View Full Version : we're not so good after all
I know ill probably get shot down for saying this but we're not so good after all. We've all been talking about the exciting prospect of Tom Williams but his disposal and footy brain doesnt seem up to it, we were saying how good we would be when Williams, Ray, Everitt return none of whom have proved they can be consistent AFL performers.
GetDimmaBack
25 May 2008, 23:19
Give 'em time - they're all coming back from injury, and very few players hit their straps immediately.
Unnamed1
25 May 2008, 23:19
You raise some good points - people do sometimes get a little over excited about our young player prospects.
However, I think many posters on here realise we've done well in some tight games and that we could easily have one or two more losses to our names.
Just be happy that we've only lost one game and know that there's plenty of room for improvement!
OldSchool
25 May 2008, 23:21
I know ill probably get shot down for saying this but we're not so good after all. We've all been talking about the exciting prospect of Tom Williams but his disposal and footy brain doesnt seem up to it, we were saying how good we would be when Williams, Ray, Everitt return none of whom have proved they can be consistent AFL performers.
We have pinched a few results and have had a close one not go our way so I'm not sure if you can draw the conclusion that we aren't good. I never thought that we would go through the season undefeated but this is hopefully just one of a small number of bumps along the way.
dales.girl38
25 May 2008, 23:23
Yes, in the two games Williams has played this year and the 1 game Ray has played they have not promised that without a shadow of a doubt they will become 200 game players. Everitt has not promised anything in his games for the Dogs this year, oh wait, he hasn't played for us yet...oh yeah, he's been injured.
Give them time to settle and recover from injuries before criticising them...plus, Everitt almost did as many good things as several of the boys did today.
Dogs Rule
25 May 2008, 23:24
How many of us would have honestly thought we would be 7.5 wins from 9 at the start of the year?
ctrain07
25 May 2008, 23:24
Mate i'm as dissapointed as every bulldog supporter but we have lost 1 game from 9 starts, we were on a six day break, coming bak from a thrilling and exhausting win over freo in the west, in boomer harveys 250th and were 8 pts down with a couple of minutes left and to nearly pinch the game was pretty brave. I agree that ray should be dropped after yet another dissapointing game. I no its his first game back after injury but callan ward deserves to be in the side instead of him, Tom Williams is still only young, been ridiculed by injury, has only played a handful of games but there is still alot of room for improvement, so saying that we are 7 and a half wins from 9 games, wer 8 points clear of fifth, we are still in a very good position. And the hawthorn game will be a good measuring stick to tell us were we are at against one of the favorites in Hawthorn. GO DOGS
budge11
25 May 2008, 23:31
You guys are 7-1-1!!! That's fantastic I would have thought?!
what i mean is there is still plenty of work to do. The way it has been said here and in the media is that Williams will be the best CHB of the next 10 years where he still has a lot of work to do his altheticism is fantastic but he is not a natural football also people coming on here and saying ray hasnt played all year i accept that but he was a top 5 draft pick and has been in the system long enough to be showing more then he has. I may have been a bit hasty putting Everitt into this bracket because he has played one year of footy and has been struck with injury this year.
You guys are 7-1-1!!! That's fantastic I would have thought?!
You would think so, but from reading some posts tonight you would swear you were on the Freo board.
jazzadogs
26 May 2008, 00:33
mitch hahn and robert murphy werent playing well last year when they returned from injury. Admittedly knees are a bit more long term than the injuries of ray, williams and everitt, but they should still be given the same opportunities as Murph and Hahn were given.
We are good. We might not be as good as hawthorn or geelong (when at 100%), but most people had already accepted that before this week. Next week will be the ultimate test of that.
Show some support.
Vulture
26 May 2008, 00:46
Where is that Nineteen Fifty Four bloke? I am getting flash backs to all that pre-season BULLSHIT.
Dogs_r_barking
26 May 2008, 08:33
I don't know what all the fuss is about:mad: WE lost to North by 4 POINTS, yes four points. Last year they smashed us both times we played them. We were obviously down in our game, we have Williams back still looking a bit shaky along with Farren Ray, however they are only going to improve as the season progresses. WE are still in third spot a game and a half from fourth. The players had a tough interstate game last week that went down the wire, and we know they were not playing at their best. Johno is injured, which is my biggest worry, he would not normally miss all those shots at goal.
What would you prefer to be in Geelong's position and belted by 86 points?
However, our loss will give Hawthorn a touch of complacency next week when we play them - which might work to our advantage.
Go Dogs!
The Boy From Brasil
26 May 2008, 08:41
Personally, I think we are a very good side with room for improvement.
The proof will be in the pudding in the next 6 weeks or so.
This is who we play
St Kilda **
Brisbane **
Port Adelaide **
Melbourne **
I put ** next to teams I think we should beat.
If we are a good team, we should win at least 4 of the next 7 which will keep us on track for a top four finish. Any less than that, then we start slipping down the ladder and fighting it out with the rest of the pack.
Dogs_r_barking
26 May 2008, 08:50
This is who we play
St Kilda **
Brisbane **
Port Adelaide **
Melbourne **
If we are a good team, we should win at least 4 of the next 7 which will keep us on track for a top four finish. Any less than that, then we start slipping down the ladder and fighting it out with the rest of the pack.
We also play well against Collingwood - so I would put that down as a potential win.
ClaudeGriffin
26 May 2008, 09:31
This is who we play
St Kilda **
Brisbane **
Port Adelaide **
Melbourne **
To all those "glass half empty" supporters. North finished in the top 4 last year, we didn't even make the top 10. People should take heart in how far we have come, and how much improvement we still have. I'm not sure if North can play any better, we certainly can.
BTW. I think we'll beat Collingwood.
NorthBhoy
26 May 2008, 09:54
I'm not sure if North can play any better, we certainly can.
Yeah, you're right. We played at our absolute peak and simply cannot give any more. Every single player was astoundingly good.
boydsno1
26 May 2008, 09:57
omg had johnnop kicked straight people would have continued to sing the praises. we were unlucky but were still 6 points clear of 4th spot.
I know Tom Williams has been hit hard with injury and is a real determined type. However in the games he has played i dont think anyone could say he has showed anything that reflects the hype and expectations on him. I think we need to start getting some solid games out of him.
I don't know what all the fuss is about:mad: WE lost to North by 4 POINTS, yes four points.
No, 3 points actually
JorgePosada
26 May 2008, 11:13
Nice knee jerk reaction this thread.
desipura
26 May 2008, 13:52
Now I know why you call yourself Lemmon.
Darcy and others in the know say Williams will be a great long term player. I am willing to believe them over you.
Re Everitt and Ray, talking about kicking a player when he is down. Especially Everitt who has shown he has "the footy smarts" to play AFL.
muttley3028
26 May 2008, 14:05
Its amazing what a loss can do. I am not happy about it but in perspective its not a terrible result we got flogged by them last time and they did make a prelim last year so its dissapointing to loose but hardly worth chucking it all in.
The loss was bound to happen sometime. Here is hoping it buts a little fire in the belly and put the hunger in the guys to come out firing for a big game this week.
If we get over the line we are just 2 points off top spot not a sentence I was expecting this year.
And as for the old bloke that sits behind me every week in aisle 39 Level 1 complaining about EVERYTHING.
Not ever player will get BOG in every game.
Cross is not an idiot or useless as you clearly stated last night.
We are sitting 3rd with 7 wins 1 draw and 1 loss what more do you want BLOOD?
Running Dog
26 May 2008, 14:20
We lost a game of footy FFS- big deal! It's already happened to 15 other teams. Did anyone honestly think we were going to go through the season undefeated?!
Exactly, get some perspective and have some faith in your team guys.
Mervyn Beasley
26 May 2008, 14:35
Mate i'm as dissapointed as every bulldog supporter but we have lost 1 game from 9 starts, we were on a six day break, coming bak from a thrilling and exhausting win over freo in the west, in boomer harveys 250th and were 8 pts down with a couple of minutes left and to nearly pinch the game was pretty brave. I agree that ray should be dropped after yet another dissapointing game. I no its his first game back after injury but callan ward deserves to be in the side instead of him, Tom Williams is still only young, been ridiculed by injury, has only played a handful of games but there is still alot of room for improvement, so saying that we are 7 and a half wins from 9 games, wer 8 points clear of fifth, we are still in a very good position. And the hawthorn game will be a good measuring stick to tell us were we are at against one of the favorites in Hawthorn. GO DOGS
Does Tom get laughed at when he is injured?;)
All the best on Sat guys. Should be a ripper.
kitsoasis
26 May 2008, 14:37
the only loss for the season till now is a 3 point loss from a missed shot after the siren, how can you already question how good the team really is?
GET ANGRY
GET PUMPED UP FOR NEXT ROUND!!!
COME ON PEOPLE
YEEEEEAAAAAAH!!!!!!!
ARRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:F-boJL9Viv3LaM:http://www.comicbookmovie.com/images/news/hulk-2/Lou%2520Ferrigno%2520as%2520Incredible%2520Hulk.jpg (http://images.google.com.au/imgres?imgurl=http://www.comicbookmovie.com/images/news/hulk-2/Lou%2520Ferrigno%2520as%2520Incredible%2520Hulk.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.comicbookmovie.com/news/articles/4035.asp&h=477&w=385&sz=30&hl=en&start=8&um=1&tbnid=F-boJL9Viv3LaM:&tbnh=129&tbnw=104&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dincredible%2Bhulk%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN)
The Boy From Brasil
26 May 2008, 15:56
I know Tom Williams has been hit hard with injury and is a real determined type. However in the games he has played i dont think anyone could say he has showed anything that reflects the hype and expectations on him. I think we need to start getting some solid games out of him.
Thats a bit harsh.
Given a fair run with injury he will be a 150-200 game plus player for us. He just hasn't been able to have a clear run at it and string games together, because of injury.
I am sure if his body can hold up, he will be a ripper player for us and more importantly, a great key position player that we really need. Key position players with great athletic attributes don't grow on trees, so a bit of patience is the order of the day here IMO. :)
Hawthorn hasn't lost yet;) but we get the point.
RedWhite&Blue
26 May 2008, 17:01
I hope Everit gets back to some of the form he showed last year. I remember him playing a blinder in that game against Port.
Is he injured or just suffering from 'second year blues'?
I hope Everit gets back to some of the form he showed last year. I remember him playing a blinder in that game against Port.
Is he injured or just suffering from 'second year blues'?
na hes injured but is starting to look good at williamstown
i knew i was gonna cop a beating over this, but i dont think anyone is understanding my point i am proud of the way the boys are playing and i knew we couldnt go through undefeated, but my point is the hype some of the boys have been getting including Williams, Ray and Everitt have never shown they can be consistent AFL footballers while in the media and on this board people have been saying wow how good are we undefeated with all these guys to come in. I believe each of these can and may go on to become champions of the club but before we hype them up we need to see something that shows they can live up to it consistently.
I'm surprised you haven't popped the names Hill, Addison, Higgin's, Minson, Wight, Griffen and maybe a few others onto to your list.
Why just single out those 3 ?
STRONGBOW
26 May 2008, 17:56
How many of us would have honestly thought we would be 7.5 wins from 9 at the start of the year?
i for one didnt,
more then happy,
STRONGBOW
26 May 2008, 18:01
the differance in standards between vfl and afl at the moment is huge so imo we have to allow these guys abit of time to adjust, they have all shown us the have the ability.
Borgsta
26 May 2008, 18:17
Remind us why the thread is titled
'we're not so good after all'
and how exactly that translates to saying please don't hype up young players before they have shown anything.
Remind us why the thread is titled
'we're not so good after all'
and how exactly that translates to saying please don't hype up young players before they have shown anything.
yer that probably was a bit stupid by me
Griffs_Revenge
26 May 2008, 18:57
I would be willing to bet that if someone did a cross reference between the names that have been bagging Johnson, gameplan, players etc and all the other crap the last 2 days with the preseason negative posters who were calling for Eade to be sacked, and smorgon should go, and acker is no good and all that other crap you would get a good match rate.
The reason is I think these people have been waiting all year to get on here and bag someone to lift their own low self esteem, only this is the first chance they have got. The facts;
We are 7-1-1 after 9
We are third on the ladder 1 and half clear of 4th
We have the current second favourite for Brownlow
Have done it all with minimal or no impact from 2 most seasoned and decorated players in West and Johnson
Recruits we picked up have paid dividends
Injured players from last year have come back better then ever - Murphy, Griffin, Cross etc
And most important - we lost to a team that always fights and is quality, it is not as though we lost to Essendon or Melbourne, and you cannot expect to win every game it is not going to happen.
I would be willing to bet that if someone did a cross reference between the names that have been bagging Johnson, gameplan, players etc and all the other crap the last 2 days with the preseason negative posters who were calling for Eade to be sacked, and smorgon should go, and acker is no good and all that other crap you would get a good match rate.
The reason is I think these people have been waiting all year to get on here and bag someone to lift their own low self esteem, only this is the first chance they have got. The facts;
We are 7-1-1 after 9
We are third on the ladder 1 and half clear of 4th
We have the current second favourite for Brownlow
Have done it all with minimal or no impact from 2 most seasoned and decorated players in West and Johnson
Recruits we picked up have paid dividends
Injured players from last year have come back better then ever - Murphy, Griffin, Cross etc
And most important - we lost to a team that always fights and is quality, it is not as though we lost to Essendon or Melbourne, and you cannot expect to win every game it is not going to happen.
mate its an opinion that what this sites about if you dont want people having an opinion get off the site i can accept the criticism ive been getting on this thread because they are putting forward their opinon but saying that because ive made an opinion i have no self esteem is the biggest load of bull ive ever seen, mate ur a joke
Griffs_Revenge
26 May 2008, 19:15
mate its an opinion that what this sites about if you dont want people having an opinion get off the site i can accept the criticism ive been getting on this thread because they are putting forward their opinon but saying that because ive made an opinion i have no self esteem is the biggest load of bull ive ever seen, mate ur a joke
Everyone can have an opinion but if you feel the need to put down and criticise at every possible opportunity then I stand by that claim that you do have low self esteem.
The Boy From Brasil
26 May 2008, 19:15
Lemmon, personally I would give Williams and Everitt a fair bit more time to show their value. Everitt is only a baby football wise. Given a good run with injury, they both will be long term players for the dogs. IMO we should not be too quick with putting too many expectations on them
Patience is a virtue :)
Everyone can have an opinion but if you feel the need to put down and criticise at every possible opportunity then I stand by that claim that you do have low self esteem.
Mate it's not criticism its discussion whats the point of the site if you cant discuss, for once take off your red, white and blue glasses and have a good look at yourself did you even read the post its talking about how players are rated before they prove they can consistently play so have a look first at the thread first:mad:
I know Williams is talked up as a really likely type and IMO if he can get fit he will become a good player and suited to the way AFL is played these days. Ray never gets talked up as a star??? Skinny showed more poise and ability last year than guys that have played a lot more footy and once he is over his injury I expect him to regain a spot and play well.
I think we'll see a team feeling the pain of a loss and really showing something against Hawthorn. We have the style that can really trouble them and I also think their backline is weak.
Doggies_2008
26 May 2008, 20:26
Im happy with 7 wins, 1 draw and 1 lose.
And its not as if North Melbourne is a shit side. So im happy with were we are atm.
Bulldogs Roar
26 May 2008, 20:52
This is who we play
St Kilda **
Brisbane **
Port Adelaide **
Melbourne **
Assuming the Cooney dosent get injured or suspended, Collingwood game will be his 100th game. We always lift for milestone games like the kangas did against us and like we did against the crows for johnno. I would add this to the games we should win.
tcnthat
26 May 2008, 23:15
Assuming the Cooney dosent get injured or suspended, Collingwood game will be his 100th game. We always lift for milestone games like the kangas did against us and like we did against the crows for johnno. I would add this to the games we should win.
You blokes always do well against us.
Real contrasting styles. Pies have the bigger forwards but are a bit mercurial (h&a 06), while the dogs have the running game to beat the Collingwood smother (sept 06).
Looking forward to it.
Gee Cooney is a good player, its a pity Akermanis (among others) is in there taking brownlow votes off him, otherwise that 100-1 at the start of the year is luxury odds. Every dogs game I have seen this year they have both dominated.
#1 Dogs Fan
27 May 2008, 19:55
For ____s sake Yes you will get shot down for this :mad:.
Mate we have lost one game that we should have won but that wasn't to be.
We were never going to go undefeated this season and losing by under a goal to a team that played in the prelim last year isn't to bad in my books.
The media have been on our backs all season and absolutely love it that we lost because now they are saying crap that we are starting to look shaky and on the way down.
All I can say is that I am over the moon that we are were we are right now. Not anybody not even you lemmon would argue that you are not happy of how the dogs have gone about this season.
We play the Hawks this week.
Can we win ? YES
Will we win ? Maybe not but....
we do how ever go into this game to prove the footy critics wrong we have gone in underdogs most games this season and who ever we beat the footy critics just keep giving us the same crap that we have beating nobody and until they face a good team in Hawthorne etc it remains to be seen how good the dogs are.
This is our chance a chance to get respect, Members on board and most of all shut the mouths of critics like your self lemon.
Bulldogs #1
27 May 2008, 20:25
I've barraked for the dogs for my whole life (15 years) and in my opinion, one loss is not that big of a deal compared to the horrible seasons we have had to suffer.
7 - 1 - 1, is i belive the best start we have got to a season in SO long, we were bound to lose, but it shouldnt all be put on Brad Johnsons mistake or mistakes, I think the club had become too cocky and tricked themselfs into thinking we are at the Geelong/Hawthorn level when we are a few notches behind them.
The point in, we all put our heart and soul into the Western Bulldogs, and were falsly led into thinking we are at an elite level. WE SHOULD BE (bleep) HAPPY WITH 3RD ON THE LADDER!
For ____s sake Yes you will get shot down for this :mad:.
Mate we have lost one game that we should have won but that wasn't to be.
We were never going to go undefeated this season and losing by under a goal to a team that played in the prelim last year isn't to bad in my books.
The media have been on our backs all season and absolutely love it that we lost because now they are saying crap that we are starting to look shaky and on the way down.
All I can say is that I am over the moon that we are were we are right now. Not anybody not even you lemmon would argue that you are not happy of how the dogs have gone about this season.
We play the Hawks this week.
Can we win ? YES
Will we win ? Maybe not but....
we do how ever go into this game to prove the footy critics wrong we have gone in underdogs most games this season and who ever we beat the footy critics just keep giving us the same crap that we have beating nobody and until they face a good team in Hawthorne etc it remains to be seen how good the dogs are.
This is our chance a chance to get respect, Members on board and most of all shut the mouths of critics like your self lemon.
Well said No#1.
Problem is the media is already milking the "Hawks have a lot of injuries" excuse. Even if we win, they still won't accept it.
Well said No#1.
Problem is the media is already milking the "Hawks have a lot of injuries" excuse. Even if we win, they still won't accept it.
I would still take it. :)