View Full Version : Shannon Cox

Dxmxgxd
21 May 2008, 17:42
I don't know what other posters think of Cox, some say he will be delisted at the end of the year. I personally reckon Cox has HUGE potential, sure he may look like a cruisy type of player but thats just his style of play. I much prefer seeing a player have the ability to cruise when under pressure instead of someone like Rhyce Shaw (God bless him) who gets panic attacks when in traffic. Cox should be in the 22 IMO, great disposal. Big boy. Fit and strong. Give him a go!

The Royal Sampler
21 May 2008, 17:46
He's been played out of position, which has hurt his chances of being selected.

Clearly, he can't defend. Whether he's being played as a HBF to add a defensive element to his game, or because the coaching staff see him as a natural defender, I'm not sure. One thing is for certain though, he won't cut it in defence.

zorbadunde
21 May 2008, 17:48
i hope they keep him. so much poise on the ball and will be a real asset. i remember a game where he played in the ruck and showed some good stuff in the middle.

Jabso
21 May 2008, 17:49
I disagree, he can defend but he can't seem to be able to find the right balance. His ability to spoil on the lead is pretty impressive. Last year he was at his best at CHB on bigger oponents and peeling off only at certain points rather than being the H.Shaw type.

vinnie_vegas69
21 May 2008, 17:53
He won't be delisted at the end of the year, at least not without being tried in a different position.

He's playing pretty well in the VFL, unfortunately in defence in a role that we're not struggling in. I'd suggest that we should probably be moving him onto the wing or into the midfield and seeing if he can cut it there.

smiddaz123
21 May 2008, 17:59
Can't see a place for a defender who doesn't defend at AFL level funnily enough.

Up forward we have options ahead of him.

In the midfield I don't think he'd add anything more than other players.

I can't see a spot for him.

magpies10
21 May 2008, 18:01
Yeah I also reckon he would go alright on a wing, seems to allow his opponent to much space when in defence.

Jabso
21 May 2008, 18:01
Put him in the midfield see what he can do with his big body would be the best thing to do.

Timmy from Thomastown
21 May 2008, 18:03
He won't be delisted at the end of the year, at least not without being tried in a different position.

He's playing pretty well in the VFL, unfortunately in defence in a role that we're not struggling in. I'd suggest that we should probably be moving him onto the wing or into the midfield and seeing if he can cut it there.

What he said.

The Royal Sampler
21 May 2008, 18:07
I disagree, he can defend but he can't seem to be able to find the right balance. His ability to spoil on the lead is pretty impressive. Last year he was at his best at CHB on bigger oponents and peeling off only at certain points rather than being the H.Shaw type.
I only see him get chopped up on the lead, TBH, and last weekend he got out-bodied by bottom-aged Casey Scorpion midfielder Jack Steven. I really don't rate his defensive capabilities.

Kirk Hinrich #12
21 May 2008, 18:23
apparently his attitude is crap as well.

rand corp
21 May 2008, 18:37
I'm hoping he gets a hadnful of games at least this year to prove himself.

He's close, I've gone on about his attributes and failings before on here several times so won't again, but I hope he at least gets a reasonable chance to prove himself.

Based on the youth of our list and the fact that we will almost certainly lose Wakes, Dutchy, Lonie, Burns, Presti as excperieced players at year's end you'd have to give him another year.

shawthing09
21 May 2008, 18:37
He's been played out of position, which has hurt his chances of being selected.

Clearly, he can't defend. Whether he's being played as a HBF to add a defensive element to his game, or because the coaching staff see him as a natural defender, I'm not sure. One thing is for certain though, he won't cut it in defence.

I think that is the main of many reasons he is being played their, for him to make it anywhere at AFL level his accountability and ability to stay in a game mentally needs improving and hence the defensive role. I also think it is because if he can be a good rebounding defender it would be his best possie in the top flight, tha said I am not confident in his ability to do this.

Can't see a place for a defender who doesn't defend at AFL level funnily enough.

Up forward we have options ahead of him.

In the midfield I don't think he'd add anything more than other players.

I can't see a spot for him.

Agreed.

Timmy from Thomastown
21 May 2008, 18:45

ever heard of Martin Pike or Mal Michael?

zorbadunde
21 May 2008, 19:19
i talked with him in the inner sanctum one week and he said at the start of the year he came to pre season unfit unsure of what to expect. but browny has huge raps on him. so who knows

Angelus512
21 May 2008, 20:58
All i know is when I saw Cox play at AFL level i thought his aggression and skills were good. Actually i'm surprised he was dropped. He had one really bad game if i recall and he's never been back since.

Kirby
21 May 2008, 21:26

His comments about his non selection in the latest edition of The Black and White Show on CTV would suggest that this is true.

In response to the question from Dutchy as to why he is not getting a game he replies, "Apparently I just have to pick up my man" in a sarcastic manner. His other answers are similar. Check it out.

wicksy
21 May 2008, 21:58
His comments about his non selection in the latest edition of The Black and White Show on CTV would suggest that this is true.

In response to the question from Dutchy as to why he is not getting a game he replies, "Apparently I just have to pick up my man" in a sarcastic manner. His other answers are similar. Check it out.

You are kidding right???

I just watched it and there was nothing in that clip that suggested he had a poor attitude. Just a bit of banter with a fellow player and he has been playing well in the 2's so why couldn't he have a bit of a crack, 'toungue in cheek'!!

shawthing09
21 May 2008, 22:31
You are kidding right???

I just watched it and there was nothing in that clip that suggested he had a poor attitude. Just a bit of banter with a fellow player and he has been playing well in the 2's so why couldn't he have a bit of a crack, 'toungue in cheek'!!

it's not the smartest thing to poke fun at the reason your not being picked when your not in the side, especially when it's tru.

Kirby
21 May 2008, 23:04
You are kidding right???

I dont think it looked or sounded tongue in cheek. It seemed more petulant.

PieLebo87
21 May 2008, 23:06
Cox personifies what is wrong with the Collingwood FC. Or, more-so, the coaching staff.

A skilful player being forced to play out of position. Im sick of it, I really am. How the hell are players such as Stanley, Cox, Anthony, Clarke, Goldsack (to a lesser extent) and Cook meant to flourish and succeed when continuesly played out of position? Alan Toovey's career almost went down the drain last year, and even has a negative aura about him with Collingwood supporters because of MM's persistence to transform him into an inside midfielder, and it just wouldnt work.

Im tired of complaining and so are others that MM and his staff think they can transform quality youngsters into whatever MM and his staff want. Just utilise a youngster's qualities for what they offer! Not what YOU might want!

Stanley is a midfielder and he shows it week in week out in the VFL when given the opportunity and he is a kid with enormous talent and upside, so allow him to flourish as a god damn midfielder!

Cox will NOT be a KP defender! He doesn't want it, through what he shows in his body language. He is a big boy that can run and carry, utilise him in that damn position! Give him a chance in the seniors!

Anthony has amazing skills and can run with the footy. For crying out loud, we're dying for a good rebound defender with good disposal skills! Use him as that sort of player! He got 4 possessions on debut, only a sh*t player does, and Anthony ISN'T a sh*t player, so the finger must be pointed on MM.

For goodness sake, release Clarke into the midfield, let him tag a top-notch opponent, thats how players before him have learnt! Stick him on a midfielder, and tell him to shadow him all day! Thats not so hard for someone to do, especially someone with Clarke's stamina and endurance!

I might get bagged out for this, but Im sick of people sooking that we've got no quality youngesters for depth, but we DO, its just seems like MM and his croonies are TRYING to flush any AFL chance out of them by transforming them into some sort of player that MM wants. But its just not going to happen.

If we play the likes of Anthony, Cox and Stanley the way they want to be played, in the position they want to play, then we'll have 3 quality youngsters vying for a spot in the top 22 every single week, but it'll never happen when Cox is being forced to play as a KP backman, or Anthony is played at HF one week, CHB another, FB another, wing another ect.

If Anthony, Cox or Stanley aren't success stories and garuanteed 100+ AFL gamers in 5 years then the blame should be placed squarely on MM because they're more then capable.

Palmer Stoat
21 May 2008, 23:57
You are kidding right???

Yep, agree with you, wicksy. I thought it was just banter. Even if Shannon is frustrated with his nonselection, I don't have a problem with it. That just shows he wants it.

ksardog
22 May 2008, 09:29
is there any chance cox could play in the midfield as that big bodied player in the mould of an adam goodes?not saying he is anywhere near as good as him but from what i have seen has plenty of talent but not the discipline for a defenders role.maybe he hasnt got the engine but seems to be wasted trying to turn him into a backmen.

Kirby
22 May 2008, 09:29
I hope you are right guys because I think he quite talented.

It just concerned me that those comments were made a month after his alleged similar comment at training.

I know that people are frustrated that he is being played as a backman when perhaps his best position is in the midfield or as a flanker, however, we all know that there is no place in a team with MM as coach where a player is not accountable. Mick is trying to make him learn defensive habits.

Whilst I think he could be dangerous in the middle or on a wing he still needs to have defensive skills so that his man does not cut us up the other way. I think that Mick is forcing him to learn this and he will not get a game until he gets on top of this issue.

vinnie_vegas69
22 May 2008, 09:35
Those alleged comments and training related issues were found to be not referring to Cox, but to someone on the VFL list.

Kirby
22 May 2008, 09:42
Those alleged comments and training related issues were found to be not referring to Cox, but to someone on the VFL list.
I never knew that. Well, that's good to hear (even though a one off comment doesn't mean much imho). That would mean that there is no ongoing pattern of behaviour that would be of concern.

Tails1
23 May 2008, 10:49
Just have a feeling with him that if he is not a regular member of the senior team by years end he may be keen to head back to WA to further his opportunites.

Would either WA team be interested in him and if so what do you think they might offer for him?

Not that I really want to see him go, just think that he is a young player with a lot of potential upside that could be used with another player, and a draft pick to land a quality player.

Whacker
23 May 2008, 10:52
Pielebo i couldnt agree more