View Full Version : Most games & goals in each league ?
mud n blood
23rd January 2001, 08:29
I know .... don't ask !!!! Yet another stats question, but since we have so many gurus from leagues around this great nation .... who has played the most games, and season record of goals kicked, in each league ?
eg.
AFL ? Pratt(19??) and Hudson(1971)? .... 150
I'm guessing Michael Tuck has played the most games at 4 hundred and something ?
What about SANFL ? P.Carey at 448 and S.Hodges (153 in 1990)
Westar/WAFL ?
Tas ?
VFA/VFL ?
NSW/ACTAFL ?
I have Queensland's obviously !
Any help greatly appreciated ......
Mobbenfuhrer
23rd January 2001, 14:52
Dunno career-wise, but Don Aldersea, about whom I posted another message here in Regional Leagues, and his 175 goals for a season seems pretty reasonable.
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
the croucher
23rd January 2001, 18:30
Well, I for one like the question very much, MNB. 'Tis exactly the reason I started the history group thread when I joined the forum towards the end of last year.
While a few sports have pretty good records lists maintained here in Tasmania "footy" is not one of them. We're still in the early stages of developing those properly researched lists which some of the other states have had established for a decade or more. Now in response to your question:
as far as Tassie goes ... well take the following as probable but not authenticated
NWFU: goals - 125 by S. Beaumont in 1984
games - unknown (but 318 is claimed by H. McDonald from 1905 to 1929...\my comment is huh? - the NWFU isn't supposed to have started until 1910!!/
NTFA: goals - 116 by I. Donnachy (Deloraine) in 1984.
games - unknown (324 claimed by G. Lethborg (Scottsdale) but this tally may include reserves matches as well.)
TFL: goals - 179? by P. Hudson (Glenorchy) in 1979.
games - unknown (at least 274 by K. Baker (Glenorchy)
VFL/AFL: goals - 150 by R. Pratt (1934) & P. Hudson (1971)
games - 426 by M. Tuck
The details below are taken from the book "Everything You Ever Wanted To Know About Australian Rules Football But Couldn't Be Bothered Asking" by Graeme Atkinson (pub. by Five Mile Press in 1982). Haven't heard of it ever having later editions but it is the handy sort of compendium that ought to come out every five years or so.
VFA: goals - 188 by R. Todd (Williamstown) in 1945.
games -
WAFL: goals - 167 by B. Naylor (South Fremantle) in 1953.
games - 371 by M. Whinnen (West Perth)
QLD: goals - 142 by G. Jones (Morningside) in 1976.
NSW: goals - 213 by P. Ruscuklic (East Sydney) in 1981.
ACT: goals - 149 by K. Neale (Ainslie) in 1980.
Tim_in_Philly
24th January 2001, 22:43
I have a vague recollection Peter Hudson's TFL record was 191 so it may have been 179 in H&A and another 12 in finals. I'm not sure, though.
Grave Danger
25th January 2001, 20:23
Ken Farmer of North Adelaide had this impressive record in the SANFL Leading Goalkickers:
1930 K Farmer North 105
1931 K Farmer North 126
1932 K Farmer North 102
J Owens Glenelg 102
1933 K Farmer North 112
1934 K Farmer North 106
1935 K Farmer North 128
1936 K Farmer North 134
1937 K Farmer North 108
1938 K Farmer North 112
1939 K Farmer North 113
1940 K Farmer North 125
Ken Farmer was the first SA League player to kick 100 goals in a league season (105 goals in 1930). He kicked 100 goals in a season in 11 consecutive seasons (1930-1940). Farmer also kicked the most goals in a SANFL Match when he kicked a record 23 against West Torrens at Prospect on July 6, 1940. In his 224 match career and seventeen interstate appearances Farmer was never held goalless, scoring ten goals or more on thirty-seven occasions.
the croucher
26th January 2001, 14:30
Originally posted by Tim_in_Philly:
I have a vague recollection Peter Hudson's TFL record was 191 so it may have been 179 in H&A and another 12 in finals. I'm not sure, though.
Pretty close, TIP, thought you may have been right when I read your message!
In 1978 Hudson kicked 191 in all games and in 1979 kicked 198, but tally for both seasons includes intrastate and interstate matches.
I checked the Jack Donnelly collection at work and one of his notebooks has a list of TFL leading goalkickers for each year. The entry for 1979 reveals Hudson kicked 165 in roster games, plus 14 in finals = 179 in the TFL competition itself.
mud n blood
2nd February 2001, 07:01
Any more takers ?
So far, you guys have been brilliant .....
------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........
mud n blood