View Full Version : Round 9 - Hawthorn v Melbourne - Sunday May 25 MCG 2:10pm

vanders
22 May 2008, 13:37
Teams and game discussion in here! :cool:

vaporjet
22 May 2008, 13:41
For anyone interested;

Curtain raiser: Victoria Country v Victoria Metro (commencing at 11.10am)

Think Jarryd Roughead's cousin might be playing, there was a thread on here about him the other day

vanders
22 May 2008, 18:53

IN: Renouf Clarke Thorp Morton Murphy Kennedy
OUT: Crawford McGlynn Guerra

Changa10
22 May 2008, 21:40
Hi All, The trouble and strife and I are over from Tassie for the game on Sunday, and I am just wondering if there is any after match function at all?

Cheers.

Roughie
22 May 2008, 23:47
No Boyle, he still mustnt be right.

Hawkmatic
23 May 2008, 03:16
Josh Kennedy - just exciting times.

B&GBlood
23 May 2008, 10:27
We have lost alot of pace with McGlynn, Crawf and Goo out. We should win but we could be found out if the Dee's can get some clear possession from the middle.
Of course Sammy, Sewell, Lewis, Bateman etal should limit the supply so all should be ok.

RustyHawk
23 May 2008, 18:06
Stats that matter.

Melbourne v Hawthorn at the MCG

• Melbourne’s scoring accuracy of 56 per cent in 2008 is the worst in the AFL.

• Melbourne has had fewer long kicks than its opponents in each of its past 10 MCG games.

• Hawthorn has averaged 10 clanger kicks per game this season – the fewest of any side.

• Hawthorn has conceded fewer than 100 points in each of its past nine MCG games.

• Jordan Lewis played his best game of the season last week against Port Adelaide, racking up 36 disposals – an equal career-high. He had 16 kicks, 20 handballs, six contested possessions, six inside 50s and six clearances in a dominant display.

HFC082
23 May 2008, 18:17
For anyone interested;

Curtain raiser: Victoria Country v Victoria Metro (commencing at 11.10am)

Think Jarryd Roughead's cousin might be playing, there was a thread on here about him the other day

Few students of mine are playing. Will be there to heckle the little monsters ;)

In the real game, we're gonna ____ing smash them. It will be a destructive performance from us...the day we get our killer instinct.

120 Points minimum win

RustyHawk
23 May 2008, 18:21
Hawthorn make 3 changes.

Out: McGlynn, Crawford, Guerra

In: Josh Kennedy for his first ever senior game for the club.

Tim Clarke returns after several weeks at Box Hill

and Tom Murphy returns after injuring a finger several weeks ago.

Gold Member
23 May 2008, 22:41
Few students of mine are playing. Will be there to heckle the little monsters ;)

In the real game, we're gonna ____ing smash them. It will be a destructive performance from us...the day we get our killer instinct.

120 Points minimum win

Killer instinct! Please rescue my sinking thread! :p

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=445814

DiGwIt
25 May 2008, 12:45
tom murphy will match up on roobbo again and beat him convincingly. How is Josh Kennedy gonig to go? i havent seen much of him and hope he does well

Buddy Hero
25 May 2008, 13:14
any word on if and why morton is coming in?

BoldBuddy
25 May 2008, 13:14
I Have it from a very good source that Jordan Lewis will be a late change for the hawks with either Morton or Muston coming into the team. A Big blow for the hawks:thumbsd::(:(

Buddy Hero
25 May 2008, 13:33
haha muston.. sounds like a very bad source to me

BoldBuddy
25 May 2008, 13:38
Morton In, Lewis Out

Buddy Hero
25 May 2008, 13:47
well given its a very good source im sure you can give us a comprehensive wrap up of why lewis isnt playing?

Hawks1523
25 May 2008, 13:55
Jeff White out.
Jamar in.

Our rucks win out there.

Macquarie Eagle
25 May 2008, 14:20
Jeff White out.
Jamar in.

Our rucks win out there.

Is that serious???

Flamin Joe
25 May 2008, 14:54
Is that serious???

Final team sheets came through, it's confirmed on MMM.

wolvesjr34
25 May 2008, 15:43
Better start treating Melbourne with the ferocity we'd treat any toher team or we're gonna get rolled. Playing way too loose in places... cluster or no cluster.... not enough effort going into it... Come on boys PLAY HARDER!!

boozeDragon
25 May 2008, 15:45
We'll pick it up, Clarko will give them a blasting and we'll smash them in the third and fourth.

bo waters for PM
25 May 2008, 15:47
Do we have the upset of the year happening at the G this arvo??:p

Mervyn Beasley
25 May 2008, 16:00
We'll pick it up, Clarko will give them a blasting and we'll smash them in the third and fourth.
Rather pick it up in what remains of the 2nd.
Missing our experienced midfielders it would seem.
Sounds like they(Mel) are really doing the 1%ers.

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 16:21
come on Hawks, we must play like we have this whole season - with flair and pressure. Team not working hard enough off the ball to create.
I cant believe the poor disicion making this half, all the way from mitch down.
we will be right but very frustrating given the opportunity to go a game clear of the pussies on top.
Come on hawks - JUST DO.
ps. Morton looks the goods:)

bryan_1981
25 May 2008, 16:22
errr we just need our better players to get some of the ball. Mclean is tearing us a new one, we may need to shut him down.... actually screw may need to shut him down lol.... were just playing ugly and we need to get the ball and do the things that count like tackling etc etc etc

Krale Brown
25 May 2008, 16:41
errr we just need our better players to get some of the ball. Mclean is tearing us a new one, we may need to shut him down.... actually screw may need to shut him down lol.... were just playing ugly and we need to get the ball and do the things that count like tackling etc etc etc

What better players ? There not playing today.:thumbsd:

Krale Brown
25 May 2008, 16:46
Roughead is a crap kick for goal we should be in front ... :mad:

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 16:55
I am so frustrated. We cant kick straight, we cant play right and Melbourne are all over us! This is ridiculous! PLAY HARDER BOYS!

boozeDragon
25 May 2008, 16:58
Hold the faith boys (and girls!)

They should be even more frustrated that we've played this bad and they're only just in front.

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 17:00
whats with the rucks not jumping at the centre bounce, the wrestling is not working - try somthing else.
come on hawks 1 game clear awaits!!!

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:00
We are gaining momentum! 2 points the difference, Cyril and Willo score!

Come on the Hawkers!

croady_fan24
25 May 2008, 17:01
Im hoping for a turnover.

We can't lose to Melbourne!

Go The Hawkaz!!!

croady_fan24
25 May 2008, 17:01
Ellis, He Scores!!

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:02
Ellis, He Scores!!
4 points in front now! We have a chance! Come on boys!

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 17:02
Hold the faith boys (and girls!)

They should be even more frustrated that we've played this bad and they're only just in front.

spot on :thumbsu: all it will take a 10 miuntes of good footy to break the game open - i think they are giving us their best too.:p

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 17:04
here we come!!!! BBBUUUUDDDDY!!!!!!!!

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:04
Buddy Love puts another one through the sticks! Here come the Hawks!
10 points in front!

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 17:08
for those who cant see the game or hear it - hawks 10 points up at 3/4 time. just starting to take it up a gear. :)

Mervyn Beasley
25 May 2008, 17:12
Regardless of whether we win or not we are really missing Hodge Crawf Lewy Dewy and McG.
Those guys out, Kennetts comments, Dees desperation, and Roughy's inaccuracy has made for a hell of a contest.

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:19
Sh*t! Melbourne have hit the front.

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:20
We are in front again! 5 points!

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:23
Fu*ck Moloney got a free in front of goal and scored. It was a stupid desicion! We ae losing by a point again.

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 17:26
brownie is having a stinker. they keep running themselves into pressure.

boozeDragon
25 May 2008, 17:27
Cyril Rioli stands up when the chips are down, showing the class, no downhill skiier that boy. :thumbsu:

crawf_legend
Cyril scores! Back in front!

Moosewa
CYRILLLLL!!!!!!

the youngest one on the park stands up - come on hawks !!!!:thumbsu:

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:30
A goal the difference. Might be a draw!

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:32
2 goals the difference now! Go the Hawks!

Moosewa
well done hawkas:) - shotgun goal - 12 points up!!

croady_fan24
Woooo.

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:36
WILLO!!!!!!!!! 3 goals in front!!!!!

Disgustipated
25 May 2008, 17:44
home

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:44
We won! 19 points!!!!!!!!!:):):)

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 17:46
go hawks 9-0, 97 - 78 . Sammy you are a star.

Footnote: WTF with the running down of the clock - they obviously knew how much time was left, so why the need for 45 seconds or so???
just a bad taste at the end of a brave win - again.
Go hawks well done. all aginst them for most of the day yet still stood up at the end.
:thumbsu::thumbsu:

croady_fan24
25 May 2008, 17:48
Go hawks! :thumbsu: Thriller of a game.

Flamin Joe
25 May 2008, 17:48
Happy with the win but not ecstatic. Felt we really got out of jail with that one. They wanted it more.

We were really shocking with the pressure, makes me wonder about next week against the Doggies. Play like that again and they'll beat us easily.

Well done Hawks and Melbourne.

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:51
Credit to the Dees! They played exceptionally well today!

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 17:56
Credit to the Dees! They played exceptionally well today!

Happy with the win but not ecstatic. Felt we really got out of jail with that one. They wanted it more.

We were really shocking with the pressure, makes me wonder about next week against the Doggies. Play like that again and they'll beat us easily.

Well done Hawks and Melbourne.

Spot on fellas - but that was the exact reason why this was a great win. Too often good teams have it not run their way and they lose and make excuses, not this hawk team, they fought, mad errors looked ugly and WON.
:)

crawf_legend
25 May 2008, 17:58
Spot on fellas - but that was the exact reason why this was a great win. Too often good teams have it not run their way and they lose and make excuses, not this hawk team, they fought, mad errors looked ugly and WON.
:)

Well said. :thumbsu:

JoondalupJ
25 May 2008, 18:03
Well said Moosewa. The bottom team gave us a hell of a fright but our boys stood up .
Also it is a good wake up to everyone that nothing comes easy. Go Hawks! and take the lesson, its a goody.

DT_fanatic
25 May 2008, 18:03
okay ill admit this is a DT question...

morton should keep his place now that dew is injured, shouldnt he?

markr
25 May 2008, 18:07
okay ill admit this is a DT question...

morton should keep his place now that dew is injured, shouldnt he?
Crawf back from suspension next week, Hodge would be about due back from his hamstring, and possibly Lewis back from whatever injury he had that got him excluded late...

Roughie
25 May 2008, 18:50
We didnt show up today

Buddy Love 23
25 May 2008, 19:14
why was the ball kicked to williams in a marking contest so many times today? the decision making and hunger for the footy was what let us down. we should of blown them away, they had some good motives however to perform well with all the who har about kennetts comments and the neitz retirement.

all in all it was a good wake up call the best possible wake up call as we didnt drop the points.

go hawks

djs_23
25 May 2008, 20:13
why was the ball kicked to williams in a marking contest so many times today? the decision making and hunger for the footy was what let us down. we should of blown them away, they had some good motives however to perform well with all the who har about kennetts comments and the neitz retirement.

all in all it was a good wake up call the best possible wake up call as we didnt drop the points.

go hawks

Williams was demanding the ball I suppose. Definitely a classic 'drift in and out' game from both Buddy and Roughy. Not a game either of those guys would want to put in the scrapbook.

I was there today, and without Bateman we would have lost. Mitchell obviously played very very well too. Here are my reasons why the game went like it did:

1 - Melbourne played well, and negated us very well
2 - We weren't accountable enough - WAY too many loose men all day
3 - We really missed that extra midfielder - no Hodge, Crawf and Lewis stuffed our setup (yes Mitchell was great, Sewell was pretty good but they beat us a fair bit at the stoppages)
4 - Just one of those days, things didn't go our way

Great teams win games like this even when they aren't playing well. We did what we had to do. Let's not get too worried about it - a week's a long time in football ;) By next week it'll be a distant memory.

Goldhawk
25 May 2008, 20:36
Good win considering the Hawks were flat today but good sides can manage to win by working hard, you must remember the side that the Hawks fielded was very young and inexperience with the average age of 23.8 which made the Hawks equal third with the Demons, behind Carlton 22.1 followed by Essendon 23.3.
Whilst in the average games the Hawks are the second least experience on 66.5 with the least being Carlton on 56.8 so overall if these consideration are taken into mind it was a good effort today to record our 9th straight win.

Big Ronnie
25 May 2008, 20:42
Just gotten in.

For those of you that werent watching it at the ground, as the telly does nothing, that was the worst we have played all year.

We fumbled,dropped,farted the ball around with handball like it was keepings off and were to scared to kick the bloody thing all day.

And that old mole that sat behind us all day sooking about the umpires, you must have been a Crows fan in a past life, becase you should be ashamed of your inability to watch a game, rather than wanting it given to you. You old SLAPPER!:thumbsd:

Mervyn Beasley
25 May 2008, 20:51
Just gotten in.

For those of you that werent watching it at the ground, as the telly does nothing, that was the worst we have played all year.

We fumbled,dropped,farted the ball around with handball like it was keepings off and were to scared to kick the bloody thing all day.

And that old mole that sat behind us all day sooking about the umpires, you must have been a Crows fan in a past life, becase you should be ashamed of your inability to watch a game, rather than wanting it given to you. You old SLAPPER!:thumbsd:
It's amazin how some old moles (so eloquently put Ron) can watch and love footy all their lives and still have no freakin clue about it.

Macquarie Eagle
25 May 2008, 21:53
It's amazin how some old moles (so eloquently put Ron) can watch and love footy all their lives and still have no freakin clue about it.

Yeah, like Binxy. She's the fattest mole of them all.

Moosewa
25 May 2008, 22:23
Just gotten in.

Cant stand the old moles. a few years back had allocated season seats on level 2 at the G, had an old slapper behind us week in week out. could n;t stadn it and moved for the next year. They make you wonder why they go when they dont get any enjoyment out of it

FriarTuck
26 May 2008, 09:22
...............And that old mole that sat behind us all day sooking about the umpires, you must have been a Crows fan in a past life, becase you should be ashamed of your inability to watch a game, rather than wanting it given to you. You old SLAPPER!:thumbsd:

Funny you should say that, I had some Melbourne jerk off sitting near me. Normally I am not a violent person but I really felt like popping him one.

What I really liked was the semi standing ovation they gave to Ben Holland when he was spelled. Sad really.

wheels4
26 May 2008, 10:54
just wondering but does anyone no how long dew will be out for

flyby hawk
26 May 2008, 21:57
Lets say he will well and truly be back for saints game 19/7/08:thumbsu: