been coming or have you been as surprised?
Worth-Up

C.Young- I remember watching the game at Freo & thinking this bloke has really kicked on as a footballer but then i've seen afew recent games & i've thought maybe not, i know he gets mixed reviews by hawthorn fans but i believe the way his playing he might not be getting a game once Hodge, Crawf, Mcglynn, Tuck, Stokes etc get back to fittness or from suspension.
Worth- Down

S.Gilham- The forgotten man when people talk about the hawthorn backline, he has been terrific this year & i believe had a better year then campbell Brown. His poise coming out of the backline is also very good & obviously the backline has had it easier then others but i still believe his proving that his in the top echelon of defenders after that top bracket.
Worth-up

X.Ellis- Alot of people say its easier playing in a good side & sometimes thats true but in Ellis's case i dont believe so because i think his not playing much footy in the position where he'll eventually play. His doing a good job which won't get him any plaudits & many ppl say why didn't you get pendlebury etc but Ellis is simply not getting the same oppurtunity because of hawthorn's surperior midfield so be patient with him because his a gem.
Worth- up

B.Mcglynn- He has improved & another reason why hawhtorn has improved so much. Its not because his getting better stats or anything its because his gone from being a starting 18 player to now being off the bench or just missing out & when you can get good players who are improving to be in those sought of positions you know you will be very succsessful.

I'd like to know other ppl's opinions. I could of put alot of other players in but for now i'd like to know thoughts on those 5.

Who will take his spot for the next few weeks?

Mervyn Beasley
21 May 2008, 23:32
Who will take his spot for the next few weeks?
Prob Tim Clarke or maybe Morton (the other Morton that is!)

Roughie
22 May 2008, 00:08
Roy Boys your prob one of my favourite non hawk supporters, your always on the money mate.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
22 May 2008, 02:54
I would have had my top 10 at the start of the year as Hodge, Mitchell, Franklin, Brown, Croad, Sewell, Crawford, Birchall, Lewis and Williams.

They remain the same, except I would now include Roughie instead of Willo.

Given that, I think the list has developed and maybe it's just that the players ranked 15th - 25th have all improved at a greater level that the average top ten, so that the positions aren't changing, the gap to the top ten is just decreasing.

I would say McGlynn has marginally improved, Young's improved 10%, Ellis and Gilham 20% and Ossie 30%.

Roy boys
22 May 2008, 17:53
Roy Boys your prob one of my favourite non hawk supporters, your always on the money mate.
easy to be unbiased when you team is no longer running around.