View Full Version : Grigg or Jetta??

Kooley
24 May 2008, 22:48
Early days i know but Grigg has been very soild this year. He has great size and he'll eventually move into the midfield where he will become a super player for us.

Mike_blues
24 May 2008, 22:49
grigg by the size of my penis

EddieBettsIsAChamp
24 May 2008, 22:50
Jesus, I thought there was a gap between the two!:p

I think what you mean to say is "Grigg by far at this point and time." I shall second that.

JavaBlue
24 May 2008, 22:52

I agree - a very close call.

celtic_pride
24 May 2008, 22:59
I agree Grigga is a great talent, and I'm a bit puzzled why a few posters here actually bag him and don't think he can kick, played a good solid game today ..

It's great to see with him rising through the ranks, that our depth is improving, and that we have far less 'passengers' in our list then we did, even a year or two ago under Deni$

Blue Dawn
24 May 2008, 22:59

Talk about asking for it. :o

Grigg played his best game today for Carlton, reminds me a bit of Bower in some ways. :thumbsu:

chelseacarlton
24 May 2008, 23:05
grigg was great today
very composed, something he has lacked thus far
always had a good look before laying off
starting to think a bit more about his options
confidence is a great thing
who the f$#@@#k is jetta ?????

Mike_blues
24 May 2008, 23:15
lol at replys
then hes a country mile in front of jetta

The Cranium
24 May 2008, 23:24

http://www.royal.gov.uk/files/gallery/Fullsize/2006523153937_MTnew_household_philatelic_galleryvii.jpg

blues4flag
24 May 2008, 23:27
Looks to have taken the next step in the last couple of weeks. :thumbsu: Before that, he clearly looked overwhelmed and unsure of himself in the world of AFL footy, but looks now to be gaining confidence and composure (as has Russell, for that matter).

HBF
24 May 2008, 23:44
Early days i know but Grigg has been very soild this year. He has great size and he'll eventually move into the midfield where he will become a super player for us.

Handballs alot, but is slowly but surely finding his feet at AFL level. Give him another 12 months, and I reckon he'll be a pretty good player for the Carlton Footy Club.

bluegal1983
24 May 2008, 23:59
Looks to have settled now and is starting to get used to the pace of the game. Big body, good disposal and is pretty athletic. Should have a good career with us :thumbsu:

Doza
25 May 2008, 00:19
Another good game from Grigg today. Especially in the last quarter

Dustyjackman
25 May 2008, 01:04
Talk about asking for it. :o

Grigg played his best game today for Carlton, reminds me a bit of Bower in some ways. :thumbsu:

Seems the commentators agree with you on the Grigg - Bower thing, as they are forever getting the two of them mixed up when calling the game.

XXX KINGS
25 May 2008, 01:30
Seems the commentators agree with you on the Grigg - Bower thing, as they are forever getting the two of them mixed up when calling the game.

It doesn't help that they are numbered 16 and 18 and have the same coloured hair and are similar heights and have similar body types and have similar running styles :eek:

thylacine60
25 May 2008, 01:35

Me too, how embarrassment. Sick of people looking at me sadly after I've screamed out the wrong name again. :o

Dustyjackman
25 May 2008, 01:38
It doesn't help that they are numbered 16 and 18 and have the same coloured hair and are similar heights and have similar body types and have similar running styles :eek:
That's right.

I reckon Grigg should get a tattoo on his right arm to make it easier for all to tell them apart.;)

XXX KINGS
25 May 2008, 01:38
16 = 18

Team Mo'
25 May 2008, 01:41
lol at replys
then hes a country mile in front of jetta
feck!

Is it uncomfortable???:eek:

blues4flag
25 May 2008, 01:45
Me too, how embarrassment. Sick of people looking at me sadly after I've screamed out the wrong name again. :o

Try mixing up Murphy with Edwards...:o

Pred_ator
25 May 2008, 01:46

Everyones toey tonight...........Grigg, gets more of the ball, quick for 190cm and is consistantly improving every game. When he bulks up he could become a pack breaking mid.

Big Delut
25 May 2008, 02:07
I must admit I wasn't too convinced with Grigg but the last 2 games he has really impressed me.

thylacine60
25 May 2008, 02:12
Try mixing up Murphy with Edwards...:o

What are ya, blind? :rolleyes:

blues4flag
25 May 2008, 02:22
What are ya, blind? :rolleyes:

Very kind, thanks for noticing.

Barry Zuckercorn QC
25 May 2008, 02:24
Jetta applied a very good tackle tonight...

Murph_The_Smurf
25 May 2008, 11:42

Just 1 ?

parrot
25 May 2008, 11:48
Grigg is progressing much better than Jetta at this stage. A lot has to do with the development environment. Under Ratten the Blues are actually developing a good gameplan, and he's giving our young players responsibility, clearly defined roles, and some latitude to back themselves even if they stuff up on occasions. Essendon, by contrast, are an imploding, directionless rabble in this post-Sheeds era. Their problems were compounded by weak decisions at board level, the appointment of a left-overs coach, and avoidance of the tough list management decisions that needed to be made. They're now paying the price big time. Hardly a great environment for a player like Jetta to develop. :)

HBF
25 May 2008, 11:53
I must admit I wasn't too convinced with Grigg but the last 2 games he has really impressed me.

Grigg will be a good player - he's just picking up the pace of the game now. Give him some more senior experience, another pre-season, and some more work with Bradley and co., and who knows where he might be next year.

Bomba Sheldon
25 May 2008, 12:02
Grigg or Jetta - not sure if this means did we have a choice in the darft of Jetta before Grigg, we did but chose Hampson then the Bombers went Jetta and we then chose Grigg.

If the question is who is better its way too early to make a truly informed decision other than saying that l am happy with Griggs progress. He is starting to gain more confidence with extra game time he still looks a little indecisive in that he feels he needs to handball off to his team-mates such as Carrazzo. I would prefer he was getting the handball receives from the turnover king instead. l hope he gets the occassional run up forward as we selected him as a goalkicking flanker to be part of his apprenticeship under Ratts. :thumbsu:

AlecDuncan
25 May 2008, 12:58
Another reason for Bower to grow the fro.

celtic_pride
25 May 2008, 12:58
Meh I'm on the Grigg for a rising star nomination gong this week, but I bet he won't get it ...
He is one of those quiet types that will always fly under the radar i fear ..

Blue Dimension
25 May 2008, 13:29
I know Grigg had a great game yesterday and looks very promising, but i have liked the look of Jetta from day one. So if i had to choose i'd take Jetta

cfc4life
25 May 2008, 14:25
Another reason for Bower to grow the fro.

Exactly, when he first came to Carlton my nickname for him was 'Fuzzy Wuzzy' but now i look like a tard if i call him that. GROW THE FRO, GROW THE FRO!

pumped
25 May 2008, 15:13
Not 100% convinced on Grigg. Shows some good signs but also seems to lack composure at times. Would love to see him turn to his right side more and use his right foot. On the positives has great size and pace and when in his confidence zone has great intensity.

dukester95
25 May 2008, 15:41
As of the end of last round Grigg had more than double the disposals (98 - avg 16.3) of Jetta and both have kicked the one goal. Was great yesterday with 22 disposals at 91% efficiency. Will be a gun once he bulks up. :D

Smyth94
25 May 2008, 20:29
Just a Q:
Does Grigg play any part in your midfield rotations?

IMO Jetta hasn't been the same since he's come back from his hammy - needs to get some confidence in the two's.

whippety boy
26 May 2008, 10:41
Just a Q:
Does Grigg play any part in your midfield rotations?

IMO Jetta hasn't been the same since he's come back from his hammy - needs to get some confidence in the two's.

In our win against the Eagles Grigg was particulary good out of the middle in the last term. He looks to be an onballer in the making.

Gilly1972
26 May 2008, 10:59

Get out, he didn't ;):p

The Grover
26 May 2008, 12:03
Happy with how Grigg is performing, noticed he's prepared to hang onto the ball longer now to find the best option, which is a good sign he's not scared to take a hit if it comes his way.

THEBLOODS85
26 May 2008, 13:08
I must admit I would have said Jetta at the start of the season.

Originally I did not think that Grigg would cut it at this level but..... as I eat humble pie......he has a happy knack of finding the footy (uncontested or contested) which is a huge asset.

All he needs to do is hone up his finishing work, which will hopefully come with experience and we will have a very versatile utility type player.

As for Jetta he looks to have the tricks associated with many indigenous players and will be good for the Bombers.

As for now............Grigg!:thumbsu:

Gilly1972
26 May 2008, 13:12
Let's bump the other Hampson or Jetta thread :thumbsu::D

ericpascoe
26 May 2008, 13:51
Not 100% convinced on Grigg. Shows some good signs but also seems to lack composure at times. .

That would be because he's played 12 games!

Top4_Tiger
26 May 2008, 14:16
Some players have 'class' and other's have 'flair'. Jetta has both of these IMO and Grigg has both of them as well when he's not kicking the ball.

Having said that I have serious doubts over Leroy and I'm glad Richmond didn't pick him up that early.

Grigg.. am I allowed to offer my honest first impression on him? I know you guys can be strict here. When I first saw him he got the ball, spun out of trouble moved liked a great athlete, took a bounce, then turned it right over under no pressure. I thought to myself, wow, but with decision making or skills like that he has a lot of work. Then the commentator said where he went in the draft and I was shocked it was so early. I have seen him a couple of times since and he wasn't too differen to that first game I saw him.

But I am not dumb enough to write off any young player too soon.

Take this opinion for what it is - an outside, neutral opinion based on AFL matches. My opinion is almost certainly far less educated than your own, but sometimes it's just good for a little outside opinion so you can variety, so take it for what it is.

I think Grigg's already shown he will be a player, it's just a matter of how good he will be.

HBF
26 May 2008, 14:17
I know Grigg had a great game yesterday and looks very promising, but i have liked the look of Jetta from day one. So if i had to choose i'd take Jetta

Essendon have used a high pick on a player that is most likely to spend his career as a small forward, whereas Carlton have taken Grigg who can play all over the ground. I know which player i'd prefer.

blues4flag
26 May 2008, 14:57
Some players have 'class' and other's have 'flair'. Jetta has both of these IMO and Grigg has both of them as well when he's not kicking the ball.

Having said that I have serious doubts over Leroy and I'm glad Richmond didn't pick him up that early.

Grigg.. am I allowed to offer my honest first impression on him? I know you guys can be strict here. When I first saw him he got the ball, spun out of trouble moved liked a great athlete, took a bounce, then turned it right over under no pressure. I thought to myself, wow, but with decision making or skills like that he has a lot of work. Then the commentator said where he went in the draft and I was shocked it was so early. I have seen him a couple of times since and he wasn't too differen to that first game I saw him.

But I am not dumb enough to write off any young player too soon.

Take this opinion for what it is - an outside, neutral opinion based on AFL matches. My opinion is almost certainly far less educated than your own, but sometimes it's just good for a little outside opinion so you can variety, so take it for what it is.

I think Grigg's already shown he will be a player, it's just a matter of how good he will be.
No problem with your opinion - I had the same doubts about Grigg. However, his last two games have really seen him step up in terms of confidence and decision making. :thumbsu:

thylacine60
26 May 2008, 15:58
No problem with your opinion - I had the same doubts about Grigg. However, his last two games have really seen him step up in terms of confidence and decision making. :thumbsu:

The significant difference in mindset and consequently performance a couple of wins can provide.

gbatman
26 May 2008, 15:59
Grigg so far, jetta looks like another fast player who can't get the footy, Jetta will get better and needs to be in a better side, Grigg looks a smart player and his game is growing and being fertilised by the confidence he is getting, can't wait until he fills out and gets some meat on him!

Can see him being a Heath Shaw type.

thylacine60
26 May 2008, 16:10
Grigg so far, jetta looks like another fast player who can't get the footy, Jetta will get better and needs to be in a better side, Grigg looks a smart player and his game is growing and being fertilised by the confidence he is getting, can't wait until he fills out and gets some meat on him!

Can see him being a Heath Shaw type.

Off the land? Primary producer possibly, gb?

bomba4eva
26 May 2008, 17:36
Essendon have used a high pick on a player that is most likely to spend his career as a small forward, whereas Carlton have taken Grigg who can play all over the ground. I know which player i'd prefer.
If you are going to make a comment so heavily in your own players favour then at least get it right. Jetta has started off as a small forward with the intention to move him into the midfield rotations once he develops the required engine. Ever since his hamstring injury he hasnt been quite right. Has played poorly and may be dropped to the resreves. Id persevere with him for another week. Has plenty of talent. Played just under a dozen games I believe. Was severely restricted with a groin injury last season.

BLue_Bloys
26 May 2008, 18:14
Way too early to call really, both have looked good in patches. Obviously Jetta has missed a lot of game time with injury.

I'd say Grigg at this stage as he is the more versatile player, and in the last month has stepped up late in the game when under pressure ie. West coast and Fremantle games. :thumbsu:

Top4_Tiger
27 May 2008, 01:03
If you are going to make a comment so heavily in your own players favour then at least get it right.

He did get it right.

Jetta will spend most of his career as a small forward. Maybe not all, but most.

I guess you're mainly upset because of the Tiger Cubs you recently saw in the flesh, I think they gave you a glimpse of what young talent looks like in motion :)

Doza
31 May 2008, 00:42
Geez didn't tonight just show how much further Grigg currently is in front of Jetta. Just shows you that pumping consecutive senior games of football into players like like Grigg, Bower, Browne just improves them so much.

thylacine60
31 May 2008, 00:46
Geez didn't tonight just show how much further Grigg currently is in front of Jetta. Just shows you that pumping consecutive senior games of football into players like like Grigg, Bower, Browne just improves them so much.

Didn't see it. Was Jetta quiet? Imagine he will be a mercurial type.

Doza
31 May 2008, 00:50

Yeah pretty quiet, 8 touches, but also didn't look very good at all with the ball in his hands. But to be fair, still very early in his career.

Just for your info, Lloyd, Lucas and Ryder also had only 8 touches each and no influence on the game. Adelaide senior players in Goodwin, Thompson, Burton, Bock and Edwards lifted them to victory.

mediumsizered
31 May 2008, 00:50

8 disposals & kicked one behind. Just a little bit too one-dimensional at this stage. As Essendon have found out, after much promise in the early part of the season, having players with pace is only part of the equation. No point having a team of Matt Shirvingtons, Patrick Johnsons or Josh Ross' if they don't get near the ball often enough.

thylacine60
31 May 2008, 00:56
Cheers, fellas. Fair dinkum tipped the Crows to win by plenty. ____-all goals must have been another ugly Craig screw-down game.Yuk.

igt22265
31 May 2008, 00:57
Unconvinced by either.

Will stick with our Molly for the time being.

Smyth94
31 May 2008, 00:58
Yeah pretty quiet, 8 touches, but also didn't look very good at all with the ball in his hands. But to be fair, still very early in his career.

Just for your info, Lloyd, Lucas and Ryder also had only 8 touches each and no influence on the game. Adelaide senior players in Goodwin, Thompson, Burton, Bock and Edwards lifted them to victory.

You must of missed his 2 goal assists? His pressure and tackling...

igt22265
31 May 2008, 00:59

Goal assist!!!!!!!!!!

That sounds important.

thylacine60
31 May 2008, 01:01

So his offence work was good? Any scores from down town? Rebounds, how about his rebounds? FMD, it's called Aussie Rules, Chuck. :rolleyes:

Doza
31 May 2008, 01:02

You must be kidding yourself if you think he played ok tonight. Don't get too excited over 4 tackles. Gibbs had 10 the other week and you don't see me coming onto your board

Santoz
31 May 2008, 01:05
This thread reeks of Carlton uneasiness :thumbsu:

igt22265
31 May 2008, 01:06

It is a Carlton thread champ,
nibble your Wagon Wheel,
then off to bed sunshine.

How easy was that!

Santoz
31 May 2008, 01:09
It is a Carlton thread champ,
nibble your Wagon Wheel,
then off to bed sunshine.

How easy was that!

Ah, you got me!

Grigg is a star. Jetta hasn't shown anything. Carlton is better than Essendon. You're better than me.

Smyth94
31 May 2008, 01:11

You must be kidding yourself if you think he played ok tonight. Don't get too excited over 4 tackles. Gibbs had 10 the other week and you don't see me coming onto your board

It's his 2nd year of footy and he had an okay game, did some nice things...set up a few goals, I'm not expecting him to be getting 15+ touches as a small forward playing in a team who's inside 50 count struggles to get past 40.

igt22265
Ah, you got me!

Grigg is a star. Jetta hasn't shown anything. Carlton is better than Essendon. You're better than me.

Sssh,
bit of milk,
into the micro,
30 seconds on medium.

Slow sips,
it will take care of itself.

Nite, Nite!

Doza
Ah, you got me!

Mate its ok, we spent the last 5 years at the bottom of the ladder, we know what you're about to go through :thumbsu:

Doza
31 May 2008, 01:13
It's his 2nd year of footy and he had an okay game, did some nice things...set up a few goals, I'm not expecting him to be getting 15+ touches as a small forward playing in a team who's inside 50 count struggles to get past 40.

Go to sleep mate. This was never a Jetta bagging thread. Simply saying we think Grigg is currently in front. If you read (can you do that?) my original thread I did point out that Jetta was early in his career.

igt22265
31 May 2008, 01:18
I am genuine when i say this,

I goddam hate Essendon.

they have always had the money
(Old, Old, Old, money),

and they didn't just beat us,
they used to beat us up.

I hope they burn at the bottom!

Santoz
31 May 2008, 01:20
Sssh,
bit of milk,
into the micro,
30 seconds on medium.

Slow sips,
it will take care of itself.

Nite, Nite!

Excellent retort.

You've stitched me up here I must say.

I have absolutely nothing to say to that fine piece of correspondence.

Well played :thumbsu:

thylacine60
31 May 2008, 01:24
Excellent retort.

And you'll retire tonight believing you've added what exactly? :o

Doza
31 May 2008, 01:25
Excellent retort.

Mate if you've got no comeback, don't try to turn it into a joke and pretend that constitutes a comeback

igt22265
31 May 2008, 01:25
Excellent retort.

Yxxx

igt22265
31 May 2008, 01:33
xxxxxx

Hate your colors,
your history,
and the fact that you are on this board.

go away!

Santoz
31 May 2008, 01:35
And you'll retire tonight believing you've added what exactly? :o

That Grigg is better than Jetta? :confused:

That's what you fellas want to hear from each other, isn't it?

That's why this waste of space thread was created ...

Santoz
31 May 2008, 01:37
My entire family is from Essendon,
i actually went to Doutta Galla Kinda,
Parents married at Hyde Park (C of E)
Crissy was always at Kerferd St.

Hate your colors,
your history,
and the fact that you are on this board.

go away!

I like your family ... don't like you much :) Only joking. Lets be mates :thumbsu:

igt22265
31 May 2008, 01:40

That's what you fellas want to hear from each other, isn't it?

That's why this waste of space thread was created ...

Sort your rucks out champ.

If Laycock and (12kg overweight) Hille are the answer,
then you are kidding yourself.

You used to be famous for rucks.

Who is next?

Doza
31 May 2008, 01:40

So you agree? You've wasted a lot of posts without once daring to construct an argument as to why Jetta is better. We know you agree ;)

thylacine60
31 May 2008, 01:48

This comment reeks of unemployed comedy writer. Give Steve Vizard a call. He could probably use a laugh about now.

Santoz
31 May 2008, 01:49
So you agree? You've wasted a lot of posts without once daring to construct an argument as to why Jetta is better. We know you agree ;)

That's what I said. Need I say it again?

Anyway, as this is the Carlton thread I best not linger here for too long. The hospitality I have recieved has been far too generous and the company been most pleasant, as has the conversation.

thylacine60
31 May 2008, 01:53

Anyway, as this is the Carlton thread I best not linger here for too long. The hospitality I have recieved has been far too generous and the company been most pleasant, as has the conversation.

That's a stupid thing to say. Basically we've told you to ____ off. Or have we all been duped by your razor sharp sarcasm? What a trickster. Unfortunately you arrived around the same time this site has taken on a decidedly Hawthorn look/taint. Get lost. It's time to Dulux.

igt22265
31 May 2008, 01:55

Talk is cheap.........bugger off then.

0/30 and Fidel is pinging the cork!!!

bomba4eva
31 May 2008, 15:57
I guess you're mainly upset because of the Tiger Cubs you recently saw in the flesh, I think they gave you a glimpse of what young talent looks like in motion :)

Your rabble has won 3 games for the season. Essendon has been in disastrous form prior to the game and copped repeated beltings. We won the 2nd half. Dont get too excited mate. Actually please do, we all know how it will end:)

WorthTheWaite
31 May 2008, 16:34
This comment reeks of unemployed comedy writer. Give Steve Vizard a call. He could probably use a laugh about now.
I was just thinking the same thing actually, because I'm sure we're absolutely bursting at the seams with laughter at Santoz's cheeky sarcasm. Such wit, such substance. O, woe are those less blessed.

bluegal1983
1 Jun 2008, 20:10
Your rabble has won 3 games for the season. Essendon has been in disastrous form prior to the game and copped repeated beltings. We won the 2nd half. Dont get too excited mate. Actually please do, we all know how it will end:)

Actually, we have won 4 games but don't let the facts get in the way of a stupid story :rolleyes:

TheGeneral
1 Jun 2008, 20:24
I like Jetta, but Grigg has more upside and the size to allow him to play on the ball, forward or down back.

A bit like Walker.

Great mark against Harley. :thumbsu:

And shame we can't develop players as well as the WCE and the Pies.

HBF
1 Jun 2008, 21:39
I like Jetta, but Grigg has more upside and the size to allow him to play on the ball, forward or down back.

A bit like Walker.

Great mark against Harley. :thumbsu:

And shame we can't develop players as well as the WCE and the Pies.

Good call TG.
Jetta to my way of thinking will never be anything more than a flashy HFF, that can small bursts in the midfield. He's also got some off-field issues to sort through.

Grigg on the other hand, can play back and forward, and in all likelihood, could play through the midfield as well.

Anyone who thinks that Jetta is a better long term prospect Grigg is kidding themselves.

rolandinho
1 Jun 2008, 22:20
Good call TG.
Jetta to my way of thinking will never be anything more than a flashy HFF, that can small bursts in the midfield. He's also got some off-field issues to sort through.

Grigg on the other hand, can play back and forward, and in all likelihood, could play through the midfield as well.

Anyone who thinks that Jetta is a better long term prospect Grigg is kidding themselves.

completely agree. grigg look like he could turn into quite a player. He seems to have sorted his kicking out, another pre season or 2 and a bit more confidence, he could be quite a player. Very excited about his development.

How many flashy HFF does essendon have. Let me see:jetta, lovett, davey, monfries, dyson, winderlich, have i missed any? i know some these players do rotate through the midfield, but they are more HFF then genuine midfielders.