http://img87.imageshack.us/img87/6463/rnd9fn3.jpg
http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/7566/rnd9ptp3.jpg

stander
24 May 2008, 12:52
$3.80 Swervyn- irresistible.

The_Young_Gun
24 May 2008, 12:54
Jake King on David Hille....

That's an encouraging match up for us...

I'm really hoping Lloyd can kick a bagg over Will Thursfield tonight. In a one on one situation Lloydy will kill Thursfield, cause Lloyds almost 10 kilo's bigger than Will.

I'm also hoping McVeigh can go forward and kick a few goals, pending on whether he has a defensive role or not.

eddie_punchclock
24 May 2008, 13:02
hey guys, what's the best time to get there tonight?
i haven't seen any info on what is happening before the match
thanks

KaaN10
24 May 2008, 13:04
Dyson on Richo :eek:

Johnnyprinias
24 May 2008, 13:17
Dont bash me but are we any chance tonite? :o

bomber69
24 May 2008, 13:22
Dont bash me but are we any chance tonite? :o
Probably one of the few games this year that I would say we acctually have a bit of a chance.

dave_27
24 May 2008, 13:25
ofcourse we're chance mate.

Its unlikely but the wheel turns very quickly in this sport.

Very, very fickle game football is.

bomba4eva
24 May 2008, 13:31
Against the Tigers we are always a chance. They dont have many obvious strengths. Struggle to see Essendon winning a game. If we win the clearances and use the ball well we are in with a real shot. Hopefully Monfries keeps getting the pill but hits targets this week. Not ready to completely pull the pin on him yet. Dyson gets another crack. Certainly getting a fair go. Up to him now whether he will make it or not. Lloyd should decimate Thursfield. Worry about the delivery he will receive though. Lovett was quiet last week and I expect a much sharper performance from him. Will be looking out for Jetta this week. Since he tore his hamstring he hasnt played well. Should be over any lingering problems by now. Will be watching Myers and Cotchin closely tonight. Only separated by 4 picks in last years draft.

Merv
24 May 2008, 13:36

I'm not game enough to put any money on us until we actually show something mate.

On paper Richmond should win easily as we can't play 4 quarters and they are the best contested ball team in the league.
Of course games aren't played on paper, so anything could happen.

I did back Freo earlier in the week at $2.25.

Elainetto
24 May 2008, 13:38
I did back Freo earlier in the week at $2.25.????

no....tell me its not true.

jdwood
24 May 2008, 13:42

Dyson on Richo :eek:

Yeah, cause that's how they line up......

dave_27
24 May 2008, 14:08
I'm not game enough to put any money on us until we actually show something mate.

On paper Richmond should win easily as we can't play 4 quarters and they are the best contested ball team in the league.
Of course games aren't played on paper, so anything could happen.

I would have thought the opposite Merv.

On paper, the names for Richmond I dont see the 50+ margin people are predicting between us and them talent wise.

I mean Pattison, Moore, Riewodlt, Cotchin, un accountable King, Edwards, White, Mcmahon and struggling Bowden doesnt exactly strike fear into me at this moment in their careers.

Nuts4Bolts
24 May 2008, 14:13
ofcourse we're chance mate.

Its unlikely but the wheel turns very quickly in this sport.

Very, very fickle game football is.

Look at Geelong last night. I actually thought it was Essendon playing in Geelong jumpers!

bombersno1
24 May 2008, 14:13
Dyson to get reamed again.

dave_27
24 May 2008, 14:18
Look at Geelong last night. I actually thought it was Essendon playing in Geelong jumpers!

Was at the game and made the exact same comment to a mate.

The indecisiveness, the static movement, turnovers, no accountability....

bomba4eva
24 May 2008, 14:18
Dyson to get reamed again.
He is receiving plenty of chances and cannot complain about a lack of game time. Hopefully he shows something this game because he has een a major disappointment.

Dave Stevens
24 May 2008, 14:27

I'm really hoping Lloyd can kick a bagg over Will Thursfield tonight. In a one on one situation Lloydy will kill Thursfield, cause Lloyds almost 10 kilo's bigger than Will.

I'm also hoping McVeigh can go forward and kick a few goals, pending on whether he has a defensive role or not.

The 10kgs don't make a difference when you're lying on the ground looking up at the umpire...

THE_GUN
24 May 2008, 14:40
lloyd has to lead by example & stop trying to get easy free kicks from the umps, they have finally woken up to his antics.

as the captain of a young up & coming side with loads of potential he has to start putting his body on the line & go in for the hard ball on the second, third attempts.

lucas is u f=ckn gun & never gives up, lloyd should play in the same manner. good luck to essendon tonight & hope its a good game but with the tigers getting up in the end.

Merv
24 May 2008, 14:42

On paper, the names for Richmond I dont see the 50+ margin people are predicting between us and them talent wise.

I mean Pattison, Moore, Riewodlt, Cotchin, un accountable King, Edwards, White, Mcmahon and struggling Bowden doesnt exactly strike fear into me at this moment in their careers.

By on paper i mean results.

They have at least been competitive, we haven't.

SirJimi05
24 May 2008, 14:45

Earlier in the week i got Richmond at the line -19.5 points.

That is what i call irresistable.

Have linked it into all of my multi's as the lock.

The Donners
24 May 2008, 14:48

Our brand of football... only he's tougher! :D

Schmick
24 May 2008, 19:44
Nash in for Dyson, according to Gameday Live anyways. Would be nice to see him get a run in the midfield and see how he goes instead of playing off half back.

MadBomberfan
24 May 2008, 20:20
Well it looks like we've learned absolutely ____ all from the 91 point smashing last week, or any of the other thrashings.

This is absolute shit yet again. When will we learn the basic skills, because I'm fast getting sick of the ____ing school boy standard that we are playing.:thumbsd:

MadBomberfan
24 May 2008, 20:33
And it continues...

What the ____ is NLM doing? Apparently there is an AVO barring him from within 20m of an opponent in their F50.
Monfries would trip over his ____ing bootlaces.
And Watson is too shit scared to have a kick.

For ____ sake, show some pride Bombers. At least try to kick a damn goal sometime before half time! :mad:

WindyHillWatcher
24 May 2008, 20:35
hooray! lloyd kicks our first and i would just like to say that this game is f*^&ing pathetic. pull your heads in!

Bomber57
24 May 2008, 20:41
21 goals kicked against us without us kicking one, now thats good.

Jem
24 May 2008, 21:03
We will begin to see who the real supporters are by the end of the year I'd say.

THOMO_31
24 May 2008, 21:04
wats the score. im watchin it on tv and im gonna turn it off this is disgraceful

Schmick
24 May 2008, 21:11
Gee it's depressing watching us play at the moment :(

MadBomberfan
24 May 2008, 21:18
Hooray Jay Neagle. Good grab & goal young fella. :thumbsu:

Sam the RAMA fan
24 May 2008, 21:19
Gee it's depressing watching us play at the moment :(

It sure is,
but the ladder's rotating,and it's our time to start rebuilding.
Hawks,Dogs,Cats,Saints etc were always in the bottom 8,
now look at them.

Our time will come,
just give them a few more years..
I'm giving them till 2010. If we are not in the 8 by end on Season 2010,
that's when I will start worrying.

Just got to be patient,
put up with people's crap,
and keep supporting the boys from Windy Hill. :thumbsu:

THOMO_31
24 May 2008, 21:21
It sure is,
now look at them.

Our time will come,

Just got to be patient,

yeh i no we are rebuliding. but all i want is for them 2 have a crack. that 1st half and last years wooden spooners was terrible. they jsut dont look interested

WindyHillWatcher
24 May 2008, 21:26
dude, if i see one more F*%$ing handball!!!!

After 9 weeks, i have finally accepted that we are not a good side. but i stand by them and will never turn my back on essendon.
Angus monfries just kicked a goal, im sorry i was harsh on you last week.

sacka
24 May 2008, 21:28
We will begin to see who the real supporters are by the end of the year I'd say.
we will be supporters untill we die but it doesnt mean we have to put up with there effort or lack of it on the footy field at the moment.

bombre-boy
24 May 2008, 21:29
Lets hope the AFL can re-shedule all fo out upcoming games for sunday twlight...so they dont get televised and we dont have to watch the rubbish the team are currently dishing up to us....I blame the Eurovision song contest, if it wanst for them i would have been watching Top Gear, instead of dud team...For F... sake pick up a man!!!:mad:

MadBomberfan
24 May 2008, 21:31
A different side has come out after half time. :thumbsu:

Spikey
24 May 2008, 21:32
A side with passion?

THOMO_31
24 May 2008, 21:33
yeh but that is the problem we come back and tehn we are buggered after all that work. then we get over ran in last quarter

Sam the RAMA fan
24 May 2008, 21:34
Good to see.
Even if we do lose,
atleast they have given it their best in the 2nd half.

WindyHillWatcher
24 May 2008, 21:39

Mate, don't question any bombers supporters loyalty. I've never met a bombers supporter who flees when the side is falling and i think i speak for everyone when i say that we love this team, we just don't want to see them settle for mediocre performances. yes yes, they are young and all that jazz, but you have to admit that 1st half was pathetic. this 2nd half is a completely different team.

THOMO_31
24 May 2008, 21:41
are they teasing us. only 26 points now

Spikey
24 May 2008, 21:43
Am I the only one thinking of last year's match and hoping for a repeat?

Schmick
24 May 2008, 21:44
It sure is,
now look at them.

Our time will come,

Just got to be patient,
Of course. I think our future is fine, im not really worried because our list is slowly coming together, we've got quite a few talented youngsters coming through, and we'll keep on adding to it with the upcoming drafts in the future.
We should have a pretty strong team in a few years, but the only thing i'd be worried about is the key defenders, they take quite a few years to develop and we havn't really got many good options in this area, but hopefully it'll just work it's self out and everything just falls into place.

Spikey
24 May 2008, 21:47
Sounds like Hille is having a cracker...

Sam the RAMA fan
24 May 2008, 21:48

I'll die a Bomber..
will always support the team regardless...(I have no choice now!) ;)
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=378448

koutamarto
24 May 2008, 21:49
Gee hill and watson tore it up in that qtr. Feel for watson
he has been criticised so much that he doesnt want to kick the ball any more and his kicking isnt that bad just some shithead supporters and dicks in the media give him a caning.

Spikey
24 May 2008, 21:50
he has been criticised so much that he doesnt want to kick the ball any more and his kicking isnt that bad just some shithead supporters and dicks in the media give him a caning.

I recall Sheeds making fun of it once last year. That would of helped smash his confidence in it.

WindyHillWatcher
24 May 2008, 21:51

exactly

WindyHillWatcher
24 May 2008, 21:52
Quatermaine: "fletcher is a hard man to beat off"

haha

OzBomber
24 May 2008, 21:59
wats the score. im watchin it on tv and im gonna turn it off this is disgraceful
I turned it off at quarter time. Abolutely pathetic.

But I'll always support them. Hoping we can kick a few goals now. Only 25 points down.

Schmick
24 May 2008, 22:17
Much happer with our efforts in the 3rd quarter. Hille is having a a blinder.

The Donners
24 May 2008, 22:17
Great quarter for far too few, got back to within 26 points thanks largely to Hille, Stanton and Monfries. Watson did some nice work too! Lloyd isn't in bad form that's for sure, he's not getting a lot of assistance with the entry into the forward 50!

Go Dons!

P.S. Great spray from Knights at quarter time, absolutely loved it!!!

warney7
24 May 2008, 22:18
Pretty painful viewing.......but it mkaes the good times all the more enjoyable.

I enjoyed seeing Matthew Knights give the players a spray.

OzBomber
24 May 2008, 22:18
Good stuff from Lloyd. Another 4 brings his season telly to 23.

warney7
24 May 2008, 22:22
I'm also sick of all the crap that Lloydy has been getting this season, and most of it is coming from Essendon 'supporters'.

Get the ball in quick and long, and one out, Lloyd will still do the job.........he's just not the lead out forward he was 8 years ago!

OzBomber
24 May 2008, 22:24
He's not finished, he's just getting dud delivery.

Blind Blink
24 May 2008, 22:43
Glad to see Llyod getting 4 :)

bombre-boy
24 May 2008, 22:45
Well at least we are consistant....play one quarter of footy a week, in the last 6 weeks...Hate to think of what would have happened if we hadnt had such a big pre season...
At least we have next week to look forward too...oh no is adeladie in adelaide:(...well maybe the week after that then...Oh look its Hawthorn:(:(:(:(.
round 18 loom sas a huge game...that will be 15 in a row, and we play Melbourne.
Well at least we can look forward to December when the draft is on, as there is no win in site, if the team continues this form....

mxett
24 May 2008, 23:02
Problem is, we looked insipid, and won 1 quarter, against a team in the bottom half of the ladder. What does that say for us.

You look at some of Richmonds youth and think "man these guys are going to be good". I look at our youth and think "I hope they will, but am yet to see much evidence". Man I hope once Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher go that we actually have any stars at all. Even Paddy looked pretty ordinary tonight.

un_eggs
24 May 2008, 23:29
Problem is, we looked insipid, and won 1 quarter, against a team in the bottom half of the ladder. What does that say for us.

You look at some of Richmonds youth and think "man these guys are going to be good". I look at our youth and think "I hope they will, but am yet to see much evidence". Man I hope once Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher go that we actually have any stars at all. Even Paddy looked pretty ordinary tonight.

someone needs to put a rocket up Paddy... and Lovett... and Laycock. All three very talented.but not intense enough. We need to coach these boys to be a little angrier otherwise our next generation will not be a premiership generation.

jdwood
24 May 2008, 23:30
That was disgusting... 386 disposals to 259. I don't even know what to say, I can accept losses at this stage of our development but some of those player performances were just inexcusable.

Remiers: he tries hard but he was terrible, not to mention horribly selfish. When we were coming in the last quarter all he had to was handball it to McPhee in the goal square, instead he tries to be a hero in those disgusting boots and misses.

Welsh: doesn't even look up to it. Was absolutely schooled every time he went near the ball. Skills were horrible.

Slattery: urrggghhhhh.....................

:mad::mad::mad::mad:JUST KICK THE THING :mad::mad::mad:

MadBomberfan
24 May 2008, 23:36
We had 1 player, Watson, with 20 possessions. He was serviceable in the 2nd half, but why won't he kick the damn thing more? That free kick early in the 2nd just typified him. It looks like he either has no confidence in his own kicking or his mates' ability to win the ball if he kicks to a contest.

Hille was superb tonight. :thumbsu:

And Lloyd had a much better match tonight. :thumbsu:

I'll leave it at that...

efcboy
24 May 2008, 23:40
i said it last week that lovett and jetta should be dropped. similar performances again - don't work hard enough or go in for a contest. its all well and good to have pace but no point if you don't go near the footy! problem is who to replace them with - dyson is the same...maybe give atkinson another go? with any luck lucas will be in this week.

Sigmund
24 May 2008, 23:47
Does anyone know where I can find the stats for tonight? Not on EFC website yet

kelvin_sheedy
24 May 2008, 23:53
Embarrassing first half. Worst half of contested football I have ever seen at AFL/VFL level. Absolutely non existent.

Welsh - was he playing rugby just bombing the ball in the air :confused:

Jetta - needs a spell in the VFL. Got to get some possessions and quality game time in him.

Nash - horrible disposal under any pressure. Not up to it.

Reimers and Lovett must play forward for the next few games to take over Davey's role and Jetta's axing.

386 disposals to 259 - What the?

Ball handling is the worst in the comp. We fumble under any pressure.

Too many kids in the side at the one time.

kelvin_sheedy
24 May 2008, 23:54
Does anyone know where I can find the stats for tonight? Not on EFC website yet

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/gameday/0,,5015519,00.html

Sigmund
24 May 2008, 23:55
Embarrassing first half. Worst half of contested football I have ever seen at AFL/VFL level. Absolutely non existent.

Welsh - was he playing rugby just bombing the ball in the air :confused:

Jetta - needs a spell in the VFL. Got to get some possessions and quality game time in him.

Nash - horrible disposal under any pressure. Not up to it.

Reimers and Lovett must play forward for the next few games to take over Davey's role and Jetta's axing.

386 disposals to 259 - What the?

Ball handling is the worst in the comp. We fumble under any pressure.

Too many kids in the side at the one time.

Some fair calls in there Kelv... but what are our other options in regards to your last point? JJ and Pev?

ManWithNoName
24 May 2008, 23:57
Jesus christ we're shit.

Single worst display I've ever seen from the club tonight. Absolutely pathetic.

kelvin_sheedy
25 May 2008, 00:00
Some fair calls in there Kelv... but what are our other options in regards to your last point? JJ and Pev?

Mal and possibly Rama should have played.

The big body of Mal would have been perfect in the slippery conditions. At least it would have made the Tiger forwards think twice when going for it.

dave_27
25 May 2008, 00:02
Jesus christ we're shit.

Single worst display I've ever seen from the club tonight. Absolutely pathetic.

The first half was the single worst half of football from Essendon in years but the 2nd half though was decent though.

Overrall I think the Anzac day performance takes the cake for the biggest load of spiritless horse ---- served up in years.

ManWithNoName
25 May 2008, 00:03
The first half was the single worst half of football from Essendon in years but the 2nd half though was decent though.

Overrall I think the Anzac day performance takes the cake for the biggest load of spiritless horse ---- served up in years.
Second half wasn't that much of an improvement. Richmond just remembered that they're immensely shit as well.

dave_27
25 May 2008, 00:08
Second half wasn't that much of an improvement. Richmond just remembered that they're immensely shit as well.

I think the thing that cut me up most about tonights performance was we were playing rubbish opposition as opposed to the last 3 weeks who are all quality teams.

Lets be honest, Richmond were turning over the ball about as much as any opponent we've played this year and they still were up by so much.

lemon chicken
25 May 2008, 00:09
Mal and possibly Rama should have played.

The big body of Mal would have been perfect in the slippery conditions. At least it would have made the Tiger forwards think twice when going for it.

Agreed Mal being dropped didnt make sense to me but I guess they are looking for a scapegoat for the scores being kicked against us. Perhaps they would be better taking a good look at the midfield and lack of forward defensive pressure shown over the past couple of weeks.

Sigmund
25 May 2008, 00:11
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/gameday/0,,5015519,00.html

Thanks Kelv:thumbsu:

dave_27
25 May 2008, 00:15
"here comes a turnover" followed by lifting head up to the sky.

The Donners
25 May 2008, 09:42

My sentiments exactly.

The Donners
25 May 2008, 09:46
That was disgusting... 386 disposals to 259. I don't even know what to say, I can accept losses at this stage of our development but some of those player performances were just inexcusable.

Remiers: he tries hard but he was terrible, not to mention horribly selfish. When we were coming in the last quarter all he had to was handball it to McPhee in the goal square, instead he tries to be a hero in those disgusting boots and misses.

Welsh: doesn't even look up to it. Was absolutely schooled every time he went near the ball. Skills were horrible.

Slattery: urrggghhhhh.....................

:mad::mad::mad:JUST KICK THE THING :mad::mad:

I've never seen him put the team before himself.

Trade Lovett, Laycock, Welsh and NLM if they have any value. Last night's performance by Lovett shows exactly why he's no good. He can't play 2 good games in a row. Not good enough. Looks great when firing but what is the point of only showing up every second or third week? That goes for several others! :thumbsd:

No pride in the jumper, its a disgrace! :thumbsd:

HighettBomber
25 May 2008, 09:50
Players who were an absolute disgrace:

NLM and Slattery. The vast majority of Richmond goals seemed to come from whoever either one of these hacks was on.

Just disgraceful:

Welsh (didn't get it much but butchered everything he got), Ryder (fumbled and lacked intensity) and Jetta (wish he would attack the ball like he attacks the opposition when he tackles, continued low possesion counts are not good enough for someown with his ability).

Concerns:

Lonergan looks great in the stoppages, but doesn't do enough outside of them.
Hislop gets first hand on the ball a lot without being able to get it out.
Nash has no confidence, he's a fantastic kick but butchered it continually last night.
Reimers needs to show a bit more awareness, winning the ball well but diesn't seem to look where he's kicking it.
Watson needs to kick the ball, his kicking isn't that bad and his refusal to kick gets him in trouble continually.
Lovett is a lot better than he is playing, he has to get his own ball more often.

Positives:
Neagle continues to show potential.
Hille was very good in the second half.
Myers is good in stoppages and a smart player
Lloyd tried hard and would have had a good game if he had any supply

The Donners
25 May 2008, 09:58
The moment Reimers blazed away in the final quarter instead of passing to Mcphee 30 metres on his own was the clinching moment of the game, we would've been 20 points down with momentum. It pretty much summed up Essendon's season though... dumb football. Surely he saw Mcphee!

I don't know whether you can put the coach at fault, on one hand it's the players who must go out there and perform, at least show some passion... but on the other hand is it the coach who should bring that out in his players otherwise they should be dropped?

NLM looked like he didn't want to play for Knights last night. So much for the players respecting the coach which was half the reason Knights was appointed!!!

Merv
25 May 2008, 10:06
I don't know whether you can put the coach at fault, on one hand it's the players who must go out there and perform, at least show some passion... but on the other hand is it the coach who should bring that out in his players otherwise they should be dropped?

NLM looked like he didn't want to play for Knights last night. So much for the players respecting the coach which was half the reason Knights was appointed!!!

And bring in who?

Have you seen how many changes we make every week?

Rubbish

The Donners
25 May 2008, 10:12
And bring in who?

Have you seen how many changes we make every week?

Rubbish

Really, so a guy (Knights) who had not been involved in a premiership as a player or coach was chosen because he gave the best powerpoint presentation? :D I'm not against Knights' appointment and he was given 3 years, so he's got 3 years full stop.

If the players in the team aren't going to play for the coach, bring in those that do, JJ....... and I'm stuck, that's it, we've got no one else! :D

edit: The first paragraph I made (in my earlier post) was questioning whether it was the coach's responsibility or not, it wasn't necesarily something that should happen, as you read above and you know yourself, the coach has no one to bring in.

mase06
25 May 2008, 10:21
good to see that essendon loses without ricky dyson, its not all his fault that essendon is crap. hasnt lived up to pre season form but he isnt the only one by the looks of it.so stop blaming all on him.

time to rebuild, get rid of or trade mal,jj,pev,rama, lucas,lloyd and fletcher and get some good draft picks before gc17 takes all the good kids.

dyson had his appendix out last night after it burst before the game.

bye

Merv
25 May 2008, 10:30
Really, so a guy (Knights) who had not been involved in a premiership as a player or coach was chosen because he gave the best powerpoint presentation? :D I'm not against Knights' appointment and he was given 3 years, so he's got 3 years full stop.

Unlike yourself i wasn't involved in the interviewing process so i don't know for a fact, unlike yourself, why he was appointed yet i would think there is every chance that your statement that "half the reason he was appointed was because the players liked him" is rubbish.

bombersno1
25 May 2008, 10:39
The positive- Dyson didn't play!

The Donners
25 May 2008, 10:45
Unlike yourself i wasn't involved in the interviewing process so i don't know for a fact, unlike yourself, why he was appointed yet i would think there is every chance that your statement that "half the reason he was appointed was because the players liked him" is rubbish.

No I wasn't in the interview process but I did listen to I believe Peter Jackson on SEN describing why Knights got the job. He, Jackson, was questioned why Dimma didn't get the role. To cut a long story short, from all reports it went down to the wire between Knights and Dimma and the end result was Knights due to having produced a better presentation. Perhaps Knights had some trendy transitions in his PPoint presentation?

Perhaps I exagerated a little, you're on the ball for so early in the morning though Merv, keep up the good work! :thumbsu:

The Donners
25 May 2008, 10:46
good to see that essendon loses without ricky dyson, its not all his fault that essendon is crap. hasnt lived up to pre season form but he isnt the only one by the looks of it.so stop blaming all on him.

time to rebuild, get rid of or trade mal,jj,pev,rama, lucas,lloyd and fletcher and get some good draft picks before gc17 takes all the good kids.

dyson had his appendix out last night after it burst before the game.

bye

Thanks for your insightful and intelligent appraisal, I'll be sure to have Knights and his recruitment team contact you before they make any decisions regarding the player list........................................................ ..

jdwood
25 May 2008, 10:47
The positive- Dyson didn't play!

Yeah, that really made the difference...... :rolleyes:

bombersno1
25 May 2008, 10:49
Yeah, that really made the difference...... :rolleyes:

It made the margin closer!

caboose
25 May 2008, 10:52

I think you're probably taking that statement way too literally, Merv. :o

In fairness too, you did actually go to the trouble of posting this on the board not long after Knights' appointment:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=378651

Merv
25 May 2008, 12:26
I think you're probably taking that statement way too literally, Merv. :o

In fairness too, you did actually go to the trouble of posting this on the board not long after Knights' appointment:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=378651

Of course i am taking it too literally.

What i was trying to do was point out how in bad times people over exaggerate things and it makes things seem worse than they are.

That article in no way shows that he was appointed because the players liked him but that on hearing the news they were happy he was appointed.

Very different scenarios.

The Donners
25 May 2008, 12:43

What i was trying to do was point out how in bad times people over exaggerate things and it makes things seem worse than they are.

That article in no way shows that he was appointed because the players liked him but that on hearing the news they were happy he was appointed.

True but what of Peter Jackson's press conference after Knights' appointment? The crux of the "interview" was based around Knights being respected by the players to the point where he insinuated the players were notified before the appointment (that's what I read into). As a result, at the time it was my belief that the players had been given the opportunity to express what they thought of Knights as coach. I don't know as a matter of fact but I would not be surprised if the players had the chance to choose between Hardwicke and Knights, not necessarily make the final decision but at least express their opinion.

Merv
25 May 2008, 12:49
True but what of Peter Jackson's press conference after Knights' appointment? The crux of the "interview" was based around Knights being respected by the players to the point where he insinuated the players were notified before the appointment (that's what I read into). As a result, at the time it was my belief that the players had been given the opportunity to express what they thought of Knights as coach. I don't know as a matter of fact but I would not be surprised if the players had the chance to choose between Hardwicke and Knights, not necessarily make the final decision but at least express their opinion.

I'm going from memory here but it is my belief that what was said was that the players were advised before the announcement was made, not the appointment, and they were rapt.

If i cared enough i would go back and watch the Bomber.TV interviews, but i don't.

caboose
25 May 2008, 12:54

Understood. And that's human nature - just as it's human nature for some people to be too stubborn in bad times too.

I'm not claiming that article conclusively proves it was crucial to his appointment as coach. But what it does show is that Knights' closeness to the players was undoubtedly seen by key figures at the club as one of his greatest selling points. That the club captain said it, and the club wanted to get that message out there by posting an article like this on its website, clearly underlines this. (Though I didn't hear it, everything I've seen reported - including by The Donners above - indicates Jackson also gave the same message very strongly in his radio interview at the time.)

That being the case, it's pretty hard to believe it wasn't seriously considered by the people who appointed him to the job.

The Donners
25 May 2008, 13:06
Either way, Knights was given the job as on-field development coach for players in their first 3 years before he was given the senior job... our youngsters haven't developed at a rate anywhere near other clubs' levels.

None of our players in their first 3 years of AFL football are consistent performers. That's not a good record. This includes Ryder and the like. I like Ryder but his output on the whole would not warrant a regular game in a successful team. I'm not trying to target Ryder merely use him as an example of our player development, he would be the most developed player of that first 3 year category would he not? Alternatively Alwyn Davey?

Merv
25 May 2008, 13:08
Understood. And that's human nature - just as it's human nature for some people to be too stubborn in bad times too.

I'm not claiming that article conclusively proves it was crucial to his appointment as coach. But what it does show is that Knights' closeness to the players was undoubtedly seen by key figures at the club as one of his greatest selling points. That the club captain said it, and the club wanted to get that message out there by posting an article like this on its website, clearly underlines this. (Though I didn't hear it, everything I've seen reported - including by The Donners above - indicates Jackson also gave the same message very strongly in his radio interview at the time.)

That being the case, it's pretty hard to believe it wasn't seriously considered by the people who appointed him to the job.

I'm not being stubborn at all and i have my own views on Knights but i generally keep them to myself.

Someone has to stick up for the club and the decision made, and this is not only me as a few more are doing the same thing, as if we didn't the over the top criticism and exaggeration would just over whelm everything else and the place would be a bloodbath.

caboose
25 May 2008, 13:36
I'm not being stubborn at all and i have my own views on Knights but i generally keep them to myself.

You're taking things too literally (again). I wasn't saying you were stubborn. I was making a general point that didn't reference you at all. If that's your interpretation, do I need to assume that you're accusing me of deliberately over-exaggerating things and wanting to make things sound worse than they actually are, too?

Someone has to stick up for the club and the decision made

Eh? So you stick up for the club regardless of the rights or wrongs of an issue? Sorry, but that's a truly absurd position to take.

as if we didn't the over the top criticism and exaggeration would just over whelm everything else and the place would be a bloodbath.

This is a forum and, unless you want it to become some kind of dictatorship, all opinions (within reason) should be welcomed. Just because one don't agree with what's being said doesn't automatically make it "over the top" or an "exaggeration". If people are incapable of dealing with and/or responding to reasonably-argued criticisms of some aspects of the club, then it's them with the problem.

danzan22
25 May 2008, 13:42
Accountability was a major problem again, edwards was free far to often and was very damaging.

*These views may not be correct as i was somewhat out of it last night.

The Donners
25 May 2008, 14:05
Accountability was a major problem again, edwards was free far to often and was very damaging.

*These views may not be correct as i was somewhat out of it last night.

Do you play for Essendon?

Sigmund
25 May 2008, 14:36
Do you play for Essendon?

Gold:thumbsu: