View Full Version : Game of interest

Lach72
25 May 2008, 12:57
Further Updated Division One Fixture (with time and venue changes)

ROUND 1
Sunday May 25
Victoria Country vs Victoria Metro at MCG 11:10am (C/R to Haw vs Melb)
Saturday May 31
South Australia vs Tasmania at Adelaide Oval 10:35am (C/R to SANFL vs VFL)
Sunday June 1
Western Australia vs NSW/ACT at Subiaco 11:30am (C/R to Frem vs Port)

I'm going to try and get down early and have a look...

dockers_bengals
25 May 2008, 13:21
Further Updated Division One Fixture (with time and venue changes)

I'm going to try and get down early and have a look...

me too

Tundrawolf
25 May 2008, 14:08
I'll be there early too, with a particular interest in Marsh, Swift, Yarran, although after this weekends results i should probably have another look at Rich and Natanui.

Chops_a_must
25 May 2008, 14:16
Damn, I wont be able to catch it. :(

dockers_bengals
25 May 2008, 16:23
Is there anywhere you can get info on the teams like names and numbers?

masai
25 May 2008, 18:18
Now that is what I call a good curtain raiser.

We should all be there with notebooks in hand and Phil Smart's phone number handy.

This will be classy fooyball with players showing their flair. Once they get in the AFL system, that flair is toned down.

As asked for earlier, woudn't the numbers be in the Record for that match ?.

Tundrawolf
25 May 2008, 18:20
Is there anywhere you can get info on the teams like names and numbers?

Cant help with numbers but this is the final squad. The ones in bold are the players I'd be looking at. Disappointed and shocked that Keiran King who had an outstanding U16s carnival and All Australian didn't make the cut. Maybe injured?

CLAREMONT
Matt DeBoer
James Klause
Jess Laurie
Dylan Ross
Tom Swift

EAST FREMANTLE
James Bayliss
Kane Lucas
Nicholas Olds
Brad Sheppard

EAST PERTH
Mitchell Duncan
Daniel Murray
Hamish Shephard

PEEL THUNDER
Johnny Bennell
Chris Luff
Anthony Morabito

PERTH
Joel Fiegert
Kane Goodwin
Michael Mather
Rhys Peedle
Alistair Smith
Blake Warner

SOUTH FREMANTLE
Mitch Marsh

SUBIACO
Daniel Rich

SWAN DISTRICTS
Lance Daly
Clint Garlett
Neville Jetta
Nicholas Natanui
Clancee Pearce
Michael Walters
Chris Yarran

WEST PERTH
Stephen Hill

MadMac
25 May 2008, 18:25
Now that is what I call a good curtain raiser.

We should all be there with notebooks in hand and Phil Smart's phone number handy.

This will be classy fooyball with players showing their flair. Once they get in the AFL system, that flair is toned down.

As asked for earlier, woudn't the numbers be in the Record for that match ?.
Don't you think Phil Smart would be watching that game? If you don't spot him make sure you've got Uncle Rick's and Yuppie's numbers.

MadMac
25 May 2008, 18:27
SOUTH FREMANTLE
Mitch Marsh

He'll almost certainly play cricket for living.

Tundrawolf
25 May 2008, 18:36
He'll almost certainly play cricket for living.
He has a rookie contract with the WACA now but the chances of him making his debut in any form of senior cricket next season is slim. Too young to be drafted this year and given his young age there is no need for him to make the choice for a couple of years. Now if he got drafted in 2009 before he has played cricket for WA that would make things interesting for him. I dont think it's set in stone that he wont choose footy over cricket.

Moo
25 May 2008, 18:42
Thanks Wolfy ....my cousins eldest son made the squad and I just find out from your post!

I'll give him a call and have a little chat.

Tundrawolf
25 May 2008, 18:48
Thanks Wolfy ....my cousins eldest son made the squad and I just find out from your post!

I'll give him a call and have a little chat.

No worries I think the squad still needs to be cut by one so maybe they were waiting for the final cut before telling you the good news??:o

Hope he makes the cut and has a good championship.....but better still have a word to your cuz:D

masai
25 May 2008, 18:55
Don't you think Phil Smart would be watching that game? If you don't spot him make sure you've got Uncle Rick's and Yuppie's numbers.

Tongue was firmly in the cheek as it is a well known fact that people on this board are far more knowledgable about footy talent than the Freo match committee.

I am going to see the Black Duck star, Naitanui, as I think he could be valuable as an old style ruck rover at AFL level. If you don't know what a ruck rover is, just look up TI.

MadMac
25 May 2008, 18:59
Tongue was firmly in the cheek as it is a well known fact that people on this board are far more knowledgable about footy talent than the Freo match committee.

I am going to see the Black Duck star, Naitanui, as I think he could be valuable as an old style ruck rover at AFL level. If you don't know what a ruck rover is, just look up TI.

Likewise....but I suppose neither of us shows any "emotions" ;)

SupersonicDocker
25 May 2008, 19:02
Hopefully freo will have a good look at Nathan Van Berlo's younger brother... already attracting interest from a few clubs

Cameron_K
25 May 2008, 19:42
I'll be heading in early to watch it as well. You keen to catch up earlier Lach?

Lach72
25 May 2008, 20:17
I'll be heading in early to watch it as well. You keen to catch up earlier Lach?

10.30am may be a bit early to get on the slops :D

Cameron_K
25 May 2008, 20:41
Yeah no drinking for me, just wanna see some of the potential new players.

Lach72
29 May 2008, 12:09
http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?menuID=12&contentID=75638

Young star injured again

28th May 2008, 8:30 WST

One of Australia’s brightest young stars is in doubt for the under-18 national championships after injuring a knee in a practice match last weekend.

Claremont midfielder Tom Swift, who is considered a top-10 draft pick by some experts, suffered a grade-two tear of his lateral ligament while playing against WA Country at Fremantle Oval on Saturday. The 17-year-old spent last year recovering from a knee reconstruction and there were fears he had seriously damaged his “good” knee in the incident.

WAFC talent and coaching manager Jon Haines said Swift would definitely miss the opening game against NSW-ACT at Subiaco Oval on Sunday and would be out of action until at least July when WA play Tasmania and Vic Metro.

“With any luck he’ll be back training in three weeks. We’ll probably then take him to Melbourne so he can play in the last two games over there,” Haines said.

“He put all his weight on his reconstructed knee and it took it. But when he put his right foot down, he hyperextended on it and that’s where the injury occurred.

“He’s been getting better with every game so that was the disappointing thing. He was really having an impact and getting more and more confident with every minute. He was looking forward to having a good carnival. It’s a setback for him but hopefully he can play some part towards the end of the carnival. If he can’t, he’s still got the rest of the WAFL season to show his wares.”

The WA team is filled with talent. Ruckman Nick Naitanui and midfielder Daniel Rich are expected to be selected as picks one and two in this year’s draft and the highly rated Chris Yarran, who kicked seven goals on debut for Swan Districts this year, is another top-10 draft prospect.

Yarran has been battling an ankle injury but is expected to be fit for Sunday.

Claremont’s Matt DeBoer, who chose not to nominate for last year’s draft despite strong expectations, is one of the vice-captains, while Kane Lucas, Anthony Morabito, Clinton Garlett and Michael Walters toured South Africa with the AIS team earlier this year. Morabito will miss the first two games with a hamstring injury.

Recruiting staff from all clubs attend all of the matches but Haines said the players were focused on teamwork instead of individual accolades.

“Nick’s got quite a cult following already, but he and Richy are both the same,” he said.

“They handle things very well and are both calm and laid-back characters … that helps

Lach72
29 May 2008, 12:29
Cam, I may have to violate the 12 noon rule and have a bevvy before the under 18's game? You interested?

Cameron_K
29 May 2008, 15:04
I'll be up there before the start of the 18's, I can't see a drink or two doing any damage. You just gonna sit in your normal seats?

estibador
29 May 2008, 15:20
Since when has there been a 12 noon rule?

Look like Fox aren't showing the U18's this year which is a shame.

Lach72
29 May 2008, 16:30
I'll be up there before the start of the 18's, I can't see a drink or two doing any damage. You just gonna sit in your normal seats?

I was thinking the Vic at around 10.30am...

Seats depends on the weather...should have no trouble at that time to shift around

macca69
29 May 2008, 17:26
Team lists can be found here.

http://afl.com.au/Portals/0/afl_docs/Development/2008%20NAB%20AFL%20U18%20Championships-Teamlists.pdf

btw Max Wilson (#25 for NSW) is Freo's NSW scholarship holder, so he might be worth keeping an eye out for. Should be an interesting duel between him and Natanui :thumbsu:

Cameron_K
29 May 2008, 20:10
I was thinking the Vic at around 10.30am...

Seats depends on the weather...should have no trouble at that time to shift around

I'll be there.

Tundrawolf
29 May 2008, 21:01

http://afl.com.au/Portals/0/afl_docs/Development/2008%20NAB%20AFL%20U18%20Championships-Teamlists.pdf

btw Max Wilson (#25 for NSW) is Freo's NSW scholarship holder, so he might be worth keeping an eye out for. Should be an interesting duel between him and Natanui :thumbsu:

Cheers Macca:thumbsu:

At 197cm and a whopping 104kgs for a teenager he's obviously a hefty lad!

Good to see Dylan Bairstow making the provisional squad too.

dockers_bengals
29 May 2008, 21:36
Thanx for the lists.Hope the weather holds off and dam shame Fox isn't showing them,maybe they will later.Who is that commentator who knows all the young kids?He seems to have great knowledge of them.

ImperialPurple
29 May 2008, 21:56

Can we get him over here next year, does anyone know? He'd go on the rookie list wouldn't he? Does he count as one of the 6 rookies - or is he outside the rookie list as an extra?

Most importantly - is he any good? Does anyone know?

Tundrawolf
29 May 2008, 22:52
Can we get him over here next year, does anyone know? He'd go on the rookie list wouldn't he? Does he count as one of the 6 rookies - or is he outside the rookie list as an extra?

I'm pretty sure the Crows scholarship holder got picked up by them (pre-selection) late in the draft last year pick 75 - in a similar fashion to a father/son player. Say for example we had picks 5, 21, 37, 53, 69, 85 we could arrange pre-draft to secure him with our last pick in this instance it would be 85, however if we were only going to draft 5 players we would arrange to pick him up at 69 and then pass with pick 85. Apparently from all reports Adelaide's Taylor Walker is a gun forward so he was a really good pick up late in the draft. Sydney's scholarship holder Craig Bird (pick 59) has already made his debut . I think that's how it works? So they are immediately placed on the senior list. I hope that's clear:o

ImperialPurple
29 May 2008, 23:27
What about Davis for the weagles? wasn't he on their rookie list, and then upgraded when they wanted to debut him?

I get what you mean with the senior list thingy - but do they have to go on the senior list?

Is Max any good?

Tundrawolf
30 May 2008, 01:33
As far as i can tell the Eagles signed him as a scholarship holder before the draft (maybe even mid year 2007) and then put him on as a rookie during the rookie draft. I dont really know how it works.:confused::confused:

ImperialPurple
30 May 2008, 01:38
fair enough.

Anyway - will be interesting that there will be a guy already tied to us playing on Sunday - but playing for the "opposition"...

Any reports on young Max would be much appreciated. :)

Lach72
30 May 2008, 01:40
I'm going to take a pen and paper...hopefully...maybe...

Tundrawolf
31 May 2008, 14:00
fair enough.

Anyway - will be interesting that there will be a guy already tied to us playing on Sunday - but playing for the "opposition"...

Any reports on young Max would be much appreciated. :)

Hopefully this will answer some questions about NSW scholarship holders as it's very confusing. Big Max sounds like a goer!

NSW/ACT SCHOLARSHIP-HOLDERS
Adelaide: Sam Martyn
Bris Lions: James Brain, Jack Lawson
Collingwood: Scott Reed, Nick Perry, Thomas Young
Carlton: Joshua Fenaroli, Jake Pianta
Essendon: Benjamin Simon, James Webster
Fremantle: Matthew Long, Max Wilson
Geelong: Kale Temple, Ranga Ediriwickrama
Hawthorn: Michael Johnston, William Sierakowski, Trent Stubbs, Thomas Kickett
Melbourne: Teddy Strudwick
Port Adelaide: Jordan Johns
N Melb: Lachlan Pryor
Richmond: Harrison Lee
St Kilda: Joshua Duncan, Kane Murphy, Blake McGrath
Sydney: Ryan Bottin-Noonan, Jay Lewis, Matt May
West Coast: Anthony Stubbs
Western Bulldogs: Braedon Jones, Chris Ogle, Daniel Lloyd

The NSW AFL Scholarship scheme allows clubs to sign teenagers aged 15-17 within certain development regions in NSW, excluding Canberra and the Riverina. The player receives financial assistance and the club has first option to draft them, either to the full or rookie list.

With thanks from the Geelong Board:
Max Wilson - 100kg - 199cm - 7.5.90
Not really sure what to read into this kid. Might be to young for the draft, however he is massive. 100Kg 17 year old just oozes potential.

Despite his weight/height he was agile and did well around the ground. The problem for him is that he has a shocking engine. Goes about 10-15mins before needing a rest. However a preseason will fix that.

Tundrawolf
1 Jun 2008, 12:37
Good article about Max Wilson in the Sunday Times today.
Kane Lucas sounds like a player too and has a Freo connection.:thumbsu:

macca69
1 Jun 2008, 12:56
Can we get him over here next year, does anyone know?

Yes, he's eligible to be drafted this year.

He'd go on the rookie list wouldn't he?

Freo have the option to put him on the main list, rookie list or neither. However, I think Max can choose to reject Fremantle's offer of a spot on the list and put himself in the draft (the same way Chris Smith chose not to be a Lions QLD zone selection).

Does he count as one of the 6 rookies - or is he outside the rookie list as an extra?

Yes, he takes up a spot on the list.

Guess we'll find out today :thumbsu:

Good article about Max Wilson in the Sunday Times today.

Anyone got a link to this article?

Tundrawolf
1 Jun 2008, 13:37
Sorry Macca can't find a link for it.:thumbsd:

Lach72
1 Jun 2008, 21:39
Ok, was at the game.

Here's the lowdown:

yarran didn't play, must be injured.

Pick of the bunch for WA:
Stephen Hill: This guy could be the steal...a bit slight but beautiful skills on the left...just a touch of one sidedness but he's tall ok speed and ran all day...
Matt DeBoer: was everywhere, disposal was good, and he reads the ball very well. Ruck Rover/Center
Naitanui: Silky, huge jump, balance, disposal a little iffy today. Ruck
Neville Jetta: Very, very very very very very very good, Fast forward pocket, wingman, silky skills, good mark, and ggreat kick for goal.
Daniel Rich: Skills awesome, but didnt work hard enough for mine...cruised around and didn;t really involve himself. Rover.
Kane Lucas: Good mover and nice disposal
John Bennell: Played on ball and as a pocket and kicked a lot of goals 3 or 4...silky skills.
Michael Walters: played as a wingman and through the middle at times and in a pocket, Beautiful skills

More to come...

chook2734
1 Jun 2008, 22:06
Ok, was at the game.

Here's the lowdown:

Stephen Hill: This guy could be the steal...a bit slight but beautiful skills on the left...just a touch of one sidedness but he's tall ok speed and ran all day...
Matt DeBoer: was everywhere, disposal was good, and he reads the ball very well. Ruck Rover/Center
Neville Jetta: Very, very very very very very very good, Fast forward pocket, wingman, silky skills, good mark, and ggreat kick for goal.
Daniel Rich: Skills awesome, but didnt work hard enough for mine...cruised around and didn;t really involve himself. Rover.
John Bennell: Played on ball and as a pocket and kicked a lot of goals 3 or 4...silky skills.
Michael Walters: played as a wingman and through the middle at times and in a pocket, Beautiful skills

More to come...

Agree with you on Naitanui and Rich - didn't think either of them did a great deal considering the huge (and no doubt unrealistic) raps they've both got.

I was impressed with Lucas in the second half. Is he eligible this year? According to the AFL lists he was born 26/6/91, so he's only 16?

Bradesmaen
1 Jun 2008, 22:12
According to Fox before the game when they spoke to Nat and Rich, Rich was heavily tagged.

Lach72
1 Jun 2008, 22:18
According to Fox before the game when they spoke to Nat and Rich, Rich was heavily tagged.

No he wasn't...
He didn't work hard enough...a lot of the time he was jogging behind play...

Moo
1 Jun 2008, 22:21
Was Max Wilson in this game?

Bradesmaen
1 Jun 2008, 22:25
No he wasn't...
He didn't work hard enough...a lot of the time he was jogging behind play...

What are you telling me that for? Go tell Gerard Healy and the gang at Foxsports, I'm only relaying exactly what they said, because those of you at the game would have 0 clue of what he said.

Tundrawolf
Ok, was at the game.

Here's the lowdown:

More to come...

Agree with most of this Lach except for De Boer. Thought he got caught with the ball way too often. Tried to do too much and got caught out several times. Took a couple of nice marks though.

Rich was disappointing in that he struggled with a good tag. However, when he did get the ball he'd put it on a team mates chest from 55 metres away.

Thought Bennell was BOG. Silky skills and got a lot of the ball. Kicked a couple of great goals.

Lance Daly i had down for I think about 4.4 sharing the full forward position with Mitchell Marsh. Daly looks a natural forward.

Very impressed with Kane Lucas especially out of the centre.

Jetta was very good all day.

Hill I thought was all class. Good skills and took a couple of clever marks.

Natanui reminded me a lot of Stephen Michael with his ruck work and his second and third efforts. Drafter will hope he could develop into a Goodes/Franklin type player. Very fast for his size. Just cant see him rucking for an AFL club. Before the game I was of the mind that Freo if given the chance should draft Rich. The more I see of Natanui has me thinking that Natanui could well be the way to go. He has so much upside to him. Didn't do a lot but did enough.

Big Max Wilson for the NSW/ACT is exactly that BIG. He is huge. Started at CHB and finished at CHF. Rucked for a little while although I just dont think he is suited to the position. Needs to lose 7 or 8 kgs and has pretty good skills for a guy his size. Loved his aggression, doesn't mind mixing it. Not sure about him as a whole package though.

Mitch Marsh kicked the first goal but didn't do much after that.

Sat just near Clinton Garlett's family who said that he'd loved to get picked up by the team he supports the Dockers!!! Good skills, kicked a nice goal but quite small.

WA 15.7 d NSW/ACT 4.3

NSW/ACT were alot more competitive than the score probably suggests. WA had the game under control but didn't have things their own way all the time. Maybe they took their opposition a tad lightly but they'll need to improve alot against SA next week.

chook2734

Yes. He is one big lad. Didn't spend a lot of time in the ruck in the first half - I think he contested the first bounce and then went to half-back. Spent a bit more time in the ruck in the second half against Naitanui. I didn't think he did a great deal, but he was ok in a team that was very well beaten.

Lach72
1 Jun 2008, 22:28

Indeed max was...and let's be honest, theres a lot of Max...

If Hase has been on the chops, Max has been on the chops, the rump the leg and the shoulder, and if he gets a call up he needs about 3 months doing nothing but losing flab...Ah, Memories will love this bloke. :D

He could only do about 10 minute slots without blowing like a steam train... on the plus side he knows how to us that weight, and he's got a little shit on the liver...he was getting in their faces and at one stage we were joking he was frisking for sarnies. :p

105kg is Max

Cameron_K
1 Jun 2008, 22:29
Max was the butt of many jokes.

The WA u18's would have beaten Freo today

chook2734
1 Jun 2008, 22:30
Big Max Wilson for the NSW/ACT is exactly that BIG. He is huge. Started at CHB and finished at CHF. Rucked for a little while although I just dont think he is suited to the position. Needs to lose 7 or 8 kgs and has pretty good skills for a guy his size. Loved his aggression, doesn't mind mixing it. Not sure about him as a whole package though.

I think the rookie list would be the place for him if the club wants to have a better look at him. Could certainly do with the fitness work he'd get full-time at an AFL club. I always worry about recruiting 'big' young players - most of them are only standouts due to their strength and size, and once the others catch up to them, they are exposed for being pretty ordinary. The other NSW/ACT ruckman, Frail (aptly named at 198cm and 74kg) did some good things.

Bateman
1 Jun 2008, 22:35

IP he is a big unit, a bit like Lynch in build.
Would need some physical toning but moved quite well for a young ruckman.He can't jump though which is not a good thing today.:confused:

chook2734
1 Jun 2008, 22:44
IP he is a big unit, a bit like Lynch in build.
Would need some physical toning but moved quite well for a young ruckman.He can't jump though which is not a good thing today.:confused:

He could be a goer for KP down back though?

Lach72
1 Jun 2008, 23:49
Maybe...hard to tell until he gets fit...
The one I thought looked good was Blake Warner...187cm 80 kg but moved well and used tha ball nicely.

For NSW ACT the only one who really stood out was Xavier McMahon, who is 188 85kg backman...got the ball and used it well...

Cameron_K
1 Jun 2008, 23:53
I was impressed with the back up ruckman for WA, don't have the name sheet here but he did very well in the ruck contests and seemed to know where to be when not rucking.

Moo
1 Jun 2008, 23:54
Maybe...hard to tell until he gets fit...
The one I thought looked good was Blake Warner...187cm 80 kg but moved well and used tha ball nicely.

For NSW ACT the only one who really stood out was Xavier McMahon, who is 188 85kg backman...got the ball and used it well...

Good genes in that Warner boy

Tundrawolf
2 Jun 2008, 00:09

:thumbsu:

dont bowl there
2 Jun 2008, 03:30
Watched most of the match and was really impressed with a few of the WA lads, Neville Jetta looks to be a gun and had the few that were watching making some noise.

Nic Nat is something special, his tackeling alone makes him a wonderful player add in the height and leap and the club that gets him has a franchise player.

Rich was quiet and didnt look overly interested in the match when he was out there. If the hype wasnt there would not ahve taken a second look at him.

Was it Hill that was number 4 for WA? I cant remember the name but he plays for West Perth and was very very impressive.

Walters was good and kicked a few goals

Lance Daly kicked a few and looked like a good mover

Mitch Marsh will be a cricketer...hopefully wont go in the draft.

The biggest let down for WA was De Boer, looked to have absolutely zero defensive pressure and just flaoted around the wings until he got the cheap touches. Very very ordinary from what I saw.

Didnt pay too much attention to the NSW/ACT lads.

Chops_a_must
2 Jun 2008, 03:43
Ahahaha.

Know a few from a Warner clan. :thumbsu:

Chops_a_must
2 Jun 2008, 03:45
The biggest let down for WA was De Boer, looked to have absolutely zero defensive pressure and just flaoted around the wings until he got the cheap touches. Very very ordinary from what I saw.

Richmond are a shoe in by the looks. :thumbsu:

dont bowl there
2 Jun 2008, 03:49
Richmond are a shoe in by the looks. :thumbsu:

From what I saw he would be lucky if any club takes the punt in him, I was looking forward to seeing him play but his style of game was terrible.

kranger
2 Jun 2008, 03:50
now then, who was saying that RICH was NOT tagged... and the back up ruck man is on the right

http://img71.imageshack.us/img71/3548/p1030064copyze1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

tackle!!

http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/7990/p1030065copyjw3.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

dont bowl there
2 Jun 2008, 03:56
Rich was tagged for a bit but there were plenty of times I saw him standing in the middle by himself, didnt look interested at all. Not sure if its the hype or that fact that he has been playing WAFL and this is a step down but he was off his game. Saying that im sure he will go 1 or 2 in the draft.

Bluto
2 Jun 2008, 03:57
The big NSW bloke (25) in photo 1is our boy.

For mine Jetta looks to be an absolute gun. Massively impressed, would be a great addition to any forward line. Hopefully ours with an early 2nd round, maybe a mid to late first if he keeps this up.

Nic Nat tackles like a mad man. He chased down a NSW midfielder on the wing in front of us, and it was a quick chase with a massive burst of speed...unbelievable how hard he tackled the poor bloke.

Rich was pretty relaxed by the look of it.

Biggest letdown was DeBoer. Soft, easy touches and didnt do much with it. Didnt get within 10m of the opposition when they had the ball.

dont bowl there
2 Jun 2008, 03:58
The big NSW bloke (25) is our boy.

Massive massive unit.

kranger
2 Jun 2008, 04:19
a couple more...
http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/1989/p1030054copypu1.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/518/p1030056copysn5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/6627/p1030057copyoc4.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/1772/p1030058copyju0.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

kranger
2 Jun 2008, 04:20
http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/4111/p1030062copynm5.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/4194/p1030063copyyq6.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/5627/p1030066copyty5.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

http://img122.imageshack.us/img122/8140/p1030094copyoe2.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

is this anyone here?
http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/4456/p1030053copydy5.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

summerthebat
2 Jun 2008, 04:27
Thanks for the photos!

I don't mean to sound ghey or anything, but I would totally go down on a sailor I didn't know if it secured us Natanui.

Ogrebait
2 Jun 2008, 04:50
No that's not ghey at all stb.

Chops_a_must
2 Jun 2008, 05:04
These pictures are just art, I swear! :eek:

Lach72
2 Jun 2008, 10:52
The big NSW bloke (25) in photo 1is our boy.

For mine Jetta looks to be an absolute gun. Massively impressed, would be a great addition to any forward line. Hopefully ours with an early 2nd round, maybe a mid to late first if he keeps this up.

Nic Nat tackles like a mad man. He chased down a NSW midfielder on the wing in front of us, and it was a quick chase with a massive burst of speed...unbelievable how hard he tackled the poor bloke.

Rich was pretty relaxed by the look of it.

Biggest letdown was DeBoer. Soft, easy touches and didnt do much with it. Didnt get within 10m of the opposition when they had the ball.

You guys must've watched a different game...I thought he was the best mid...worked hard, got through traffic, skills were pretty good.

Rich, I thought he was lazy...just cruised along, very stationary...when he got the ball, which was not often, his disposal was A plus. :thumbsu:

Tundrawolf
2 Jun 2008, 11:09
De Boer gave away 4 free kicks after trying to break tackles and being caught dropping the ball. Disposal was average too.

Our back up ruckman was Daniel Murray(43)

As I said in an earlier post, I know, as a club, we should be looking at Rich (if we are in a position to) but having seen the way Natanui moves I'm of the feeling we'd have to go for him and hope we pick mids up later in the draft. Last year he was good in the 18's but his game(running, tackling, chasing) has developed so much in the last 12 months that I think he will definitely be No.1 pick.

Tundrawolf
2 Jun 2008, 11:10
Great pics Kranger:thumbsu:

dockers_bengals
2 Jun 2008, 12:12
Apart from what was said,for me Walters and Fiegert(before injured)also looked alright.
From NSW Mcmahon (no.14 in pic)looked a stand out,he is a great kick
Ediriwickrama(no.5)and Fenaroli(no.6) looked alright at times
Big Max was at CHB for at least the whole first qtr,Why was he there?He had no hope.Looks like he will struggle to get anywhere if he doesnt get mobile.
It's only 1 game,its a shame we can't watch the rest.

Cameron_K
2 Jun 2008, 12:28
Lach and I must have had a different view of the game because I liked De Boer as well.

Commented a few times during the game on McMahon for NSW/ACT, the guy seems to be a very smart footballer who knows where to position himself. Would like to see him at AFL level after a pre-season.

one 4 the road
2 Jun 2008, 12:52
Rich was tagged for a bit but there were plenty of times I saw him standing in the middle by himself, didnt look interested at all. Not sure if its the hype or that fact that he has been playing WAFL and this is a step down but he was off his game. Saying that im sure he will go 1 or 2 in the draft.
I know for a fact that Rich was "tagged".
My son had the job.
Got told saturday night and was instructed to go with him. I know he was excited about taking on one of the best and I know he was very happy with how he played. He is a bottom ager and not eligible this year.
Question: Was it Rich being lazy (uninterested)?(other peoples comments not mine) or someone from a non footy state maybe just outplaying him on the day?
Everyone has ordinary days but some credit might want to go to someone stopping him, especially in a team that dominates.
All the "tagged" talk intrigues me.
Doesn't a forward get "tagged" every game?
Isn't playing one on one just "tagging"?

Lach72
2 Jun 2008, 13:04
He was running around at half pace, at times stationary...at times he had space, no disrespect to your son, and didn't work hard.

We thought he had been quiet and looked for the tag, but I didn't think it was significant to be honest...

dockers_bengals
2 Jun 2008, 13:16
I know for a fact that Rich was "tagged".
My son had the job.
Got told saturday night and was instructed to go with him. I know he was excited about taking on one of the best and I know he was very happy with how he played. He is a bottom ager and not eligible this year.
Question: Was it Rich being lazy (uninterested)?(other peoples comments not mine) or someone from a non footy state maybe just outplaying him on the day?
Everyone has ordinary days but some credit might want to go to someone stopping him, especially in a team that dominates.
All the "tagged" talk intrigues me.
Doesn't a forward get "tagged" every game?
Isn't playing one on one just "tagging"?

His did look like he was ball watching at times when it had left him behind and no tagger in sight,he only had 6 posies in the first half and 9 for the second half and didn't seem to do much in the clearances,it maybe due to his attention.
IOM its a shame they make someone tag at these games
In the Worst paper today
WA best-Walters,DeBoer,Naitanui,Lucas,Bennell,Mather
NSW best-Edwiriwickrama,Klemke,McNeil,Kirkwood,Clisby,Fenaroli

Strange Mcmahon isn't there

Lach72
2 Jun 2008, 13:18
His did look like he was ball watching at times when it had left him behind and no tagger in sight,he only had 6 posies in the first half and 9 for the second half and didn't seem to do much in the clearances.
In the Worst paper today

See, I didn;t think Ranga was that flash...did some nice things but he was nowhere near the best...McMahon was easily their best player, I thought....

chook2734
2 Jun 2008, 13:25
See, I didn;t think Ranga was that flash...did some nice things but he was nowhere near the best...McMahon was easily their best player, I thought....

Ranga got a lot of the ball, but his disposal was awful, both by hand and foot.

one 4 the road
2 Jun 2008, 14:10
His did look like he was ball watching at times when it had left him behind and no tagger in sight,he only had 6 posies in the first half and 9 for the second half and didn't seem to do much in the clearances,it maybe due to his attention.
IOM its a shame they make someone tag at these games
In the Worst paper today

I'll go back to one of my questions, when is playing one on one being "tagged"? He was told to go with Rich, our coaches obviously thought he would be one of the main instigators for WA and gave him a specific opponent. "Tag" seems to be a modern term for a mid to be manned up at all times.
Where did you get the stats from dockers? would be interested to see how a few of the other boys went.

Lach72
2 Jun 2008, 14:25
Just looking at the photo of Max Wilson in the worst, i may have been a bit harsh on him..
geez, he's a big lad though....

gravy
2 Jun 2008, 14:29
He sure is. Massive unit.

dockers_bengals
2 Jun 2008, 14:57
I'll go back to one of my questions, when is playing one on one being "tagged"? He was told to go with Rich, our coaches obviously thought he would be one of the main instigators for WA and gave him a specific opponent. "Tag" seems to be a modern term for a mid to be manned up at all times.
Where did you get the stats from dockers? would be interested to see how a few of the other boys went.

You said in your last post he was but it seems like he didn't.
If he tagged him he would have to follow him everywhere regardless.
The stats where in an article of the West Aust.but it only had a couple not the complete list.

Moo
2 Jun 2008, 15:10
Tagging is part of the game.

Plus as one who has played the tagger role - nothing unfair in it, if I can reduce the effectiveness of the other teams better player ....good on me.

masai
2 Jun 2008, 16:32
As I said in an earlier post, I know, as a club, we should be looking at Rich (if we are in a position to) but having seen the way Natanui moves I'm of the feeling we'd have to go for him and hope we pick mids up later in the draft. Last year he was good in the 18's but his game(running, tackling, chasing) has developed so much in the last 12 months that I think he will definitely be No.1 pick.

I agree with you, I would go for Nick, he has alot of upside. Yes he reminds me of TI, and moves quick.

I only saw the second half and felt that alot of the mosquito fleet looked good, our backs were at times playing behind their men and the Black Ducks are going to be in the money for the coming seasons. Both Rich and Nat are brilliant players but I wonder if they were in cruise control as the game was in the bag. I think they will lift a cog or two against S.A. and the Vic teams.

one 4 the road
2 Jun 2008, 16:54
http://www.afl.com.au/News/NewsArticle/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=60684
After reading this I am not sure what or who to believe. LOL
You must be an ordinary judge Lach.:)
NSW name 9 in their best and still no McMahon LOL

Lach72
2 Jun 2008, 16:58
Meh...we all look at different things.

McMahon, used the ball well, got to the right spots band took some good marks.

They thought Ranga was outstanding, I didn't and someone else here said his disposal was shoddy.

masai
2 Jun 2008, 17:44

They thought Ranga was outstanding, I didn't and someone else here said his disposal was shoddy.

In the half I saw, hardly noticed Ranga even though he is quite distinctive. Having said that I wouldn't have Natanui in the best.

Depending on which side of the oval you sit, you see different things. As I sit on the outer side, my view is regularly different from the media hacks view from their glass palaced commentary boxes.

one 4 the road
2 Jun 2008, 18:02

Wasn't having a crack Lach, it is strange how we can all watch the same game and have different views.
Ranga is a good player but I believe he turns the ball over to often, wants to do everything at a million miles an hour and doesn't steady before delivery it up field (either by hand or foot).
I know Xavier as well, have watched him since under 8's, he is a very strong player and tries to read the play and get the ball himself rather than play his man. (when he is defense), but could be a smokey come november.

Rubber Pants
3 Jun 2008, 15:43
Sorry for the late reply but I've only just had access to the internet after the long weekend. I went down early to watch the under 18's before the Dockers and it was good to finally see a team I wanted to win actually win :( and to see who we might pick up next year.

I am on the Neville Jetta bandwagon, I thought he was absolutely great and his skills, pace and work rate were top notch. I would love to see him in purple next year and if we do get him I have first dibs to be his buddy :D. He is number 7 in those pictures.

Nick Nat was great and the pressure he applies is just awesome, I saw him run down so many players and lay bone jarring tackles that I think the opposition were genuinely scared when he was around. Would also love to see him in purple next year.

Rich was quiet but he did some good things in patches and he has a pretty good leap on him.

Kane Lucas was great, I know he's not eligible this year but do you know if he is able to get picked up by the Gold Coast team next year. Would hate to miss out on this kid.

Walters was good in patches but in the first half he had about three kicks in the forward line that were just up and unders to absolutely no one. After that though he was really good.

I was pretty disappointed with DeBoer he looked a bit lazy and unaccountable. Gave his opponent no respect and zoned off. Gave me the impression of Matt Carr when he couldn't be bothered following his man and got Jetta to go after him. To Jetta's credit he not only got to the contest but took a ripper mark :). If he works on his accountability he should be good.

Pick of the back men was Clancee Pearce but unfortunately I don't think it's going to be a great year for back men (apart from Hurley) and we really need a good key position back man. Although seeing big Max if he can settle in that role, lose a little weight and improve his spoiling/overhead marking he could become the big bodied defender we're crying out for.

Ranga for the Rams was pretty good, he got heaps of the ball but disposal wasn't that great, infact I would say it was poor.

Special mention to Hill who was good and Alistair Smith (number 1) who has a lot of pace.

Anyone who follows the U18's or colts have a look at Jetta, he's a gem and I'm interested in following his progression.

wce4premiership
16 Jun 2008, 23:02
Just wondering what fiegerts strengths / weaknesses are.

He's a very fit dedicated player, got b&f at school and everything so hows he go with these guys?