View Full Version : What about that QAFL?

keatings_gal
18th October 2000, 15:13
AFLQ Is good. I go to heaps of the games & I think it is very good league. The Lions have a good team in the AFLQ & It is good to see them all getting a chance!It is a good springboard to the AFL for the guys. I know lots of guys who through the AFLQ got to train with the AFL teams & or got listed by those teams. I think it will just get better and better as the years go on. Congratulations to Southport for winning the Grand Final in Seniors & to Broadbeach for winning the reserves flag.

mud n blood
19th October 2000, 11:01
Good to see someone else who follows the grass roots level of the game. So, who do actually follow locally ..... or do you just jump on the Lions bandwagon ?

I used to play for Coorparoo some years ago, but since they were given the arse I don't really have any affiliation with any local team. I just go along and enjoy the day .....

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

richo
19th October 2000, 14:16
AFLQ is going ahead in leaps & bounds,as some people on the Lions forum have found out when they stated it was wrong for the Lions to have a full side in the AFLQ as the Lions would just steam roll the opposition,but as I stated on the Lions forum early this year, teams like Southport do not whinge about it they go & do something about it on the footy field & good on them & no I'm not a Southport supporter far from it, but I do admire the way they over come adversity & lift the standard to another level

Savatage
19th October 2000, 14:26
Can you guys give me an idea of how good Riewoldt is & your impressions of him as a player?

Thanks http://www.bigfooty.com/ubb/smile.gif

Ace
19th October 2000, 15:34
Reiwoldts okay, but their are better players.He is young he will develop though.
I go for Redlands. Like the old horse, and chicken legs Corey Bell.

Savatage
19th October 2000, 15:58
I meant something a bit more helpful, in depth & unbiased please!

As a potential number one draftee it would be nice to know a bit about him first that's all!

Savatage
19th October 2000, 15:59
I meant something a bit more helpful, in depth & unbiased please!

As a potential number one draftee it would be nice to know a bit about him first that's all!

The Lukester
23rd October 2000, 13:42
Mud n Blood by any chance when u played for coorparoo did u know or play with Dessie Lee??

nion
23rd October 2000, 15:28
Riewoldt is an outstanding player, i played against him last year, and he was sensation, he is tall, mobile, takes pack marks, and has very good skills, he is going to be a very good player, another qld to hopefully get drafted is Michael Davis, he is a hard running player with beautiful skill and balance, he is voss like with his disposal and ball gathering ability

mud n blood
24th October 2000, 10:58
Not by memory .... but that means sh!t.... plenty of "Beam" and "Turkey" has passed these lips since those days. Hmmmm. Why does that name sound kinda familiar though ? Which club is he associated with now ? Yours? Which is what?

L ... I hear you're a Camp Hill/Carina lad ? Whereabouts ? (General is fine)

------------------

mud n blood

The Lukester
25th October 2000, 12:08
Mud n Blood

I am no lad i am a las!!!!
my father who is dessie lee has no association with any club but supporter of the Lions. and has a little to do with the Coorparoo Juniors. We live in Camp Hill

The Lukester
25th October 2000, 12:11
I live about 10 minutes up the road from Coorparoo near wemberly park, where the netball is played. Were do u live??

mud n blood
27th October 2000, 02:20
Sorry .... one of my old teammates was called "lukester" .... my mistake!

I'm at Birkdale, within 5 minutes walk of the train station heading towards the city. Used to live at Camp Hill in Stephen St behind the old school, and at Norman Park on the bend in Russell Ave. Yeah - pretty close to old Giffin Oval.

Remember the old scoreboard .... can't believe they pulled it down !!! (shock-horror)

What was Des at Coorparoo AFC ? (player, committee, executive, coach?)

The Lukester
27th October 2000, 12:17
Des was a player, from 1975 to 1987. What is your name i will ask him if he remembers u?

mud n blood
2nd November 2000, 02:10
I'm guessing he is about 8-10 years older than me. I began playing colts in '85 before busting my knee (for a second time) against Mayne. I concentrated on uni then for a few years and made a comeback in the reggies in '88 and '89. (Cripes we got belted that year!)

Maybe you can do a BIG favour for me .... ask Des if he knows who ended up with all the club records etc when the club folded ? I've exhausted all my sources and no-one knows anything!

------------------

mud n blood

The Lukester
9th November 2000, 13:05
Blood n' Mud most of the pics from the club have gone to the players, for example Brett 'Butchy' Jones, Kel Millar, Kevin O'Keeffe, I HAVE NO IDEA IF U ACTUALLY KNOW THESE PEOPLE BUT THEY R ALL COORPAROO OLD BOYS. We r unsure about the people or persons that have any of the club records but if u want to specify about what records u were after i could find out.

------------------
Signing off with GO THE MIGHTY LIONS IN 2001

mud n blood
10th November 2000, 01:37
That's certainly a blast from the past. (I have fond memories of both O'Keefe and Millar ironing out opponents .... and add Laurie Pendrick to that list of hard-heads!)

Interesting about the photos .... the records I was thinking about are like who's played the most games, kicked the most goals etc .... the usual trophy night and photo stuff !

See what else you can find out.

------------------

mud n blood

The Lukester
10th November 2000, 13:06
IF U INFORM ME OF YOUR NAME, I WILL SEE IF I COULD GET PICS OF U OUT OF ALL THE PICS WE HAVE FROM COORPAROO.

------------------
Signing off with GO THE MIGHTY LIONS IN 2001

keatings_gal
15th November 2000, 10:48
I think Nick is great!
What about U Lukester??
I think we are biased cause i know him!
I love the state league!
I am a Lions supporter but i also follow Broadbeach!
I liked them b4 but now a friend of mine plays for them
That's why i was so happy when they won the reserves flag cause he was playing for them!

keatings_gal
15th November 2000, 10:51
I think that the Lukester or i would probably know you 'cause we both go to alot of games!
we have probably seen u around!

Woofer
22nd November 2000, 15:53
Mud n blood - FYI Laurie Pendrick just coached Yarraville to the 2nd division premiership this year in the Western Region FL (western subs of Melbourne). This Yarraville has no real connection with the old VFA side although they played at the same ground. This new club was renamed from Kingsville FC about 5 years ago.

keatings_gal
28th December 2000, 14:55
is anybody home?????????
does anyone post here anymore?

keatings_gal
28th December 2000, 14:59
i would just like to say welcome to the new guys on the lions rookie list from the AFLQ.
These nice young fellas being Tommy Tarrant, Luke Weller, Clint Alleway, David Mapleston & Robbie Copeland!
yeah. nothing better than local talent!

Beausgirl43
28th December 2000, 16:02
Hi Keatings Gal, I'd like to welcome the rookies also. And I like to make a special welcome to Jamie Sharman, {I think that's how you spell his name}. Remember how nice he was Keatings Gal when you gave him that Chrissy card, and how he thanked you for it the next week? He's a really cool guy.
cheers...

keatings_gal
30th December 2000, 17:06
yeah man
it's Charman
but very close
he is a champ isn't he that was the other card & i gave him the Chrissy one when he thanked me!
great job!

mud n blood
19th January 2001, 03:02
I thought I had posted this before .... but .... Tarrant is the nephew of a woman here at work, and Weller is the son of a thug I played many games against while he was at Aspley and I at Yeronga.

keatings_gal
27th January 2001, 08:44
I love them all
Tommy, Luke, Clint, David & Robbie
but their numbers aren't good for lotto trust me!