View Full Version : Congratulations Collingwood

Magnum
24 May 2008, 00:19
you guys played the perfect game tonight. You'll win the premiership if you play like that again. Well done.

garygee
24 May 2008, 00:29
That was a fantastic effort. Collingwood showed themselves as champions from start to end. Great to see a team take it to Geelong. Definitely a team full of stars tonight. Thomas, Didak, Shaw, Medhurst and Cloke were all standouts.
Well done.

Gymnorhina tibic
24 May 2008, 00:41
True but the boys need to step up against the lesser sides if they are going to get in a position to be a threat

scruffydog
24 May 2008, 00:45
Cheers Magnum, but I still don't see us as a serious contender unless we can show some consistancy. We can beat you by 86 points, but let's not forget we lost to CARLTON! :(

Dave The Man
24 May 2008, 00:48
Cheers Magnum, but I still don't see us as a serious contender unless we can show some consistancy. We can beat you by 86 points, but let's not forget we lost to CARLTON! :(
Well Fix that in 3 Weeks:thumbsu:

rooie
24 May 2008, 00:49
well done! Totally out played, you guys were sensational.

Our board is already full of people calling for Harley to be retired amongst other things, you really shook us up.

Again, well done!

scottyD
24 May 2008, 00:51
First their was Tanking, second was Tunnelling... could Tackling be the third?:thumbsu:

hellfire
24 May 2008, 00:54
Geelong fans have been all class from what I've seen. Kudos. :thumbsu:

I hope we aren't arrogant in defeat, and start gloating all over the boards. It was a great performance, but we need to start doing that every week.

The Cats will be back, I'm just glad we don't play them again, they'd come out wanting blood.

lethal03
24 May 2008, 00:54
Great win Pies!
Rippin year of footy, good to see your mob getting involved!

Teddy Picker
24 May 2008, 00:57
Exceptional game Collingwood.

You guys made us look so scared and slow tonight. Your tackling and intensity was first class. It forced Geelong to second guess and play within themselves all night.

Keep playing like that and the pies will be pushing for a top 4 spot.

I just hope Geelong can bounce back.

Go Cats!!!

P.S: Ablett jnr is a star only geelong player who gave his all

PendlePie
24 May 2008, 00:58
Amazing game, quite possibly the one of the best I've ever been to.

Daisy - amazing game in the midfield. Was superb in clearances and congestion as well. Play of the game when he dodged about 3 cats players with dummies etc on the wing then hit medhurst on the chest. Was sitting right in front of him when he did this, crowd went nuts. His goal at the end was pure class. Knew he would nail it as soon as he picked up the ball :thumbsu:

Wellingham - looks good. Real good. Hope he plays like this every week and continues to improve. Surely will get the RS nomination this week. Had something like 5 tackles in the first quarter I think. Amazing stuff.

Swanny - second consecutive 29 disposal game (thought I'd point it out) - took some strong marks when playing on HF and generally was outstanding. Probably best on ground.

Trav Cloke - loves Geelong. Took heaps of contested marks and set up a few goals too, as well as kicking 4 straight including one in the third that effectively stopped Geelong's momentum and ensured the win. Hopefully he'll put in this sort of performance week in week out.

Dids - simply amazing. His midfield work (26 possies) and kicking were all top notch tonight. No doubt an absolute superstar of the AFL.

Marty Clarke - great game in the midfield, clean and effective disposal. Arguably best on ground.

I could go on, but these were the guys that stood out. Still hard to believe the result and margin. BOG for mine out of Swanny and Marty, with Cloke, Dids and Tarks not far behind. Wakes and Browny deserve a mention for their great performance in the backline. Brown again kept a key forward quiet (Mooney just the 1 goal and 3 marks). Is overdue for a RS nomination.

Go Pies!!! :thumbsu:

stui magpie
24 May 2008, 01:00
Geelong fans have been all class from what I've seen. Kudos. :thumbsu:

I hope we aren't arrogant in defeat, and start gloating all over the boards. It was a great performance, but we need to start doing that every week.

The Cats will be back, I'm just glad we don't play them again, they'd come out wanting blood.

We will play them again, in the finals. And they'll know we have their number.:thumbsu:

Optimax
24 May 2008, 01:04

You guys made us look so scared and slow tonight. Your tackling and intensity was first class. It forced Geelong to second guess and play within themselves all night.

thanks mate, you were scared and slow tonight, got all timid when we applied the blow torch.

You are right though ablett is a little ripper tried his hardest to fir you up at the start of the third had me a little worried duirng that five minute burst, looked a little unfit/injured though.

see you in september

Power King
24 May 2008, 01:05
who's this wellingham kid?

liked his game a lot - very impressive

if he kept up his first half would be a certainty for the nab rising star award (dunno if he's been nominated or if he qualifies - only know that this was his 3rd game)

theburst
24 May 2008, 01:08
Next 3 matches are West Coast, Melbourne, Carlton. Things are suddenly looking promising for the Pies:thumbsu:

Copernicus
24 May 2008, 01:08
Shits me to say it but you lot made us look second rate today. I think we were a bit arrogant and complacent coming in at 8-0 and the Pies made us pay for it.

Lesson learnt, I hope. Our next encounter is going to be a ripper.

kevind
24 May 2008, 01:10

Keep playing like that and the pies will be pushing for a top 4 spot.

I just hope Geelong can bounce back.

Go Cats!!!

Thanks TP, we certainly brought you guys undone with great tackling and all kudos to our boys. But the Cats looked tired and lethargic. Is there something you guys know about why the Cats were so lethargic other than a one day extra preparation we had??? That was certainly not the real Geelong.

When Ottens returns next week, hopefully you guys will do us a favour and cream the Blues. Something like a 200 point turnaround would be nice. Your comments on Ablett are spot on. A star when you guys are winning and a star even when you guys are struggling = absolute star.

scottyD
24 May 2008, 01:11
Next 3 matches are West Coast, Melbourne, Carlton. Things are suddenly looking promising for the Pies:thumbsu:
Curse is we dominate bigger teams but fall under lesser placed teams. Hopefully i am wrong...:thumbsu:

theburst
24 May 2008, 01:16
Curse is we dominate bigger teams but fall under lesser placed teams. Hopefully i am wrong...:thumbsu:
Ok, but I think we saw a killer instinct tonight that is present in good teams only.

Goldhawk
24 May 2008, 01:23
Congratulations ,what a fantastic win by the Pies,i was really impressed with your skills tonight and the tackling.
Even though i picked Geelong in the footy tip,i was glad you won and even found myself supporting you guys.
Cheers

GreekLunatic
24 May 2008, 01:36
Why cant we play like this each week. Im still in shock how we played.

cancat
24 May 2008, 02:37
Well done Collingwood. More desire, better skills. You guys deserved the win.

Hopefully a wake up call for us. We were 8-0 but not playing that well.

Geelong_Sicko
24 May 2008, 03:48
Yep, well done maggies. You blokes were ferocious at the ball - best tackling by a side I've seen in years. I never reallyrated cloke until tonight, and Daisy... Bloody hell!

Youse guys played like champs!

burto
24 May 2008, 04:24
Much harder at the ball than us. Reminded me of the 06 game, loose magpies everywhere.

doppleganger
24 May 2008, 04:27
Yep, well done maggies. You blokes were ferocious at the ball - best tackling by a side I've seen in years. I never reallyrated cloke until tonight, and Daisy... Bloody hell!

Youse guys played like champs!

???

Trav was our best player in both games last year against you blokes!!

cattatonic
24 May 2008, 07:34
Thanks TP, we certainly brought you guys undone with great tackling and all kudos to our boys. But the Cats looked tired and lethargic. Is there something you guys know about why the Cats were so lethargic other than a one day extra preparation we had??? That was certainly not the real Geelong.

When Ottens returns next week, hopefully you guys will do us a favour and cream the Blues. Something like a 200 point turnaround would be nice. Your comments on Ablett are spot on. A star when you guys are winning and a star even when you guys are struggling = absolute star.

sensational pies - close to perfect. tremendous self-belief and almost non-stop pressure the whole game. and a great execution of a solid game plan (esp. rocca).

ablett, ling, mackie and hunt et al haven't been 100% for a while. steve johnson hasn't been at his best, but how about that tackle count!?!?!

we missed egan, ottens and chappy and we were "due". teams have been really trying to smash us this year but this time twas against a classy contender that crunched us on the big stage. congrats indeed.

magpieking
24 May 2008, 12:58
Why cant we play like this each week. Im still in shock how we played.

if we played like that every week we should make top four :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Chase the Ace
24 May 2008, 15:46
True but the boys need to step up against the lesser sides if they are going to get in a position to be a threat

That's the stuff, find something negative in it.
It wouldn't be BF without it