View Full Version : Expansion Crowds last night at SoO and Asian Champions League
Demonoid
22 May 2008, 11:28
State of Origin: 67,620
Obviosuly not a sell out....this crowd could be seriously challenged by the Swans v Magpies game later in the year, provided that they both stay in top 8 form. Remember they drew 72k in 2003
The AFL hall of fame game has out drawn it....now for the TV ratings...it was live in melbourne as the hall of fame was in sydney, so the national tv figures will make for some good viewing...as this is NRL's showpiece event.....
Asian Champions Leage - 9558
Paltry....no matter how you look at it. Shows you what happens when you play in the middle of the AFL season.....
Its not so bad when you realise that Melbourne FC were no longer able t reach the next stage of the Champions League. When they were able the crowds in Melbourne were alot higher.
gostk86
22 May 2008, 12:41
Obviosuly not a sell out....this crowd could be seriously challenged by the Swans v Magpies game later in the year, provided that they both stay in top 8 form. Remember they drew 72k in 2003
The AFL hall of fame game has out drawn it....now for the TV ratings...it was live in melbourne as the hall of fame was in sydney, so the national tv figures will make for some good viewing...as this is NRL's showpiece event.....
Paltry....no matter how you look at it. Shows you what happens when you play in the middle of the AFL season......
did you see the ticket prices, they were terrible, nrl investigation is happening as we speak
Hodgepodge
22 May 2008, 13:42
That is their worst crowd for quite a while, might even be their worst ever . . . has nothing to do with playing in the AFL season, MV have played to 30K+crowds in the middle of SEPTEMBER.
stephen_bayne
22 May 2008, 13:59
Melbourne's ACL home matches had pulled in over 20k each which is amazing when you consider the media were more interested in AFL puff peices. I was surprised with the low number as even when they were looking like wooden spooners last season they still pulled in 20k against the bottom side Wellington. I suppose with them being eliminated already it was just a glorified exhibition match and with a more attractive exhibition match is coming up against Juventus (which is selling very well) many fans probably decided to save thier money.
The Melbourne victory game was a dead rubber with nothing to play for, because of the current structure of the Asian Champions League.
Only one team progresses to the next round,and Victory ended up in second spot.
From next year two teams will go through, in a restructured 32 team competition, with $20 million prize money up for grabs.
Whether Victory or any A League team will ever get their hands on the $20 million is another question. The incentive is there to build up a stronger team, but the salary cap restricts them, whilst they have to play against Asian clubs which do not have the same restrictions.
MasterZiZou
22 May 2008, 17:44
Was there, as i am every game. I reckon 9.5k was a pretty poor result even when you consider the things going against MVFC here (mid-week, school night, cold, dead rubber)
Interesting to see that the boys down south end were in full voice, the north terrace nowhere to be seen........
til the 2nd half that is. then all the bandwagoners jumped back on again.
either way good match and good result considering injuries MVFC had.
I would have to think that the SoO crowd is a pretty good result for sydneysiders too.
Doctor Jolly
22 May 2008, 17:52
I must admit the Asian champions league is almost totally off the radar at the moment. This is the comp many soccer people were telling us was one of the big pluses of joining asia.
Id rather watch IPL. Go Warney!
The paulty crowd of 6,000 for the carara game shows AFL can't compete outside guess what - Melb, Adelaide and Perth.
Soccer crowds are going to annialate AFL in tyhwe world cup qualifiers in Sydney and Brisbane in June.
Any fool want to bet against me that Sydney Swans and Brisbane Lions will get more than the socceroos world qualifiers?
I want real money.
MasterZiZou
22 May 2008, 18:03
I must admit the Asian champions league is almost totally off the radar at the moment. This is the comp many soccer people were telling us was one of the big pluses of joining asia.
As a "soccer person", no one who really knows the state of the game in Aus would tell you how huge ACL was going to be.
Sure, it is great for the clubs sponsors, but with a salary cap there is very little chance of an Aus team winning it even with the Adelaide scum doing pretty well. (they did have arguably the easiest group)
In the future, when the youngsters have been playing bigger games against big clubs from abroad, and get used to travelling and the different conditions then yes it will be a big plus.
But i think you miss what the plus actually is. Not sell out crowds each game, but much more preparation for the big tournaments going forward.
The time frame for it to positvely affect Aus clubs and football in general is probably 10-15 years
MasterZiZou
22 May 2008, 18:12
The paulty crowd of 6,000 for the carara game shows AFL can't compete outside guess what - Melb, Adelaide and Perth.
Soccer crowds are going to annialate AFL in tyhwe world cup qualifiers in Sydney and Brisbane in June.
Any fool want to bet against me that Sydney Swans and Brisbane Lions will get more than the socceroos world qualifiers?
I want real money.
I think it is pretty obvious the AFL, even if it may be hard to swallow, do attract very good crowds. But the point is that it isn't for the love of the game (yet) but merely a fashionable thing to do. Think the swans, the eastern suburbs yuppies who want a different accessory will go because they see NRL as too "common".
How the hell will a West Syd team work, where most of the "common" folk live and work. The majority of people out west in Syd are either RL or soccer fans. In Blacktown for example, soccer is the no.1 sport in participation and interest followed by RL.
A West Syd A-League team, playing in ACL would draw more to their ACL matches than a West Syd AFL team to their regular home and away matches.
AFL should stick with Tassie.
numchuks
22 May 2008, 19:52
Errr, next week they're getting 50k for the Victory-Juve game so what does that say about the popularity of soccer in the middle of AFL seasons?
Yesterday's crowd was an anomoly for the reasons mentioned above.
You can't extrapolate anything on the back of that crowd.
genghiskhan
22 May 2008, 20:43
Errr, next week they're getting 50k for the Victory-Juve game so what does that say about the popularity of soccer in the middle of AFL seasons?
Yesterday's crowd was an anomoly for the reasons mentioned above.
You can't extrapolate anything on the back of that crowd.
If you can get 50,000 against a European club in a meaningless match, but 10,000 against an Asian club in an ACL, then it seems there are some serious cultural problems amongst soccer supporters. Australia is in the Asian group and its future is against Asian teams. if you have no interest in seeing your opponents, or respecting your opponents, Australian soccer will never get any benefit out of being part of Asia.
mustapha
22 May 2008, 20:49
If you can get 50,000 against a European club in a meaningless match, but 10,000 against an Asian club in an ACL, then it seems there are some serious cultural problems amongst soccer supporters. Australia is in the Asian group and its future is against Asian teams. if you have no interest in seeing your opponents, or respecting your opponents, Australian soccer will never get any benefit out of being part of Asia.
Have you read any of the other posts in this thread?
You cannot use a poor attendance at one dead rubber game to prove that Australian soccer has cultural problems.
Does the AFL have cultural problems because only 6000 people watched the Kangaroos in a game for premiership points at Carrara ?
Ricardo
22 May 2008, 20:54
^^ (gengiskhan) But have a look at all other ACL attendances, we are new to Asia, how can you compare a game versus one of the biggest clubs in the world (Juventus) vs a meaningless match with no importance and no interest in the opposition (Chonburi i believe it was)?
The ACL will continue to grow, last nights crowd was pretty poor but the lack of any promotion for the game and the reasons given above show it wasn't horrific, i actually didn't know the game was even on.
genghiskhan
22 May 2008, 20:55
Have you read any of the other posts in this thread?
You cannot use a poor attendance at one dead rubber game to prove that Australian soccer has cultural problems.
Does the AFL have cultural problems because only 6000 people watched the Kangaroos in a game for premiership points at Carrara ?
I am comparing a meaningless game against a a European club to a meaningless game against an Asian club, and it seems that soccer fans are crazy for Europe but couldn't give a stuff about Asia. That attitude would be fine if Australian soccer played in Europe, and the well-being of European soccer was in the interests of Australian soccer, but the truth is much different. Not only is it disrespectful to the Asia, it also decreases the potential Asia can give Australia.
As for the kangaroos turnout, that is a different issue. Once more stupid marketing from the AFL as well as the Kangaroos.
Ricardo
22 May 2008, 21:09
I am comparing a meaningless game against a a European club to a meaningless game against an Asian club, and it seems that soccer fans are crazy for Europe but couldn't give a stuff about Asia. That attitude would be fine if Australian soccer played in Europe, and the well-being of European soccer was in the interests of Australian soccer, but the truth is much different. Not only is it disrespectful to the Asia, it also decreases the potential Asia can give Australia.
It can hardly change overnight, its takes time, just like the AFL expansion into non-traditional markets.
Most teams from Asia are very young and the majority haven't even got a large home grown following let alone over here, the European clubs are massive in comparison, it will take quite a long time for people to embrace Asian football as much as they embrace European and even South American football clubs.
genghiskhan
22 May 2008, 21:14
It can hardly change overnight, its takes time, just like the AFL expansion into non-traditional markets.
Most teams from Asia are very young and the majority haven't even got a large home grown following let alone over here, the European clubs are massive in comparison, it will take quite a long time for people to embrace Asian football as much as they embrace European and even South American football clubs.
Indeed, but before you can fix a problem you need to recognise a problem exists. You seem an open-minded fellow, which is good. Australian soccer would benefit a lot if more people like yourself could distance themselves from the bravado and just take stock of the situation.
jackmac7
22 May 2008, 22:59
ACL inspires nothing.
AFL fans were made to feel jealous because we weren't in ASIA, luckily we are'nt. Care factor - 0.
It's a flop. But we were told by the likes of Bosley that it was massive.
A friendly against Juventus is far more appealing to soccer fans than playing in some Asian tournament.
Glory and Fame
22 May 2008, 23:30
Australia's teams in the ACL next year will be Newcastle and Central Coast. If either of them have a dead rubber home game that clashes with State of Origin, that could be a really embarrassing crowd.
Matt_TY
22 May 2008, 23:48
It's simply because most of us have more exposure to and knowledge of the Euro leagues than the Asian ones.
And let's face it - the team we were playing was little-known even for an Asian team. For the record we were playing Chonburi Sharks of Thailand. Heard of 'em? Didn't think so. Heard of Juve? Yeah, I have too.
Should we do better in our next appearance and start playing the likes of Gamba Osaka again, this time in finals matches (which will be more likely under the new system), watch those attendances rise.
Tigerdrive
23 May 2008, 02:28
Should we do better in our next appearance and start playing the likes of Gamba Osaka again, this time in finals matches (which will be more likely under the new system), watch those attendances rise.
Exactly :thumbsu:, under the new system that is coming in we would have advanced after tonights win it's just silly to have a group competition where only 1 of the 4 teams advances, having said that the crowd was a little down on what was excpected but I don't think it's anything to be concerned about when you think about it the previous two crowds we had were pretty good for midweek games.
McCrann
23 May 2008, 02:48
Its not so bad when you realise that Melbourne FC were no longer able t reach the next stage of the Champions League. When they were able the crowds in Melbourne were alot higher.
Mate, they are NOT - Melbourne FC. They wish they were, but they aren't and they never will be.
Melbourne FC are the rather pathetic club propping up the AFL Ladder in case you haven't noticed.
Melbourne FC will never reach "the next stage" of the Champions League because they've never played in it and never will! lol
Mate, they are NOT - Melbourne FC. They wish they were, but they aren't and they never will be.
Melbourne FC are the rather pathetic club propping up the AFL Ladder in case you haven't noticed.
Melbourne FC will never reach "the next stage" of the Champions League because they've never played in it and never will! lol
Uh, who cares? We know what team he was talking about.
And of course a game against Juventus means more to local football fans than a game against Chonburi, where both games mean as much in terms of any progression in any international league - as stated. What kind of genius do you have to be to work that out?
Clap ____ing clap.
Many "soccer people". Who exactly are you reffering to, your next door neighbour?
It was a dead rubber and the equal of a NAB cup game being played mid week in Winter.
Rusty81
23 May 2008, 14:29
[quote=MasterZiZou;11099335]As a "soccer person", no one who really knows the state of the game in Aus would tell you how huge ACL was going to be.
Sure, it is great for the clubs sponsors, but with a salary cap there is very little chance of an Aus team winning it even with the Adelaide scum doing pretty well. (they did have arguably the easiest group)
Easiest group? Changchun Yatai - Chinese Super League Champions
Pohang Steelers - K-League Champions
Binh Duong - Vietnamese League Champions (they
were rubbish I will give you that)
Chinese and Korean League Champions is hardly the easiest group. I think Melbourne played against mainly Cup winners? Sounds like sour grapes to me!
UNITED!! UNITED!! UNITED!!
450 minutes of football from a meeting with Man United in the World Club Challenge! (Its ok to dream!)
There's a World Cup qualifier against China coming up soon. That should give us an idea of how successful getting into Asia has been.
stmookeyj
24 May 2008, 00:35
On the ratings, Melbourne's figures will probably outstrip Sydney and Brisbane's combined figures on the HOF match.
On Sydney's crowds, there's a reason why bigger games are going to Brisbane each year. It took an hour to sell out tickets to their Origin match. Lions won't sell out again this year.
Matt_TY
24 May 2008, 01:44
Yes, they "wish they were", which is why when they were offered the opportunity to affiliate with the Demons they told them where to go.
You have to wonder about some of these numpties on this forum.
Van Queen
24 May 2008, 05:54
Victory supporter and members - always will be. But I didnt go to the game, as many other "dedicated" fans didnt either.
I hate to say this, but this was a dead rubber. We should be there all the time, but I just didnt want to spend money on this game, when I needed it for tonight when I went out. Not to mention the European Champions League final was on at 4am the next day aswell, so I was in bed by 9pm to be able to watch that.
Its hardly an indication of the support, Im sorry to say. It meant nothing, and we'll see 50k for Juve, then we'll see the regular 25k for other matches. Melbourne Victory, for a club of 3 years, has very decent support. This game should not be used to measure that support.
Professor Knowall
24 May 2008, 16:59
Victory supporter and members - always will be. But I didnt go to the game ... the European Champions League final was on at 4am the next day ... so I was in bed by 9pm to be able to watch that. ... we'll see 50k for Juve, then we'll see the regular 25k for other matches. ...
This crap cultural cringe attitiude reminds me why I got tuned off soccer. For far too many soccer supporters, what happens 15,000 km away in Europe is more important than what happens here in their own backyard. In this case, a self proclaimed "Victory supporter and members - always will be" dumps Victory playing in the ACL in favour of a televised ECL event from the other side of the globe This sums up the attitude of too many soccer (and primarily Victory) supporters - that if its European - is great, but if its genuinely Australian - tosh. Explains all the teenage (or older but still teenage behaving) tosspots at their games trying just too hard to imitate the fan behaviour they observe on the TV from European games. I like soccer as a sport, and I lasted through 3 Victory games at OP - but I just couldn't stomach their totally putrid vermin pig ignorant wannabee-European supporters.
... Its hardly an indication of the support, Im sorry to say. It meant nothing, and we'll see 50k for Juve, then we'll see the regular 25k for other matches. Melbourne Victory, for a club of 3 years, has very decent support. This game should not be used to measure that support.
OK - Then neither should the Juve game - plenty will be there because of Juve, not Victory (just like the 80k tossers who turned up to watch Beckham, not Sydney FC)
auspicious
24 May 2008, 17:58
30k at the sfs last night in sydney for the game against Ghana. 5 years ago, wouldn't have even broke 10k.
Not bad for a warm up game. Looking forward to the 50k this sundy at Suncorp in Brisbane, of which I will be one of.
Great stuff.
genghiskhan
24 May 2008, 20:41
This crap cultural cringe attitiude reminds me why I got tuned off soccer. For far too many soccer supporters, what happens 15,000 km away in Europe is more important than what happens here in their own backyard. In this case, a self proclaimed "Victory supporter and members - always will be" dumps Victory playing in the ACL in favour of a televised ECL event from the other side of the globe This sums up the attitude of too many soccer (and primarily Victory) supporters - that if its European - is great, but if its genuinely Australian - tosh. Explains all the teenage (or older but still teenage behaving) tosspots at their games trying just too hard to imitate the fan behaviour they observe on the TV from European games. I like soccer as a sport, and I lasted through 3 Victory games at OP - but I just couldn't stomach their totally putrid vermin pig ignorant wannabee-European supporters.
OK - Then neither should the Juve game - plenty will be there because of Juve, not Victory (just like the 80k tossers who turned up to watch Beckham, not Sydney FC)
I must say that I find the wannabee-European quite unsavoury as well. It annoys me even more than the wannabee-American fashion that prevailed in the 90s.
If you were in the UK, would you prefer to watch local amateur Aussie rules clubs in an inconsequential match over the AFL Grand Final?
Edit: Although, I have to say I agree with you in some ways. I'm a big soccer fan and I don't "have" an EPL team. I just follow the Aussies who play in the league, but that goes for other leagues too.
genghiskhan
25 May 2008, 18:50
If you were in the UK, would you prefer to watch local amateur Aussie rules clubs in an inconsequential match over the AFL Grand Final?
Edit: Although, I have to say I agree with you in some ways. I'm a big soccer fan and I don't "have" an EPL team. I just follow the Aussies who play in the league, but that goes for other leagues too.
If I were British, I'm sure I would watch British soccer. I couldn't imagine myself watching AFL or an American sport instead. Likewise, if I lived in England and was around lots of poms who went crazy for the AFL instead of a league from their own country that would be strange for me as well.
Not if you were British.. more like if you were Australian but living in the UK for a while. I guess the comparison doesn't really work, because soccer is followed by a large number of people here, whereas Aussie rules is only really followed by ex-pat/long term tourists Aussies in the UK.
Van Queen
25 May 2008, 22:44
30k at the sfs last night in sydney for the game against Ghana. 5 years ago, wouldn't have even broke 10k.
Not bad for a warm up game. Looking forward to the 50k this sundy at Suncorp in Brisbane, of which I will be one of.
Great stuff.
Not bad at all. Hardly any real advertising. To think the League Test Match got 34,000..and this was a friendly against Ghana, who despite their ranking, many people in this country wouldn't really have counted as a big draw unless it was a competitive match...which it wasnt! Lol, long live soccer/afl
genghiskhan
26 May 2008, 12:40
Not if you were British.. more like if you were Australian but living in the UK for a while. I guess the comparison doesn't really work, because soccer is followed by a large number of people here, whereas Aussie rules is only really followed by ex-pat/long term tourists Aussies in the UK.
If I was an Australian living in Britain I'd probably try to watch soccer and maintain a long-distance interest in the AFL and NRL. Then again, I find soccer very dreary so even if I tried I might find it too boring. My old man used to live in the UK for three years and tried to get into soccer, but in the end it just bored him to tears. I'd probably get more into the cricket and rugby codes.
I used to live in Japan and took an interest in Sumo. I tried to be open-minded to baseball and even Japanese soccer but it seems no matter how hard I tried I just didn't like the sports.
littleduck
26 May 2008, 17:32
If I was an Australian living in Britain I'd probably try to watch soccer and maintain a long-distance interest in the AFL and NRL. you would also follow the Pommy Super League.
AstroboyUK
27 May 2008, 09:36
...I actually am an Australian living in London for the past 8 years and I follow Australian Rules avidly. When I first arrived we barely had any internet services and I had to search just for scores.. slowly slowly things improved and we got replays on AFL.com... but now, best of all Sentana Sports show AFL (&NRL) games live!!!! Its awesome.
I mildly follow Soccer here (Fulham), and go to the occassional game, but really, honestly, EPL compleley loses its mystique when youre at the ground... the stadiums are terrible, the crowds very small (because the stadiums are) and the skills of the players look far less accomplished than they do on TV (Im talking Premier League players). The supporters are boorish - some of the chants are amusing, but most are just repetitive and have nothing to do with the game going on. EPL's global branding power is amazing, but the product itself is wildly overrated.
I read the online papers and AFL,com , PuntRdEnd, and BigFooty practically daily and keep in close touch. Rugby League has no profile in the UK, and even Sentana Sports plays roughly 2 AFL games for every 1 NRL game. We also get a 1.30 hour Weekly round up on EuroSports and on Sentana which is replayed 3-4 times during the week - but there is no NRL equivilent on any chanel.
In terms of English people's interest in AFL - it varies. 50% think that Rugby Union is the national game (and are stunned when I tell them it is a minority sport that comes 3-4th in interest and players), 75% know a bit about Australian Rules, but 50% of those are heavily influenced by the 1980's advertising campaigns that focussed on players fighting :( ...but generally they know as much about it as they do about American NFL.
Of course AFL has no profile here either except for the occassional puff piece, but the BARFL is now 20 years old, has 3 tiers, juniors and stable admin...as it does in a couple other European countries. About 30% of the players are English and their interest is more than passing.:thumbsu:
When the GrandFinal is on very few pubs open early for either NRL or AFL,- theres usually frantic emails going around trying to find a venue that shows it live...less of an issue now we get it on Pay TV. Ive never been to a pub to see the NRL GF, but I suspect it would get a bigger pub crowd because its played later in the day here.
cheers!!
genghiskhan
27 May 2008, 19:39
...I actually am an Australian living in London for the past 8 years and I follow Australian Rules avidly. When I first arrived we barely had any internet services and I had to search just for scores.. slowly slowly things improved and we got replays on AFL.com... but now, best of all Sentana Sports show AFL (&NRL) games live!!!! Its awesome.
I mildly follow Soccer here (Fulham), and go to the occassional game, but really, honestly, EPL compleley loses its mystique when youre at the ground... the stadiums are terrible, the crowds very small (because the stadiums are) and the skills of the players look far less accomplished than they do on TV (Im talking Premier League players). The supporters are boorish - some of the chants are amusing, but most are just repetitive and have nothing to do with the game going on. EPL's global branding power is amazing, but the product itself is wildly overrated.
I read the online papers and AFL,com , PuntRdEnd, and BigFooty practically daily and keep in close touch. Rugby League has no profile in the UK, and even Sentana Sports plays roughly 2 AFL games for every 1 NRL game. We also get a 1.30 hour Weekly round up on EuroSports and on Sentana which is replayed 3-4 times during the week - but there is no NRL equivilent on any chanel.
In terms of English people's interest in AFL - it varies. 50% think that Rugby Union is the national game (and are stunned when I tell them it is a minority sport that comes 3-4th in interest and players), 75% know a bit about Australian Rules, but 50% of those are heavily influenced by the 1980's advertising campaigns that focussed on players fighting :( ...but generally they know as much about it as they do about American NFL.
Of course AFL has no profile here either except for the occassional puff piece, but the BARFL is now 20 years old, has 3 tiers, juniors and stable admin...as it does in a couple other European countries. About 30% of the players are English and their interest is more than passing.:thumbsu:
When the GrandFinal is on very few pubs open early for either NRL or AFL,- theres usually frantic emails going around trying to find a venue that shows it live...less of an issue now we get it on Pay TV. Ive never been to a pub to see the NRL GF, but I suspect it would get a bigger pub crowd because its played later in the day here.
cheers!!
I'm in China now and keep up an interest in the NRL and AFL. For me, there is a certain charm in watching a sport no one else cares about; especially on grand final day. I get that feeling more from Aussie rules than rugby league; perhaps because other countries like rugby league.
I can understand why migrants to Australia want to keep watching sports from their homeland, but it is rude and arrogant that the expect the locals to watch it as well. I can't imagine I would get very far if I insisted Chinese watch Aussie rules and rugby league as well, or even cricket for that matter.
Tigerdrive
28 May 2008, 02:21
I can understand why migrants to Australia want to keep watching sports from their homeland, but it is rude and arrogant that the expect the locals to watch it as well. I can't imagine I would get very far if I insisted Chinese watch Aussie rules and rugby league as well, or even cricket for that matter.
Not really the same thing, The first soccer club was established in Australia in 1880 does AFL or cricket even have a presence in China? No one expects you to watch Soccer they just expect you to let it have it's place on the sporting landscape that it deserves.
This weekend soccer is selling out accross the nation - confirming soccer is the only true national footy sport of Australia and anybody here claiming AFL ins the number one sport ought to take a reality check. If AFL is the national code, why can't it get decent TV ratings or crowd numbers above the Victorian border?
Suncorp sold out in Brisbane for the socceroos game - Brisbane Lions, despite 3 premierships and so much money ploughed into their club, have never sold out their ground. Soccer has.
Melbourne Victoery game has effectively sold out (minus medallion seats) at Telstra dome. The reality is no AFL club sells out the Dome unless COllingwood is involved. And remember, this is outside of soccer's season.
catters05
28 May 2008, 11:31
This weekend soccer is selling out accross the nation - confirming soccer is the only true national footy sport of Australia and anybody here claiming AFL ins the number one sport ought to take a reality check. If AFL is the national code, why can't it get decent TV ratings or crowd numbers above the Victorian border?
Suncorp sold out in Brisbane for the socceroos game - Brisbane Lions, despite 3 premierships and so much money ploughed into their club, have never sold out their ground. Soccer has.
Melbourne Victoery game has effectively sold out (minus medallion seats) at Telstra dome. The reality is no AFL club sells out the Dome unless COllingwood is involved. And remember, this is outside of soccer's season.
Your kidding right?
Demonoid
28 May 2008, 11:47
You are comparing a handful of World Cup qualifiers, and an exhibition match with one of the biggest clubs in Europe, with regular season football matches. Do the Roar sell out? Idiot
It doesn't matter. Soccer outsells AFL. You come up with any excuse you want. I could do the same if I wanterd - The Juve game is meaningless without stars. Beckham game in Sydney last year got more than any AFL game in Syndey has ever come near. Soccer has way more pulling power than AFL will ever dream of. Socceroos game in August last year on Sydney outsold the Swans collingwood game the same night. keep coming up with the excuses.
So how on earth can anybody claim AFL is the number one sport? It can't even pull a crowd in NSW or QLD!
Remember soccer is more than A-league. Unlike AFL, soccer has Socceroos, Olyroos, Matildas, Joeys, New national Youth league.
Subprime
28 May 2008, 13:25
It doesn't matter. Soccer outsells AFL. You come up with any excuse you want. I could do the same if I wanterd - The Juve game is meaningless without stars. Beckham game in Sydney last year got more than any AFL game in Syndey has ever come near. Soccer has way more pulling power than AFL will ever dream of. Socceroos game in August last year on Sydney outsold the Swans collingwood game the same night. keep coming up with the excuses.
So how on earth can anybody claim AFL is the number one sport? It can't even pull a crowd in NSW or QLD!
Remember soccer is more than A-league. Unlike AFL, soccer has Socceroos, Olyroos, Matildas, Joeys, New national Youth league.
Could you add up all of the A-League, Exhibition and International soccer matches across Australia for the last 12 months and inform us of 1) the aggregate attendance; and 2) the average attendance.
catters05
28 May 2008, 13:33
The Juve game brings interest, because it is another countries team? A bit like LA Galaxy with Beckham.
Swans vs Collingwood have reached 72 or 73K before, which is higher then this years State Of Origin 1.
Swans average close to double NRL crowds, and double then Sydney FC crowd average.
Sydney FC averages about 13K people to their games, massive pulling power, HUGE, LOOK OUT WORLD.........OMG its like they are bigger then Manchester United!!! The real problem with Sydney FC is they think they are the bees knees when really they are just an average club, when they sell out the SFS each week then that will be great for soccer.
Swans average is quite large at ANZ and they do pretty well at SCG
Lions average about 27K-30K, which I believe is a lot more then Reds and Roar.
-------------
So the Socceroos always sell out, how do the others do?
When an A-League game with 2 A-League sides in a non-final sells out Suncorp and ANZ Stadium, then come back. Until then, the A-League is still a minor, but is growing well.
--------------
What is this Socceroos/SwansPies game you talk about?
catters05
28 May 2008, 13:36
ONE MORE THING ABOUT BRISBANE and SYDNEY.
Of course they will all come out to support a National Side, everyone does and should. But for these cities it is like going to the Thearte or something new, something different is on. But when it comes to supporting their clubs, they jump on and off the Bandwagon so fast it is crazy.
Lions move into Top 4, the crowds will come back, same with Swans. The Swans Pies game this year could be massive, if both get right up there, especially with Pies current form.
Don't care about averages, b/c you can't compare apples with apples. Comparing A-league to AFL misses out on national games - and whether you like it or not, this is an asset soccer has, in the same way AFL has assets of $780 million TV deal.
Soccer can pack out stadiums in Sydney and Brisbane. AFL has never done this.
For a sport like AFL claiming to be the number 1 national code don't you think it should be able to sell out in these popluations, at least once? The reality is, it never has.
I'm happy with that. AFL has higher averages than A-league, but soccer draws the highest crowds in most parts of Australia.
By the way, Roar's numbers are fantastic - getting over 30K to a few games each season - this is more than most Lions games without Collingwood.
The Sydney ggame last year was Socceroos against Uruguay (about 70K), while Sydney played Swans (48K) in August. Same night, same city. Check the media websites - the Melb AFL-centric papers didn't report the crowd difference for typical obvious reasons - I had to dig around - maybe try the Sydey websites you'll have better lusk.
Doctor Jolly
28 May 2008, 15:15
Don't care about averages, b/c you can't compare apples with apples. Comparing A-league to AFL misses out on national games - and whether you like it or not, this is an asset soccer has, in the same way AFL has assets of $780 million TV deal.
For a sport like AFL claiming to be the number 1 national code don't you think it should be able to sell out in these popluations, at least once? The reality is, it never has.
I'm happy with that. AFL has higher averages than A-league, but soccer draws the highest crowds in most parts of Australia.
By the way, Roar's numbers are fantastic - getting over 30K to a few games each season - this is more than most Lions games without Collingwood.
The Sydney ggame last year was Socceroos against Uruguay (about 70K), while Sydney played Swans (48K) in August. Same night, same city. Check the media websites - the Melb AFL-centric papers didn't report the crowd difference for typical obvious reasons - I had to dig around - maybe try the Sydey websites you'll have better lusk.
Thats a rather silly post. For a start Sydney have never played the Swans.
But more importantly, the Swans regularly sold out Venues in Sydney before Homebush was built, and Sydney have had 3 or 4 70,000 crowds in an 80,000 venue which is pretty close to sell out.
Face facts, the AFL never plays its big game up here (Grand final), while Soccer does (WC qualifiers). Socceroo fans get 1 or 2 games to go to whereas AFL fans get 11+finals.
Sydney have played 2 preliminary finals in Sydney. Against Brisbane and Freo. If then next one is against Collingwood, Essendon or even Carlton, it would be a sell out. Once WS is established, the "derby" will likely be a sell out if both teams are travelling well.
Ice-Wolf
28 May 2008, 15:16
The Sydney game last year was Socceroos against Uruguay (about 70K), while Sydney played Swans (48K) in August. Same night, same city. Check the media websites - the Melb AFL-centric papers didn't report the crowd difference for typical obvious reasons - I had to dig around - maybe try the Sydey websites you'll have better lusk.
Of course International Soccer can pack out stadium. Guess what it also fills the MCG. A-League doesn't the only A-League team that could even be compared to AFL attendance is Melbourne Victory, and they average less than Brisbane or Sydney. Sydney gets a very good crowd at the SCG and Brisbane does well at the Gabba.
You need to look at the averages not single games in isolation, sure the Roar might get a few games of over 30k but the Lions probably have a much greater average.
Demonoid
28 May 2008, 15:31
Sigh...someone has to put you in your place....
So the AFL does not have national games...big deal...it doesn;t need them...it relies on its week by week product. Soccer does not do this (at least not in this country) and never will...because the best kids will ALWAYS go to Europe. When the cream comes here (e.g. Beckham, Juve etc), then naturally people want to look. When they don't...you have the crappy A-league.
Brisbane had regular sell outs in the period 2001 - 2004...the ground only held 37k then. The Gabba has since been rebuilt but this has coincided with their drop down the ladder. Whatch the crowds come again once they climb up. Tell me, have the QLD Roar EVER sold out their stadium?
Again.....when you are comparing apples with apples (AFL v A-league), the Lions get better crowds than Roar....always have...and always will...
Sydney played the swans eh? Do I need to say anything more here? No...really....??
Swans played Collingwood last year at ANZ and got 60k+ Check your facts.
How many games a year do the Swans play in Sydney...11 or 12
How many times do Australia play soccer in Sydney....2 or 3
What was than about apples with apples again?
mustapha
28 May 2008, 15:43
Sigh...someone has to put you in your place....
So the AFL does not have national games...big deal...it doesn;t need them...it relies on its week by week product. Soccer does not do this (at least not in this country) and never will...because the best kids will ALWAYS go to Europe. When the cream comes here (e.g. Beckham, Juve etc), then naturally people want to look. When they don't...you have the crappy A-league.
Brisbane had regular sell outs in the period 2001 - 2004...the ground only held 37k then. The Gabba has since been rebuilt but this has coincided with their drop down the ladder. Whatch the crowds come again once they climb up. Tell me, have the QLD Roar EVER sold out their stadium?
Again.....when you are comparing apples with apples (AFL v A-league), the Lions get better crowds than Roar....always have...and always will...
Sydney played the swans eh? Do I need to say anything more here? No...really....??
Swans played Collingwood last year at ANZ and got 60k+ Check your facts.
How many games a year do the Swans play in Sydney...11 or 12
How many times do Australia play soccer in Sydney....2 or 3
What was than about apples with apples again?
The Queensland Roar have not experienced three years of domination like the Lions did in 01-03 and most of 04. The Roar are also three years old. You are comparing a competition that is three years old to a competition that has existed since 1897 (including the VFL).
You are comparing apples to carrots
Subprime
28 May 2008, 16:10
The Queensland Roar have not experienced three years of domination like the Lions did in 01-03 and most of 04. The Roar are also three years old. You are comparing a competition that is three years old to a competition that has existed since 1897 (including the VFL).
Soccer has been played in Australia since the 19th century.
Soccer had teams from Brisbane and Sydney in its national competition long before the AFL did.
Soccer chose to restructure its national domestic competition when it set up the A-League, it could have continued with the NSL if it wished to. In any case the new format has likely improved crowds and general marketability rather than decreased it.
Demonoid
28 May 2008, 16:11
Geez Mustapha...lets rip down all the threads/blogs about the A-league as they are only three years old
Soccer has been played in this country just as long as Australian football...get a grip!
mustapha
28 May 2008, 16:32
The length of time that soccer has been played in Australia is irrelevant. The Queensland Roar did not exist four years ago. They are now averaging healthy crowds that are continuing to grow.
When the Western Sydney AFL team is introduced do you expect Collingwood sized crowds straight away or do you expect small crowds that will grow over time? Aussie Rules has been played in Sydney for over 100 years so surely crowds of 30k-40k will be attending every week. Will the critics of A League crowds apply the same scrutiny on the crowds of the new AFL teams?
Demonoid
28 May 2008, 16:53
The length of time that soccer has been played in Australia is irrelevant. The Queensland Roar did not exist four years ago. They are now averaging healthy crowds that are continuing to grow.
When the Western Sydney AFL team is introduced do you expect Collingwood sized crowds straight away or do you expect small crowds that will grow over time? Aussie Rules has been played in Sydney for over 100 years so surely crowds of 30k-40k will be attending every week. Will the critics of A League crowds apply the same scrutiny on the crowds of the new AFL teams?
You say Aussie Rules has been played in Sydney for over 100 years...how is that different from me saying Soccer has been played in Brisbane/Australia for over 100 years?
The A-league is a national soccer competion....that replaced another national soccer competition...Can I cast your mind back to the Brisbane Strikers...who played in the old NSL...do you know that they won the NSL in the 1996/97 season? Do you know what the grand final crowd was? Over 40k...a then record crowd...bettered only by Melbourne Victory in season 2006/7.
Brisbane have had representative teams in top flight soccer since the 70's. By contrast, the Brisane Lions, while founded in 1987, only moved to Brisbane in 1993 where membership and attendences tripled.
You are all over the place
mustapha
28 May 2008, 17:22
You say Aussie Rules has been played in Sydney for over 100 years...how is that different from me saying Soccer has been played in Brisbane/Australia for over 100 years?
The A-league is a national soccer competion....that replaced another national soccer competition...Can I cast your mind back to the Brisbane Strikers...who played in the old NSL...do you know that they won the NSL in the 1996/97 season? Do you know what the grand final crowd was? Over 40k...a then record crowd...bettered only by Melbourne Victory in season 2006/7.
Brisbane have had representative teams in top flight soccer since the 70's. By contrast, the Brisane Lions, while founded in 1987, only moved to Brisbane in 1993 where membership and attendences tripled.
You are all over the place
I will repeat the questions.
When the Western Sydney AFL team is introduced do you expect Collingwood sized crowds straight away or do you expect small crowds that will grow over time?
Will the critics of A League crowds apply the same scrutiny on the crowds of the new AFL teams?
For all the AFL hype, all the premierships in Sydney and bris, all the money wasted in promoting the game, all the free to air coverage, AFL still can't sustain isell-out crowds in the one-team cities in QLD and NSW. In fact, aren't memberships even declining for the lions? The 6,000 that rocked up to the cararra game shows AFL has a long way to go before it claims the title as our national code - what a complete joke.
The A-league has come a long way with no media support (Age and Herald Scum have 20+ sports journos clammering over one another for AFL crap news while soccer gets one journo), no free to air coverage, no $780 media deal, no gimmicky rounds.
In the true Australia spirit, soccer is fighting and battling against the odds. Its the underdog. That's what true Australian's fight for. If you don't like it leave this great country.
Subprime
28 May 2008, 17:39
I will repeat the questions.
When the Western Sydney AFL team is introduced do you expect Collingwood sized crowds straight away or do you expect small crowds that will grow over time?
Will the critics of A League crowds apply the same scrutiny on the crowds of the new AFL teams?
The correct comparison for the new Gold Coast and West Sydney AFL teams is between their crowds 40 years from now (ie the period of time since the NSL started) and those of the soccer franchises today.
Subprime
28 May 2008, 17:43
For all the AFL hype, all the premierships in Sydney and bris, all the money wasted in promoting the game, all the free to air coverage, AFL still can't sustain isell-out crowds in the one-team cities in QLD and NSW. In fact, aren't memberships even declining for the lions? The 6,000 that rocked up to the cararra game shows AFL has a long way to go before it claims the title as our national code - what a complete joke.
The A-league has come a long way with no media support (Age and Herald Scum have 20+ sports journos clammering over one another for AFL crap news while soccer gets one journo), no free to air coverage, no $780 media deal, no gimmicky rounds.
In the true Australia spirit, soccer is fighting and battling against the odds. Its the underdog. That's what true Australian's fight for. If you don't like it leave this great country.
:rolleyes:I'm sure I've read soccer trolls telling me that FIFA is bigger than the UN and is coming to take over. Now you're saying your the underdog...haha
Which is it global behemoth or battler?
Why when soccer stars are in this country do AFL players hang around them like smelly flies for media attention. Piss of AFL players.
Why are carlton players like Fev training with Juve players. Piss off.
Why, when Beckham is over here, does Dale Thomas go to Sydney for a photo with Becks. Get stuffed.
If AFL people don't respect soccer in this country, they can f*&^ off for all I care don't hang around off soccer's back trying to promote your own code. Piss off.
Professor Knowall
28 May 2008, 18:12
Thanks Vinnie for reminding me why I've been turn off soccer - because it's got too many imbeciles like yourself.
So keep going, half wit Vinnie - see how many more you can turn off soccer with your crap.
Demonoid
28 May 2008, 18:26
Why when soccer stars are in this country do AFL players hang around them like smelly flies for media attention. Piss of AFL players.
Why, when Beckham is over here, does Dale Thomas go to Sydney for a photo with Becks. Get stuffed.
If AFL people don't respect soccer in this country, they can f*&^ off for all I care don't hang around off soccer's back trying to promote your own code. Piss off.
Your ignorance amazes me....
1. Juve came to Princes park to train. Have a guess which AFL club is based at Princes park Vinnie
2. Dale Thomas was involved in a sponsorship event with Addidas. It not only included him, but players from other codes and teams in the Addidas family.
You're not very smart are you?
I see these photo opportunities as a win-win for both soccer and footy.
The Juventus soccer stars get shown in our media alongside our footy stars, and live images of both sports get beamed back to Italy, which is great exposure for footy in Europe.
stephen_bayne
28 May 2008, 19:11
The AFL always make sure they get thier mugs alongside any notable celebrity that comes down here. I remember Mick Foley got given a Collingwood jumper and the girl group All Saints got given St. Kilda jumpers. Just good marketing I suppose. Other leagues should be so smart.