View Full Version : Do we have a match up for Buddy?
The Boy From Brasil
25 May 2008, 23:54
What is our best option for big Lance this week(remembering last time we played Hawthorn he kicked 2 goals 13 or something like that).
The usual suspects or does anyone have any players out of left field?
Unnamed1
26 May 2008, 00:52
Why is noone jumping up and down to nominate Cam Wight?! :D:D
Touched
26 May 2008, 01:02
I'd probably rotate Williams and Lake on Buddy.
If its a wet day I think Morris might also be an option.
At the end of the day the quality of the supply he gets is just as important so lots of work to do!
We have one bloke capable of doing the job on Franklin and that is Brian Lake, to think anyone else is capable is kidding ourselves.
The backline will need to be set up for him to go straight to Franklin from the first bounce.
Lake on Roughead.
Morris can play on Franklin and put someone like Wight or Williams playing in front.
jetter18
26 May 2008, 11:39
One from left field, noticed that Tiller played great in defence for Willy, has good pace could he be used on Buddy?? Think Morris would get first crack in any case but worth a thought.
gridlocked
26 May 2008, 12:21
Melbourne did a great job with him. They stuck Garland on him and had Green and others dropping back in the area in front of him.
I think we need to do something similar. I say play Morris on him and have Williams, Hargrave and Wight dropping back in front of him.
fred cook
26 May 2008, 13:19
Lake on Roughead.
Morris can play on Franklin and put someone like Wight or Williams playing in front.
Instead of wight why not put the BIG STREET there :thumbsu:
Martyn_30_
26 May 2008, 14:16
Morris has to play on Franklin he's easily the best defender in the team on leading fowards. Where Lake's biggest strength is in the one on ones which makes him a perfect match up for Roughead.
I agree.
If Buddy is getting the ball laces out then it won't matter who stands him,all we can do it try to ensure that he is getting it 55 metres from goal on the tightest angle possible.
Morris usually takes a gun forward and Lake would be a good match up for Roughead.
doggies
26 May 2008, 14:57
I agree with most of you that Morris to Franklin and Lake to Roughead...who does this leave us to put on Mark Williams...wish we had 2 or 3 Dale Morris'!
Roughie
26 May 2008, 15:17
Its going to be a ripper match up, down at the hawk board were scratching our head thinking who were are going to match up on your plethora of scoring options.
Lake is the perfect match up for Roughie. He has pace, and strength to match it with Rough.
Buddy is an interesting one, Brown was supposed to be the perfect match up for him. Before the game started, Buddy started jersey punching and intimidating Brown. From that point on young Brown just went back into his shell and Buddy beat him comfortably all game. I think if either Wight or Williams go on to Buddy he will try to get stuck into them early and try intimidate them. I think Morris is the match up.
Williams isnt a huge threat but he shouldve walked away with 4 against Melbourne. He kicked 4 or 5 the week before. He flies under the radar and is the type who shows up for a quarter and kicks 3 quickly. I am wondering who will be his match up?
This game will be a pure shoot out. The game will be won and loss in the midfield. We should have Jordan Lewis back, and fingers crossed Hodgey is back. Were going to need to be in full flight to beat your lot. We were horrible on the weekend, we really didnt show up at all. I think Clarkson will really be prepping the boys for a hard running 4 quarters.
Good luck, it looks to be a ripper.
suedehead
26 May 2008, 15:18
I agree.
If Buddy is getting the ball laces out then it won't matter who stands him,all we can do it try to ensure that he is getting it 55 metres from goal on the tightest angle possible.
Morris usually takes a gun forward and Lake would be a good match up for Roughead.
That's where he kicks it best! You're better off letting him mark it 40 out, directly in front!
bulldogsman
26 May 2008, 15:20
I agree with most of you that Morris to Franklin and Lake to Roughead...who does this leave us to put on Mark Williams...wish we had 2 or 3 Dale Morris'!
Tiller is the perfect match up for Williams, both similar players I'd bring him in for Wight.
Animosity1989
26 May 2008, 15:36
Double team is what everyone else seems to be doing. Maybe Williams and Hargrave??
The Boy From Brasil
26 May 2008, 15:49
It is hard to double team Buddy as he is so quick and he leads laterally as well.
I agree with some of the posters that Morris on Franklin and Lake on Roughhead.
I think in recent years Buddy was a leading forward only so it didn't really matter the size of the defender you played on him. Although watching him this year and second half of last year, his overhead marking and contested marking has gone up one or two levels.
GoDoggies
26 May 2008, 16:05
I think:
Lake on Roughead
Morris/Williams on Franklin
Callan on Williams
Addison on Rioli
Melbourne played half the side on him. I can't see a top 4 side resorting to that.
The real key is to beat our midfield and pressure his delivery. Throwing extra numbers on Buddy just frees up Roughhead and Williams, who will most likely burn you if shown no respect. Yesterday was Roughie's turn to kick like a goose but Williams popped up with three matchwinning goals while the entire defence went to Buddy.
Tom Williams needs to be tested against quality opposition, I'd prefer to do it Round 10 v the Hawks in Launceston rather than the 1st Preliminary Final v the Hawks at the MCG.
Williams v Franklin :thumbsu:
Plus he was the next pick after Buddy in the 2004 draft.
bulldogsman
26 May 2008, 18:15
Tom Williams needs to be tested against quality opposition, I'd prefer to do it Round 10 v the Hawks in Launceston rather than the 1st Preliminary Final v the Hawks at the MCG.
I agree he should have the first crack on him, we have Morris as back up if need be.
The Boy From Brasil
26 May 2008, 19:11
Fully fit and match hardened, he would be a really good match up. Williams is athletic and quick.
I just think that on the comeback trail and with not many games behind him, he may need to be eased in for a few more weeks. Buddy would be a really tough assignment. If he kicked 5 in the first quarter(which he is capable of) then Williams confidence might be smashed.
Tom Williams is the best physical match-up for Buddy and I'd like to see him get first crack. Morris is the best purely negating match-up and is there for insurance - I'd prefer to see him on Rioli or Mark Williams, as he has the pace off the mark to go with both. Hargrave might also be an option for Buddy with his long reaching arms, and actually had him for period in Round 4 last year. Lake is suited to Roughy.
kookadog
26 May 2008, 19:36
Tom Williams is the best physical match-up for Buddy and I'd like to see him get first crack. Morris is the best purely negating match-up and is there for insurance - I'd prefer to see him on Rioli or Mark Williams, as he has the pace off the mark to go with both. Hargrave might also be an option for Buddy with his long reaching arms, and actually had him for period in Round 4 last year. Lake is suited to Roughy.
Yeah, It would be good to put Williams on Franklin, He's got the physical attributes, If buddy's service isn't 100% Williams can spoil. Not convinced Williams will be the star that alot believe he will be but no doubt he's got alot of footballing development to go and a match up like this will show him alot.
Williams for mine, it will be an initiation of fire but i belive he can do it, he is one of the few in the league who can go with Franklin athletically but he will need support from the other defenders and midfielders clogging buddy's space
bulldogdan
26 May 2008, 19:59
we need to hit them hard and beat them through the midfield, go back to the tough contested style of footy we have shown earlier in the season.
does anyone think DFA could get a go on buddy?? he could definatly match him physically. maybe he's a bit short on pace. morris could match him with pace, williams is way too underdone, lake is obviosly carrying and injury that is affecting his run off the mark(still his hip????!!!!).
i'm glad i'm not a coach!!!!!! we need to smash them in the midfield and stop the supply. i hate it when we play a loose man in defence but i can't see us stopping franklin without doing it. it will work as long as we apply heaps of pressure through the mid so they try and bomb it long.
we need to hit them hard and beat them through the midfield, go back to the tough contested style of footy we have shown earlier in the season.
does anyone think DFA could get a go on buddy?? he could definatly match him physically. maybe he's a bit short on pace. morris could match him with pace, williams is way too underdone, lake is obviosly carrying and injury that is affecting his run off the mark(still his hip????!!!!).
i'm glad i'm not a coach!!!!!! we need to smash them in the midfield and stop the supply. i hate it when we play a loose man in defence but i can't see us stopping franklin without doing it. it will work as long as we apply heaps of pressure through the mid so they try and bomb it long.
Pardon my ignorance of acronyms, but DFA is Addison isn't he? Addison on Buddy would be as successful as Rohan Smith on Robran in 98! Buddy has 20 cm on him.
Key to this game is the centre clearances and midfield pressure. The last thing we need is a shoot out like we had against North. No pressure means easy short kicks to Buddy on league - end game. The last 3 quarters against St Kilda is what we need-Saints butchered ball into F50 and Riewoldt was under pressure from our backs in a pack. Centre match ups crucial - we can't let it come out like it did against North unopposed.
Morris and double team help early ( but we will have to work hard to cover free players ) then maybe Williams if he has some confidence up from a good start.
#1 Dogs Fan
26 May 2008, 20:37
I reckon we should through Tom Williams at him. He will need help from Lake but the danger man is Roughead in my opinion. I hope we can manage to keep both to about 6 goals.
bulldogdan
26 May 2008, 20:39
sorry i cant memorise all of our players hights to the millimeter but addison would be similar to morris would't he?? maybe he just appears to be taller to me?!:confused:
bulldogdan
26 May 2008, 20:45
yes, i just looked it up and he's 186cm. i always thought he was a bit taller:o
namdarb
26 May 2008, 21:30
I say we send out a sacrificial lamb to knock him out before the first bounce!! Just kidding.
I honestly don't think we have a single player that can match up on Buddy one on one. It is all going to come back on midfield pressure making it difficult for delivery to Buddy and our backs are going to have to play a brilliant tactical game to drop in front of buddy without leaving Roughhead and Williams exposed.
Lake won't be quick enough. Morris won't be strong enough. Williams isn't smart enough to defend against someone of Buddys calibre and Addison would be brushed aside as if he wasn't there.
Doggies05'
26 May 2008, 22:14
Id like to see Williams with the first go at Buddy.
But id expect Morris going to him at the first siren.
The decision would already have been made and Rocket wouldve approached all of Hargy, Williams and Morris to speak to them about who they thought was up for the job.. Williams may want to take it on.. the ultimate test.
Itd be good to see it and then use morris as a back up.
Drop Hargs as a loose man infront of him, also to hurt them on the rebound.
Callan to get Williams OR Hargy to get Williams and the other to get Rioli.
tcnthat
26 May 2008, 23:04
Does any side have a match up for Buddy the way he is playing atm?
Choke the supply and kick more goals than them. Doggies have got the game to move it through quick enough to the forward line. Their backline has not been tested at all.
gday
back in 1997 when we played the swans in the finals, many people were worried about tony lockett, but croft played well on him - but the key was limiting the supply to lockett, so thats exactly what we have to do with hawthorn - win the midfield and make clarkson play buddy up the ground to get a kick - similar to what st kilda did when we played them earlier on in the year - they played rewold up the ground:thumbsu:
i think we have a bloody good chance of winning this game - the hawks have many injuries now - hodge, guerra, etc are out, and they are a bit unsettled - so now is our chance to pounce:rolleyes: :D
cheers
wian:)
Does anyone have a matchup for Buddy???????
Morris is our best option i think.
Bodicifer
27 May 2008, 11:13
Morris is too short, Buddy is too dangerous in the air...I always reckon your best tall backman should get the best tall forward and Lake should be putting his hand up. the only way to stop Buddy is to put pressure on the supply. I hope it p15ses down !
Play your fastest defender over 190cm on him. You can't give up too much height on him, but if you give him pace he'll take marks on the lead all day. Josh Gibson did as well on him as anyone, he gave up heaps of height, but was strong enough body-on-body and quick enough to be right on him when on the lead.
kookadog
27 May 2008, 12:46
Morris to take him on the lead, with a player dropping back to assist with the one on ones.
Williams would be worse than Wight on Buddy - noting Wight had 3 shots on goal against him in the first quarter last year on Buddy before Hargrave went to him, belted him then kept him quiet. Buddy is bigger this year so the same tactic wont work.
I'd say Williams/Wight will take Boyle, Morris on Buddy, Lake on Roughead, Hargrave on Williams & Callan on Rioli with Gilbs to take the 6th defender.
bulldogsman
27 May 2008, 15:35
Williams would be worse than Wight on Buddy - noting Wight had 3 shots on goal against him in the first quarter last year on Buddy before Hargrave went to him, belted him then kept him quiet. Buddy is bigger this year so the same tactic wont work.
I'd say Williams/Wight will take Boyle, Morris on Buddy, Lake on Roughead, Hargrave on Williams & Callan on Rioli with Gilbs to take the 6th defender.
Boyle won't play, probable match-ups
Franklin - Morris
Roughhead - Lake
Williams - Hargrave
Rioli - Callan
Osbourne will probably tag Gilbee
6th player (could be anyone) - Williams, probably won't play on Franklin. Otherwise Addison will go in defence and Williams maybe pushed foward when big Will is rucking.
If we drop Wight we can bring in Tiller and put him on Williams. Tiller and Williams would be the perfect match-up. We may employ Melbourne's tactic of double teaming franklin which worked really well for them probably Hargrave as the loose man.
Agreeable?
How would Williams be worse than Wight ?
Wight got totally burnt off for pace by Buddy last year.
Morris and Hargrave both give away 10 kilograms to him.
At least Williams might be able to stay close enough to provide a contest.
He is the quickest of the big units we have got back there, Lake will probably go to the slightly slower Roughead, Morris on Rioli and Hargrave on Williams.
This week the Dog's may play Wightless.
Bodicifer
27 May 2008, 18:07
Wight will play. The problem with Williams on Buddy is that his turning circle is not great and he is too slow to receover...Buddy has a quick recovery. Morris is just too short for Buddy...Buddy has a huge reach, bigger than Riewoldt who Morris has played on in the past. All in all, Buddy is just a freak athlete so we need to make sure he doesn't get easy supply nor do we be too Buddy centric.
Callan Ward will have to be given a run soon, I reckon against St Kilda he will play as he is burning. Would you potentially crucify him this week?
lifelike_
28 May 2008, 12:40
Didn't he kick something ridiculous like 1.6 in the first quarter last year? IIRC Williams was on him as well.
Morris can take Franklin providing he gets a bit of help.
Play Hargrave as a loose man/rebounder down back. If he drops back into space then Franklin's going to be somewhat restricted on the lead. Hargrave's decent in the air too, so he'll be able to force a two on one if he can get to the contest.
Franklin's very good below the knees too, so we'll have our work cut out.
mighty seagulls
28 May 2008, 13:54
Wight will play. The problem with Williams on Buddy is that his turning circle is not great and he is too slow to receover...Buddy has a quick recovery. Morris is just too short for Buddy...Buddy has a huge reach, bigger than Riewoldt who Morris has played on in the past. All in all, Buddy is just a freak athlete so we need to make sure he doesn't get easy supply nor do we be too Buddy centric.
Callan Ward will have to be given a run soon, I reckon against St Kilda he will play as he is burning. Would you potentially crucify him this week?
Is that the only problem you have with Williams on Franklin? I disagree that Williams is too slow aswell. He is pretty quick for a big man. So for me the athlete to go with the athlete with Morris being the plan B (and a very good plan B to have).
I think Williams might be quick running from point a to point b with the fitness staff holding a stop watch. Not sure his mind is anywhere near as quick as it needs to be and seems to be caught out of position by ball watching. Speed can be misleading at times. When Williams has the ball he looks very slow beacuse he doesnt know what to do...
As for a match on Buddy - dont think there is one in he whole comp.. morris.. I would go for... Harris - try and knock him around and put him off his game...
mighty seagulls
28 May 2008, 14:28
I think Williams might be quick running from point a to point b with the fitness staff holding a stop watch. Not sure his mind is anywhere near as quick as it needs to be and seems to be caught out of position by ball watching. Speed can be misleading at times. When Williams has the ball he looks very slow beacuse he doesnt know what to do...
As for a match on Buddy - dont think there is one in he whole comp.. morris.. I would go for... Harris - try and knock him around and put him off his game...
So you want Williams to not only stop Franklin kicking goals, you want him to have quick decision making with the ball aswell.
I just think everyone on here is looking for reasons Williams cant play on him and are coming up with irrelevant. I reckon he matches him for height, body size, strength, and speed so test him out by telling him to just run with Franklin.
Morris and Lake are very good plan B and C to have up our sleeves.
So you want Williams to not only stop Franklin kicking goals, you want him to have quick decision making with the ball aswell.
I just think everyone on here is looking for reasons Williams cant play on him and are coming up with irrelevant. I reckon he matches him for height, body size, strength, and speed so test him out by telling him to just run with Franklin.
Morris and Lake are very good plan B and C to have up our sleeves.
You didnt understand me. What I am saying is that he is slow in the mind, not a natural footballer- therefore his 'athletic' speed is irrelevant. Buddy is a freak and will pants him. Just my opinion. I am not looking for reasons -I just havent seen Williams do much yet to justify playing him on the best player in the comp. Not saying Williams wont make it but from where I sit all the potting of Wight has distracted people from Williams's performances in the last fortnight. Thats because everyene desperately wants Wiillams to be our gun CHB.
mighty seagulls
28 May 2008, 14:54
You didnt understand me. What I am saying is that he is slow in the mind, not a natural footballer- therefore his 'athletic' speed is irrelevant. Buddy is a freak and will pants him. Just my opinion. I am not looking for reasons -I just havent seen Williams do much yet to justify playing him on the best player in the comp. Not saying Williams wont make it but from where I sit all the potting of Wight has distracted people from Williams's performances in the last fortnight. Thats because everyene desperately wants Wiillams to be our gun CHB.
Not sure how you can say slow in the mind. Anyway i agree that he tries to run off his player abit to help get run out of defence and sometimes gets lost abit when it comes back on the counter attack. But tell he to just do more of a shut down roll and run with him and i reckon he could do it.
He has the pysical attributes to go with Franklin so test him out and remember that we always have two very good plan B's up our sleeves.
Miss_Hawk_Fan
28 May 2008, 22:49
Play your fastest defender over 190cm on him. You can't give up too much height on him, but if you give him pace he'll take marks on the lead all day. Josh Gibson did as well on him as anyone, he gave up heaps of height, but was strong enough body-on-body and quick enough to be right on him when on the lead.
J Gibson, wont have buddys measure this year (no offence J Gibbson), just buddy has grown so much over the pre-season and first half of the season - Mentally and physically.
I'd be trying Brian Lake (harris) after that im not sure no one really comes close from the doggy list in my veiw.
Perplexing statement to say the least.
Option 1 : You dont think that with 2 games under his belt after a long injury that Williams who is about the same size as Buddy and was the next pick after Buddy in the same draft, is not now match fit ready to take on Buddy ?
Option 2 : Has Brian Lake developed some additional pace unseen by every-one, not to mention some chess champion like concentration skills ?
Option 3 : Has Dale Morris developed an overhead game ?
Option 4 : Can Cam Wight run 5 metres as fast as Buddy runs 10 ?
I will stick with Option 1 thanks Wigney.
mighty seagulls
28 May 2008, 23:10
J Gibson, wont have buddys measure this year (no offence J Gibbson), just buddy has grown so much over the pre-season and first half of the season - Mentally and physically.
I'd be trying Brian Lake (harris) after that im not sure no one really comes close from the doggy list in my veiw.
How well do you know the Bulldogs list???
The guy is good and will end his career as a superstar of the game, but his not friggen Superman! The way every Hawthorn supporter talks, we may as well not even bother attempting to match someone up on him.
We will be rolling the dice with whoever we put on him coz he is that good. But we have a few players that i think can put abit of pressure on him when he goes for the ball.
Miss_Hawk_Fan
28 May 2008, 23:18
How well do you know the Bulldogs list???
The guy is good and will end his career as a superstar of the game, but his not friggen Superman! The way every Hawthorn supporter talks, we may as well not even bother attempting to match someone up on him.
We will be rolling the dice with whoever we put on him coz he is that good. But we have a few players that i think can put abit of pressure on him when he goes for the ball.
For a start you cant even compare buddy to "superman", for the record he is merely a cartoon.I just believe that no one else on your list at this stage is capable of dealing with buddy. If i had to coach against buddy i would go with my best tall defender (yours i believe is lake) and i remind my defenders not to be buddy focused. That is the sole tagging job of lake, i then try to win the game on other levels of the game... Running defenders and shutting down the hawks midfeild.
The Dee's almost got playing buddy right, but in the end they really tagged teamed buddy, leaving his fellow hawks unmarked and free to goal.
Just my view you don't and i have to agree......
I have average knowledge on the bulldogs list. I could name a feww doggies players and coach, ask me after saturdays games and i will be able to tell you a hell of a lot more.
For a start you cant even compare buddy to "superman", for the record he is merely a cartoon.I just believe that no one else on your list at this stage is capable of dealing with buddy. If i had to coach against buddy i would go with my best tall defender (yours i believe is lake) and i remind my defenders not to be buddy focused. That is the sole tagging job of lake, i then try to win the game on other levels of the game... Running defenders and shutting down the hawks midfeild.
The Dee's almost got playing buddy right, but in the end they really tagged teamed buddy, leaving his fellow hawks unmarked and free to goal.
I have average knowledge on the bulldogs list. I could name a feww doggies players and coach, ask me after saturdays games and i will be able to tell you a hell of a lot more.
You dont seem to know much about our list
Let Buddy swan around with 5 or 6, then scratch your head where your midfeild broke down and let Cooney and Aker in for 4 each.
Thank goodness for Hawthorn that Clarkson coaches them instead of you.
mighty seagulls
28 May 2008, 23:31
Ok well i have seen and heard abit about Williams and believe that he is the best option although it will be a huge test for him and will be a gamble. But he has the physical attributes and has the potential to do a job on Franklin. Remembering that we have two very good plan B's up our sleeve in Morris and Lake.
memberforever
28 May 2008, 23:41
Shaggy
Shaggy
Gets pinged for chopping the arms to much now that rule came in.
mighty seagulls
29 May 2008, 00:00
This is how i would start it:
Williams on Franklin
Lake on Roughead
Morris on Williams
Callan on Rioli
The Boy From Brasil
29 May 2008, 00:20
Wigney, I understand what you are trying to say.
Personally, I am of the view that Williams needs another 2o-40 games before he will start to really bear fruit for us.
Many people on here give good logical reasons why he should start on Franklin. My instinct though tells me that given his run of injuries and lack of game time, plus the fact that he is still learning the game in a way, there might be better options. Just my two cents.
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 00:24
Let Buddy swan around with 5 or 6, then scratch your head where your midfeild broke down and let Cooney and Aker in for 4 each.
Defensive arn't we... Hit a raw spot did i?
Akers a hack, the best of him (apart from his mouth) is gone. The doggies wasted a 2nd round pick on him, that would of been at the club for at least 10 years if the dogs picked wisely (kurt Tippet, Brett Renouff, chris dawes, Bachar Houli).
The doggies are in trouble the old dogs will retire sooner rather than later and with the gold coast team getting special treatment in the draft soon, they'll be hard to replace. Eagleton, Akermanis, Johnson, West,
It's taken Cooney a while, but he has really stepped up this year. C Brown or B Sewell will quite the young fella down.
So you you have all your hopes on Tom L Williams 196 cm, 101 kg (who was drafted in 2004 no:6 and has played in all of 15 games) Has the size and speed by all reports just not much exprience to take on, control and be buddy (who was drafted one year later and is 50 games in front of him?) Do the doggies want to win the game or loss it?
As for Morris drafted in 2005 rookie elevated 190 cm, 92kg and 71 career games. Well this guy sounds better equiped than the unexperienced T William. This gentle man would be my plan "B".
My Plan for the doggies would be Brian Harris Lake 195 Cm, 104kg and is the "linch pin of the bulldogs defence in 2008". Has the expreince and strengh to match buddy and inst too bad speed wise either. This is one match up i hope to see at the game on saturday.....
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 00:27
Personally, I am of the view that Williams needs another 2o-40 games before he will start to really bear fruit for us.
Many people on here give good logical reasons why he should start on Franklin. My instinct though tells me that given his run of injuries and lack of game time, plus the fact that he is still learning the game in a way, there might be better options. Just my two cents.
I couldnt agree more and thats what ive said in other words on my post above....
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 00:34
You dont know much about buddy do you? Hed has pace too match a midfeilder (compare, Batman and Cooney). No 5 Boyd is no worries seed wise for buddy and im sure he could keep up Johnson as well.
Oh well doggie fans regardless of who win, keep an eye on buddy he is fast and to date he deserves the rave reveiws he is getting. I just hope he keeps a level head...
Dogbone
29 May 2008, 00:48
Akers a hack, the best of him (apart from his mouth) is gone. The doggies wasted a 2nd round pick on him.....
This comment above tells us something and that is how little you have seen Aker play this yr at the Bulldogs get a couple of those games and watch him in action even better watch him this week and learn something. As for a wasted pick nahhh, you have that wrong best thing the club did.
Dogbone
29 May 2008, 00:53
You dont know much about buddy do you? Hed has pace too match a midfeilder (compare, Batman and Cooney). No 5 Boyd is no worries seed wise for buddy and im sure he could keep up Johnson as well.
So you are saying that Buddy can take them all on at the same time seeing he is that good. He can probably coach and run the club aswell at the same time. :D
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 00:56
This comment above tells us something and that is how little you have seen Aker play this yr at the Bulldogs get a couple of those games and watch him in action even better watch him this week and learn something. As for a wasted pick nahhh, you have that wrong best thing the club did.
Time will tell between now and the end of his career, still very much short term. Leigh Matthew dont go trading stars with out a reason and he booted aker out for a 2nd round pick...... and he has won tripple premiership in a row as a coach. So he has playing and coachiing status in premierships.
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 00:57
So you are saying that Buddy can take them all on at the same time seeing he is that good. He can probably coach and run the club aswell at the same time. :D
You've taken my words out of context and you know it champ :thumbsu:
Dogbone
29 May 2008, 01:09
Time will tell between now and the end of his career, still very much short term. Leigh Matthew dont go trading stars with out a reason and he booted aker out for a 2nd round pick...... and he has won tripple premiership in a row as a coach. So he has playing and coachiing status in premierships.
Aker has achieved more than any player on your list will ever achieve & still has a few more years to play. Whatever gripe you have with Aker is your concern not ours we are happy with him if his only concern is being outspoken it is a far cry from some of the antics other players get up to.
You've taken my words out of context and you know it champ :thumbsu:
A little tongue in cheek but Buddy is magnificent and I am sure he can do anything he puts his mind to.
The Boy From Brasil
29 May 2008, 06:00
Time will tell between now and the end of his career, still very much short term. Leigh Matthew dont go trading stars with out a reason and he booted aker out for a 2nd round pick......
Just to clarify a couple of points
1)The reason Brisbane were glad to trade Aker was due to their salary cap situation. They were way over the limit, and had to trade him off their list, given that he wasn't playing with them anymore.
2)Strictly speaking, we received Mc Dougall as well as Aker for our second round pick. We had pick 29, we swapped it with West Coast 34 for Mc dougall, and then used pick 34 for Aker.
If you look at the players after pick 34, and then compare the quality of player Aker is, even with 3 or so years left, I think the dogs did well out of that deal.
I am not as confident with the Mc Dougall deal, but the aker deal I am well and truly satisfied with. :)
Thanks. Glad someone gets it.
boydsno1
29 May 2008, 10:48
100th gamer boyd to clean up buddy with a fair hip and shoulder in the opening mins of the game and then we can send harris forward.
Option 1 : You dont think that with 2 games under his belt after a long injury that Williams who is about the same size as Buddy and was the next pick after Buddy in the same draft, is not now match fit ready to take on Buddy ?
I find this whole statement perplexing myself.
He was the next pick after Buddy so that means he is a good match up does it? Fair Logic I guess. So why dont we put Griffen on him - he was an earlier pick :eek:
boydsno1
29 May 2008, 11:14
i think the plan was to have williams on him but with his poor form the past 2 weeks who knows. i guess they were hopeing his fitness would be better by now. anyways id still give tommy a go at some stage.
Bulldog Joe
29 May 2008, 11:15
I find this whole statement perplexing myself.
He was the next pick after Buddy so that means he is a good match up does it? Fair Logic I guess. So why dont we put Griffen on him - he was an earlier pick :eek:
Well there is logic to using Williams. His strong points are that he is a good match for size, he is athletic and due to is Rugby League background he is also capable of a strong tackle. He has also been specifically targeted at the position of CHB which is effectively the position to play on a roaming tall forward like Buddy.
The downside is that due to his persistent injury problems he lacks the match day experience to be relied on to control the position.
If Rocket gives him the challenge it will fast track his development and better place him to handle the position for future games and particularly if we were to confront Hawthorn in an important final.
lindsay_bulldogs
29 May 2008, 14:50
Buddy will get kicks we need to just play old fashioned body to body footy. Make him earn every kick.
Akers a hack, the best of him (apart from his mouth) is gone. The doggies wasted a 2nd round pick on him, that would of been at the club for at least 10 years if the dogs picked wisely (kurt Tippet, Brett Renouff, chris dawes, Bachar Houli).
The doggies are in trouble the old dogs will retire sooner rather than later and with the gold coast team getting special treatment in the draft soon, they'll be hard to replace. Eagleton, Akermanis, Johnson, West,
It's taken Cooney a while, but he has really stepped up this year. C Brown or B Sewell will quite the young fella down.
So you you have all your hopes on Tom L Williams 196 cm, 101 kg (who was drafted in 2004 no:6 and has played in all of 15 games) Has the size and speed by all reports just not much exprience to take on, control and be buddy (who was drafted one year later and is 50 games in front of him?) Do the doggies want to win the game or loss it?
As for Morris drafted in 2005 rookie elevated 190 cm, 92kg and 71 career games. Well this guy sounds better equiped than the unexperienced T William. This gentle man would be my plan "B".
My Plan for the doggies would be Brian Harris Lake 195 Cm, 104kg and is the "linch pin of the bulldogs defence in 2008". Has the expreince and strengh to match buddy and inst too bad speed wise either. This is one match up i hope to see at the game on saturday.....
Not really
But it is a bit rich you calling my players hacks and saying my club wasted draft picks, on my clubs own big footy board.
We do have youngsters coming through as well.... Callan Ward, Jarrad Grant...
boydsno1
29 May 2008, 16:12
also miss hawk not fair to compare williams with buddy. last time i checked buddy didnt miss his first two whole season due to serious foot problems.
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 21:26
Not really
But it is a bit rich you calling my players hacks and saying my club wasted draft picks, on my clubs own big footy board.
This board says it welcomes good disscusions and supporting reasons in respect, both of which i have done.......... I have single one player whom is only a ring in as a hack NOT THE COMPLETE LIST, As for Akers CARRER i cant help wonder what else he may of achieved had he focused on his career and team a little more. Yes i know tripple premiership and brownlow, but why limit ones self?
I wouldn't mind beating Buddy will have more "football glory" than Aker in ten years time. So yes he has more than any hawk on our list at the moment, now akers considered a champion player, it would be the same as me comparing him to another champion, Micheal Tuck, Darrin Pritchard, Chris langford, Peter Knight?
Yes i have noticed the Doggie has some young tallent (Skipper, Ray, Conney and Morris) comming through and some great teachers in West and Johnson.
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 21:33
Just to clarify a couple of points
1)The reason Brisbane were glad to trade Aker was due to their salary cap situation. They were way over the limit, and had to trade him off their list, given that he wasn't playing with them anymore.
2)Strictly speaking, we received Mc Dougall as well as Aker for our second round pick. We had pick 29, we swapped it with West Coast 34 for Mc dougall, and then used pick 34 for Aker.
If you look at the players after pick 34, and then compare the quality of player Aker is, even with 3 or so years left, I think the dogs did well out of that deal.
I am not as confident with the Mc Dougall deal, but the aker deal I am well and truly satisfied with. :)
1. I personally believe that it was more than salary cup issue as to why Aker was trade from the lions. I repect your opinion and it's nice you have so much faith in one of your own.
2. Time will tell with McDougal, was a tallented under 18 player and highly rated in his draft year, if he and the doggies can tapped into his potential and make it consistant you will have an exciting CHF many years and he is still young enough to do it.
3. Im glad your happy with the aker deal and your club, if the hawks got him i would of been dissapointed as i would like success for the long term and not the short term....
Miss_Hawk_Fan
29 May 2008, 21:44
also miss hawk not fair to compare williams with buddy. last time i checked buddy didnt miss his first two whole season due to serious foot problems.
But Sir or Miss it is not i who is trying to make williams line up on Buddy... That is a few of your fellow doggie supporters. I believe some experince on a flank and fitness would give young williams a chance and lake on buddy will do the doggies a great service and keep the game alive for them. Not to mention lake v's buddy would a great viewing.
SCRAY72
29 May 2008, 21:49
What is our best option for big Lance this week(remembering last time we played Hawthorn he kicked 2 goals 13 or something like that).
The usual suspects or does anyone have any players out of left field?
Give Morris first crack, then Williams, then Tiller.
Hardest player in the comp to match up on.
In the end it doesn't matter,if he is on, he can't be stopped.
But Sir or Miss it is not i who is trying to make williams line up on Buddy... That is a few of your fellow doggie supporters. I believe some experince on a flank and fitness would give young williams a chance and lake on buddy will do the doggies a great service and keep the game alive for them. Not to mention lake v's buddy would a great viewing.
Confident aren't we?
Is it just me or are hawthorn supporters getting just a little ahead of themselves this season?
They are starting to become as smug as most Essendon fans, so they had better realise that they do not hand out premiership medallions in May.
Wally G
29 May 2008, 22:23
Option 2 : Has Brian Lake developed some additional pace unseen by every-one, not to mention some chess champion like concentration skills ?
Option 3 : Has Dale Morris developed an overhead game ?
Option 4 : Can Cam Wight run 5 metres as fast as Buddy runs 10 ?
I will stick with Option 1 thanks Wigney.
Brian Lake is one of the fastest players on the Dogs list according to Rocket.
So Dale Morris can play on stars such as Riewolt but has no overhead game.
As we now know Wight has been dropped.
We'd better hope the mid field can put genuine pressure on, as without it if Buddy is on his game, none of our backmen will stop him.
This and some of your posting after this gem is easily some of the best work I have seen on bigfooty, hands down.
I have to give you credit, it takes guts to come onto a message board and let us all have it like you have:rolleyes:
BenMacAn
29 May 2008, 23:02
Miss Hawk calling Aker a hack and washed up is silliness I think you just have to roll the tapes of his first 9 weeks to see how average he is haha.
Anyway more serious talk is everyone is talking about stopping Buddy which I agree we have to look at trying to keep him to 4 goals and under but I think everyone is missing something and that is that we are the highest scoring team in the comp and they should be the ones thinking how are we going to stop the Doggies forwards as they have been doing well and I think if the Hawks are suspect it is there backline. Our forwards are excellent and if we get enough supply from the middle where it will be won or lost then we won't be worrying about Buddy but they will say how do we stop the Doggies forwards as they are very good.
Go Doggies
jhpowlton
30 May 2008, 00:51
Dogs best option is to mix it up a bit in the back line and confuse the opposition. Hawks always pick the weak link and bust it open quickly. If we continually swap opponents and back each other up we can stop their run, but it wont be easy.
Miss_Hawk_Fan
30 May 2008, 21:31
Miss Hawk calling Aker a hack and washed up is silliness I think you just have to roll the tapes of his first 9 weeks to see how average he is haha.
Anyway more serious talk is everyone is talking about stopping Buddy which I agree we have to look at trying to keep him to 4 goals and under but I think everyone is missing something and that is that we are the highest scoring team in the comp and they should be the ones thinking how are we going to stop the Doggies forwards as they have been doing well and I think if the Hawks are suspect it is there backline. Our forwards are excellent and if we get enough supply from the middle where it will be won or lost then we won't be worrying about Buddy but they will say how do we stop the Doggies forwards as they are very good.
Go Doggies
The Dogs smalls forwards and mid feilds kicks more goal and beside i dont recall a dog tall forward being overly dominate?
Miss_Hawk_Fan
30 May 2008, 21:42
Confident aren't we?
Is it just me or are hawthorn supporters getting just a little ahead of themselves this season?
They are starting to become as smug as most Essendon fans, so they had better realise that they do not hand out premiership medallions in May.
No not over confident either, Just realistic. It'd be the same as the hawks placing Zack Dawson on Scott Welsh.... Thats a move that i believe would cost the hawks the game and a match up im sure every doggie fan would be pleased with.
I've always maintained that this game would be close and great veiwing for the spectatior.......
skooshtamart
30 May 2008, 23:12
I hope Williams gets the gig on buddy, and gets the gig for whole game. He will learn plenty from the encounter.
However I fear that with the Hawks having no option (like the rest of the comp) for our Pulitzer prise contender R. Murphy, they may be forced to use buddy in a last ditched futile effort to negate.
BenMacAn
31 May 2008, 01:12
The Dogs smalls forwards and mid feilds kicks more goal and beside i dont recall a dog tall forward being overly dominate?
Read the thread champ as there was no mention about a dominate forward being tall, but we are the highest scoring team as we share the load we do not rely on 1 or 2 as if Buddy get's injured then bye bye Hawks but that is different at the dogs as we have so many forward options in Johnson, Welsh, Murphy, Gia, Hahn, Aka, Minson. Plus the midfield kicks goals aswell. You are a cocky one a bit like your team who are the cocky team of the comp, don't lose tomorrow or you might have to eat humble pie.
Go Doggies
Miss_Hawk_Fan
31 May 2008, 08:51
Read the thread champ as there was no mention about a dominate forward being tall, but we are the highest scoring team as we share the load we do not rely on 1 or 2 as if Buddy get's injured then bye bye Hawks but that is different at the dogs as we have so many forward options in Johnson, Welsh, Murphy, Gia, Hahn, Aka, Minson. Plus the midfield kicks goals aswell. You are a cocky one a bit like your team who are the cocky team of the comp, don't lose tomorrow or you might have to eat humble pie.
Go Doggies
Roughie, willio, rioli, sewell, bateman, osbourn... i wasnt 100% sure about a dominate doggie tall, thats y i asked. I think our small hawk defenders can match it with your forward....
Cocky would be if i said "were going to smash you and you have no hope". I dont believe this too be the case and if you dont beleve me go read the thread. Merely an interest in match ups.... so humble pie for what mate?
one from way left feild - robert murphy. he can play forward and back, then can go forward and make buddy be accountable
This and some of your posting after this gem is easily some of the best work I have seen on bigfooty, hands down.
I have to give you credit, it takes guts to come onto a message board and let us all have it like you have:rolleyes:
I do apologise, please do not classify all Hawk suppoters to be like this.
And for what its worth, Aka has been pretty good for you guys and has stepped up and been awesome this year. Best goal kick in the comp in my opinion.
Good luck today:thumbsu:
BenMacAn
31 May 2008, 18:15
Where are you Miss Hawk I hope you enjoy your apple pie you winner.
Go Doggies
jazzadogs
31 May 2008, 19:04
I do believe the answer is yes. And next time (touch wood) the answer will be even more emphatic.
This board says it welcomes good disscusions and supporting reasons in respect, both of which i have done.......... I have single one player whom is only a ring in as a hack NOT THE COMPLETE LIST, As for Akers CARRER i cant help wonder what else he may of achieved had he focused on his career and team a little more. Yes i know tripple premiership and brownlow, but why limit ones self?
I wouldn't mind beating Buddy will have more "football glory" than Aker in ten years time. So yes he has more than any hawk on our list at the moment, now akers considered a champion player, it would be the same as me comparing him to another champion, Micheal Tuck, Darrin Pritchard, Chris langford, Peter Knight?
Yes i have noticed the Doggie has some young tallent (Skipper, Ray, Conney and Morris) comming through and some great teachers in West and Johnson.
12.2 Hardly Grand Final threatening Missy..
Miss_Hawk_Fan
31 May 2008, 23:36
Where are you Miss Hawk I hope you enjoy your apple pie you winner.
Go Doggies
If you read the threads completely you would know that i was actually at the game. Fantastic crowd 19387 supporters too. The doggies where reasonally repersented and had some friendly banter with a couple of doggies standing next to me.:eek:
......... Im not ashamd of any thing i wrote. The hawks are capable of beating the doggies, today they simply didn't show up to play and the better team won on the day.
good game it's a shame the hawks didn't come to play a little more, heres a reply i wrote a few minutes ago before i saw your post here:thumbsd:
Congratulation Doggies, the better team won on the day, your boys where hard at it and desperately wanted the win, they applied the pressure with manning up, chased, tagging, tackling and good skill..... All skills the hawks have been good up until this game. Given the control of the ball your midfield had and all the missed behinds, you should have won the game much earlier in the game and by much more point wise.
I believe our boys looks warn out and exhausted, our good start to the season has warned them out. We're missing a few good key players, but true premiership contender can cover these losses. The hawks haven't quite got the depth but we are developing it throughout this year with injuries and suspensions. This should hold us in good stead, when we meet up with the doggies in the finals series 08. Yes finals, todays lost is hardly the end of the season. We need to learn from it and enjoys the mid season break in a few weeks time.
I couldn't help notice tiller had been spoken of in a defence roll here, but he had some time the doggies forward line and bagged one goal i know of.
If you are interested there are photos of the hawks and doggies on face book, as long as you’re a member of face book you can view the photos. It has the doggies’ banners and players included.
http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=41318&id=663570801
Cheers Miss Hawk Fan
Miss_Hawk_Fan
31 May 2008, 23:43
I do apologise, please do not classify all Hawk suppoters to be like this.
And for what its worth, Aka has been pretty good for you guys and has stepped up and been awesome this year. Best goal kick in the comp in my opinion.
Good luck today:thumbsu:
It's call conversation and debating, you should try it my fellow hawk. Instead of kissing butt. Have you even read all the post? I seriously doubt it. Banta at the beguining and through out the game, in true footy style and gracious at the end.
Hawks stick together champ........!
p.s the Mod's here haven't had a serious issues with my post, so they understand good clean footy banta....
paul scholes
1 Jun 2008, 00:09
Yes i have noticed the Doggie has some young tallent (Skipper, Ray, Conney and Morris) comming through and some great teachers in West and Johnson.Another pathetic rant. I'd be ''beating'' that Aker wins a few more ''carrer'' premiership. Don't even know your own legends it's KNIGHTS dumbo.:rolleyes:
Miss_Hawk_Fan
1 Jun 2008, 00:13
Another pathetic rant. I'd be ''beating'' that Aker wins a few more ''carrer'' premiership. Don't even know your own legends it's KNIGHTS dumbo.:rolleyes:
Padantic "S"...... Wanka. Was it you that jumped over the fence at aurora staduim and got arrested by police for being on the ground and drunk?
BenMacAn
1 Jun 2008, 01:35
Padantic "S"...... Wanka. Was it you that jumped over the fence at aurora staduim and got arrested by police for being on the ground and drunk?
Miss Hawk it is time for you to go to another clubs site and bother them as we have put up with your rot all week and you got beat with a score line that flattered you. Yes with the players to come back the score line will be closer but the dogs have a good forward line and I think will still get on top even though you think our forwards are garbage. By the way Akers a hack I think he was best on ground today as I said before roll out the tapes of his first 10 rounds and you will see a quality player.
Thankyou to the other Hawk supporters who have been fantastic about today's game but Miss Hawk please go and lose yourself in some other clubs site.
Go Doggies
Maybe he was or maybe he wasn't, but we all know that you got your panties pulled down today and got your botty really well and truly smacked.
Hope you don't mind standing out at work all week having to stand up with your sore arse.