View Full Version : State Leagues around the country
Woofer
21st December 2000, 15:07
Are there any changes to the make up of the various state leagues around the country ?
For instance, the VFL has reduced from 18 to 15 with alignments between Coburg/Richmond, Williamstown/Collingwood and Springvale/St.Kilda. I also heard that the SFL in Tassie is being discontinued and the Northern Bombers have applied to the VFL. Is that right Tassie people ?
Peel out of Westar, Darwin in SANFL are these both confirmed ? And any news on Swans in Westar who were in deep financial problems ?
Any changes in Brissy or Sydney ?
servo
21st December 2000, 15:30
NT into the SANFL in 2002 is confirmed.
Mobbenfuhrer
21st December 2000, 15:46
Is Springvale/St Kilda confirmed?
sainter
21st December 2000, 20:09
Not confirmed yet Mobbenfuhrer
Last I read, our Football Manager Brian Waldron had recommended the arrangement to the board. If that is the case, I would say that it seems fairly likely to go ahead.
While I am disappointed it is with Springvale, who I have no affinity for, it is pretty much inevitable considering the high costs involved.
Essendon, Carlton, Geelong and St Kilda are the only Victorian teams to not have made an arrangement with an existing VFL club or country football league.
------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius
Mobbenfuhrer
22nd December 2000, 01:32
I went to see a couple of Frankston v Coburg-Fitzroy matches in the last couple of years, and noted that a lot of the Frankston fans seemed to be Saints supporters.
Is there a bigger affinity in that regard, than there is with Springvale?
Bloodstained Angel
22nd December 2000, 04:22
Whats happening in Tassie (I think, please correct if I am wrong OK ?)
The Statewide League is shot to bits, a couple of high profile teams are about to walk away from the whole concept, I believe one of them is Glenorchy and the other is Burnie Dockers. That will reduce the SWl from 6 to 4 teams which is really just not viable.
So it looks like a return to regional footy in Tasmania with MAYBE the re-birth of the old three league set-up, one for the South, one for the North West and one for the North East (Launie-Scottsdale area)
Meanwhile, I understand an 'in principle' agreement has been reached to put a Tasmaian side into the VFL either next season or 2002.
I think thats the situation at the moment, but definitely the SWL is in a lot of trouble at the moment, I know that for sure.
cheers
mud n blood
22nd December 2000, 04:27
They've restructured the entire 'division' system (AFLSQ) up here in Brissie, but the top league (AFLQ) remains intact.
However, Mayne Tigers go to court in January (I think!) fighting for their re-instatement following their exclusion in 1999.
Gonzo
22nd December 2000, 05:02
My mail is that the Burnie Dockers members are voting within the next few days as to whether to stay in the SWL or not (I don't think Glenorchy are running - I could be wrong) Anyway, if Burnie vote to drop out the SWL will fold and teams will then go back to respective regional leagues.
The Southern league which went through a merger a few years ago would probably have to be split into two conferences (ie unmerge!!!) - I see Clarence and Glenorchy taking out the next 20 flags between them - so that roots the southern league!!
Football Tasmania has a proposal to put a team into the VFL, (there is a space with the merger of the Sainters and Springvale) however the Northern Bombers (SWL team based out of Launceston) have jumped in and applied for that spot off their own back - pissing off all the other SWL teams and Football Tasmania in the process.
This is about 4th hand so don't take it as gospel!!
Cheers
Gonzo
CJ
23rd December 2000, 13:40
BSA and Gonzo your posts about the SWL is right. No corrections are needed.
If I can find out more, I will post it here!
sainter
23rd December 2000, 14:30
Mobbenfuhrer,
The alliance between Springvale and St Kilda was announced today.
http://www.stkilda.afl.com.au/news/article_547.htm
In answer to your question, Springvale and Frankston have a large amount of St Kilda supporters, particularly Frankston where guys like Harvey, Burke, Loewe are from the area. However, the VFL side with the biggest St Kilda supporter base was easily Sandringham. Melbourne's alliance with them this year shocked quite a few people. If each club was to have a particular area where support was at its largest, the Sandringham area is right in the heart of St Kilda territory. (Frankston to an extent as well)
St Kilda are constantly criticsed about their "losing culture". Forming an alliance with a VFL club that have won 4 of the last 8 premierships and who were one of only two non-aligned VFL teams to make the finals this year can not be a bad thing.
Even if I would preferred a partnership with Williamstown. http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/frown.gif
------------------
Fortius Quo Fidelius
Mobbenfuhrer
10th January 2001, 01:51
I missed your 22 Dec reply on this, sainter. Thanks for the explanation!
mud n blood
17th January 2001, 11:52
What's the best VFA site ???
Mobbenfuhrer
17th January 2001, 17:29
For a club or for the VFA/VFL as a league?
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
mud n blood
18th January 2001, 06:39
As a league .... I'm after a few league record lists and honour rolls.
Mobbenfuhrer
18th January 2001, 14:16
There's an official site : http://home.vicnet.net.au/~vfl/ ... but it doesn't tell you much, certainly doesn't seem to answer the questions you need answered.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Jerome
18th January 2001, 14:40
All the previous post about the SWL in Tassie are correct, the SWL are gone.
The 3 southern clubs - Clarence, North Hobart and Glenorcy are all hoping to enter the Southern Tasmanian Footy League. Due to the fact the STFL already has 12 clubs and the some of the three SWL clubs colours and mascots clash with existing clubs, the SWL clubs are in nowehere land.
I was talking with a Clarence Roos fan the other night. She is very upset, it is like a death in the family to her. She has no idea if or when she will see her club again.
Football Tasmania (FT) are hoping to have a side in the VFL next year. The impression that I get from Tassie, is that most punters have the shits with FT and will stick to their local clubs. It will be very interesting to see where FT get the players for this new team as well.
There is also going to be some reorganisation of Footy in the North and North West. Burnie and Devonport seem to have secured places in the NTFL from what I am hearing.
There was also a story on Channel 7 News in Adelaide tonight that North Launceston has put forward a submission to enter the SANFL in 2002. Gary Carr of North Launceston says it is a distinct possibility.
The SANFL's response was that it was a remote possibility for 2002 and would rather speak with the Football body in Tassie than the League clubs at this point.
Jerome