View Full Version : Umpires today totally disgusting
palmer2farmer
24 May 2008, 18:42
One of the worst displays I have seen. Wouldnt have changed the results as the three umpires wouldnt have allowed it however anyone know what the final free kick count was?:mad:
vanders
24 May 2008, 18:45
The umpires absolutely raped you guys today!
DockerLand1
24 May 2008, 18:56
What was even worse was some of the decisions that were not given.
I may be a Fremantle Member but now I have to think that the umpires did not want us to win the game. Pavlich Mark (Knocked out of his hands) to Tarrant (Holding the ball) in the last quater should have told us that the umpires never intended us to win that game.
A ____ING DISGRACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Sman-21
24 May 2008, 18:58
dontr forget all the throws an dropping the balls that carlton players got away with.
Bradesmaen
24 May 2008, 18:59
Meh, Umps or not, we didnt deserve to win. We need to stop blaming them.
nezasaur
24 May 2008, 19:03
21 - 15 Carlton's way
There's no question we didn't deserve to win, it is just really frustrating as a supporter having to endure it. The main thing that annoyed me today was how long Carlton players had to dispose of the ball in a tackle, while Freo players were murdered for it.
ImperialPurple
24 May 2008, 19:04
True. We were outplayed, and we shouldn't blame the umpires for the loss.
But FFS - it would be nice to at least have an even-money shot at winning or losing on our own merits (or lack of), rather than having them give the other side a helping hand every ____ing week. :mad:
TurboHead
24 May 2008, 19:30
Watched the game from 1/2 time on.... and that 1/2 would have to have been the most one sided umpiring I have ever seen.
While, somehow, I wanted both teams to lose.... a meteor would have done the job.... I couldn't believe the umps and kept looking for signs of a blue jumper under their red.
Carlton players getting frees for being held.... WHILE THEY HAD THE BALL!!! At least 2 50m penalties that should have gone to freo.... numerous high tackles that didn't get paid..... Palmers touched ball that was called a goal.... Pavs mark - ok, maybe it was a mark maybe it wasn't but there was NO WAY Taz should have been called holding the ball...., same with pushes or hands in the back.
Blew me away.
They really need to send a "highlights rel" of the last 3 years. The start of this butt raping coincided with Connolly declaring that Freo where gonna be hard at the ball, yada,yada,yada in 2005.
To this day we always get bent over on the field and in the kangaroo court.
But we are also carp.:thumbsd:
arfadunger
24 May 2008, 19:43
I get sick of hearing comments and posts saying that poor umpiring doesn't effect the result, and I'm not being specific to this thread or this game. Of course it can effect the result. Frees not paid (or soft frees paid) in crucial parts of the game. There's the home team rule, and there's also the bottom of the ladder team rule.
The home team rule is the umpires take the soft option and pay easy free kicks to the home team, and ignore the same free kick to the opposition. Also the home team rule has a large impact on where on the ground those frees are paid.
The bottom of the ladder team rule is the opposite to the home team rule where it doesn't matter that free kicks don't get paid to the bottom teams as they're only bottom teams.
The problem with these rules is that the teams who are negatively effected lose confidence in their attack on the man and ball and the nature of the way they play the game is effected. The team that is advantaged confidence sky rockets because they know that they can do what they like, without getting pinged.
Often free kicks might get evened up later in the game to make the stats look relatively even, but they are rarely paid in a postion where damage can be done to the opposing team.
Funny how the losing team is normally the one short changed by the umpires, "but it doesn't efect the result" - like hell.
footyfix
24 May 2008, 19:51
It's not going to change even though you would think the AFL would have slightly more regard for 43,000 members. When I cant stand it anymore I will not walk away from Freo I will walk away from AFL and I don't think I"m alone in this. Mark Harvey should not even bothering taking Geishens call. It's a farce.
Cameron_K
24 May 2008, 19:56
I swear to god, Farmer could be punched in the face by the opposition and somehow manage to have the free called against him.
Belnakor
24 May 2008, 19:59
my personal favourite was when the defender pushes Pav SQUARE in the back, right infront of the umps, and the commentators go "so and so just pushes Pav out of the way" - yeah, right in the back.
Avid_Avenger
24 May 2008, 20:03
I get sick of hearing comments and posts saying that poor umpiring doesn't effect the result, and I'm not being specific to this thread or this game. Of course it can effect the result. Frees not paid (or soft frees paid) in crucial parts of the game. There's the home team rule, and there's also the bottom of the ladder team rule.
The home team rule is the umpires take the soft option and pay easy free kicks to the home team, and ignore the same free kick to the opposition. Also the home team rule has a large impact on where on the ground those frees are paid.
The bottom of the ladder team rule is the opposite to the home team rule where it doesn't matter that free kicks don't get paid to the bottom teams as they're only bottom teams.
The problem with these rules is that the teams who are negatively effected lose confidence in their attack on the man and ball and the nature of the way they play the game is effected. The team that is advantaged confidence sky rockets because they know that they can do what they like, without getting pinged.
Often free kicks might get evened up later in the game to make the stats look relatively even, but they are rarely paid in a postion where damage can be done to the opposing team.
Funny how the losing team is normally the one short changed by the umpires, "but it doesn't efect the result" - like hell.
Great post from an outsider :thumbsu:
Anyone who thinks bad umpiring or biased umpiring can't affect a result has never played footy.
Today was the most disgraceful display of umpiring Ive ever witnessed and there's been too many to count with regards to Freo games.
We're not blaming the umps for the loss but Carlton kicked at least 5 goals directly from free kicks or marks that weren't marks or frees that should have been paid to us and weren't, and that's not including the shots on goal they kicked points with.
It's called momentum. Whenever we're in control of the game some stupid free kick keeps the opposition in it or turns the momentum the other way.
By the way, Pav's poster didn't help either.
You guys were very unlucky at times today.
I spoke to a WAFL umpire who said that Freo dont have a great name in regards to playing for frees. I think you do play for frees more than most but that shouldnt allow for some of the obvious ones missed today.
Chopsticks
24 May 2008, 20:12
I swear to god, Farmer could be punched in the face by the opposition and somehow manage to have the free called against him.
The last ten seconds sums up the umps opinion of Our Jeffrey.
the umpires literally ____ed up the game today. ive never seen so much biased umpiring in my life. was disgusting and this is from a neutral.
pinkus maximus
24 May 2008, 20:33
i dont think i have ever whinged about umpiring, but today was just too much
it just looked like blatant cheating to me
even the commentators where lost for words at times
Chops_a_must
24 May 2008, 21:05
I thought i'd seen worse, but maybe I'm so desensitised to it being a freo fan?
The views of the WCE fans are very interesting...
And you know it's bad when the commentators are seemingly barracking for your free kicks and are bewildered.
Yep - the dockers copped the fecal end of the stick from the umps today for sure.
I reckon the umps subconsciously (and sometimes not so subconsciously) have different levels of respect for different teams. With a 50-50 call they'll call towards the side they expect to win the contest.
In the NBA they called it the 'Magic Johnson phenomenon' where highly respected players would win more 50-50 calls from the refs - this has been clearly demonstrated.
The umps don't respect Freo, it's obvious.
no doubt at all carlton got all the favours. there's one rule for judd and another for blokes like farmer...its blatant discrimination which shouldn't happen.
NiGHTFuRY
25 May 2008, 01:08
Watched the game from 1/2 time on.... and that 1/2 would have to have been the most one sided umpiring I have ever seen.
While, somehow, I wanted both teams to lose.... a meteor would have done the job.... I couldn't believe the umps and kept looking for signs of a blue jumper under their red.
Carlton players getting frees for being held.... WHILE THEY HAD THE BALL!!! At least 2 50m penalties that should have gone to freo.... numerous high tackles that didn't get paid..... Palmers touched ball that was called a goal.... Pavs mark - ok, maybe it was a mark maybe it wasn't but there was NO WAY Taz should have been called holding the ball...., same with pushes or hands in the back.
Blew me away.
Yeah - that one had me scratching my head. ____ing ludicrous
____ing dumbshit maggots... bunch of stupid _____ at times..
Shaymuhz
25 May 2008, 01:13
no doubt at all carlton got all the favours. there's one rule for judd and another for blokes like farmer...its blatant discrimination which shouldn't happen.
spot on
You Guy's were screwed by the umpires last week as well. Just not right.
blueheart
25 May 2008, 02:35
Yep it was the umpires:rolleyes:
They made Pav miss from 25m in front:rolleyes:
They made sure Freo didn't lay a tackle in the last 14 minutes:rolleyes:
The thing is the Blues had 9, yes 9 more scoring shots and won by only nine points without Judd & Fev having any major contribution:thumbsd:
You guys no doubt have some talent, but it aint the umpires to blame for you sitting 1-8 on the ladder:o
Avid_Avenger
25 May 2008, 04:02
The thing is the Blues had 9, yes 9 more scoring shots and won by only nine points without Judd & Fev having any major contribution:thumbsd:
You guys no doubt have some talent, but it aint the umpires to blame for you sitting 1-8 on the ladder:o
We're not saying it is.
We're just saying it stinks.
If it happened to your team 18 games out of 22 you'd be pissed off too and that was the lowest of the low today.
Yes you had 9 more scoring shots, and yes, we weren't playing at 100% effectiveness but those two things are directly impacted by bad umpiring which was witnessed in abundance today - and practically all the ludicrous decisions in favour of the Blues...
You won by 9 points. You wouldn't have won without help from the idiots with the whistles.
kiroshi
25 May 2008, 04:08
the umpires ripped us off at certain times alright, good to see even coasters say so.
kranger
25 May 2008, 04:11
i personally have just given up on the umpires, every week we get screwd, now i just don't even notice bad calls or no calls i am just totally obliviant to it and i think a lot of you guys might need to try and learn to ignore it, because freo have one of the worsre reputations and nothing is gonna change anytime soon.
freocynic
25 May 2008, 04:16
I think if there was ever to be match fixing in AFL that a Freo game would be the prime target for it. It seems the umps can get away with anything they want with us.
Yes i thought i had seen worse as well, but when the commentators who are all neutral are lost for words, you know its pretty bad. :thumbsd:
Where is Rick Hart / Cameron Schwab to ask the umps for a ruling on some of the decisions. What, if anything, are these guys doing in regards to the crap umpiring decisions we get? I mentioned in another thread that Eddie McGuire actually asked the AFL for some rule clarifications last year when the pies lost a close one to the saints, and he got an admission that the umps made a mistake. No four points, but at least they admitted it. Might have made the umps think twice about erring against Collingwood too. And Ports Mark Williams had the balls to challenge the AFL tribunal, why don't these guys challenge the umpires board???
edgehead47
25 May 2008, 04:26
you are an idiot no one is saying they are
Freo1995
25 May 2008, 10:34
The umps seem to have selective eyesight against us at crucial times when the game is on the line.
Or is it just a coincidence??
The players lost the game not the umpires or the coaches or the supporters or anyone else just the players and if they had have played like they wanted to win they wouldn't have lost and this topic wouldn't be on here.
We had our chances all right , not as many chances as we should have , but we had our chances.
DCFCFAN84
25 May 2008, 11:31
So true. Players and coaches need to start taking the blame no doubt the umpiring sucked but come on the excuse gets old real quick.
Saw the Farmer one at the end...what a blind git
Freo Shark
25 May 2008, 12:20
We gave the umps the opportunity to make themselves relevant.
Harvs said he had talked to Geishen earlier about Farmer. But I would have thought its time to instill abit of accountability amongst the umpires and make a public comment and publically highlight the rubbish. Stuff the fine, make the umpires less inclined to make the rubbish decisions less its highlighted.
Freo just take the shit and dont play hardball, thats why they are viewed as wimps and not respected.
Il Naso De Gastev
25 May 2008, 12:32
The ridiculous nature of the way the rules are interpreted promote controversial decisions. While you guys might think you got a raw deal, blokes like Pavlich, Farmer, Grover etc going to ground at the slightest amount of contact doesn't do your team any favours. The free Pavlich got at the start of the match... what was that for?? The two players were bumping each other prior, all of a sudden one falls to the ground with no more contact than previous... the fact that the umps are sucked in by a bloke falling over is a disgrace. Farmer, Grover trying to do the same... surely for the betterment of football, and keeping it as far from that cheating, sham of a sport they call soccer as possible, they've gotta stop trying to play for free kicks. I wish the umps would simply pay a free kick if an infringement is blatantly obvious, and directly impedes an opponents play on the ball.... get rid of all these trivial, nonsense, pissweak free kicks and let the players play FFS!!
CarltonFan
25 May 2008, 12:42
Dive by Pavlich before the opening bounce = Freo Goal
Dive by Farmer 5m directly infornt in the 2Q = Freo Goal
Are you seriously trying to point out a couple of decisions in the last and implying you got the raw deal from the umps? cmon!
We dominated the game, and if we kicked straight the game would have been over at half time. end of.
NiGHTFuRY
25 May 2008, 12:55
aahhh
a holding the man decision against us when the player has the ball...
WTF
ImperialPurple
25 May 2008, 12:57
aahhh
a holding the man decision against us when the player has the ball...
WTF
You know they like to invent new ways to give Chris Judd free kicks. :thumbsd:
spEKTre
25 May 2008, 13:40
You would have to be a blind moron to not see the ump's stiff Freo on a regular basis, every week you could make a bloopers tape on the decisions made on them.
Now although its unfair and not right I have to say since the Dockers come into the competition the Eagles are left alone as they were no doubt in my mind treated in a similar manner.
Bring on Gold Coast so they can cop the crap I say.
The free kick to Pav before the bounce was soft. But it was VERY MUCH CONSISTENT with the free kick that Dodd supposedly gave away last week that cost us a goal...
As I see it, the problem with the officiating is that the umpires are umpiring the 44 players, when they should actually be umpiring just the 2 teams.
They should see only 2 jumpers out there and officiate according to whatever rules they're interpreting this week and judge each case on it's merits.
It infuriates me to see some players singled out for frees for/against based on their supposed character, rather than on the actual infringement.
This all comes back to Geishen's admission that they umpire "ball players" differently to other types of player. Ridiculous.:thumbsd:
All this nickname using, pat on the arse style of these umps is wrong. The familiarity and supposed friendliness that this brings, just gives cause for bias. Or at the very least, the perception of bias. Rugby does it much much better.
kimmiejs
25 May 2008, 16:07
We all know there is a problem with the umpiring but we need to move past this. The guys just have to play better footy that way these crappy calls by the umpires will not result in us loosing another game.
Il Naso De Gastev
25 May 2008, 16:32
The free kick to Pav before the bounce was soft. But it was VERY MUCH CONSISTENT with the free kick that Dodd supposedly gave away last week that cost us a goal...
Two wrongs don't make a right. For the good of the game these should never be payed. Continually paying these frees, and Franklin got one in the game today against the Dees, will encourage cheating and increase the frustration level for all fans... turning the game more into soccer which is rife with cheating.
Look the bpttom line is that our players need to win the game and keep the maggots out of the equation.
It is well known that some players get more favoured by the maggots. I have seen Richo and Farmer de-capitated many times, play on is all I hear, but I've regularly seen Saint Nic and Judd swung 720 in tackles and then be told the ball was held in !!!. Accept it, that is the maggots way.
As said earlier, I like the Rugby Union appoach, Pav is 29 Purple, Judd is 5 Blue. Everyone is equal and all the Refs look at is the jumper colour and number. In AFL if the maggot calls you by your nickname, are you allowed to call him by his ?, Shorty or Runt !!!!!!!.
Love to see Harvey at his press conference this week do a re-enactment of contentious decisions. I can see the press, being a bit wary.
Two wrongs don't make a right. For the good of the game these should never be payed. Continually paying these frees, and Franklin got one in the game today against the Dees, will encourage cheating and increase the frustration level for all fans... turning the game more into soccer which is rife with cheating.
I agree, these push and shove free kicks are stupid. Only pay these frees off the ball if the player is having his body rammed into the ground repeatedly. Otherwise the umps should just tell them to get back up and play the ball.
Dyslexic Emo
26 May 2008, 09:09
Stand up Freo, FFS, just ask WTF is going on. It's been going on for TOO BLODDY LONG!!!!
as for the neutral commentator comment HA!!!, could it have been any more biast with that nerd huddo? commentating. bloody wanker:thumbsd: might as well chucked in basil as walls to make it the unholy trinity