View Full Version : Should memories and GentlemanJeff be banned permanently??
Creative and heated discussion is one thing.
Well constructed criticism and in depth analysis are great as well
Incessant negative trolling, and I do mean trolling, is another.
In my opinion it is the supporter base that should decide the fate of these two posters.
DockerNJL
24 May 2008, 18:59
No doubt. :thumbsu:
That is all.
Freo Shark
24 May 2008, 19:03
Oxygen thieves, ban the ____ers!!
peppy la pew
24 May 2008, 19:03
When you start rooting for the opposition , I think it is time to pull up stumps.
I enjoy a piss take as much as the next bloke, but seiously, these clowns go out of their way to antagonise.
Use the big stick I say :thumbsu:
sumavich
24 May 2008, 19:07
Its called freedom of speech, and the internet is the place for it !!
If you buggers ban them I'll be next.
Witch Hunt anyone !!! Start with Cameron Schwab !!!!!!
estibador
24 May 2008, 19:08
Memories probably deserves to have the rest of the year off.
He's already thrown in the towel for the year so he doesn't deserve to be part of it.
Yeah I'm going to have to go with democracy and free speech on this one.
If you don't like what people write, don't give them oxygen. Don't post in their threads no matter what. Simple as that.
Bradesmaen
24 May 2008, 19:13
add sumavich in there and is !!! god that annoys me.
I honestly don't think they are trolls - they just have a different viewpoint on the world and a shytenhousen way of debating.
Bradesmaen
24 May 2008, 19:14
I honestly don't think they are trolls - they just have a different viewpoint on the world and a shytenhousen way of debating.
REad their posts more carefully. It spreads through like 3 different threads. Take today for example. GJ posted the mundy dogging in three different threads, just to get attention on it. Why would you do that? Make a point of it in one thread. He is trying to whiteant all the supporters.
LOL, is this the George W Bush method for moderating a board... either you are with us or against us.
ImperialPurple
24 May 2008, 19:18
It would certainly give me enormous pleasure to have these two monumental tossers gone, but.... while I do not respect them, nor do I respect their views or opinions one iota... I respect their right to have their views and opinions, and to post them.
uuurrggghhh... I feel dirty. :o
However... this is a forum for Freo supporters - and I question whether either of them actually are Freo supporters. I believe that they are nothing but a pair of negative, vitriolic, antagonistic trolls.... :thumbsd:- but how can we know for sure?
If we could determine that I'd vote yes in a heartbeat. Right now - I choose to abstain. ;)
How either of them can call themselves Freo supporters defies belief.
If they had "unlisted" or another club listed under their names and came here posting that shit they would have been banned ages ago.
I do not understand how the mods have not been able to see through their guise.
estibador
24 May 2008, 19:26
When Memories does come back can we please have a 'Memories Tanking Thread' so we don't have to put up with him starting a new one every week?
He can just post his crap in there every day without flooding the board with the same repetitive threads over and over.
chook2734
24 May 2008, 19:29
When Memories does come back can we please have a 'Memories Tanking Thread' so we don't have to put up with him starting a new one every week?
He can just post his crap in there every day without flooding the board with the same repetitive threads.
Can he just have his own tanking board, then we don't have to see it at all :thumbsd:
The 'ignore list' option is only useful to a small extent, but when 'supporters' like these two continually start threads (what was the one from GJ that Rip deleted almost instantly - 'Is Pav a choker' or some other rubbish) that are utterly ridiculous and belong in Bay 13, they still pollute your screen.
sumavich
24 May 2008, 19:31
add sumavich in there and is !!! god that annoys me.
You'd be a witch hunt specialist I bet. The issue is that people have had a gutful of idiots running the Freo footy club, and being unanswerable to anyone re: Schwab. People get pissed off, and rightly so.
If you don't like it, don't read it.
I've got to stick with free speach, so I voted no.
But if anyone proves they're bona fide trolls and don't actually support Freo, then I'd be all for banning them in an instant.:thumbsu:
We all come here for robust debate and the place would probably be a little less exciting/interesting without differing views.
Freo Shark
24 May 2008, 20:33
If this forum is to work you need to respect each other. Neither of these posters do that but inflame the place. That needs to be the basis upon which this place operates.
I honestly do respect the opinion of everyone who has voted "NO" on the basis of free speech.:)
However, I would ask whether the interpretation of free speech goes as far as to letting obvious and blatant trolling of our board.
Obviously, there is no way of proving the bona fides of the posters in question. But I would invite everyone to research the history of these posters and to draw their own conclusions as to whether they are really Fremantle supporters, or just sick people who get their kicks out of inflaming a supporter group.
Belnakor
24 May 2008, 20:52
harden the ____ up - if you dont' like it, don't read it.
Chops_a_must
24 May 2008, 20:54
Obviously, there is no way of proving the bona fides of the posters in question. But I would invite everyone to research the history of these posters and to draw their own conclusions as to whether they are really Fremantle supporters, or just sick people who get their kicks out of inflaming a supporter group.
It's pretty obvious that given Memories uses "status" and supposed earning capacity in public displays, as a measure of opinionated worth, that he is an eagles supporter. :thumbsu:
Your bias in regards to one these posters, in particular, is reknowned.
Some might say that you were one and the same.
Sadly that bias seems to cloud your judgement on the validity of their support for our club.
It simply isn't a matter of hardening the ____ up at all.
The guts of this, is whether they are actually Fremantle supporters at all.
I think not.
fat wombat
24 May 2008, 21:16
What's the point in banning a troll? They will just create a new account and troll on. It's better to just moderate the trolls we have.
I take your point fw.
But surely isn't it also a moderators role to monitor new accounts IP addresses to see if we have an alias/recently banned poster on our hands?
dockers_bengals
24 May 2008, 23:20
I do agree they have been annoying lately.
Just ignore the two or three of them
Brown Bottle
25 May 2008, 00:27
Ban their arses! I've got more claim to being a Freo supporter than either of them. Let them go somewhere else to bleat.
bigkev bleeds purple
25 May 2008, 01:11
Ban their arses! I've got more claim to being a Freo supporter than either of them. Let them go somewhere else to bleat.
It looks like you're stuck with Jeff regardless, being his neighbour and all ;)
I voted yes. Both posters stick the boot into the club when it's not needed, when it's not warranted and when it's not wanted. The majority of people on this board don't want to read their crap so to hell with the politics, f*ck 'em off.
freocynic
25 May 2008, 05:16
Maybe I dont understand trolling but why would someone watch and comment on BF about most if not all Freo games if they dont support them? Jeez i couldn't be bothered commenting on another clubs board with any sort of regularity.
These guys say some outrageous and stupid things at times, but differing views on the game is why i come here. And its usually a sort of therapy after a loss - i am not here anywhere near as much after a win. Maybe its the same for Memories and GJ, although they are just more negative about things.
I voted NO to banning them. Its a bit precious and it sounds like dockerland
Creative and heated discussion is one thing.
Well constructed criticism and in depth analysis are great as well
Incessant negative trolling, and I do mean trolling, is another.
In my opinion it is the supporter base that should decide the fate of these two posters.
SOOK!!
SOOK!!
Thanks for that.
And who do you barrack for again?:rolleyes:
Maybe I dont understand trolling but why would someone watch and comment on BF about most if not all Freo games if they dont support them? Jeez i couldn't be bothered commenting on another clubs board with any sort of regularity.
These guys say some outrageous and stupid things at times, but differing views on the game is why i come here. And its usually a sort of therapy after a loss - i am not here anywhere near as much after a win. Maybe its the same for Memories and GJ, although they are just more negative about things.
I voted NO to banning them. Its a bit precious and it sounds like dockerland
I take your point, and to make BF like Dockerland is the furthest thing from my mind.
However, I am struggling to find ANY positive comment about our club from the two posters in question. That, to me at least, shows that they are only here to wind up the supporter group for their own enjoyment.
I would also point out that the current poll is somewhat skewed as a few posters from outside clubs, who have little love for me, have voted in the negative. Even though they have hardly, if ever, posted on our board.
Billy Hunt
25 May 2008, 15:52
Who's next on the hit list???
I loathe the yuppie so I guess it could be me.
Who's next on the hit list???
I loathe the yuppie so I guess it could be me.
Ok Billy, I'll bite.
Who's the yuppie??
And it's not a hit list at all.
All I am doing is asking for the opinion of the board.
If they say no, then so be it.
I haven't even contacted the mods to get their reaction.
*EDIT* I have been informed that the yuppie is Schwab.....
Billy, you don't relentlessly troll him, you just express an opinion, so I personally have no problem.
Stronzo
25 May 2008, 21:01
"The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he did not exist"
Ban them, there is enough diversity of opinion here without them.
Dyslexic Emo
26 May 2008, 08:51
Your an idiot. Think about what you just said.
While I am normally an exponent of freedom of speech, I have seen enough message forums descend into chaos for the want of banning a handful of trolls. Notice how calm and on topic the forum has been in the past 24 hours? There's a reason for that. ;)
Having said that, you can't just ban someone without giving them warnings. You would have to start with shorter bans, for specific violations, and then up the penalty on subsequent occasions. In general, I like the hands off approach taken by Ripper and sabre, but there does come a time when intervention may be necessary.
But let's not go down the Dockerland path, where either you're part of the clique, or your posts get deleted. :thumbsd:
At times they both s**t me to tears bit I don't think we should go down the road of banning posters. I guess if they consistently aggravate you then we dont have to enter threads started by either poster. If they try to sidetrack a thread from another poster the mods should card them and this should apply to every poster. If nobody bothers to enter their threads then maybe they'll get bored and leave anyway.
Your a top contributor to this board Bushie bit I had to vote No on this one.:thumbsu:
NiGHTFuRY
27 May 2008, 14:58
neck and neck....
Ogrebait
29 May 2008, 02:46
Interesting thread.
I can see your point bushie but I'd have to agree with what IP, esti, Nodgey, fat wombat, freocynic and Jetau have written. (I know some of these posts are contradictory.)
Stronzo, I think you're giving them too much credit.
I think Memories and GJ are Fremantle supporters but just negative personalities and this is reflected in their posts.
I'm sure this is being done but how can we help the mods? There is plenty of stuff posted on this board that fly in the face of The Ten Commandments of BigFooty (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/faq.php?faq=vb_faq#faq_forum_rules). (#'s 1, 3 & 9 in particular.) Do we really have to report a post that contradicts these? I'm not really interested to tell you the truth and I'm sure the mods have things they'd rather be doing than policing this board.
I come here to read a variety of different opinions on my team and I'm grateful when these opinions are well thought out and presented in an intelligent, structured argument. I'm not interested in constantly derailed threads, abuse and belittlement (of players and supporters alike), flaming, baiting and general idiocy.
Having said that, you can't just ban someone without giving them warnings. You would have to start with shorter bans, for specific violations, and then up the penalty on subsequent occasions. In general, I like the hands off approach taken by Ripper and sabre, but there does come a time when intervention may be necessary.
I have no doubt this is happening and I am very grateful for the thankless work the mods do but our board is still cluttered with posts that are in obvious breach of the Fremantle Board Rules (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=321808).
You must at all times treat the posters of this Board with respect and refer to the Fremantle Football Club and it's supporters with respect while visiting this Board.
I think the onus is on each poster to follow this rule and let the mods 'take care' of those who don't.
If Memories or GJ cannot (or will not) abide by this rule then let them suffer the consequence of their actions.
i voted no; same as last time we had a similar poll
like a lot of others i don;t like to think we would be banning opinions ala DL
one option if possible -( mods would know) is whether certain posters can be banned from starting threads -so stopping some of the inflammatory headlines
but otherwise as so many have said try and ignore their posts & don't bite
Give them 1 more chance and tell them to pull their heads in. When GJ fells like it he's a decent poster IMO.
estibador
29 May 2008, 18:17
So is Memories. He's quite entertaining when he's not crapping on about wanting Freo to lose.
So is Memories still banned?
Dr Ralph Dagg
29 May 2008, 20:31
I'm taking the middle ground and not voting. I'm all for free speech but where in the continuum does free speech end, and abuse and insanity begin.
I think GJ is a troll in the sense that he deliberately posts to get attention and not make a contribution. I think he has a Cluster B personality disorder. I put up a poll last year asking whether he was a troll because PD's tend not to have any awareness of their behaviour and its effect on others unless you hit them with a sledgehammer. I wanted the poll to be the sledgehammer.
Like a typical PD, however, even then they blame the other person -- as you would if you didn't have any awareness.
How I deal with it now is just not give him any air by responding when he goes off. I just ignore his posts in the same way you tend to ignore kid's tantrums.
As for Memories, he's harder to nail down. I find he's easier to take because he's not deliberately seeking attention or being disruptive. He's just perverse and I'm not sure that requires banning.
Again, I reckon you don't respond to those kinds of posts. You think carlton will win. Oh that's nice. Lets move along.
NiGHTFuRY
29 May 2008, 20:53
I had to research as I was curious...
cluster B personality disorder (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personality_disorder)
:p many thanks Dr.
I had to research as I was curious...
cluster B personality disorder (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Personality_disorder)
:p many thanks Dr.
And you, in turn, saved me from the research.
Cheers NF:thumbsu:
Memories
4 Jun 2008, 12:52
Didn't even realize I was banned, been away on business for almost 2 weeks now. But yeah, was thinking >90% would want me and GF banned... weird. Thanks for the support whoever voted no, even if it wasn't for me directly but "semi" free speech support.
Belnakor
4 Jun 2008, 13:10
I'm taking the middle ground and not voting. I'm all for free speech but where in the continuum does free speech end, and abuse and insanity begin.
I think GJ is a troll in the sense that he deliberately posts to get attention and not make a contribution. I think he has a Cluster B personality disorder. I put up a poll last year asking whether he was a troll because PD's tend not to have any awareness of their behaviour and its effect on others unless you hit them with a sledgehammer. I wanted the poll to be the sledgehammer.
Like a typical PD, however, even then they blame the other person -- as you would if you didn't have any awareness.
You have just clearly illustrated what is wrong with the mental health profession in Australia. You make logical leaps based on incorrect assumptions. You assume that GJ doesn't know he is being a pain. You assume he is blaming other people in a realistic manner, and not to get a rise out of you.
So are you admitting GJ is a troll belnakor?
Belnakor
4 Jun 2008, 13:36
GJ has insight to provide. What i'm saying is that Ralph is making ridicilous assumptions based on one or two posts he disagreed with.
GJ does have insight to provide, but it is almost always posed in a provocative way.
Anyway this topic is stale, lets just hope we can have constructive posting from everyone and not stirring the pot BS. We cop enough of that from the opposition as it is.
Didn't even realize I was banned, been away on business for almost 2 weeks now. But yeah, was thinking >90% would want me and GF banned... weird. Thanks for the support whoever voted no, even if it wasn't for me directly but "semi" free speech support.
I voted no ...I can't wait to see your posts next season when we take Max Wilson off the scholarship list.
docker_azza
4 Jun 2008, 15:12
I voted yes on the poll, but now I am thinking No. GJ has posted some good stuff of late, and even that aside he still provides interesting insight be it opinions that I agree with wholeheartedly or opinions that are rubbish.
BTW He is nothing compared to two posters on here logging on with negative usernames hanging shit on the club.
Cameron_K
4 Jun 2008, 15:42
I couldn't vote in something like this.
Until either break the rules to warrant a ban I don't see how it can even be discussed :confused:
Pav for AA
4 Jun 2008, 15:42
I think everyone bar me and those I choose to survive should be banned. :thumbsu:
No one has been banned permanently.
There is way to discuss things with out posting to cause a reaction and that is what will be scrutinised heavily.
Both have had and I hope will continue to have good input at times.
Any sign (however innocuous) that people are baiting the other posters will be carded straight away.
Cheers.