View Full Version : Which Ruckman should we target?

mongrelpunt
20 Aug 2002, 12:28
Thinking realistically, which of the above ruckman should we target?

Assuming the following would be safe at their particular clubs:

Biglands; Clarke; McDonald; Charman; Allan; Fraser; McKee; Simmonds; Longmuir; King; Rehn; Burton; White; Jolly; Primus; French; Ottens; Stafford (why we didn't bid for him last year :rolleyes: ); Mott; Gardiner; Cox; Darcy; Bandy

These were the only ones I could come up with. The above players could easily go to Essendon.

The Ewok
20 Aug 2002, 14:18
Gardiner wants out of the Weagles apparently

TD
20 Aug 2002, 15:34
Originally posted by The Ewok
Gardiner wants out of the Weagles apparently

If that is true, we should throw absolutely everything we can afford at him!

Stealth bomber
20 Aug 2002, 17:22
With apologies to the Fish, anybody on that list.

topdon
20 Aug 2002, 17:25
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
With apologies to the Fish, anybody on that list.

IMHO ... i think we should target Other and None of the above. They'd slot right in ... ;)

M29
20 Aug 2002, 17:57
A tall one. :)

Stealth bomber
20 Aug 2002, 19:32
A tall one.

Right. :)

He must also be strong, fit, fast, an excellent mark, an accurate kick for goal, good hit out skills and a good team leader.

We don't ask for much.

Bomber Spirit
20 Aug 2002, 19:58
Gardiner wants out of the Weagles apparently If that's so, the Bombers should definately drop out of the race for the Wayne-Care (we've already got plenty of key position forwards) and go after Gardiner instead.

The Ewok
20 Aug 2002, 20:23
Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
If that's so, the Bombers should definately drop out of the race for the Wayne-Care (we've already got plenty of key position forwards) and go after Gardiner instead.

But a player like Gardiner, Everitt and any half decent ruckman would want a ****load of $$$$$$$ blowing our cap while Wayne would play for less

What about that Angewin kid that was at Adelaide and had a sook and came home to Victoria?

TD
20 Aug 2002, 21:51

What about that Angewin kid that was at Adelaide and had a sook and came home to Victoria?

There are big wraps on this kid, and he would probably be what we need long term......don't know how ready to play seniors he would be though.

TheJet
21 Aug 2002, 08:25
In order of preference, I'd say:

1. Porter
2. Keating
3. Lade

All 3 are backup ruckman for their respective clubs and should
not cost us too much.

gozzo
22 Aug 2002, 14:47
Fish has already indicated that he won't be around for 2003.
(hope he reconsiders), Ces may be able to help next year (injuries permitting) but maybe not much further and David Hille is still more a long term prospect to me.

That said, getting a good ruckman should be the number one priority. A number of those guys listed would be great.

I personally like the idea of Everitt coming to Essendon, I think he has heaps of potential to do well.

But I'd settle for one of the better ones out of that list.

We need some more run in the midfield, too. Question is, can it come from our existing players?

Vintage 62
22 Aug 2002, 18:15
Anyone but Everitt. Spider will always disappoint.

NYMets
23 Aug 2002, 18:52
Bring back Barnsie...isn't he still playing somewhere?

gozzo
23 Aug 2002, 18:54
See, I reckon Spider's problem is between his ears.

I don't want to show disrespect for the Saints, but they appaear to have been unwilling or unable to curb his excesses.

Vintage 62, I reckon he is risky.....in that I will agree with you, for sure...but I also think that he has the most potential of any on that list.

Can anyone see anything like another Fish on that list?

Grogette
23 Aug 2002, 21:34
Originally posted by Stealth bomber
He must also be strong, fit, fast, an excellent mark, an accurate kick for goal, good hit out skills and a good team leader.
We don't ask for much.

:p :p Agreed! :p :p

Can he be gorgeous too! lol

he he he :D

Group#1Gav
25 Aug 2002, 11:55
Originally posted by gozzo
See, I reckon Spider's problem is between his ears.

I don't want to show disrespect for the Saints, but they appaear to have been unwilling or unable to curb his excesses.

Vintage 62, I reckon he is risky.....in that I will agree with you, for sure...but I also think that he has the most potential of any on that list.

Can anyone see anything like another Fish on that list?

We got a bloke at Port called Dean Brogan, who, much to my disappointment, doesn't get a game. He's in his early 20's and is a very talented ruckman. If he doesn't get a game for us we should probably trade him. We've got a good relationship with Essendon so I'd rather maintain that and give him to you guys for someone in return, rather than lose him to someone like Collingwoood, or god forbid - the Crows. Who would you give up in a trade for a ruckman - bearing in mind that Sheeds isn't scared to trade a decent player to get what he needs. I wouldn't mind getting Jacobs or Ramanauskas. You've got plenty of guys of this "type" (I know no.#9 is a rare talent) and could probably let one go to get a ruckman.

peruka
26 Aug 2002, 11:25
Group1, you want Jacobs or Rama for an absolute DUD like brogan? Gee its right what they say, you people from Adeliade are fwaking morons!

eastaugh36
26 Aug 2002, 15:16
Originally posted by peruka
Group1, you want Jacobs or Rama for an absolute DUD like brogan? Gee its right what they say, you people from Adeliade are fwaking morons!

get a life ! The only true thing is that the people over your side say that to disguise their own obvious lack of intelligence.
Anyway, on to the issue. We need a player like Everitt and also a couple of quick midfield types. WE MUST GET THESE PLAYERS OR WE WILL ONLY FALL DOWN THE LADDER NEXT YEAR..........PLEASE HEAR AND TAKE ACTION SHEEDY !!!!!!!!!!!!!! unlike last year where nothing was done about it.

Stegelator
28 Aug 2002, 20:20
All Of them would suit me fine, down at Essendon.

SeinDude
28 Aug 2002, 21:07
Originally posted by Stegelator
All Of them would suit me fine, down at Essendon.

Steggie,

We have got a tall ruckman down at Geelong who could be traded at the end of the season called Peter Street. He is 208cm and with us likely to get Rob Blake's son under father-son rule next season, (he's first ruck with the Geelong Falcons at the moment) and with Steven King in the side and only 23 years old, Street is not likely to get much of a chance at Geelong.

Go Cats!! :cool:
SeinDude

BMD
29 Aug 2002, 16:41
According to a rumour on redandwhiteonline, Sheeds has displayed interest in Jason Ball.

Had a great year (mostly in the ruck) last year, has been injured all year this year.

Any interest, and if so, what would you give up for him?

rednugget
29 Aug 2002, 16:58
Originally posted by BMD
According to a rumour on redandwhiteonline, Sheeds has displayed interest in Jason Ball.

Had a great year (mostly in the ruck) last year, has been injured all year this year.

Any interest, and if so, what would you give up for him?

Ball would be a good pick up for the Dons. How old is he?
Perhaps we could trade Heffernan, though the Swans were very keen on Blumfield a few years back, but I'd rather hold on to him.

Group#1Gav
30 Aug 2002, 02:10
Originally posted by peruka

I tried having a normal conversation. You're just proof all clubs have idiot supporters. Whaddya reckon, get a good ruckman and give nothing in return? You might aswell be the recruiting officer at the Crows.

BMD
30 Aug 2002, 12:43
Originally posted by rednugget

Ball would be a good pick up for the Dons. How old is he?
Perhaps we could trade Heffernan, though the Swans were very keen on Blumfield a few years back, but I'd rather hold on to him.

Ball is 29 or 30 I think. I have to admit Blumfield came to my mind as well.