View Full Version : Expansion More from Titans boss Searle

Demonoid
22 May 2008, 11:20
<H2 id=story>AFL needs gold mine

By Damian Barrett
May 22, 2008
THE only man to establish a major sports club on the Gold Coast predicts the AFL team to be introduced to the region will tally losses totalling more than $100 million in its first five years.
Michael Searle, chief executive of the NRL's Gold Coast Titans, says the AFL's plans are based on a model that will drain cash indefinitely and that the AFL appears to be responding to the success of his club - which is on top of the ladder just 10 rounds into its second season - and making "policy on the run".

Searle also said a contract between the AFL and Queensland Government, which bans elite-level Australian football matches in the region until 2016, as revealed by the Herald Sun in March, should have left the AFL with no choice but to abandon 2011 as the introductory season for its 17th licence.

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou rejected Searle's claims about financial losses.

But Demetriou admitted that, even with the AFL Commission considering the future of annual special distribution given to ailing clubs, the Gold Coast team would be guaranteed $20-$25 million of extra grants in its first five years.

Searle said: "Even if they took four blockbusters to the Gabba each year, and that's if they can buy their way out of that contract you know about - and I'm told good luck on that - the whole thing is going to bleed between $15 and $20 million a year in losses.

"I want to make it clear we are behind the AFL coming to the Gold Coast, and that I actually think having the AFL here will be a good thing for the community, provided it is controlled by Gold Coast interests. I understand the conundrum they (the AFL) are facing, they want to get in here quickly. But their Gold Coast licence is going to bleed a hell of a lot of money.

"I have done the numbers for a sports club here. I know what it costs to run an AFL club. I have an intimate knowledge of playing out of Carrara, and I also read the contract with the Queensland Government. I wouldn't imagine there would be a private investor out there benevolent enough to tip in $15 to $20 million, more even, a year, so as to cart the ball up for the AFL in south-east Queensland."

Demetriou said the Gold Coast club would need "at least $20 to $25 million over a five-year period on top of what the normal (club) distribution will be", and even that injection of extra funds would not produce a break-even result until the fifth year at the earliest.

"I don't want to go there (how much the club will lose in initial years), as it depends on a number of factors, but it is not unusual in any business to lose money early," Demetriou said.

"In any investment for the long haul you have to be prepared to take a bit of pain." Demetriou said the Gold Coast team would "cost the competition, over a five-year period, starting in 2011, probably somewhere around $65-$70 million", based on the yearly dividend to all clubs as well as millions of dollars of extra annual assistance.

Searle said the Titans' private ownership model, as opposed to the AFL's membership-based pursuits, was preferable for the region, and the AFL's failure to secure a lucrative stadium deal was a hindrance.

It is understood the Queensland Government will seek up to $50 million from the AFL if it tries to break a contract which stipulates a second team based in south-east Queensland must play all its home matches at the Gabba until 2016.

</H2>

Is this guy for real? Why has he been looking at the contract between the AFL and the QLD state government? Does he really want the AFL up there? Or is it paranoia?

Rob
22 May 2008, 11:24
Arrogant, hypocritical ____wit.

Now he says the Gold Coast people can't support a team of their own, they need private owners. :rolleyes:

Wait for the next instalment from this asshat.

littleduck
22 May 2008, 11:30
</H2>

Is this guy for real? He's certainly done his homework on football clubs on the Gold Coast.

He's certainly got the runs on the board.

Why has he been looking at the contract between the AFL and the QLD state government? Good question.

Does he really want the AFL up there? I don't think he cares personally to be honest, but he recognises the Gold Coast community can easily embrace 2 brands of football at the same time. Just as any other community can do the same also. More is probably better than less. One-code towns seem to be missing out in these modern times of globalisation of sport and business and increasingly professional sporting bodies broadening their supporter bases.

The point is thought that he has the expertise to advise GC17 on their new franchise and so GC17 as well as the AFL would do well to take notes.

Or is it paranoia?About AFL taking over? Ha.

littleduck
22 May 2008, 11:36

Now he says the Gold Coast people can't support a team of their own, they need private owners. :rolleyes:

He's certainly done his homework on the viability of football clubs on the Gold Coast. You haven't. I haven't. The AFL and GC17 are just starting to consider their options. We would all do well to listen to somebody with expertise and a growing track record of success after what is beginning to look like a formidable setup at the Titans and Skilled Park.

gostk86
22 May 2008, 12:40
Searle is actually working on a deal with the aleague so the titans and i think galaxy there called? Will hve joint training and also like souths and sydney fc, and a joint academy, so he isnt against other codes, he is a proud gold coast person and actually wants them up here,.

Rob
22 May 2008, 16:58
He's certainly done his homework on the viability of football clubs on the Gold Coast. You haven't. I haven't. The AFL and GC17 are just starting to consider their options. We would all do well to listen to somebody with expertise and a growing track record of success after what is beginning to look like a formidable setup at the Titans and Skilled Park.

Yep, just like how the Coke CEO is always giving advice to Pepsi about how to run their business. :rolleyes:

If anyone, and I mean anyone, at GC17 is taking any tips, pointers, or any sort of advice from this dickwad about how to run a sporting club, then they should be immediately euthanased. Searle has got his own money tied up in the Titans, he wants to make a profit so he can make more money for himself. Any comment he makes about his competitors would have this aim first and foremost in his mind. He doesn't want to see the AFL succeed, otherwise it makes it more likely he'll lose money.

I mean seriously, he genuinely believes the Gold Coast can not sustain a people's club? No, he just doesn't want one there because it might actually draw attention to the fact that the Titans are the complete opposite, a closely held, profit making business with no real links to the people.

littleduck
22 May 2008, 17:08
If anyone, and I mean anyone, at GC17 is taking any tips, pointers, or any sort of advice from this dickwad about how to run a sporting club, then they should be immediately euthanased. Yeah, obviously he is doing a pretty poor job with the hopeless a struggling Gold Coast Titans football club. Don't listen to him.

Searle has got his own money tied up in the Titans, he wants to make a profit so he can make more money for himself. How do you know he has such a cynical motive?

Isn't it the case the private ownership is the most common model worldwide and its almost unhead of for team owners to be in for a profit because they are usually expected to lose money or break even at best?

Any comment he makes about his competitors would have this aim first and foremost in his mind. He doesn't want to see the AFL succeed, otherwise it makes it more likely he'll lose money. Whichever code got in first to establish a solid footing on the Coast was going to leverage that against the jonny-cum-lately.

I mean seriously, he genuinely believes the Gold Coast can not sustain a people's club? thats what it says.

No, he just doesn't want one there because it might actually draw attention to the fact that the Titans are the complete opposite, a closely held, profit making business with no real links to the people.Yeah, the people seem to be rejecting them dont they?

Rob
22 May 2008, 17:26
Yeah, obviously he is doing a pretty poor job with the hopeless a struggling Gold Coast Titans football club. Don't listen to him.

That's irrelevant. He's not going to provide valuable advice to a potential competitor.

How do you know he has such a cynical motive?

Uh, because he's running a business that he has interests in? How many businesses are you aware of that encourage competition?

Isn't it the case the private ownership is the most common model worldwide and its almost unhead of for team owners to be in for a profit because they are usually expected to lose money or break even at best?

That's not true at all. Many professional sporting teams are listed on the stock exchange, where investors expect returns. Brisbane Broncos for example - they pay dividends to shareholders.
The sort of model you're on about is more common in America, where ownership of a sporting team is a status symbol. Happens elsewhere too, Chelsea for example. That model does seem to be more likely to occur in Australia though - however in any case, that most certainly doesn't make the owners any more accomodating to competition. They don't want to make a loss, or in many cases, a bigger loss.

Whichever code got in first to establish a solid footing on the Coast was going to leverage that against the jonny-cum-lately.

Probably true, but so what?

Yeah, the people seem to be rejecting them dont they?

The 'people' don't have a choice. And Searle wants to keep it that way.

littleduck
22 May 2008, 17:39
That's irrelevant. He's not going to provide valuable advice to a potential competitor. You'd be surprised then that the key personnel from the Titans and GC17 have been sharing their research for years. The Titans bid team even included a bigwig from Southport Sharks and others for that purpose. The reality is they are both opering from substantially the same research.

Uh, because he's running a business that he has interests in? How many businesses are you aware of that encourage competition? Sport is big business nowadays, but sport has something the wider business community lacks. Emotion and passion and loyalty of customers. Often lifelong and inter-generational loyalty and following.

That's not true at all. Many professional sporting teams are listed on the stock exchange, where investors expect returns. Brisbane Broncos for example - they pay dividends to shareholders.
The sort of model you're on about is more common in America, where ownership of a sporting team is a status symbol. Happens elsewhere too, Chelsea for example. That model does seem to be more likely to occur in Australia though - however in any case, that most certainly doesn't make the owners any more accomodating to competition. They don't want to make a loss, or in many cases, a bigger loss. I agree that all businesses, including sporting clubs, have ambitions to be profitable.

Probably true, but so what?

[quote]The 'people' don't have a choice. And Searle wants to keep it that way.The people always have a choice. In this case they have the choice to become bona fide Gold Coast Titans members by purchasing season tickets or corporate boxes/suites. This is the membership model as we know it in NRL. It's called season tickets.

Sebastian Balboa
22 May 2008, 17:51
It's shocking the free run the News Ltd-owned (and NRL-partnered) Gold Coast Bulletin gives this fat ass clown, Searle.

Barrett, Smart: Ask the hard questions and show some spine!

fabulousphil
22 May 2008, 17:55
From the articles i have read this Searle sounds like a real smart arse.....hope he loses his money, clubs IMO should be community based membership driven not privately owned.

MasterZiZou
22 May 2008, 17:57
I cannot see how playing on the Gold Coast will help the AFL in the least.
I doubt a very large number of Qlders would convert, they will most probably be ex-Vics. Preaching to the converted.
I would hate to see the AFL pump millions upon mllions of dollars into a basket case.

First, the Gold Coast need a home ground. Carrara is rubbish, Anna Bligh won't spend any more taxpayers money, and nor should she. Redevolping the Gabba, the newly built Robina rectangular stadium.

If I were a Qld resident, I wouldn't want a third stadium so soon.

Sebastian Balboa
22 May 2008, 18:01
From the articles i have read this Searle sounds like a real smart arse.....hope he loses his money, clubs IMO should be community based membership driven not privately owned.

The fact that anything AFL on the Gold Coast, both fat boy Searle and the GC Bulletin feel a need to talk to each other.

Someone mentioned News Ltd is fearful of community- and member-owned sporting clubs (ie: AFL clubs) in NRL areas. Maybe this is why.

Sebastian Balboa
22 May 2008, 18:04
I cannot see how playing on the Gold Coast will help the AFL in the least.
I doubt a very large number of Qlders would convert, they will most probably be ex-Vics. Preaching to the converted.

I agree. And the Titans have proven that rl followers easily change teams and will support whatever is new and shiny.

We (Freo fans) copped that much sh1t from Malthouse and his mates at The West when we joined (that we changhed teams straight away), when a fair percentage of us hated the Eagles from day dot.

erpel9999
22 May 2008, 18:36

Where is this hypocrisy you speak of?

He has always said that he thinks the gold coast team should be run by gold coast interests, nothing different.
Who cares whether he means public or private?The bloke has the balls to create a team, where no-one else did yet you think he is a loser because he is successful at it?
Face it, if the gold coast organisation poached him, and he started giving the gold coast flogs as much publicity as he gets the titans, he would be the second coming.

Apart from your childish harping about public vs private, what other fact in this quote is incorrect?

erpel9999
22 May 2008, 18:55
The fact that anything AFL on the Gold Coast, both fat boy Searle and the GC Bulletin feel a need to talk to each other.

Someone mentioned News Ltd is fearful of community- and member-owned sporting clubs (ie: AFL clubs) in NRL areas. Maybe this is why.

good point, why is a gold coast newspaper talking to the head of the biggest sporting organisation on the gold coast. what a cheap stunt :rolleyes:

I agree. And the Titans have proven that rl followers easily change teams and will support whatever is new and shiny.

We (Freo fans) copped that much sh1t from Malthouse and his mates at The West when we joined (that we changhed teams straight away), when a fair percentage of us hated the Eagles from day dot.

the titans have shown that if you create a team in an unrepresented area then followers of the sport will support that team. The afl does not have that support waiting to jump on board

part of your argument was that there was a percentage of west australians looking for an alternative. the gold coast (and ws) does not have this undercurrent to add interest or rivalry either

MasterZiZou
22 May 2008, 19:05

changing teams is one thing, changing codes is a seperate situation entirely.

I would expect that most of the Gold Coast Broncos fans and the like were just happy that RL had a national prescence in their home town and wanted to support it. I would.

For example, if Melbourne didn't have any representation in the sport i followed, so i followed a team that i just liked, then Melbourne had its own team I would jump ship easily. I would of course still have a soft spot for my first team, kinda like your first love.

Professor Knowall

He has always said that he thinks the gold coast team should be run by gold coast interests, nothing different.
Who cares whether he means public or private?...

Lots care.

Private ownership - club profits go to line the pockets of the private owners

Membership based club - all money goes back to the club and/or to grow the code.

And just one of the problem with private owners is they have a tendency to jack up prices to maximise profit (don't know what it costs for a seat at Robina, but wouldn't be surprised if its above the average). Private owners they take much more than they give.

By making such rubbish self serving comments - to protect his own $$$ printing press, Searle is the ultimate hypocrite.

Eel_storm
He would have an interest in keeping other clubs out of the vicinity, fear of competition.

zero
22 May 2008, 19:29
The AFL and GC17 are just starting to consider their options.
the AFL has had up to date information on the viablity of a second side in queensland for at least 5 years and probably more like 15.

Father Jack
22 May 2008, 20:02
I honestly believe that the biggest competitor to the Titans isn't GC17, but simply all the other leisure and recreation alternatives on the GC. I reckon a footy team and a league team could actually help rather than hinder each other.

erpel9999
22 May 2008, 20:13
Lots care.

Private ownership - club profits go to line the pockets of the private owners

Membership based club - all money goes back to the club and/or to grow the code.

And just one of the problem with private owners is they have a tendency to jack up prices to maximise profit (don't know what it costs for a seat at Robina, but wouldn't be surprised if its above the average). Private owners they take much more than they give.

By making such rubbish self serving comments - to protect his own $$$ printing press, Searle is the ultimate hypocrite.

What about if it's a choice between having a club and not having a club.
Look around you, the days of public ownership are long gone, whether you like it or not. Banks, transport, citylink, eastlink, the examples just keep going.

Do you not think that every afl club is trying to maximise profit? and talk about jacking up prices for profits - how you going telstra dome, spotless ticketmaster etc.

Rob
22 May 2008, 20:52

Who cares whether he means public or private?The bloke has the balls to create a team, where no-one else did yet you think he is a loser because he is successful at it?
Face it, if the gold coast organisation poached him, and he started giving the gold coast flogs as much publicity as he gets the titans, he would be the second coming.

Apart from your childish harping about public vs private, what other fact in this quote is incorrect?

And why is it childish? He's been crapping on for well over a year about how great his 'club' is because it's for the Gold Coast community and people. Yet it's the complete opposite. The whole thing is controlled by a few select people, the Gold Coast community have no say at all. And then to top off his outright hypocrisy, he then comes out and criticises the AFL's plan for a membership based structure!

What he does with the Titans is his business. But when he continually sticks his nose into the AFL by whingeing and griping about how they're going about things, then it just makes him look like an arseclown. I don't think he's a loser, I just think he's a knobtugger.

Rob
22 May 2008, 21:07
I honestly believe that the biggest competitor to the Titans isn't GC17, but simply all the other leisure and recreation alternatives on the GC. I reckon a footy team and a league team could actually help rather than hinder each other.

They could probably do both. But it would require the will of both team's management to work together - things like playing on alternate weekends or at the very least different days, selling combined memberships and combined tickets for a weekend.
Such an arrangement would be relatively unique in this country.

Father Jack
22 May 2008, 21:42
They could probably do both. But it would require the will of both team's management to work together - things like playing on alternate weekends or at the very least different days, selling combined memberships and combined tickets for a weekend.
Such an arrangement would be relatively unique in this country.

Exactly. You could leverage it for all it's worth as far as sports tourism is concerned as well. Every weekend you could have NRL fans from Sydney making the trek up, or AFL fans from Melbourne, Perth or Adelaide (or even Sydney) doing the same. May as well market to the region's strengths. And it would be unique.

Prince Imperial
22 May 2008, 22:43
It's not just Searle who's coming out with these sorts of statements. Check out this recent article which includes comments from Titans' chairman Paul Broughton who no doubt has a large personal financial stake in that business. He argues against support for a stadium for football on the GC because of the impact on existing sports for revenue streams such as sponsorship.

Amazingly, he expresses great concern in this regard for "non-profit" sports such as netball, volleyball and athletics yet completely fails to mention the Titans and his own personal financial interest in the them when he opposes support for Australian Football on the GC. Instead, he reckons the new GC AFL team should be forced to play at the Gabba which obviously would be a disaster for those who live on the GC and would want to support the team but a great result for the Titans' owners. Carrara he says, should be converted and made available "for local non profit sports" and not the GC AFL club.

No doubt the Qld govt has to consider the interests of taxpayers when dealing with the issue of stadiums in SE Qld but they should ignore completely the self interested statements of Searle and Broughton who wish to limit competition and choice for GC residents under the cloak of supposed concern for genuine non-profit sports. The good thing about their comments is that you can (with apologies to Simon Hill) "smell the fear" about a membership based AFL club.

A pox on the Titans - ultimately any sporting team only represents those who own it and those who own this business (it is not a club, clubs are owned by members) are a bunch of tossers!

Figures for another new stadium must add upPat Mcleod

19May08

THE Gold Coast may have the population and passion for an AFL franchise but the city cannot afford another stadium, according to Titans chairman Paul Broughton.

Broughton, one of the key men behind the push for the $160 million Skilled Park, believes the proposed Gold Coast AFL team must play out of Brisbane's Gabba.

With the GC17 bid for a national AFL licence gaining momentum, there is a presumption among Aussie rules fans that the team will play out of the Gold Coast, most likely at a revamped Carrara.

However Broughton says economics indicates the community just can't afford it.

"Before the Aussie rules fraternity yell me down with 'you have Skilled Park, why can't we have our own stadium?' -- the simple answer is there was a need for Skilled.

"There isn't a need for another AFL venue in southeast Queensland," he says.

"Skilled is a multi-use sport facility that can cater for rugby league, rugby union and soccer.

"The suggestion that all of these sports could play out of Suncorp is just not feasible.

"But the same cannot be said for the Gabba.

"In fact redeveloping Carrara for the unsustainable use of just the one sporting code is just pandering to a 'me-too' mentality."

Broughton said it was time the Gold Coast and Brisbane saw themselves, in sports facility parlance, as one city -- the third biggest metropolitan area in the country.

"Within a one hour's drive we become a city with a population that makes us the third biggest city in Australia and geographically no larger than Melbourne or Sydney with an M1 that makes Parramatta Road look pedestrian," he said.

"If the AFL succeeds in West Sydney, will they build another stadium out there or use ANZ, which is on a par with the Gabba?

"I am sure they will use ANZ, and Sydney has a population of 4.5 million."

John Witheriff, chairman of GC17, the bid team fighting to bring an AFL side here, says while he has immense respect for Broughton and what the Titans have achieved, the Gold Coast's huge growth demanded its own infrastructure.

"When I was a kid growing up on the Gold Coast we had no stadiums here," said Witheriff.

"We had three secondary schools and no universities and I had to go to Brisbane to a boarding school. I have spent the best part of my working life ensuring that type of infrastructure was here in the city.

"So I struggle in agreeing with him (Broughton) in looking ahead 10, 20, 50 years, that there is no need for us now to be putting in place additional sporting infrastructure for the city."

Witheriff, one of the Gold Coast's most respected businessmen, said it was partly because of Broughton that he had become involved in the GC17 bid.

"I admire Paul and what he has done," he said.

"I have known Paul since he came up from Sydney to link with the Chargers (in the mid-'90s).

"I admire his tenacity in making a rugby league team on the Gold Coast a reality.

"I remember him telling me back in '97 how important it was we have a football team to assist in building the soul of the city.

"And I was inspired to be part of his group in attempting to save the Chargers.

"I think he is right. I think football teams do assist in building the soul of the city.

"I think the Titans have done a fantastic job and as a result of his advice back in '97, when the opportunity for us to secure a new (AFL) team for the Gold Coast came up, I put my hand up.

"And I am now working to try to achieve his dream for this city."

Broughton believes the region is crying out for certain sports facilities but not the duplication of those that already exist.

He says the Gold Coast is in desperate need of an administration hub and a sports playing complex that could tie together the majority of local non-profit sports as well as the increasing market of visiting international teams.

"Carrara would be perfect for this," he says.

"We have event facilities here in southeast Queensland that are second to none. But we need a high-tech centre and administration complex to meet the needs of visiting national teams and a stadium catering for the second-tier, local competitions.

"A multi-purpose facility at Carrara can deliver this and house playing facilities to lead the way in how to minimise duplication of all resources in a community driven by sport and benefiting from sports participation.

"Where this city cannot deliver, at a higher competitive level of crowds, Brisbane with its Gabba, Sleeman and QSAC complexes is or will be able to.

"With our new convention centre, Skilled Park and the fact we are the real 'Sea City' of this nation, when combined with Brisbane's world class facilities, we present a package of sporting complexes that Melbourne and Sydney can not match."

Broughton says while the Gold Coast may choose to embrace an AFL licence, the immediate presumption that the team should play out of the Gold Coast is flawed.

"It is widely mooted that national sporting teams have an economic and cultural impact on a city," he said.

"However, unless a major facility attracts more than one key tenant, economic studies have shown that most public facilities or state/local government-owned stadiums cannot cover their own fixed and operational costs and therefore become a financial burden on the community.

"Even a $30-$40 million Carrara basic revamp would mean an annual upkeep bill of about $1.5 million, which would be passed on to ratepayers or taxpayers.

"Also the majority of footy fans of all codes have only so much income to spend on leisure, whether as a participant or a fan.

"The leisure dollar goes on movies, concerts, events such as Big Day Out, Indy, Magic Millions.

"The dollar spent at a sporting event is shared with the dollar spent elsewhere in the economy.

"The question then arises as to how another new stadium may impact on the existing sports and their continuing capacity to be competitive, maintain revenue streams and attract resources such as sponsorship.

"Of particular concern at this time are the not-for-profit sports led by netball, volleyball, athletics and others which may well suffer as more resources are diverted from a finite fan/participant budget.

"Securing an NRL licence was the 'catalyst', that became an avalanche, so the question arises now, can this city sustain another stadium?

"Also can the fixed cost, operational and maintenance for a sport specific stadium with one tenant be justified.

"The overriding question is why is it necessary ?"

Witheriff maintains there is no bad blood between the GC17 and the Titans.

"As far as I am concerned, the relationship between GC17 and the Titans is very healthy," he said.

"I like Paul and, as I said, the Gold Coast Titans have done a fantastic job.

"People have always got reservations about something new and that is sometimes healthy but what will happen is that we (GC17 and the Titans) will develop quite a close relationship over time."

http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2008/05/19/11272_gold-coast-afl.html

Pessimistic
22 May 2008, 22:55
The figures he was quoting arent much different from the figures the kangas were being offered.

A new club would cost much much more but there will be an extra game for TV etc so its all under control

mediumsizered
22 May 2008, 23:34
It's not just Searle who's coming out with these sorts of statements. Check out this recent article which includes comments from Titans' chairman Paul Broughton who no doubt has a large personal financial stake in that business. He argues against support for a stadium for football on the GC because of the impact on existing sports for revenue streams such as sponsorship.

Amazingly, he expresses great concern in this regard for "non-profit" sports such as netball, volleyball and athletics yet completely fails to mention the Titans and his own personal financial interest in the them when he opposes support for Australian Football on the GC. Instead, he reckons the new GC AFL team should be forced to play at the Gabba which obviously would be a disaster for those who live on the GC and would want to support the team but a great result for the Titans' owners. Carrara he says, should be converted and made available "for local non profit sports" and not the GC AFL club.

So Broughton thinks Carrara should be converted and made available for local non profit sports. Hang on a second, didn't the Qld Govt help fund the $160m (?) Skilled Park? Shouldn't it therefore be made available to these local non profit sports as well? After all the people who participate in & run these local non profit sports are taxpayers & therefore have contributed to the cost of developing Skilled Park.

When was the last time a government invested $160million (?) into a stadium that is, in the short term at least, only going to be for the benefit of one team? There is such hypocrisy involved in the whole Gold Coast Titans/Skilled Park set up. Apparently it was okay to totally refurbish Suncorp Stadium & then build Skilled Park, but it was only possible for the Gabba to be refurbished if the AFL signed a contract committing to using that ground only. The Beattie/Bligh spin continues to be bought by so many.

BTW, when are the Bligh Govt going to actually start building the new Gold Coast Hospital at Parkwood & the Gold Coast Rapid Transit system? Apparently that is the Govt's priority now that they have built their Stadium for the Anna Bligh Titans.

Prince Imperial
23 May 2008, 00:43
Insisting that the AFL GC club play most or all of its games at the Gabba is a real slap in the face to AFL GC fans especially in the light of the government's decision to completely fund a nearby new stadium for a commercial business.

I don't think the state government should initially fund improvements to Carrara if that site is selected, but if over time it is shown that it gets near capacity crowds then it would be appropriate for the local, state and federal governments to assist with its redevelopment. The site is Crown land owned by the council and like other similar grounds around Australia (Penrith, Cronulla, Geelong, St George etc) it should be considered seriously by all levels of government for funding.

Interestingly Broughton bases his part of his justification for the govt building Skilled Park because it is will be used by rugby union. Really? What Union team is ever going to play there especially given the collapse of the ARC. There is likely to be a A League team in the future but that again will be another profit driven business and there was no way that the govt knew that one was likely to arise when it first decided to build the stadium. The stadium was built primarily for the Titans.

Sebastian Balboa
23 May 2008, 19:18
A key part of Broughton and Searle's agenda here, because in reality that is what it is, an agenda, is to create doubt in the minds of potential sponsors by publicly questioning the AFL and the Gold Coast Football Club. They've got three years and a compliant media to do it, too.

Perhaps explains why Witheriff and co. can't/won't stand up to these asshat hypocrites.

cos789
26 May 2008, 18:29
I don't think the state government should initially fund improvements to Carrara if that site is selected,

Why ?
Everywhere around the country they're building rectangular staduims
especially here in the West and currently they draw less than 8k .
The QLD government could have easily built a multi purpose stadium .
Every new AFL standard stadium seems to have to be multi purpose .

.:(

Anthony_
27 May 2008, 00:38
Insisting that the AFL GC club play most or all of its games at the Gabba is a real slap in the face to AFL GC fans especially in the light of the government's decision to completely fund a nearby new stadium for a commercial business. .

It's total BS, will always be a Doggies fan. Having a team local would mean I would go to games on a semi regular basis.

Zvim
27 May 2008, 14:03
The figures he was quoting arent much different from the figures the kangas were being offered.

A new club would cost much much more but there will be an extra game for TV etc so its all under control

In the short-term that is not going to add a lot of money. They will get some more games locally as they play the GC games in QLD but that is not expected to generate a lot of money and the game will end up on pay-tv outside of QLD and Foxtel said they don't see paying more than they currently do for the next bid as they wont get live and exclusive games into QLD/GC.

The reason North relocating to GC was more feasible is that we already generate around 25m in revenue and have a reasonable kind of supporter base around Australia in the football heartland states. If you combine that with the Gold Coast aspect then the old carries the new for the short-term as the new grows.

A new entity has nothing, they need to be able to generate a lot of money in a short period of time and don't have a ready made supporter base. If it is not private investment putting the money in and the government isn't then the only one left is the AFL.

The vast majority of the GC population comprise relocated Queenslanders from other areas and it shows in the popularity of the Titans. If they don't get massive support from the word go like the Titans have then it is going to be a financial nightmare that the AFL will have to prop up and the $75m is just a drop in the Ocean. If they have to pay anything like they had to pay for the Swans then it is going to be a long and bumpy ride.

catters05
27 May 2008, 14:11
He has a great club atm.

He should worry about the rest of the NRL, and not the AFL if it looks like they wont do very well.

Professor Knowall
27 May 2008, 18:58
... He should worry about the rest of the NRL, and not the AFL if it looks like they wont do very well.
Yes - he should.

But he doesn't.

Because the greedy, hypocritical pr1ck is trying to maximise his personal profits.

Speaking of private ownership - how is South Sydney faring - going from strength to strength??

What about the Brisbane Bullets, Sydney Kings?? Both just reported on tonight's news as likely to fold.

That's what likely happens to privately owned clubs when their owners don't make buckets of $$$$ - even if successful on the field, they can quickly be throttled and disappear off it.