View Full Version : Expansion AFL V RL on 60 minutes tonight, DON'T MISS
jackmac7
25 May 2008, 12:47
AFL's Billion dollar raid on RL hearland is hotting up airing on 60 minutes tonight.
Funkalicous
25 May 2008, 14:05
Nice, although isn't 60 Minutes owned by PBL? Could be a bit fishy...
Ricardo
25 May 2008, 14:24
From the add it looked like another 'they're invading us' type story, and where did the 'Billion dollar' come from :confused:
gostk86
25 May 2008, 17:43
its a typical afl pro story, league is doomed etc.... they wont say that league has more juniors, also taking afl into private schools hahaha aru wont let that happen
What a way to end this week. If you didn't know any better you would say it all has been stage managed quite nicely.
steviewonder36
25 May 2008, 18:33
I hope is an impartial and unbiased story.
60 mins is a Sydney based show, and on a network devoted to broadcasting RL since how long now.
No doubt it will be broadcast from the Sydney point of view then.
Father Jack
25 May 2008, 18:59
I'm guessing the Titans coach will get his head on. Always good for hysterical quote, that feller.
"I fully support an AFL code, I have always said it would be great for the Gold Coast Community. But they are the devil's spawn yes should fear, for naught but the most squalid abborations shalt escape the cursed vacuum of the nine hells should it ever actually come here. Lock up your babies just in case."
Politics 101 from Yes Minister. In order to destroy something, you must first appear to support it. Otherwise, you appear as if you fear it. After all, you must get behind something, before you can stab it in the back.
ringleader
25 May 2008, 19:50
60 mins is a Sydney based show, and on a network devoted to broadcasting RL since how long now.
No doubt it will be broadcast from the Sydney point of view then.
60 minutes has never had an impartial and unbiased story in it's history.
This is a story that looks like it's been bought and paid for by the AFL.
Father Jack
25 May 2008, 20:51
If they bring up regional TV ratings then I guess we can assume they did their research on a website not a million miles away ...
mate, its 60 minutes
even if it wasnt on the league network, they havent been impartial and unbiased since day dot
CarltonFan
25 May 2008, 21:09
oh nOeS!!! We arE stEaLinG tHe kIdS fRoM rUgbY lEaGue!!! NooooOOOooO!!!!11!!!!1!!
Demonoid
25 May 2008, 21:27
Well, now that its all over....it seemed to be an unbiased piece, with all sides getting a say. I loved Andrew Demetriou's comment when Peter Overton asked him if they would not stop until they became number one, to which Andrew replied "I think we already are"(!!!!)
Gold
Also, the last line was significant from the footy mum...."the game is Australian as vegemite"
If that is the case, then Peter Overton, you should be embarrased as it looked like you have never held a football before when you were playing kick to kick with Jack and Roberts-Thompson. What a wanker!
jackmac7
25 May 2008, 21:32
That mother threw in a ripper line at the end there-
"Aussie rules is as Australian as Vegemite and our kids should be growing up on it".
Billy Brownless had some good ones too at a Storm game-
"RL is 12 Gorillas on this side and 12 Gorillas on the other side and they just run into each other"
"Aussie rules is Intelligent and Exciting"
"We've been here 25 minutes and it's 0-0 all, it's a bit like soccer"
Keiran Jack on Aussie Rules-
"It's Free flowing and exciting"
Andrew Demetriou-
"Last time I checked we were #1"
FootyJunkie
25 May 2008, 21:40
I loved Andrew Demetriou's comment when Peter Overton asked him if they would not stop until they became number one, to which Andrew replied "I think we already are"(!!!!)
Gold!
Rare Gold from Vlad.
littleduck
25 May 2008, 21:42
Well, now that its all over....it seemed to be an unbiased piece, with all sides getting a say.Yeah, I suppose so.
I loved Andrew Demetriou's comment when Peter Overton asked him if they would not stop until they became number one, to which Andrew replied "I think we already are"(!!!!)
GoldHe answered the wrong question.
Also, the last line was significant from the footy mum...."the game is Australian as vegemite" Why "significant"?
AFL is a game invented in Victoria, Australia and deserves its Australian-made label. However, my view on this issue is not with the fact of AFL being Australian-made, but rather the view that this somehow gives AFL a competitive advantage over the un-Australian RL. This view is nonsense.
The reality is that RL is the traditional brand of football for NSW and QLD, whereas Aussie Rules is effectively an imported brand from a foreign jurisdiction, namely Victoria.
The further reality is that AFL national expansion is succeeding where NRL national expansion is back in the too hard basket.
If that is the case, then Peter Overton, you should be embarrased as it looked like you have never held a football before when you were playing kick to kick with Jack and Roberts-Thompson. What a wanker!Kicking red sherrins front-on remains something new and un-natural for the people of NSW and QLD. It's a novelty. Kicking grubbers into the in-goal, putting up bombs for yoiur chasers, and finding touch comes naturally.
jackmac7
25 May 2008, 21:47
You would be worried as a RL fan after watching that and listening to comments from Matty Geyer about RL losing so many kids to Aussie rules in Sydney.
littleduck
25 May 2008, 21:58
You would be worried as a RL fan after watching that and listening to comments from Matty Geyer about RL losing so many kids to Aussie rules in Sydney.
Of course you would.
There is also a thread on LU ( Rugby League forum ) discussing the same thing, EG the report on 60 minutes regarding AFL vs NRL.
When Billy Brownless described the game as a bunch of gorillas on one side and a bunch of gorillas on the other side and a banana in the middle...he wasnt far from the truth.
Us all have been very calm and unmoved discussing the report on this thread
But the reaction, the abuse and sh1t that the RL posters on their Rugby League forum have posted has proven that not only do they play like gorillas but they have the same mentality
Amusing stuff, great for a laugh :D
For all those RL trolls that complain about Aussie Rule posters have a read of the filth from your own kind...
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=200838
CarltonFan
25 May 2008, 22:10
i love all the language the sydney media use,
AFL is 'stealing' the kids
AFL is committing 'war'
If a kid in Melbourne started playing league we dont hear about 'oh no they are stealing our kids it was etc...'
the kids are not owned by anyone, AFL/ Football/ League/ Tennis etc.. are all sport options kids should have access to, and make there own choice of which ones they want to play. end of, stop having a cry you wankers.
Cheers for the link Ares, haven't had a read of LU for weeks. Still pretty much the same blend of bigotry, homophobia, paranoia, and sheer terror that it was last time I had a look.
Those guys really need to get out more. They must all sit at home shaking, repeating to themselves 'NRL is number 1, NRL is number 1'.
magpie_man
25 May 2008, 22:14
Well, now that its all over....it seemed to be an unbiased piece, with all sides getting a say.
yep.
"Aussie rules is as Australian as Vegemite and our kids should be growing up on it".
Billy Brownless had some good ones too at a Storm game-
"RL is 12 Gorillas on this side and 12 Gorillas on the other side and they just run into each other"
"Aussie rules is Intelligent and Exciting"
"We've been here 25 minutes and it's 0-0 all, it's a bit like soccer"
Keiran Jack on Aussie Rules-
"It's Free flowing and exciting"
Andrew Demetriou-
"Last time I checked we were #1"
Why "significant"?
AFL is a game invented in Victoria, Australia and deserves its Australian-made label. However, my view on this issue is not with the fact of AFL being Australian-made, but rather the view that this somehow gives AFL a competitive advantage over the un-Australian RL. This view is nonsense.
as much as you want to talk around it and mitigate against it LD, aussie rules is australian made, and rugby league was invented in england.
to us, that is important, and something to be proud of.
and as much as you may think it nonsense, selling australian made products to australians is generally easier, and that might end up as some sort of comparative advantage over english sports
Demonoid
25 May 2008, 22:18
There is also a thread on LU ( Rugby League forum ) discussing the same thing, EG the report on 60 minutes regarding AFL vs NRL.
When Billy Brownless described the game as a bunch of gorillas on one side and a bunch of gorillas on the other side and a banana in the middle...he wasnt far from the truth.
But the reaction, the abuse and sh1t that the RL posters on their Rugby League forum have posted has proven that not only do they play like gorillas but they have the same mentality
For all those RL trolls that complain about Aussie Rule posters have a read of the filth from your own kind...
While I am all for AFL expansion and eventual domination...methinks that if the NRL were invading our territory (I mean proper invading...not the News Limited Storm), then we would be acting like gorillas too...
littleduck
25 May 2008, 22:21
as much as you want to talk around it and mitigate against it LD, aussie rules is australian made, and rugby league was invented in england.
to us, that is important, and something to be proud of.
I'm with you so far.
and as much as you may think it nonsense, selling australian made products to australians is generally easierRL has been here for 100 years mate embraced by 10's of millions of Australians spanning multiple generations. That makes RL a great Australian past-time on any criteria.
As a result, AFL being Australian-made does not give it a competitive advantage against RL in its so-called developing non-heartland expansion states.
Great fluff piece for both codes clearly directed at their heartlands Melbourne get to hear how AFL is dominating in RL hearland while RL in it's heartland Sydney get protrayed as defender of their code which motivates Sydney people to go an support their local NRL rugby team. Brilliant both codes come out of the story with what they want the public to hear AFL is expanding for all the AFL devotees, while Rugby people get their point across to RL devotees if you don't come an support we will die and be taken over AFL.
Dasher39
25 May 2008, 22:30
I thought the report was biased towards the AFL.
Also, whilst the "war" is mainly AFL vs NRL, there was no mention of the other Football code who is "stealing" juniors of both of the codes.
If they're going to do a report on the "Turf War" do it properly and cover it from all angles.
How much did the AFL pay for that I wonder?
Professor Knowall
25 May 2008, 22:36
There is also a thread on LU ( Rugby League forum ) discussing the same thing, EG the report on 60 minutes regarding AFL vs NRL. ...
Us all have been very calm and unmoved discussing the report on this thread. But the reaction, the abuse and sh1t that the RL posters on their Rugby League forum have posted has proven that not only do they play like gorillas but they have the same mentality
Good God!! :eek::eek::eek:
Is that for real? This is the first time I've ever read a rugby league forum (BTW - is it a major RL forum, or some minor cult or prison forum? What sort of modes do they have - if any at all?). Those guys (to be kind to them), seem like frustrated hate filled jihad suicide terrorists - and the paranoia is unbelievable (and this time I'm not joking).
Now, I think I can understand why RL trolls infest this site instead for some reasonable debate. Check out the treatment the Storm supporter who tries to be a bit reasonable cops - Why bother? Who could put up with that filth (apart from the filthy)??
Is our "friend" ParraNOID, one of that pile of demented juvenile garbage?
And, yes, what do the RL trolls here think of that mind numbing trash??
Yeah, I suppose so.
AFL is a game invented in Victoria, Australia and deserves its Australian-made label. However, my view on this issue is not with the fact of AFL being Australian-made, but ratherthe view that this somehow gives AFL a competitive advantage over the un-Australian RL. This view is nonsense.
The reality is that RL is the traditional brand of football for NSW and QLD, whereas Aussie Rules is effectively an imported brand from a foreign jurisdiction, namely Victoria.
For your information Australian football has been played traditionally in NSW for 100 years, despite the fact 60 minutes proclaimed the Australian football began in Sydney with the Sydney Swans 25 years ago. Maybe traditional NSW towns in the Riverina just don't exist through your eyes or the founding fathers of the game were not actually from NSW but another colony.
The fact that this history, such as the Australian Football Jubilee played at the SCG 100 years ago, has been forgotten about shows that channel 9 has a prejudice against Aussie Rules. AFL, which is an entire sport apparently, is the evil sport which has come to destroy rugby league. Laughable that the report didn't even mention soccer, the game which literally competes for the same fields as rugby league.
The NRL has been revealed for what it is, a league built on poker machines and arm chair fans. Maybe when deluded NRL fans wake up to this and stop blaming the AFL they will have solutions to their favorite league's problems.
MickyCrow
25 May 2008, 22:45
Jesus, I love my Aussie Rules, but have plenty of time for League and Union as well... but those guys really are a mob of sooks. What a hilarious read
For the record I thought it was a very good piece:thumbsu:
I think you will find most league fans are frustrated and angry at the lack of action from our "leaders".
steviewonder36
25 May 2008, 22:49
I'm with you so far.
RL has been here for 100 years mate embraced by 10's of millions of Australians spanning multiple generations. That makes RL a great Australian past-time on any criteria.
As a result, AFL being Australian-made does not give it a competitive advantage against RL in its so-called developing non-heartland expansion states.
Lol, '10 of million's of Australians' equals our countries population.
You are not shy when you go about exaggerating your game are you!
Doesn't matter if your game has been here 100 years or not, it is still a foreign game introduced into Australia. Whether you like it or not!
Just like our national game, cricket. Fair dinkum I can't believe you clowns try and claim some moral ground on this BS argument.:rolleyes::rolleyes:
jackmac7
25 May 2008, 23:11
Also, whilst the "war" is mainly AFL vs NRL, there was no mention of the other Football code who is "stealing" juniors of both of the codes.
If they're going to do a report on the "Turf War" do it properly and cover it from all angles.
It's a bit hard when Soccer doesn't really have any turf aside from the Hunter Valley. Maybe they will run another program in 3 years time including Soccer.
AFL probably paid nothing considering Channel 9 who broadcast RL was running the show and out of Sydney as well. It was an honest Assessment of the AFL invading RL Heartland.
Matty Geyer said all his RL juniors were being poached by Aussie Rules if I heard correctly.:rolleyes:
Good news for AFL fans if you watched that. Mum's the word!
Classic line from that Mother at the end-
"It's as Aussie as Vegemite and our kids should be growing up on it"
Captain Afterworld
25 May 2008, 23:16
As with everything done by 60 Minutes it was just tabloid dross. Wish I could get my 15 minutes back.
As for those zealots on League Unlimited, they should of years ago renamed that site Brains Limited.
Father Jack
25 May 2008, 23:17
The simple comment of Demetriou's stating that Aussie Rules is the number one sport is at the core of the argument. We are, and we want to stay that way. We don't need to kill RL, nor do we have that level of disrespect for the game that we'd want to. We simply want to be number one, and promoting the game in the fastest growing areas of the country seems like a bloody good way of going about it.
diesel and dust
25 May 2008, 23:17
to quote the chief....."that's gold" :D there's some funny stuff there
glad to see they saw through the bias and hype and are totally unthreatened and took it in their stride :p
Captain Afterworld
25 May 2008, 23:20
Off topic perhaps but is the camsmith on that site the same guy as the camsmith on this site?
It's not just that thread.
Last count there were 14 out of 30 threads on their main board related to AFL/channel 9 having an agenda against their code/Gallop selling them short/It's war(relating to fighting AFL etc/Turf War...
P A R A N O I A ! ! :eek:
camsmith
25 May 2008, 23:21
Tell me about it. Try and have a serious discussion and you get images of drag queens and words like poof and homo thrown your way.
They have issues.
All they do is crap on about TV ratings.
camsmith
25 May 2008, 23:23
Off topic perhaps but is the camsmith on that site the same guy as the camsmith on this site?
Yep. Thats me trying to talk some, any, sense into them :rolleyes:
camsmith
25 May 2008, 23:25
They are so keen to go "to war" with AFL and talking about "battles" etc..
It's weird.
Professor Knowall
25 May 2008, 23:29
I think you will find most league fans are frustrated and angry at the lack of action from our "leaders".
Then get a divorce from that News Ltd run English code and just embrace our great Australian game (afterall, you're already on an AFL forum). Once you get through the grieving process for what you left behind, you'll feel so much better! ;)
Father Jack
25 May 2008, 23:32
I have spent a bit of time over at LU, but the silly bastards seem to simply have cut'n'paste responses to everything. Gets tiresome very quickly.
Edit: This is pretty much the standard:
Welcome to the War If it's not Yawnion it's GayFL! Just remember hate leads to the dark side and once your there you can't go back
Say it with me 'I HATE AFL'.......now I feel better
Captain Afterworld
25 May 2008, 23:33
Yep. Thats me trying to talk some, any, sense into them :rolleyes:
I think you've got a better chance of selling ice to eskimos.
Professor Knowall
25 May 2008, 23:33
Tell me about it. Try and have a serious discussion and you get images of drag queens and words like poof and homo thrown your way.
They have issues.
Look, I admire your'e persistance and moderation in the face of utter garbage abuse and lack of any knowledge. But as I said on the previous page here (when I referred to you) - Why bother? Who could put up with that filth (apart from the filthy)??
And - Is our "friend" ParraNOID, one of that pile of demented juvenile garbage?
And what do the RL trolls here think of that mind numbing trash??
Been there done that.
I may be on an AFL forum, but I'm always here talking league.
By the way someone tell Brownless there are 13 players on a league team not 12. Glad he had his tongue in his cheek when he mentioned AFL being scientific. :p
And it was Mark Geyer talking about juniors being poached.
What a bunch of hypocrites you lot are, if AFL was being constantly attacked as league has been you'd all be pissed off as well. Don't even claim you wouldn't. Look how you react when someone attacks your team.
They have issues.
Yeah, I've been reading their sh1te for a while now, have created an alias to post, but everytime I back down.
Not worth it, they are trulybackwards.
Simpletons, just like their game ;)
(In all honesty, I dont really care about "a code" I'll watch anything...but their attitude makes me resort to smart arse comments/threads etc , but never resort to their level of filth.)
Dasher39
25 May 2008, 23:38
It's a bit hard when Soccer doesn't really have any turf aside from the Hunter Valley.That's because Soccer is a national game, not a game that has yet to really spread to all areas of the country like AFL and NRL.
Matty Geyer said all his RL juniors were being poached by Aussie Rules if I heard correctly.:rolleyes:That was Mark Geyer, not Matt Geyer. Although they are brothers. But Mark has a bit of a reputation for being a bit of a "Dial-a-Quote'.
Good news for AFL fans if you watched that. Mum's the word!
Classic line from that Mother at the end-
"It's as Aussie as Vegemite and our kids should be growing up on it"Well good news for Soccer fans as well then, because on the Offsiders this morning Gerard Whately declared he sees Soccer as becoming the #1 national Football code.
Father Jack
25 May 2008, 23:40
That's because Soccer is a national game, not a game that has yet to really spread to all areas of the country like AFL and NRL.
That was Mark Geyer, not Matt Geyer. Although they are brothers. But Mark has a bit of a reputation for being a bit of a "Dial-a-Quote'.
Well good news for Soccer fans as well then, because on the Offsiders this morning Gerard Whately declared he sees Soccer as becoming the #1 national Football code.
Only in the sense that the Socceroos are the #1 national football team, I'd imagine. Otherwise it doesn't make much sense.
camsmith
25 May 2008, 23:42
I think you've got a better chance of selling ice to eskimos.
True.
Look, I admire your'e persistance and moderation in the face of utter garbage abuse and lack of any knowledge. But as I said on the previous page here (when I referred to you) - Why bother? Who could put up with that filth (apart from the filthy)??
And - Is our "friend" ParraNOID, one of that pile of demented juvenile garbage?
And what do the RL trolls here think of that mind numbing trash??
Fair point. I had a go at the start but meh, they are too irrational to bother trying to have a sensible conversation with.
camsmith
25 May 2008, 23:46
Well good news for Soccer fans as well then, because on the Offsiders this morning Gerard Whately declared he sees Soccer as becoming the #1 national Football code.
Not internally, it wont. The A-league will never be as popular as AFL.
Internationally, of course. But even then, if we had 22 international games a year there wouldn't be a consistent big crowd every time imo.
What a bunch of hypocrites you lot are, if AFL was being constantly attacked as league has been you'd all be pissed off as well. Don't even claim you wouldn't. Look how you react when someone attacks your team.
Attacked by whom??
Understand this, no one is attacking anyone.
AFL is expanding their game.
They started expanding many years ago when the Swans moved North.
What's all this drivel about turf war etc
Your game is in crisis not because of AFL but becaus e they can not sustain that many clubs in NSW, crowd attendance is sh1te, tv money is poor etc
Plug up the holes in your code before even thinking about other codes
Professor Knowall
25 May 2008, 23:49
Who is "constantly attacking" league? Can you provide a link to even one anti-league article from the Melbourne press? (like the many anti-AFL articles from Sydney we have in the thread dedicated to that topic) from Sydney
Rugby league supporters are blaming everyone else (but mainly the "evil" AFL ) except themselves for their own self created problems. That will get them nowhere - just more misery.
Time to set yourself free from all the bitterness and angst and just embrace our great Australian game! ;)
As much as you lot think us RL people fear AFL the reality is we don't. Envious of your administrators, yes. Worried about you lot taking over, no.
I'm talking about the constant media attacks which are creating a negative perception of RL by constantly deayh riding it, it's been particularly bad this week. Clubs dieing, AFL buying ANZ blah, blah.
Mate I've lived in Melbourne for 25 years ad well remember the days when all media outlets ignored RL's very existence, that was until a brawl or something negative happened and suddenly it was all over the media.:rolleyes:
but the NRL isnt under attack.
yet you paranoid trolls are shitting yourselves and acting like you are
i wouldnt waste my time over at TFC trying to convince ____ing dipshits that the really stupid bullshit they continually spout is just that....
why do you?
media outlets ignored RL's very existence
Ignored RL??? What is wrong with you RL supporters? RL Mentality :thumbsd:
Mate there was no freakin RL team in Melbourne, why would fanatical Aussie Rules supporters care about RL??
Now that there is a team in Storm, there is an interest and its increasing ( slow but steady)
As much as you lot think us RL people fear AFL the reality is we don't.
Been on LU lately?? Read the NSW papers, heard the radio in NSW etc
You guys sleep in fear, eat fear and wake up in fear...like a 11 year old girl in the middle of a forest, all alone...Boo! ( Sorry to startle you)
Don't be ignorant your whole life mate. The newspapers wouldn't give results, no coverage unless it perpetuated the negative image built up about the game. I lived in sydney before the Swans and I could watch a live Saturday game from Melbourne and the results were always in the sports wrap on the News. Then again Sydney's always been more open minded then provincial Melbourne.
Bouvet_Island
26 May 2008, 00:37
That would be the same Vegemite that is owned by a US company, would it?
Anthony_
26 May 2008, 01:28
Who cares what fans of that English game called Rugby League think. :confused:
I don't. (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=437276) :D
Deefolt
26 May 2008, 01:46
Don't be ignorant your whole life mate. The newspapers wouldn't give results, no coverage unless it perpetuated the negative image built up about the game. I lived in sydney before the Swans and I could watch a live Saturday game from Melbourne and the results were always in the sports wrap on the News. Then again Sydney's always been more open minded then provincial Melbourne.
umm provincial... sorry???
last time i checked melbourne has an amazing amount of leagues/sports/teams in this state..... you can not have typed that sydney is more open then melbourne with a straight face
jackmac7
26 May 2008, 02:06
Well good news for Soccer fans as well then, because on the Offsiders this morning Gerard Whately declared he sees Soccer as becoming the #1 national Football code.[/quote]
Gerard Whately???????????????????????????
Credibility- ???????????????????
Internationally they have the potential to be bigger than the Wallabies.
In Australia, The A-league???????:eek:
hmmmmmmm. I better not go there.:D
jackmac7
26 May 2008, 02:08
That would be the same Vegemite that is owned by a US company, would it?
Would you argue that Vegemite is american?
I wonder how many yanks have tried it?
And you call yourself an Aussie.
AusTerran
26 May 2008, 04:10
Would you argue that Vegemite is american?
I wonder how many yanks have tried it?
And you call yourself an Aussie.
Vegemite is owned by Kraft. Kraft is an American company.
So, Vegemite is American...
diesel and dust
26 May 2008, 04:20
Vegemite is owned by Kraft. Kraft is an American company.
So, Vegemite is American...
yeah and manchester united is owned by malcolm glazer.he is an american
so manchester united is american
you make total sense :confused:
AuckMel
26 May 2008, 05:41
What a crack up.
Great thread.
Says who? I can't believe you have lived in Melbourne for 25 years and believe that. Its obvious that you come from Sydney then because your mind is about as open as a nun's pair of legs.
I never watch 60 mins so this was no exception. But I'm just wondering why do people care which code is No.1 in the country or anywhere else. I follow certain sports because I like them, not because of how many other people follow it.
Another stupid topic by 60 minutes...might as well kill the show since there's nothing decent to report.
PS. Demetriou is still a ________, regardless what he says :D
Father Jack
26 May 2008, 08:20
Turf War
Sunday, May 25, 2008
http://sixtyminutes.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=567872
Reporter: Peter Overton
Producer: Damien Comerford and Nick Greenaway
It's war!
The Titans of Australian sport are at it hammer and tongs - fighting for new territory, new fans.
The first shots were fired by the AFL when the Swans invaded Sydney.
Then rugby league retaliated, sending the Storm troopers into Melbourne.
Mere skirmishes. Now it's getting serious.
Aussie Rules has its sights on the rugby league heartland, launching new teams in western Sydney and on the Gold Coast.
And the stakes are astronomical with millions and millions of dollars in revenue up for grabs.
So, stand by for the mother of all battles for the hearts, minds and pockets of Australian footy fans.
Full transcript
INTRODUCTION PETER OVERTON: It's war! The Titans of Australian sport are at it hammer and tongs fighting for new territory, new fans. The first shots were fired by the AFL when the Swans invaded Sydney. Then rugby league retaliated, sending the Storm troopers into Melbourne. Mere skirmishes. Now it's getting serious. Aussie Rules has its sights on the rugby league heartland, launching new teams in western Sydney and on the Gold Coast. And the stakes are astronomical with millions and millions of dollars in revenue up for grabs. So, stand by for the mother of all battles for the hearts, minds and pockets of Australian footy fans.
STORY PETER OVERTON: It's Saturday in the heart of rugby league country, but these kids are playing a very different game. This is the birthplace of teams like Sydney's famous Rabbitohs, but AFL is taking over. The Maroubra Saints is now one of the fastest-growing junior sporting clubs in the entire country.
MUM 1: Good boy, Johnny, go Johnny! PETER OVERTON: You guys really get into this, don't you?
MUM 1: Yeah, we love it. Look forward to it for the whole week.
PETER OVERTON: Aussie Rules is what mums like Tanya Oziel and Christine Foote want their kids to play.
MUM 1: We followed the Swans, we used to go to the games and he woke up one day and he said "Mum, I want to play AFL."
MUM 2: All kids have to make a choice. He's 12, just started high school. AFL or Rugby League? And he said "AFL all the way."
PETER OVERTON: Out in Western Sydney, rugby league stalwart Mark Geyer is seeing the AFL invasion first hand.
Aussie Rules is stealing kids away from his game at such a rate he fears for the future.
MARK GEYER: They're coming to get us and if we don't show some sort of resistance before you and I know it they'll take over.
PETER OVERTON: You use words like 'missile', 'infiltrate', you speak like its a war ?
MARK GEYER: Well that's the mentality we've got to have. I regard AFL as a very slow-moving Tsunami coming to engulf rugby league.
PETER OVERTON: It may start with the kids but this is where the real war is being fought. Hundreds of millions of dollars is at stake in sponsorship and television rights. And in this bitter fight for the hearts and minds of Australia's sporting public, traditional loyalties are being tested and old allegiances broken.
COMMENTATOR: We are under way now, and Sydney will take it away...
PETER OVERTON: I would never imagine seeing you at an AFL game on a Sunday afternoon?
GARRY JACK: No Mate. If you'd told me 20 years ago, I would've thought you were joking. But ah, yeah, I'm here most weeks when they play at the SCG.
PETER OVERTON: If you needed proof of the new football landscape, just take a look at the Jack family.
COMMENTATOR: Jack to the line! Jack will score.... Jack giving chase, and Jack's got him.
PETER OVERTON: Garry Jack is a rugby league legend. So, the hill used to be over there, didn't it?
GARRY JACK: That's it. Right over there.
PETER OVERTON: But today, he's at the SCG to watch his son Kieren - a rising star for the Sydney Swans.
COMMENTATOR: Jack can play on, Sydney's first for the quarter and the crowd come alive. Kieren JACK: I came across this game of AFL, that was so free flowing and I just enjoyed so much, for me, the decision was pretty easy in the end because I was just loving it.
PETER OVERTON: What was it like for you when Kieren said - "I want to play Australian rules"?
GARRY JACK: He didn't actually say that... He sort of said "How would you feel, dad, if I didn't play league next year I just played Aussie rules? How would you feel? And I said... Kieren JACK: Tell the truth.
GARRY JACK: I said... "OK", I said "OK, if you want to" I didn't blow up, did I?
Did I blow up? Kieren JACK: Oh, I can't remember.
PETER OVERTON: I think that was a "Yes"
GARRY JACK: No, no, no. I said, "If you want to you can." But I thought he'd just play it for a year and come back to league. Bad judge, aren't I?
COMMENTATOR: He lines it up from 45... he needs it to hold its line, it does!
PETER OVERTON: The name of the game is to get bums on seats and the Sydney Swans are pretty good at it now. It's taken them 25 years but today's crowd is just under 30,000. About average for a home game at the SCG and enough to make a rugby league administrator very envious. It's little wonder, then, that the AFL is pushing so hard for a second Sydney team as well as a new one on the Gold Coast.
ANDREW DEMETRIOU: I think what we want for our code is to make sure that, in the two fastest-growing markets in this country, the Gold Coast and western Sydney, that AFL football has a presence there.
PETER OVERTON: So it's a fight against the NRL?
ANDREW DEMETRIOU: They're your words Peter, they're not mine. We've been talking about this for the best part of 4 or 5 years.
PETER OVERTON: If this is war, Andrew Demetriou is the AFL's Commander-in-Chief. Andrew, is this about greed, empire building? The AFL will do whatever it takes no matter the cost?
ANDREW DEMETRIOU: I don't think it's anything to do with greed. It is about growing our code and we will do what we have to do to support our investment.
PETER OVERTON: But the reality is you want to be number one.
ANDREW DEMETRIOU: I think we already are, Peter, last time I checked.
COMMENTATOR: Thurston chips over the top and ... what a moment!
PETER OVERTON: Facing off against Demetriou is league boss David Gallop. In its centenary year, rugby league's taking some big hits - clubs in financial crisis, stagnant crowds - but Gallop is standing his ground. Are you saying to the AFL - "Come and try and get our turf but do so your peril?"
DAVID GALLOP: You're coming into our territory there's no doubt about that. The numbers reflect that we dominate. We'll continue to put our foot on the pedal and good luck to you coming into our territory.
PETER OVERTON: The NRL is fighting back. Shoring up its turf in Queensland with the new Gold Coast Titans. But in traditional AFL territory the going is a lot tougher. Melbourne Storm came to Victoria 11 years ago and has won two premierships. So what is your basic interpretation of rugby league rules?
BILLY BROWNLESS: Ah, 12 gorillas this side 12 gorillas that side they run at each other. And whoever is the biggest gorilla gets the bananas.
PETER OVERTON: But, according to AFL legend Billy Brownless, league will never be more than a novelty here.
BILLY BROWNLESS: There's no science, not a lot of Pythagoras's theorem or anything to it, not a lot of science. You just get it and run and crash.
PETER OVERTON: Are you saying that AFL is full of science?
BILLY BROWNLESS: Yes! A lot more intelligent. A lot more exciting to watch.
PETER OVERTON: We've only been here five minutes.
BILLY BROWNLESS: We've been here 20 minutes and the score is 0-0. It's a bit like soccer.
MATT GEYER: My name is Matt Geyer, I've been here for 11 years. I'm one of the old guys as you can see.
PETER OVERTON: It is this entrenched prejudice that has convinced the NRL the best way to win converts is at the grass roots.
MATT GEYER: (To group of kids) Do you want to learn how to do that?
KIDS REPLY: Yes!!
PETER OVERTON: What do you know about rugby league.
BOY 1: I know it can be a rough game.
BOY 2: I know Matt Geyer debuted 1997, played for 11 years, retiring this year.
PETER OVERTON: How do you know all that?
BOY 2: Just do.
PETER OVERTON: Would you like to play rugby league?
BOY 2: Yeah.
PETER OVERTON: So what team will you guys be following in rugby league?
ALL KIDS IN UNISON: The Melbourne Storm.
PETER OVERTON: It's what the AFL has been doing for years. Ever since the Swans came to Sydney 25 years ago, they've been doing the hard sell to kids. It's how they won over converts like Kieren Jack.
PETER OVERTON: This is a rugby league house, if I've ever seen one.
GARRY JACK: Yes, Peter, certainly plenty of photos and history here from obviously my career and the boys as as they're getting older.
PETER OVERTON: As one of the greats of the game, Kieren's dad Garry fully expected his boy to follow in his rugby-league footsteps. Was Kieren a good league player?
GARRY JACK: Oh yeah, he was a very good league player. He was a good half back, or five eighth. I coached him when he was 14. I was the last one to coach him before he swapped over to Aussie rules. But, besides that, he would have been a very good league player if he had stuck with it.
PETER OVERTON: Your voice sort of softened when you spoke about that.
GARRY JACK: Oh, it's close to my heart isn't it. It was a sad day when we lost him.
LEWIS ROBERTS THOMSON: You've got to get your middle finger on both sides of the ball running through the grooves.
PETER OVERTON: You go first, I don't want to embarrass you. Kieren's not the only promising youngster being won over by Aussie rules. So fingers down there?
LEWIS ROBERTS THOMSON: Try and get the ball, probably, pointing up and down a bit...
PETER OVERTON: The Swans have also snared rugby union blue-blood Lewis Roberts Thomson and Paul Bevan, who like Kieren, came from a legendary league family.
LEWIS ROBERTS THOMSON: Hey, sign him up! PETER OVERTON: I'm just wondering if you're playing AFL so you don't get a face like your Dads?
LEWIS ROBERTS THOMSON: Well yeah, that's one of the reasons, yeah. Yeah, he's busted his nose a few times and his face is looking a bit bad now. But you know, that's just part of the game. You know he won't be happy that I said that, actually.
MARK GEYER: When I grew up round here they called it 'the Bronx'. It was such a hard area, and rugby league was it. I never thought I'd see the day where I'd see an AFL poster out this way it's happening on a very constant basis. Every time you look around, there's more posters going up.
PETER OVERTON: If anyone knows how successful the AFL has been in poaching kids, it's legendary hard man, Mark Geyer. He now coaches a junior league team in Sydney's west and he is constantly losing youngsters to the other code. They even tried to sign up his own son.
MARK GEYER: Go mate! Yes, good try. The AFL at the moment are like a large octopus with their tentacles everywhere. The NRL are like a little goldfish trying to swim against the tide. I think we've got to turn into a shark and start devouring this octopus.
PETER OVERTON: But the AFL octopus will take some stopping. Its Gold Coast team kicks off in 2011 and the Western Sydney team the following year. And that's only the beginning. Is a third Sydney team a possibility?
ANDREW DEMETRIOU: Who knows? It's the largest population in the country. In 50 years why would you rule that out? Who knows if we'll have a team based out of Australia?
PETER OVERTON: So is that a little bit of a 'yes'?
ANDREW DEMETRIOU: I don't know. I just don't know. All I'll say is you can never say never.
PETER OVERTON: Do you admit you've got a fight on your hands?
DAVID GALLOP: Yes, but it's not a fight that's particularly new.
PETER OVERTON: Who's got the best troops?
DAVID GALLOP: I certainly believe we do. We are going well in our 100th year, and we'll be going well in 100 years from now.
PETER OVERTON: But try telling that to the mums from the Maroubra Saints. From where they stand there's no question about what game is the winner.
MUM 1: It's a very family orientated game. It's geared to the kids. Everything's about the children.
PETER OVERTON: So you see it as the national sport?
MUM 1: Oh God, yeah. It's as Australian as Vegemite and I think our kids should be growing up on it. It's brilliant.
harmesy 37
26 May 2008, 08:53
Can someone post a link on youtube?
I missed the show. Must admit I don't watch that show that often.
littleduck
26 May 2008, 09:16
Lol, '10 of million's of Australians' equals our countries population. Yeah, living population. Fans during the past 100 years aren't all still alive and kicking.
You are not shy when you go about exaggerating your game are you! I referred to generations of fans, which means I included dead people too.
Doesn't matter if your game has been here 100 years or not, it is still a foreign game introduced into Australia. Whether you like it or not!I stated the obvious earlier. AFL is Australian-made and RL is not. However, RL is a great Australian past-time.
harmesy 37
26 May 2008, 09:23
Not internally, it wont. The A-league will never be as popular as AFL.
Internationally, of course. But even then, if we had 22 international games a year there wouldn't be a consistent big crowd every time imo.
Soccer is a non-contact sport. It is like netball, but mainly for guys. As soon as there is contact in netball or soccer (most of the time) the referees scramble in and stop play.
Rugby League is a contact sport and Australian Football is a contact sport.
Soccer isn't even in the equation as it is not a contact sport. Their numbers should be compared with other non-contact sports. Netball, tennis, badminton etc.
We have a non-contact version of footy - recreational footy. Recreational footy numbers should be compared to soccer's numbers, as both are non-contact sports. By the way, rec. footy is good fun for a bit of fitness in the off-season.
From what I read of the transcript, what annoyed me was Overton referring to Sydney as their "turf", using words such as "invasion" etc - they are emotive words used to wind up the people that have trouble thinking for themselves.
Reggi05
26 May 2008, 10:14
S
From what I read of the transcript, what annoyed me was Overton referring to Sydney as their "turf", using words such as "invasion" etc - they are emotive words used to wind up the people that have trouble thinking for themselves.
This is the bit that amuses me about this. AFL & RU have always had a Sydney & QLD presence. Victorians don't rubbish on about the presence of Melb Storm (possibly through indifference), however a GC and WS AFL team 'is an invasion', when first up they are trying to cater to a presence of support already there. RL's woes are it's own
Why do RL supporters keep quoting peek audience figures when it is TARPS or reach and frequency that matter in TV watching /radio listening? That is the volume not the peak matters
Why are RL supporters seemingly more interested in the politics of RL rather than the game itself?
My guess is that the AFL has revenues double NRL and looks like a monolith, sleep next to an elephant, be crushed when it rolls over
Dasher39
26 May 2008, 11:13
Gerard Whately???????????????????????????
Credibility- ???????????????????Just a tad more credibility than some nameless mother from Sydney.
Internationally they have the potential to be bigger than the Wallabies.Potential to be bigger than the Wallabies? Don't kid yourself, they are already bigger than the Wallabies and by some margin.
In Australia, The A-league???????:eek:
hmmmmmmm. I better not go there.:DNo one is suggesting the A-League will become bigger than the AFL and that is not what Whately was referring to. He wasn't referring to national competitions, he was referring to the sport as a whole.
In his opinion, we are seeing a shift that has been happening for a number of years where Soccer is becoming the #1 national football code.
harmesy 37
26 May 2008, 11:41
Just a tad more credibility than some nameless mother from Sydney.
Potential to be bigger than the Wallabies? Don't kid yourself, they are already bigger than the Wallabies and by some margin.
No one is suggesting the A-League will become bigger than the AFL and that is not what Whately was referring to. He wasn't referring to national competitions, he was referring to the sport as a whole.
In his opinion, we are seeing a shift that has been happening for a number of years where Soccer is becoming the #1 national football code.
Yes, you and Whatelley and other supporters of non-contact sports have the right to believe this.
As long as there are people who like to see a sport that offer the right mix of courage, skill, speed, flair and physical contests then I think Australian Rules will be quite comfortable in this market place.;)
I think you will find that the English codes - soccer, rugby union and rugby league - don't offer all of the above features in equal or more measure than the Australian code.... but Whateley has the right to dream on.
Captain Afterworld
26 May 2008, 12:19
Soccer is a non-contact sport. It is like netball, but mainly for guys. As soon as there is contact in netball or soccer (most of the time) the referees scramble in and stop play.
Said like someone who never watches the game.
Dasher39
26 May 2008, 12:23
Yes, you and Whatelley and other supporters of non-contact sports have the right to believe this.
As long as there are people who like to see a sport that offer the right mix of courage, skill, speed, flair and physical contests then I think Australian Rules will be quite comfortable in this market place.;)
I think you will find that the English codes - soccer, rugby union and rugby league - don't offer all of the above features in equal or more measure than the Australian code.... but Whateley has the right to dream on.You obviously have no idea about dealing in FACTS. So here are a couple for you.
1. Gerard Whateley is an AFL person. That is his specialty and it's what he's dealt with for many, many years in Journalism. But like many, he is also a fan of other sports.
2. I am like Gerard Whateley. I am first and foremost an AFL person, it is what I grew up on and it is the sport I love. But I also love all sports, be they physical or not.
SO we now have those two facts out of the way.
A sport doesn't need to be full contact for it to be good or skillful. Rugby League is more of a contact sport than AFL will ever be, but you seem to think it doesn't take a great deal of skill.
Soccer has a great deal of skill, flair, speed and at times courage.
But you seem to think physicality is the be all and end all of sport. Why? Are you making up for deficiencies in your own life?
Soccer fans are funny. when we don't talk about the sport we fear it. When we do talk about it we fear it. But honestly I don't fear soccer:eek:, yes it has great grass roots participation, and the nations stops for socceroo WC and WCQ games (including myself). And the A-League has supposedly exceeded expectations, though not mine I've always thought that there has been that level (i.e. mediocre) of support for soccer in this country, But I just can't see it taking over. am I missing something?
harmesy 37
26 May 2008, 13:13
You obviously have no idea about dealing in FACTS. So here are a couple for you.
1. Gerard Whateley is an AFL person. That is his specialty and it's what he's dealt with for many, many years in Journalism. But like many, he is also a fan of other sports.
2. I am like Gerard Whateley. I am first and foremost an AFL person, it is what I grew up on and it is the sport I love. But I also love all sports, be they physical or not.
SO we now have those two facts out of the way.
A sport doesn't need to be full contact for it to be good or skillful. Rugby League is more of a contact sport than AFL will ever be, but you seem to think it doesn't take a great deal of skill.
But you seem to think physicality is the be all and end all of sport. Why? Are you making up for deficiencies in your own life?
I knew who WHateley is, and I watch that Insiders/Offsiders whatever show every so often. He also said about 3 weeks ago that the A-League is run by a bunch of amateurs and pointed to the treatment of that goalkeeper that had a suspended sentence for slapping an umpire.
Soccer does provide moments of merriment one must agree. 12 month ban for slapping an umpire's arm and then running away like a scolded child. That other bloke who won the equivalent of the Brownlow won it despite kicking a boundary referee in the balls. Very odd when compared to a 12 month ban for slapping an umpire.
AnYway, Whateley may be "an AFL person" but he can't predict the future and quite frankly I am quite comfortable with the quality of the Australian Football product when compared to soccer or rugby.
In regards to the other poster - i watched some of the European Champions league final - so I have watched soccer recently. In fact, that was less than a week ago. Yet another penalty goal shoot out. I think paper, scissors, rocks would be a better way to decide a final, don't you?
Dasher39
26 May 2008, 13:14
Soccer fans are funny. when we don't talk about the sport we fear it. When we do talk about it we fear it. But honestly I don't fear soccer:eek:, yes it has great grass roots participation, and the nations stops for socceroo WC and WCQ games (including myself). And the A-League has supposedly exceeded expectations, though not mine I've always thought that there has been that level (i.e. mediocre) of support for soccer in this country, But I just can't see it taking over. am I missing something?Firstly, I am not a "Soccer fan" in the context that you put it.
As I said above, I am an AFL fan first and foremost, but I am able to look at things without biases that many people carry.
I didn't say anything about anyone fearing it, I simply said if you're going to do a report (and focus heavily on grass roots) as they did why not also include the sport that is challenging the both for grass roots participation? I would have thought that would be better way to report it. But it's obvious going by the report, a fair report was never the intention.
harmesy 37
26 May 2008, 13:24
You obviously have no idea about dealing in FACTS. So here are a couple for you.
Rugby League requires a fare dose of courage. Whatever one thinks of that sport, one needs to have courage to pull a bloke to the ground who has worked up a bit of speed. It is lacking in skill, however. I could pass the ball as well as 90% of the rugby league players as they generally pass it less than a metre or two throughout a match.
Australian Football is also a game of courage - you just need to look at the footage of Paul Kelly to realise this. Blokes can come at any angle before you prepare your body and have a physical impact.
Non-contact sports do not need courage in terms of putting your body on the line. One does not need courage to play netball - one needs skill and quickness but courage is not an ingredient needed for netball.
littleduck
26 May 2008, 13:51
Rugby League requires a fare dose of courage. Whatever one thinks of that sport, one needs to have courage to pull a bloke to the ground who has worked up a bit of speed. True.
It is lacking in skill, however. Bollocks.
I could pass the ball as well as 90% of the rugby league players as they generally pass it less than a metre or two throughout a match. Bollocks. short passing to which you refer probably means off-loads, but eg try throwing a cut out pass to a centre running at speed.
Australian Football is also a game of courage ... Blokes can come at any angle before you prepare your body and have a physical impact. You use that as an example of courage. I would use that as an example of a cheap shot. I admit it takes plenty of courage though to constantly put your body on the line with the very real danger of being cheap shotted.
finders
26 May 2008, 14:04
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total GOLD for AFL Marketing dept.
If you can get the Sydney mums on side the battle for hearts and minds is over!
jackmac7
26 May 2008, 14:04
Just a tad more credibility than some nameless mother from Sydney.
I'll take all those Mothers that are getting hooked on Aussie Rules along with their kids as opposed to some nameless Journo with an opinion.
Anyday of the week......................
jackmac7
26 May 2008, 14:16
Aussie Rules for what ever reason is very appealing to females with something like 50% of the total audience for the sport.
Sleevless tops, Tight shorts, fast exciting game, players, who knows?
It's in the games favour when you see what's happening in Sydney on Saturday mornings.
Some quality posters on LU, they do know how to articulate quality arguments. Nothing shoots down somebody's well made points by questioning their sexuality.
Ricardo
26 May 2008, 14:36
Like here on Bigfooty, LU has a lot of immature posters, there are few that can seriously discuss a topic without incl. some comment like 'its for poofters', 'Yawnion', AwFuL, Gayfl.
There are some good posters over there, few and far between though.
Anthony_
26 May 2008, 15:32
Bahahaha even their moderators are just as insecure. "Criminal Code" Bahahahaha.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4240956&postcount=91
Got to love this insecure fool as well. http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4241188&postcount=109
Bahahaha even their moderators are just as insecure. "Criminal Code" Bahahahaha.
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4240956&postcount=91
Got to love this insecure fool as well. http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showpost.php?p=4241188&postcount=109
One of the moderators on that forum is incredibly homophobic and whenever someone tries to argue the merits of AFL he instantly cal's them a "poof". Even a Rugby League fan on that forum who tried to make a balanced arguement got acused of being gay by this guy. Rugby League can keep him as a fan as no respectable code of football would want fans like that.
"thugby", thugby league, meatheads etc. Admit it your just as bad as they are when it comes to name calling.:rolleyes:
Anthony_
26 May 2008, 15:45
"thugby", thugby league, meatheads etc. Admit it your just as bad as they are when it comes to name calling.:rolleyes:
Quiet you "thugby loving meathead" :p ;)
ringleader
26 May 2008, 15:55
One of the moderators on that forum is incredibly homophobic and whenever someone tries to argue the merits of AFL he instantly cal's them a "poof". Even a Rugby League fan on that forum who tried to make a balanced arguement got acused of being gay by this guy. Rugby League can keep him as a fan as no respectable code of football would want fans like that.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10878940&postcount=32
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=11109666&postcount=138
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=433672
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=10983307&postcount=353
There's another 800 odd more here if you bother to look.
magpie_man
26 May 2008, 15:58
If you can get the Sydney mums on side the battle for hearts and minds is over!
not a father to be seen on the sidelines at that maroubra ground, lol. i'm sure the nrl won't be too concerned if the afl wins "the battle for the hearts and minds" of the bogan single mother demographic.
Of course there are homophobic wankers on every forum but the guy on the LU website is a moderator and should be better than that.
Anthony_
26 May 2008, 16:05
Where is the bigfooty thread with the moderator calling someone a poof for liking Rugby? :confused::confused:
i'm sure the nrl won't be too concerned if the afl wins "the battle for the hearts and minds" of the bogan single mother demographic.
Oh, Thats Gold :rolleyes:
In fact Its discrimination
It's a known fact most RL supporters in NSW are bogans :p
As are most players... I mean watch the footy show and just listen to most players being interviewed
On the bright side, QLD RL supporters have sharpened the RL image :thumbsu:
Dasher39
26 May 2008, 17:43
I'll take all those Mothers that are getting hooked on Aussie Rules along with their kids as opposed to some nameless Journo with an opinion.
Anyday of the week......................Hahaha, of course you would because it backs up your argument.
"some nameless journo", yes because Gerard Whateley is really nameless! :rolleyes:
I'll take the opinion of someone who is a general sports fan and a good journalist who is able to look at things objectively, not some throwaway comment from a mother.