View Full Version : First Test: West Indies vs Australia - Kingston - 22-26th May
OzBomber
21 May 2008, 21:20
First Test
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k256/SeanCricket/WI.jpgvshttp://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k256/SeanCricket/Untitled-2copy-1.jpg
Kingston, 22-26th May 2008
Playing time: 1am-8am AEST
http://i90.photobucket.com/albums/k256/SeanCricket/WEather.jpg
Likely Australia team (Providing Hayden is fit):
Jaques
Hayden
Ponting
Hussey
Katich
Symonds
Haddin
Lee
Johnson
Clark
MacGill
West Indies Squad:
Ramnaresh Sarwan (c)
Dwayne Bravo(vc)
Sulieman Benn
Shivnarine Chanderpaul
Fidel Edwards
Ryan Hinds
Amit Jaggernauth
Runako Morton
Brenton Parchment
Daren Powell
Dinesh Ramdin(wk)
Darren Sammy
Devon Smith
Jerome Taylor
Australia travel to the West Indies for the first time since their 3rd WC triumph. They'll be looking to start off with a win against a young WI team. Brad Haddin makes his test debut to replace the retired Adam Gilchrist. He will become test cap number 400. Simon Katich will most likely come into the side for Michael Clarke, who is back home with fiance Lara Bingle after her father died last week. Matthew Hayden has marked himself 50/50 to play after struggling with a heel injury. If Matthew Hayden is not fit, then the likely scenario is that Katich will go to opener and Hodge will come into the middle order.
TV:http://www.foxsports.com.au/images/logo-foxsports-fs1.gif Live: 12:50am-8am AEST
Radio: http://www.abc.net.au/grandstand/cricket/img/find_freq.gif Live: 12:55am-8am AEST
TheMightyPies
21 May 2008, 21:30
looking forward to watch (well listen) to some Aussie cricket, hope ponting hits some form. Aussies to win
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 May 2008, 00:58
____ing hell, it seems to be a bit cool in the windies at this time of year. Check out those temperatures
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 May 2008, 01:07
Australian Series Most Runs
PONTING Ricky 4.00
HAYDEN Matthew 4.00
JACQUES Phil 6.00
HUSSEY Micheal 7.00
CLARKE Micheal 8.00
SYMONDS Andrew 9.00
HADDIN Brad 17.00
KATICH Simon 8.00
HODGE Brad 13.00
Players Not Quoted 21.00
Source:- TAB Sportsbet
Also worth mentioning that last West Indies tour in 2003, Ricky Ponting scored 523 runs in 5 innings over 3 matchs (missed one match due to illness/injury) at an average 130.75 with 3 hundreds. Odds of 4 dollars are pretty good, also, 10 hundreds were scored last series by Australian batsmen with 7 of these hundreds coming from the Top 3 batsmen. From memory last time most of the middle order batsmen didnt get much of a hit. Ponting at those odds are quite juicy.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
22 May 2008, 01:08
Here is a link to the last time australian played in the windies and the stats.
http://aus.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/2002-03/AUS_IN_WI/STATS/AUS_IN_WI_APR-JUN2003_TEST_AVS.html
Russian
22 May 2008, 09:46
My flash drive ate my template :mad:. Anyway, wrote this before I realised I had to recreate the rest. Hayden's now been ruled out, Katich to open, Hodge to play.
It’s more than 9 years since Australia last played at Sabina Park, and their last appearance wasn’t a memorable one with the hosts successfully chasing down a mammoth total of 3 to win after some bloke called Lara made 213 in the first innings. Two games later another nobody called Warne was dropped, leaving number 1 spinning duties to the only member of that side still playing first class cricket today, and he is one of at least 2 inclusions for the Australians. The West Indies have two players still playing first class cricket, but neither seem likely to appear for the national side again after Brian Lara’s dispute with everyone ‘running’ West Indian cricket for the last decade, and Pedro Collins’ decision to play for Surrey rather than revive his international career against Sri Lanka last month. That game was followed by wins for the locals in their next 4 games at Sabina Park, but after beating Sri Lanka in 3 days in 2003, they have beaten only Bangladesh since then, and only made it to day 5 against Pakistan in 2005. Both teams have played 91 Tests this century – Australia have lost 17, the Windies have won 11, both those numbers increasing last time they played in a result, which incidentally there has been in the last 23 Tests between these teams – only six finishing in favour of this game’s hosts.
Both sides have some unwelcome forced changes, with the Windies missing their captain Chris Gayle through injury, his opening partner Sewnarine Chattergoon with a shoulder problem, and number 4 Marlon Samuels who is suspended after inappropriate dealings with a bookmaker. Australia are missing their former vice captain Adam Gilchrist, his replacement Michael Clarke who was given an extra couple of days at home after his father-not-in-law’s funeral rather than arriving off a two day flight the day before the game, while Matthew Hayden has a foot, or heel, or Achilles, or ankle problem depending which article you read – whatever it is he did it during his IPL stint – which is likely to keep him out. Australia will use Simon Katich, and he will take Hayden’s spot at the top should it need to be filled after making 97 in that position in the only more than 20 over game any of them have played in two months. Brad Hodge got first crack at number 5 but didn’t put his selection beyond doubt, leaving the door slightly ajar for Ashley Noffke to become Australia’s 401st Test cricketer, assuming he bats below wicketkeeper Brad Haddin. The stats say Beau Casson should be a chance as when spinners have been picked they’ve generally taken wickets here (unless they’re Paul Adams or Ashley Giles), but in reality he isn’t – especially after Katich’s success in the warm up game on the other side of the island and the lack of lefties against whom he could exploit Russell Tiffin’s lack of knowledge of the lbw law.
The nature of the pitch is shown by the hosts’ decision to keep two spinners in a squad of 14 (no doubt the absence of their top two part timers also helped). Devon Smith was pushed down the order for the last game against Sri Lanka and responded with the second highest score of the innings that gave them a narrow first innings lead, before hitting the winning runs late on day 4, but he may have to move back to the top alongside Brenton Parchment. Other possible, but less likely, options for the top of the order are Shivnarine Chanderpaul, acting vice captain Dwayne Bravo, and Mr Fixit Runako Morton. The latter is joined by Ryan Hinds, all rounder Darren Sammy, and the two finger spinners in competition for two spots previously filled by batsmen, assuming the specialist opener is chosen in that position on his home ground. Carlton Baugh’s ton in the warmup game (after being dropped early by Haddin) keeps the pressure on Denesh Ramdin who has not passed 50 for 12 months for an average of just 15, which doesn’t help the spinners make the side.
bossman111
22 May 2008, 17:58
Awesome series in 1999. Up there with the 05 Ashes for me.
Any outside chance of playing the 3 quicks, MacGill AND Casson?
Moin Khan
22 May 2008, 18:32
Notice Katich is 2nd fav for most runs @ $4.50. Don't even mind the Haddin at $13.00 which just may happen if there is something in the pitch early.
Watched a bit of that Sulieman Benn bloke in the Stanford 20/20 - he ia a Bruce Reid beanpole and looks about 6'9''. He bowls left arm ortho and actually opened the bowling with darts. Didn't do that much though - can't see him troubling the VB's.
Hopefully Punter gets going again and Mr Cricket can get that average even higher. Hodgey is in a no-win situation, so hopefully he gets a decent hit.
Can definately see Katich (bat and ball) and MacGill dominating and making the match a farce.
Aussies by 200 runs or 6-8 wickets.
hong_kong_bond
22 May 2008, 18:33
no chance - Casson didn't play the warm-up game...
just going to be an "experience tour" for Beau
Moin Khan
22 May 2008, 18:34
ThursdayFridaySaturdaySundayMondayhttp://icons-pe.wxug.com/i/c/a/cloudy.gif
89° F | 78° F
32° C | 26° C
http://icons-pe.wxug.com/i/c/a/mostlysunny.gif
89° F | 78° F
32° C | 26° C
89° F | 77° F
32° C | 25° C
89° F | 77° F
32° C | 25° C
86° F | 77° F
30° C | 25° C
Overcast Scattered Clouds Scattered Clouds Scattered Clouds Scattered Clouds
no chance - Casson didn't play the warm-up game...
just going to be an "experience tour" for Beau
I guess they have Katich to bowl left arm chinamen if called upon anyway.
hong_kong_bond
22 May 2008, 19:11
I guess they have Katich to bowl left arm chinamen if called upon anyway.
plus Symonds to bowl...and even Hodgey could roll his arm over if required.
OzBomber
22 May 2008, 19:13
We also have Hussey's dibbly dobblers and Punter's express medium pace. ;)
Punter has got Michael Vaughan out after all.
I'm gonna end up going to bed at 8:30 and get up at 3:30 to watch the cricket.
TorresIsGod
22 May 2008, 20:42
Katich :rolleyes:
Dud of the highest order, may as well be playing Shane Watson too
Bomber Bears
23 May 2008, 00:07
lol
dud???
Katich>victoria
lol @ the white guy with a regge accent.
Did Ponting even say if he wanted to bat or bowl... I must have missed it.
Edit: WTF .. why is catshit playing?
Gunnar Longshanks
23 May 2008, 01:01
Underway at Kingston.
Living in the UK makes it much easier to watch this series.
It's 4pm here.
Cameron_K
23 May 2008, 01:16
Katich was lucky the first ball he bowled didn't carry.
Is this the weakest test team we have fielded in the last 10 years?
Well done Catshit, don't let the door hit your arse on the way out. Nice S/R though :)
Cameron_K
23 May 2008, 01:19
Katich gone for 12 c Sammy b Edwards
Black Thunder
23 May 2008, 01:19
what a name from the new west indian... Amit Jaggernauth... so many headlines there
Why the hell am I still up? I've got Tafe at 9, going to pull an all nighter tomorrow watching the cricket, and yet I'm here watching a f***ing wicket fall! :mad:
Ah wait, it's all good, got money on Ponting being the leading run scorer :D
Super Goalie
23 May 2008, 01:20
And don't come back Catshit!
fightingdreamer88
23 May 2008, 01:24
Who should we have included instead?
Jacques should have just opened by himself and yelled 'crease' whenever he made a single.
fightingdreamer88
23 May 2008, 01:26
Jacques should have just opened by himself and yelled 'crease' whenever he made a single.
Lawl.
Ponting looks in good touch early :thumbsu:
fightingdreamer88
23 May 2008, 01:39
Jaques gone. Not a good start.
Cameron_K
23 May 2008, 01:41
That was plumb
Some good bowling here, bit of bite in the pitch as well
Cameron_K
23 May 2008, 01:44
Ponting survives the shout. Looked to have been heading down leg but was close.
Grimwood
23 May 2008, 01:44
Why didn't they go up more strongly for that LBW against Ponting? It wasn't plumb but you'd think they'd have put a bit more effort into ithe appeal.
That was plumb
Some good bowling here, bit of bite in the pitch as well
That's what I thought, but after seeing the replay probably just a but too much angle down leg. Very close and very lucky.
Cameron_K
23 May 2008, 01:48
That's what I thought, but after seeing the replay probably just a but too much angle down leg. Very close and very lucky.
I posted that in regards to Jaques ;)
DeadlyAkkuret
23 May 2008, 01:52
And don't come back Catshit!
Looks like the ultra-reactive, knee-jerk brigade of the cricket board is here. Thankfully we have selectors who don't judge each player on one innings.
Cruiser23
23 May 2008, 01:53
Fidel is bowling very well, a few wayward one's but that is expected with an action like that.
Looks like the ultra-reactive, knee-jerk brigade of the cricket board is here. Thankfully we have selectors who don't judge each player on one innings.
Hopefully we do after today :)
Drummond
23 May 2008, 01:56
This was the perfect oppertunity to blood some youth. I really wish they took a punt on Shaun Marsh or Shane Watson. They are the future, not Katich or Hodge.
Gunnar Longshanks
23 May 2008, 01:59
This was the perfect oppertunity to blood some youth. I really wish they took a punt on Shaun Marsh or Shane Watson.Why don't we just fast-track Phillip Hughes and Moises Henriques while we're at it?
Cruiser23
23 May 2008, 02:02
This was the perfect oppertunity to blood some youth. I really wish they took a punt on Shaun Marsh or Shane Watson. They are the future, not Katich or Hodge.
You're right, but IIRC the squad was picked before Marsh and Watson were in form. So to fly them over just for the one test match when quality replacements are already in the WI (Hodge and Katich), really was no point.
Super Goalie
23 May 2008, 02:06
Looks like the ultra-reactive, knee-jerk brigade of the cricket board is here.
At your service :)
Looks like a good time to bat first considering there's already uneven bounce in the first session of play :eek:
rusdid24
23 May 2008, 02:19
Looks like a good time to bat first considering there's already uneven bounce in the first session of play :eek:
Was just going to come on and write that myself!
This thing could be an absolute minefield come Day 3, 4 or 5, whenever the Windies are batting second.
Ponting is looking very, very good, which is good to see. Have to remember it's gainst an average bowling line-up but he has to get form back somewhere.
Anyways off to bed, hopefully will wake up tomorrow and see R.Ponting 159* :thumbsu:
Richo83
23 May 2008, 02:37
I understand people's dislike of knee-jerk reactions and premature opinions but I don't care what anyone says, Hodge does not belong in the test team. Period. One good innings does not make a career. Surely David Hussey is unlucky.
Jaques struggles without Hayden, if he wants to make a career he'll need to make runs whoever his partner is.
Ponting getting back into form, good. About time, although we knew he'd hit back. Raced to 41 now. :thumbsu:
Grimwood
23 May 2008, 02:57
Another pretty weak appeal for a 50/50 leg before.
Gunnar Longshanks
23 May 2008, 04:20
What radio station is it on?
Anyone got a link to some online streaming?
Borscht Mat
23 May 2008, 04:59
What radio station is it on?
Anyone got a link to some online streaming?
also looking, can't find one. the OP said it is on ABC but I can't find a link yet
anyone ?
Gunnar Longshanks
23 May 2008, 05:15
also looking, can't find one. the OP said it is on ABC but I can't find a link yet
anyone ?I don't know if you can get radio streamed if you're outside Australia.
Borscht Mat
23 May 2008, 05:17
I don't know if you can get radio streamed if you're outside Australia.
yeah sometimes that is the case, but what shits me is that it is normally because someone else has the rights, but then whoever that is doesn't stream it anyway so no-one wins :mad:
Borscht Mat
23 May 2008, 05:24
http://stream.netro.ca/cananewslive
you can buy me a beer later
Bloody 774abc melbourne cut off the cricket and went to $#R#)(%@ RED #r09*WR SYMONDS FFS. what the bloody hell is this wanker doin on the air
AbbaRoos
23 May 2008, 06:33
Legend:thumbsu:
Shaun Marsh
Ah wait, it's all good, got money on Ponting being the leading run scorer :D
:D:D
Leg 1 of the multi = swwwwwwiiiiiishhh :thumbsu:
Cousin Jed
23 May 2008, 08:25
Look out - Hodgey will rack up a big score!
It will take him 3 days though....
notting18
23 May 2008, 08:36
A pretty good first day overall, with good knocks by Ponting and Hodgey. The West Indies don't look like they will be the "easy beats" we expected, but I have no doubt that we will beat them.
Welcome back punter.
150 on the first day of the first test. There's more to leadership than just setting fields. Great stuff.
Ice goddess
23 May 2008, 08:47
Welcome back punter.
150 on the first day of the first test. There's more to leadership than just setting fields. Great stuff.
Is the West Indies attack the worst they've ever fielded. Without Taylor it looked pretty poor.
lookkg386
23 May 2008, 08:49
Welcome back punter.
Great day's ( or early morning for us Aussie's) cricket. Punter was super!, just shows how that bubblegum 20/20 rubbish rates with the 'ol Punter. :thumbsu:
Great knock by Punter, what form slump??
Good to see Hussey getting runs at no4 and good knock from Hodgey. Will probably be his last test match as Clarke and Haydos will be back for the next one and too far down the pecking order. Hope he makes a ton to finish on a good note!
bigpapagman
23 May 2008, 09:34
he'll finish up with a test average of at least 63 if that happens.
it's up to about 66 @ the mo.
Punchy Bassett
23 May 2008, 09:49
In relation to Katich, how is it a snap reaction? He has never performed at test level so last night was no shock, how many chances does one batsman get? Was a big chance to blood a new opener and yet we have gone the recycle option :thumbsd:
stewie griffen
23 May 2008, 10:22
well he wasnt goin to open until hayden got injured
so who would u open with? chris rogers? oh wait he is 30, hey if worst comes to worst why not graham manou :D
bombersno1
23 May 2008, 10:38
Shaun Marsh for one is a better option than Katich. Katich is a short term fix that offers no development to youngsters!
OzBomber
23 May 2008, 11:50
Just saw 2 minute highlights. How good were the catches to get rid of Hussey and Ponting! They were awesome!
Punchy Bassett
23 May 2008, 12:26
so who would u open with? chris rogers? oh wait he is 30, hey if worst comes to worst why not graham manou :D
Stewie you are a Kiwi now, your opinion means nothing :D :p
PS To answer your question Shaun Marsh
stewie griffen
23 May 2008, 12:52
Stewie you are a Kiwi now, your opinion means nothing :D :p
PS To answer your question Shaun Marsh
yes indeed, and i'm just making sure you keep working and not waste ur day on bigfooty, but even then its too hard to resist paying you out about katich :D
rupert pupkin 87
23 May 2008, 14:02
God damn this was ABC i was listening to SEN to 2 as well :mad:
Oh well going home tonight so I'll be able to watch the next three days :D
TorresIsGod
23 May 2008, 15:06
Simon Katich
http://media.tumblr.com/zcTqHiK8c98umew6HQPuZ5zX_400.jpg
Well batted Hodgey
Pretty good first day from the Aussies. 4-301 at stumps. Pity Punter couldn't have made it to a double ton, but very happy to see Hodge there not out on 53. Should hopefully get well past 500 with Symonds and Haddin still to come.
OzBomber
23 May 2008, 15:55
I'm predicting 60 odd for Haddin in his first innings.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
23 May 2008, 18:03
Felt a bit sorry for Katich to be honest, he isnt an opening batsmen in my book, and to fight so hard to get a chance and then to play in a position that he is not equipped for or used to is hard luck on his part, in saying that, he played some decent looking shots while he was there and i really hope he gets some runs in the second dig.
OzBomber
23 May 2008, 18:29
If anyone, it should've been Hussey that played at the top of the order. He has scored a hundred as opener, that too against the West Indies. Katich has not.
Felt a bit sorry for Katich to be honest, he isnt an opening batsmen in my book, and to fight so hard to get a chance and then to play in a position that he is not equipped for or used to is hard luck on his part, in saying that, he played some decent looking shots while he was there and i really hope he gets some runs in the second dig.
I agree, had Hayden not got injured, he would have batted where Hodge did because of Clarke's absence. Hodge should have been made to open. How could you not make runs in the middle-order against that attack?
Black Thunder
23 May 2008, 19:26
Jaques struggles without Hayden, if he wants to make a career he'll need to make runs whoever his partner is.
Your basing that one what?? three digs... i don't think Hayden helped him too much prior to his rising into the Australian team.
There's a lot of Sean Marsh love in this board which is fair enough. he's young, had a great season and can definetaly bat. i wouldn't mind seeing him string together another good run of games of WA though.
Katich was always going to get picked and I'd say in the back of his mind was desperate for Hayden to be fit so he didn't have to open.
The call for Clarke's replacement was always D Hussey or Hodge with Marsh behind them.
Black Thunder
23 May 2008, 19:29
too bloody right.
if it was upto most bigfooty posters no one would ever get past 5 tests.
Cousin Jed
23 May 2008, 19:37
He's batted at 3 behind Greg Mail and Ed Cowan.
He's used to being in early.
i'm a fan of Katich, but i think opening position with the red ball isn't for him. White ball, yes, absolutely, but not the red ball. I know it shouldn't make a difference as such, but in a batsmans mind it does.
he should be batting 4 or 5. i'd prefer 4 for him.
TorresIsGod
23 May 2008, 23:54
Why didn't the selectors let Mike Hussey open with Phil Jaques, bat Ponting at 3, Hodge at 4 and Katich at 5?...
Couldn't that be done, if 'Katich isn't an opening batsman'??..
Face it, Katich isn't a test batsman at all.
Don Draper
24 May 2008, 00:03
Why didn't the selectors let Mike Hussey open with Phil Jaques, bat Ponting at 3, Hodge at 4 and Katich at 5?...
Couldn't that be done, if 'Katich isn't an opening batsman'??..
Face it, Katich isn't a test batsman at all.
Hussey's position is to bat in the middle order. He is not an opening batsman Katich is more suited to that role pretty simple DC
Grimwood
24 May 2008, 00:25
Hussey's position is to bat in the middle order. He is not an opening batsman Katich is more suited to that role pretty simple DC
Hussey has opened the batting far more often than Katich.
Geez, there's some ripping cricket at the moment between England and NZ, and I really don't want to miss it.
Hopefully it starts raining and the decision on whether to switch over is made for me :thumbsu:
EDIT: Thank you Mother Nature :D
Hodgey looking in good touch; somewhere, Bushranger is dancing in a fit of delirious happiness :p
EDIT: Call me 'The Jinxer' :D
Cameron_K
24 May 2008, 01:26
Hodge gone, good catch behind the wicket.
Cameron_K
24 May 2008, 01:31
Some very good bowling here by the Windies.
Pevers-Legend
24 May 2008, 01:32
Hodge had a real chance to put a nail in the Katich coffin - middle order spot still up for grabs - even with clarke coming back.
Grimwood
24 May 2008, 03:18
7/372 at lunch.
I reckon Australia are about 100 runs to the good here, thanks to Ponting.
Grimwood
24 May 2008, 04:27
Symonds on a rampage now.
Should really have been given out first ball after tea as well...
OzBomber
24 May 2008, 06:07
I slept passed my 2 alarms of 12:30 and 1am. :(
OzBomber
24 May 2008, 07:46
Brilliant bowling from Stuey Clark. What a star.
Hits Parchment in the groin then gets him next ball.
Grimwood
24 May 2008, 08:01
Clark has been excellent, Lee a steady sidekick, but the other two have looked really rusty so far.
OzBomber
24 May 2008, 08:03
Binga really had trouble with his no balls today. I think Punter should've taken him off earlier.
Cousin Jed
24 May 2008, 08:15
Another test, another shocking over rate.
Not even going to get 80 overs in. Both captains should be told they will be forced to bat with a stump instead of a bat in the 2nd innings if they don't lift.
Cousin Jed
24 May 2008, 08:17
Shocking decision by Dar.
Blatant as they come.
switch the play
24 May 2008, 09:28
Could someone pls give me a final score and an overview of the days play?:thumbsu:
Stumps Day 2 - West Indies trail by 316 runs with 7 wickets remaining in the 1st innings
Australia 431
Ponting 158
Symonds 70*
Hodge 67
Hussey 56
Edwards 5/104
West Indies 115/3
Smith 32
Morton 23*
Chanderpaul 25*
Clark 3/18
from Cricinfo:
Australia reached a very strong 431, courtesy an unbeaten 70 from Symonds. West Indian openers countered the new ball before Stuart Clark broke through. Three quick wickets left Windies wobbling a touch at 68 for 3 before Runako Morton and Shivnarine Chanderpaul stitched together an unbroken 47-run partnership to take them through to close of play without any further damage.
For the windies Chanderpaul needs a big score, If he could get a ton and people stay with him they could put up a score and bat most of today. If that a draw is a possible result. Get Chanders early tonight and I think were running away to a big win.
LIONS then DAYLIGHT
24 May 2008, 13:30
Pitch is starting to be a bit tricky from what i saw last night, Symonds seemd to get to 50 without me noticing, couldn't believe it when he had 50. Haddin played a very poor shot to get out but he'll be better for the run, nice to see him get 2 catchs so far.
Would like to see Johnson starting to be more consistent and getting more wickets, we need our 3rd pace bowler to be firing. Love to see Macgill get a bag as well.
stewie griffen
24 May 2008, 13:48
for macgill to get a bag he might have to get it on the pitch first :rolleyes:
Moin Khan
24 May 2008, 14:40
for macgill to get a bag he might have to get it on the pitch first :rolleyes:
That's his normal way of getting bags though