View Full Version : Anyone here seen the Marngrook Footy Show on C31 ?

celtic_pride
28 May 2008, 15:31
I've heard a few good things about it recently, and there was an article about it in last weeks football record ..
it's on 8 to 10 pm on C31 in Melbourne and on certain chanels on foxtel/austar ..

Basically it's an indigenous footy show Hosted by Grant Hansen, with Gilbert McAdam, Derek Kickett, Rockin Ronnie Burns, and Alan Thorpe on the panel.

I think the show sounds great, and it's fantastic to see it gives a platform for young indigenous australins as reporters as well, trying to get their foot in the door of this industry ...

I'm realliy sick of the crap on C9's Footy Show, so I'll tune in this week ...

Bomber32
28 May 2008, 21:28
I've watched it the last couple of weeks and have been very impressed. I like it so much that I have decided to give Nine's Footy Show the flick permanently.

Highly recommended.:thumbsu:

RussellEbertHandball
28 May 2008, 21:51
Yep been watching it since last year. A mate has a satellite dish in Sydney so he used to tape it and I'd try to watch it on the weekend. I went down to the GF on Friday, but my mate went down on Thursday, so he went to their GF show and ended up have a couple of beers with Syd Jackson. It's produced by NITV and Ch 31.

In November NITV linked up with Foxtel so I now get it on Ch 180. It's also on Austar and Optus. I have missed the last couple of shows this year.

It's a bit ameteurish and has a lot of Ch 31 type production values, but that's the charm of the show. Plenty of good footy cliches. Last year Ronnie Burns wouldn't tip Geelong until the GF. Kickett still pissed off with Essendon. Gilbert McAdam not being able to say Neil Craig correctly and calling him Neil Kreg and the others taking the piss out of him. And Grant Hansen always trying to pump up the importance of the things and saying things like "thanks Gilby," with that lisp he has.

I reckon the best part of the show are the one on one interviews with their female reporter(s) with the young aboriginal players, usually the rookie players or first year draftees and the Wanderers segment where they interview ex aboriginal AFL players. They did a great interview with ex Claremont and Richmond great Michael Mitchell last year and this year the one with Bob Jones who played in NT, country Vic and Tassie, before debuting for St Kilda in the late '80s as a 29 year old I think, was a beauty.

It looks at footy from a different perspective. I also highly recommend it:thumbsu:

http://nitv.org.au/marngrook/
If you live in Melbourne you can be part of the studio audience.

This link was working a few weeks ago, but not at the moment
http://www.marngrookaflfootyshow.com.au/

Strawbs
29 May 2008, 19:07
Yeah, and no arrogant ego-driven Footy Show mentality to it either.

mcglee
29 May 2008, 21:23
I watched it last week for the first time and was quite impressed. Not as polished talkers as the FS crew but they talk a hell of a lot more about footy and aren't out for controversy. It's a real football show for people who want to hear about the football, not the gossip and sensational crap. No pulled down pants, no loonies being made fools of in the street, no headline makers, just a bunch of blokes who give their opinions about who's going to win and why. Not everyone's cup of tea if they are into fart gags.

Father Jack
29 May 2008, 23:09
I happened upon this a few weeks ago whilst housesitting in an Austar-endowed house. They had Barrassi on. It was interesting mainly because it was different.

Ricardo
30 May 2008, 12:46
Great show, they actually go into each game for the round ahead unlike TFS, i still think Channel Seven are missing out big time with not having a night time Football related show, AFL Game Day is quite good, now if only they put it up against TFS they'd have a winner IMO.

Anyway, off track there, i agree with REH i like the one on one interviews with the young aboriginal players, although its a bit amateurish it adds to the programs appeal a bit.

Paddy_Mac
30 May 2008, 13:27
I've heard a few good things about it recently, and there was an article about it in last weeks football record ..
it's on 8 to 10 pm on C31 in Melbourne and on certain chanels on foxtel/austar ..

Basically it's an indigenous footy show Hosted by Grant Hansen, with Gilbert McAdam, Derek Kickett, Rockin Ronnie Burns, and Alan Thorpe on the panel.

I think the show sounds great, and it's fantastic to see it gives a platform for young indigenous australins as reporters as well, trying to get their foot in the door of this industry ...

I'm realliy sick of the crap on C9's Footy Show, so I'll tune in this week ...
Yeah i've been watching it too, happened to see it by flicking through the channels and then a footy show came up.

Rosella
30 May 2008, 13:31
been watching for almost a year - most enjoyable.

desie
30 May 2008, 16:12
And that theme song by Ross Wilson becomes infectious.

"It's Maaaaaaaarngrook"

The girls doing the tips are always good for a laugh.

"Gotta disagree with you on that one Sis"

eminbee
31 May 2008, 13:49
Is this on channel 180 on Foxtel; where they have a number of footy shows with Grant Hansen?
Did anyone else see 4 to 6 weeks back the series highlighting the indigenous lightning carnival played out of Alice Springs including some night games. Traeger Park (I think) must have the best playing surface in Aust.
Just fantastic skills on display; a couple of the teams had really put some work in, where a few others appeared to have drafted some in to make up the numbers.
Some teams were drawn from more isolated communities and even had guys playing bare foot. One thing I noticed that possibly interfered with skills a bit was that some players had difficulty with the immaculate grass surface, bounce of the ball etc, with the carnival possibly being the only time some get to play on such a surface.
All of it just pure football though.
The Footy Show - is that still on?

Strawbs
31 May 2008, 21:12
Great show, they actually go into each game for the round ahead unlike TFS, i still think Channel Seven are missing out big time with not having a night time Football related show, AFL Game Day is quite good, now if only they put it up against TFS they'd have a winner IMO.

Anyway, off track there, i agree with REH i like the one on one interviews with the young aboriginal players, although its a bit amateurish it adds to the programs appeal a bit.

Are you taking the p***? The Ox, Mark Robinson, Gillon McLachlan's brother - yeah, you are.

pickman
1 Jun 2008, 14:48
Yep i watch it on NITV, it's a good show. Sometimes the panel lack that little bit of polish but it manages to maintain it's focus (i.e. talking about football) without getting distracted into acting like a buch of clowns.

Maybe the producers of the Ch.9 football shows, especially the Sunday one which is now unwatchable can learn a few things from Marngrook!

campbell
20 Jun 2008, 09:44
Gilly is excellent on it. A great footy show, just footy, as it should be.
None of the huff and fluff stuff.

tess
11 Sep 2008, 20:04
http://www.marngrookfootyshow.com.au/

Bump ....................

the show is on now and is actually very good.

Hodgepodge
26 Sep 2008, 11:00
The Footy Show will have to avoid being on at the same time as the Marngrook Show . . . i didn't tune into Channel 9 until after Marngrook was finished, and even then, i switched off after seeing the same tired gags and insult to viewer intelligence. I wonder if anyone else did the same?

dyl_tigerman
26 Sep 2008, 12:30
loved it it is always good...
i started watching it last year...
the good thing is thought that during regular season it finishes before the channel nine one so i can flick straight over

RussellEbertHandball
26 Sep 2008, 12:36
Watched it last night, it was pretty good, especially the recap of all the blokes they interviewd in the Wanderers section. Didn't get the footyshow in Sydney until almost midnight, so Marngrook FS was my footy fix for the night as I only watched 1/2 hr of the other one.