View Full Version : Gibbsy !!!!!
Murph_The_Smurf
25 May 2008, 11:48
Ive been saying this since the collingwood game , anyone that calls gibbs soft should have a good hard look at themselves, 10 tackles yesterday great effort gibbsy!
Russel also with 8 tackles and carrots with 7 ! good to see blue boys !
It's just the ignorant half-wits that call Gibbs soft. He was sensational yesterday.
Jeremias
25 May 2008, 11:55
Gibbs definitely isn't soft, and it's only opposition trolls that claim he is based on one incident last year.
Trolls will be trolls.
Gibbs definitely isn't soft, and it's only opposition trolls that claim he is based on one incident last year.
Trolls will be trolls.
If anyone cant see the exceptional talent in Gibbs yet then they have no football clues.
Will be an absolute superstar of the game and will probably vy for captaincy with Murph after Judd gives it away.
Murph_The_Smurf
25 May 2008, 11:58
It's just the ignorant half-wits that call Gibbs soft. He was sensational yesterday.
every time i hear someone calling gibsy softy i feel like ripping shreds into them and making an example of soft out of them!.
When he jumped into a pack of 3 dockers i think, got the handball out and pfeif got the sealer !!
FevolasFox
25 May 2008, 11:59
He is as soft as a brick.
Gibbs tackles stick and hurt the opposition. He repeatedly pushed Medhurt's, Didak's and Stanley's face into the MCG turf V Pies. Gibbs is a top-shelf talent who has a natural ability to execute the games skills better than anyone else. :)
blues4flag
25 May 2008, 12:16
Gibbs is sensational - the rest of the footy world is beginning to see why he's so highly rated, bar a flog here and there. Some of the stuff he does just leaves me gob smacked - not the flashy stuff like a Daisy type, but awareness, ability to create space and his work in close (which is a huge asset, and one we're only beginning to see now that he's filling out) is extremely promising.
every time i hear someone calling gibsy softy i feel like ripping shreds into them and making an example of soft out of them!.
When he jumped into a pack of 3 dockers i think, got the handball out and pfeif got the sealer !!
And he set up the goal in the last quarter for Nick Stevens. A great kid, and a great talent.
Murph_The_Smurf
25 May 2008, 12:22
And to think its only hes 2nd year of footy, isn't he the youngest after kruez ? .
Dustyjackman
25 May 2008, 12:36
Week by week his class is really beginning to show.
Eventually, he will be held in the same regard as say, Micheal Voss or Scott West. Great footballers that even opposition fans have enormous respect for. Leaders and match winners.
Bryce Gibbs will provide us, the Carlton faithful, many years of excitement as he turns many an opponent inside out.
phantom 309
25 May 2008, 12:57
Week by week his class is really beginning to show.
Eventually, he will be held in the same regard as say, Micheal Voss or Scott West. Great footballers that even opposition fans have enormous respect for. Leaders and a match winners.
Bryce Gibbs will provide us, the Carlton faithful, many years of excitement as he turns many an opponent inside out.
i to think that he is in the Voss mould by the time he is 22 yoa he is going to be one tuff bastard.
celtic_pride
25 May 2008, 13:11
One thing I have noticed that he is playing a lot more confident and positive footy since Ratts too over as coach, which does proof two things - One Deni$ Pagan was a shocking coach at Carlton, and two, Ratts is totally the perfect coach for Carlton, and I hope he coaches us for 10 years plus ...
I laugh at how Bummer fans keep bagging him, I wonder how their number 2 draft pick, Scott Gumbleton is going ???
10 tackles is bloody sensational !!
Captain Judd
25 May 2008, 13:33
Gibbs IMO is a gamebreaker kind of player. His a match winner, and has all the abilities, skills and brain to become that. You guys will see, one day he will go up another level and become a superstar, and people will put there number1 tagger on Gibbs instead of Judd. I know its a big call but he has the attributes to become something amazing... And damn he reminds me of Voss... Captain material..
Will.B.Worth.Da.Waite
25 May 2008, 13:50
Gibbs tackles stick and hurt the opposition. He repeatedly pushed Medhurt's, Didak's and Stanley's face into the MCG turf V Pies. Gibbs is a top-shelf talent who has a natural ability to execute the games skills better than anyone else. :)
Spot on. His tackles are ruthless. He really tries to hit 'em hard :thumbsu:
Mike_blues
25 May 2008, 14:23
Gibbs IMO is a gamebreaker kind of player. His a match winner, and has all the abilities, skills and brain to become that. You guys will see, one day he will go up another level and become a superstar, and people will put there number1 tagger on Gibbs instead of Judd. I know its a big call but he has the attributes to become something amazing... And damn he reminds me of Voss... Captain material..
agreed
the day that happens will be when we are fighting for flags :D
god we look so good for 3 years time.. gibbs only 22 murph 23 kruuez 22 judd only 27 and fev just 30 god i cant wait for the footy world to see our brilliant team in full flight:D
TheGeneral
25 May 2008, 14:27
http://www.realfooty.com.au/ffximage/2008/05/24/GALL_FREO_SS2_wideweb__470x272,0.jpg
Carlton's Bryce Gibbs runs down Fremantle veteran Dean Solomon. Photo: John Donegan. The Age.
Soft. :)
koutamarto
25 May 2008, 15:02
It was great to see bryce start in the centre yesterday. its the 1st time i can remember seeing him in their. Should be a great confidence boost for him and his kicking is starting to hurt the oppositin.
Thought Gibbs was great when it counted yesterday and also looked hard and committed. His hard ball get and handpass to Stevens fantastic. However I don't believe noticing softness in Bryce is coming from ignorance.
Whilst I don't think he lacks courage he does lack confidence at times. This can have him look very tentative. There have been a few occassions this year where he has lacked authority both in his disposal and attack on the ball. I believe once his confidence rises he will become very hard consistently. However he is not there as yet although yesterday seemed as close as he has been to becoming the star we expect him to be.
stevedarui
25 May 2008, 15:11
Gibbsy has been great this year but we are starting to sound like Magpie fans.
He is still very much on the improve and will be a great player for a long time but to compare him with Vossy is stupid as he is a very different type of player.
KING-JAMES
25 May 2008, 15:18
His tackles stick. Very impressive young footballer, and I think he will continue to develop as the year goes on. I'd love him at Essendon.
Cruiser23
25 May 2008, 15:31
Fantastic first half for Gibbs, 13 touches 4 marks and 6 tackles with a few clearances. He got given a free reign and a very good stint in the midfield for once. He did very much go missing in the second half. Didn't get a touch in the third quarter which was disappointing and other than a few very important touches late in the fourth, seemed to run out of steam. Still don't think he is fit enough to play a full game in the midfield just yet.
He has massive improvement in his game and his first half showed us a little of what he has got. Needs to put a few four quarter performances together before even starting to compare him to the greats such as Voss and West.
Wow you are one scary ombre!!! :rolleyes: He may not be asoft but he still takes short steps ocassionally, of that there is no doubt!
pansies
25 May 2008, 17:54
Earlier this year I posted the following on the main board in a discussion about reviewing the 2006 draft...
Gibbs though being drafted in 2006 should actually be rated along with those drafted in 2007 as they are more in line with his age. The reason why he was drafted early is because of such a high level of maturity skill and talent.
Also people should not be comparing him to judd, they are both very different type of players. Gibbs is more in the similar vein of Hird. Neither have great athletic abilities however their footy smarts and skills are never in doubt. Gibbs knows where to place his body in a contest in order to both out position his opponent and allow chance to dispose the ball to a teammates advantage. Often when in one on one contests you can see Gibbs slide or move not necessarily directly towards the ball but more around it and therefore opening space to get rid of it.
I think his spin under 2 freo players yesterday and handball to give stevens the goal to hand us the lead was as good an example as you could get. Gibbs summed up his position in an instant and knew if he gathered possession and dropped in the one move his two opponents would go right past him and open up the goal side.
Instinctive Genius!
Dustyjackman
25 May 2008, 18:28
Earlier this year I posted the following on the main board in a discussion about reviewing the 2006 draft...
Gibbs though being drafted in 2006 should actually be rated along with those drafted in 2007 as they are more in line with his age. The reason why he was drafted early is because of such a high level of maturity skill and talent.
Also people should not be comparing him to judd, they are both very different type of players. Gibbs is more in the similar vein of Hird. Neither have great athletic abilities however their footy smarts and skills are never in doubt. Gibbs knows where to place his body in a contest in order to both out position his opponent and allow chance to dispose the ball to a teammates advantage. Often when in one on one contests you can see Gibbs slide or move not necessarily directly towards the ball but more around it and therefore opening space to get rid of it.
I think his spin under 2 freo players yesterday and handball to give stevens the goal to hand us the lead was as good an example as you could get. Gibbs summed up his position in an instant and knew if he gathered possession and dropped in the one move his two opponents would go right past him and open up the goal side.
Instinctive Genius!
Spot on. Excellent assessment.
I liken Gibbs' ability to pop up with the pill after everyone else has over shot it, and completely misread it, to be in a similar vein to Scott West from the Bulldogs when he was at his best.
Fantastic first half for Gibbs, 13 touches 4 marks and 6 tackles with a few clearances. He got given a free reign and a very good stint in the midfield for once. He did very much go missing in the second half. Didn't get a touch in the third quarter which was disappointing and other than a few very important touches late in the fourth, seemed to run out of steam. Still don't think he is fit enough to play a full game in the midfield just yet.
He has massive improvement in his game and his first half showed us a little of what he has got. Needs to put a few four quarter performances together before even starting to compare him to the greats such as Voss and West.
You're right, he didn't have a single touch in the third quarter. But its important to remember he was only given 64% time on ground yesterday and still had his 10 tackles, 17 touches and a good influence.
Bluebear
25 May 2008, 19:16
One thing I have noticed that he is playing a lot more confident and positive footy since Ratts too over as coach, which does proof two things - One Deni$ Pagan was a shocking coach at Carlton, and two, Ratts is totally the perfect coach for Carlton, and I hope he coaches us for 10 years plus ...
I laugh at how Bummer fans keep bagging him, I wonder how their number 2 draft pick, Scott Gumbleton is going ???
So you think his defensive game of laying 10 tackles is sensational (BTW his opponents only had about 5 possies to his 17), yet bag Pagan.....who put him in defence to learn such skills which our midfield sorely needs.
Odd.
Agree with all the sentiments otherwise in this thread.
Gibbs has been learning his craft in the midfield, but not getting hurt by his man going the other way.
Is pushing into dangerous positions going forward, and uses the footy so well by hand or foot. :thumbsu:
Cruiser23
25 May 2008, 19:47
You're right, he didn't have a single touch in the third quarter. But its important to remember he was only given 64% time on ground yesterday and still had his 10 tackles, 17 touches and a good influence.
That low, it thought it was around 70% because he started on the bench in every quarter for the first 8-10 minutes. Geez why would he been given that little time? he's been getting around 85% IIRC.
blues4flag
25 May 2008, 19:52
That low, it thought it was around 70% because he started on the bench in every quarter for the first 8-10 minutes. Geez why would he been given that little time? he's been getting around 85% IIRC.
You've got to remember he is the second youngest player on our senior list - only Kreuzer is younger than him, and even then, only by a couple of months. I'd expect the club wants to manage him throughout the season.
Bluebear
25 May 2008, 23:06
You've got to remember he is the second youngest player on our senior list - only Kreuzer is younger than him, and even then, only by a couple of months. I'd expect the club wants to manage him throughout the season.
I was surprised to see his game time drop as well, and you may be right.
Rather than have rests down back this year he is running all game in the midfield, and, I'm happy to say, running as hard to defend as he does to get the footy now.
I'm sure Ratts has the second half of the year in mind to some degree, but it may be just the way the match-ups and rotations worked on the day.
Blue History
26 May 2008, 07:06
Ive been saying this since the collingwood game , anyone that calls gibbs soft should have a good hard look at themselves, 10 tackles yesterday great effort gibbsy!
Russel also with 8 tackles and carrots with 7 ! good to see blue boys !
TGa7eBRyxqk
Thunderstruck
26 May 2008, 11:48
Yer he's bloody good, does the little things so well, things that 95% of observers don't notice unless you look for them. Exceptional classy talent and decision maker. But his tackling has ALWAYS been a feature of his game. Right throughout his junior days from a 15yo, he has been a machine tackler. High tackle count in all games. Finally when played in the midfield a BIT he gets to show some of his stuff. His best position is ruck rover or centre as that is where he dominated as a junior. Looks pretty bulky atm as well, god help opposition when he is fully developed and playing from the guts every week.
ThePine
26 May 2008, 13:30
If he could build his engine up and push his average disposal up by a couple (19.8 this year) i think this is when he will start to get the wraps he deserves from op supporters. If only he could get the ball as much as carrots :eek:
SurreyBlue
26 May 2008, 14:05
This kid is pure class. Reminds me a bit of Peter Motley except Motts was probably stronger in the air.
thylacine60
26 May 2008, 16:23
I think Huddo's call sums it up: ".........Gibbs is not done with yet!"
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 10:54
On SEN yesterday, a carlton supporter called and claimed that Bryce was the most disappointing #1 pick in the last 10 years. Myself along with countless other true blues with half a brain, explained to KB that gibbs is a rare talent that has the total package. Against Freo was the first time he was a given a fair crack at the midfield. He played 64%, 10 tackles, 7 one%'s and had 17 possesions with 88% efficiency. He is the total package. It looks like he is ready to dominate the midfield.
After a few frothys at an end of year function, i asked heath scotland who had his vote for the captaincy, and he said although it was early, that gibbsy had his vote. (This is prior to our saviour arriving of course.)
Blues Fans this kid is a gun, and will quite possibly win our next brownlow!! (after steven browne! :])
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 12:28
On SEN yesterday, a carlton supporter called and claimed that Bryce was the most disappointing #1 pick in the last 10 years. Myself along with countless other true blues with half a brain, explained to KB that gibbs is a rare talent that has the total package. Against Freo was the first time he was a given a fair crack at the midfield. He played 64%, 10 tackles, 7 one%'s and had 17 possesions with 88% efficiency. He is the total package. It looks like he is ready to dominate the midfield.
After a few frothys at an end of year function, i asked heath scotland who had his vote for the captaincy, and he said although it was early, that gibbsy had his vote. (This is prior to our saviour arriving of course.)
Blues Fans this kid is a gun, and will quite possibly win our next brownlow!! (after steven browne! :])
Guys this was my first post on BF. Did i cut it??? :o
Jeremias
29 May 2008, 12:42
Welcome to the boards.
You just have to be patient with a lot of nuffies who don't watch the game and rely on the stat sheet instead.
From a statistical point of view, we haven't seen Gibbs dominate a game but to say that he doesn't have an impact is very ignorant.
You are correct in saying that he is really looking comfortable out there and it's only a matter of time before his doubters begin to decrease significantly in number.
His 1% work is fantastic. 2nd and 3rd efforts, tackles and blocks are his specialty. Knows how to use the ball brilliantly and can create space and time for himself when there was none.
The Brownlow call is over the top though, way too early to be talking about that.
one_twelve112
29 May 2008, 12:48
Welcome. What are your thoughts on Jordan Russell?
Bahahaha Gumbleton... now that is embarrassing.
wegs on pendles
29 May 2008, 12:52
Just because he makes 10 tackles doesnt mean his hard at the ball maybe that player but definitly not the ball.
RangaInTeal
29 May 2008, 12:52
As an offencive inside player, the only player that will be better than Gibbs in the future isn Adam Thomson! This is not a debate, just pure fact! But Defensivly, Gibbs is up the with Ciryl Riolli and Alwyn Davey, but will Davey get back to his best?
Man I like Adam Thomson and love to watch him down at Unley oval when he plays for Sturt, but that call is outrageous. He is not even one of the best offensive inside players in the SANFL let alone AFL.
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 13:04
Thanks. Well if i was trying to win over the critics on BF, then i would say that 'he is as useful as that bloody hackland'. :p
But in seriousness i think despite his slow start to his AFL career, he has progressed slowly and is now becoming a solid contributer. Mistkes are still being made. I compare him to a young Simmo who had an even slower start to his career. These running ball carrier types can tend to come on with more experiance as they gain the confidence to back themselves and break the lines a little more, and will often impose themselves more and more as they approach 50 games. Patience and Persistance will give us the player that we needed, when we used our #9 pick.
SpiritR
29 May 2008, 13:08
I think some people are forgetting how young he is,last year he still looked to small and only this year he's started to get the body size and he still manages to lay tackle after tackle!
Also he's hasnt been exposed to the midfield unlike Murph,so given more midfield time,strength that will come with age and fitness he will tear apart teams in the future!he reminds me of a cross between a Buckley and Voss!
cross between a Buckley and Voss!
Spot on.
thylacine60
29 May 2008, 13:44
Welcome but I suggest you think long and hard about posting logical, well thought out comments here. Long and hard.
Quality shit-stirring, 224. :thumbsu:
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 14:21
[quote=thylacine60;11183085]Welcome but I suggest you think long and hard about posting logical, well thought out comments here. Long and hard.
Thy u sound like a hard beast to tame. Dont worry mate ive brought big and badder beast then u to over to my way of thinking.:cool:
Any words of wisdom for a rookie thy?
thylacine60
29 May 2008, 14:24
[quote=thylacine60;11183085]Welcome but I suggest you think long and hard about posting logical, well thought out comments here. Long and hard.
Thy u sound like a hard beast to tame. Dont worry mate ive brought big and badder beast then u to over to my way of thinking.:cool:
Always wear a condom. Always. :cool:
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 14:33
[quote=rolandinho;11183510]
[/b]Always wear a condom. Always. :cool:
thought u might of choked shooting at an open target, but u took your chance well. Maybe u should head down to dockers training and teach them something.
thanks for the advice, i wont tell the missus though :p
thylacine60
29 May 2008, 16:03
[quote=thylacine60;11183543]
thought u might of choked shooting at an open target, but u took your chance well. Maybe u should head down to dockers training and teach them something.
thanks for the advice, i wont tell the missus though :p
Can see I'll have to keep my eye on you, Mr. Rocacelli. Play well.
Blue Dawn
29 May 2008, 16:22
I'd get rid of the extra S you've got hanging on the end of Princes Park in your location pretty quick if i were you Rol. Welcome to the circus! ;)
thylacine60
29 May 2008, 16:29
I'd get rid of the extra S you've got hanging on the end of Princes Park in your location pretty quick if i were you Rol. Welcome to the circus! ;)
The number of people who have trouble with it, might be easier to change the name of the ground, BD? Sacrilege?
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 19:53
No mucking around on here. On it straight away u blokes!!
Ill make sure i get right from now, if not, im sure u guys will do me a favour and let me know;)
igt22265
29 May 2008, 21:20
He only turned 19 a couple of months ago,
look at last years 'Rising Star' crap,
and he was youngest by a year.
Exceptional talent.
He gets better every week.
Don't doubt this bloke.
koutamarto
29 May 2008, 21:32
!he reminds me of a cross between a Buckley and Voss!
Spot on. I would like to throw in a J.Hird as well.
Kicks like bucks
hard like voss
reads it like hird.
thylacine60
29 May 2008, 22:22
He only turned 19 a couple of months ago,
look at last years 'Rising Star' crap,
and he was youngest by a year.
Exceptional talent.
He gets better every week.
Don't doubt this bloke.
There you go, Rolandinho. Not a bad rap for you and you've only been here 5 minutes!
Kicks like bucks
hard like voss
reads it like hird.
gooooose mate:rolleyes:
igt22265
29 May 2008, 22:34
There you go, Rolandinho. Not a bad rap for you and you've only been here 5 minutes!
Call them as i see them.
Big tick for Gibbs.
thylacine60
29 May 2008, 22:44
Call them as i see them.
Big tick for Gibbs.
With you there. If anyone is wondering why Grigg and Bower don't seem to have much time with their disposal the answer is Gibbsy got their share. Unfair really. Hyphen was the same. They walk around the ground like we stroll around the Botanic Gardens these freaks. Bastards.
igt22265
29 May 2008, 22:49
Gibbs is a Rolls Royce,
pure footballer,
brought up on footy family,
and Sticks popping around,
to work the toaster.
Dunno about Grigg,
for a molly, he is a strange kick.
PIES_MAGIC
29 May 2008, 23:06
Kicks like bucks
hard like voss
reads it like hird.
lets be honest he will never be a hird or a voss or a buckley, last week i actually sat with the carlton memebers against fremantle and i learnt a couple of things, you dont like jordan russel, gibbs cops it because his weak, and you guys still bag houlihan even though he isnt there. and another thing what makes me laugh you guys give it to fev when he has an off day.
gibbs is shit his no champion no star his shit and has not shown nothing, i dont care how old he is i dont care how many tackles. kreuzer and browne have shown more than gibbs. now what is crap the members i sat around were speaking about gibbs at half time and how he has not developed into the player they thought because they heard he played seniors for the sanfl. now tell the thread what you really think rather than all jump on the ban wagon.
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 23:13
Its about time i finally got some respect around here:cool:. Thy, looks like i have won every1 over already, all that remains is the legendary beast! :D
thylacine60
29 May 2008, 23:16
lets be honest he will never be a hird or a voss or a buckley, last week i actually sat with the carlton memebers against fremantle and i learnt a couple of things, you dont like jordan russel, gibbs cops it because his weak, and you guys still bag houlihan even though he isnt there. and another thing what makes me laugh you guys give it to fev when he has an off day.
gibbs is shit his no champion no star his shit and has not shown nothing, i dont care how old he is i dont care how many tackles. kreuzer and browne have shown more than gibbs. now what is crap the members i sat around were speaking about gibbs at half time and how he has not developed into the player they thought because they heard he played seniors for the sanfl. now tell the thread what you really think rather than all jump on the ban wagon.
You got something right. Incoming.
rolandinho
29 May 2008, 23:27
before we send you back to the homeless shelter, we'll give you the opportunity to have a look at a few previous posts on this thread, including my initial post, you'll find that the people you were talking to would have the similar brain capacity of the caller to SEN. If u decide to change ur mind, i look forward to your next post.
[/b]
You got something right. Incoming.
Thy, although i gave the pie the opportunity to redeem himself, i believe you've already established his punishment! enjoy the bonfire with joffa pies_magic:p
lets be honest he will never be a hird or a voss or a buckley, last week i actually sat with the carlton memebers against fremantle and i learnt a couple of things
You should sit with them more often but listen properly because you need to learn a lot more than just a couple of things
http://i290.photobucket.com/albums/ll241/Riverend/me-me-1.jpg
thylacine60
30 May 2008, 00:07
Solid work, Fiveman. :thumbsu:
Now you're scaring me.
Solid work, Fiveman. :thumbsu:
Now you're scaring me.
Only you would appreciate the sideplay on remember ;)
Team Mo'
30 May 2008, 00:15
^^^^^^^
Fiver please tell me you didn't do all that for two people to see?:confused:
chelseacarlton
30 May 2008, 00:17
i think youve been put in your place by now.
but man that is the worst post ive seen since coming here and it hasnt been that long.
you were only with the carlton members cause your mate, a carlton member,i gather, payed for your cheap inbred retarded a--e:)
igt22265
30 May 2008, 00:28
It just keeps getting dumber!!!!
I am old,
and EFL clubs need some players,
so, when you, pop down the notepads,
DONVALE are down on local players u/15/ u17/colts.
My DONVALE is begging for senior players,
if you are good enough.
Sorry, gang,
my old
boys are in trouble.
thylacine60
30 May 2008, 00:35
It just keeps getting dumber!!!!
I am old,
and EFL clubs need some players,
so, when you, pop down the notepads,
DONVALE are down on local players u/15/ u17/colts.
My DONVALE is begging for senior players,
if you are good enough.
Sorry, gang,
my old
boys are in trouble.
We hafta take the woooord into da street!
didak04
30 May 2008, 00:40
Gibbs is neither the hack that some claim him to be, nor the superstar that others seem to have painted him as within this thread. The shit that the kid cops isn't warranted but to assume that the guy is going to reach the levels of say a Voss or a Hird is absolutely ridiculous. Showing signs of improvement recently but still nowhere near as impressive as a lot of other youngsters in the AFL
PIES_MAGIC
30 May 2008, 00:42
what a bunch of sooks. firstly thy wdf were you on about keep the lecturing and your incoming bullshit to another website this is football. ronaldihno, homeless shelter first not original man you can come up with better shit and actually give a shit about them people because there taking our tax money more and more every year. Five, you can join thy because you havent made a spelling error ever i see dick head. and chelseacarlton dude inbred retarded a--e you are so very new to this. But hey none of this solves that gibbs hasnt done nothing in his career and ios only in the side because he got picked up at number one and is soft like princess houlihan ;) catch ya fellas
igt22265
30 May 2008, 00:43
The greatest Eastern Suburbs Football Team of All.
Self funded, home grown, family club.
^^^^^^^
Fiver please tell me you didn't do all that for two people to see?:confused:
I did it for one person to see - Pie_crap
Q. How long do you think it took? LOL
Clue. Less time than it took Pies_crap to write 6 lines
Is this a little noob bashing Mo?
what a bunch of sooks. firstly thy wdf were you on about keep the lecturing and your incoming bullshit to another website this is football. ronaldihno, homeless shelter first not original man you can come up with better shit and actually give a shit about them people because there taking our tax money more and more every year. Five, you can join thy because you havent made a spelling error ever i see dick head. and chelseacarlton dude inbred retarded a--e you are so very new to this. But hey none of this solves that gibbs hasnt done nothing in his career and ios only in the side because he got picked up at number one and is soft like princess houlihan ;) catch ya fellas
You clever little dick - you made all those mistakes on purpose, to fit in with your Collingwoodifwecould mates
igt22265
30 May 2008, 00:51
I am actually going for a shot.
shorts and shit,
how cool,
I like the sun, the mud, nerds will tell me the rest.
41 is the coolest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
igt22265
30 May 2008, 00:53
A shiny new idiot!!!!!!!!!!
thylacine60
30 May 2008, 01:05
I am actually going for a shot.
shorts and shit,
how cool,
Stick your leg up.............that is the easy bit.
Just about have your code unscrambled. Keep talking, I'll get it. :cool:
igt22265
30 May 2008, 01:08
Response a lot...... is cool.
pansies
30 May 2008, 01:25
Never thought I'd say this but I do agree with one of your points. Yes, Gibbs hasn't done nothing. In other words he has done something.
Damn those double negatives.
igt22265
30 May 2008, 01:27
Total apology.
thylacine60
30 May 2008, 01:28
Never thought I'd say this but I do agree with one of your points. Yes, Gibbs hasn't done nothing. In other words he has done something.
Damn those double negatives.
You didn't think he wouldn't use one did you?
The Cranium
30 May 2008, 01:30
You didn't think he wouldn't use one did you?
Filth don't use plurals....Hence - Tooth, Mullet, Bus Shelter & Dole
thylacine60
30 May 2008, 01:32
Filth don't use plurals....Hence - Tooth, Mullet, Bus Shelter & Dole
Maintaining the rage off the long run!
blues4flag
30 May 2008, 01:42
Gibbs is neither the hack that some claim him to be, nor the superstar that others seem to have painted him as within this thread. The shit that the kid cops isn't warranted but to assume that the guy is going to reach the levels of say a Voss or a Hird is absolutely ridiculous. Showing signs of improvement recently but still nowhere near as impressive as a lot of other youngsters in the AFL
Myth. Gibbs has been doing what those 'youngsters' (who are older than he is) for a year and a half. Not the flash in the pan, 3 top games before disappearing off the radar (Josh Hill is a perfect example) that we see from others, but consistently, week in, week out, being a solid contributor to the team despite being the second youngest player on our list. The 'person' (note the inverted commas) who said Browne has shown he'll be better has shit for brains - I'm a big fan of Browne, but that is a ridiculous assertion.
Question - who would you rate better than Gibbs, thus far, from his draft? The only one I'd rate better so far is Selwood - and playing in the team with apparently the best 3 midfielders in the competition (any more proof that playing in a dominant side makes you look better than you actually are?) has been a hell of a lot easier than the skinnier and younger Gibbs playing for Carlton in 07. Statistically speaking, there's not much seperating the two in 08.
After that, it's Boak, Houli and Westhoff than daylight. Gibbs and Boak are clearly number 2 and 3 thus far from the draft.
Blue Dawn
30 May 2008, 01:46
Get off these boards and go to school ffs! :rolleyes:
thylacine60
30 May 2008, 01:49
Myth. Gibbs has been doing what those 'youngsters' (who are older than he is) for a year and a half. Not the flash in the pan, 3 top games before disappearing off the radar (Josh Hill is a perfect example) that we see from others, but consistently, week in, week out, being a solid contributor to the team despite being the second youngest player on our list. The 'person' (note the inverted commas) who said Browne has shown he'll be better has shit for brains - I'm a big fan of Browne, but that is a ridiculous assertion.
Question - who would you rate better than Gibbs, thus far, from his draft? The only one I'd rate better so far is Selwood - and playing in the team with apparently the best 3 midfielders in the competition (any more proof that playing in a dominant side makes you look better than you actually are?) has been a hell of a lot easier than the skinnier and younger Gibbs playing for Carlton in 07. Statistically speaking, there's not much seperating the two in 08.
After that, it's Boak, Houli and Westhoff than daylight. Gibbs and Boak are clearly number 2 and 3 thus far from the draft.
Like a side-order of OWNED with that? Grouse work. :thumbsu:
igt22265
30 May 2008, 01:54
Get off these boards and go to school ffs! :rolleyes:
too many words.
Caffiened up for an hour or 2.
Yeah, yah!!!!!!!!
igt22265
30 May 2008, 03:55
xxxx
didak04
30 May 2008, 13:26
Like a side-order of OWNED with that? Grouse work. :thumbsu:
yawn
I wouldn't expect anything else from a Carlton fan. If you guys took the blinkers off for a second you may come to realise that Gibbs has done nothing to suggest that he is going to reach superstar status. So all this talk gushing over Gibbs is premature, but i guess i shouldn't expect Blues fans not to be digging and scraping for positives, i mean he was hailed as the messiah when he come to your club.
chelseacarlton
30 May 2008, 13:33
ok your join date was october 07, you beat me by what,lets say one football
month.you blind moronic tool.by the way its he's,or he is,not his shit...
sorry if i offended you.you trolling twat:rolleyes:
rolandinho
30 May 2008, 14:28
yawn
I wouldn't expect anything else from a Carlton fan. If you guys took the blinkers off for a second you may come to realise that Gibbs has done nothing to suggest that he is going to reach superstar status. So all this talk gushing over Gibbs is premature, but i guess i shouldn't expect Blues fans not to be digging and scraping for positives, i mean he was hailed as the messiah when he come to your club.
Isnt it funny how many magpies have come to this thread, attempting to play down certain to become superstar! Just because your team has no talent for the future, no need to be sour about it. Jelousy is a sin!!
one_twelve112
30 May 2008, 14:34
Thanks. Well if i was trying to win over the critics on BF, then i would say that 'he is as useful as that bloody hackland'. :p
But in seriousness i think despite his slow start to his AFL career, he has progressed slowly and is now becoming a solid contributer. Mistkes are still being made. I compare him to a young Simmo who had an even slower start to his career. These running ball carrier types can tend to come on with more experiance as they gain the confidence to back themselves and break the lines a little more, and will often impose themselves more and more as they approach 50 games. Patience and Persistance will give us the player that we needed, when we used our #9 pick.
You are far too rational to be posting on BF. Please leave :D
Bluebear
30 May 2008, 14:37
yawn
Yet Daisy is the next Daicos.......and Brown in the next Rutten.......:rolleyes:
Clearly you haven't watched much of Gibbs. If you haven't been able to watch and see the quality of this kid (just rewatch the round 4 game vs you in case you missed it) then I feel sorry for you........as clearly you are missing one of the great talents emerging.
Do you realise he is only 19 yr and 2 months?
Only Kreuzer is younger on our senior list (by 2 months)
Boak is 7 months older and J Selwood is 10 months older.......both in teams with much stronger midfields.
We are quite happy thanks. Sorry you either can't notice or are unable to acknowledge it.:o
didak04
30 May 2008, 15:05
Yet Daisy is the next Daicos.......and Brown in the next Rutten.......:rolleyes:
Clearly you haven't watched much of Gibbs. If you haven't been able to watch and see the quality of this kid (just rewatch the round 4 game vs you in case you missed it) then I feel sorry for you........as clearly you are missing one of the great talents emerging.
Do you realise he is only 19 yr and 2 months?
Only Kreuzer is younger on our senior list (by 2 months)
Boak is 7 months older and J Selwood is 10 months older.......both in teams with much stronger midfields.
We are quite happy thanks. Sorry you either can't notice or are unable to acknowledge it.:o
I've seen plenty of Gibbs. First of all he does tackle quite well, that much was evident against us, and then again against the dockers. Now many people think that laying tackles equates to being a tough player. Not true. The Davey brothers are also excellent tacklers, not tough players. i also witnessed him turn the ball over no less than 5 times. I've heard mentioned he has the skills of a Nathan Buckley. Absolute garbage.
Not once have i said that Thomas and Brown will become superstars, in fact as recently as 3 weeks ago i was saying that if Thomas didn't perform then he should be sent back to the VFL. I don't need to run around talking up our youngsters, they will develop in due course and supporters prematurely ejaculating over them will do nothing to assist that development. I don't have a crystal ball, no top pick is a certainty to be a superstar. Have you noticed that very few opposition supporters are raving about Gibbs. It isn't envy, it is the ability to make an unbiased judgment of the guy.
Murph_The_Smurf
30 May 2008, 15:42
I've seen plenty of Gibbs. First of all he does tackle quite well, that much was evident against us, and then again against the dockers. Now many people think that laying tackles equates to being a tough player. Not true. The Davey brothers are also excellent tacklers, not tough players. i also witnessed him turn the ball over no less than 5 times. I've heard mentioned he has the skills of a Nathan Buckley. Absolute garbage.
Not once have i said that Thomas and Brown will become superstars, in fact as recently as 3 weeks ago i was saying that if Thomas didn't perform then he should be sent back to the VFL. I don't need to run around talking up our youngsters, they will develop in due course and supporters prematurely ejaculating over them will do nothing to assist that development. I don't have a crystal ball, no top pick is a certainty to be a superstar. Have you noticed that very few opposition supporters are raving about Gibbs. It isn't envy, it is the ability to make an unbiased judgment of the guy.
Hey Collingwood scum piss off!, go watch underbelly with didak give him a few tips , for series 2.
Murph_The_Smurf
30 May 2008, 15:45
yawn
Just a reminder gibbs is in hes second yr , and is improving , thomas burst into A.F.L footy and to all hes credit has had a big impact thus far , but having said that he has not gotten better.
TheGeneral
30 May 2008, 16:09
If Gibbs was on your list, he'd be playing midfield or forward each week and running around chasing kicks like Thomas and Pendlebury. Unfortunately for Gibbs, we have a better midfield than the Pies and he'll just have to bide his time playing down back, the wing and even forward. He's already a better alround footballer than Pendlebury and Gibbs with his work rate, defensive side and tackling.
If you think Gibbs is soft, he had 9 contested possessions against the Hawks in the NAB Cup when he played on the ball with Murphy and played a huge part in our third quarter.
I think he had Mitchell moved off him for Hodge.
I'd rather have the ball in Gibbs' hands for a goal or to hit a forward lace out than Murphy, Judd, Simpson and maybe even Stevens.
He always picks the right options and uses the ball beautifully.
Hence his disposal efficiency of 83% this year.