View Full Version : Players Need Psychological Counselling - Harvey

o54595
25 May 2008, 10:39
Shouldn't be too hard to address, isn't there a Psychologist on the payroll and hasn't he been there since day 1?

Geoff
25 May 2008, 11:23
Shouldn't be too hard to address, isn't there a Psychologist on the payroll and hasn't he been there since day 1?

Mate / Matette, any chance you can introduce yourself and state who you support? o54595 and being unlisted doesn't give you much cred. Remember there are alot of unhappy people around here at the present.;)

kimmiejs
25 May 2008, 15:39
I found this article online. Thought I would share it with you since it deals with this issue.

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=75083

Players support psychologist talks: McPharlin

25th May 2008, 11:30 WST

Fremantle defender Luke McPharlin said today that the players would be happy to speak to the club’s psychologist after yet another loss following a fourth quarter fade out.

McPharlin made the comments at a recovery session this morning. Last night, coach Mark Harvey said the club may have to look at outside help to get the players to visualise winning.

Fremantle have led well into the final quarter of the past four matches but have faded away and been overrun to lose their matches.

Yesterday, Fremantle led by 10 points 16 minutes into the final term in the match against Carlton, but ended up losing the game by nine points.

McPharlin said that the Dockers were within striking distance of winning and just needed to finish off matches without allowing their opposition to overrun them in the final quarter.

Fremantle are set to face Port Adelaide at Subiaco Oval next Sunday.
CRAIG O’DONOGHUE

rotto
25 May 2008, 19:02
All teams should have psychs at their club. Anyway, from a psychological point of view heres a list of things the club can work on.

1. Don't morn or celebrate too much.
2. Forget the score or result and focus on what you can do.
3. Its not who you are or what you know thats makes you good but its what you do.
4. Live in the moment and focus on what you to do now.
5. If things dont work out personally, make sure you do all the 1%'s well.
6. Dont listen to outside forces like the media.
7. Players within your limitation and do whatever you do best.
8. Forget stats, 98% of the time you dont have the ball and make sure you off the ball. (create space and options in attack and in defense close space and shut down options).
9. The world isnt a fair world, so forget that the idea that umpires will be.
10. Encourage, be positive and be bold.

raffrox
25 May 2008, 19:24
I'm a psychologist. I'd be up for the challenge!!

rotto
25 May 2008, 19:33
11. All because you win doesnt mean you done anything right and if lose doesnt mean you have done anything wrong.
12. Know what you have done right and repeat that.

o54595
25 May 2008, 20:41
Psychological Counselling pfft! What they need is to spend a couple of weeks at North Melbourne where they might hopefully absorb some real culture and will to win spirit.

chook2734
25 May 2008, 20:45
Psychological Counselling pfft! What they need is to spend a couple of weeks at North Melbourne where they might hopefully absorb some real culture and will to win spirit.

Like the 'shinboner' spirit? That has to be the funniest myth in Aussie rules footy ever. What happens to the great 'spirit' when they lose? Does it go on holiday? It only seems to be spoken of when they are winning, but never gets a mention when times are tough.

o54595
25 May 2008, 21:14
Like the 'shinboner' spirit? That has to be the funniest myth in Aussie rules footy ever. What happens to the great 'spirit' when they lose? Does it go on holiday? It only seems to be spoken of when they are winning, but never gets a mention when times are tough.

Times are always tough at North mate and have been for many many years, it's where true spirit exists even when they lose.

chook2734
25 May 2008, 21:19
Times are always tough at North mate and have been for many many years, it's where true spirit exists even when they lose.

Yeah, Freo have never had tough times, it's all been sunshine and rainbows at Freo since day one. We don't need people who don't have the courage to support a team coming in and telling us what is wrong with our club. Have you been a part of the inner circle at Freo? Do you know for a fact that there is no spirit? If you do, what's your evidence?

If you're a Freo supporter, have the courage to show it, if you're not, go away.

DOCKER CLINT
26 May 2008, 03:09
I've studied sport psychology and all the psychology in the world means nothing unless people take it on board. Lead a horse to water and all that shit.

The club has a psychologist. All professional sporting organisations do

Chops_a_must
26 May 2008, 03:10
I think there is a bit of logical fallacy with Dockers players having their brains examined.

DOCKER CLINT
26 May 2008, 04:02
I think there is a bit of logical fallacy with Dockers players having their brains examined.

That applies to any footballer really.

Chops_a_must
26 May 2008, 04:09
That applies to any footballer really.

Geez... that's pretty harsh. Most people here have at one stage been footballers. And some of us are still trying to impersonate being footballers. :o ;) :D

Tangles29
26 May 2008, 15:21
Neil McLean has been there for years, used to be at the Eagles in the 90s. During the Cuddles days he was always in the box with the coaching staff, but I've noticed this year he hasn't been there.

Not implying anything by the way. Wouldn't think a psych would be of much use during the match.

freocuz
26 May 2008, 15:27
Not sure about the players, but as a fan I know that I sure as hell could do with some.:eek:

D_train
26 May 2008, 15:28
Not implying anything by the way. Wouldn't think a psych would be of much use during the match.

Don't you find it interesting that it appears that the psychologist has a lesser role this year and since he's been given a lesser role, Fremantle is losing numerous games they should win?

Tangles29
26 May 2008, 15:44
Not really, do you think the players would seek out the psych at 3q time to have a chat if he was there?

bushie
26 May 2008, 16:08

I don't know about that chook.

Call it what you like.....but I wish they could send a truckload of it over to us.

I have said it in another thread..

The desperation of both North and the doggies yesterday is something which we sadly lack.

Dr Ralph Dagg
26 May 2008, 16:22
Harvey floated it as an idea. Not sure it would work though.

I reckon if you could get the heads of Mundy, Murphy, Schammer, Gilmour in alignment, and looked through the ear of the first player, you'd see daylight on the other side of the 4th player.

Perhaps they could bring in Sally Robbins as a consultant and she could talk about all the good work she has done.

afl08
26 May 2008, 16:22
Not sure about the players, but as a fan I know that I sure as hell could do with some.:eek:

I second that motion. I could use some very strong counselling right now.

Scotland
26 May 2008, 16:25
2 questions.

1. If you have a club psychologist, why is Mcpharlin saying the players will be happy to talk to him? If he's already there, then doesn't he already talk to them? :confused:

2. If the head coach thinks the playing group needs psychological counselling, wouldn't coming out and publicly stating that counter-productive? Psychology is an inexact field. Some players will respond to being told the HTFU, while others won't. I don't think coming out and saying the players need counselling would have a positive influence on the latter group personally.

bushie
26 May 2008, 16:28
Harvey floated it as an idea. Not sure it would work though.

I reckon if you could get the heads of Mundy, Murphy, Schammer, Gilmour in alignment, and looked through the ear of the first player, you'd see daylight on the other side of the 4th player.

Perhaps they could bring in Sally Robbins as a consultant and she could talk about all the good work she has done.

Harsh!!

But fair!

DOCKER CLINT
26 May 2008, 21:37

It's all good. The club is expanding its range of official merchandise.

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/5343/zoloft5030allvi8.jpg

Will be free for all financical members.

PROUD, PASSIONATE and MEDICATED.

Chops_a_must
26 May 2008, 21:41
It's all good. The club is expanding its range of official merchandise.

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/5343/zoloft5030allvi8.jpg

Will be free for all financical members.

PROUD, PASSIONATE and MEDICATED.
GOLD!! :thumbsu:

I joked before the season started that my membership came with anti-depressants. And hopefully, it becomes policy.

Gonna have to use that picture again. :thumbsu:

Jafa
26 May 2008, 21:52
The players need a win. Sounds really obvious - but that`s what they need.

kimmiejs
26 May 2008, 22:09
http://www.biovail.com/local/files/product%20images/Ativan%202.jpg
Personally if I am going to sedated I prefer Ativan :)

bigkev bleeds purple
27 May 2008, 03:06
West Coast board.

Tangles29
27 May 2008, 16:18
http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,23766268-23211,00.html

Harvey plays down need for help

May 27, 2008
FREMANTLE coach Mark Harvey has played down the need for his players to seek psychological help despite the AFL club's mentality being questioned in recent weeks.
The Dockers became the first team since St Kilda in 1940 to lose four consecutive matches after leading at three-quarter time when they were overrun by Carlton on Saturday.

After that loss, Harvey said his team needed to start "visualising winning" when asked whether the club would call upon psychological help to arrest the team's final-quarter fadeouts.

But Harvey believed the issue could be dealt with in other ways.

"I was only answering the question (about whether a psychologist was needed) and I mentioned that visually you could perhaps look at winning ... to overcome what we are going through at the moment, that's all," Harvey said.

"If you see what's happening to us at the moment ... you'd certainly consider different opinions, but it's not something that you've got to rely on totally.

"We just have to assess everything ourselves and own up to things on what we need to do to get better in these situations and push through.

"I think the minute we come to the conclusion and we have a win I think you'll see a totally different mindset to the way things are handled."

Harvey said the club's psychologist Neil McLean worked with the players in a number of different areas, including how best to handle pressure.

Emerging midfielder Rhys Palmer said he would meet with McLean if Harvey ordered the team to do so.

"Every club's got one (a psychologist) but I don't personally have much to do with one," Palmer said.

"If the coach wanted us to see one I'd love to."

Harvey said he sat the players down after the nine-point loss to the Blues to discuss their mindset in the final quarter.

"(It was) just (about) their mindset, how they deal with it when the game's in the balance," Harvey said.

"They are very honest with each other now, they don't hold back when they're discussing things in front of each other.

"They'll sometimes get into confrontational debate about things that happen in the last quarter as to how we can get better in those circumstances."