View Full Version : What are Your Feelings?

Geoff
25 May 2008, 11:52
I am gob smacked. 2008 = Same Old, Same Old. Can I expect 2009 to be any better? What will spark me back into life. 600km drive every match day thinking "Why The Hell". Too many negatives and not enough positives (Positives = WINS not near misses). After 14 years I am on the brink. Any advice?

Freo1995
25 May 2008, 12:11
Our time will come. Just keep on keeping on :thumbsu:

ImperialPurple
25 May 2008, 12:14
The 600ks adds a dimension that most of us members can't really compute Geoff - that's a significant "WTF" to deal with.

I dunno - I want to say "hang in there", but really how / where / when will things turn around??

I'll tell you when - the moment a die-hard such as yourself decides to chuck it in...

Leave it to some other die-hards to be the quitters, and allow karma to work its magic. Keep yourself safe for when it happens. ;)

Hang in there. :)

tigersden_08
25 May 2008, 12:18
An old list with rubbish players. Chris Tarrant is not up to it. he should be playing wafl if he is up to it. Matthew Pavlich is top 5 players in the league but his teammates dont support him. They dont have ne heart.

Cameron_K
25 May 2008, 12:33
I can take people talking their crap but when it complete idiots come onto the Freo board with crap like the above I lose all patience.

Yes, Tarrant was not up to it yesterday or the week before :rolleyes:

I swear people must just think of the first name that comes to mind with Freo and just use them as an example.

I mean Freo could just use the Hawthorn example and go for the tank the next five years?

Lach72
25 May 2008, 12:35
An old list with rubbish players. Chris Tarrant is not up to it. he should be playing wafl if he is up to it. Matthew Pavlich is top 5 players in the league but his teammates dont support him. They dont have ne heart.

You see. This is why cousins shouldn't have children...
Stupid git

Maximus76
25 May 2008, 12:36
the future is there....its the past thats hurting the club..

no offence but mcmanus should have gone years ago..yes he had a couple of good year in 2006 and 2007 but he isnt the future...bell ditto...black...etc

cut them loose..look at the stars in mrs palmer and ibbo youve got from from good picks...

even if johno came at pick 98 i would still rather roll the dice on a rough diamond.

peppy la pew
25 May 2008, 12:43
Soft Geoff, you're not the only country member doing it tough ;)

I still remember the final vs Dees like yesterday,

the atmosphere, the buzz in the crowd,

the Freooo chant absolutely went off, loudest I've ever heard

* sigh, agreed 08 is turtled but fingers crossed for 09 :thumbsu:

ImperialPurple
25 May 2008, 12:44
I agree to a degree maximus.

Johnson should have had no role at our club at all. Macca should have gone at the end of last year. Matt Carr has done the right thing.

But you need some experience - so Bell and Black get another year IMO, as we certainly can't cut that many "older" players and expect 18-19 year olds to pick up the slack.

There's a few mid-age players I cut before Bell and Black.

NiGHTFuRY
25 May 2008, 12:50
I am gob smacked. 2008 = Same Old, Same Old. Can I expect 2009 to be any better? What will spark me back into life. 600km drive every match day thinking "Why The Hell". Too many negatives and not enough positives (Positives = WINS not near misses). After 14 years I am on the brink. Any advice?

Nothing but the upmost respect for ya...:thumbsu: 600 clicks. every match...:eek:
As IP put it, what can you saym, hope for the best... glass is half full.. our destiny will come one day..
I totally empathise where your WTF is coming from.
It will make the maiden premiership all the more sweeter for you one day if you hang in there.
Sadly, season 2008 is one big SNAFU WTF for Fremantle...

Tundrawolf
25 May 2008, 12:51
For me there seems to be an essence of not really being united as a team.

Some of the players appear to be playing for themselves. The same players give away free kicks or 50m penalties at crucial times.

Players who have busted their gut for 90% of the game suddenly stop doing the hard things like blocking, shepherding, tackling and running. Maybe they have a belief that they have done their job and expect someone else to pick up the slack...who knows?

Too much left to too few. Just a handful of players could really say they have had an impact for the entire game, every game.

It's a traversity on this club that guys like Ibbo and Palmer are having such an impact ahead of more seasoned players.

A few senior players(Carr, McManus, Dodd, Farmer) and a lot of "second tier"(Mundy,Schammer, Peake etc) players need to step up and do the same hard things at the end of the game that they do at the start of the game.

And start playing as if you like the players you run on the field with.

Scham
25 May 2008, 13:02
See I wasn't expecting much this year, so I feel ok now. I just keep thinking about the draft picks and that 2010 will be the year. Mark my words Geoff. Finals next year for sure, then GF in 2010. Hang in there buddy...all this disapointment will make it all the more enjoyable when it happens. I know, I followed the Cardies from 1976 and 95 was better than sex! Well nearly anyway.

sumavich
25 May 2008, 13:30
For me there seems to be an essence of not really being united as a team.

Some of the players appear to be playing for themselves. The same players give away free kicks or 50m penalties at crucial times.

Players who have busted their gut for 90% of the game suddenly stop doing the hard things like blocking, shepherding, tackling and running. Maybe they have a belief that they have done their job and expect someone else to pick up the slack...who knows?

Too much left to too few. Just a handful of players could really say they have had an impact for the entire game, every game.

It's a traversity on this club that guys like Ibbo and Palmer are having such an impact ahead of more seasoned players. "Top two posession winners yesterday" quote

A few senior players(Carr, McManus, Dodd, Farmer) and a lot of "second tier"(Mundy,Schammer, Peake etc) players need to step up and do the same hard things at the end of the game that they do at the start of the game.

And start playing as if you like the players you run on the field with.

Post of the year so far !!! So true it hurts, Tundrawolf to take over everything !!!

spEKTre
25 May 2008, 13:35
It seems the Dockers after winning the Western Derby thought they had won the Grand Final and have put disproportionate value on beating the Eagles. Unfortunately both the WA teams are lavishing at the wrong end of the ladder and my hopes of having "some" glory this year have gone out the window.

Treat the Derby as just another game and not the most important clash of the year, look at the finals as being your goal and not just to beat the West Coasters and you may not lose focus on what playing in the AFL is about...finals footy.

Lach72
25 May 2008, 13:45
It seems the Dockers after winning the Western Derby thought they had won the Grand Final and have put disproportionate value on beating the Eagles. Unfortunately both the WA teams are lavishing at the wrong end of the ladder and my hopes of having "some" glory this year have gone out the window.

Treat the Derby as just another game and not the most important clash of the year, look at the finals as being your goal and not just to beat the West Coasters and you may not lose focus on what playing in the AFL is about...finals footy.

Stop trotting out absolute shit.

Chops_a_must
25 May 2008, 13:51

I love it how the Western Derby all of a sudden has become unimportant since the Dockers started kicking your arse on a regular basis. It is more important for Freo than the WCE, simply because there is not too much to be proud about at Freo.

peppy la pew
25 May 2008, 14:01
Stop trotting out absolute shit.

They can't help themselves Lach, they soak up all the crap in the media, then feel the need to regurgitate it here.

Sad thing is, they believe they are educating us :thumbsd:

spEKTre
25 May 2008, 14:04
I love it how the Western Derby all of a sudden has become unimportant since the Dockers started kicking your arse on a regular basis. It is more important for Freo than the WCE, simply because there is not too much to be proud about at Freo.

In all honesty since you broke our winning streak of Derbies and have pretty well evened up the score I would think its obvious that WCE don't treat them as seriously as they once did. The aftermath of hard derbies hurt us for weeks after and really were detrimental to our flag tilt's :D.

Tundrawolf
25 May 2008, 14:21
In all honesty since you broke our winning streak of Derbies and have pretty well evened up the score I would think its obvious that WCE don't treat them as seriously as they once did. The aftermath of hard derbies hurt us for weeks after and really were detrimental to our flag tilt's :D.

So tiresome:mad:

Freeeoo
25 May 2008, 14:25

Flogging the Eagles has actually got boring, I mean everyone's doing it now.

Jetau
25 May 2008, 18:05
I've been waiting all day to reply to your post, Geoff. :o

I feel the same way, except that my round trip isn't anywhere near as long as yours (200km - 4 hours travel including trains from Midland and back). I joined up in 2007 for three reasons:

A) It was the second year I theoretically had a decent income
B) Previously I had been 300km from Perth
C) Rumour was that Freo membership would sell out, and thus I wouldn't be able to pick and choose which games I went to, as I had been doing since 2001.

Now, after two years, I'm starting to wonder whether it's worth it. I'm broke, my seats in 317 suck (no leg room), my wife can't really be bothered coming, and it's a long way home when you've lost. The beginning to this season has been soul destroying. And it seems that you still can get tickets to Freo games quite easily. So I am thinking the same thing, Geoff. I am really going to need to see something to make me join up again next year. I'm really excited about Ibbotson, Palmer and Mayne. Those three are our future. But whether I will be a member in 2009 is yet to be decided. :(

Freo Big Fella
25 May 2008, 18:17
Resignation.

There's clearly something very wrong with the current player group. The coaches are going to need a few years to delist/trade/pension off the deadwood and the uncomitted and build a new side around the Palmers/Ibbos of the future.

Moo
25 May 2008, 18:31
In my case I have no choice who I follow - nor do my kids ...we are Fremantle through and through.

We sing the theme song on match day and most nights before bed, my kids have come up with the routine of everytime someone puts on a piece of Dockers clothing - shirt, hat etc that the anchorman must be kissed by all in the room beofre being donned and we all share purple as our favourite colour.

I could honestly tell you that if Freo never won another game in 20 years - that I would still count myself amongst the Fremantle faithful.

There is no choice - we love the club ...are we stupid for doing so - probably? but at the end of the day as much as we complain about Freo and our own ineptitude ...the fact is we love the club.

What are the other options? Go for West Coast? stop supporting football? It does not cut the mustard ....we are all just like Freo hopelessly flawed.

If it gets to gut wrenching ...take a season off by all means.

The future is not all doom and gloom ...next season we are likely to have 3 palyers in their 30's ..Farmer, Black and MJ. Supplement this with 3 more talented kids to go with the 3 from last season ....with the kids playing and getting used to harvey's gameplan next year it will bring the excitement back.

Whenever I get pissed off - I just look at the Fitzroy fans ....they would love to be in our position of having a club let alone worrying about where it will finish. I could not imagine following another club with the passion I ahve for Freo.

When we win a flag - it will be an absolute top ranking moment in our lives....and lets face it IP, Cam, Rip, NF, WHTP, FBF, Schibizzle, Esty etc - we have come through a lot together and have built genuine online friendships here...we will enjoy it together too.

Schibizzle told me she would streak naked down St Georges Tce when we win the flag - so that is another thing to note in our diaries (we may need to put the hat around for the bail money).

Lach72
25 May 2008, 18:35
Naked you say?

chook2734
25 May 2008, 18:43
In my case I have no choice who I follow - nor do my kids ...we are Fremantle through and through.

We sing the theme song on match day and most nights before bed, my kids have come up with the routine of everytime someone puts on a piece of Dockers clothing - shirt, hat etc that the anchorman must be kissed by all in the room beofre being donned and we all share purple as our favourite colour.

I could honestly tell you that if Freo never won another game in 20 years - that I would still count myself amongst the Fremantle faithful.

There is no choice - we love the club ...are we stupid for doing so - probably? but at the end of the day as much as we complain about Freo and our own ineptitude ...the fact is we love the club.

What are the other options? Go for West Coast? stop supporting football? It does not cut the mustard ....we are all just like Freo hopelessly flawed.

If it gets to gut wrenching ...take a season off by all means.

The future is not all doom and gloom ...next season we are likely to have 3 palyers in their 30's ..Farmer, Black and MJ. Supplement this with 3 more talented kids to go with the 3 from last season ....with the kids playing and getting used to harvey's gameplan next year it will bring the excitement back.

Whenever I get pissed off - I just look at the Fitzroy fans ....they would love to be in our position of having a club let alone worrying about where it will finish. I could not imagine following another club with the passion I ahve for Freo.

When we win a flag - it will be an absolute top ranking moment in our lives....and lets face it IP, Cam, Rip, NF, WHTP, FBF, Schibizzle, Esty etc - we have come through a lot together and have built genuine online friendships here...we will enjoy it together too.

Schibizzle told me she would streak naked down St Georges Tce when we win the flag - so that is another thing to note in our diaries (we may need to put the hat around for the bail money).

Moo, I couldn't have put it any better myself. I have tried to walk away from Freo (and football) on a few occasions when it's all seemed pointless, but it's just not possible.

The memories of 2006 are enough to keep me going for a while yet (hopefully we won't have to wait too long to experience that again).

Just keep holding on Geoff. It will be worth it in the end.

MadMac
25 May 2008, 18:56
My feelings are like Moo's. I'll always stick with my club regardless where they are on the ladder. The current struggle will just make the future premiership even sweeter.

DOCKER CLINT
25 May 2008, 19:12
Let's drink till we cant feel feelings anymore.

Sman-21
25 May 2008, 19:30
2009 we will struggle again.

Going to be a massive cleanout at the end of year.
lots of young kids added to squad needing games and experience.

getting us ready for 2010 onwards.

Will i give up on freo hell no

But if i was travelling 300+ km to watch them i would have to think if the dissapointment is worth it $$$ and might just stick to supporting them on the couch.

Ripper
25 May 2008, 20:58
600kms ? Luuxxuury!;)

Rabbitoh
25 May 2008, 22:26
Geoff could never be accused of Bandwagon jumping, as his commitment has been huge. Fair enough if he doesn't want to sign up again, he's not exactly getting the same commitment from the players at present.600kms is a long day of travel.Someone should probably let the players know about Geoff and others like him.

However. I am sick of people, mates etc, who live metro talking about ripping up their memberships. What are we 12 years old ,people? Having a sook are we?
I have barracked for Fremantle since day dot, and up until a few years ago, could never afford a membership.Bloody stoked to own one now and wouldn't dream of getting rid of it.Actually looking for 3 more together in 108.
I admire the people who were among the 20 odd thousand who turned up to the ground and barracked during the Drum years.Loss after loss, but they still wore their colours, had their favourite players, and were hoarse Monday morning. That is just as huge commitment as Geoffs, and although reward won't come this year, it will one day.Harvey will sort it out, just not as quick as he expected.
St.Kilda , Footscray,Melbourne, Richmondand until last year, Geelong fans have been waiting decades. But I reckon they still turn up [well, maybe Melbourne isn't a great example] and love their team.

Our playing group isn't shit, it just can't get it's shit together. To have Palmer already getting Tagged is exciting; how will he cope with? Is this year going to teach him how to break tags?. Tarrant looks like finally getting form, will see his contract out and be a contributor. Ibbo , BOG yesterday. Mayne, the next Dale Thomas. Macca retiring. Haselby coming back 09. Kepler having a dip, plus we have some good trade- for- picks for next year, and god damn, we may be losing but the games are nail biters. Value there.......the good stuff goes on, just as much as the shit stuff.

They're Fremantle. They're ours. They're worth keeping.

Geoff
25 May 2008, 22:59
600kms ? Luuxxuury!;)

Clarificaion - I am not a "Country Member" Iam a "Full Member" who lives in the country. One who commits to 11 home games per year, but who cares I guess, we are only a number in the scheme of things. And yes our new kids look the goods but so did the kids under Drum and Cuddley and what are they delivering?
Diddly Squat would be the answer.

j0nni
25 May 2008, 23:26
Well I'm just feeling that we gotta wait, It's fustraiting and depressing, just gotta stick with the team and show up to all the games to support them.

Even though I don't see as many games as I'm in Melbourne.

shibz_1989
26 May 2008, 00:11
Soft Geoff, you're not the only country member doing it tough ;)

I still remember the final vs Dees like yesterday,

the atmosphere, the buzz in the crowd,

the Freooo chant absolutely went off, loudest I've ever heard

* sigh, agreed 08 is turtled but fingers crossed for 09 :thumbsu:

Ahhh, that's such a great game to watch after a loss. Brought it on DVD start of last season from the team store.

My feelings? Kind of numb I guess. A bit shattered.

Must say those, these losses will just make the wins, and maybe even a flag in the future (I said MAYBE!!), all the sweeter.

shibz_1989
26 May 2008, 00:18

:o:D

:eek:

summerthebat
26 May 2008, 01:02
Call me a nutcase but I always embrace the emotions after a loss, it's almost comforting in a sense. It's as if every loss we take and we embrace will be transferred in the most sensational rush of emotions when we actually win the league.

Flag or Spoon, Fremantle 'till I die.

bigkev bleeds purple
26 May 2008, 03:05
Now, after two years, I'm starting to wonder whether it's worth it. I'm broke, my seats in 317 suck (no leg room), my wife can't really be bothered coming, and it's a long way home when you've lost. The beginning to this season has been soul destroying. And it seems that you still can get tickets to Freo games quite easily. So I am thinking the same thing, Geoff. I am really going to need to see something to make me join up again next year. I'm really excited about Ibbotson, Palmer and Mayne. Those three are our future. But whether I will be a member in 2009 is yet to be decided. :(

Not only do you have to trek from Northam and put up with the sardine treatment in 317, you have put up with that freakin' idiot in row C who won't shut the hell up! ;) :cool:

But seriously, it's worth it. One of my Fremantle philosophies is that nobody chooses to support Fremantle. Fremantle chooses its supporters. And we were all chosen because we're strong enough to put up with the crap that comes with being a Freo supporter, loyal enough to support the club in the darkest of times and patient enough to wait for our time to come.

In my less optimistic times, I've also considered 'dumb enough to know no different.'

Stick with it. When things get you down, just turn the other cheek. Nothing is strong enough to break the resolve of a true Fremantle supporter :)

Chops_a_must
26 May 2008, 03:05
I admire the people who were among the 20 odd thousand who turned up to the ground and barracked during the Drum years.Loss after loss, but they still wore their colours, had their favourite players, and were hoarse Monday morning. That is just as huge commitment as Geoffs, and although reward won't come this year, it will one day.Harvey will sort it out, just not as quick as he expected.

I was one of them. Was one of 17/16000??? at the worst. Have been a member since 95 thanks to the folks, being a kidlet and all, and now obviously giving my own money over.

Seen it all before unfortunately. But now, unlike the Drum years, there are young excitement machines. And if you can't bear to watch the team, just go to watch the young guns. :) I've also found taking an interest in our players in the WAFL, helps take the mind off it.

Come on Easts next week. Who else is going?

Jetau
26 May 2008, 10:50
Not only do you have to trek from Northam and put up with the sardine treatment in 317, you have put up with that freakin' idiot in row C who won't shut the hell up! ;) :cool:

But seriously, it's worth it. One of my Fremantle philosophies is that nobody chooses to support Fremantle. Fremantle chooses its supporters. And we were all chosen because we're strong enough to put up with the crap that comes with being a Freo supporter, loyal enough to support the club in the darkest of times and patient enough to wait for our time to come.

In my less optimistic times, I've also considered 'dumb enough to know no different.'

Stick with it. When things get you down, just turn the other cheek. Nothing is strong enough to break the resolve of a true Fremantle supporter :)

I'm right at the back of the block, row T, so I doubt I could hear you. Seriously, those are awful seats for legroom. The very back row, which is behind us, has heaps more legroom. But when everyone packs in around me it's very claustrophobic. I wonder if it would be worth down-grading to budget next year? Couldn't be any worse. :eek:

And that is good advice about the young players, chops_a_must. To give a specific example, I have been absolutely downtrodden about our pathetic attempt at clearances for what--4/5 years now? I look at a player like Sam Mitchell and say, 'Geez, if we had him we might go somewhere.'

And then I see a young kid by the name of Rhys Palmer winning a hard ball, burning off a would be tackler and pumping the ball inside forward fifty. It's just about been worth going this year to see him, Ibbo and Mayne. Chopper Mayne took a hanger in the goalsquare at the Subi end a few games back. What an amazing moment that was! Here's to plenty more. :thumbsu: