View Full Version : Rubba-Dub-Dub, where's some good grub?

Pages : [1] 2

bexta444
27 May 2008, 16:07
We all love great food!! Who doesn't?
So this thread is dedicated to your unforgettable (and even forgettables if you like!) culinary experiences in Melbourne!
I know Gilly is a good source of a place to go! So your input pls Mr Gilly!

I'll start the ball rolling...

Cafe Saffron, Ivanhoe. :thumbsu:

celtic_pride
27 May 2008, 16:19
Between Jenna Jamison's legs :D :D

HBF
27 May 2008, 16:30
PJ's - Glen Waverley

Truthatlast
27 May 2008, 16:37
Cafe Saffron, Ivanhoe. :thumbsu:[/quote]

This is good, Bexta but the service is ordinary. I prefer Mint Leaf in Heidelberg (hidden away in Yarra Street) - only the locals know it is there. The Chicken Madras is to die for!

As for Japanese - Toyama in Ivanhoe is pretty fair. And for Greek - try the Village Square in Heidelberg. Vietnamese - try Van Mai in Richmond - the XO Seafood will burn you away.

Truthatlast
27 May 2008, 16:43
Talking about restaurants reminded me of a story from my past. Sitting at the front table of the Thai restaurant in Lower Plenty, I passed a paper napkin across the table to a mate without looking what I was doing. Next thing I know the napkin caught alight from the candle on the table. It ignited so quickly that I had to let it go. All of a sudden pieces of burnt napkin were floating round the restaurant and some hit the front curtain and started burning little holes in it. Fortunately, it didn't get any worse than this as people scampered round putting the flames out.

TGR
27 May 2008, 16:45
Vlados - Richmond. You will not find a better steak anywhere.

blue gunslinger
27 May 2008, 16:46
Hofbrauhaus Munich - Pork Knuckle saurkraut lots of beer

Gilly1972
27 May 2008, 16:47
Talking about restaurants reminded me of a story from my past. Sitting at the front table of the Thai restaurant in Lower Plenty, I passed a paper napkin across the table to a mate without looking what I was doing. Next thing I know the napkin caught alight from the candle on the table. It ignited so quickly that I had to let it go. All of a sudden pieces of burnt napkin were floating round the restaurant and some hit the front curtain and started burning little holes in it. Fortunately, it didn't get any worse than this as people scampered round putting the flames out.

LOL, Gold :thumbsu:

Bexta, I think you should go to Japanese next.......Toyama in Ivanhoe is good, but I prefer Matsuya in Fairfield. However if you want a Japanese experience with a difference try Wabi Sabi in Smith Street Collingwood......very cool ambience, make sure you check out the japanese courtyard garden out the back when you visit the rest rooms.....try the sashimi salad, it is to die for. Get the dry sake' from Hokkaido to go with it :)

For a slightly more local experience you could try the food at Wesley Anne. The spaghetti marinara is magnificent, and Wesley Anne has a great ambience for drinks afterwards.... Across the road try Mein Liebe pizza.......actually go to the bar next door, I think it is called Joe's Shoe Store, or Shoe Repairs or something, and you can order the pizza and eat it at the bar.

HBF
27 May 2008, 16:56
Some good tips there Gilly.
Will have to check them out.

HBF
27 May 2008, 16:57
Between Jenna Jamison's legs :D :D

Wouldn't that be like sticking your tongue/c__k into a clag bottle? :cool:

Bosun
27 May 2008, 17:00

Squires Loft in Toorak absolutely shits all over Vlados for steak. Trust me:thumbsu:

Pamam
27 May 2008, 17:03
Pizza Al Metro on Gratton St

great stuff

Lamb Off Chapel, for those nights out hahaha

bexta444
27 May 2008, 18:54
Cafe Saffron, Ivanhoe.This is good, Bexta but the service is ordinary. I prefer Mint Leaf in Heidelberg (hidden away in Yarra Street) - only the locals know it is there. The Chicken Madras is to die for! As for Japanese - Toyama in Ivanhoe is pretty fair. And for Greek - try the Village Square in Heidelberg. Vietnamese - try Van Mai in Richmond - the XO Seafood will burn you away.

Cheers for that! Our service was fine but there was only us and 1 other table in the restaurant! So they weren't exactly challenged!

LOL, Gold :thumbsu:

Bexta, I think you should go to Japanese next.......Toyama in Ivanhoe is good, but I prefer Matsuya in Fairfield. However if you want a Japanese experience with a difference try Wabi Sabi in Smith Street Collingwood......very cool ambience, make sure you check out the japanese courtyard garden out the back when you visit the rest rooms.....try the sashimi salad, it is to die for. Get the dry sake' from Hokkaido to go with it :)

For a slightly more local experience you could try the food at Wesley Anne. The spaghetti marinara is magnificent, and Wesley Anne has a great ambience for drinks afterwards.... Across the road try Mein Liebe pizza.......actually go to the bar next door, I think it is called Joe's Shoe Store, or Shoe Repairs or something, and you can order the pizza and eat it at the bar.

Thanks! :thumbsu: Japanese particularly sounds good!
Btw where are
Wesley Anne
Mein Liebe Pizza

High St Northcote, not far from your place :thumbsu:

:eek: Shhhhhh! *kick*

Gilly1972
27 May 2008, 18:56
Btw where are
Wesley Anne
Mein Liebe Pizza

High St Northcote, not far from your place :thumbsu:

Gilly1972
27 May 2008, 18:57
Btw where are
Wesley Anne
Mein Liebe Pizza

Wabi Sabi is a great little experience, different to most suburban Japanese restaurants and probably a more authentic experience :thumbsu:

Gilly1972
27 May 2008, 19:01
:eek: Shhhhhh! *kick*

Pffft, Northcote is a big suburb, abundant with good lesbians like yourself ;)

bexta444
27 May 2008, 19:01
Pffft, Northcote is a big suburb, abundant with good lesbians like yourself ;)

OH Blow me! :rolleyes: :p

Bloody old fart! :p

Truthatlast
27 May 2008, 19:37
Worst restaurant experience was at a Japanese Restaurant near the Camberwell junction 20 years ago. They tried to cram 16 of us around a table that should have only had about 12 on it because they overbooked the restaurant. The food was poor and the service was crap. But we had the best night anyway. There was a hens night at the next table and they were all pissed as mutes and singing through the whole night. It ended up with every table singing off against one another.

At the end of the night we decided to short-change the bill when we left the cash on the table and leave promptly. We got half way down the street and one of the blokes we were with realised that he had left his expensive jacket behind. He ended up having to bolt in and out in a real hurry.

HBF
27 May 2008, 22:28
Start at one end of Lygon Street, and work your way down one side, then come back the other side of the street. Plenty of choices there.

Jeremias
27 May 2008, 22:35

Squires Loft in Toorak absolutely shits all over Vlados for steak. Trust me:thumbsu:

Both are awesome :thumbsu:

XXX KINGS
27 May 2008, 23:27
Start at one end of Lygon Street, and work your way down one side, then come back the other side of the street. Plenty of choices there.

Tiamo is the shit :thumbsu:

Blue Dawn
28 May 2008, 00:41

Il Vicolo just off Lygon is a sensation! Happen to be a client of mine too. Orita's in Toorak Village is where i'd take a date who wanted to experience superb modern Japanese cuisine. Oyshi, oyshi! ;):thumbsu:

[ToTTi]
28 May 2008, 01:15
Ahh here comes my good food guide...
Note: $=cheap ....... $$$$$$=hope someone else is paying

Steak: I agree with Bosun, Squires is awesome. Though I go to the one in the city more than I do the Toorak Rd one. Eye-fillet or rib-eye with blue-cheese sauce and chips and a serve of ribs is the way to go. $$$$

But if you're really keen on your red meat Rockpool at Crown is probably the best, better than both Squires and Vlado's. It's Neil Perry's restaurant. 500g aged t-bone, with bernaise sauce and onion rings, after grilled king prawns did the job, was very wow. The flavour of that t-bone was like no other! Luckily my brother was footing the bill :D $$$$$

A note on Rockpool they also have a bar where you can eat at, its not as expensive but apparently still very good. Have not tried.

Pizza: For more Italian style pizza, the best for me are L'Osteria in North Fitzroy, and I Carusi in Brunswick north. Probably the closest thing to eating pizza in italy that I've found. Honourable mention to Pizza e Fichi in Kew. All probably around $$$

For your more typical type pizza, I'd follow HBF's advice and just venture down Lygon st. Choose from Il Gambero, Papa Gino's, Carlton Food Store, or Mercadante for mine. All in the $$ range, Mercadante more $$$.

If you have a Crust anywhere near you, I also recommend. $$
Do you reckon I love my pizza?

Italian: Sorry, no Italian food beats that of here at home. But if I had to go out to eat Italian food, which I wouldn't normally, I'd go to Pellegrini's. Bourke St, in the city for those playing at home. Simple Italian, like nonna's food. Go during lunch/rush hour its a real experience haha. Get a granita when you're done. $$/$

Il Bacaro is another favourite, in Little Collins St. Baby chicken is special, also good mix of italian beers. $$$$

Enoteca Sileno, reknowned as the best Italian, in my mind is overrated, and as it's very expensive I probably wouldn't go back in a hurry. Dishes were too over the top for my liking. Nice food store though. $$$$$

Florentino's, Guy Grossi's restaurant is in the city on Bourke St. One of the best restaurants in Melbourne, and probably the most expensive. I wouldn't really classify it as Italian, if anything, probably modern Italian. Like Enoteca though the menu was too way out, and my gnocchi with shaved truffle were just OK. I just don't think the food is good enough for the price, though my lobster-stuffed zucchini flowers were delicious. However I'd probably go back to try other dishes. Also, great decor, great service (as you'd expect for the price!), and it'd be a nice place to take a date, if they're special enough haha. :D $$$$$$

Japanese: Kanpai on Chapel St is hands down my fav. Shit service is made up for with very good Japanese food. Best gyoza in town.

Tokyo Tepanyaki has better service but I don't reckon its as good as Kanpai. It is also on Chapel St. Both around the $$ mark.

Burgers: Easy. Andrew's Hamburgers in Middle Park. Do it. Next would be Urban Burger on Bay St, Port Melbourne. And I also don't mind Grill'd every now and then. A burger is no burger without bacon. Get bacon.

Thai: Lemongrass on Lygon St, really good. Green curry dish is super. Also, samosa and mini rolls quality as well. $$$$
Also, Longrain in the city is supposed to be very good, I think it's on Little Collins or Little Bourke. Have not tried. $$$$

Chinese: Bamboo House in the city, obviously there is the Flower Drum but that's way expensive and IMO it's overrated. Bamboo House certainly isn't cheap, but you get what you pay. $$$$
Been to Purple Sands in Hawthorn quite a little bit, its right next to the Rivoli cinemas. Riversdale Rd I think its on. San choi bao is very good. $$$$
Shangai Dumpling is cheap but very good, it's in lane-way in the city I think off Lonsdale St. Great for uni students! $

Coffee n Cake: Still haven't found anywhere better than Brunetti's. Would like to hear others though.

Ice-cream: 7 Apples on Acland St, St Kilda. But it's winter soon, so won't be heading there in a hurry.

Other: Others worth a mention in my book are Belgian Beer cafe on St Kilda road, for a nice fish n chips and a great selection of Belgian beers, which are the real reason you'd go. Obviously there is still, and always will be, Nandos. God bless peri-peri.

Blue Dawn
28 May 2008, 02:39
;11167969']Ahh here comes my good food guide...

Steak: I agree with Bosun, Squires is awesome. Though I go to the one in the city more than I do the Toorak Rd one. Eye-fillet or rib-eye with blue-cheese sauce and chips and a serve of ribs is the way to go. $$$$

But if you're really keen on your red meat Rockpool at Crown is probably the best, better than both Squires and Vlado's. It's Neil Perry's restaurant. 500g aged t-bone, with bernaise sauce and onion rings, after grilled king prawns did the job, was very wow. The flavour of that t-bone was like no other! Luckily my brother was footing the bill :D $$$$$

A note on Rockpool they also have a bar where you can eat at, its not as expensive but apparently still very good. Have not tried.

Pizza: For more Italian style pizza, the best for me are L'Osteria in North Fitzroy, and I Carusi in Brunswick north. Probably the closest thing to eating pizza in italy that I've found. Honourable mention to Pizza e Fichi in Kew. All probably around $$$

For your more typical type pizza, I'd follow HBF's advice and just venture down Lygon st. Choose from Il Gambero, Papa Gino's, Carlton Food Store, or Mercadante for mine. All in the $$ range, Mercadante more $$$.

If you have a Crust anywhere near you, I also recommend. $$
Do you reckon I love my pizza?

Italian: Sorry, no Italian food beats that of here at home. But if I had to go out to eat Italian food, which I wouldn't normally, I'd go to Pellegrini's. Bourke St, in the city for those playing at home. Simple Italian, like nonna's food. Go during lunch/rush hour its a real experience haha. Get a granita when you're done. $$/$

Il Bacaro is another favourite, in Little Collins St. Baby chicken is special, also good mix of italian beers. $$$$

Enoteca Sileno, reknowned as the best Italian, in my mind is overrated, and as it's very expensive I probably wouldn't go back in a hurry. Dishes were too over the top for my liking. Nice food store though. $$$$$

Florentino's, Guy Grossi's restaurant is in the city on Bourke St. One of the best restaurants in Melbourne, and probably the most expensive. I wouldn't really classify it as Italian, if anything, probably modern Italian. Like Enoteca though the menu was too way out, and my gnocchi with shaved truffle were just OK. I just don't think the food is good enough for the price, though my lobster-stuffed zucchini flowers were delicious. However I'd probably go back to try other dishes. Also, great decor, great service (as you'd expect for the price!), and it'd be a nice place to take a date, if they're special enough haha. :D $$$$$$

Japanese: Kanpai on Chapel St is hands down my fav. Shit service is made up for with very good Japanese food. Best gyoza in town.

Tokyo Tepanyaki has better service but I don't reckon its as good as Kanpai. It is also on Chapel St. Both around the $$ mark.

Burgers: Easy. Andrew's Hamburgers in Middle Park . Do it. Next would be Urban Burger on Bay St, Port Melbourne. And I also don't mind Grill'd every now and then. A burger is no burger without bacon. Get bacon.

Thai: Lemongrass on Lygon St, really good. Green curry dish is super. Also, samosa and mini rolls quality as well. $$$$
Also, Longrain in the city is supposed to be very good, I think it's on Little Collins or Little Bourke. Have not tried. $$$$

Chinese: Bamboo House in the city, obviously there is the Flower Drum but that's way expensive and IMO it's overrated. Bamboo House certainly isn't cheap, but you get what you pay. $$$$
Been to Purple Sands in Hawthorn quite a little bit, its right next to the Rivoli cinemas. Riversdale Rd I think its on. San choi bao is very good. $$$$
Shangai Dumpling is cheap but very good, it's in lane-way in the city I think off Lonsdale St. Great for uni students! $

Coffee n Cake: Still haven't found anywhere better than Brunetti's. Would like to hear others though.

Ice-cream: 7 Apples on Acland St, St Kilda. But it's winter soon, so won't be heading there in a hurry.

Other: Others worth a mention in my book are Belgian Beer cafe on St Kilda road, for a nice fish n chips and a great selection of Belgian beers, which are the real reason you'd go. Obviously there is still, and always will be, Nandos. God bless peri-peri.

Some great options there Totti. :thumbsu:

Have to agree with Brunetti (they are another client of mine) and Andrew's is in Bridport st, Albert Park - about 3 blocks from my place. :thumbsu:

krayfesh
28 May 2008, 07:49
C-Culture in Preston is my personal choice for good chinese food. Best soups ever.

Also, since we're starting a revolution, I'm pushing for everybody to order cheeseburger onions on all their McDonald's burgers. Seriously. It's the only way to eat them...

Gilly1972
28 May 2008, 12:21
I am part asian :confused::o, if you want tips on Chinese food I am your man.

:thumbsu:

TGR
28 May 2008, 12:35
I am part asian :confused::o,

Which part ?:D

Pamam
28 May 2008, 12:57
Which part ?:D

from what HBF says

its his male appendage if you know what i mean :D:D:D

Blue Dawn
28 May 2008, 13:39
from what HBF says

its his male appendage if you know what i mean :D:D:D

Ouch! Hey, how would HBF know! :eek:

Pamam
28 May 2008, 14:29
Ouch! Hey, how would HBF know! :eek:

they frequent quite regularly at the local rub and tug joint!!! :D :D

bexta444
28 May 2008, 15:47
I am part asian :confused::o, if you want tips on Chinese food I am your man.

LMAO....

So where's good Chinese (yum!) then?

Gilly1972
28 May 2008, 15:58
LMAO....

So where's good Chinese (yum!) then?

You wouldn't like my Chinese because I only like it hot :)

Bosun
28 May 2008, 16:38
;11167969']Ahh here comes my good food guide...

I could drink the Danish Blue Cheese sauce, I had my 2nd visit last Saturday night with the missus and what better way to top off a Carlton victory with a 300gm Rib Eye with chips, that mouth watering sauce and a glass of the Peter Lehmans Cab Sav and about 6 Corona's.

Only disappointment is they used to serve this fantastic beer by Pepperjack, I cant find it anywhere and now they dont stock it anymore:mad:

bexta444
28 May 2008, 18:24
You wouldn't like my Chinese because I only like it hot :)

Are we still talking about food......? :D

Gilly1972
28 May 2008, 18:28

Oh dear :eek::o

HBF
28 May 2008, 18:30

Oh dear :eek::o

Get a room already you two. :rolleyes: ;)

bexta444
28 May 2008, 18:33
Get a room already you two. :rolleyes: ;)

LOL
Sif Gilly could handle me ;):p

MyBloodIsBlue
28 May 2008, 21:01
C-Culture in Preston is my personal choice for good chinese food. Best soups ever.

Krayfesh I go to C-Culture all the time! Definitely the best chinese and great prices too.

My personal fav is Turkish - anywhere on Sydney Road Bexta.
For take away the best is the Kebab Station and for eat in Zara's (they're a bit slow on service but the $25 banquet is the best - 7 courses and coffee and dessert).:thumbsu:

bexta444
28 May 2008, 21:25
Krayfesh I go to C-Culture all the time! Definitely the best chinese and great prices too.

For take away the best is the Kebab Station and for eat in Zara's (they're a bit slow on service but the $25 banquet is the best - 7 courses and coffee and dessert).:thumbsu:

Oooh I love Turkish thanks :thumbsu:

HBF
28 May 2008, 21:32

Can't argue with that MBIB.

Also, for the people that live in the South East, a Greek restaurant called Nicko's in Croydon is worth checking out. Huge banquet for $33. Great food and atmosphere, but noisy, to don't go there for a romantic dinner for 2.

bexta444
29 May 2008, 07:59
So many great ideas, trying to narrow it down to pick! Eeeek! Brain strain.
Either Wesley Anne or C Culture I'm thinking...yes....

Gilly1972
29 May 2008, 17:11
Any place called C culture can't have the best chinese food in Melbourne ;)

bexta444
29 May 2008, 19:13
Any place called C culture can't have the best chinese food in Melbourne ;)

Yeah going with your tip, better be good!! :p

Truthatlast
29 May 2008, 20:59
Worst restaurant experience locally was at the Greek restaurant in East Ivanhoe. I was there on Valentines Night a couple years ago with the good wife. The plan was to have a nice feed but not be out too late as it was on a week night and both us had to work the next day.

We were seated and waiting for the menu. Twenty minutes in and the menus arrived. That should have been the point in which we left as it was a sign of things to come. The restaurant had been going a few months and was 3/4 full. We had been there an hour when the entrees arrived. By this stage the good wife was starting to become agitated. Gentle tapping of her fingers had soon turned to filthy looks at the owner.

It got worse! Now that we had eaten entrees there was no getting up and leaving. We had been there an hour and 45 minutes and it became increasingly obvious that the usual crowd / the local Greeks who came after us were getting their meals quicker. The owner's wife came over and asked us if everything was fine and her ladyship reminded them how long we had been there and that we hadn't received our main course yet. I was beginning to enjoy myself.

Another ten minutes passed and the wife was begining to change colour with anger. She commented that if the table next to us who had arrived 30 minutes after us got there meal before us there would be trouble. Her prediction came true. "Enjoying yourselves" the owner queried us. Well, my wife let him have it. She screamed at him with a tirade of abuse. The next thing the poor bugger was running around the room like Basil Fawlty. It was hysterical to watch. He started screaming at the kitchen staff to move their arses. He was banging pots and pans together. The rest of the patrons were aghast. Our meal arrived within a minute with massive apologies.

Then the owner came over and asked us whether we wanted any dessert. I broke down in a fit of laughter. I managed to spit out that he must be kidding. The bill was the only thing that arrived quickly. I figured that any romance was lost so I turned to the good lady and thanked her for some damned fine entertainment.

bluegal1983
29 May 2008, 22:13
Frank's Seafood on Keilor Road in Niddrie is one of the best seafood places in Melbourne :thumbsu:

celtic_pride
29 May 2008, 23:36
Hmm anyone being to Kouta and Ang's greek tavern in Templestowe ?
I live around that area, and I really should go sometime ..

Apparently Mil Hanna has a decent joint somewhere in Brunswick as well.

Gilly1972
30 May 2008, 12:18
Yeah going with your tip, better be good!! :p

Which one?

Gilly1972
30 May 2008, 12:20
Hmm anyone being to Kouta and Ang's greek tavern in Templestowe ?
I live around that area, and I really should go sometime ..

Apparently Mil Hanna has a decent joint somewhere in Brunswick as well.

The Fitz opposite The Evelyn.....nice food, said G'Day to Mil a couple of times, seems like a good bloke :thumbsu:

HBF
30 May 2008, 14:19
The Fitz opposite The Evelyn.....nice food, said G'Day to Mil a couple of times, seems like a good bloke :thumbsu:

Go there for breakfast. Pretty hard to find a better breakfast around. The Blueberry pancakes are amazing. :thumbsu:

MyBloodIsBlue
30 May 2008, 17:50
Go there for breakfast. Pretty hard to find a better breakfast around. The Blueberry pancakes are amazing. :thumbsu:

Second that HBF, a Fitz breakfast is a very good choice. You certainly don't need lunch after one of those :thumbsu:

Gilly1972
30 May 2008, 18:01
Second that HBF, a Fitz breakfast is a very good choice. You certainly don't need lunch after one of those :thumbsu:

You're talking to HBF here, we would certainly give it a very good shake.....then back up for dinner :)

[ToTTi]
30 May 2008, 19:31
Frank's Seafood on Keilor Road in Niddrie is one of the best seafood places in Melbourne :thumbsu:

Haha. I know the owners of Frank's and a few good mates of mine work there. It's pretty good actually.

MyBloodIsBlue
30 May 2008, 20:21
You're talking to HBF here, we would certainly give it a very good shake.....then back up for dinner :)

I challenge him to do that at the Fitz! Mil's might be nice enough to give him a discount :thumbsu:

celtic_pride
31 May 2008, 02:01
HBF after dining out on the town :D

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y196/voorson/fat_man_large.jpg

bexta444
1 Jun 2008, 18:50
Which one?

Actually I lied. Was going to go with Wesley Anne but being a Sat night thought it would be too loud with the Bar and all.

Instead went to Denn Bar Restaurant which was great, nice modern decor, Mediterranean food with heaps to choose from. Food very reasonably priced, but the bottle of Shiraz hurt the hip pocket a bit (but was very nice).

bluegal1983
1 Jun 2008, 19:18
Actually I lied. Was going to go with Wesley Anne but being a Sat night thought it would be too loud with the Bar and all.

Instead went to Denn Bar Restaurant which was great, nice modern decor, Mediterranean food with heaps to choose from. Food very reasonably priced, but the bottle of Shiraz hurt the hip pocket a bit (but was very nice).

I hope he paid!!!

bexta444
1 Jun 2008, 19:50
I hope he paid!!!

Nope, he tried but was my turn! :thumbsd: LOL

bluegal1983
1 Jun 2008, 19:52
Nope, he tried but was my turn! :thumbsd: LOL

Ha ha. Good girl Bexta!! It is the 21st century afterall :thumbsu:

bexta444
1 Jun 2008, 19:59
Ha ha. Good girl Bexta!! It is the 21st century afterall :thumbsu:

Tis very true indeed BG! :thumbsu:

HBF
1 Jun 2008, 22:00

Pot.Kettle.Black.

Gilly1972
2 Jun 2008, 12:00

Is that the one near the Westgarth Cinema??

matt decat
3 Jun 2008, 13:07
Ladro makes some good pizza, a lot like Pizza Mein Liebe, but a bit more upmarket, tis on Gurtrude St. I usually go to Mecca Bah in the Docklands before a match at the dome, its a really nice Moroccan restaurant, they also make good pizzas.

ICI (off Brunswick St) is supposed to have good brekkie. Las Chicas is also nice for brunch, gotta get in early tho. Small Block on Lygon St. also make good brekkies.

If you want a massive meal at an alright price and dont really care about the quality too much, give Lazy Moe's a shot on Mickelham Rd. or Mosquito Bar on High St.

Veggie Bar goes alright on Brunswick St. even non vegetarians (like myself) should like a few of the meals from there. And Babka is good for lunch, its a bakery which make really nice pies and soups.

matt decat
3 Jun 2008, 13:14
Zep's Pastizzis are great, best in Melbourne id say lol. Russell Gilbert used to love em. Only one place to buy em from, "Zep's" house in St. Albans.

bexta444
13 Jun 2008, 23:04

Got takeaway from C Culture last weekend.
Had the Dimmies, Lemon Chicken & Satay Beef mmm
VERY good!
Cheap too = :thumbsu:

MyBloodIsBlue
13 Jun 2008, 23:11
VERY good!

I was there on Saturday! And will probably be there some time this weekend again he he. We've tried a few along there and so far that's the best :thumbsu:

bluegal1983
14 Jun 2008, 23:56
I went to Fuji Tepanyaki in Moonee Ponds for dinner tonight. The food was great, as was the ambience :thumbsu:

HBF
15 Jun 2008, 12:10
Anyone else who is out my way, the Greek restaurant Mykonos in Wantirna is great. If you're a seafood lover, it is a must.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
15 Jun 2008, 12:31
Turkish food

Zarah, Saray, Golden Terrace (all on Sydney rd).

Greek Food

Stalactites (Lonsdale st) - they also make the BEST 24 hour souvlaki to take away - trust me, u wont be dissapointed.

Krestas Tavern in Preston (although I havent been back since I had it off with his neice :o)

Lebanese Food

A1 Bakery on Sydney Rd

Best Curry/Seafood Laksa in town

Laksa King, Flemington Road

Best late night kebab van

Uncle Joes on Sydney road (across from Pentridge)

Kebab Caravan on Mount Alexander Road (next to United Service station)

matt decat
15 Jun 2008, 17:00
yeh Zarah's is good, went there for a friends birthday. only thing was we were told it was all you can eat but it wasn't. so there were four of us sharing food from two plates. food was really nice though!:)

Gilly1972
16 Jun 2008, 11:52
VERY good!

And therein lies my problem with people labeling it the best Chinese in Melbourne.....go to China and Hong Kong and you wouldn't catch Chinese people dead eating lemon chicken and satay beef :)

Try Dainty Sichuan food in Chinatown for some good authentic Chinese :thumbsu:

JUst don't order the chongquing chilli chicken unless you have a cast-iron stomach ;)

bexta444
16 Jun 2008, 13:19
And therein lies my problem with people labeling it the best Chinese in Melbourne.....go to China and Hong Kong and you wouldn't catch Chinese people dead eating lemon chicken and satay beef :)

JUst don't order the chongquing chilli chicken unless you have a cast-iron stomach ;)

YES! I know your a fussy Chinese eater! :p I know what you mean but I was quite happy with my 'Aussie Chinese' that night! I still hope to get to the other 'more authentic' ones you suggested one day.

HBF
16 Jun 2008, 14:23
Yo`DooR;11379158']
Krestas Tavern in Preston (although I havent been back since I had it off with his neice :o)

Shameless piece of self promotion there C4. :rolleyes:

Gilly1972
16 Jun 2008, 14:41
Shameless piece of self promotion there C4. :rolleyes:

Not really HBF......

HAVE YOU SEEN THE NIECE? :eek:

http://bp1.blogger.com/_1I7KiCuAU4k/RkZuF96K8_I/AAAAAAAAAW4/VPHbH9fgoNc/s400/ugly_turkey.jpg

MyBloodIsBlue
16 Jun 2008, 16:47
Yo`DooR;11379158']
Best late night kebab van

Uncle Joes on Sydney road (across from Pentridge)

Kebab Caravan on Mount Alexander Road (next to United Service station)

Haci's opposite McMetro on Bell St used to be our late night kebab stop :thumbsu:

hong_kong_bond
16 Jun 2008, 19:47

Spot on... Lemon chicken or beef w/ black bean just isn't Chinese food

The Chongqing chicken is ony of my favourites...
A place just down the road from me here serves it in a massive bowl - and you can;t even see the chicken, all you can see is a bowl of the hottest, deep red chillis that exists...deep within lies the chicken...

I regularly take visiting friends/family or clients there who "love their spicy foods"...often with amusing results.

HBF
17 Jun 2008, 09:18
Not really HBF......

http://bp1.blogger.com/_1I7KiCuAU4k/RkZuF96K8_I/AAAAAAAAAW4/VPHbH9fgoNc/s400/ugly_turkey.jpg

Bet ya you've shagged that Gilly.

Gilly1972
17 Jun 2008, 12:03
Spot on... Lemon chicken or beef w/ black bean just isn't Chinese food

The Chongqing chicken is ony of my favourites...
A place just down the road from me here serves it in a massive bowl - and you can;t even see the chicken, all you can see is a bowl of the hottest, deep red chillis that exists...deep within lies the chicken...

I regularly take visiting friends/family or clients there who "love their spicy foods"...often with amusing results.

Jinx.......sounds like the chongqing you get at dainty. I often test people out by asking if they can handle spicy food.....full of false bravado, I love to see their faces go a whiter shade of pale when a plate full of red chillies is placed in front of them.

I have one friend who broke out in a feverish sweat while eating it :)

The first night I ate in HK was in a little street side stall. The menu was completely in Chinese and I had no idea what to order....a nice chinese bloke witnessing my distress came over and asked what I liked....I described some Sichuanese food and he spoke to the woman in Mandarin (I assume), she came back with these tiny battered pieces of pork (similar to the chicken in chonging) stir fried with chillies, green onions and oil....still to this day one of the best things I've ever tasted :thumbsu:

jontysc
17 Jun 2008, 13:10
The Grand Hotel in Frankston, has some really good pub grub especially in the public where on a Monday nite you can get a pot and a parma for about 9 bucks! Or a T-bone steak with chips and a pot on a Tuesday nite for 12 bucks! Great value:thumbsu:

The chicken parma in the bistro is about 350gm and come with chips and salad for about $18-19 bucks!

The place rocks!

C4[2]Yo`DooR
17 Jun 2008, 13:56
Not really HBF......

While we're on the subject of sex partner's lets all say Hello to Gilly's

http://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/3193482/2/istockphoto_3193482_male_hand_five_fingers.jpg

Gilly you lucky thing - i hear your going to have a 3 some tonight by inviting your left hand in as well :D

krayfesh
17 Jun 2008, 15:16
Haci's opposite McMetro on Bell St used to be our late night kebab stop :thumbsu:

It's most definitely Uncle Joe's. That place is awesome.

And for Lebanese food, the A1 Bakery is overrated. Tabet's on High St does it better. Although A1 sells awesome drums.

MyBloodIsBlue
21 Jun 2008, 10:19
It's most definitely Uncle Joe's. That place is awesome.

And for Lebanese food, the A1 Bakery is overrated. Tabet's on High St does it better. Although A1 sells awesome drums.

I'm sure it's still Haci's! I'm going past soon I'll check it out :p

Went to Condotti's in Lwr Heidelberg Road Ivanhoe last night, very nice grub :thumbsu:

krayfesh
21 Jun 2008, 14:29
Ha. I meant Uncle Joe's is better than Haci's :D

MyBloodIsBlue
21 Jun 2008, 18:37
Ha. I meant Uncle Joe's is better than Haci's :D

Ohhhh :D I just read where Uncle Joe's is, may have to give it a go!

Must admit though, one night when at Haci's a pigeon flew inside the van and I never saw it come out. Still got a kebab though :D

EddieBettsIsAChamp
21 Jun 2008, 19:52
I need a little bit of help out there fellow posters, myself and my new friend have decided to go out for dinner on middle weekend of the school holidays, probably the Saturday, and i'm looking for a nice, affordable restaurant around the Docklands area so we can stroll around the bay afterwards. ANY help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks heaps!:thumbsu:

MyBloodIsBlue
21 Jun 2008, 20:07
I need a little bit of help out there fellow posters, myself and my new friend have decided to go out for dinner on middle weekend of the school holidays, probably the Saturday, and i'm looking for a nice, affordable restaurant around the Docklands area so we can stroll around the bay afterwards. ANY help would be greatly appreciated!

Gotta be Medici's EBIAC, it's on the water on the docks, really well priced and nice place. We go there sometimes before TD games and I've been to heaps of birthday dinners there - highly recommended :thumbsu:

EddieBettsIsAChamp
21 Jun 2008, 20:27
Gotta be Medici's EBIAC, it's on the water on the docks, really well priced and nice place. We go there sometimes before TD games and I've been to heaps of birthday dinners there - highly recommended :thumbsu:
Thanks heaps MBIB, we're scopping it out now!

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

bexta444
22 Jun 2008, 12:46

Nice work Eddie! :D
Mecca Bah is good.

bluegal1983
22 Jun 2008, 19:33

Nice choice MBIB! Great spot Eddie :thumbsu:

Truthatlast
23 Jun 2008, 11:08
I'm sure it's still Haci's! I'm going past soon I'll check it out :p

Went to Condotti's in Lwr Heidelberg Road Ivanhoe last night, very nice grub :thumbsu:

Most Friday nights we get take away from Condottis. The best risottos and spaghetti marinaras around.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Bexta
29 Jun 2008, 11:26
For pancakes = Stokers in Ivanhoe :thumbsu::D

HBF
29 Jun 2008, 13:37
Yo`DooR;11406766']While we're on the subject of sex partner's lets all say Hello to Gilly's

http://www.istockphoto.com/file_thumbview_approve/3193482/2/istockphoto_3193482_male_hand_five_fingers.jpg

Gilly you lucky thing - i hear your going to have a 3 some tonight by inviting your left hand in as well :D

ROFL..:D
And i believe they have been going steady for some time now..

Bexta
3 Jul 2008, 14:04
try Mein Liebe pizza.......actually go to the bar next door, I think it is called Joe's Shoe Store, or Shoe Repairs or something, and you can order the pizza and eat it at the bar.

Awesome tip Gilly, pizza was fantastic! Ate in Joe's shoe store because I didnt book and Mein Liebe was packed and there was a 1.5hr wait for a table (tip=book!). Worked out great anyway the bar was quieter but still ended up full, really great pizza mmm mmm! :thumbsu:

Gilly1972
3 Jul 2008, 14:37
Awesome tip Gilly, pizza was fantastic! Ate in Joe's shoe store because I didnt book and Mein Liebe was packed and there was a 1.5hr wait for a table (tip=book!). Worked out great anyway the bar was quieter but still ended up full, really great pizza mmm mmm! :thumbsu:

Another satisfied customer :)

Good Deal Bex :thumbsu:

thylacine60
3 Jul 2008, 14:44
Yo`DooR;11406766']While we're on the subject of sex partner's lets all say Hello to Gilly's

Might have to if Mrs Right knocks him back.

matt decat
9 Jul 2008, 13:18
mart 130 makes an awesome breakfast. its the tram stop on Canterbury Rd, middle park and has some nice views of albert park. i had the corn fritters last time i went and they were pretty damn good, also try the french toast, best ive had in a long time

Truthatlast
18 Aug 2008, 13:38
Barrio in Ivanhoe - amazing!

Bexta
14 Oct 2008, 17:56
Narai Thai in Northcote (St Georges Rd). Their Koa pud rice is soo good! :thumbsu:

phantom 309
14 Oct 2008, 22:46
Drive to Seymour and have a meal at the Royal Hotel the best pub meals in Victoria.
If you dont want a full meal and want a burger the hamburger stand right opposite the Royal hotel make the best burgers in tha state.

The Cranium
16 Oct 2008, 12:55
Went to the Must Bar in Beauford Street Leaderville (Perth). Was an utter dissapointment.

thylacine60
19 Oct 2008, 15:59
Went to the Must Bar in Beauford Street Leaderville (Perth). Was an utter dissapointment.

No Seared Snapper? No Crepe Suzette? No Flambeed Banana & Caramelized Custard? Wouldn't let you light your Black Sambuca? Skullman, it's not always about the flame. :rolleyes: