View Full Version : Currently now 9th on the ladder
mightymightyblues
25 May 2008, 17:04
Comforting to know we are currently the best team outside the 8. Won't be to long til Richmond take over that position and finish there after the season :)
jonoman89
25 May 2008, 17:06
one the ladder?
yes, a good sign - we really are a different team and are impriving very quickly. finals next year will be fun.
mightymightyblues
25 May 2008, 17:09
one the ladder?
yes, a good sign - we really are a different team and are impriving very quickly. finals next year will be fun.
With a bit of luck, could be this year..
The Old Dark Navy's
25 May 2008, 17:11
Don't get too excited folks.
Have yet to play Geelong, Dogs, Hawthorn, Sydney and have only been interstate once so far. We need to improve significantly to not collapse in the second half of the year.
bluegal1983
25 May 2008, 17:16
Great effort by our boys. Lets hope they can keep it going for the rest of the year.
Blue Dawn
25 May 2008, 17:17
Have yet to play Geelong, Dogs, Hawthorn, Sydney and have only been interstate once so far. We need to improve significantly to not collapse in the second half of the year.
Precisely! It's great to be where we are now but it's as high as we're likely to be for the year with injuries, a more difficult second half draw and younger bodies. Still FANTASTIC progress by our boys so far this season. :thumbsu:
The Old Dark Navy's
25 May 2008, 17:22
To be a top 8 team we had to beat Richmond, Essendon and now it seems St Kilda and should be sitting 7-2 with the worse draw in the comp about it hit us.
KarmaGeddon
25 May 2008, 17:51
We have to play both Adelaide and Brisbane interstate as well.
KarmaGeddon
25 May 2008, 17:54
Certainly if we make the finals with the games we have to play then we deserve it well and truly.
It is possible. Juddy may go up a notch. We've suffered a lot on injury in the first half.
Many of the young guys are getting better everyweek and we've got Tex to come back into the team as well.
BLUES82
25 May 2008, 17:57
We have to play both Adelaide and Brisbane interstate as well.
and port:(
CarltonFan
25 May 2008, 17:58
we have a very good draw, anything can happen if we play like we did against collingwood.
The Old Dark Navy's
25 May 2008, 18:02
we have a very good draw, anything can happen if we play like we did against collingwood.We have had a very good draw. What lies ahead is not very good considering we need another 8 wins from 13 games to play finals.
7 wins minimum, 10 wins maximum seems the likely scenario from here.
fevola25
25 May 2008, 18:03
At round 9 2007 we were 14th
round 9 2006 we were 15th
round 9 2005 we were 15th
round 9 2004 we were 12th
round 9 2003 we were 14th
round 9 2002 we were 16th
Dont busrt my bubble, Im excited..
Even if its only for a week.
Krueger
25 May 2008, 18:09
At round 9 2007 we were 14th
round 9 2006 we were 15th
round 9 2005 we were 15th
round 9 2004 we were 12th
round 9 2003 we were 14th
round 9 2002 we were 16th
Dont busrt my bubble, Im excited..
Even if its only for a week.
What a beautiful set of numbers :thumbsu:
CarltonFan
25 May 2008, 18:15
We have had a very good draw. What lies ahead is not very good considering we need another 8 wins from 13 games to play finals.
7 wins minimum, 10 wins maximum seems the likely scenario from here.
with respect my holy moderator lord, i disagree (please dont ban me)
between rounds 11 - 15 we have;
port adelaide (burguone suspended)
collingwood MCG
essendon MCG
richmond MCG
stkilda MCG
tough but all very winable imo given that we play at the G which we for some reason play better at.
geelong, hawthorn and dogs we will only play once aswell!
i dont think we will make the finals, but it is still very do-able!
mediumsizered
25 May 2008, 18:15
I'm a big fan of these numbers: 17.9.111 v 13.10.88.
The Old Dark Navy's
25 May 2008, 18:16
What a beautiful set of numbers :thumbsu:6 infractions all on this board. I will help you to avoid any future infractions here. :thumbsu:
fevola25
25 May 2008, 18:18
1958 2008 1
what do you think of thoes numbers :o
Krueger
25 May 2008, 18:25
Paid.
blues4flag
25 May 2008, 18:29
collingwood MCG
essendon MCG
richmond MCG
stkilda MCG
tough but all very winable imo given that we play at the G which we for some reason play better at.
I'd be happy with 3 wins from those 5 games.
Western Blue
25 May 2008, 18:41
Who read them out for you ?:p
BLUES82
25 May 2008, 19:16
or, if you like something more detailed, how bout these:
oh my:o
mightymightyblues
25 May 2008, 19:45
Ebert hurt himself pretty badly yesterday and is expected to miss 1 or 2 weeks and he has been in great form including a bag of 6 yesterday, so that will also help if he is too miss.
Murph_The_Smurf
25 May 2008, 19:46
or, if you like something more detailed, how bout these:
oh my:o
Geez you could build a house with that much timber
BLUES82
25 May 2008, 19:49
Geez you could build a house with that much timber
you could, but the structure would be very second rate:o
GottaLoveCarlton
25 May 2008, 20:05
Were sitting 9th, with 4 wins and 5 losses. Great effort so far.
We SHOULD have beaten both Richmond and Essendon. We were capable of it, it should have been. Never should have let the Bombers run away with it, and let Richmond back in the game.
If it was the case, we'd be sitting 5th with 6 wins and 3 losses. If only.
Mike_blues
25 May 2008, 20:11
collingwood MCG
essendon MCG
richmond MCG
stkilda MCG
gotta win at least 3 or 4 of them
------
go quote your LOSING grand finals beautiful set of numbers, you joffa's nob jockey.
ctacp
curlier than a catoggio pube
one eyed bluey
25 May 2008, 22:49
collingwood MCG
essendon MCG
richmond MCG
stkilda MCG
If we're going to make finals we need to at least win 4 of those, I rekon we can we're a good chance against port as well.
BUT, realistically, we're no where near the sides such as the doggies, geelong, hawks and sydney. But it is good to know we're much better than the rabble below us in melbourne, freo, essedon (yeah i know we lost to them but we'll smash them now), richmond (same as essedon), weagles.
Athomas
25 May 2008, 22:51
you could, but the structure would be very second rate:o
LOL.
But he was right, those numbers are really bad! :p
Coming from where we have, we have most certainly improved since last year. I'm just hoping we can maintain some sort of form in the second half of the year, considering this is usually where the wheels have fallen off in previous seasons.
Bentick's My Man.
25 May 2008, 23:56
To be a top 8 team we had to beat Richmond, Essendon and now it seems St Kilda and should be sitting 7-2 with the worse draw in the comp about it hit us.
Hit the nail on the head.
We have played;
Richmond - 11th
St. Kilda - 10th
Essendon - 14th
Collingwood - 7th
Melbourne - 16th
Adelaide - 4th
West Coast - 13th
Brisbane Lions - 8th
Fremantle - 15th
Which is the whole bottom 4 & only need to play Pt. Adelaide to have played the whole bottom 8
If we beat Richmond and Essendon and left us 6-3 it would have set us up nicely to threaten the 8.
mediumsizered
26 May 2008, 00:10
Coming from where we have, we have most certainly improved since last year. I'm just hoping we can maintain some sort of form in the second half of the year, considering this is usually where the wheels have fallen off in previous seasons.
I would like to think with the mature bodies of Judd, Stevens, Hadley (if we can get him out there), Fev (if he avoids injury), Thornton, Waite, among others, that late season fadeouts are a thing of the past. Young bodies will always struggle in the latter part of the season, that is when the experienced players need to pick up the slack.
I also doubt we will see as many younger players debut in the latter part of this season, as Ratts tries to get as many games as possible under the belt of players such as Gibbs, Jamison, Bower, Pfeiffer, Browne, Grigg, Edwards, Hampson & Kreuzer.
Dramoth
26 May 2008, 01:29
I would like to think with the mature bodies of Judd, Stevens, Hadley (if we can get him out there), Fev (if he avoids injury), Thornton, Waite, among others, that late season fadeouts are a thing of the past. Young bodies will always struggle in the latter part of the season, that is when the experienced players need to pick up the slack.
I also doubt we will see as many younger players debut in the latter part of this season, as Ratts tries to get as many games as possible under the belt of players such as Gibbs, Jamison, Bower, Pfeiffer, Browne, Grigg, Edwards, Hampson & Kreuzer.
I would like to see Aisake out there before the end of the year.
But I think that you are right. This year is all about getting experience into those players who Pagan stuffed about the last couple of years. It'll definitely make them better for playing out a full season and not getting dragged and dropped after making a mistake.
I think that with the players that we have coming back into the side over the next few weeks and a few of the players who still have to come into the side, we will be in a much better state to finish the year of well.
Just imagine winning 1 more match and getting rid of all those tossers who were saying that we would be tanking again this year. It would shut up a lot of critics of the club.
And how sweet would it be to do the double over the filth as well :)
davis_756
26 May 2008, 03:12
At best I see us winning 8-10 games, were a good chf and chb off being a top side at least as well as some more maturity in our young players bodies.
Dramoth
26 May 2008, 03:35
At best I see us winning 8-10 games, were a good chf and chb off being a top side at least as well as some more maturity in our young players bodies.
If we can settle Carlos into the back line instead of using him as a utility player around the ground, then I think that our problem with a CHB will be solved as he will interchange with Jamo between CHB and FB taking the tall forward option while Jamo goes for the second tall.
I reckon that either Kreuzer or Cloke will end up at CHF in a couple of years as Aisake starts getting more game time in the seniors (hopefully starting towards the end of the year) and then our CHF problem will be solved as well... unless someone like Brown comes onto the market.
Seeing as Carlton supporters consider their team to be better than Collingwood, is it fair to say that anything less than a 87 point win against Geelong would be considered a massive failure?
davis_756
26 May 2008, 04:25
Seeing as Carlton supporters consider their team to be better than Collingwood, is it fair to say that anything less than a 87 point win against Geelong would be considered a massive failure?
Geelong are a better side then they played against you, at their best only possibly hawthorn could match them and us getting them on the rebound of a loss I don't see geelong playing like country football reserves players 2 weeks in a row.
magpies10
26 May 2008, 16:18
Geelong are a better side then they played against you, at their best only possibly hawthorn could match them and us getting them on the rebound of a loss I don't see geelong playing like country football reserves players 2 weeks in a row.
and we are a better than the side than you played against in rd 4, it means nothing though you can only beat the team that comes out to face you on the day, all this Geelong had an off day or were due for a loss is rubbish what do you wan't us to do give the points back?
and we are a better than the side than you played against ...
The reason we beat you so easily, is that your side is basically rubbish. Was a great win by the Pies V Cats, which took 2-3 weeks of planning to implement a "global tag" on many Geelong players, many of whom were playing injured BTW. So the result was pretty meaningless. The Pies are still barely top-8 quality, and have a shocking midfield, and major KP forward issues. Nothing has changed apart from another 1 or 2 HUN pro-Collingwood liftouts. :)
magpies10
26 May 2008, 16:34
The reason we beat you so easily, is that your side is basically rubbish. Was a great win by the Pies V Cats, which took 2-3 weeks of planning to implement a "global tag" on many Geelong players, many of whom were playing injured BTW. So the result was pretty meaningless. The Pies are still barely top-8 quality, and have a shocking midfield, and major KP forward issues. Nothing has changed apart from another 1 or 2 HUN pro-Collingwood liftouts. :)
I'll take this as sarcasim or jealousy, either puts a smile on my face, if it is the latter than the smile will widen when you guys get shown up by an injury-depleted side, do not understand why you would say the result is meaningless when you face that side this week, putting the pressure on yourself champ. Also do you think Carlton is top 8 material, I mean you have beaten us who are allegedly "barely top 8 quality' and the 3 bottom sides, whilst losing to Richmond and Essendon. Thoughts?
I don't think Carlton have played that well this year. The priority is development in 2008, and this is progressing brilliantly. Oh, and I call Collingwood rubbish as a statement of fact. Have a look at your midfield and try not too laugh. O'Brien an AFL level footballer? I bet Fev hopes he's still playing in the next encounter. Maxwell? Are you serious? I really don't think the Pies are serious about building a side to win flags, which BTW is the only objective at Carlton. The Pies seem to have a "near enough is good enough" attitude, and being within "excuse reach of success" is satisfactory. So it's not just a list problem but also an attitude problem down at Pieland i.e. a failure-excuse habit. :)
Carson_Kressley
26 May 2008, 16:47
there is only 4 inform sides at the moment being geelong, hawthorn, bulldogs and kangaroos. i can see us sneaking into to the top 8. with some more wins and some luck we can play finals footy :cool::)
magpies10
26 May 2008, 16:51
I don't think Carlton have played that well this year. The priority is development in 2008, and this is progressing brilliantly. Oh, and I call Collingwood rubbish as a statement of fact. Have a look at your midfield and try not too laugh. O'Brien an AFL level footballer? I bet Fev hopes he's still playing in the next encounter. Maxwell? Are you serious? I really don't think the Pies are serious about building a side to win flags, which BTW is the only objective at Carlton. The Pies seem to have a "near enough is god enough" attitude, and being within "excuse reach of success" is satisfactory. So it's not just a list problem but also an attitude problem down at Pieland. :)
So we win against the undefeated reigning premier by 86 points, convincingly beat them in the middle and hold them to their lowest score in at least 2 years, yet we have a shocking midfield and defence, i think your opinon is the thing I and most others are trying not to laugh at. I am glad you don't rate us though I am sure it takes the pressure off if we are not concevied as a threat. Look at your midfield and name one star who was developed by Carlton. Would take Pendles, Swanny, Burnsy and the like any day over players who only got to your club as a result of easy trading due to poor ladder positions. I am also very sure Jimmy Bartel, Joel Corey and Joel Selwood would tell you that our midfield is not laughable.
there is only 4 inform sides at the moment being geelong, hawthorn, bulldogs and kangaroos. i can see us sneaking into to the top 8. with some more wins and some luck we can play finals footy :cool::)
I think that's right. The key is for us to not fall away in the 2nd half of the season like we have done in the past. The positive is we're still doing OK with a decent injury list. We'll finish somewhere between 10th and 6th. Playing even one final will be a great experience for our young players at this early stage of their development. Can't see us having much of a finals impact this year, but anything can happen on the day. :)
So we win against the undefeated reigning premier by 86 points, convincingly beat them...
You tagged most of their side, and turned the game into a scrappy spectacle i.e. played on your terms. The Pies midfield is truly woeful, and many Pies supporters acknowledge that. It got well and truly thumped by the Blues, Hawks and North midfields. Smashed in fact. Malthouse tries to use extreme midfield rotation numbers to offset his lack of midfield talent. Works OK sometimes with an out of form, injured opponent, but usually fails. Hence, Friday's game was meaningless. Don't fool yourself, Collingwood are still rubbish. :)
magpies10
26 May 2008, 17:01
I think that's right. The key is for us to not fall away in the 2nd half of the season like we have done in the past. The positive is we're still doing OK with a decent injury list. We'll finish somewhere between 10th and 6th. Playing even one final will be a great experience for our young players at this early stage of their development. Can't see us having much of a finals impact this year, but anything can happen on the day. :)
Already a game and 14% behind 8th, effectively 2 game behind in 9 weeks, you have beaten us (who are apparently no good) West Coast, Freo and Melbourne what makes you think you can beat top 8 sides and win 8 out of 13 games to make finals?
Talent. And we have a lot of it. But finals ain't our priority in 2008, just a spin-off from our development program. The priority at Carlton is developing our young side to win flags. Flags are the only measure of success at Carlton. :)
Surely beating average sides like Geelong is just a small step in the developmental program. If crap sides like Collingwood can beat Geelong, then talented teams like Carlton should have no problems.
Anything less than an 87 point win against Geelong should be considered a massive failure and a massive step backwards in the development of the team.
The Old Dark Navy's
26 May 2008, 17:24
Okay, you Pies supporters silly enough to get involved in a debate with parrot thinking you will have an outcome, can take it to another board.
Bluebear
26 May 2008, 17:34
collingwood MCG
essendon MCG
richmond MCG
stkilda MCG
So that's 4 winnable games.
Do the following 7 rounds (I did this earlier this week in a thread called "the run home")
Hawks, Dogs, Port (AAMI), Lions (GABBA), Roos, Swans, plus one more I can't rememeber right now.
All losable.
So add your 4 winables to our 4 wins and our 6-7 losables and we could get 8 wins only and lose the last 7.
OR
we could lift and play better than what we have the last three rounds (which despite 2 wins hasn't been great and would result in losing all 7 games above, and probably one or two of your winables)......and we could crack an extra 2 wins, getting to 10 and be unlucky to miss finals this year.
davis_756
26 May 2008, 20:20
Collingwood will lose to West Coast next week, Then you will blame the loss on some rubbish excuse like "We lost because it was at the MCG" before crawling back into the holes you came running out of.
Unlike you we are not kidding ourselves, our team is based around developing young players and we won't be competing for a flag this year or next year and we will more then likely win 8-10 games this year an finish between 9-12th on the ladder.
Yourself you will probably finish 7th-8th since I wouldn't put you ahead of hawks, geel, dogs, adel, sydney, brisbane and sure you will play finals but you will be lucky to make it past the 1st week and where will you be next year? Rocca although he can't kick a goal from inside 40 is still key to your side because he provides a target and draws defenders so the rest of your forward line can score goals and he will soon go the way of gehrig.
Your backline is useless, Fevola exposed it by himself when we played you and your midfields not getting any better anytime soon so your only going down the ladder next year not up.
If your happy playing finals footy and never winning a flag you are doing a good job but we at carlton want to win flags when we play finals, have fun rebuilding your club when draft picks are all going to be sent to the gold coast and west sydney :)
Exactly. :)
magpies10
27 May 2008, 17:20
Collingwood will lose to West Coast next week, Then you will blame the loss on some rubbish excuse like "We lost because it was at the MCG" before crawling back into the holes you came running out of.
Unlike you we are not kidding ourselves, our team is based around developing young players and we won't be competing for a flag this year or next year and we will more then likely win 8-10 games this year an finish between 9-12th on the ladder.
Yourself you will probably finish 7th-8th since I wouldn't put you ahead of hawks, geel, dogs, adel, sydney, brisbane and sure you will play finals but you will be lucky to make it past the 1st week and where will you be next year? Rocca although he can't kick a goal from inside 40 is still key to your side because he provides a target and draws defenders so the rest of your forward line can score goals and he will soon go the way of gehrig.
Your backline is useless, Fevola exposed it by himself when we played you and your midfields not getting any better anytime soon so your only going down the ladder next year not up.
Well you guys are on a run of 7 outs in the last 7 years so making finals should be a priority, than again you seem pleased with anywhere from 15-16 if your not winning flags, also you guys played in about 4 or 5 finals series after 1995 so yeah not good recent odds as far as your quote is concerned.
Blue Dawn
27 May 2008, 18:03
Well you guys are on a run of 7 outs in the last 7 years so making finals should be a priority, than again you seem pleased with anywhere from 15-16 if your not winning flags, also you guys played in about 4 or 5 finals series after 1995 so yeah not good recent odds as far as your quote is concerned.
You must be obsessed with Carlton M10, you spend more time on OUR board then half of our posters. Want to be careful to heed the warning that your your pro-maggotness is wearing a little thin after the last month or so. You might want to 'lighten it up' or expect the boot. ;)
magpies10
27 May 2008, 18:14
yeah people agreeing with what I say gets a bit boring so like to have a few disputes with others, good to get the blood boiling every now and again
thylacine60
27 May 2008, 18:36
yeah people agreeing with what I say gets a bit boring so like to have a few disputes with others, good to get the blood boiling every now and again
As long as you are aware blue blood doesn't boil. It separates.
Shambolic
27 May 2008, 21:08
When was the last time we were in 9th place say outside of the first 2-3 rounds? 2001?
fevola25
27 May 2008, 21:31
When was the last time we were in 9th place say outside of the first 2-3 rounds? 2001?
Yes, 2001 after round 9 we were 4th, and we were 16th after round 9 in 2002, thats where it all started to go pear shaped.
Mike_blues
27 May 2008, 22:03
a LONG time ago sadly:mad:
Bluebear
16 Jun 2008, 17:03
*BUMP*
Was your blood boiling yesterday?:o
____ it, still can't find the "Ratts in the top 10 worst starts to a coaching career" .............:mad::p
MyBloodIsBlue
16 Jun 2008, 17:07
*BUMP*
____ it, still can't find the "Ratts in the top 10 worst starts to a coaching career" .............:mad::p
Bluebear = Mr Bump
Not that there's anything wrong with that :D
Andyt31
16 Jun 2008, 17:28
last time I Looked were 8th & North Melbourne 9th how can Carlton be 9th when were 2 pts ahead of North lol
boncer34
16 Jun 2008, 17:32
last time I Looked were 8th & North Melbourne 9th how can Carlton be 9th when were 2 pts ahead of North lol
Uh oh....
Andyt31
16 Jun 2008, 18:13
Uh oh....
yeah the poster did a typo ;) they put 9 instead of 8 lol
dunno what ladder they were looking at ;)
*BUMP*
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=366594
??
*BUMP*
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=429563
??
Bluebear
16 Jun 2008, 19:20
Nope. Neither of those.
Pretty sure it wasn't the actual thread topic, and thought it appeared around the Lions loss after an article in the paper........some flog had produce a table of the wost records to start a coaching career.
Just wanted to revisit that thread and update it. ;)
Found some good bumps along the way though.:D
Bluebear
16 Jun 2008, 20:41
Hey CARLSCUM get off our board
Lost? :o
Might wanna check where you are and put your manners back in.:p
Il Naso De Gastev
16 Jun 2008, 20:46
yeah the poster did a typo ;) they put 9 instead of 8 lol
dunno what ladder they were looking at ;)
Hey Andy, you're an umpire aren't you??
MyBloodIsBlue
16 Jun 2008, 20:55
Nope. Neither of those.
Pretty sure it wasn't the actual thread topic, and thought it appeared around the Lions loss after an article in the paper........some flog had produce a table of the wost records to start a coaching career.
Just wanted to revisit that thread and update it. ;)
Found some good bumps along the way though.:D
How about Sir Bumpalot? That sounds like a 90's white rapper :o:D
Bluebear
16 Jun 2008, 20:57
How about Sir Bumpalot? That sounds like a 90's white rapper :o:D
My PR shot.:p
http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2006/10/17/VanillaIce_061016035808142_wideweb__300x358.jpg
MyBloodIsBlue
16 Jun 2008, 21:37
My PR shot.:p
http://www.smh.com.au/ffximage/2006/10/17/VanillaIce_061016035808142_wideweb__300x358.jpg
Ooh ice cold BB :eek::p
Andyt31
16 Jun 2008, 22:33
Hey Andy, you're an umpire aren't you??
hey Naso yeah i sure am a Goal Umpire infact I thought Collingwoods first shot for for goal had cleared the Line before it bounced back in even in slow mo looked like it cleared the line those i hate even tight angles ya have to be between goal and pt post
Il Naso De Gastev
17 Jun 2008, 00:28
hey Naso yeah i sure am a Goal Umpire infact I thought Collingwoods first shot for for goal had cleared the Line before it bounced back in even in slow mo looked like it cleared the line those i hate even tight angles ya have to be between goal and pt post
Awesome. Do you get paid or is it volunteer work??
Can't say I saw that one... what about the Fraser one that bounced on the line and back into play, to O'Bree who then kicked a goal. That one must have got the blood pumping??? I bet you love calling those!!!
The game is in safe hands if there's good folk in the umpiring fraternity. All the best.
Andyt31
17 Jun 2008, 12:06
Awesome. Do you get paid or is it volunteer work??
Can't say I saw that one... what about the Fraser one that bounced on the line and back into play, to O'Bree who then kicked a goal. That one must have got the blood pumping??? I bet you love calling those!!!
The game is in safe hands if there's good folk in the umpiring fraternity. All the best.
sure do $61.00 - $12 to help upkeep training facilities & we get travel as well varys so much a kilometer could be as much as 100 from home (Brim) to say Stawell or Nhill bar if the games close to home i started off volunteer away matches as i was doing the scoreboard for home games
all grades Next Week will be interesting AFL Round hope be 7-6 ;) Essendon won't find us as easy to beat as Last time althought it wasn't by alot our biggest losing margin was 50 v geelong not too bad though
it makes it look good when you beat side s by similar margins .